View Full Version : Unusual Boys & Girls names
MumsieMel
02-02-2006, 13:43
Im looking for both boys and girls names that are a tad unusual, and hopefully wont end up on the top list for 2020!! LOL
My kids names are Xavier (pro X-avier) and Coralie (pro Coral-eye).
Thanks for your help
kyannas*mum*
02-02-2006, 13:49
hi i had a few names picked out not so much un usual just a little bit different
for girl:
my little girl is Kyanna also
tahnee
shon-tay
shayla
and a friend also told me
cadence
for boy not as unusual we had
jed
sheldon
bryson
hope they help you:) :)
lukaelmo
02-02-2006, 13:58
I used to live in France and a lot of the names there were pretty unusual for an Aussie lass...
There were two that I think are lovely, and I had never heard of before...
Aurelie (Orelly) girl
Aurelien (Orelleyen) boy
babycrazy
02-02-2006, 15:10
I always liked these names but hubby didn't
Girl
Keomi (key-oh-mee)
Boy
Malachy (mal-a- k- eye)
BlessedWithBlue
02-02-2006, 15:13
Adelyn
Amalia
Amaya
Amara
Amaris
Ayla
Briar
Braxton
Brynaya
Brynlee
Caprice
Capri
Cassia
Damaris
Kiandra
Delaney
Dexter
Draven
Echo
Ember
Giselle
Greta
Gage
Grayson
Hunter
Iman
Indiana
Ivy
Isis
Israel
Isaiah
Jaya
Jenaya
Juliana
Justice
Jacobe
Jaron
Jaymen
Javen
Jelani
Kaiya
Kaleesha
Kale
Kaniel
Kearney
Keelan
Kenton
Kenyon
Kyler
Lilith
Lyric
Landon
Lane
Lennon
Mahalia
Mercedes
Mattaya
Maliyah
Mason
Mateo
Orion
Piper
Paxton
Phoenix
Quinlan
Rider
Sade
Shantaya
Sienna
Sierra
Shantae
Shenaya
Shamya
Samara
Shaylen
Shayden
Spencer
Tahira
Tahani
Takara
Takiyah
Takoda
Talia
Tatiana
Tiara
Tierra
Tate
Tiernan
Tobias
Torin
Trenton
Willow
Walker
Wilson
Yasmin
Yaslin
Yarin
Zahara
Zenaida
Zane
Zaniel
Zared
Zarek
Zenon
Zion
Zephyr
Zaide
the_queen
02-02-2006, 16:28
Aurelie (Orelly) girl
I've seen that name written and always wondered how it's pronounced.
Or-Relly? With the emphasis on the Relly?
or "Orally" (as in, medicine is to be taken orally)
Coz if it's "orally", i can predict some pretty mean nicknames in high school..... :rolleyes:
I like the idea of combining mum and dad's names to come up with the bubba's name. I've tried this for us, and have come up with the following possibilities:
RORI
MARIKE (not sure how to pronounce - maybe Marika? Mar-eye-k? Mari-Kay?)
ELLICK
MALLICK
MERRICK
I actually really like "Merrick" but my DH just laughed and said "what, merrick and rosso??" and I'm like, yeah?!? I'm not sure if their popularity will last much longer!
Or I like looking at "olden days names" like Dulcie, Ivy, Douglas, Miles. I like "Gloria" for a girl (although that was the name of the hippo in Madagascar :rolleyes: so we can't use that one) I also like "Maria" and "Daphne".
My DH's suggestion for a girls name is VIENNA which I quite like, but most probably won't use, because we've already got a V name (Vallerie).
(on a less serious note, you could always watch shows like Jerry Springer and Maury Povich - they always seem to have quite, um, unique names... Shaniqua, LaShondra, Anfernee, N'Dean :p )
I think Aurelie is pronounced Or-ell-ee.
bekkyboo
02-02-2006, 17:10
Ive been told that Garrett was an unsual name... I didnt think so...
DB and and i like it, so that is all that counts... ;)
MumsieMel
02-02-2006, 17:12
Thanks for all the ideas Girls! Keep them coming, going to run some past DH! ;)
RACHEL
Gee where'd you get that list!! LOL
THEQUEEN
No thanks about Jerry springer! :p
I think Aurelie is pronounced Or-ell-ee.
doesn't really matter how it is MEANT to be pronounced :) once kids see that it COULD be pronounced 'orally' in school she is gonna get some serious grief from the boys... :eek:
I really like keomi though... :)
doesn't really matter how it is MEANT to be pronounced :) once kids see that it COULD be pronounced 'orally' in school she is gonna get some serious grief from the boys... :eek:
I was answering the_queens question... :confused:
BlessedWithBlue
02-02-2006, 21:27
RACHEL
Gee where'd you get that list!! LOL
lol some of them are from here http://www.zoope.com/about/about_names.html some of them are names that df and i like and some some came from our baby name book. i have a few websites bookmarked that have a lot of unique names let me know if you want them!!
Hi there Xavier and Coralie are lovely names in fact my aunts name is Coralie :p
My sons name is Jakeb and my daughter is Ava
I've always like Ellyse pretty run of the mill names I know but some of the ones mentioned were scary no offence meant!!!
Goodluck in finding a name somehow I don't think you'll have any trouble. :)
Terrible2+1cutie
02-02-2006, 21:54
One of my son's names is Blaze people tell me that is an unusual and very different name.
Catherine
I was answering the_queens question... :confused:
yeah I know hon.. sorry if there was confusion.. (I guess my post was more directed toward her post too)... I was just thinking that I personally would avoid the name entirely.. due to the obvious chance of misprounciation.. :)
My sons name s are Zaiah and Kynan and my daughters name is Tanesha!
good luck in the name hunting!:)
MumsieMel
03-02-2006, 12:08
Thanks everyone, will let you know how we go!
Peaceangels
03-02-2006, 12:13
Friends dd's name is Sancia. I didn't like it at first, but it has grown on me - as I always say "the name becomes the person".
I once worked with a girl whose name was Oie (pronounce Oy, like when you are trying to get someone's attention) - truly! and her sister's name was Joy.
yeah I know hon.. sorry if there was confusion.. (I guess my post was more directed toward her post too)... I was just thinking that I personally would avoid the name entirely.. due to the obvious chance of misprounciation.. :)
Personally I love Aurelie, but maybe a better variant would be Aurelia? ;)
I love the girls name Pearla, but my husband won't have a bar of it! I like the grannies name Pearl and think this is a modern update. And how beautiful are pearls?
I also like the boys name Burke, for something different.
Check out the names in my signature. They are all a little different, besides Ella, I know that is a very common name now, but I still love its femininity!
Good luck!
:) I was just reading thru all the wonderful names you ladies have posted and WOW some of them are way out there, I mean different, some I haven't even heard off or able to pronounce. When I was deciding on my baby's name I had noone to fight with so that was one battle won. I had a boys name since my mid teens which at the time was very unusual, even nowdays it still is but getting more and more popular, so if I had a boy I had a name already. I'm the same as u Mumsiemel, my son's name is Xavier :D . The girls name was a little harder, but I had two by the end the only problem I had was which way I was going to put them.
Rhiannon Amelia
Amelia Rhiannon
But I love both these names and they are not widely used........yet!
Good Luck with the name search but you will know what it is when you hear/see it.
Rhiannon is actually very common, particularly in Western Sydney, for some reason. :p
( I think Stevie Nicks has a lot to answer for!)
I like Rory for a girl :)
mythreelittlemonkeys
05-02-2006, 12:22
i think Aurelia better too...I looked after a little girl in the UK whose name was that (pronounced oraylia) and my dad's cousin is called Aurelia too...quite an popular in certain circles in UK...Oenoene was the little girls sisters name - now that is different! :D
At uni there was a girl called Cressida which I had never heard of before...
Prob I find is now so many 'different' names are actually very common...as people seem to be trying very hard to be different if you see what I mean...my step children are called Lacey(8) and Cruz (3) (however Cruz now really popular in Europe since David Beckham called his son it in 2005) BEing different can go too far - their mother wouldn't call out their names in shops as she didn't want anyone else calling their kids them...she also thinks she made them up hate to tell her but Cruz is very popular in SPanish countries for boys and girls! and Lacey is definitely a Yank name! :rolleyes:
I have been looking at UK registry and Aussie most popular names for past 10 years and its amazing the difference! and what may be unusual here (esp old fashioned names popular in UK) and vice versa.
WE have no idea really what to call him/or her...though we both said we like Matilda Rose before I fell pregnant then Heath Ledger named his baby that!
What gets me is the 100 and 1 different spellings of names how on earth do poor primary teachers cope!
I think it deffo worth thinking of what names can be abbreviated to or turned into as kids are really cruel...plus look at what intials spell to we had a boy at school called Guy Nicholas ALexander Trust...GNAT (he was one though!) But you know you can't win cos my mum wanted to call me Charlotte(which is beautiful name) but my father had known a girl who lets say put it around a bit called that who everyone reffered to as Charlotte the Harlot and he couldn't quite get it out of his head.
Also as someone who had a long name and surname (then married someone with an equally long/strange surname) I think you need to think about the fact that for the rest of their lives the child will probably have to resay and spell out their name to everyone...and learn to spell it!
Anyway they are just my thoughts...oh if you really stuck for boys names read some of the greek mythology books or even the later Narnian chronicles lots of interesting names!
I once worked with a girl whose name was Oie (pronounce Oy, like when you are trying to get someone's attention) - truly! and her sister's name was Joy.
"Oi, Joy!" Ohh.. that's just cruel..
I know two girls called Milli and Molly, born in that order. It doesn't bother me tho, when you know them it doesn't sound as bad.
..my step children are called Lacey(8) and Cruz (3) (however Cruz now really popular in Europe since David Beckham called his son it in 2005) BEing different can go too far - their mother wouldn't call out their names in shops as she didn't want anyone else calling their kids them...she also thinks she made them up hate to tell her but Cruz is very popular in SPanish countries for boys and girls! and Lacey is definitely a Yank name! :rolleyes:
Lacey, that's nice! Is it pronounced Lace-ee? as in "that dress is very lacey!" not that I think that is proper english.. but anywho..
I understand with her thinking that she made them up tho. She made them up in her head, she probably hadn't heard of them before, and made them up not knowing it was already used... when u think about, probably every name has already been made up..
WE have no idea really what to call him/or her...though we both said we like Matilda Rose before I fell pregnant then Heath Ledger named his baby that!
I personally think it doesn't matter if someone you don't know names their child something you wanted to name your child. If you like the name, then you should go ahead with it.
What gets me is the 100 and 1 different spellings of names how on earth do poor primary teachers cope! ..... I think you need to think about the fact that for the rest of their lives the child will probably have to resay and spell out their name to everyone...and learn to spell it!
Hmm... that is a little annoying, however I like it sometimes the I is a Y instead... it seems very fantasy-like to me.
I personally like the name Heidi, and Phoenix is cute.
I have always loved Aurelie and Aurelia. I know a hymn tune called Aurelia and it is pronounced Or - REE - lia (so would Aurelie be Or - REE - lee. Means golden
lexi'smum
05-02-2006, 15:37
I have a friend whose daughter is called Sakura, pronounced sa - cour- ra which at first was a little strange, but i really like it now, means cherry blossom or something, I know another baby called malaki for a boy which is cute,
I love the name (not sure on sp-few diff ways) oriel pronounced or- re- elle and airel is cute like the little marmaid.
Speaking of getting names off jerry springer - the only other place ive heard my daughters name is from some prostitute on that show (after she was born) :eek: :eek:
But i still like it.
my cousins have some different names
aarika
aaphrael
bronte
merikie
all girls manes
Good luck with it :)
My sons name is Jakeb and my daughter is Ava
Oooohhhh..... Jakeb - that was my fav name for DS and spelt just how I wanted to spell it. DP wouldn't even consider it :( Lucky you and lucky Jakeb!
(My second fav was Jaxon. Wasn't allowed that either! :( )
My sisters names are unusual
and i like em:
Mackenzie
Denver
Indiannah
More food for thought
the_queen
06-02-2006, 21:43
I met a lady once whose 3 daughters were called Dakota, Montana and Indianna. :rolleyes:
When I was a teenager I used to have a list of names that I was "definately" going to call my children .... My favourite girls' names were:
FREEDOM
and
SILENCE
(thank god I grew up LOL)
:p Can you imagine me calling out to my daughters in a shop: FREEDOM!!!! SILENCE!!!!!! :D
I've been told "Vallerie" is unusual, but I don't really think it is. Just not used that often these days. I love the name "Daphne" but DH thinks it sounds like "Daffy" so that one is out. I suggested the name "Miranda" and he just said "Miraaaandaaaa" like out of Picnic at Hanging Rock...... :rolleyes: I think he just wants to pay out on every name I like!!!
I am having that problem too, with the paying out. Every name I suggest he doesn't like and if I say a name that I think is pretty and unusual he screws his nose up and says "too woggy".
How rude.
The other day I said a girls name and he actually nodded. Then when I brought the subject up again later he goes "I like that name you said before".
So that's our girls name sorted. Boy's name yet to be decided.
the_queen
08-02-2006, 11:17
And God forbid I should pay out on a name he likes!!! :p
All my DH has suggested so far is: Chopper (for a boy) (yes, I'm married to an idiot) and Vienna (for a girl) (which is not too bad I guess, but I am not sure I want two V names)
He was so offended when I laughed at "Chopper" LOL he said "I think it sounds tough!!"
Chopper.
that is actually really cute. As a NICKNAME!!!!
DP goes the other day "What about Xander?".
I couldn't believe he had actually made a suggestion. I said to him "Do you like that?" and he goes "Nah!! its off Buffy!". He was joking.
Another idiot. We're surrounded.
Anyway, funny thing is, about a week later my cousin, who is due two months before me said they have decided on a name for their baby boy.
You guessed it...
Xander.
The Queen- the name Chopper cracked me up!! Loved the movie of that name- it is funny- but at the end of the day you'd be naming your baby after a crim! lol Men!
We've known since day 2 of our relationship a girl's name but I still wanted to go through some with him. I found Pearla and suggested it. DH said sounded alright. I told my bros we liked it and DH looks at me and says "I didn't say that, that's a silly name"!! AHH
Mummabear
08-02-2006, 21:18
When I was pregnant we had Taylee (spelling?? Tahlie, Taylie, Taeley) and Makenzie picked out for a girl. Then my DH got himself a little muddled one day (not hard ;) ) and said Makaylie (Ma-kay-lee). I quite like that now :p
He has a habit of suggesting names for boys that sound like porn stars, lol :eek:
MumsieMel
13-02-2006, 14:15
Thanks everyone!
We have a couple of girls names picked out but still struggling with boys.
Any more ideas out there?
Grizabella
20-02-2006, 00:23
All my DH has suggested so far is: Chopper (for a boy) (yes, I'm married to an idiot) and Vienna (for a girl) (which is not too bad I guess, but I am not sure I want two V names)
He was so offended when I laughed at "Chopper" LOL he said "I think it sounds tough!!"
Chopper is a tough name! My old Rotty X Ridgeback was called Chopper!!!LOL
I've been told my son's name is unusual ( it's pronounced Bree - on), it's a Welsh name, there are heaps of Welsh names that are unusual but still traditional. The only problem with Brion's name is ppl think we did a respell of the name Brian.
We were also thinking about the name Blade ( old English - not vampire movie!!)As well as Maddox. I used to want to call my son Murdoc, when I was younger, still do, but DH kiboshed that one! I also like the name Koden.
If we ever have a girl we both like the name Serenity. But I'm afraid if we do, we'll get the complete opposite!! LOL
20-02-2006, 08:01
On of my best friend's name was Serenity! I've never heard of another though! Very nice! :)
the_queen
20-02-2006, 08:10
I've heard of a girl named "Rebel"..... I don't know about that one, I think you're kinda asking for trouble, naming her that!!!
I love the name "Gypsy" for a girl, a few years back it would have looked like I'd named my kid after a Home and Away character:rolleyes: but the reason I like it is the Stevie Nicks song.
Of course, if this baby is a girl and I name her Gypsy, my Vallerie will think I've named her after the little mouse on Bambaloo:p
My chuihuaha (is that how you spell it) is called chopper. I read somewhere that chopper reid called his son ripper!
Hi, I thought I might jump in here...I LOVE unusual names...
Mine is Chailee (pron Shayley), my DS is Zane (not too unusual) and my DD is Zali. I love all 3 of those names, & if I had 1 cent for each time someone told me how much they loved my name, I would be very wealthy!
Good luck with it all..I had a difficult DH in the whole naming process and both my kiddies were named after 3 and 4 days respectively.
here are some unusual names that celebrities have named their kids
Diezel Ky Lewis son of Toni Braxton and Keri Lewis
Pilot Inspektor Lee son of Jason Lee and Beth Riesgraf
Crumpet Cohen daughter of Lisa Vidal and Jay Cohen
Audio Science Clayton son of Shannyn Sossaman and Dallas Clayton
my only question is why????
the_queen
20-02-2006, 15:02
CRUMPET !!??
Oh that's just cruel.
"There's a nice bit of crumpet for ya"
And AUDIO SCIENCE ?????
I think that's just a publicity stunt, at home they probably call her Jane.
Tan-mumof3
20-02-2006, 15:08
Hi my ds name is Jordan -which unusual anymore there are so many jordans now. his middle name is Kai also not too unusual.
I also like:
Zander
Wesley
Cooper
Brodie
Bailey
Jaylen
Kacey
Thats all i can think of atm goodluck choosing a name.
hayleylea
20-02-2006, 18:40
I liked the name Zye for a boy. But everyone else was totally against it lol its unusual and maybe someone out there somewhere will ike it...if not OH WELL! :p lol
Unusual name: Alucard.
It's Dracula spelt backwards!
Desertress
20-02-2006, 20:58
I have always loved the name logan so thats what DS1 was called. We had a hard time picking a name for DS2... for a long time he was almost called ainsley which i guess isnt that unusual and can be used for a boy or a girl but in the end we called him Chase which is a little unusual but now after HOUSE has aired i think it will be a little more popular.
For a girl we have always liked Soraya.
goldcoastgirl18
20-02-2006, 21:03
i like the names aaramea and keyden but did name my child any of them.
Crumpet Cohen daughter of Lisa Vidal and Jay Cohen
Audio Science Clayton son of Shannyn Sossaman and Dallas Clayton
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
novembermum
21-02-2006, 10:04
Hi, here's another slightly odd name.
My DS is Xero (t-s-ero) Arius Arquimes. If we had a girl the name was going to be Miette Amilie.
tykeal & phoenixs' mummy
21-02-2006, 17:49
hi everyone,
my sons name is Tykeal Jae. (pronounced tik keal) everyone always calls him tie keal. anyway for a girl i had Tykeellah Jayde (pronounced Ty keel lah) but when my second child was born cos i had tykeal i couldn't have tykeellah, so i had a little miss Phoenix-Jayde kyah.
i also had exavia blayze dillin picked out for a boy.
good luck in choosing your names.
mel:-)
MrsMiggins
22-02-2006, 22:12
My darling girl's name is Claire and almost every time I tell someone they get this surprised look on their face! We've also had quite a few; "you don't hear that name anymore!"'s
Hi there!
There are some really great names on these posts!
My sons name is Bailey and we didnt think it was a popular name but since we have heard of so many baby boys and girls called Bailey!
BTW- Claire is a gorgeous name for a little girl!!!
Leanne
PurpleHaze
26-02-2006, 21:50
My eldest is Rivalee (Riv-a-lee) Rose. My hubby always wanted Riva and her middle name was always going to be Lee (its a family name for the girls in my family).
I was always worried she would get teased at school so we comprimised and joined them
we named our daughter Arwynn, its gaelic (sp?) there is Arwen (who is elven princess type person from lord of the rings) but our spelling is the gaelic version, we only decided to add the 2nd N when we were writting her name on her birth I.D card.... :)
3SPUNKRATZ
28-02-2006, 16:08
my sons name will be MARIUS. DF and i chose it when we got together over 6 years ago and havnt changed our minds.
when we have more :
a girl will be AURORA
if we had another boy his name will be LEITO pronounced (lay-toe)
i also like WILLOW
ADA
JADA
and SHERRY for girls
and ASHTON
SETH
AIDEN
BALTHASAR
COLE
DATON (pronounced day-ton)
and IVAN for boys.
but like i said, my kids names will be, MARIUS, AURORA, and LEITO. then if we have more we have more picking to do.:)
Lisa&Davey
28-02-2006, 17:28
My DS will be named David Danger. I know David is as common as anything (family name) but Danger is so that he can say 'Danger is my middle name'. When I first got together with DP he told me how that would be his fav boy name and was surprised when I loved it.
......will make a cool pickup line for when he's grown up too:D
He'll prob grow up to be a stuntman or adventurer or something and I'll have no one to blame but myself:D
My sister son is called Jezreel his such a cutie too
we have a tatiana but it is pronounced (tashiana) it sounds a lot better that way
I love Charli for a girl!!!
I have a Paris, Jaiden and a Seth..which were all quite rare when they were born..
Mattisse and Indy are a fav of mine..and Dakota is Seth's middle name..
Different names rock!!:smiliedance:
when mine were atchildcare while i was working they had 2 kids in their room called jerusalem and cleopatra.:confused:
Mister Noodle
01-03-2006, 08:16
Just whatever you do, check here (http://notwithoutmyhandbag.com/babynames/index.html) first...
(it's sarcastic as hell, but very funny - PLEASE don't take anythnig the wrong way...)
the_queen
01-03-2006, 08:19
HAHAHAHA Mr Noodle, my sister belongs to the forum on that site, she's always saying "don't put a Y in it" when I suggest names ......
PS are you Mr Noodle, or Mr Noodle's brother Mr Noodle?:laughing:
MumsieMel
01-03-2006, 13:08
LOL thanks Mr Noodle!!
No offence taken :laughing:
keighleyandayjasmum
07-03-2006, 11:03
My daughters names are:
Keighley (Keely)
Ayja (Asia)
We have a 3rd on the way not sure what its going to be but we have only chosen a boys name (Angus James), and have no idea what to girl it if its a girl
My sister just had her 2nd boy and named him
Macauley
choplits mum
07-03-2006, 12:13
I taught a girl called 'Rinporn'....not good!!:shame:
i really like the name keziah its welch for cassie
pronounced Kez-ee-ah i think its quite pretty also
teegan its welch for beautiful i think
theres also names like Storm that i think are quite cool
Just whatever you do, check here (http://notwithoutmyhandbag.com/babynames/index.html) first...
(it's sarcastic as hell, but very funny - PLEASE don't take anythnig the wrong way...)
Oh yes! I have seen this site before. It is hilarious. :laughing:
How about Hudson. Ocean, Storm, Anique (pro ann-eek), Mordacai (pro mord-a-kye), Savannah, Tahlia (pro tah-leah).
I know a couple of Tahlia's, its a bit more popular now.
Love the name Hudson, used to flat with a girl with a son of that name. She named her other son Parker.
jarrahsmumma
15-03-2006, 09:14
Ghenghis. It won't get out of my head.
Won't?
Or Khan't?
jarrahsmumma
15-03-2006, 09:22
You are on fire this morning! :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
ok so this name isn't unusual but it's not really for a baby.... or is it????
latest news from hollywood, Nelson Aspen from sunrise, tells us that Gwyneth Paltrow has decided that if her baby is a boy she wants to "honour" her godfather - being steven spielberg, she calls him "Uncle Morty", so she'll call her son Mortimer or Morty :banghead: for short. now come on, I've come to accept Apple as a name, but Mortimer for a baby???? just my opinion though, i'm not judging.
I hope she does call him that. Then we will all be left in peace to call our baby's whatever we want, knowing that it won't be what she has chosen.
Nothing worse than having a name picked out and then it getting ruined by a celebrity calling their kid that.
Here's a few:
BOYS
Taj
Declan
Jamon
GIRLS
Imogen
Rhiannon
Rhianna or Rhiannah
Christiane (Pronounced Kristy-ar-nee)
Tenaia (Pronounced Ten-ay-a)
Regan
Summer
Tia
Thought i would just say a few, i dont necessarily love all of those names...
misskittyfantastico
27-03-2006, 16:30
I posted these in another thread....but here are some different names that friends of mine have chosen
Rueben
Chazzon (Chaz)
Tillianna
Tallulah
MumsieMel
27-03-2006, 16:38
Thanks Guys :thumbsup:
hmmm maybe widget? :laughing: (one of my friends called her child that)
Wow are you serious!! :eek: Poor kid!
Yep I am serious as a heart attack. Feel sorry for her boy but it was her choice of course. I would probably call my puppy that but not a child - but that's me. Dunno what's worse naming your child Widget or Apples? :laughing:
Lol, i actually think i prefer the name Apple!! And i hate the name Apple! :laughing:
MumsieMel
31-03-2006, 15:26
BUMPING
Up for more ideas since now we're expecting!!!! :smiliedance:
Shananaaah
31-03-2006, 21:38
The best thing I have found to do, when you're DH isn't co-operating - make yourself an excel spreadsheet of all the names you like (I got the 20,000+ book out and went through EVERY SINGLE NAME over the course of a few weeks). Divide them into boys ans girls, put in the origin and meaning, get really into it.
Then once a month I make my husband rate each name out of 10. Then I rate it too. When we finally have a baby (we are TTC now) we can mathematically work out the score for each name and the name with the biggest score wins.
Having said that, DH doesn't know plan B yet - that no matter "wins" on the chart, I'm going to pull rank after childbirth and name the baby anything I want anyway lol.
I just like to torment him when I bring out the laptop and say "guess what day it is??" every month. ha ha :devil6:
Faithcomesinnumbers
31-03-2006, 21:51
We had:
Faith
Hope
Destiny
Bella
We have nephews:
Dakoda
Ukiah-Storm
and neices:
Sapphire-Rose
Shania-Flame
Very different!!
lilmissymoo
31-03-2006, 22:02
our little girls name is Kekoa Brie
I have a niece Somaiya
Nephews Bailey - Mackai
sister-in-law also had Tuqiri as a girls name and Mitika as a boys name
Faithcomesinnumbers
31-03-2006, 22:11
One of my son's names is Blaze people tell me that is an unusual and very different name.
Catherine
Terrible2 I absolutely love this name Blaze. If we TTC again I will know the boys name now to go with Faith. Faith & Blaze. :yelclap:
jessgray
06-04-2006, 09:21
im up for wierd unuasl name ideas :) im only almost 8 weeks preg with number #2 our son is called cody Lars bell (has dp's last name) this bub will also have bell as a surname. so i f anyone can think of not too common names that sound good with Bell let me know :D coz im stumped lol:laughing:
When I was preg we came up with Jamieson because both my name and DHs name is Jamie so for us that would have been cool. Though we did tell people we were naming the baby Jamie regardless of the sex:laughing: .I can tell you our parents didnt find this as funny as we did!:laughing: Then to really freak the out we said for a boy it woul be Jimmy-John! Which i think is kinda cool.
jessgray
06-04-2006, 10:24
i like the name aiya :) is it a boy or girl name?
jessgray
06-04-2006, 10:36
i thought it sounded like a girls name i just find it hard to tell these days with so many unisex names out there :laughing:
MumsieMel
06-04-2006, 11:04
Hmm im really liking some new names
MumsieMel
06-04-2006, 11:18
how was it pronounced?
06-04-2006, 17:03
hiya well i have 2 girls names are Brianna and Natalia and preg with girl numb 3 but unsure of a name! thinking along the lines of Angelina (yes all my names are quite woggy! considering that we are lols :p
but hubby is thinking Aleisha which i dont mind but i prefer Angelina middle names dont even go there, although i hafta say i will prolly pull rank as im the one whos pushing :laughing:
3cherubs
08-04-2006, 19:43
My DD1 is Arwen and my neice is Tegwen , very welsh..
jessgray
10-04-2006, 16:55
i like tegwen :)
never heard it before
mykidzrokk
12-04-2006, 21:33
I have Ellanor, Jaxon and Jett.
My sister has 2 girls....Chandla and Milah (Miller).
Our friends had a boy 6 mths ago and his name is(first & middle)
VAN STYLES
Now at first I was unsure but I think it is really cool suits him to a T!!!!
Girls
Well I am still in love with my LILLA (Lil-la) :D
My little girl is Senna, which is dutch, very appropriate with princess Mary and the assocition to Tassie. It has taken people a little while to get used to it but my DH and I just loved the name
My name is Kirrilie ( kirra lee) there are many ways of spelling this. I have found the name Kirra is becoming popular in primary schools the last few years. A lot of people have a problem pronouncing my name or if they have never heard the name before they refuse to hear it and call me kylie Shirley or Tirralee?? I work with the elderly.
I used to get called curly at school or killer as some kids could only say (killer lee). I now love my name and would like to find something a little unusual for my bub. :smiliedance:
My name's Arna - I have a lot of people thinking it's fancy Anna but you definitely pronounce the R! I've only ever met one other who spells her name the same way so I guess it's pretty original. The only nickname I got at school was Arna Banana (not too harsh) and believe it or not my family and friends managed to shorten it - I get Arn, Arns or Arnie. My brother's name is Gabe so I guess it was pretty important for Ma & Pa to give us a bit of an identity in this way!
It's nice to have a name that's not that common. :)
JobyBear
21-04-2006, 10:56
I used to have a Richard Marx CD (sad, I know :rolleyes: ), and it had a song on it called "Angelia". I had no idea how to pronounce it until I listened to the song. He sang it as Angel-EE-a, sort of a combination of Angel and Leah. I thought it was quite pretty.
I like alot of unusual names, not weird though. And I especially like surnames as boys first names:
Fletcher
Mason
Spencer
Dalton
THEQUEEN: I was thinking if you both like Vienna but don't want 2 V's, you could go with Sienna or Rienna or some other form?!?!
Good Luck!
I dont think I have posted in this thread before, my faves (collected over the years!) are below:
GIRLS
Brooklyn
Caitlin
Ebani
Elouize
Gabriella
Harmony
Izabella (Bella)
Jorja
Lani
Liliana (Lili)
Lorali (Rory)
Luciana (Luci)
Maya
Miah
Michaela
Monique
Poppy
Rose
Sienna
Tilly
Tori
Trinity
BOYS
Aliah
Bailey
Braxton
Brayden
Brock
Caleb
Calum
Coen
Elijah
Ethan
Hudson
Jai
Jaxon
Judson
Jye
Kade
Kienan
Kobi
Lauchlan
Mitchell
Nate
Neo
Oliver
Oscar
Tyler
Tyson
Zeke
Luca
Rylan
My current Fave and new addition is Jaxon for a boy. I really like the name Jackson but dont like Jack for short, so I found Jaxon and I love it. I think someone else recently suggested it here to but I had never heard it before.
I like unusual names although DH doesnt so we are going to have fun agreeing on a name when the time comes! lol
Although I would steer clear of names that look hard to pronounce... I had an unusual maiden name and all through school i hated the teachers getting it wrong (roll call etc), i found it embarrasing. I am weary of naming my kids names that are not easy or clear on how you pronounce them. DOnt mind having to spell them though, had to do that with my maiden name to! ALthough my marrie dname is easy (its a Country's name... although this kicks out any 'place' names for first names for our kids!)
I like Akira. My sister's name is Moya and I think it is beautiful. She always gets compliments on her name.The best thing is it is also easy to spell and pronounce.
mollyandkurtsmum
21-04-2006, 22:55
I love unusual but not rediculous names . My kids are Kurtis Molly and Fletcher. We also liked Burke for a boy and ruth for a girl. Actually maybe I dont like unusual names just old fashioned. I also like Elliot and Arthur for boys and Martha and Pearl for girls
mumma bear
21-04-2006, 23:02
I love something a little different too. I also wanted names that could not be shortened.
I have Ethany, like Bethany but without the B and Xavier which we pronounce Zavier. We also liked Jensen for a boy and Kamala for a girl. Who knows maybe we'll have more and get to use them. Hmmm...
MissSparkle
22-04-2006, 11:57
This prolly sounds VREY unusual but my lil sis (Who i might add is 14!) loves the names
Jessamy &
Stefika
Like Stephanie and Jessica with the ends swapped. Just thought Id add that in!
I think Jessamy is an actual name, I am sure I have heard this one or seen it somewhere. I like it.
It sort of sounds boyish, but I don't know if it is a boys name or a girls name.
23-04-2006, 11:02
Hey all- I posted before, but am wondering what your honest thoughts on the name Akira for a girl? Akira is Scottish, means Anchor. It's now our current fav.
Maybe middle name Rain?
Akira Rain
Akira Raine
Akira Paisley
Oohh - the Raine with the 'e' looks great, very elegant!! :thumbsup:
libandneo
24-04-2006, 10:42
Nicole-E - My son's name is on your list - little Neo Xavier was born last May and he gets lots of great reactions especially from young men and teenage boys. We are now expecting our second and although I LOVE the name Trinity for a girl I am worried people will tease our kids and say they are in love with each other!
Steph I went to school with a girl named Jessamy and I love that name (pronounced like Sesame) and I also know a Croatian girl called Stefica (you can pronounce it either with as Stef-ITS-a or Stef-IK-a)
My idiot husband says he wants to call our kids Ra (as in the Egyptian god of the sun) or Z'hl (you know the monster from Ghostbusters! *sheeesh!*
Libby
DH: Jard 20/08/68
DS: Neo Xavier 26/05/06
D?: due 14/12/06
the_queen
24-04-2006, 10:54
My idiot husband says he wants to call our kids Ra (as in the Egyptian god of the sun) or Z'hl (you know the monster from Ghostbusters! *sheeesh!*
:laughing: :laughing: oh Libby, and I thought I was the only one with an IH !!! Mine has suggested Ajax, Homer, and Gassan (pronounced "Jason") plus numerous other attrocities that I have blocked from my memory.... LOL Ra..... Can you imagine if the kid runs off in the supermarket, and you're walking around calling out for him? "Ra!! Ra!!!! RA!!!!!" LOL sounds like you're trying to scare the shelf-stacker-boys.
uptheduff
24-04-2006, 13:48
One of my niece's names is Murn....DH and his family are all Scottish, it's a very old Scottish name...and if you've ever seen braveheart, it's the name of mel's wife (the one who gets killed in the beginning)
I think it's a lovely name, but i can never pronounce it properly. It's pronounced how it sounds, but you really have to accentuate the 'r'.
MummaRobyn
24-04-2006, 14:17
We have had two girls in a row, and I have a sneaky suspicion that this one I am carrying is also a girl.... but I really like the name Tarquin for a boy. Hubby loathes it with a passion though so I guess if this baby is boy (our last child) it won't be called Tarquin anyways so someone better use it!!!
24-04-2006, 17:44
wow I've read through all 12 pages of names to get through here because we are still searching for a midde name for Savannah.
anyway... unusual boys names I like are:
Zebulan
and Zacharias (my son is Zachariah and since he was born 3 of my good friends have named there son that GRR so tho i love his name, i now wish he was Zacharias hehe)
Unusual Girls names I like are:
Sha-nequa
Kamori
Mercedes (which has already been suggested but its one of my favourites)
Monet (my daughters middle name)
Adaleigh
My favourite unusual name for a girl is Mexia pronounced Ma - higher, its a town in Texas! BF and I have loved it for years, but are a bit wary to use it as it would never be said properly! Also love Kalan and Yolanda (maybe not that unusual but thought I would add them anyways :)
Andrea
libandneo
24-04-2006, 19:53
Tarquin historically speaking is the name of a PARTICULARLY bloodthirsty Roman emperor, so I might have another think about it.
One of my fave names for a girl is Angeni - pron: ON-je-nee which is a native american name meaning spirit child, and i also love the name of one of my friends, Chenoa - pron Shuh-NO-ah which means white dove. According to DH neither of these names will get a run either. I read through my list of faves the other night and he hates all of them! :confused: Oh well!
Libby
DH: Jard 20/08/68
DS: Neo Xavier 26/05/05
D?: due 14/12/06
Femme-Fetale
24-04-2006, 20:52
For a girl i only like 2 names and will use one or the other (if i ever have another kid that is lol)
AMEERAH - Ive always loved this name and had it chosen to give my DS if he was infact NOT a DS lol.
I saw a name during the winter olympics and it won me over --TORAH :thumbsup: Yea i love it!
I thought i had named my son a more un-common name, unusual?? his name is Ezekiel (zeak for short) i love different names
I wanted to call my son Thorn so i could yell out "come here you little prick" as he was up to norty things somewhere haha :laughing:
I love the name Malakiah if i were to have another boy now
I love unique names!
Boys
Zahn
Xavon
Ike
Vaughn
Javaize
Tylan
Zeev
Girls
Jovita
Chevelle
Reeva
Cevonsa (se-von-sah) Se as in Said
Veeda
mythreelittlemonkeys
07-05-2006, 14:01
jessamy definitely a name - i went to school with a girl called Jessamy - though inevitably it did get shortened to Jess so alot of people just presumed her name was Jessica...I always thought it was a very pretty and interesting name...
I think however creative we try to be...most names are out there somewhere wither in history, the bible! or in a different language!
My DH's ex thought she'd made up the name Lacey for her daughter - but it been out there for yonks(old Norman(French) aristocratic name)...just not used that much...same with her 4 year old he is Cruz (long b4 Beckhams!)she thought that really rare/unusual which it is over here - but in Spanish speaking countries used all the time for girls and boys! and now apparently it really popular again in Europe because of the Beckhams! :D
Fairyfloss
07-05-2006, 14:03
have you tried mixing different syllibus of different names to make your own.
08-05-2006, 12:41
For my baby girl (due yesterday:-) DH and I are thinking about using Ariene (are-ee-en) or Akira (are-kira).
I have liked Rain or Raine for a middle name, but now thinking about Kyla. I think that Akira Rain has too many RA sounds. Same for Ariene Rain perhaps... Ariene Kyla?? Far out, I better get a move on!!
-Em
i love the bible for unusual names
both my boys have biblical names
that wont be too popular
thank goodness..
i love the bible for unusual names
both my boys have biblical names
that wont be too popular
thank goodness..
Agree on the biblical names.
I like for a girl:
Keturah
Jedidah
Zipporah
Mehetabel
Boy:
Nehemiah
Ezra
MumsieMel
12-05-2006, 16:29
Still stuck with boys names :banghead:
Girls we are good!!!! :thumbsup: 3, and we'll chose one at birth.
I have 3 for boys but dont necessarily like them IYKWIM.
Any more great suggestions??? :idea: