View Full Version : Jan mums Bubba stages
Hi, im a bit nervous about toms eating and just wanted to ask the other Jan mums some questions
How many meals of solids is bub having?
Is bub drinking water?
Any problems with constipation?
Is bubs still eating at night?
What is bubs eating?
Hi Acacia
Whatever Tom is doing I'm sure it is fine :yes:
But this is what Cameron is doing if it helps:
- Still on 4 BF a day (and 1-3 at night :rolleyes: )
- 3 meals a day. Rice cereal mixed with fruit puree for brekky, puree veg and yogurt with fruit puree for lunch and veg & fruit for dinner. He has the solid meals about 45mins after a BF.
- With water, he has just worked out how to use the sipper cup but seems to dribble most of it down his front so don't know if he's actually drinking any. Probably not a prob so long as still having milk.
- no problems with constipation yet (but why can't he do it all in one go, we get 2 little dirty nappies and one BIG dirty nappy a day, usually in the morning)
But as with most things there is no one right way to go about this food business and their most important food source is still milk/formula so try not to worry too much.
tired*mummy
03-08-2007, 16:42
Acacia, every baby is different.
Sierra has 4-5, 200ml bottles per day & usually sleeps overnight but very occassionally she will have 1 bottle during the night.
She is having 2 solid meals a day. Not really interested in breakfast so is just having vegies @ lunchtime & then @ dinner she will have vegies again then some fruit or custard afterwards. Vegies are usually pumpkin & sweetcorn, vegies & rice, carrot, beef & potato. Pumpkin is her fave though.
She hasnt had any water as yet. I have tried her with some juice but she isnt interested yet.
She hasnt had any problems with constipation at all, but if she hasnt been for a day or two i will add an extra 10ml of water to her bottle. She has been sleeping thru the night too... usually put her down between 7-8pm & she wakes around 7-8am.
dragonflyblu
03-08-2007, 16:44
How many meals of solids is bub having? 3 a day, about 3 teaspoons each meal. maybe a rusk (spelt wholegrain) she eats about half.
Is bub drinking water? every few days about 20mls. this is more because she loves to play with a bottle.
Any problems with constipation?no, #2's every second-third day
Is bubs still eating at night? 7pm, 8.30pm 11pm then when it gets light.
What is bubs eating? potatoe, i overcook rice with fruit, the spelt rusks (which are more like a slightly harder breadstick) yogurt, just tried camomile tea last night to try to relax her, hated carrots and most veg so iyts pretty much all fruit.
Hi, im a bit nervous about toms eating and just wanted to ask the other Jan mums some questions
Is bub drinking water?
What is bubs eating?
3 meals a day + 4-5x200mils formula....solids = about half a cup or a whole baby yogurt
yes with lunch and dinner from a sippy cup (10mls)
Nope, probably the opposite, more runny nowadays.
Last bottle at 630pm.
lots! vegies/cheese/yogurts/cereals/toast/sandwiches/cruskits
farex/fruit/custards.
but Katie has been solids since 4 and a half months so quite the pro eater allready
- no problems with constipation yet (but why can't he do it all in one go, we get 2 little dirty nappies and one BIG dirty nappy a day, usually in the morning)
lol and I thought Katie was the only one. We also get about 3 a day, 1 little then 2 explodes not long after, also on the morning
When you read this, please remember I have a little piggy. Every baby is different
How many meals of solids is bub having? 3, breakfast - 1 weetbix sometimes with 1 tblsp fruit and 1/2 piece vegemite toast
lunch - 1.5 weetbix with 2-3 tblsp fruit or 2/3 cup (when mixed) rice and fruit
Dinner - veges and pasta (1 cup) and 1/2 tin custard or jar jelly
Most days she'll also have a milk arrowroot biscuit for afternoon tea
Bottles vary - 3-4 160ml a day (includes night feeds)
Is bub drinking water? She's trying it, doesn't drink much. But I add extra water to her bottles 150+10 200+20
No, goes three times a day
Yes:sleeping: :hair:
What is bubs eating?
banana, apple, pear, potato, pumpkin, brocc, cauli, sweet tat, corn, babyboost vege mixes (cold section in Coles) custard, jelly, milk arrowroot biscuits, vegemite toast
I cook extra veges and just mix them all together. Did the separate veges with DD1 and it hasn't made a difference with what she does and doesn't eat now. Pasta I overcook and mash with potato masher.
Cordelia
06-08-2007, 13:28
yikes mouse!! :)
How many meals: 3. 2 bottles (formula) and 3 breastfeeds
water: sometimes?
constipation: yes but nothing a drop of prune juice couldn't fix
Caitlin's not eating at night anymore
Meals: weetbix and pear for brekky. veges then yoghurt for lunch... veges for dinner - have added some chicken in recently.
Ellembee
06-08-2007, 15:57
3 + afternoon tea
breakfast: yogurt or fruit followed by 180mls formula
lunch: veges followed by 180mls formula
afternoon tea: fruit
dinner: veges followed by bathy then 180mls formula
Is bub drinking water?
She's trying to from her sippy cup.
Not for ages.
Yes she has at least one bottle of formula at night sometimes 2 and sometimes 3 on a bad night!
What is bubs eating?
pear, apple, blueberry, potato, carrot, sweet potato, zuchini, peas, baby yogurt
Yah MouseBrown, found the boost foods also!
How many meals:3meals. 8am/11am/6pm
Bapple + tiny bit of oatmeal brekky yoghurt too..
Lveges + bit of protein (egg yolk/cheese/chicken) this is recent
Dveges + bit of starchy stuff ie rice/risoni etc Oh and pureed prunes for dessert 'Yummy' :)
BFeeds before each and also at ~2.30pm oh and just before bed too.
Had been 'sleeping through' without BFeeding for a week+ but last night again a 3am. It was a surprise that no rocking or shushing could come close to settling!
Drinks water from glasses (badly) and sippy cups.
Yes has been constipated for last few days, poor thing, I increased BFing (expressing) and reduced the food..and made it mostly all vege/fruit. Worked.
Yum on the blueberries! We've had: same as everyone I think:..pumpkin/sweet Potat/broccoli/cauliflower/spinach/peas/avocado/mango!/banana/pear//beetroot/apple/earthworm!/(almost!!)/egg yolk/chicken/cheese ..bit will wait a bit longer on this again/milk!on oats once/baby oats/farex/risoni/yoghurt/toast phew. Of course Hunter thinks all food comes from the freezer :)
*Sparkles*
07-08-2007, 22:25
We have only just started solids here.
How many meals of solids is bub having? 2-3 a day
Is bub drinking water? No
Any problems with constipation? Definitely not lol
Is bubs still eating at night? No, not since 3 mths old.
What is bubs eating? Farex and all sloppy food (it's early days yet)
He did drink 400mls of formula before bed last night though :eek:
earthworm!/(almost!!)
What the?? LOL
cheezelz
08-08-2007, 15:31
I offer DD 3 meals a day. Most often she will eat 2 big meals, always dinner with us.
Is bub drinking water?
DD plays with her water. She drips it on her face from the teat. We tried a non drip sippy cup but she couldnt figure out that she had to suck hard to get stuff out. We tried heinz baby juice and she has maybe 5ml a day. Just experimenting.
Since intorducing 3 meals DD poo's have gotten harder. She now does maybe 3 smaller firmer poos per day instead of 1 large sloppy one.
Hell yeah!. Doesnt matter if I give her a milk feed before bed she always wakes at about 1.30 for another. Im starting to think that its just her body clock now and not that she actually wants/ needs a feed.
What is bubs eating?
BREAKFAST: she hates rice cereal
heinz jar museli or oats with fruit
weet bix
toast
LUNCH
fruit-banana, avacado. pear
yoghurt
DINNER
chicken, vegies & cous cous-mashed
mixed vegies-mashed
roast beef or lamb with vegies-mashed
spaghetti bog
we only just started solids, and atm..
only 1-2 meals a day, of a few spoons each. bfing the rest of the time as normal.
we've tried - rice cereal, millet cereal, avocado, sweet potato, pear (all mushed). so far he's hated the sweet potato and pear, been ok with avo. and loved the cereals..
i'm planning on being very conservative, and not doing meat til 8mo, just vegies and fruits. he seems to like bland things anyway..
and i can't get him to take water.. no constipation but i reckon we're on our way, cos his normally smeary poo is now thicker, like toothpaste or oil paint.. (sorry tmi).
i've tried a sippy cup or normal bottle, he just chews on it and splutters. ah well, keep trying.
and he's still waking alot at night for bf, maybe 3-4 times? but only 1x before 4am...
Strawberry_Shortcake
09-08-2007, 11:19
How many meals of solids is bub having? 3 meals a day.
Breakfast - 1 weetbix or farex with pureed fruit and 1 piece toast with vegemite on it and some apple juice ( watered down)
Lunch – baby yoghurt or custard
Dinner - bowl of mixed veges (sometimes two servings)
During the day he chews on milk arrowroot biscuit, rusks and cheese sticks
Bottles 4-5 x 200ml a day,
Is bub drinking water? Yes he does. Usually from his sipper cup.
No, goes at least 2 times a day
No has 250ml bottle at around 7pm
What is bubs eating?
banana, apple, pear, potato, pumpkin, brocc, cauli, carrot,custard, jelly, milk arrowroot biscuits, weetbixs , vegemite on toast, cheese sticks, baby yoghurt
Sleeping
Has a 2hr nap in the morning, 2 hour nap in the afternoon. Sleeps anywhere from 10 to 12 hours a night.
Thanks so much everyone. I do feel a lot better! I was worried i was over feeding the poor thing, but i think he is fine. He has 2 meals of solids
Lots of breast milk still. Eats some solids at about 6 or 7 pm then goes to bed at about 8pm and has been going without milk till 4am...thats through a lot of persistence though!
He eats banana, pumpkin, carrot, farex, avocado, pear, apple, sweet potato. I havent got a steamer yet so i havent tried brocolli etc but getting one today.
He has struggled to get out the harder poo's so ive got him on a sipper cup. I dont know how much water he is getting, b ut he really likes the cup!
He only does 50 minutes 2x a day sleeps then sleeps from about 8pm till 4am then wakes at 7am. That has taken a lot of work though!
Again thankyou so much everyone. Its sometimes hard to know if your doing the right thing!