View Full Version : i must be the only new mum over size 16
my babyemmy
03-02-2006, 13:43
Hi, mainly just having a sook over something that both my mil & sil have said to me it started a a few months ago and now just last night!
Both of them are telling me that I'm way too fat and that it makes me look like I'm a lazy mum,every time the 3 of us are together they egg each other on,Saying things like time to diet or if i tell them we went out for tea,they would say it figures or screw up their faces! both of them are size 6 if that! i feel like I'm the only one in the world size 16-18!
am i just being lazy & looking for excuses as my daughter is now 7 months and still breast fed so i don't want to start dieting!
(I do not over eat,i try to eat healthy stuff and only have a small set back less than once a week! the funny thing is both of them are much bigger eaters than me,they are just luckier it doesn't go straight to their hips & bum,like it does to me!)
SugarBlossom
03-02-2006, 13:47
What absolute cows!:mad:
Hello?! You have had a baby! And you will lose weight when you feel good and ready!
Don't stand for that crap!
BTW - I'm sure your a beautiful new mama!:)
heymamma
03-02-2006, 13:50
Hey mate,, i say stuff em...sorry but i do!
You could be one of those people who eat like a rabbit & spend so much time running etc. & still die early... My MIL always says bout how hubby & i should eat better, & i say to her "why im happy"...yeah i would like to be a lil smaller but hey im not, at least i can eat & not worry bout how many points or kilo's it is.
im a size 16 & my DH says he loves my body so thats enough for me. :p
Don't your silly mil & sil know that they are in the minority, the average size of the aussie woman is a size 16, so fret that you are alone, you aren't. Besides you've had a baby & that in my opinion gives you the right to a few extra kilos, wear them like a badge of honour until you & only you decide you don't need or want them anymore. My DD is 10 months old & I still have an extra few kilos (or 10) but no one is going to have more control over my body & the way I look than me, I'll lose the weight when & if I want to.
Brooke.
Hey fellow fatty...:D
I'm a size 16 also, and like you I too am b/feeding. My GP told me I should lose weight, but not to "diet" or over excersise, as some ladies milk can be affected by both. I plan to really get into it once DD is weaned, but that won't be anytime soon. Maybe you should turn the tables on them....start telling them they look sickly thin, I'm sure they wouldn't like it!
aardvark
03-02-2006, 14:05
I bought new bathers this morning - size 18, and even then the boobies barely fit in!
There is no way you are alone at size 16 or above.
I'm also in the rubenesque club of size 16+...and I'm not even a mum yet! Don't fret pet, skinny minnies be damned! Tell them if they cared they'd help you out instead of berating you and giving you grief.
melfunction
03-02-2006, 14:09
Care to give me their phone numbers? :mad:
HoopDeeDoo
03-02-2006, 14:11
When I was preg with #1 I went from a size 12 to 16-18. I went down to a size 14 right about the time I got preg again, not by doing anything special. Noah was 11 months old when I concieved #2 so as you can tell I wasn't in any hurry, and I won't be after I put it all back on with #2!
I say tell your MIL and SIL to stop being so insensitive. They probably don't realise they are hurting your feelings, because they wouldn't know what it's like to be a 'normal' sized woman.
Maybe say at least I have boobs, cause I'm sure if they are that skinny they probably don't have any, I know I didn't until I put some weight on, and it can be a sensitive subject for skinny women :p
sugar n spice
03-02-2006, 14:16
You are so not alone i too am a 16. gees id love to be a size 10 - 12 like i was when i met dh 7yrs ago but i don't see that changing anyway ignore your inlaws, i know it's hard as you may have read from a thread of mine but it's your body and if your fine with it then to hell with them do want you want when you want.
p.s i don't know them but just because someone is skinny doesn't make them healthy. iykwim
I'm only small, infact underweight, and I can tell you from my own experience not being able to achieve those gorgeous womanly curves so many women have can be extreemly frustrating. After the birth of my son I felt fantastic because I was all curvy and feminine but am having trouble maintaining it!
I'd say they're jealous, trying to make you feel bad about yourself because that's how they feel. Just don't let it get to you.
When they are around show them without a doubt you are incredibly happy with yourself and your life, I guarentee they will be seething, green eyed monsters after a few minutes of seeing how they can't bring you down to their level!!!!
Amy
I like the "no boobs" idea... hit'em where it hurts!:D
I am a size 14-16 pre pregnancy and have always said it would be nice to be a little smaller but if i can happily live without having to watch every bad thing that goes into my mouth then i am not worried. My mum is very small-size 6-8 and absolutely hates it she can never get clothes to fit and cant put weight on,she is definately not happy. But next time they make a hurtful comment maybe you should follow up with "At least I can go shopping in the LADIES section for clothes not the little girls section!!" Hit 'em were it hurts!!
Kaileysmum
03-02-2006, 15:37
Oh my god poor your, I know how you feel, my MIL is the same. Her and her two daughters are both tiny. When I was pregnant she kept asking my how much I weighed, saying ohhhh when I was pregnant I was so skinny with a big belly, not like you!!! Now she always mentions something about it, and says ohh bub isnt chubby YET!!! and looks at me as if to say she might be if she takes after you. Shes a horrible woman. Im also a size 16-18 mommy. I agree with bride83 just because someone is skinny doesnt make them healthy, my MIL barely eats, does no exercise and drinks alcohol like its going out of fashion. Shes not healthy!!!
my MIL barely eats, does no exercise and drinks alcohol like its going out of fashion. Shes not healthy!!!
Oh but you know being skinny is MUCH more important than being healthy, don't you?! :rolleyes:
My mother's the same, never eats, smokes like a chimney, is a size 8 and has no muscle tone whatsoever. She always shovelled sweets and cake into my mouth as a child and wondered why I turned out a "big girl" :mad:
mumoftwoboys2005
03-02-2006, 22:14
What Rude Sows!!! GRRRRR!!!!!
Why don't they shut their mouths and subscribe to the saying of "If you can't say anything nice, then don't say anything at all!" I am a size 20 and proud of it. I was size 26 before getting pregnant with DS#2. I lost a lot of weight whilst pregnant (mind you I didn't know I was pg till 19 weeks) At that time I was catching 2 buses and a train each way to get to work. Most of my weight has been lost from my bust and my poor DH is so unhappy. Yeah well, he should carry HIS boobs around from time to time.
Anyway, I say "get 'em where it hurts too!" They obviously don't realise you are nurturing a beautiful little person by breastfeeding. Probably jealous too. Some people mouths engage before their brain does. Please don't take it to heart because your husband and baby love you the way you are and they are only people that matter to you. {{{{HUGS}}}} to you.
goldcoastgirl18
03-02-2006, 22:35
dont listen to there s**t, everyone is beautiful in his or her own way
* we all may not look the same on the out side but we are all the same on the inside, so head up and be proud of who you are.
:) {me} - louise
:D {little man lucas} - 25/11/2005
lukaelmo
03-02-2006, 22:41
What a pair of numbnuts.
If I were you I wouldn't hang around them anymore.
I am only really little, and like Tommy bub, I would give anything to have lovely, voluptuous, womanly curves.
I look like a little boy - straight up and down.
Teehee, and mum of noah is right, hit them with the no boobs thing - wear some cleavage revealing things.
At least with the BFing I've got boobs now... I may never give up :D
SassyMummy
03-02-2006, 23:17
I've always been a bit bigger than most. While I was pregnant with a 5kg bub, I only put on 7kg (so I figure I must have actually LOST weight and put on baby-related weight - amnoitic fluid, baby, etc). A week after she was born and I was 14kg lighter.
I'd heard all these stories about "not having time to eat" when you're a new mother, and therefore losing weight. I SO haven't lost a thing. Instead of not eating, I'm just eating quick and convenient foods that I can manage to heat and serve in a matter of minutes. (Partner works around dinner time so I don't have to cook for anyone but myself...making it easier to eat so unhealthily). I think I'm at my heaviest weight ever.
I do agree that thin doesn't equal healthy. My brother and Dad talk about how I need to lose weight...how unhealthy I am. I guess my father sort of eats healthily...but by no means does my rake-thin brother!
My mother on the other hand eats about 1 entree-sized meal a day (she gets too full on anything more) and tops up on tea or cordial all day. Nobody nags her about eating!
I think there definately needs to be a shift in focus when it comes to weight. Thin should not be seen as healthy by any means. Neither should large. But some people can be healthy and be either seen as "too fat" or "too thin". It really does suck.
The way I see it - it's probably better to be A BIT on the tubby side...it's a lot healthier if you get sick and can't/won't eat.
sugar n spice
03-02-2006, 23:24
here here, i totally agree with you stacey.
Ana Gram
04-02-2006, 01:05
I like to think of it this way : if I was in a plane crash with my skinny friends and we all survived but had no food or water, I would live for at least two weeks longer than they would!
Fairyfloss
04-02-2006, 03:26
Oh, my god, what are they thinking telling you all this stuff, but hon trust me you are not alone, when I met my dh 7 years ago I was a size 10, now I am in the 16-18 club, I am PG so I am sure I will hit size 20 or even 24 by the time I am done, my DH would love me to lose some kilos but he has alomst given up on it due to constant yoo-yoo dieting.
my SIL used to try and put me down, but once I said to my DH that I am very worried about her health because her bones are pocking out of her body and he should have a talk to her becase I think she is in danger of being anorexic it all stopped. so may be try that, don't forget you have to ahve a very worried voice, like you really care, try not to mention the word weight in your conversation makes it so much eaiser to handel.
and oh yeh I totally agree, with showing off your cleavage
BTW, you just had a baby don't be hard on your self, just enjoy it:)
my babyemmy
04-02-2006, 06:54
All of you have been so nice & really helpful;)
i really was crying by the time i finished reading all the texts!
I am definitely going to try out a lot of the suggestions!
My SIL does look very sick by the way,I am actually 2 weeks older than her,but everyone always asks if she is older than me! I have a brilliant story that i want to share!!!! We all had to go to a xmas party at FIL's work just before xmas,SIL decided to flirt with some guys (4), i wasn't with her as i was sitting with DH,her husband (DHs brother), rest of ILs, OK i will get to the point she dragged me over to them and she asked who is sexier and 3 out 4 chose me! i walked of with a huge smile on my face,but god knows what she was saying to them before dragging me over & she came back practically straight after me & did not look happy! We were there for a lot longer but for some reason she didn't talk to those guys again!:o :rolleyes:
04-02-2006, 07:05
LOL LOL LOL!!! Thats soooo funny! Serves her right!! :p
I cant believe that they said that to you!! I reckon they must be insecure in themselves to put you down like that!!! They are prolly jealous of your confidence & wanted to make themselves feel better!! :o
I'm a 16 too, ( though I am working on that, coz I want to) but I dont care what others think!! Dh tells me I'm beautiful all the time, & thats all that matters to me!! :)
babycrazy
04-02-2006, 11:24
Just say what I say
"I may be fat, but YOU ARE UGLY and I can diet!":D
mummycloud
04-02-2006, 11:37
LOL - babycrazy, I love it :D
I'm a size 16 and breastfeeding a 4.5 month old. No way in the world would I sacrafice breastfeeding to lose weight. I don't like being this size, but I know when I finish feeding I can do something about it.
I have NEVER had anyone treat me the way your sil and mil have been treating you.
I think your DH should have some words with those 2 b!tches and if I were him, I wouldn't talk to them again till they quit that sh!t.How DARE they :mad:
I'm so sorry you've been treated that way ((((HUGS))). With people like those in the world, is it any wonder people become anorexic!
Carmel Jane
04-02-2006, 18:53
I have been many sizes, most recently 14 on my way to a 12 before I fell pregnant. But I'd have to say, I'd rather be a 16 than a 6/8 any day!
Don't let that negative rubbish in, no-one should ever judge you by your packaging, its what is on the inside that counts.
you don't need hurtful people like that around you, you do have a right to protect yourself.
I honestly think the social perception of what is beautiful/attractive is twisted, as one wise lady posted, 16 is the average size of an Aussie.
If your happy and healthy its all that counts.
What a lovely support we all get on hubbub.
xx:)
i have been it all. through out school i was a size 16 and always teased, i left school, got down to a size 14, got preg, went to a size 18. Today i have started to diet and try and get down to a size 14-16. i am hoping it will work.after being a size 14 befor i am awair of the benifets, health, fitness and wellbeing. i lust hope it works.:)
Tell the pair of biarches to stick it.
I'm a 14 now and well on my way to being a 16 by the end of this pregnancy.:D
I have been a 10, an 8 and a 12 and I must admit, the 10 was the most fun. The 8 was a bit skeletal and un-sexy (I had those chicken fillet things in my bra). I can't really remember being a 12 because I went up to a 14 so quickly after being an 8 due to excessive dieting and pills completely stuffing up my metabolism.
The reason I dieted and abused my metabolism is because some other biarch made a comment about me being "built for comfort". That one comment nearly caused me to have an eating disorder.
Don't listen to them. They're feral.
Luckily my partner has only ever known me as a 14, so he has absolutely no recourse. And of course he would NEVER make a comment about my weight now that I am preggers. He wouldn't survive it...