View Full Version : Fab Feb Mummas (August Thread)
icugal
01-08-2007, 12:17 AM
I just realised that it is the start of a new month... so without further ado here's a brand spankin' new thread to play in :D
my_lot
01-08-2007, 06:30 AM
hi everyone..
i need the help of my melb mummas.....
can someone please buy me some of those baby socks that look like shoes?
black, has to be black so it will look right under his tux! oh and hes a size 9 months in socks.
PM me if you can help and ill bank the $ for the sockies and postage... TIA
well.. dp just got an email from his brother, hes coming over from canada for the wedding (best man) and hes staying with us for a MONTH!! oh fun. at least this means dp is not going there..but how are we meant to go away for a few days while we are hosting? the kids are running round saying "uncles coming over" yay feral kids for a whole month...dps drinking buddy for a whole month..dp hockey buddy for a whole month...i feel a whole lot of our already limited family time with dp flying out the window.
Bellas Mum
01-08-2007, 06:51 AM
Good Morning everyone:wave: ,
I can say 'good morning' because we had a much better night last night.Yay!!:smiliedance: Still had to get up to Bella a few times and had to give her a feed at 2 but she went straight back to sleep. We saw the CHN yesterday and she felt Bella's gums and said that she is teething. She said to give her panadol and if she still wont settle to do controlled crying . I really hope it doensn't come to that, I dont think I could handle having to let her scream. I also put a cd player inher room and played a soothing baby music cd on and left in repeat all night. So am wondering if that helped as well.
Thanks for your advice and best wishes everyone and HI! to Ren, look forward to chatting with you too.
Not sure what we are doing today yet. May go shopping later if Bella has a good sleep this morning. Hope everyone has a great day whatever you are doing..:)
Purplebird
01-08-2007, 07:24 AM
Morning all :wave:
Yay for Bella - well done for giving mummy a better night. Sounds like the cd did the trick, we use one too and i find it really helps. Much nicer than controlled crying, which seems to be most gp's answer to everything! Bonjella is good for teeth too.
I won't be revisiting my old posts, I find it a bit cringe-making to read back what I have written! Never go back, I say :)
We are off to see Harry Potter today, hoorah! I'm not sure if I'm more excited about the film or the choc-top. Oh dear, it seems I often refer to what I'm going to eat in my posts..
Melb girls - if you are coming to mine tomorrow don't worry about bringing play mats or anything - I'll put clean stuff down.
Purplebird
01-08-2007, 07:27 AM
can someone please buy me some of those baby socks that look like shoes?
black, has to be black so it will look right under his tux! oh and hes a size 9 months in socks.
I think I've only seen the black shoes in a girl's style - like a Mary Jane shoe. Someone correct me if I'm wrong
LMenz
01-08-2007, 08:15 AM
can someone please buy me some of those baby socks that look like shoes?black, has to be black so it will look right under his tux! oh and hes a size 9 months in socks.
Kay, I have PMed you the link to an online website that sells black ones. HTH :)
SuperFrog
01-08-2007, 02:27 PM
Liam's weight has improved heaps. He has put on 270 g in 12 days. Previously he only put on 280 g in 6 weeks!
Sandy... here are the 6m 1w stats:
Weight: 6.72 kg
Length: 64.8 cm
Head circ: 45 cm
Stinky bub... will have to catch up later.
blubber
01-08-2007, 03:26 PM
Well it has been a week since i was here and now with new keyboard we seemed to have solved the gremlins in the computer.
Have had a bit of a read with everything that is going on. Can't remember everything i was going to say but will try keep it topical.
Elly is having two solids a day. Lunch and tea. Havn't started the morning thing yet. Pumpkin, sweet pot, avo, banana. Not a lot of farex so not sure wether that is a good thig or bad thing? She is sleeping well after we "trained" her into a night bed time of 7.00ish. She doesn't have the dream feed anymore and besides getting up to stick the dummy in she goes to about 7.00am.
She had her 4mth needles Monday, late because of the bronchiolitis. So far so good with no reactions.
I notice that a few bubs are sitting up. I think Elly is a little way off. I was thinking it may have to do with the fact that she does not get as much one on one as we did with Mia. Time is a little more precious.
Elly's 5 months stats are 7.15kg and 68cm. Didn't do the head thing.
I'm really trying to think of what else everyone has had to say...mm...brain dead...
Overall I just hope that those that arn't getting sleep do and those that are that it stays that way.
Hope your enjoying your get togethers and mothers groups. I actually was invited out to lunch for the fist time in 11 months yesterday...yeah..
icugal
01-08-2007, 03:58 PM
Are we doing 6 month stats??
In that case...
Weight: 8.05 kilos
Height: 65 cms (though K kept wriggling... not sure of complete accuracy)
Head Circumference: 44cm
SuperFrog
01-08-2007, 03:59 PM
Blubber! We missed you in the live chat last night. Was a lot of TMI sharing... and we know you have some great stories! :laughing:
I've just got a jolly jumper today that I've borrowed off a friend Liam LOVES it! I think my life is about to change and I might actually have a bit of time to hang up the washing without him screaming.
Hannah - Have PMed you about the Melb meet tomorrow.
ziggy29
01-08-2007, 04:11 PM
Here is a very early bubhub post of mine i found. what a stresspot i am:laughing:
Thought I would start a new thread to share some of the my negative feelings I am having at the moment. I didnt feel like sharing on the main thread simply beacause most people seem really happy at the moment.
Fisrtly most of the time I am really happy to be pregnant (apart from the back ache, reflux and no alcohol rule).
But here are some of my fears:
1)I seem to have these paranoid fears that my husband doesnt love me anymore and that he is going to leave me. (he reassures me all the time that he is not going anywhere).
2)I am worried that i am going to be a terrible mother!!!! I am usually a very patient and caring person but i dont know how i am going to react to a crying bubby.
3) I am pinged off at the medical community because i have gone through 7 weeks of extreme anxiety since my nuchal fold test. Now everything has turned out to be ok i should be happy right?? i am - but all my pent up fears from the last 2 months are coming rushing out. i feel like medicine has stolen an otherwise safe and well pregnancy from me. i mean if i never had the stupid nuchal fold test then everything would still be ok but i would not have had so much stress
4) i have heard that excess stress and anxiety during pregnancy can cause your developing baby to become high strung. Refer back to no 2 (already i am a terrible mother).
Dont worry - i am ok but i was just wondering is it normal to be scared and does anyone else feel overwhelmed at times? Or am i over the top stressed and therefore need to talk to my gp about it?
opinions please.
blubber
01-08-2007, 04:25 PM
Blubber! We missed you in the live chat last night. Was a lot of TMI sharing... and we know you have some great stories! :laughing:
I've just got a jolly jumper today that I've borrowed off a friend Liam LOVES it! I think my life is about to change and I might actually have a bit of time to hang up the washing without him screaming.
Nice to know i was missed thought i would have gone uinnoticed!
Ok so i must have lost my bub hub brain during my absence....TMI?? So racking my brain...mm..
Elly is her JJ at the moment as screaming thw house down in laughter....loves it
blubber
01-08-2007, 04:26 PM
Sorry for the double post..
and sorry for the really bad spelling.
Can i use the knew keyboard as an excuse!!:laughing:
Hels*Bels
01-08-2007, 04:29 PM
So how many Melb ladies are coming to the meet tomorrow? So far there are only 3 rsvp's so it's not looking good :thumbsdown:
blubber
01-08-2007, 04:39 PM
Hels i would love to make the numbers look more appealing but a little far away.
I wouldn't worry about how many are there as long as the ones that are there have a great time.
I remember the only chance i had to host one for my old mothers group before we left only one chick rocked up!!! Thankfully it was the girl i was closest too and still keep in touch with.
blubber
01-08-2007, 05:04 PM
Too Much Information!!!!!
ziggy29
01-08-2007, 05:24 PM
I always thought TMI was to metion it (sorry.. to mention it). anyways i know what it implies - something gross about to be said.
penny - k has put on a lot of weight this month - wow.
mon- good work on the weight gain L
lily is 6 months old today. :smiliedance:
took her the dr and she has exzema/dry skin too. the dr couldnt really explain the difference. no more long hot baths for lily. i bought some qv bath oil and will moisturise more over the next week and see if that helps.
i also picked up a high chair hand me down today - functional but ugly and massive. barely fits in our living/dining room.
it has been a terrible couple of days (following camerons passing) with lots of hard times to come (as you can probably imagine). lily is a comfort and has been very well behaved over the last couple of days which has been really helpful. thanks you all for your hugs and thoughts.
SuperFrog
01-08-2007, 06:32 PM
Happy Half Birthday Lily!
I always thought TMI was Too Much Information... that's how I've been using it anyway.
icugal
01-08-2007, 06:37 PM
HAPPY HALF BIRTHDAY LILY !!
(I think we're gonna have to drag up the Feb thread to know what babies were born when... maybe we need a central birthday list?)
SuperFrog
01-08-2007, 06:54 PM
Penny - I think we tried to do this once in this thread:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=87510
Good starting point for your list? (Yep, YOUR list! :D )
LMenz
01-08-2007, 07:35 PM
So how many Melb ladies are coming to the meet tomorrow? So far there are only 3 rsvp's so it's not looking good :thumbsdown:
I'm coming...just wanted to make sure Jack was feeling up to it and not contagious anymore
Apologies for the short notice
blubber
01-08-2007, 07:37 PM
Sorry if i broke the silence on the TMI...just thought if i could work it our surely everyone knew what it was anyway. Without the aid of it being spelt out.
I didn't realise i was the provider of "stories" with TMI!! :laughing:
blubber
01-08-2007, 08:09 PM
very quiet tonight..can tell who has been away for a week!!
Hope it doesn't mean you are all having bad nights with bubs.
Hels*Bels
01-08-2007, 08:16 PM
Thanks to those who have replied, I need to know how many sandwiches to make :laughing:
I have had a bad headache and PMS today, so I'm not the best person to be around :thumbsdown:
And I didn't go to my MG this arvo as I had some errands to run.
I also read through an old thread yesterday, including when I went into labour and my birth announcement. It made me feel quite sad and nostalgic, I don't know why. I agree with Hannah, best not to look back.
Looking forward to the meet tomorrow.
icugal
01-08-2007, 08:36 PM
A preliminary list of baby birthdates (only from regular and recent posters)
December
21st - Matthew and Ben (Shajake)
January
25th - Liam (Superfrog)
26th - Reece (Hels*Bels)
30th - Kaelan (icugal)
February
1st - Lily (Ziggy29)
5th - Cody (Roopee), Eli (my_lot), Connor (Squiggles), Marissa (Leashie)
7th - Eloise (Purplebird)
11th - Billy (mumslilspunks), Isabella (Bellas Mum)
15th - Jack (LMenz)
16th - Cassidy (Juzzy), Charlie (NoMoreScuba)
17th - Lillyana (ButterflyMumma)
25th - Liam (JoJoMart)
26th - Coen (Harleyq), Elly (Blubber)
If I've missed your baby.. my humblest apologies.
blubber
01-08-2007, 08:43 PM
Done well Penny only it is Elly that was born 26/02/07, Mia is 29/04/04...
I hope that doesn't sound corrective and anal!!
icugal
01-08-2007, 08:46 PM
D'oh !!! *slaps forehead*
I fixed that little error... sorry Mia.. sorry Elly !!! :D
juzzy
01-08-2007, 08:48 PM
Cassidy and i are a bit unwell. I am at this point a bit unsure what the problem is. I have been feeling really run down, tired and have a bad cold. Cassidy has been coughing on and off.
My abdominal muscles hurt when i breathe in or when i clench them. Its driving me insane as i dont know what caused it. Maybe too much coughing or something? DP made me do a pregnancy test today cause i had similar symptoms when i found out i was pregnant with Cassidy. It was negative.
I just want sleep so badly but there is always something else that gets in the way.
I did manage to get out of the house today and do grocery shopping and what not but even that was an effort.
Poor Cassidy has been grumpy for a day or two. I think its a combination of teething and the cold. I dont know what to do for her really except encourage her to sleep more. Maybe sleeping will help her get better faster.
Anyway enough of my whinging.
SuperFrog
01-08-2007, 10:05 PM
Sorry to hear you aren't feeling well Juz.
Speaking of teething, it looks like Liam's top two front teeth are going to come through together first. DH reckons we should nickname him Bucky for a while!
Penny - if you get this message, and if you are coming to the meet tomorrow, could you please bring Season 3 of Scrubs tomorrow please? We finished watching the last ep of Season 2 tonight so will give it back tomorrow. Ta!
Night all.
icugal
01-08-2007, 11:41 PM
Yep.. no probs Mon.
I've also borrowed some baby scales from one of the mothers in my MG to do K's six months stats with (he doesn't see the MCHN until 8 months), so I'll bring them along too incase anybody wants to weigh their baby.
Have no idea what to bring food-wise. I must admit though that I'm a little frustrated with spending money (I don't have) on food stuffs for the various meets only to have most of it go to waste because people don't eat much of it. I would actually like to discuss this issue further tomorrow girlies :)
Anyways, that's my two cents worth...
icugal
02-08-2007, 01:07 AM
I really should be in bed...
As you all know I take a monthly of Kaelan with his Elmo doll for a size comparison... I have done so since he was three weeks old (really wish I'd done one at birth... will know to do that with the next baby ;) )
Here is all the photos from 1 month (ok, technically he was three weeks old) right through to 6 months side by side (the photos have been resized so that Elmo is the same size in each pic). Kaelan looks like a monster at 6 months compared to the first photo !! :D
http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/kaelan_growth.jpg
Cool huh??
SuperFrog
02-08-2007, 06:44 AM
Mega cool Penny. Wish I was that organised!
harleyq
02-08-2007, 07:32 AM
Liam's weight has improved heaps. He has put on 270 g in 12 days. Previously he only put on 280 g in 6 weeks!
Go Liam!!! That is fantastic news Mon - and thanks for the stats!!! Keep 'em coming ladies -- will e-mail to everyone who has contributed again when we get some more bubs reaching 6 months... I have updated it with all our birthdays and the kids birthdays too! (and because l am a real nerd) and automatically updating age field (in months).
Elly's 5 months stats are 7.15kg and 68cm. Didn't do the head thing. Thanks Marianne - l haven't collected any 5 month stats, so l have added these to 4 months with a note - when Elly reaches 6 months (same day as Coen so l won't forget) - we'll get some more and you will be able to see how she is compared to all the other bubs!!
Updated Penny (thanks)
You know l am coming - l made the sausage rolls last night - hope they taste okay!
Penny those shots of K with Elmo are fantastic!!! Will make sure l do the same with my next one!
We're doing well but l had better get my ar$e in gear if l am going to get to this meet, have a shower, feed Coen solids and booby juice!!!!
See the Melb. gals soon.
LMenz
02-08-2007, 07:37 AM
Melb Girls - I'm not coming today....again sorry for the short notice. Jack's cold is worse and he was a little sh!t during the night
Hels*Bels
02-08-2007, 08:15 AM
Penny those photos are great. You can really see how much of a growth spurt K had in the first few months, then it slows down. That's why our bubs didn't wear size 0000 and 000 for too long.
My friend's bub is 9 months old and R weighs slightly more than him at 6 mths (what a porker!)
Melb girls - I'm not coming to the meet today either. I have had a bad headache for a few days and I feel really tired, so I'm going to go back to bed for a while. It's one of those days that feels like a pyjama day :crying:
Hope you all have a nice time.
icugal
02-08-2007, 08:25 AM
Lauren amd Hels... sorry to hear you aren't coming. You will be missed.
Other people are still going right?? From an exceptionally selfish perspective... it's a 70km trip each way for me... so I don't want to get there and find that everyone has cancelled.
Will check back here before I leave I think...
Purplebird
02-08-2007, 08:29 AM
Ok, Melb girls - As far as I know Sandy, Penny and Mon are coming, so may Jo but she will be late if she does. I'm happy to go ahead unless people would prefer to wait until everyone can get together, or more people can make it. I'll assume you're coming - Mon may even have left by now as she's coming early.
SuperFrog
02-08-2007, 08:31 AM
I'm still here... just packing up stuff ready to get going. Let me know in the next 15 minutes or so if we are post-poning, otherwise I'm on my way!
SuperFrog
02-08-2007, 09:02 AM
I'm still here... what's the go?
icugal
02-08-2007, 09:22 AM
Ok... we've been chatting on MSN. The meet is still on... will see those of you going very soon !!
harleyq
02-08-2007, 09:56 AM
I'll be there. It doesn't matter if its only a small group of us... there was only a small group of us at Hels the other day and it was still loads of fun!
And l think the sausage rolls l am bringing should do us for main.... their big ones...
Hannah do you have tomato sauce or should l bring some along?
JoJoMart
02-08-2007, 11:53 AM
Penny - My god! Elmo has shrunk :) . What cute photos.
Sandy - I don't know if I've given the 4 months stats for Liam so here they are: weight 7.24kg, Height 64.5cm and head circ 41.3. Currently at 5 months Liam weighs 8.1kg but I don't have the other stats. Will post 6 months stats when we get there.
I'd better get ready for the Melb meet. My friend has just left and Liam is asleep in bed........he was so tired I had to put him down so I will still be running late......
Everyone else I hope you have a great day
Bellas Mum
02-08-2007, 03:52 PM
Bella slept through last night!!Yay!!:smiliedance: She slept til 5.45 this morn which is early but still better than the last 2 weeks. I think the CD really has helped and giving her panadol before bed as well. I also topped her up with some formula right before bed so that probably helped too.
Dont have stats for 6 months as Isabella isn't six months for another week yet, but have 4 months stats and stats from Tues. Here goes...
4 mths- Weight-7.3kg
- Height - 63cm
- Head circ- 41cm
Tues - weight- 8.3kg
- height- 66cm
Cant believe it's only one more week and my little bub will be 6 months and we have to have more needles:thumbsdown: .
Hope all the melbourne mum's who met up today had a great time. Better go, have to start dinner. Will check back in tomorrow, :fingerscrossed: Bella sleeps through again. Hope you all have a good night as well.
icugal
02-08-2007, 07:02 PM
Hey girlies... we had a great day at the Melb meet-up today (big thanks to Hannah for hosting !!). Took me about two hours to get home again... which was fine because I chose to take the non-citylink way home.
After the very long (and expensive) trip to Hannahs this morning (stupid roadworks and lane closures !!)... I figured that I don't mind being stuck in traffic as long as I'm not paying money to do so. Citylink are in my bad books now, I feel like petitioning them for a refund !!!
Anyways I've posted yet another batch of photos in our February Photo thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=79909&page=5).
Enjoy !! (See you in chat tonight??)
harleyq
02-08-2007, 07:15 PM
A big thank you to Hannah for hosting the lot of us today! and for all that yummy food... l didn't eat dinner - l was still to full from lunch (l ate waaaaaaay too much)!
Its great that everyone got a doggy bag to take home - hopefully for those who didn't pig out as much as l did it meant that they didn't have to cook!
Coen slept all the way home (an hour). Nothing much happening here - hope to make it to chat tonight - DH starts holidays tomorrow!!!! :smiliedance: and we still haven't booked where we are going to stay :eek:.... l might have to do that tonight come to thing of it!
Hels*Bels
02-08-2007, 07:46 PM
Thanks for the meet today, I'm glad I made the effort and to go in the end. Reece was so well behaved today and seemed to have a great time which I'm really pleased about. Thanks for cheering me up too girls, I'm a bit depressed ATM. Combination of bad headaches, PND and PMS, I should be over it in a week though.
Lauren - We missed you at the meet today, I hope Jack is feeling better soon :hugs:
This means that I am the only one with a 100% meet attendance record :laughing:
I won't be chatting tonight as an early night is in order. I really need some :sleeping:
Reece has his 6 mths needles tomorrow *eeek*
blubber
02-08-2007, 07:52 PM
Glad to hear you made the meet today Hels. Nothing like a bit of a pick me up. Hope you have a great sleep tonight and Reece goes ok with his needles tomorrow.:thumbsup:
harleyq
02-08-2007, 07:54 PM
Good luck to reece for his needles tomorrow!
How is Jack today Lauren? We did miss the two of you!
I won't be making the chat tonight either - gonna spend some time with my dh!! I booked our holiday - we are getting a cabin in the grampians!!! I can't wait - log fires and double spa - hope to get the romance going a bit!!!
icugal
02-08-2007, 07:59 PM
This is probably old news by now... but just incase..
43,000 toys put Aussie kids at risk (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22176971-5005961,00.html)
blubber
02-08-2007, 08:00 PM
Good luck to reece for his needles tomorrow!
How is Jack today Lauren? We did miss the two of you!
I won't be making the chat tonight either - gonna spend some time with my dh!! I booked our holiday - we are getting a cabin in the grampians!!! I can't wait - log fires and double spa - hope to get the romance going a bit!!! No babies though - that is no babies resulting!!! Will have to take up some champagne... what other aphrodisiacs?
Oooohh there is our next topic of conversation - What have you used to spice things up / get you in the mood?
Me- Oysters, wine, champagne, strawberries, chocolate, porn, hmmmm massage, essential oils... oh oh - l think the list continues - perhaps l should stop there :babydust2:
Sandy: nothing like great conversation to spice things up. May sound "prudey" but when you actually get the time to talk to your loved one you realise why you are together.
Hope you have a fantastic time. The Grampians are a nice place and hopefully it is recovering and lovely and green since the fires.
Hels*Bels
02-08-2007, 09:44 PM
If any of the Melb girls is interested in a jolly jumper and stand, please PM me.
juzzy
02-08-2007, 10:01 PM
Hels i have pm'ed you
LMenz
03-08-2007, 09:32 AM
Morning :wave:
Another crapola night....Jack was up for his clockwork 3am feed. When I sat him up after finishing one side he did a huge cough and spewed the WHOLE feed all over me :( Even my undies were soaked in breastmilk!
So needless to say his cold is still bothering him...good news is he's been asleep now for 1.5 hours
I'm sorry I missed the meet yesterday but didn't want to pass on Jack's germs plus I'm feeling a bit down too...his constant sickness is very tiring.
Juz - How are you and Cassi feeling today?
Sandy - Enjoy your mini-break! Valentine
Hels - Hope your feeling better soon too :yes:
Niki - YAY on Bella sleeping thru!
Master Jack has awoken......catch you all later!
Purplebird
03-08-2007, 01:09 PM
:hugs: Lauren- I'm so sorry to hear you're having a sh!t time of it. Poor you and Jack have had it so rough in the health department - you deserve to catch a break very soon. We missed you yesterday. Hope Jack recovers and you feel much better.
We missed you too Juzzy - hope you're feeling better too.
Thanks to those who came yesterday. Dh (and I for that matter) loved your sausage rolls Sandy - yummo! I too ate too much - I pretty much finished your lovely dip Mon!
Sandy - enjoy the Grampians, it's lovely there isn't it? Hope you have a romantic time.
Nikki - well done Bella!
Well girls I'm now stocked up on formula, rice cereal, veggies and fruit :thumbsup: It's going to be all go this weekend, wish me luck :thumbsup: It's definitely good timing as she has started to grab at my food this week - nearly swiped one of those curried egg sandwiches yesterday the little minx! I wonder if Eloise heard me mention the residential sleep school as I started some shush pat techniques last night and so far she went down for the night and has had 2 day sleeps today without boobie. I don't want to get deliriously happy yet but I'm cautiously optimistic. We still have to address the number of feeds she has overnight, but I will drop those one by one now she is starting solids. All in all a move in the right direction methinks. Just got to move her into her own room now *sigh*
icugal
03-08-2007, 02:28 PM
Lauren - Hope you and Jack are feeling better today.
Hannah - Yay for Eloise and her improved sleeping patterns.. let's hope it continues. Thanks again for hosting :)
Me - I've had a great day today... In our video camera, we have a tape dedicated to Kaelan. Every few weeks, we turn the camera on and film him... just adding on to the previous footage (as you do when you're a proud parent :D ). Today it kinda occurred to me that I've never really gone back and watched all the footage that we've filmed over the last six months... so I rewound the tape...
In one word... WOW !!
There is footage of me in labour (god I look awful !!)... plus Kaelan being wheeled out of theatre in his humidicrib immediately after the caesar. There's footage in the Special Care Nursery an hour after his birth when I got to meet him properly for the first time.. plus lots of footage of him during his first few weeks at home.
It was unbelievable... I look at Kaelan now and I can't believe that he was the tiny little baby on the video.
As I watched the video footage, I simultaneously recorded it onto the hard-drive of our DVD recorder... that way I'll have a back up copy... I'll probably write it to DVD later as a further copy.
Other than that.. it's been a quiet day. Kaelan has definately perfected the sitting-up thing today... he was sitting up on the floor with his toys for a couple of hours playing. He looked like a real little boy... I did put pillows around him as a precaution though because he tends to throw himself backwards when he gets excited :)
A note for Mon... I took the tag out of the bottom of the train.. and guess what... it moves !! Next time I'll actually do what the instructions tell me to do !! *LOL*
Bellas Mum
03-08-2007, 04:09 PM
Well, just had a quiet day at home today. Took Bella for a long walk in her pram, we walked for about 1 hour. Have been saying for the last 6 months that we will go walking and this is probably the 3rd time. Pretty slack hey??
Lauren, dont you hate it when they waste all that precious breastmilk. Bella has done that a few times after the first morning feed. I just about cried every time.
Penny, great to see Kaelan is doing so well with sitting.What a clever boy!!!
Hannah, good luck with Eloise and getting her to eat big girl food. I'm sure she take to it no worries!
Sandy, enjoy your getaway. Wish it was me. Instead my DH has gone away for the night and left me with 3 kid's on my own. Oh joy!!
Bella slept through again last night so we are back on track! I no longer feel like a zombie! Yay! Have to go, Bella just woke up. Hope you all have a great night. Nikki
my_lot
03-08-2007, 04:51 PM
penny- wait til hes five and watching the tapes with you!! my kids all love watching our old tapes. i even smuggled the camera into the kiddy concerts i took them to so i have dorothy, the wiggles, hi 5, bob the builder and the kids as toddlers dancing along. over the years i have got sooo many funny moments on tape. like one dd talking in her sleep telling me she was 3 (she was 6) and ive got one sitting on the loo asleep, head dropping AND picking her nose. she hates it that i taped this and re-play it everytime we get the crate of tapes out!
well i took eli for i swim today. gawd my boy loves the water. i do one two three under and he doesnt care at all. dp is taking the kids to see the simpsons movie tonight..once again im staying behind with eli..only this time ive told him hes not leaving til HE puts eli to sleep!
harleyq
03-08-2007, 05:13 PM
Lauren - ewwww - vomit at 3 am - oh l can bet you were feeling great... did you just jump in the shower? I hope you and Jack are feeling better soon - Poor Jack he has been in the wars a bit lately.
Well girls I'm now stocked up on formula, rice cereal, veggies and fruit It's going to be all go this weekend, wish me luck ....so far she went down for the night and has had 2 day sleeps today without boobie. Good luck with the solids - and Yeah for Eloise (and you) on the non-booby sleeps!!! :D
Bella slept through again last night so we are back on track! I no longer feel like a zombie! Yay! GO BELLA!!! That is fantastic news!!!
Can't wait for our trip! Thanks to everyone for the well wishes!!! We leave Sunday and will get back Wednesday!
Kay - "sitting on the loo asleep, head dropping AND picking her nose" wow, is that even possible!!! I bet she hates it - l would too - you cruel mother you!!! :laughing:
SuperFrog
03-08-2007, 07:37 PM
A note for Mon... I took the tag out of the bottom of the train.. and guess what... it moves !! Next time I'll actually do what the instructions tell me to do !! *LOL*
:laughing: So I guess my train isn't better than yours after all! :laughing:
LMenz
03-08-2007, 08:01 PM
Kaelan was sitting up on the floor with his toys for a couple of hours playing
Wow! He has stamina!
Jack can only sit for about 20 minutes before he gets stuffed and just falls backwards.....
I must say he's much happier sitting up these days, hardly even glances in my direction
Here he is :)
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0260.jpg
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0257.jpg
Squiggles
03-08-2007, 08:02 PM
Hi Ladies!!!
It's been a while from me again (sorry) but this time Im not going to promise to catch up or promise to get on regularly cos each time I post I say that I will and then its weeks til I post again. I just wanted to let you all know that I have been thinking of you and all the Feb bubbas :hugs:
Connor is doing well now, his reflux seems to be calming down with the help of some Zantac and eating solids. It has taken me until this week to work out that he doesn't need as much milk anymore now that he is eating solids 3 times a day - I have been tryng to still force 5 full bottles down his throat - poor bugger, anyway this week I gave up and have been doing 3 solid feeds and 3 bottles and he is back to his wonderful happy and contented self :smiliedance:
Well after months and months of house hunting too - we seem to have found a great one and hopefully this could be the one which would mean we can move to within 15 mins drive of my parents - instead of an hour and 10 min drive... so so much easy for mum to have Connor more often so I can actually do things.
We have bought Connor a jolly jumper and MOG he thinks its the greatest thing ever. DH hangs it so his feet are about a 40 cm off the ground and then sits there and pushes him - like its a swing and he goes absolutley insane with the smiles and laughing. Its so great to watch.
Hope you are all well and sorry if I have missed any major events...
Jen xx
mandi24
03-08-2007, 08:37 PM
Just thought i'd introduce myself. My names Amanda and i'm 24 years old. I've been on bub hub for a few months but haven't really posted a lot. Thought i'd post here so i can chat with mums that have babies around the same age.
04-08-2007, 07:49 AM
hi mandy 24
welcome to our chat!! tell us more about your little boy lochlain? sitting, rolling, eating??
we go into live chat each thursday and tuesday night is a really special one, we call that TMI night. PM someone for the password and come in and join us!
Bellas Mum
04-08-2007, 08:24 AM
Welcome Amanda. Cant wait to hear more about Lochlain and yourself. Look forward to chatting with you.
mandi24
04-08-2007, 08:43 AM
Well Lochlain is just about sitting he can sit for a little while but still topples to the side every so often. Hates to lie down now had to turn his car seat around the other day as every time we put him in he'd scream. Since being turned around is so much easier to put him in.
He hasn't quite got the rolling happening yet he tries to and can sometimes get half over but then rolls back.
He is eating solids has been for a little while now really getting into it now. Loves his food has since day 1.
Has been teething since about 3 months but still no sign off any teeth yet don't think they r to far away though as lately he has been dribbling real bad.
Well anyway got to go Lochlain wants a feed
Luv Amanda
Hels*Bels
04-08-2007, 10:22 AM
Hi Mandi :wave: and welcome to the feb group.
I am techinically a January mum but it doesn't seem to matter anymore lol. I have 1 little boy (called Reece) and he's just turned 6 months. Looking forward to chatting to you.
Amazing how so many babies are now sitting, I was really impressed (especially by Kaelan) at the meet the other day. Reece is one of the oldest but he still topples over if I try to sit him up. So I'm still using the bumbo seat.
He slept alot yesterday, infact he didn't officially get up until 1.30pm!! I think it's because he didn't sleep much the day before. He really likes his bed once he's settled in it (a bit like his mum lol).
My embroidery sewing machine arrived yesterday :smiliedance: and I haven't had a change to do anything with it yet (except unpack it). So I need to sit down and read the manual to figure it all out. I can't wait to get started though. The samples she sent with it look really good.
This arvo, me and DH are going to set up the spare room for my business and craft actitives. I was going to buy a desk but we still have our old dining table (which extends) so that will do fine. I'm also putting a TV and DVD player in there so R can play on the floor and watch his DVD's whilst I work.
Anyway, that's our day planned so I'll catch up again later :)
Oh, and AF finally made her appearance today and suddenly my mood has lifted and I feel like my old self again. Sorry to everyone if I have been a bit of a grump this last week :o
SuperFrog
04-08-2007, 12:19 PM
Hels - Glad to hear you are feeling better.
Ooooh, a craft room! Once our new back room is finished I'll be claiming our current lounge room as a craft/playroom as well. Looking forward to having some space to get creative, and a place to put Liam's stuff so I don't keep tripping over it!. At the moment we have heaps of stuff covered up to keep it clear of plaster dust. Don't even have a table to eat at. :thumbsdown:
SuperFrog
04-08-2007, 12:23 PM
Almost forgot to say... Welcome Mandi :wave: Jump right in to the madness. :D
And welcome back Squiggles! :wave:
harleyq
04-08-2007, 02:39 PM
Well l am in a narky mood today - particularly with DH - not exactly sure why - but l think part of it is because he doesn't appreciate the things that l do - I mean - l have been wanting to sort our photos out for a long while but everytime l have gone to do it there has been some thing stopping me, eg. he took the card reader to work etc., today we decided to do it together... well he do it while l feed Coen - and he just throws the photos anywhere on my computer - l told him where to put them and he was .... l am going to put them where l want to -- well great - then l have to go and sort through them... he closes down my bubhub window - w/o asking - when l mentioned that l had started replying to a few things - he could have asked - he says he doesn't care.... It just annoys me - like my time isn't worth anything!
Well after months and months of house hunting too - we seem to have found a great one and hopefully this could be the one which would mean we can move to within 15 mins drive of my parents - instead of an hour and 10 min drive... so so much easy for mum to have Connor more often so I can actually do things. Hey Jen, welcome back... hopefully all goes well with this house!!!
Mandi - Welcome Mandi, l have one son, Coen and he is 5 1/2 months, he's rolled about 5 times in his life and can sit up a bit (inconsistently), he's fully breastfed, and has been on one meal of solids for 1 weeks and 3 days. So far we have had farex, carrot, broccoli & potato - and he loves it all! I am (l think) the official statistics gatherer of the group - l have been collecting the weight, height and head circumference of our bubs just for interest sake - if you want to join in - just pm me the details for birth, 4 months & 6 months... Enjoy!
SuperFrog
04-08-2007, 05:06 PM
DH rant...
I hear you. Loud and clear. :banghead: Will have my rant later.
icugal
04-08-2007, 06:57 PM
Hey Jen... good to see you again. Hope we'll see you back here soon !!
A big hello to mandi24 !! I'm Penny, mum to six-month old Kaelan (he was due mid-Feb but was born at the end of January). Welcome to our group !!
This arvo, me and DH are going to set up the spare room for my business and craft actitives. I was going to buy a desk but we still have our old dining table (which extends) so that will do fine. I'm also putting a TV and DVD player in there so R can play on the floor and watch his DVD's whilst I work.
I'm so jealous !! If you could see my kitchen table right now, you'd know that it is currently my unofficial craft 'room' at the moment. Even with four bedrooms and study, we still can't seem to find any room for my stuff. I've tried to convince DF that if we get rid of the 'spare' room (with queen size bed), then my mother is less likely to visit and I can use that as my craft room... even THAT didn't convince him :D
I hear you. Loud and clear. Will have my rant later
Ooooh... looking forward to that post !! *LOL*
You should see/ hear Kaelan at the moment... he's jumping away furiously in his jolly jumper (trying to set a new height record me thinks *LOL*), laughing his little head off... it's very cute !!
Anyways, the poor boy has a bright blue foot at the moment... I decided to do his 6 month footprint today, only problem I discovered afterwards... I can't get the ink off again !! I really hope that it fades off before Wednesday because thats when we have swimming again... I don't want to have to explain why my son has a blue foot !! :D
Other than that its been a fairly uneventful day. I finished my Snapfish photobook of Kaelan (as I mentioned the other day) and submitted the file for publishing... so now just have to wait. Even if it turns out cr@p it won't matter because it's free.
I'm working tonight (and tomorrow night) so will be leaving for work in less than an hour... oh the joy !! :fingerscrossed: that they give me a good patient tonight (ventilated and VERY sedated will be just great thanks - they can't argue with me then !! :D ). I sound like a caring and dedicated nurse huh?? *LOL*
Anyways girls, have a good night.
blubber
04-08-2007, 07:34 PM
we go into live chat each thursday and tuesday night is a really special one, we call that TMI night.
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Hey mandi, my name is Marianne and I always identify myself as a late bloomer to the Feb group. It can cure some santiy problems in a realtively short period.
Sandy, Mon & DH vents: I could have written the script lfor this last week. In short a slgiht neglect to "say the right things" in realtion to pretty serious matters going on now and the next few weeks.
However today, Mia had a brithday party and my DH did the domestics...I think he is exhausted. Now it shouldn't be a miracle that this has happened, he is generally pretty good with attempting one task at at a time. What frustrates if I hadn't made toungue in cheek hints I know it wouldn't have been as a successful result!!!
We have had a great day today. So what it says to me as long as you "vent" to eachother tomorrow is another day.
Hey Jen, good to hear from you.
juzzy
04-08-2007, 07:47 PM
dont get me started on DP and rants.... we had a massive argument before we went to bed last night and we were barely speaking when he left for work this morning. Second weekend in a row that he has worked not impressed considering the amount of hours he does during the week...
i could go on but i dont want to bore you.
Tried Cassidy out in a Jolly Jumper today (thanks Hels :wave: :D )
Do you think she liked it?
Smiling bubba (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000750.jpg)
and being the nerd that i am, managed to get a vid of it. Excuse the tv show noise in the back ground i was watching Boston Legal... lol
jolly jumper vid (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwOeYNvvWcc)
my_lot
04-08-2007, 08:07 PM
wow juzzy 3 computer towers?
cassi is so cute. eli swung around like that when we first got it and now he jumps up and down like mad, springing upon his toes. we kept having to lift it higher as he got more control, now i can call him from another room and he will turn around to find me.
on dps work hours, i have the same thing here i think the biggest kick in the guts will be when he takes time off for his brothers trip out here. i was already mad when he said hed take only a week at xmas and only if we went away, but when planning his OS trip suggested that 3 weeks would be needed to really "enjoy" the trip and see everyone. (i wasnt going, i was going to stay here, manage the business, house and kids. in a way it is good his bro is coming here. at least ill still pass dp in the hall every now and then.
well ive had two days from hell, no feed, solids or sleep has gone well...hes been waking at all hours and crying out in his sleep. today ds fell asleep at 5pm and hasnt been up since, this is because eli kept waking him last night. dd had an hour sleep today because she got up in the night to see what all the noise was about.
dp has gone out so i put eli down tonight and i could hear him making a strange noise, like a grinding sound, so i rubbed his top gums and yep theres ANOTHER TOOTH. his first top one. so that makes three now. such a shame. those bottom two make for such a cute smile and with a face full hes just going to look like a toddler!
LMenz
04-08-2007, 08:13 PM
Hiya
Hope everyone is having a good weekend so far.
Poor Jack though..I had curry noodles for lunch today and tonight he's been blowing holes in his nappy :laughing: I won't even start on the high pitched screams of pain...oops. No more curries for me!
Today we went out shopping and then DH took Jack to one of his mates place to watch the footy..they have a HUGE plasma and apparently Jack was completely mesmirised. I had some quiet mummy time at home ;)
DH's parents visited tonight and Jack screamed when MIL held him. Looks like he may be starting his "stranger danger" phase (they only see him every 3-4 weeks) Jack had on his babylegs and my MIL liked them so much she gave me some money to buy him a few more pairs....was very nice of her :yes:
Tomorrow afternoon we have a 2nd Birthday Party to attend...it's funny cos last year at his 1st Birthday I was just 12 weeks pregnant.
That's about it for now..I'm scoffing a bowl of lollies and DH is sorting thru his footy cards...times really have changed haven't they?? I can't even remeber what we used to do on a Saturday night anymore...maybe that's cos a lot of drinking was involved :laughing:
LMenz
04-08-2007, 08:16 PM
Excuse the tv show noise in the back ground i was watching Boston Legal... lol
I LOVE Boston Legal...I have the biggest crush on James Spader :yes:
juzzy
04-08-2007, 09:11 PM
The two next to each other in that vid arent ours, they are one of DPs customers. The white one on the floor is our server. If you could see the top of the desk you would have seen my laptop, 2 printers, the docking station for DPs laptop and another screen...
LOL we are nerds.
As for the whole work hours thing kay, it does feel like DP and i just pass each other in the hall now and thats it. He is always working. It annoys me as he complains that he doesnt get to see Cassidy or spend time with her. I imagine that it is worse for you having a few more kids than i do. But at the same point im sure u understand where i am coming from.
Oh and :hugs: for Eli, another tooth! Cant believe it.
Cassidy was a total ratbag today. Was not impressed with anything and her cheeks were bright red and burning all day. Gave her some panadol which pretty much had no effect. :fingerscrossed: She sleeps well tonight. We both need it. After arguing with DP last night i have no energy an could use a good night sleep.
LOL lauren..... James Spader is great! I was a big fan of the Practice so i was destined to like Boston Legal! I just love William Shatner and how he says his name all the time 'Denny Crane.'
:laughing: :laughing:
Hels*Bels
04-08-2007, 09:38 PM
Juz - I just called DH in to watch that vid of Cassi in the JJ, we are both really glad that she likes it and that it went to a good home :)
We had some steamed veggies tonight with dinner and I pureed some leftovers and fed them to R, and guess what? he ate most of it! trouble is, he always sucks his fingers after a mouthful, it seems to help him swallow. He still doesn't open his mouth very much for the spoon so we will have to work on that, but it's a start. I'm going to try him with some pear and apple farex tomorrow morning, if he gets up before midday that is, otherwise it will be lunch lol.
He has been cranky for the last couple of days, I always say this but I do think it's his gums giving him grief as there's no sign of teeth yet but the gums are red. We ended up putting him to bed early tonight as he wouldn't settle anywhere.
I bought a few things for my "craft room" today, just some stackable drawers and bits and bobs. It's all set up now so I can't wait to get started.
Well, I'm heading off to bed now as I'm going to have a cup of hot choccie in bed whilst I start reading the manual for the sewing machine.
LMenz
04-08-2007, 09:42 PM
LOL lauren..... James Spader is great! I was a big fan of the Practice so i was destined to like Boston Legal! I just love William Shatner and how he says his name all the time 'Denny Crane.'
James Spader is sexy!! Probably a bit old for you Juz :laughing: I'd be his Shirley anyday :laughing:
I loved the Practice as well....Bobby was sexy too!!
Off to bed now.....hmmm to dream about James Spader!!!!! :cool: :p
Cats&Kid
05-08-2007, 02:05 AM
:wave: Hi everyone!
Long time no post...... had a horrible July, so looking forward to a better month!
Sounds wonderful all these teeth, feeding solids and sitting babies! Are there any exercises that you can do to encourage sitting? M sort of falls forward and begins to cry so I haven't been pushing him. I sometimes hold him sitting up on the floor against me so he can play with his toys and he doesn't seem to mind that. He's also not rolling often - rolled from his front to back 3 times last weekend and I missed it each time and he hasn't done it since!! Almost feel as if someone must have flipped him over if it hadn't just been me here .... unless the cats.... lol
Hels, M also won't open his mouth for food and sticks his fingers in his mouth then rubs his eyes! He's gone off pumpkin because he rubbed some into his eyes on Thursday. Don't know if I'm feeding him when he's too tired - usually try him straight after his morning feed. Any suggestions?
Hels, what sort of machine did you buy? I really wanted one of the janome ones with the embroidery cards so I could stop buying character clothing - love tigger :) Probably just as well I didn't or M might end up with a phobia lol.
Can relate to the DP work thing - generally he only takes time out to stir M up when I'm trying to settle him :mad:
Must go - I still have a bub that doesn't sleep :hair:
Missed you all heaps and hope everyones weekend is going well xxxx
Roopee
05-08-2007, 08:04 AM
Cats&kid-Welcome back !!! Hope you have a better month this month- sounds like you have been busy!
Jen- great to hear from you again!
Mandy- welcome!!! I'm Tanya and have just had baby number 4!! I have two boys, aged 6 and 4 and two girls aged 2 and 6 months. Hope you feel right at home in here!
Us- well its been a while since i posted in here too! Just been busy with Dr appointments and kids stuff and DP has been working ALOT! (seems a few of us can relate)
He is off to SA for a week work trip in a few weeks so i'm looking forward to that:rolleyes:.
I bought and ergo yesterday!! I have a cheap old Baby Bjiorn type pouch that used to kill my back and shoulders after 10 minutes and i tend to "wear" Cody alot and need my hands free for the other kids so i bit the bullett, whipped out the credit card and bought one! I have to say it would be my fave "baby thing" atm.
Its extremely comfy, distributes all the weight to your waist and hips, and Cody loves sitting up there on my back or side. I wore it yesterday for 2.5 hrs as we had soccer and a few thing to do and it didnt not hurt at all- forgot i was wearing it.
So anyone thinking of it ad wondering if its worth the $150 YES IT IS! I wish i didnt waste my money on a cheaper one to start with!
Oh and it fits kids in it till they are 5yrs old (not that i wouold be carrying my 5 yr old) but Baylee (2yrs) thought it was great too!
I have a baby shower to go to today!! So last night i packed some stuff and this mornig put DH and the 4 kids in the car and said, go see ya mum, she wants to have lunch with you all, see you all at dinnertime" :laughing: I dont think MIL intended for them to get there at 8.30am:laughing:.
Anyway- i dont care, im sitting here in my nice quiet house, with not a sound apart from my fingers on the keyboard! Its bliss!!!!
Hope you all have a great day!!
mandi24
05-08-2007, 08:08 AM
Good morning all
How's everyones weekend been so far. Mine not 2 bad although haven't done 2 much. Dp works all weekend.
Juzzy Cassidy is so cute and looks like she really enjoys the jolly jumper. My ds loves being in the jolly jumper gets him so excited.
Cats&Kid My ds isn't rolling either although he is kinda sitting and eats solids well. The rolling part just hasn't quite clicked with him yet.
Anyways talk soon
Luv Amanda
juzzy
05-08-2007, 10:11 AM
Oh i forgot to say a big welcome to the group Mandi!
my_lot
05-08-2007, 11:02 AM
all the feb 5ers are 6 months today
Bellas Mum
05-08-2007, 11:26 AM
Hear,hear. I am with you Sandy and Mon. Bella has been a pain in the butt lately and he just doesn't even bother to offer any help. He used to bath her and change her all the time. Now he only does it if I ask him. It's like the novelty has worn off. Well, wont keep raving on. We've obviously all got something to rant about. Just thought I would put my 2 cents worth in.
icugal
05-08-2007, 03:09 PM
Tried Cassidy out in a Jolly Jumper today
Do you think she liked it?
Smiling bubba (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000750.jpg)
and being the nerd that i am, managed to get a vid of it. jolly jumper vid (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwOeYNvvWcc)
Oh bless !!! (I love that somebody else FINALLY uses YouTube *LOL*). Cassidy looks so cute !! When she finds her feet and starts jumping like an Olympic trampolinist (is that a word)... like K seems to think he is atm... you'll be best to get a mat under her feet to soften the impact. The alphabet mat would be perfect !!
You should see our study (I'd take a photo but it is ridiculously messy at the moment)... we have a 1 desktop pc, 4 laptops and 2 printers that are in current use (there are more unused in the garage)... and neither of us work in the IT industry. It's just bloody ridiculous. Now DF has been throwing around the idea of buying a Mac...not on your Nellie !! We need to downsize first.
I LOVE Boston Legal...I have the biggest crush on James Spader :yes:
Personally, I don't get the James Spader thing... but each to their own :) Me, I love Ewan McGregor... especially in Moulin Rouge *drool*
[I bought a few things for my "craft room" today, just some stackable drawers and bits and bobs. It's all set up now so I can't wait to get started.
I'm still jealous !! *LOL*
all the feb 5ers are 6 months today
Happy half-birthday to the fab feb 5 babies happybirthday
Me - Well, I had a shocker of a night shift last night (I knew I would jinx myself)... managed to get the patient from hell. This guy was just a complete pr!ck... not confused... just an a$$hole. He was aggressive, violent (was trying to punch and kick me) and kept trying to pull all his lines out (ie tracheostomy, nasogastric tubes, catheters etc). He actually did succeed with his nasogastric tube at one point, but thankfully I was on my tea break when it happened, so I didn't have to have put it back down again. Because of his behaviour, I ended up physically and chemically restraining him... but it did little to help. Towards the end of the shift, I got so angry with him I yelled at him and told him a few home truths. He had a trache, so he was unable to talk back... but needless to say, I could certainly understand a few specific words that he was mouthing back to me *LOL*
What an a$$hole !!
I've already written down for tonight that I want a different patient... because if they dare allocate him to me again, I'll walk out straight back out again. I don't get paid enough for that sort of sh!t.
Vent over.
Hels*Bels
05-08-2007, 04:43 PM
Sounds wonderful all these teeth, feeding solids and sitting babies! Are there any exercises that you can do to encourage sitting? M sort of falls forward and begins to cry so I haven't been pushing him. I sometimes hold him sitting up on the floor against me so he can play with his toys and he doesn't seem to mind that.
Hels, M also won't open his mouth for food and sticks his fingers in his mouth then rubs his eyes! He's gone off pumpkin because he rubbed some into his eyes on Thursday. Don't know if I'm feeding him when he's too tired - usually try him straight after his morning feed. Any suggestions?
Hels, what sort of machine did you buy? I really wanted one of the janome ones with the embroidery cards so I could stop buying character clothing - love tigger :) Probably just as well I didn't or M might end up with a phobia lol.
Nice to hear from you again C & K. Reece won't sit by himself either so I use a bumbo seat alot. It seems to be teaching him how to sit so I don't think it will be long now. I have no advice about the solids, it's all very new here. We had more success today and he had farex for brekky and a bit of yogurt at lunchtime. I try to catch his hand before it goes in his mouth now and I find doing the aeroplane helps his mouth to open :laughing:
The sewing machine I bought is a Brother Super Galaxie. It's a computerised one and I got it secondhand from eBay. It has attachments for normal sewing, embroidery and over locking. It can also do button holes and zippers etc. I still have to get some software and cards for it and then I can create and download my own designs or pre-done one's from the internet.
Penny - Sounds like an awful night hun! I think you jinxed yourself when you said before your shift that you wanted a nice easy patient!
James Spader - I quite like him too. If anyone wants to see him as a young spunk, check out the movie "Pretty in Pink", although his character is not very nice and he has the George Michael hairstyle from the 1980's lol.
Ok, I'd better go and spend some time with DH and R.
SuperFrog
05-08-2007, 05:09 PM
Penny - Have you seen the series "Long Way Round"? Ewan McGregor and his friend Charley decide to ride their motorbikes on a big adventure from London thru Europe, Russia and North America to New York. I have no interest in motorbikes but this was really interesting.
Haven't tried YouTube yet. What video file format is used?
I'm not going to do the DH rant after all... I think I'm over it now, and I'll probably just get more frustrated by spelling it out.
Have had some shocker evenings/nights with Liam this weekend. Not too bad last night though. Hope it improves for the week.
Later peeps. (I don't know...)
SuperFrog
05-08-2007, 06:01 PM
Okay, here is my first attempt at a YouTube video. Took this at lunchtime today on my camera. Hope it works!
Liam's YouTube debut (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RNoyTjeJxyA)
juzzy
05-08-2007, 06:08 PM
DP and i are still barely on speaking terms apart from the occasional yes or no or whatever. I am totally not impressed with him at the moment. He did take me out this afternoon to have a late lunch. I fell asleep in the car because i am totally exhausted. I honestly dont think he sees my point of view.
Anyway, Cassidy hasnt had a nap today apart from sleeping the car for an hour or two. So i am risking having a really long night with her!
Penny im trying to convince DP to buy me a new laptop as i have always wanted a mac. We already have 2 laptops (a dell and a mitac) as well as a few shells of laptops lying around. I guess thats the pitfall of having a partner in the IT industry, you collect a whole heap of cr@p on the way.... :banghead:
ill b back later, need to make dinner
juzzy
05-08-2007, 06:10 PM
Okay, here is my first attempt at a YouTube video. Took this at lunchtime today on my camera. Hope it works!
Liam's YouTube debut (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RNoyTjeJxyA)
awwwww poor liam, he was trying soooo hard to stay awake!
LMenz
05-08-2007, 07:12 PM
James Spader - I quite like him too. If anyone wants to see him as a young spunk, check out the movie "Pretty in Pink", although his character is not very nice and he has the George Michael hairstyle from the 1980's lol.
That's one of my favorite movies..I have a thing for Andrew McCarthy too! YUMMY!
blubber
05-08-2007, 07:29 PM
James Spader[/B] - I quite like him too. If anyone wants to see him as a young spunk, check out the movie "Pretty in Pink", although his character is not very nice and he has the George Michael hairstyle from the 1980's lol.
Ok, I'd better go and spend some time with DH and R.
I believe his name was Blane...
"Blane what sort of name is Blane anyway!!"
SuperFrog
05-08-2007, 08:00 PM
I also took a half-a$$ed video of Liam in his Jolly Jumper (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lZJVy_5c42Q) a few days ago. Was the first time I used the video on my camera and didn't think that if I turned it on the side then the recording would also be sideways. Duh! So just ignore that bit.
ziggy29
05-08-2007, 08:48 PM
Wow mon- great videos. you should send that first one into funniest home videos.
Lily will be jealous of all these fab feb babies having fun in their jolly jumpers.
We went to dh brothers place for a party last night. took the portacott but lily didnt settle well so i got her up and she hung out at the party for a few hours. well tonight she did not want to go to sleep at all and cried for 45 minutes. but we won and she eventually dropped off. it is amazing - i rocked her to sleep one night in 4 months and then tonight she wanted it again!!!
has anyone noticed since starting solids that the amount of milk bubs is having has changed? now lily is having 3 big meals a day i am sure she is cutting back on her milk. i always give her the milk first but still she is only having one side and often not all of it now. if i try to get her to take more we have a big screaming match. any ideas? is this to be expected at this age?
it makes me a bit sad as i really love bf her and dont want her to grow up just yet.
got some photoes printed today. i am planning to do an arty project - a montage of one particular day when i took heaps of photoes of lily in a really cool light. i have a bigger shot and then close ups of her hands, mouth, eye etc. it will hopefully help me remember what she was like at about 5 months more than just one still shot will. i will show you all once its finished.
have the funeral tomorrow on the gold coast. mil will look after lily. dh is coming with me. he bought me a stuffed hedwig toy to cheer me up today.
juzzy
05-08-2007, 09:29 PM
another big argument between me and DP tonight. Things arent going the best over here at the moment. Dont know what is wrong but we are just at each others throats. He has gone to bed now so i can have some time to cool off before i eventually pack it in for the night.
I did however get a vid of Cassidy laughing tonight (pre argument with DP)
Laughing bubba (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umXILVlXyiA)
Mon your vids of Liam are really good! Looks like he totally loves the JJ
juzzy
05-08-2007, 09:47 PM
Oh i have also decided that i might like to delve into the world of cloth nappies. I have done some research and think it could be a good idea..... Sooooo any suggestions, hints, tips or whatever from those already using cloth would be greatly appreciated!!!!
LMenz
06-08-2007, 07:20 AM
I believe his name was Blane...
"Blane what sort of name is Blane anyway!!"
:laughing: :laughing: Looks like someone else is a fan of 80's movies!
JoJoMart
06-08-2007, 07:57 AM
Welcome Mandi. It's great to have new people in our thread.
Penny - I have Liam on the floor with toys while I'm on the computer but he's spending the whole time making strange noises and shreaking trying to get my attention! I have a high maintenance bub I think.
Juz - I hope things get better between you and DP. We've all been through this..........I personally think most (not all) of them are pretty SELFISH.
Lauren - I loved those 80's movies like The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink etc. I like Andrew McCarthy too.
Me - well had an average weekend......the most I achieved was getting some housework done. Liam slept badly during the day but well at night. He's been very overtired during the day with his cat napping. Our Subaru has a flat tyre and it looks like one of DH's screws from his garage has been run over :shame: . I am hosting Mothers Group on Wednesday and a friend coming over on Thursday.....plus Mum coming over today. My sis is due in 2 weeks with her bub and her OB won't let her go over the 17th as she has high BP....this is her 2nd pregnancy.
Does anyone else try and set weekly goals so they feel they achieve something other than feeding, changing and entertaining bubs? My goal for this week is the do some craft stuff........I want to paint my mum a tissue box so wish me luck I get started at least :fingerscrossed:
Have a GREAT DAY everyone
blubber
06-08-2007, 10:02 AM
:laughing: :laughing: Looks like someone else is a fan of 80's movies!
me, who me!! Still love Ducky from Pretty in Pink. Think Breakfast Club was one of the better ones and St. Elmos Fire would be right up there.
Jo: Don't you hate it when some weeks you just look around and relaise that something YOU may have wanted to do doesn't get done. It's hard to put that time aside for yourself.
Our weeks follow a bit of a pattern with Child Care and playgroup and other "kid activities. In the end i am generally happy if most domestics are achieved, (bit of a clean nazi here) and I/we have had a good week with the girls.
Ok friends, can you put you helpful hats on??
Elly has been loving her solids but the last three nights she hasn't wanted her veggies. Now she hasn't been poohing as well has she should but she will have a banana and a heap of pear for lunch. Thought the pear would help with the poohing.
Should i stop solids for a few days, give her belly a break? But i am thinking has she got used to having them and therefore needs them. Or if i stop them will she need feeding during the night...arrgghhh no.
Our other problem is she is waking at around 4-5am and taking an hour to go back to sleep.
She is having her last bottle at 7.00pm and is down for the count. Sleeping really well until that god dam early hour.
Sharon, i know Lily had been having a dream feed again, do you think we should go back to that.
Elly has actually go her self into a daily routine of two good sleeps and stays up from about 4pm until bed. Hence she is out for the count by 7.00pm. Been trying to work on that theory of in bed at 7pm for the sleep pattern until 7am.
If anyone has any clues it would be much appreciated.
Cheers girls and have a good day.
mandi24
06-08-2007, 12:37 PM
Jo I like doing scrapbooking but since Lochlain was born i haven't done any. I try to make some time for it but it never happens. Lochlain likes 24/7 attention. So its really hard to do a lot.
Well i had a pretty bad nite. Wasn't feeling all that great. Had quite a rotten headache and just felt real drained. All i wanted to do was sleep. Its great to still be living at home as dp does nite shift so mums a great help when i'm not feeling well.
Luv Amanda
Roopee
06-08-2007, 01:16 PM
Oh i have also decided that i might like to delve into the world of cloth nappies. I have done some research and think it could be a good idea..... Sooooo any suggestions, hints, tips or whatever from those already using cloth would be greatly appreciated!!!!
Juzzy- My faves are Starbunz Pockets, Happy Heiny's, Green Kids, Itti Bitti's and Baby Beehinds (bamboo).
Its really confusing when your starting out but if you start off with the Green Kids (and they are on sale atm) you wont be disappointed. They have some beautiful prints and the plain ones are great too. Tey are a "pocket" nappy so you dont need and extra cover but you do need to buy inserts (the hourglass) shaped ones work well for us. The BBB are fantastic too, you need a cover for them though but they are great!
The Green kids too are a one size fits most so will go thru Cassidy till she is toilet trained.
Have a look in the bubhub directory at all the sites-but be prepared- its info overload lol.
If you have anymore q's just Pm me (Kay knows heaos about it too).:hugs:
Honestly i was the biggest cynic but i love them now and would never go back to sposies- Cody uses one sposie at night and its so nice to walk past them in the supermarket:yes:.
juzzy
06-08-2007, 02:29 PM
Thanks Tan
It is all very confusing, have been doing some reading and it is doing my head in a bit but i am slowly getting there. There is just so much information and so many different nappies!
I ordered the green kids trial pack late last night and will use those to start with i think. How long do they normally take to deliver? Cause i will be camping at my letter box until they do LOL
I am starting to hate disposables so i cant wait until i have a bit of a MCN nappy stash happening.
Hels*Bels
06-08-2007, 02:39 PM
I like the greenkids MCN's too and the hour glass inserts :thumbsup: I ordered 2 a while ago and I think they took about a week to arrive. It could be longer if they are on sale and the site is busy.
Well guess what my clever boy did this morning? I gave him his bottle and he held it and drank it all by himself :yelclap: I sat beside him eating my brekky to keep an eye on him, but he managed really well, right down to the last drop! I fed him some yogurt afterwards (which I think is a bit sour tasting) but he ate a fair bit of it. Veggies are on the menu again for dinner tonight too.
Marianne - I don't have any advice for you as R has a later bedtime. He will quite often have a nap around 7pm, then he gets back up for his bath and some "daddy time". He goes to bed around 9.30pm and wakes at about 8am, has a bottle and then sleeps again until lunchtime.
I'd better go, I have heaps of things to do this arvo including ordering Lite n Easy as it's less than 2 weeks until I have to fit in that dress :eek:
LMenz
06-08-2007, 03:35 PM
I'd better go, I have heaps of things to do this arvo including ordering Lite n Easy as it's less than 2 weeks until I have to fit in that dress :eek:
Hels I was going to bring to Hannah's, my dress for you to look at.....Is the wedding after the next meet? I can bring it then as a back up option just in case
Juz and Mon - Great video's :thumbsup: I love looking at what everyones bubs are up to (I'm a sticky beak not a stalker I promise LOL)
Mon - Are you still having dummy trouble?? A lady from my Mother's Group is having the same issues and she just got back from sleep school. They told her to use a dummy chain and teach her baby to put his dummy back in when it falls out. She has started guiding his hand down the chain and showing him how to put it back in. Not sure if it would work but thought it was worth mentioning...I was a bit concerend about using the chain at night but that's just me I guess
Blubber - Will Elly take some water? Jack was getting a bit constipated but he will now drink around 30ml a day and it seems to help him clear things out so to speak...can't help you with the sleeping as Jack still wakes at all hours, different days...he is NEVER consistant :hair:
I hosted Mother's group today again.....Good to have some adult conversation seeing I've been holed up home for a week with Jack being sick.
Jack's also settling better during the day and I'm managing to get his afternoon sleep in too. Sleeping has been our biggest struggle so I'm glad were finally making some headway. He had three one hour sleeps today and has just woken from his last nap before bed...so a very good day indeed!
Better go it's time for afternoon solids :chef:
mandi24
06-08-2007, 06:34 PM
Hels Well done to your bub for holding his bottle by himself. :yelclap:
Lochlain started holding his bottle about 2 weeks ago. It was so exciting. It makes it so much easier when they do that although he doesn't do it all the time just every so often.
my_lot
06-08-2007, 06:44 PM
great post tan! glad i was able to train you so well that you can take over my job now!! LOL
oh you should ((plz plz)) post me a star bunz to try. i havent used one of those. ill Pm you about our other business.
talking business, hels i have some business for you. please MSN me when your online next.
ziggy29
06-08-2007, 08:04 PM
Blubber - re the 4-5 am wake. 2 theories - it could be hunger (in which case i think you should reintroduce the dream feed and continue it until you have had 2 solid months of solids). even if you just do a half feed at 930 that might be enough to get her through?
- or that is also the coldest time of the night (maybe add an extra blanket before you go to bed or when you get up for that 3 am pee (or i am the only one still doing that?)
funeral was bad but good (thanks all for asking). time to get on with living life now.
so tired - im off to byebies.
I no i'm am getting slack with you guys but i am working all the time and i'm stuffed by the time i get home and deal settle the kids i'm ready for bed. I had to get on to get an ABN so i thought i would pop in and say hi and let you all no our good news......
My baby girl is crawling :smiliedance: but now she is REALLY on the move and i can't keep her in the one spot i can't belive it she only started rolling 2 weeks ago.
So just a quick Hi to all you lovely ladys and i do miss you guys when i settle into work properly i will make time for you.
But i have to go to bed bloody work again in the morning.
Till next time stay happy and healthy.
Alicia
xxxxx
Cats&Kid
06-08-2007, 10:30 PM
Congrats Hels & Mandi24 on Reese & Lochlain holding their bottles!
It's so wonderful to hear what all the bubs are up to and how everyone is coping and solving problems.
Hels, congratulations on the upcoming wedding, let me know if lite&easy works.
LMenz, I'm so pleased to hear Jack is also an inconsistant sleeper - I thought I was on my own.
Hels, the sewing machine sounds amazing - I'm looking forward to seeing the results.
JoJoMart I think it's a great idea to set weekly goals though I think I'd get stressed if I kept missing the deadlines :) Good luck with your Mum's tissue box.
I'd love to be doing some craft again - I used to make teddy bears, crochet, tat, draw, paint, cartoon, sew, cross stitch, china paint, calligraphy, quilling etc . Though I think the projects I began for Matthew and all those pre-Matthew will remain unfinished for awhile yet, unless all your great creative spirit rubs off and can get me underway again.
SOS....Really appreciate it if someone can give me some advice with sleeping issues also? I've really got to the end of my tether and need help as I think I'm suffering from a bit of PND as well as extreme sleep deprivation. I'm still not getting more than 4 hours sleep on average a day and that is broken every 40 minutes or so, because Matthew wakes up then. My DP still hasn't given me a break and let me have an unbroken sleep so this has been for 6 months now (I agree with the sometimes selfish label - though I suppose it could just be plain thoughtlessness).
I have Matthew wrapped so he can't stick his dummy back in himself at the 40 minute mark, but if I leave his hands out so he can, he wakes up and can't put himself back to sleep. I'm still struggling to get him to sleep through the day over 40 minutes (even wrapped) and I've tried to let him self settle for 20 minutes each time (not crying, he just talks to himself) but no luck. He's also still not sleeping through the night - stirs every 40 min-1.5hrs. and I still feed him 3-4 hourly including 2 dream feeds. Any help would be really appreciated.
Also has anyone had problems with the babies not drinking as much since they've begun on solids? Matthew's milk intake has halved in the past few days and he's only getting farex, a veg and a fruit of a morning (about 4 tablespoons in all on a good day) and a little fruit (about 1.5 tablespoons) around 7pm. So I'm worried he's not getting enough.
By the way, has anyone heard from the Sydney girls lately? I'd love to join in one of the evening on-line chats, as I'm generally awake - is there anyone in particular that I need to PM for the password?
Must go, my 40 minutes is up.
:wizard: Wish everyone a wonderful night with their bubs - hope they sleep really well until at least 8am! :D
PS How wonderful Leashie! Way to go Marrissa!
So sorry it's such a long post...
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 07:40 AM
I'd love to be doing some craft again...
It is so hard to find time these days. I'm hoping it will be easier when Liam can sit up and play by himself a bit more. Although I should probably be doing housework instead!
sleeping issues ... I have Matthew wrapped so he can't stick his dummy back in himself at the 40 minute mark, but if I leave his hands out so he can, he wakes up and can't put himself back to sleep.
We are just battling this issue at the moment. I have started by putting Liam in a sleeping bag and not wrapping him. Was tough the first few nights, but I tuck him in REALLY tight, which I think helps. Once he is okay not being wrapped I will deal with the dummy-dependence. Thinking about what Lauren suggested with teaching them to find the dummy on the chain and pop it in themselves... but not sure how I feel about a chain at night.
evening on-line chats...
I'll PM you the password. Just click on the Live Chat button and join us on Tuesday and Thursday nights. Usually around 8.30pmish. Look forward to seeing you there!
So sorry it's such a long post...
I am the queen of long posts... no apologies required! :laughing:
Us - Sanders were supposed to come yesterday to sand the plaster, so I cleared everything out of the bathroom, kitchen, laundry and back room in preparation. Went with Liam to my MIL's to avoid the dust. Well I got a phone call saying that they are now coming Tuesday (i.e. today). Well they rocked up at 7am this mornign... with their really noisy machines. Now I am just waiting for the dust to settle a bit and start cleaning it better than they did. I've got plastic sheets blocking off our lounge room so the dust doesn't get in here. I feel like the boy in the bubble.
ziggy29
07-08-2007, 08:09 AM
SOS....Really appreciate it if someone can give me some advice with sleeping issues also? I've really got to the end of my tether and need help as I think I'm suffering from a bit of PND as well as extreme sleep deprivation. I'm still not getting more than 4 hours sleep on average a day and that is broken every 40 minutes or so, because Matthew wakes up then. My DP still hasn't given me a break and let me have an unbroken sleep so this has been for 6 months now (I agree with the sometimes selfish label - though I suppose it could just be plain thoughtlessness).
First of all have a big hug :hugs:. that sounds really hard. you must be exhausted. Have you talked to your GP about the possibility of having PND. you can be sleep deprived and have PND. sometimes admitting it to yourself is the hardest. i have suffered with PND and it sucks. but i have had councilling and now medication and feel a whole lot better.
I have Matthew wrapped so he can't stick his dummy back in himself at the 40 minute mark, but if I leave his hands out so he can, he wakes up and can't put himself back to sleep. I'm still struggling to get him to sleep through the day over 40 minutes (even wrapped) and I've tried to let him self settle for 20 minutes each time (not crying, he just talks to himself) but no luck. He's also still not sleeping through the night - stirs every 40 min-1.5hrs. and I still feed him 3-4 hourly including 2 dream feeds. Any help would be really appreciated.
i wrap lily with one arm out. this is so she can suck her finger. she doesnt have a dummy. i got rid of it when she was 3 months as she wouldnt resettle without it.
babies sleep in sleep cycles. they wake up every 40 minutes in the day and in the night they may do 40 min or 80 min cycles (often 40 then 80). generally speaking when they wake they check if all is the same in the world, and if it is, they might go back to sleep again by themselves. but if you have aided them to sleep then they will be looking for that aid to resettle - eg dummy, milk, you.
i am strong and let lily put herself to sleep. she is pretty good most of the time but occassionaly cracks it for ages.
have you thought of going to a residential sleep school?
i think the most important thing is dont suddenly change the rules on your bub. maybe write sown when the sleeps and foods are for 3 days so you get a good idea of the underlying routine and then build on that trying to keep things similar everyday so he knows whats coming. then if you are going to change the way he settles - tell him and then stick to your guns.
Also has anyone had problems with the babies not drinking as much since they've begun on solids? Matthew's milk intake has halved in the past few days and he's only getting farex, a veg and a fruit of a morning (about 4 tablespoons in all on a good day) and a little fruit (about 1.5 tablespoons) around 7pm. So I'm worried he's not getting enough.
lily has really dropped back on her breast feeds since taking solids. if you are worried mix milk in with each solid feed. also ramp up the solids - lily went from eating very little to eating heaps really quickly.
[/quote]
blubber
07-08-2007, 08:46 AM
Marianne - I don't have any advice for you as R has a later bedtime. He will quite often have a nap around 7pm, then he gets back up for his bath and some "daddy time". He goes to bed around 9.30pm and wakes at about 8am, has a bottle and then sleeps again until lunchtime.
Thanx anyway Hels, how do you go having reece up until 9.30. For me it would seem that you have very little time to yourself at night. It obviously suits you though.
Blubber - Will Elly take some water? Jack was getting a bit constipated but he will now drink around 30ml a day and it seems to help him clear things out so to speak...can't help you with the sleeping as Jack still wakes at all hours, different days...he is NEVER consistant :hair:
Lauren, Elly will drink water, she oves it actually. We even went back to the brown sugar thing on Sunday but she is still poohing what we call, nuggets!!
Glad to hear Jack is on the improve.
Blubber - re the 4-5 am wake. 2 theories - it could be hunger (in which case i think you should reintroduce the dream feed and continue it until you have had 2 solid months of solids). even if you just do a half feed at 930 that might be enough to get her through?
- or that is also the coldest time of the night (maybe add an extra blanket before you go to bed or when you get up for that 3 am pee (or i am the only one still doing that?)
I think the dream feed may be the answer, she isn't screaming like hunger but perhaps that is why she is stirring. Was a little selfish last night and went to bed early so tonight i will do the late feed again.
I think we have managed to rule out the cold as we put another heater down that end of the house.
...and thankfully i don't have to get up and go to the loo at 3.00am.
Mon: Don't you just love tradesman and their punctuality.
Leashie: CRAWLING, that is amazing. Elly doesn't roll, no baby in our extended family has and she can't sit up yet. So well done.
Cats & Kids: you must be exhausted, very trying when a bub won't sleep. I think we can manage almost anything else but the sleep factor really knocks you around.
Any consolation, Elly is wrapped and once one arm is out that's it. SHe has a dummy and that is what gets her back to sleep. Painful getting up just to put it back in. When she is awake she can put it back in. We don't wrap her during the day but she still can't find that dummy on her own but sleeps well.
HAve to toally agree with Sharon about the sleep cycle. I think we really have to persist with re settling after that 40 minutes. Elly will almost always stir during the day at 40minutes but will go back to sleep.
Good luck and hope anything you try allows you to get some sleep.
So many babies, so many theories.
my_lot
07-08-2007, 09:57 AM
blubber- i vote you- to be in the "hot seat" in TMI chat tonight!
blubber
07-08-2007, 10:06 AM
Willing and able Kay!!
Is this because I was absent last week and everyone else had a "turn".
Or is the "hot seat" the insitgator of all things relating to TMI?
blubber
07-08-2007, 10:45 AM
Never cook your pork roast for tea early in the day...mmm....crackling!!!!
mandi24
07-08-2007, 11:41 AM
Would someone be able to pm me the password for live chat
LMenz
07-08-2007, 11:44 AM
Hello..... I'm bored!!! Jack's STILL sick. His cough is worse so don't really want to take him anywhere.
I'm hungry....would it be really bad if I drove to Macca's for some drive thru?? mmmm McFlury
Jack's been doing a few different things this week.....When he's doing tummy time he's now resting on his wrists with his arms straight. I also bought one of those alphabet mats on the weekend and when he's on that (on his tum) he will spin around to face me...Clever little fellow. I guess the slippery surface helps him spin :yes:
mandi24
07-08-2007, 11:44 AM
How r we all today
Well i got a phone call from work this morning asking if i could come in today so at the moment i'm at work on my lunchbreak.
Its been a very quiet morning so pretty boring.
I like it when its busy as there is so much more 2 do.
Probably won't get out of here till 6:30 at the earliest. Long day for me as i haven't done it for so long.
Well anyways chat later better get back 2 work
Luv Amanda
Purplebird
07-08-2007, 11:53 AM
SOS....Really appreciate it if someone can give me some advice with sleeping issues also? I've really got to the end of my tether and need help as I think I'm suffering from a bit of PND as well as extreme sleep deprivation. I'm still not getting more than 4 hours sleep on average a day and that is broken every 40 minutes or so, because Matthew wakes up then. My DP still hasn't given me a break and let me have an unbroken sleep so this has been for 6 months now (I agree with the sometimes selfish label - though I suppose it could just be plain thoughtlessness
I'm afraid I can't give you any advice as I am suffering something similar (although not as bad as every 40 minutes- poor you, you must be so exhausted). Just wanted to let you know you are not alone:hugs: I agree with Sharon - it's worth getting help with the PND - I did too and now I feel fantastic. I can even cope with the fact that in 6 months I have not had more than 4 hours unbroken sleep - so maybe don't just put your feelings down to sleep deprivation as it may not be just that, IYKWIM. Our problem is a little different to yours in that Eloise has a boob sleep association. I can't stand to hear her cry and she is very difficult to comfort at night anyways (has cried herself sick before, despite being held). We are trying to chnage things gradually but if things are not improved in a couple of months or so we are open to going to residential sleep school. Hope you feel better soon and get some sleep.
Sharon - I'm so sorry to hear about your friend.
Well, I am managing to find time for some craft and I have discovered scrapbooking - it's fantastic! I'm also writing a children's book with illustrations (if noone else likes it at least Eloise will!!).
Well done to all the clever bubs who are holding their bottles or crawling. We have no new tricks here yet :D
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 11:57 AM
Hello..... I'm bored!!! Jack's STILL sick. His cough is worse so don't really want to take him anywhere.
Poor Jack. He's had a rough time lately.
I'm hungry....would it be really bad if I drove to Macca's for some drive thru?? mmmm McFlury
I have been known to do that. When I was pregnant I craved McD's chips. Mmmmm. Stupid diabetes meant I couldn't have them though.
Jack's been doing a few different things this week.....When he's doing tummy time he's now resting on his wrists with his arms straight. I also bought one of those alphabet mats on the weekend and when he's on that (on his tum) he will spin around to face me...Clever little fellow. I guess the slippery surface helps him spin :yes:
Everyone loves the alphabet mat! I'm waiting until our new flooring is down before breaking it out... otherwise it will be covered in plaster dust. Maybe Jack will be a breakdancer?? :laughing:
Would someone be able to pm me the password for live chat
Will do!
Liam's favourite toys at the moment are the peg bucket, and this (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1881.jpg). Requires close supervision as I could see it ending badly.
New thing for the week: Liam can now put into his mouth the whole head of his rubber duckie. Beak and all. Will have to get a pic or vid of it... is hilarious as you really don't think it is going to fit, but it does!
Purplebird
07-08-2007, 12:17 PM
*LOL* at Liam's new favourite toy! We have that same toy in 2 different colours :laughing: Eloise loves to hit them and yank their fur.
Lauren- get well soon Jack
Forgot to say happybirthday Happy half birthday to my beautiful girl. I can't believe how the time has flown and I can't believe how much love I feel for this little being (even if she is a cr@p sleeper!).
http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60795-1.jpg
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 12:58 PM
Happy Half-Birthday Eloise!
happybirthday happybirthday happybirthday
How do you get such a nice close-up photo? If I try to do that Liam ends up with glowing red eyes, like he is channelling the devil. I even use the red-eye reducing flash or no flash, and I still get them. And if I fix them in photoshop his eyes always look really wrong... like they are flat and lifeless.
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 01:01 PM
Was it Eli that was the guitarist with the band? Liam wants to join too. (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/08%20July%202007/IMGP1851.jpg)
(that pic was taken a while ago... red lumps and bumps have cleared up... red eyes have not)
LMenz
07-08-2007, 01:44 PM
Requires close supervision as I could see it ending badly.
:laughing: :laughing: Too Cute!! We have two of those toys and Jack loves them also....
Hannah - Great photo! She is adorable :yes:
BORED, BORED and still BORED
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 01:52 PM
I can't say I am bored... I am procrastinating.
Need to keep cleaning up this plaster dust. Still need to give the bathroom and loo a good wipe over and give mop#1. Kitchen, hallway and laundry all need mop#2. Last time I had to mop four times to get rid of it all, but even then you could still see it lurking.
Liam has just fallen asleep in my arms after a big play. I think I may have been misreading his bored signs as tiredness and trying to get him to sleep before he was tired. Trying to tucker him out today to see if he will nap for longer, so I can get more cleaning done. :laughing:
my_lot
07-08-2007, 02:07 PM
Was it Eli that was the guitarist with the band? Liam wants to join too. (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/08%20July%202007/IMGP1851.jpg)
(that pic was taken a while ago... red lumps and bumps have cleared up... red eyes have not)
ha ha. yes twas Eli.
ill have to get a pic of him in his DJ shirt.
it says "DJ ELI - live at home 24/7"
LMenz
07-08-2007, 02:09 PM
Can Jack join the band too?
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0346.jpg
Mon...I'm procrastinating also. I have a ton of things I could be doing......:shame:
LMenz
07-08-2007, 02:11 PM
it says "DJ ELI - live at home 24/7"
How cool :cool: Where did you get that from Kay?
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 03:14 PM
Yeah, that nap theory didn't work out. 20 minute nap and he was wide awake again. Maybe Liam is a power-napper?
More photos!
Eating is hard work. (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1913.jpg)
Stacks on Dad! (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1909.jpg)
DH was 3/4 asleep when this was taken... don't tell him I posted this or I'll be in big trouble!
Hels*Bels
07-08-2007, 03:21 PM
Hels I was going to bring to Hannah's, my dress for you to look at.....Is the wedding after the next meet? I can bring it then as a back up option just in case
That would be great, if the diet doesn't work then your dress could be my saving grace :) The wedding is on the saturday after the next meet.
talking business, hels i have some business for you. please MSN me when your online next.
I should be on MSN tonight and also in chat.
I thought I would pop in and say hi and let you all no our good news......
My baby girl is crawling
:smiliedance:Congrats, how exciting! Reece won't be far off, when he lays on his tummy his little legs are going ten to the dozen underneath him lol.
Thanx anyway Hels, how do you go having reece up until 9.30? For me it would seem that you have very little time to yourself at night. It obviously suits you though.
DH looks after him at night and R is always happy to play by himself. I also get alot of time to myself during the day as he doesn't get up until midday and also has a good afternoon sleep (although this may change lol)
happybirthday to Eloise, well happy half birthday anyway.
Us - Seems like the solids are definitely a go-er now so I'm glad I waited those extra few weeks after R refused them first time around. Last night he had veggies, then his bath and then he drank 400mls before bed :eek: I did his normal 250ml bottle (which DH gave to him) and then he wanted more so DH gave him another 150mls! He actually slept right through last night and didn't wake up once. I have definitely noticed an increase in his appetite so I'm keeping an eye on it.
LMenz
07-08-2007, 03:27 PM
I have a power napper here too! Jack is half way thru his 4th 40 minute sleep today :)
I finally moved my aaarse and did some jobs. At least the whole day wasn't a right off
I'm looking forward to tomorrow...I'm getting a visitor :yelclap: A friend is coming over for lunch and she's bringing lunch - doesn't get much better than that
SuperFrog
07-08-2007, 03:48 PM
Oh my goodness, I must have missed Leashie's post. A crawling Fab Feb bubba... how exciting! How scary too!
LMenz
07-08-2007, 04:22 PM
That would be great, if the diet doesn't work then your dress could be my saving grace :) The wedding is on the saturday after the next meet.
No Probs...I have shoes and a bag to match too. Will bring it all
Good job on the solids...looks like Reece is about to be an EVEN better sleeper :rolleyes: I'm insanely jealous!!!!!
Well Jack slept for an hour......he's just had a zuchinni and pumpkin combo for tea. I'm still hungry, never did get that maccas but I'm definately having pizza for tea (DH will be home late)
Bye Bye :wave:
juzzy
07-08-2007, 04:48 PM
ok time for a catch up post from me as i have been a little MIA and not keeping up
Babies holding bottles Cassidy has been holding her own bottle for a week or so, doesnt do it for very long however, personally i think she is a lazy bugger! Its pretty cool to see though, kinda scary at the same time.
Leashie glad to hear that marissa is crawling! They are growing up soooo fast that it is getting scary!
Cats&kid :hugs: re the potential PND. I suffer from it so can understand. I have found that if i dont get enough sleep it tends to get on top of me and out of control. I, unfortunatley, dont have alot of advice for you about the sleeping issues. Perhaps it may be time to wean him from the dummy, even though that will be painful for the shortterm, could be a good idea for longterm?
As sharon suggested maybe a sleep school could be a good idea. They will be able to help you out with more suggestions than i can currently think of.
Mon Cassidy has taken a liking to one of my cats as well. My younger cat is overly friendly but has been staying away from Cassi but recently curiosity has gotten the better of her and the few times she has ventured near Cassi she will start to giggle. If the cat stays within Cassi's reach for long enough the cat ends up losing a handful of fur.... Strangely, doesnt bother the cat, she just wanders off.
Oh i have to say that i love all the photos of the babies, keep them coming they are devine.
Solids i think i might lay off on the solids for a few days, Cassi is starting to refuse them as soon as the spoon goes near her. She ends up crying so i guess thats an indication that she doesnt want them.
As for me. Been a very long few days. DP and i havents been getting along very well to the point that we cant talk to each other because we end up yelling. I dont want to yell around Cassidy so i have found it easier not to say anything. Thankfully he has been working a few extra hours so i can relax a bit.
As a result of arguing i have been getting very little sleep. Over the last 72 hours i have had about 10 hours sleep. And to top it all off i baby sat DPs nephew yesterday and today. I didnt know i was babysitting until DPs bro dropped him off.
As for Cassidy, she is well except for our issues with solids. Still my good little sleeper but has been really grumpy during the day, she now has a 40 min sleep around midday where as she never used to sleep between getting up in the morning and going for a nap at 3pm.
She is getting her 6 month needles tomorrow, could be a long few days :fingerscrossed: she doesnt have any bad reactions to them
I have been buying some MCNs online over the last two or so days. Now just need to wait for them to arrive, i feel like camping at my letterbox lol its exciting
While we are adding photos, here is one i took this morning
Cassi and Sebastian (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000755.jpg)
ETA: DPs just popped in with his business partner and is working for a few hours tonight:banghead:. Dont know if i should be happy or not.
blubber
07-08-2007, 07:33 PM
DH looks after him at night and R is always happy to play by himself. I also get alot of time to myself during the day as he doesn't get up until midday and also has a good afternoon sleep (although this may change lol)
Last night he had veggies, then his bath and then he drank 400mls before bed :eek: I did his normal 250ml bottle (which DH gave to him) and then he wanted more so DH gave him another 150mls!
Getting up at midday, Reece has the life!! Amazing how they all do life in a different way.
400mls is amazing, i too woud be hoping he slept all night with that full belly.
Fantastic getting a nights sleep and not getting disturbed.:yelclap:
my_lot
07-08-2007, 07:41 PM
How cool :cool: Where did you get that from Kay?
oh its so cool it has a cute little DJ mixing it up!
im not telling you where i got it, just yet, you might get Jack the one i got him for Christmas!!!
icugal
07-08-2007, 07:43 PM
OMG... so much to catch up on !!
Firstly I have to mention how blonde I am. I kept thinking I could hear Kaelan crying in his cot just now... but I went into his room and he was asleep. Then I heard the cry again... went back in, same thing. Then I finally realised it was a baby on the Drew Carey Show which is on Arena at the moment !! :D It was really freaky just how similiar the baby sounded to Kaelan !!
Mon - loving the YouTube videos and photos. Keep 'em coming !! Kaelan is the same way with my two dogs at the moment.. they just have to walk into the same room, and he will start smiling and laughing with joy at seeing them. He also loves to 'pat' them when they come close.. usually that involves him smacking them repeatedly. For some reason, they seem happy to tolerate the abuse *LOL*
Juz - I hope you and your DP can work out your differences soon.
Mandi and Hannah - I love Scrapbooking too... though I seem to be more of a collector of scrapbooking equipment than anything else. I buy all the gizmos... but when it comes to doing an actual layout, I seem to have an permanent creative block.
Hels - Yay for Reece in holding his own bottle... clever boy !! Kaelan started to show an interest in holding his bottle a couple of weeks ago... but now he's seem to have forgotten the entire concept.
re: solids. We seem to be having a little more success as well. For the last couple of days, K has been managing to eat and swallow probably 75% of his food... so that is definately a step in the right direction. I was starting to envison Kaelan as a 30 year old man, still drinking only formula :D
Mon - Are you still having dummy trouble?? A lady from my Mother's Group is having the same issues and she just got back from sleep school. They told her to use a dummy chain and teach her baby to put his dummy back in when it falls out. She has started guiding his hand down the chain and showing him how to put it back in. Not sure if it would work but thought it was worth mentioning...I was a bit concerend about using the chain at night but that's just me I guess
I agree with you Lauren. I wouldn't trust having a chain on a dummy at night unsupervised. When K was little, I accidentally put him to bed with the chain on the dummy... and when I went to check him not long after, the dummy was out of his mouth and the chain had pulled tight across his throat !! NEVER EVER did I forget to take it off again (mind you, K never really used the dummy much anyway).
Leashie - Congrats on the crawling baby... I think !! *LOL* Now the fun begins !!!!! Kaelan is nowhere near crawling stage... I think his head is just too big and too heavy.... he's got a bit of a boofhead !! :) If I put him on his tummy, he just flops after a few minutes. He does however, seem to be perfecting the 'scooting around on his back' thing *LOL*
Happy half-birthday Eloise !!!!!!! happybirthday
And while we're sharing photos...
Kaelan flaunting it on the baby scales (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_23.jpg)
blubber
07-08-2007, 08:19 PM
Let me back in chat...someone please
blubber
07-08-2007, 09:18 PM
and again, when i first gointo chat our roon does not show. Also when i get invited the onbly way i can enetr is if i go to the room and enter the password. Any clues?
Hels*Bels
07-08-2007, 10:11 PM
and again, when i first gointo chat our roon does not show. Also when i get invited the onbly way i can enetr is if i go to the room and enter the password. Any clues?
This is normal as the room is set up as private, no one can see it until they get an invite and then have to enter the password.
Cats&Kid
08-08-2007, 01:21 AM
Hi everyone, thank you so much for your support and advice. I can't tell you how much better I'm feeling for all your replies.
Sorry about the problems getting into the chat tonight and sorry to my_lot & shajake for leaving chat unannounced! My DP decided he wanted a cup of tea so knocked me off the network when he changed something....the trouble with living with an IT professional...by the time he'd finished everyone had gone.
Superfrog, thanks for the password and the info. What type of bag are you putting Liam into? I have a grobag but have only used it once as he just can't get past that 40 minute mark with his arms out. I wasn't sure about putting him under covers when he had it on as I was worried he'd get too hot. If he has his arms out he plays with his dummy and can put it back in, but then just lies there having an animated conversation with it :) It's very cute but not helping his sleeping.
Ziggy29, thank you for all the advice. I'll look more into the sleep cycles and see what's happening. I'm off to the dr. tomorrow - 6 mth shots :( so I'll ask then what she thinks re PND though it might be difficult with DP there being skeptical. When did you start wrapping Lily with one arm out? I'm going to have to start giving him a bit of freedom soon, as he's getting upset with being wrapped. I'm pleased Lily has also cut back on milk - can you feed them too much solids? I've heard they won't take it or might throw it up but he seems to be so happy to please me and I'm worrying that I could over feed him. I'm only feeding him one main meal which includes 2 tabs veg, 1 tabs of farex & 2 tabs fruit - do you think that's too much in one go?
Blubber - it's good to hear Matthew isn't a one off - and that Elly is also a 40min napper.
Purplebird, thank you for the support, I also can't stand to hear Matthew cry - I'm blessed that he doesn't do it very often so it really upsets/stresses me when he does and though I know that controlled crying really works for many people I don't think my nerves would hold out.
I think everyone's idea of the sleep school is good - the reason I hadn't given in to the idea (dr. & echcn wanted me to go) is that they believe in controlled crying or so I've heard.
Can't wait to see the book Purplebird - always wanted to do children's illustrations also and hoping to do a book for Matthew one day.
Juzzy :hugs: re PND. It's comforting to know I'm not alone though.
I'm off to get a few zzzz's before M wakes again. Hugs to all and hope all your bubs sleep well tonight
Suzanne xxxx
PS. Superfrog - not trying to beat your title of "the queen of long posts"..hopefully this will be a one off. BTW love Liam's new toy - M has one just like it that keeps tempting him with a long fluffy tail past his bouncer, she'll be sorry when he gets a bit quicker :)
LMenz
08-08-2007, 07:12 AM
im not telling you where i got it, just yet, you might get Jack the one i got him for Christmas!!!
Awww...Jack's going to be a bit spoilt!
I think everyone's idea of the sleep school is good - the reason I hadn't given in to the idea (dr. & echcn wanted me to go) is that they believe in controlled crying or so I've heard.
From what I've read etc most sleep schools use some form of controlled crying (from 6 months old only) I friend recently went as she was boardering on PND with no sleep in 6 months.....They let her bub cry but she was with him the whole time (with the nurses for support) For her it has been a godsend.... I really hope you can get some help. Sleep deprivation is so cruel :hugs:
RE: Dummy Chain...Mon, I thought it seeemd a bit strange but it was recommended by nurses at the sleep school. I'm pretty sure my friend pins her baby's chain down quiet low on his clothing/sleeping bag so there isn't much chance of it getting up to his neck.
US - Jack slept thru until 5.15 this morning! That's twice this week so YAY for us!!! Sorry I haven't been in chat much but I'm trying to catch up on some much needed zzzzz's. I'm still waking around 3ish (even when Jack sleeps thru) which is sooo frustrating. Hopefully I can break the habit.
Have a great day lovely ladies
Purplebird
08-08-2007, 07:45 AM
Morning All :wave:
well it's fair to say that solids are not going down well here at all. Eloise is far from interested in anything except milk so far. I've tried Farex mixed with breastmilk, mashed banana, banana mixed with farex, sweet potato, carrots, pear and a jar of organic creamy oats! Nothing is a goer. Not really sure what to do except maybe give solids a break for a week or two and then try again. Does that sound like a good plan or should I be pushing them more and keep trying different foods?
Re: the sleep schools - I've spoken to a few people who have gone and I currently have a referral in to one if I want it. I also understood that they use a form of controlled crying but that you are with bubs the whole time too. That's why I am trying to put off going if I can as I think that's probably more suitable for an older baby - just my thought, not trying to pass judgement on those who use controlled crying as I'm sure it works for many people.
Darren Hayes is on Sunrise at the mo and he sounds really good - is it sad to like him?!
Ok, well I'm off to get crafty today (and clean the house - boo!). Have a good day all.
mandi24
08-08-2007, 08:21 AM
Good morning
Well i got called into work again 2day. So tired though had a bad nite with Lochlain. Hopefully i can get through the day.
Luv Amanda
Hels*Bels
08-08-2007, 09:03 AM
well it's fair to say that solids are not going down well here at all. Eloise is far from interested in anything except milk so far. I've tried Farex mixed with breastmilk, mashed banana, banana mixed with farex, sweet potato, carrots, pear and a jar of organic creamy oats! Nothing is a goer. Not really sure what to do except maybe give solids a break for a week or two and then try again. Does that sound like a good plan or should I be pushing them more and keep trying different foods?
Hannah, this was us a few weeks ago. Reece actually started crying as soon as he saw the bowl and spoon. So I stopped everything for a couple of weeks. Then last weekend I started again. He likes the pear and banana farex much better than the plain stuff. We are still on 2 small meals a day, he hasn't mastered the art of opening his mouth yet so I have to make him laugh and then quickly shove the spoon in :laughing:
So in my opinion I would wait at least a week or 2 and then try again. Eloise will take to it when she's ready, there's no rush :)
Another thing you could try is the teething rusks. Just give it to her to play with and she will keep putting it in her mouth (like they do!) and this will help her get used to the taste etc.
I have to share.... I lost 0.7kg last week :smiliedance: Just by cutting down on what I eat and cutting out the late night snacks. I started Lite n Easy today so hopefully I will drop another 1-2 kgs in the next week and a half (before my nephew's wedding). Why do I always leave things to the last minute :banghead:
I am going back to bed now (with R) as I had a cr@p sleep last night, just tossing and turning.
mummybunny
08-08-2007, 09:45 AM
hello everyone :wave:
sorry i have been away for so long, do you mind if i come back??
ive had such a busy few months, Riley has two teeth and is so close to crawling and i can feel the first word coming on too, he loves to eat everything has been on solids for nearly 4 months (doctors orders due to not sleeping threw) and he loves them, he loves his rusks too and he is sleeping threw the night again:yelclap: ... and holing his bottle but only when he wants to the lazy bum..
we too are looking at cloth nappies, due to finances...
and as for myself, im planning my wedding :smiliedance:
i have found my dress so ill get a pic, and ive decided on colours, but thats all we have so far, oh and our bridesmaids and page boy and two flower girls...
we are finally doing it september 2008.. i cant wait im so excited i have my dinning table full of mags hehe they help heaps...
so how is everyone??
hope everyone is ok with me comeing back in??!!
hope to see you all around soon...
oh btw any meets in melb around september 29 to october 3rd? i think ill be down there that weekend!!! :smiliedance:
bye Kim
Roopee
08-08-2007, 09:51 AM
:wave: Everyone! I've been MIA for a week or so- been hunting so been busy! I'm still going but trying to do it at a slower pace now (and no, its not working).
Kay- Yeah, i was a good student wasnt i! *LOL*. Re the Starbunz- i'm more than happy to send you Cody's to try- have to warn you though, its not that absorbant really but if you boost it it works well. Its is really bulky too- and its a PINK PIG! Do you think Eli will mind?:laughing:. Cody is wearing it as we speak so i'll wash it tonght, be dry tomorrow and post on Friday?
Hmm whats this other business? Im thinking a dress or something? Cant wait for the PM.
Well there have been too many pages for me to catch up on but will try to get in a bit more often than i have to keep up!:hugs:
SuperFrog
08-08-2007, 09:56 AM
If someone has a wedding gift registry, do you think it looks cheap not to get something from it for them?
my_lot
08-08-2007, 09:58 AM
tanya-hunting?? as in shooting animals? or house hunting?
i might ring you later, be quicker than PM. i have to finish sorting out the downstairs. i asked dp to hire a trailer so id bettre have it all ready for him to take to the tip...oh and if i can get all his cr@p out it will save half the fight in trying to gte rid of it!
really how many ice skates, surfboards, hockey sticks, helmets and bikes does ONE man need!
my_lot
08-08-2007, 10:03 AM
If someone has a wedding gift registry, do you think it looks cheap not to get something from it for them?
nah, you give them what you want to. it more personal too.
we are not having a gift registry, my family would be horrified if we did. there is a wishing well on the boat but i havent said anything about that in the invitations.
actually id rather people just come without a gift and pay for their own booze. i really dont want to pay a huge bar tab at the end of the night when ill probably only have a sip at the toasting...
Roopee
08-08-2007, 11:00 AM
tanya-hunting?? as in shooting animals? or house hunting?
i might ring you later, be quicker than PM. i have to finish sorting out the downstairs. i asked dp to hire a trailer so id bettre have it all ready for him to take to the tip...oh and if i can get all his cr@p out it will save half the fight in trying to gte rid of it!
really how many ice skates, surfboards, hockey sticks, helmets and bikes does ONE man need!
NAPPY hunting!! The Great down under Nappy Hunt is on and im hooked! I am also starting to think that with each child i lost more than a few brain cells! Some sites are HARD work!
juzzy
08-08-2007, 11:17 AM
NAPPY hunting!! The Great down under Nappy Hunt is on and im hooked! I am also starting to think that with each child i lost more than a few brain cells! Some sites are HARD work!
ohhhh i started yesterday and it can be hard work! And very addictive!
Roopee
08-08-2007, 01:06 PM
Your not kidding Juzzy!
I have done almost all of them- did the easy ones first so now i have all the hard ones left (about 10 left) and its driving me batty!
Dh is unimpressed- poor goes to walk near the computer and i say "what are ya doin?" Get off there":laughing:
juzzy
08-08-2007, 02:15 PM
Your not kidding Juzzy!
I have done almost all of them- did the easy ones first so now i have all the hard ones left (about 10 left) and its driving me batty!
Dh is unimpressed- poor goes to walk near the computer and i say "what are ya doin?" Get off there":laughing:
Geez about 10 left!!!! id live to have that many to go! LOL. Ive found 20 and am starting to struggle!
juzzy
08-08-2007, 02:54 PM
ok went to the CHN this afternoon, here are the stats from birth until now.
Birth
weight: 3.51kg
Length 49cm
Head Circ 35cm
4 Months
weight: 6.94kg
Length 61cm
Head Circ 42cm
6 Months
weight: 8.2kg
Length 65cm
Head Circ 44cm
She isnt quite six months, so i guess her weight will be a little more when she is actually six months.
Asked the CHN about Cassidy starting solids and now her refusal to take any solids at all. She believes that it is fairly common and most babies will go through stages of being fussy and not wanting to take solids at all. Said that i should just wait a few days and try again from scratch and see how we go. That is what i was pretty much planning to do anyway.
Received an email from Green Kids. Says my MCNs were posted on Monday so i hope i get them soon. Am looking forward to not have to burn a hole in my pocket buying sposies anymore! Yay fluffy mail is coming!
Having yet another night on my own, DP is going to some dinner tonight that doesnt involve me. Was going to have dinner with DPs sister, but she is unwell. So now i am fending for myself for another night.
Oh and welcome back, kim :wave:
sophnlucca
08-08-2007, 03:00 PM
hi im a feb mum my ds was born on the 11th of feburary at 3.55am he was 9p 11 oz :wave:
LMenz
08-08-2007, 03:56 PM
Darren Hayes is on Sunrise at the mo and he sounds really good - is it sad to like him?!
I was watching too and Jack started howling as soon as he came on...clearly he's not a fan! :laughing:
Nup...we had a registry but hardly anyone bought off it. I didn't care
US - I've had such a fab day with my friend...Jack loves seeing her! He has been an :angel: today!
His Babylegs arrived yesterday too. Here he is wearing them in his Jolly Jumper....I got him a flame pair too.
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0368.jpg
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0371.jpg
Hels*Bels
08-08-2007, 04:18 PM
We had a registry too and some people didn't use it. It's only really suggestions for those who are stuck with what to buy. The wedding that we are going to on the 18th has a registry at flight centre, but I am giving them a gift instead.
LMenz
08-08-2007, 04:29 PM
hi im a feb mum my ds was born on the 11th of feburary at 3.55am he was 9p 11 oz
Welcome :wave: We love to chat here!!
blubber
08-08-2007, 05:23 PM
Not a bad day i just wish Elly would pooh more than a ball of playdoh.
We have tried water, sugar water, she wats heaps of pear for lunch.
Would pumpkin or sweet pot bind her up?
She had been poohing well on solids but this last week has been awful.
Any clues??
my_lot
08-08-2007, 06:27 PM
marianne have you tried prune juice? boiling prunes and giving her the cooled liquid. either that or coloxyl drops. ive not had a bunged up kid since my first was a baby and those were the two we used.
hels. whats the gift reg at flight centre for? honeymoon? sound like a fab idea.
looks like ds has chicken pox. im 99% sure. funny that i just had him at the Dr yesterday (ear infection and getting elis cold seen to for the 4th time in a month) i know hes not the only kid in his pre-school room to get it. one we know from after school sports and she has been really really sick. the others are numbers on a paper saying "outbreak". i had all three of my older kids vaxd for this last year while i was preg with eli.
im off to bed really soon, just going to melt the choc on their s/berry sticks while they all get ready for bed.
goodnight all.
harleyq
08-08-2007, 07:44 PM
G'day all, missed you heaps - we've just come from our time away in Halls Gap - had a wonderful time -- Coen slept in his portacot for the first time -- we had some difficulties getting him down initially but he slept all the night through once we did...
Solids are going really well for us too...
I tried to watch all the videos that everyone has put up - but really struggled - we miscalculated our download limit this month and have already used our limit (and we're only a week in) :crying: so it was really slow - and l am very impatient, but what l did see of them were very very cute (photos too)
Oh BTW - I am also a big fan of the Practice (and Bobby) &pretty in pink is one of my fav. movies of all time and mmmm mmmm to blane...
Tanya - Ergo's rock!!! Welcome to the Ergo fan club... current members, me and Kay - anyone else?
Penny - Have you seen the series "Long Way Round"? Penny if your a fan of ewan - you really should see this series - it was really good!!! He seems like an all round good bloke!
Leashie - I can't believe she is crawling!!! Wow they are growing up soooooo quickly!!!
hi im a feb mum my ds was born on the 11th of feburary at 3.55am he was 9p 11 oz :wave:
Welcome!!!! Just jump in where ever you want!
Must go and watch House now... can't wait to join in on the chat tomorrow night!! Really did miss you all!
Anybody want some sleep tips (saved my life) l have a great source that l am willing to share -- PM me your e-mail address and l will send them through!
Thanks for the stats update Juzzy! Will send out 6 month stats in a couple of weeks when a few more babies have reached their half b'days!!!
icugal
08-08-2007, 08:01 PM
I love House, it's a great show... but I have one major criticism of the show...
Are there any other allied health professionals employed in that bloody hospital??
Ever noticed how the 4 main characters seem to do EVERYTHING?? They not only diagnose medical problems, they run pathology tests, they do surgery, they do all the xrays and CT scans. Apparently they are all very multi-skilled..
Hels*Bels
08-08-2007, 08:32 PM
Sophnlucca - Welcome to the thread :wave: . 9lb 11oz, gosh that was a big bub!
Sandy - Glad to hear you had a nice trip away. Thanks for the offering the sleeping tips, but we get more than enough of that in this house lol.
Kay - Yes the flight centre registry was towards the honeymoon. It closed a few weeks ago, so I supposed they paid what was left owing. Good idea isn't it?
Us - Reece did well with his solids today. He had mashed banana at lunchtime (really it's brekky but he didn't get up until 12.30pm :rolleyes: ) Then for dinner he had pumpkin and brocolli, followed by the rest of the bananas. I wish he would learn how to open his mouth though!
Have a good night everyone.
Purplebird
08-08-2007, 08:34 PM
Tanya - Ergo's rock!!! Welcome to the Ergo fan club... current members, me and Kay - anyone else?
Anybody want some sleep tips (saved my life) l have a great source that l am willing to share -- PM me your e-mail address and l will send them through!
Welcome back Sandy - glad you had a good time! We have an Ergo too -it's absolutely fab,- been a Godsend at times. You keep teasing me with this sleep book :) - I would lurve to see it! Don't worry about emailing it though if you have used up your download limit, next month is fine if that's OK with you.
Lauren Jack looks great in his Babylegs - love his shirt too, that's so cute.
Penny - trust a nurse to spot those flaws in House! :D I couldn't find that recordable thing for scrapbooking in Lincraft today so I may have to take a trip to Spotlight instead.
Blubber - hope the prune juice works for Elly.
blubber
08-08-2007, 08:55 PM
Prune Juice, do you get that from the supermarket in a bottle, like OJ?
It isn't right that a bub is ****ting nuggets more than"soft poohing" ?
Hels*Bels
08-08-2007, 09:11 PM
Juz - I thought you might be interested in this thread about a new pram (similar to the strider). I think it would need to be road tested first though.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=112630
Bellas Mum
08-08-2007, 09:24 PM
Have been MIA for a few days and there is so much I have missed out on. Firstly, Leashie, I cant believe your little bubba is crawling!!And only 2 weeks after starting to roll. Amazing!!
Bella has just started to roll from back to tummy, but she is sitting really well now.
Marianne, sorry your LO is having so much trouble with poo's. I had the same problem with my DD1. We tried prune juice, brown sugar in water, lots of things. Coloxyl drops worked well but you cant use them long term. Try mixing some Flaxseed oil in with her vegies. It worked for us and you can get it from the health food shop.
Sandy, have PM'd you about the sleep tips. I gave Bella a top up with formula tonight just to try to get her to sleep through. :fingerscrossed: it works.
Penny, I have thought the same thing about House. And everyweek it's the same thing. They have this patient and they spend the whole show trying to figure out what is wrong with them. I dont watch it much now.
Well, not too much else to report. Will try to keep up with u all and report back in soon.
juzzy
08-08-2007, 09:46 PM
Juz - I thought you might be interested in this thread about a new pram (similar to the strider). I think it would need to be road tested first though.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=112630
Yeah i saw that thread, still say id prefer a strider... i think i have a think for steelcraft products.
Penny as for House.... I like the show.... and besides TV never lies all doctors are like that :laughing: :p
Cats&Kid
08-08-2007, 10:56 PM
Hi all...
Welcome Sophnlucca and welcome back Harleyq & Bellas Mum.
Blubber - yes, you can buy prune juice from the supermarket. Generally bottles in the tetra juice isle (not the refrigerated juice). If you were closer I could give you some - ended up with complications after c-section and DP bought me 18 bottles! LOL Anyone have any recipes for prune juice :)
BTW, how often is she going? Matthew has gone from really soft to plasticine since starting solids but he's still not going more regularly than 5 days!
"]Matthew is 6 months tonight![/B] Can't believe how quickly that time has gone. He's having a horrible half-birthday as he had his shots today - he's currently sobbing in his sleep, waking exactly every 40 minutes and tossing & turning the rest of the time. He's also not drinking and I've given him 2 lots of panadol. Poor baby, so pleased we've 6mths before the next ones. I think it will take me that long to get over these ones :(
Must go, still haven't managed any dinner!
Hugs to all xxx
mummybunny
09-08-2007, 07:37 AM
has everyone already forgotten me?? i didnt even get a hello.......:no: :( :crying:
juzzy
09-08-2007, 07:55 AM
Oh and welcome back, kim :wave:
Ohhhhhh i said hello yesterday!! LOL
But ill say it again!
Hi!:wave: :wave: and welcome back....
Had a good night sleep last night. Feel better for it. Went to bed and watched The Village and then The Unit. Felt nice to relax for once. Cassidy was hard to put to bed last night. Wasnt interested in going to sleep. But still managed to have her in bed by 930. She is a big clingy today and we are having a day at home as a JIC measure after her 6 month immunisations yesterday. She is showing no ill effects (ie fever) so could be an alright day.
Waiting for the postie to see if any of my MCNs are here..... Geez im impatient...
juzzy
09-08-2007, 07:58 AM
Oh and ******* pronto is having a sale on some of their Grobags for those who are interested....
blubber
09-08-2007, 08:26 AM
Blubber - yes, you can buy prune juice from the supermarket. Generally bottles in the tetra juice isle (not the refrigerated juice). If you were closer I could give you some - ended up with complications after c-section and DP bought me 18 bottles! LOL Anyone have any recipes for prune juice :)
BTW, how often is she going? Matthew has gone from really soft to plasticine since starting solids but he's still not going more regularly than 5 days!
18 bottles, DP must have really thought you had a problem!!
Will go in search for it today.
Elly poohs two or three times a day, so it's not that it wont come out it's just difficult for her. She used to fill a nappy easily.
has everyone already forgotten me?? i didnt even get a hello.......:no: :( :crying:
Sorry if I did. hello, hope you have a great day.
Well it's a beautiful day here so i am going to get outside and do some stuff.
LMenz
09-08-2007, 08:40 AM
My little angel yesterday turned into the devil at 1am....I was up every hour or so with him until 5.30 when I finally brought him into bed with me. Were off to the doctor's again this afternoon...he's just not getting better and I'm concerend about his ears again. I swear the doctor must see me coming and want to go hide. To top it all off I'm sick now too as well as DH. It's not a happy household atm
WINTER SUCKS :thumbsdown:
Kay - What did the doc say about Eli's cold? He's been sick for a while now too...Is he getting any better?
JoJoMart
09-08-2007, 09:11 AM
Lauren - sounds like a good idea to take Jack back to the Dr. Don't worry what he/she thinks as it's normal to go to the doctors alot with a bub. I hope you all get better soon.:hugs:
Mon - just thought I'd add that we did have a gift registry and it didn't really bother us whether people used it or not. We got some nice pressies that weren't on the registry like photo frames and crystal vase.
Kim - Hello :)
Sandy - so glad you had a great time in Halls Gap. Did you get Coen used to the portacot before you left? Liam hated sleeping in it when we went to Daylesford but we hadn't tried it beforehand.
Penny - that's so true about "House". I really love the show but you're right where are the pathology staff?!!
Liam has been cat napping a lot during the day with only half hour sleeps but yesterday........he slept for 2 1/2 hours at lunchtime. The irony was my inlaws visited at lunchtime and waited the whole time for him to wake after I'd been complaining about him constantly waking and he slept the whole time so they didn't get to see him! My MG started at 2pm and Liam slept through the first 1/2 hour while everyone arrived :smiliedance:
I might try and make chat tonight if I can......if not, it's because I've gone to bed early!
my_lot
09-08-2007, 09:41 AM
hi everyone.
how are you going mummybunny? i should have said hi, sorry, i saw your post yesterday and opened here just to read it, thinking great shes back! so .sorry.
lauren. DR thinks hes catching one 'wog' after the other. hes been sick for coming on 6 weeks.
juzzy- im getting MCN soon too. only i ordered and paid for these when eli was 7 weeks old! they just sent them to me 2 weeks ago! i had to post them back as they were so tiny. so i paid for postage here then to send them back reg mail and they were going to charge me for the postage back again (because one nap they dont sell anymore so i was swapping for a cover so then i needed to buy the snap in- and so they wanted to charge me postage)
anyway all sorted, im not paying postage and my now large size berry plush animals are coming!
i also got some gold AIO this week so im looking forward to that.
does anyones baby still have a soft spot on top of their head? i can see elis pulsating. not as strange as looking at blood going through veins in a premmie tho. that was strange seeing ds1 like that!
blubber- check the bottle so you dont get something thats not fresh or has added cr@p.
LMenz
09-08-2007, 10:27 AM
lauren. DR thinks hes catching one 'wog' after the other. hes been sick for coming on 6 weeks.
Poor thing...I think the same thing is happening with Jack - He's been crook for about 3-4 weeks now. Gee on top of that your now dealing with chicken pox :hugs:
Jack soft spot still pulsates also.....I'm assuming it's normal as his doc always checks it for dehydration when we see him
Better go sounds like Jack is coughing up a lung
juzzy
09-08-2007, 11:21 AM
juzzy- im getting MCN soon too.
Yay! Got mine this morning, well most of them... waiting on my GKs still. So now i have 8 nappies, 2 still coming from GK. I have washed them already and they are on the line while there is a bit of sun.
So excited!
Who knew id get so excited over nappies?!
SuperFrog
09-08-2007, 12:09 PM
Afternoon everyone, both the oldies and the newbies! :wave:
I've just had Liam in fits of laughter... we were doing the Time Warp dance together. :smiliedance: :laughing:
my_lot
09-08-2007, 12:44 PM
juzzy- congrats on your first MCN the MCN changeover!!
what naps did you get today? you should wash inserts 8-10 times before use. it really does make a big dif to the use of it.
i will expect to see pics soon!
maybe we should start a feb MCN bum thread to show off their cute naps.
my_lot
09-08-2007, 12:48 PM
Afternoon everyone, both the oldies and the newbies! :wave:
I've just had Liam in fits of laughter... we were doing the Time Warp dance together. :smiliedance: :laughing:
i think my best work out with baby music is "lets twist again......"
talking of work out, ive got to fit my butt into a white dress very soon. ((and am yet to work that out- dont know what style would suit me best and wont let my top half fall out or me fall out of the gondala!)
im off for a walk, its only 5,000 steps. (my bloody kids counted with their step counter toy out the cocopops box!)
Roopee
09-08-2007, 02:24 PM
KYM!- a Massive hello to you!! Welcome back!!!!!!!!:wave:
Kay- sorry i missed your call! I was at the park- im working tonight so will be home after 9 or so. Hopefully will make itinto chat later!
JUZZY- oh im the same with the nappies! It is exciting- now you will have to get some babylegs and woolies! They look adorable with a big fat cloth bum! Yep, as kay said- wash them heaps before she wears them! I put Cody's on here after i bought them home from the shop (chemist near me sells itty bitty's-if your interested) and what do you know? Leaks everywhere lol. I ws ready to give up after an hour!
So wash them alot. You dont have to dry before each wash either, just wash, soak, throw them in with everyload and dry them before use! Hope that made sense.
Oh and if your going to buy a lil squirt- let me know and i will pm you a pic of the one DH made for me. It cost $2 from bunnings and does the same job!
harleyq
09-08-2007, 02:29 PM
has everyone already forgotten me?? i didnt even get a hello.......:no: :( :crying: G'day mummybunny
Oh and ******* pronto is having a sale on some of their Grobags for those who are interested.... Thanks Juzzy!!! Will check it out now!!!
Jack, Eli - (+mums) - :hugs: hope you all get better soon and get lots of sleep!!!
Sandy - so glad you had a great time in Halls Gap. Did you get Coen used to the portacot before you left? Liam hated sleeping in it when we went to Daylesford but we hadn't tried it beforehand. We didn't try it out immediately beforehand - but Coen had had two day sleeps in it when at mums weeks before.... I need to be more organised me thinks!!!
does anyones baby still have a soft spot on top of their head? i can see elis pulsating. not as strange as looking at blood going through veins in a premmie tho. that was strange seeing ds1 like that! You've seen how much hair Coen has - you can't really see Coen's soft spot (and never could) but it is still there...
To all those who have 6 monthers.... how did the babies cope with the injections this time round?
Have had a pretty productive day today, cleaned one bathroom from top to bottom, made sausage rolls (for emergency lunches) and hamburgers for emergency meals.... one of the things l was able to do for our holiday was just grab some ready made meals out of the freezer to take with us (eggplant parmagiana (sp?) and napoli sauce for pasta) -- it was great cos it meant l didn't have to cook whilst we were there.... l am really going to try and do a big cook up once a week... make the mess once...
Hope everyone is having a good day today - will see you in chat tonight!
juzzy
09-08-2007, 02:31 PM
kay the inserts have already been through the wash twice and are now on their third time. Everywhere i have read says 5 times... but ill go with 8-10 just to be on the safe side. :yes:
Today i got 3 bumgenius, 2 pea pods and 3 happy heiny's. I should get my GKs tomorrow with any luck.
Here is a photo.
MCNs (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000771.jpg)
And one more....
Cassi and MCN (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000770.jpg)
Tan oohhhh are itti bitties any good? havent read much about them, ill have to do some reasearch. I have been stuck doing GDUNH. Its driving me nuts.
Sandy cassidy hasnt been dealing very well after her immunisations. I am thinking about taking her to bed with me tonight because im a bit of a worrier. lol
Cassi has been so hard to deal with this afternoon. While i was having brekky this morning she started to sweat really bad and had a bit of a fever. Stripped her down and gave her some panadol. A feed and a nap later and she was happy and smiling again.
Started to get her ready for her nap and same thing. Cassi started to scream and was pretty much inconsolable for ages. Gave her a bottle and did about 50 laps of the house while she screamed but eventually fell asleep.
She is in the cot now and am hoping that she sleeps for a while. I am once again putting it down to the needles yesterday.
Poor bubba. :gloomy:
Oh and one pic from a rare time when Cassi was happy today.
Jumpin' (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000765.jpg)
LMenz
09-08-2007, 02:35 PM
Jack has an ear infection and mild bronchiolitis again :crying: I'm praying he will sleep tonight! I'm like a walking zombie atm...DH is trying to get home a bit early
Juz - PM me if your interested in the website where I got Jack's Babylegs from...I got them for $12.95 a pair which is about $5 off RRP
No chat for me...too tired! Hopefully next week :fingerscrossed:
my_lot
09-08-2007, 02:36 PM
tan and anyone else. im making elis leggings out of those groovy kids 3/4 socks. (get them from hong kong charlie shop) very easy to do and costs between $5- $7. im just in the middle of doing pinks cows for eli. then ill do the cross bones. they work out to be a little longer than babylegs and two for the price of one and some funky little hand puppets with the 'feet' end!!
juzzy
09-08-2007, 02:40 PM
Geez everyone posted at once!! LOL. Lauren ill PM you
my_lot
09-08-2007, 02:43 PM
AAAH JUZZY you got the COWS!!! OMG how cute are they! i love them. i loved eli in them!! i sent them to tan for cody and they are now on a doll awaiting elis first birthday when they can go on his own dolly!
my BG didnt fit. it was one that came 3 months after the order. have you tried a berry plush? they are the ritz of MCN i love them. Eli grew out of his animal prints long ago so ive got large coming in them. the dalmation should look great!
and i hear theres a new brand on the market. cant remember the name of it. but as soon as i get my custom order ill be flashing it to the world!!
my_lot
09-08-2007, 02:45 PM
lets see who can get the 200th post
juzzy
09-08-2007, 02:53 PM
LOL i loved the cows! I had to search a bit to find someone who stocked one that would fit her though! But am glad that i did, it is totally adorable!
Have heard that Berry Plush are the ultimate! I have to wait until i do my tax (need to wait until the business tax is done so i can do mine) and then i will splurge on a couple i think....
Like you said before maybe we should start our own MCN thread....
Roopee
09-08-2007, 03:03 PM
The new ones are the "blueberry's" . Im odering some of them! Like BP but cheaper.
The ititi's work really well for Cody but Kay didnt like them. Its just a matter of trial and error.
where did you get those cows from? Cody grew out of Eli's and now i want one for her in a medium but everywhere s out of stock!!
I have a "firestorm" Bp here Kay and while it looks divine _IT LEAKS!!! I dont know how to fix it! She gets saturated and it drives me nuts0 she still wears it though:o.
Gotta go get ready for work! (oh, and get the Starbunz off the line lol)
Hels*Bels
09-08-2007, 03:17 PM
So many posts to catch up on!
Kim - Belated hello to you :wave:
Lauren - Poor Jack, I hope you are all feeling better soon :hugs:
Juz - Go Cassi with the MCN's!
Sandy - Reece still hasn't had his 6 mth needles :o . I had him booked in last week but I had a week full of headaches so I cancelled. And I've still got to make another appt. I'd rather go on a friday so he has the weekend to recover (and DH is home lol). Can't go tomorrow as I'm going out for the arvo, so it looks like next week.
Re MCN's - I hope you girls will be interested in naps with groovy/funny slogans on the bum ;)
I'm going to show off Reece's MCN bum when we go to Noosa in Sept. He will also wear nappy covers (with slogans) over the top of his sposies. And a groovy pair of swimmers too!
Well yesterday arvo he fell asleep standing up in his exersaucer lol. This was when I was getting showered before going out to the PO. I knew he was quiet but I thought he was watching Hi5. I grabbed the camera but he woke up just before I could take the photo... spewin! He looked so cute though.
juzzy
09-08-2007, 03:31 PM
Tan got the cows from a online shop called the weewuns. Just google it and it will come up. Just checked says that there is 4 Large ones left.
SuperFrog
09-08-2007, 03:40 PM
Liam feels really heavy today... I think he is stacking the weight on now. We are doing 5 bf a day plus 3 meals of solids and sometimes an afternoon snack. All I seem to do is feed this kid. This afternoon for a snack he ate a whole tub of baby yoghurt, and still wanted more!
Am in the middle of some sewing. Hoping he will have a nap so I can finish. Will post a pic when I'm done. (I said that last time and didn't make anything... pressure is on this time!)
blubber
09-08-2007, 03:54 PM
Lauren: not good to hear about Jack, ear infections are nasty but hopefully he doesn't suffer to badly and you get some sleep.
Juz: you certainly are excited about the MCN thing. Thats' great, it's so confusing to me just reading ahout them.
Hels: Mia DD2, has just fallen asleep on the lounge for the first time in about..oh...two years.
Sandy: so organised for your holiday with all that food.
No 6 month vac here but Elly cruised thorugh her 4 month ones the other week. Was late because she had been sick.
Thanx for all the advice on Elly's poohing habits. She has actually done four today, just been difficult. I am sure she would prefer to squirt the whole lot out at once. The nappy count is huge...perhpas i should get my head around this MCN thing!!
On the solids thing, Elly isn't 6 months yet but did anyone start yoghurt before then? Just looking to introduce something different again and wondered if the dairy factor was a bit early.
Well the darling has been in bed for three hours so i might go make some noise. Really trying to keep this night time routine thing going.
ziggy29
09-08-2007, 06:56 PM
Hi everyone.
i spent the last day and a half at my mums while dh has been away. i enjoyed myself but i am really tired as usual.
does the fatigue ever go away??
i would love to chat but dont know if i can stay up late enough to catch up. i know lots of people cant make it till later but i would love it if it could start earlier (like 8pm) - is there anyone else who can make it for an earlier start??
anyway hope to chat soon. ill go in and wait soon
mumslilspunks
09-08-2007, 06:57 PM
Live chat s empty??:gloomy: :crying:
mumslilspunks
09-08-2007, 06:58 PM
sorry just wanted to be the 200th poster!:party: :yelclap: :smiliedance: :laughing:
icugal
09-08-2007, 07:33 PM
Hiya girlies...
Kim - Welcome back... hope things are well with you and Riley. How is your dad going?? Please feel free to keep posting !!!
Lauren - Sorry to hear that Jack (and now you) are sick again. You guys are really copping it this year huh?? BTW, I went back to Cotton On Kids in Greensborough today and they didn't have the t-shirt you wanted... sorry about that.
Hannah - I went to two different Lincrafts today and unfortunately they didn't have any Page Talkers... but I'll keep looking for you and if I see any, I'll pick you up some (unless you can find some before I do). When you come over next week... I'll show you mine (that sounds almost rude, doesn't it :D ).
Me - Despite the fact that I have very little money these days, I spent my day 'shopping'. As it turns out, Target were having a massive sale on the end of season winter clothes (I was stalking the chick with the mark-down gun !! *LOL*) so I managed to pick up a sh!t-load of clothes for Kaelan for the next few winters at a bargain price. I even had the remnants of a Fly-Buys gift card at my disposal... so I ended up getting about 7-8 outfits (mainly jeans/pants) originally worth $140 (in total) for only $30.00... bargain !!
My little man almost broke my heart before... He was jumping around in his Jolly Jumper, very enthusiastic as usual, then he spotted my dog Charlotte (my dogs are his favourite thing at the moment) and he started laughing at her in his cute little six month old way... he was *so* excited to see her sitting next to the mat of the JJ... it was just gorgeous. Of course Charlotte, who usually thinks of anything bouncing and noisy as a toy, started to bark at Kaelan (as she would any noisy 'toy')... and poor little Kaelan instantly looked up at me, dropped his bottom lip and started screaming hysterically (he was still bouncing around in the JJ mind you *LOL*)... poor little mite. He was so upset that Charlotte barked at him. I ended up having to take him out of the JJ to console him. Eventually a big mummy hug put a smile back on his face.
K is now in asleep in bed (third night in a row that he has been in bed this early... freaky !!). So hopefully he'll sleep through now and give me some chat time :D
my_lot
09-08-2007, 07:56 PM
Re MCN's - I hope you girls will be interested in naps with groovy/funny slogans on the bum ;)
this is what i was talking about in my last post on MCN. im waiting for my custon order...hint hint. LOL
icugal
09-08-2007, 08:04 PM
I hate it when I jinx myself... guess who's screaming his little head off in bed right now??
I'll give him a few minutes before I go in :)
harleyq
09-08-2007, 08:05 PM
Liam feels really heavy today... I think he is stacking the weight on now. We are doing 5 bf a day plus 3 meals of solids and sometimes an afternoon snack. All I seem to do is feed this kid. This afternoon for a snack he ate a whole tub of baby yoghurt, and still wanted more!
GO LIAM! GO LIAM! - Soon he will be vying with Coen for fattest bumba!!! At 4 months - Coen was the heaviest, followed closely by Jack & Bella (tied 2nd).... we'll see who takes out fattest bubba prize for 6 months stats shortly!!! Should we also have a big head and giraffe prize?
LMenz
09-08-2007, 08:21 PM
we'll see who takes out fattest bubba prize for 6 months stats shortly!!! Should we also have a big head and giraffe prize?
Jack's getting weighed on Monday...I have a feeling he's pushing 9kg very fast :yes:
LMenz
09-08-2007, 08:25 PM
Lauren - Sorry to hear that Jack (and now you) are sick again. You guys are really copping it this year huh?? BTW, I went back to Cotton On Kids in Greensborough today and they didn't have the t-shirt you wanted... sorry about that.
Yes..I think he'll be a real sicko unfortunately. Doc said today he'll most likely get an ear infection with every cold now..he seems to be suseptable to them
Thanks for looking for the top...Highpoint is sold out to. Not to worry I'm sure I'll find something else to buy him :D
Cats&Kid
09-08-2007, 10:10 PM
just a quick post, sorry I couldn't join in the chat tonight. Matthew has not coped well with the 6mth shots. Very clingy, not eating much, not drinking much and especially not sleeping......
Hope everyone is having a good night
mummybunny
10-08-2007, 06:22 AM
:wave: Hello all, thought everyone had forgotten me...
We were doing well was getting over the PND, and Riley was even sleeping 12 hours a night and we go two teeth and almost on our was to crawling :smiliedance: , then last night Riley decided he wanted to scream all night, just as id drift off he would scream for an hour then go back to sleep and again scream as i just drifted off, i think ive had just over an hours sleep im so :sleeping: i could sleep for 4 days straight
has anyone else had this happen??
i need some advise on what to do, we are ment to get 6 month needle today but im scared it will make it worse...
my_lot
10-08-2007, 07:20 AM
hunny bunny- you can delay the vax. we didnt do the 4 month ones til 5 months so not doing the 6 month ones til 7months and if hes still sick he wount be getting them done then either.
i had about a month of great sleep (6 hour block) i had a baby who hadnt so much as had a sniffle and then got those shots done and hes been sick since...and back to all night waking.
im over dp getting out the cot everytime he cries. if he doesnt hand him over for me to feed he will strip the poor kid for a bum change. last night i just walked out at 3am and slept on the futon. i got up at 6:30 this morning to a happy bubby, dp at work and no bottle in the sink so i take it he wasnt hungry at 3am or hed be screaming the house down for it on waking the next time?
my Dr told me to co-sleep and b/feed to sleep. another male who had a kid like this and didnt want to know about it??!!
Roopee
10-08-2007, 10:06 AM
hels- i am more tthan interested in your slogan MCN'S! PLEASE make sure when you make them that you let us all get first dibs at them!!!:yes:
well we just went to have Cody's 4 mth needles (she was sick etc at 4 mths then i have had other dr's appoints for the kids) and she didnt even cry! What a brave girl!
She'll have her 6mth ones at 8 mths. Delaying them is no big deal Jen- if your worried about reactions etc.:hugs: So good to have you back!!
juzzy
10-08-2007, 11:17 AM
Hehe got my GKs in the post this morning!
After all the washing i did yesterday (7 loads as i hadnt washed in a few days and did a few of cassidys blankets and our sheets too) i got to try out some of my MCNs as they were in the machine the whole time.
Have to say that i am impressed and i was concerned that i was going to have some kind of leakage or something but havent had any of that! Only early days i know but a permanent switch could be on the cards.
Cassidy slept well last night and seems to be a happier baby today so :fingerscrossed: she is over her dramas of yesterday. I have a massive headache for some reason and will be having a nap this afternoon to try and get rid of it.
Tan did you end up ordering the cows from the weewuns?
Purplebird
10-08-2007, 11:54 AM
MummyBunny - welcome back, I hope Riley has settled down for you and you get some much needed sleep. After Kay's experience i am going to delay Eloise's 6 month shots for a while, I'm not looking forward to them.
Penny - Thanks, I would love a Page Talker if you find one. I'll let you know if I get one.
Lauren - still sending get well soon vibes your way!
Ren - welcome back, hope to see you in chat some time when I get there.
MCN's - I've been a part timer but DH and and I had a chat last night about it. We both hate sposies and my little lady has very chunky thighs (like her mother!) and she gets lots of red marks as no sposies fit her comfortably. Well, lets just say I persuaded DH that in the long run we will save heaps by outlaying money now for full time cloth. Yay!! I now have loads to spend on cloth nappies and we are going to do it full time. I have got mine from wee wuns in the past too so I'm starting there. So excited!!!!
Hels - another excited customer here for your products :)
Well, that was a horrible day and night I've just had - lets just say :barf: (me, not Eloise!). Better today and fast making it up for it on the eating front! Thought I would finally get round to posting my bumba stats as I think she must be up there with the chunkiest:
1 month
4.6 kg
length:56.7 cm
HC:37.1 cm
4 months
7.8 kg
length:64.8 cm
HC:41.3 cm
6 months
9 kg
length68 cm
HC:42.7 cm
Roopee
10-08-2007, 11:55 AM
No, No cows for me yet Juz! I am on a DH inflicted buying ban!!!:banghead: The large's wouldnt fit Cody for ages yet anyway- the mediums are still a bit too big.
juzzy
10-08-2007, 12:22 PM
Tan lol damn men and their shopping bans... DP tried to do that to me and i laughed. Oh i was going to ask, since both yourself and Kay are the experts.... the GKs pamphlet says the hemp inserts only need to be washed 3 times before use and the bamboo and microfibre only once. Should i just do that or stick with the 8 times? I dont want leakage!
Hannah Glad to hear about going full time with MCNs. I will eventually probably, but am still only in the early stages. But yay for getting to spend up big!
Hels add me to the list! Clearly i am after your MCNs. If you need a test baby (besides R obviously) im happy to offer Cassidy. LOL
Purplebird
10-08-2007, 12:44 PM
Ok, I need help!!! MCN help that is, there's just too much to choose from and I don't know where to start. I LOVE my Berry Plushes but can't get loads of those - we haven't won the lotto! I love my Swaddlebee and the Happy Heiney prints are great but I'm not so keen on them for absorbancy. Eloise is a big girl already - 9 kg - and I want nappies that will see me through and can be used for my next child (ren), but not necessarily for a newborn. Ideas and recommendations on nappies and sizes welcome :)
Roopee
10-08-2007, 12:57 PM
Ooooh another one sucked in LOL- welcome to the truley obsessive club!
Green kids are great- they last till the kids are toilet trained so you'll get loads of wear out of them and for super absorbancy (nite time) grab a couple of Baby Behind Bamboo's.
Juz- i washed mine 5 times before i used them-the hemp inserts and bamboo but the microfibre only once.
Yes, damn DH- what he doesnt know wont hurt him either lol- i have seen waaaaaaaaaay too many nappies on this hunt to not go back and buy *LOL*
icugal
10-08-2007, 01:00 PM
I just feel the need to say here that not all babies have awful reactions to their needles. Kaelan had his 6 month needles about a month ago and he was completely fine. This coming from a baby who seems to react to everything else !!! :D (you should see his skin right now.. poor little mite !!). But anyways... for those left to immunise, I hope it all works out ok.
Onto nappy talk...
I thought about trying out MCN's however, the thought of washing out pooey nappies kinda turns me off... not to mention all the extra washing (and wasted water) that would come with it. I've been completely spoilt by disposables... and as long as DF is happy to keep paying for them, then I'll keep using them. Having said that though, I guess I would also be willing to try out one as a trial... we'll see (any excuse to spend money really *LOL*).
Out of curiosity... do you use traditional liners in the MCN's.. you know the chux-looking things that you use in terries?? I must admit I really know nothing about this MCN stuff...
I am however, quite proficient in the use of terry nappies... from years of looking after other peoples newborns and from helping out in the maternity ward at the small hospy I worked at a few years ago. I'm almost tempted to put K in a terry now to see what happens (see how my train of though keeps chopping and changing as I type this?? *LOL*). Then again, going back to cloth would almost seem like a step backwards for me...
I'm so conflicted here :)
Maybe a MCN would be like a compromise bewteen the two... Hmm.... this needs further thought.
my_lot
10-08-2007, 02:21 PM
hannah, GK are probably the best bet. ive used them on eli from about 2-3 weeks old. they are pretty big on a newborn which is why i ended up buying a few sized ones. i was very happy with my peapods but its a sized nappy.
the only sized nappy i use now are the berry plush and ive got three large+ inserts coming. my mediums are getting shorter in the bod! or is that eli is just getting bigger!
i really like the ittibitti as a swimming nappy but thats about it LOL its also another sized nappy. very trim under clothes probably the best for under clothes that ive used, peapods not far behind.
i use my baby behinds with woooly pants and while they will do an overnighter without leaks its one soooogy nappy to get off him in the morning and calls for a wash! so i use them in the day now and with wooly pants and a funky top its pretty cute.
penny- the washing is no big deal and if i can say that with a house of 6 people then it shouldnt be any bother for you at all.. mind you we do have two washers side by side! you dry pail these mcns (not that i need to as im always washing) leave them in the bucket with lid (no sh!T) for up to 3 days)
i throw my nappies in with towels or dps work clothes so im not actually doing a load 'just' of nappies unless theyve been dry pailed delayed with rain, sick ect.
and yes to liners. i dont after hes shat in it but from first thing in the morning til that poop then yep i used liners. i have the weakest tum on the planet. i puked in the kitty litter tray! so i use liners!
got to go. 5,000 step walk is calling me
my_lot
10-08-2007, 02:46 PM
I just feel the need to say here that not all babies have awful reactions to their needles. Kaelan had his 6 month needles about a month ago and he was completely fine. This coming from a baby who seems to react to everything else !!! :D (you should see his skin right now.. poor little mite !!). But anyways... for those left to immunise, I hope it all works out ok.
yes but you could have a baby that will have no reaction at all to hepB polio pneumo and the combo 3 in1 and you think its all great then bang they react to the MMR for eg.
i didnt feel good when i read that tho hannah. please do what you feel is right for your family
elis reaction wasnt good and i really really regret getting it done believe me but that isnt to say your bubs will be the same. eli only had 3 days from hell after the first needles and of my four children this would have to be the best reaction to date!
oh i should shut up now im a fence sitter with these vaxs. too scared to do it too scared not to do it!
and its really a touchy subject at the moment with a chicken pox vaxd kid breaking out in more spots as i typre and an unvaxd ticking time bomb baby.
Roopee
10-08-2007, 03:03 PM
penny- you right. Not all babies do react but alot do. Whether it be a mild reaction or something more severe.
Its a pot luck thing.In fact- some children will react to some needles and not others.
I have had two of the four react mildly-fevers, vomitting and flu like symptoms and the other two nothing! If your first child doesnt react-it doesnt mean siblings wont. I think it is fine to delay or selectively vax! Different strokes.......
Kay- are you managing to keep ds away from eli as much as possible? Gee what a task you have ahead of you. I hope no one else comes down with it! Polka dots are not a good look for a wedding!:D
icugal
10-08-2007, 03:25 PM
Kaelan had a mild reaction to his 2 months needles (fever and very sleepy for 24 hours)... so I was expecting it to happen with his subsequent needles... but it didn't thankfully. I did give him prophylactic paracetamol prior to his needles... don't know if that actually made a difference or whether it was pure coincidence (you would expect panadol to wear off after 4-6 hours).
Anyways, not looking forward to the 12 month needles... I'm a bit wary of the MMR.
We have a boy across the road from us who is severely developmentally delayed.. he's 4yo and he's only just learnt to walk. His mother has told us that (after a thousand different tests and investigations) the specialists now think that maybe her sons condition could be related to his MMR vax... that's a scary thought. Interestingly enough, this boy also has an older sister who is a little... er.. different... shall we say.
JoJoMart
10-08-2007, 03:40 PM
I need some advice.......what does everyone do when their bub is unsettled and it doesn't matter what you do to console them? Liam has been a shocker all day.......he's only slept twice for 20 minutes each time and is overtired so keeps scratching at his head and now has cuts on his face......to top it off....each time I try and put him down he screams for ages and I've now shoved him in his pram but he's awake and wriggling around frustrated. I just SO TIRED I don't have the energy to walk him around the block. He's done some tummy time and commander crawling and been fed but will not sleep :banghead:
Tried baby panadol because I think he's teething but nothing has helped. When I hug him and try and comfort him he tries to wriggle out of my arms and cries it's driving me crazy :gloomy:
Any advice?
juzzy
10-08-2007, 03:43 PM
cassidy has reacted to all her needles to date so i was prepared for her to have a reaction yesterday (had her needles wednesday, all her needles have resulted in fever, excessive sweating, very unsettled and a few other things) and i wasnt surprised at all when she did. It can be hard to watch such a tiny person have such a reaction.
Like Tan said, all babies react differently to having needles. Some having no reaction at all. DPs mum was telling me that out of her 5 kids 3 had a reaction and 2 didnt react at all. So i guess it is just luck of the draw.
Im a bit of a fence sitter with vax at the moment
juzzy
10-08-2007, 03:47 PM
Jo - big :hugs:
When will ur DH be home? If it is soon will he be able to take over?
My suggestion is to try something relaxing like a bath or massage. Or perhaps leave him in the pram, cover it and rock him in the pram. Maybe if u can get it dark enough he will calm down enough to have a snooze
Other than that i am out of ideas. But besides cuddling those are the things i would suggest
LMenz
10-08-2007, 04:05 PM
When I hug him and try and comfort him he tries to wriggle out of my arms and cries it's driving me crazy :gloomy: Any advice?
Jack does that too when he's overtired...I wrap him really, really tight so he can't squirm much and rock him to sleep. I start off quiet rough and as he's getting drowsy I slow it down a bit.
Apart from that I resort to the car as he will always fall asleep but don't drive if your really tired
Hope he settles for you Jo :hugs:
Purplebird
10-08-2007, 04:12 PM
Thanks for the clothie tips Kay, I'm going for a selection I think. I am also delaying Eloise's 6 month jabs as she is sick with a cold, so it wasn't just after hearing about your troubles with Eli after his 4 monthers. I must say that I've heard lots of stories about problems with 6 month injections (not severe reactions so much as unsettledness and 'flu-like symptoms). I'm only delaying for 2 weeks - also we've only just started solids and I want to be sure there are no nasty food reactions (unlikely as she is only chomping fruit and veg) :) I hope you manage to keep Eli free of the pox.
Jo - :hugs: Sorry, I can't add anything to juzzy's advice - I'd also try the bath and/or massage, maybe a bit of lavender oil of you have some (obviously diluted). Hope you find something that works soon hon.
Hels*Bels
10-08-2007, 04:25 PM
this is what i was talking about in my last post on MCN. im waiting for my custon order...hint hint. LOL
My material arrived today :smiliedance: beautiful bright red PUL and soft white suede (only the best for my naps lol). Reece is a big wetter so I am making a triple lined insert that's shaped but bigger than average. Once he can wear fitteds without leaking, I will be ready to make them :)
So he is my test dummy :laughing:
I'm just waiting for my software to come (from the US) for my embroidery machine, then I can get busy.
MCN's - I've been a part timer but DH and and I had a chat last night about it. We both hate sposies and my little lady has very chunky thighs (like her mother!) and she gets lots of red marks as no sposies fit her comfortably. Well, lets just say I persuaded DH that in the long run we will save heaps by outlaying money now for full time cloth. Yay!! I now have loads to spend on cloth nappies and we are going to do it full time. I have got mine from wee wuns in the past too so I'm starting there. So excited!!!!
Hels - another excited customer here for your products
It would be easy for me to make them with more room around the top of the legs. We can do "made to measure" for Eloise.
Us - Well my plans got changed today so R ended up having his needles. He cried when she did them, but he was happy blowing raspberries again soon after. He went down for a nap at 2.30pm and he's only just waking now! But I had to wake him earlier than normal this morning so he was tired. Doesn't seem to have any reaction to the needles, but it hasn't been a problem previously.
I utilised the time to myself this arvo and got stuck into the bookwork for both mine and DH's businesses.
Finally, I have some exciting news... when I was at the Dr's I got a referral letter for Melb IVF. I have made our first appt with them for 21st Aug. This will start the ball rolling for bub #2. I expect it will be around oct/nov when we start on the program again, I hope :fingerscrossed:
Better go, it's time for R's bottle.
icugal
10-08-2007, 04:42 PM
Jo - Could he have an ear infection?? Or water trapped in his ear?? (just because of the face scratching). Does he have any rash or excema?? Has he had any new foods or have you put him in any new clothes that he could be reacting to? Most of that is probably unlikely... like you said, it's probably overtiredness or even teething but it still worth considering everything.
I think the suggestions so far are really good. Maybe a relaxing bath and massage... give him a feed and if that doesn't work, get your DH to take him for a drive in the car. While they're gone, you could try and get some sleep too.
Poor little man !! :hugs: to Liam and to you !!
If it's any consolation, Kaelan has been a bit like that too today. I'm thinking it's K's teeth today because he has a white spot on his gum now and he's trying to chomp on anything he can find. He's SO unsettled though. He screams at the drop of a hat... just before he was sitting on his mat, playing with his toys... and I banged the ice cube tray on the bench (not overly hard) to try to get the frozen pumpkin cubes out, and he just burst into tears... and I'm talking big gasping sobs... completely inconsolable !! He was like that for about 20 minutes before I could finally settle him down.
I'm hoping it's his teeth... either that or I'm raising a complete mummy's boy :D
Juz - Hope Cassidy is feeling better today. Nasty, nasty needles. BTW, how are things going with you and DP??
Hels - How exciting !!!! Little Alex will be here in no time :)
Speaking of babies... my cousin gave birth to her second baby, a little girl at 10:45pm lastnight... Mikayla Jasmine... 9 pounds, 4 oz. It's a pity that they live on the sunshine coast, otherwise I'd go and visit. Kaelan has now been replaced as the youngest member of the family :D
juzzy
10-08-2007, 04:54 PM
Hels good news about Melb IVF! How exciting!!
Penny Cassidy is better, a little more clingy than normal but no temp or anything like that. As for DP and I, well we are speaking again LOL, thats a start i guess. We will be fine he just has so much work on his plate at the moment and cant seem to prioritise.
LOL poor K. Its not necessarily that he is becoming a mummies boy, he mite just be sensitive like R. Cassidy is starting to crack it when i hand her to DP. DP doesnt find it funny but i do LOL
Put Cassidy down at 3.30ish for her nap.... she woke up at 5pm and wont go back to sleep now. Very odd for her, dont normally hear from her until about 7pm or so. I gave up trying to put her back to sleep and she is now on the playmat shaking the cr@p out of a toy with a bell in it.
I was planning to go to bed for a bit when she woke up cause my head is killing me and i feel a bit queasy, but no such luck i guess.
Hels*Bels
10-08-2007, 05:13 PM
LOL poor K. Its not necessarily that he is becoming a mummies boy, he mite just be sensitive like R. Cassidy is starting to crack it when i hand her to DP. DP doesnt find it funny but i do LOL
Surprisingly R is alot better these days! In the last few weeks he hasn't cried when strangers approach him (including a really ugly looking woman in the post office, I think even I would have cried :laughing: )
And he was really relaxed at the last meet and even played on the mats with the other bubs. So I'm hoping he is growing out of it :fingerscrossed:
Hope your headache feels better soon, I know how awful they can be.
Penny - Definitely sounds like K is teething, his behaviour is similar to how R was a few weeks ago (except no teeth here yet).
Jo - I hope you have a better weekend :hugs: I have no advice on how to settle Liam, (thankfully I have a good sleeper). R still gets unsettled in the evenings, but I hand him to DH lol.
my_lot
10-08-2007, 05:54 PM
jo- how about
a naked tummy rub?
sit nakey in kitchen sink with tap running?
i try these when im at my end with eli. the tap running is a winner. dont know why but he just loves it. he tries to grab the water and even eat it. i find its about distracting him from his screaming if nothing else is working.
im drying water bottles atm to make some fun shakers for eli. tomorrow we will colour pasta with food colouring and let dry. will fill some with water and food colouring and glitter or sequins. maybe some rice and another with coloured wool.
any other ideas??
Cats&Kid
10-08-2007, 06:19 PM
JoJoMart: :hugs: hope he settles soon and you get a rest. Sorry I can't help - have no fresh ideas.
My_lot: how's about tinsal or torn up colourful wrapping paper, marbles or 100&1000 in the bottles?
Re 6mth vax. Matthew just had a temp and was unsettled with the first and second and has been the same for the 6th month but 10x worse and very clingy. He didn't seem himself on Wednesday morning and I've ended up with the flu so I'm not sure if he didn't already have something underlying that I'm blaming on his injections.
Just a question: I gave him potato for the first time this afternoon about 2pm and then put him asleep for awhile and he's woken up with a red corner of one eye that hasn't seemed to fade with being awake - does anyone think it could be an allergic reaction or is it more likely he's just poked himself in the eye?
LMenz
10-08-2007, 07:34 PM
Injections - Jack had a bad reaction to his 4 month needles...not long after he got sick with bronch and has been ever since. I think it's a matter of your damned if you do and damned if you don't. He's due for his 6 month ones next week but we will have to hold off for a bit I think
Hels - Fantastic news! Congrats! :D Maybe you will be the first fab feb mum to become a mum again!!
US - We had a shocker of a night again - Jack was screaming every 2 hours. I was counting the minutes until I could give him another dose of panadol.
Then this morning when I got him up after his first nap I noticed he had all this gunky, oozing stuff coming from his sore ear. I asked here on bubhub and a few people thought his ear drum may have burst :eek: So naturally I freaked and called the doctor so we are off there again in the morning.....Does anyone know what it could be??
Tan - Your kids have ear trouble - have you seen anything like it?
He's been asleep since 7 and we haven't heard a peep so hopefully we will get a good stretch tonight
I'm heading off to bed. Hopefully this will be me :sleeping: for at least 6 hours
my_lot
10-08-2007, 07:44 PM
lauren- dont stress too much. the ear drum is paper thin and can repair itself very well.
weve had 5 ruptures in the same ear here with dd2 this was before she had the grommets put in at 21 months.
make sure you take his blue book tomorrow and for every other ear problem so they can keep count. if you ever do go down the road of ENT you will need this info.
ive woken to see gunk and gunk and blood and just blood on dds pillow and even nothing at all just her ear bright red and it was still a rupture. on the other hand it may just be the infection. ds has an acute middle ear infection right now and hes telling me his ears feel blocked up. i cant see down one as it looks like wax the other is clear. they go from being bright red to normal.
cats&kids thanks i didnt think of that. on the potato ? i dont know thats one food my others had no problems with. ask penny?
LMenz
10-08-2007, 07:45 PM
Penny - I just saw your reply in my ear infection thread...Thank You :D
Thanks Kay.....Gosh I'm such a worry wort! First thing I thought of was OMG what if he's deaf from it
I feel so sorry for him
Roopee
10-08-2007, 07:59 PM
Exactly what Kay said Lauren!
Is he pulling at his ear or whinging more than usual? If he doesn't seem to be in great pain then i would be too worried. By all means get it checked at the Dr's but dont freak out if that makes sense!!:hugs:
icugal
10-08-2007, 10:47 PM
OMG Lauren - Looking at your Av... Jack looks so much like you now !!!!! It's almost freaky.
Hope we'll be able to catch up with you and Jack at the next meet-up.
Cats&Kid
11-08-2007, 12:57 AM
Hels: Great news! Good luck & plenty of :babydust2: being sent your way. LOL didn't know it was your nephews wedding :o show's you how long I've been MIA.
Penny: I can see you're still up too. Do you know of any allergies with potato? I think it's one of the nightshade family along with strawberries, capsicum & I think tomatos, but I don't know if this has any baring. His eye doesn't look swollen, (both eyes look a bit puffy - just that overtired look) it's just very red in the corner, and is too big for a scratch and he had nothing with him to hurt himself with. It must be annoying him as he managed to poke himself in the eye while I was trying to put him to sleep, which caused him to cry in pain.
Lmenz: hope Jack and you managed to get some sleep.
Hope everyone is having a good night, take care all xx
my_lot
11-08-2007, 12:36 PM
OMG heather where are you!!! i see a PREGNANCY test in your AV.
ae you???
PM me pleasssssee i wanna know!!!
LMenz
11-08-2007, 12:57 PM
Thanks Tanya for your reply too...
Jack's in much better spirits today. Last night he only woke at 10.30, 3 and then 6 so pretty good compared to the 8 times the two nights before. DH even gave me a sleep in this morning :yelclap: His ear drum has ruptured so he's now on antibiotic drops to clear it up. I was talking to my mum today and apparently I had lots of ear infections when I was a bub too. Looks like Jack is really taking after me....
Anyway I'm off to do some gardening before it rains :rain:
LMenz
11-08-2007, 12:59 PM
OMG Lauren - Looking at your Av... Jack looks so much like you now !!!!! It's almost freaky.
Hope we'll be able to catch up with you and Jack at the next meet-up.
I've had loads of comments lately about that! He's pretty cute isn't he? :laughing: :laughing:
I really hope to make it on Thursday......He should be over the worst of it by then
harleyq
11-08-2007, 01:36 PM
Penny - I am with you, disposables all the way.... l love the idea of doing something for the environment by going MCN's but with the drought... not sure how much better off it is... and frankly l just don't have the time to do all that washing -- its the hanging it out, folding etc. that puts me off - not to mention finding space for it indoors with our Wintry Melbourne weather!!!
Jo - how is Liam now? Coen gets a bit like that too when he is overtired- at which point, like Lauren, l will try virtually anything to get him to sleep - in my case, my last resort is breastfeeding him to sleep - although car would work as well (but l struggle to just jump in the car and drive when l have nowhere to go!!!)
Hels - Congratulations - that is fantastic news!!!
Lauren - Poor Jack!!! I really feel for you - DH said to pass on his good wishes to...you really have had rotten luck with Jack's health... but on the plus side - he is such a gorgeous bubba!!!
All is well on our side - Coen has now graduated to two meals a day - and he scoffs both down.. there is no way l would have made it to waiting until 6 months for solids!!!
SuperFrog
11-08-2007, 01:52 PM
Yesterday Liam had baby porridge with pears for breakfast, for lunch a little bit of baby food from a jar (which he didn't seem to like) followed by a whole mashed up banana, some baby yoghurt for afternoon tea, and for dinner a bowl of veggies followed by another whole mashed up banana. He's going to eat me out of my house!
For two nights straight I have put Liam in his cot and he has settled himself to sleep. And, DH put him in his cot for a nap before and he settled himself. Woo hoo! :smiliedance:
juzzy
11-08-2007, 02:37 PM
in regards to MCNs and washing. Yeah i have only been doing it for a few days but so far have found that it doesnt really add to the amount of washing i have to do. I have so far just been chucking them in with the towels. I usually wash at least one load every day (when im not lazy and leave it like i did this week). We only have a 5.5 kg machine so we fill that up pretty quick and a few nappies doesnt make that much difference.
The inserts can be dried in the dryer on a low setting if they are unable to be hung outside in the sun. And as for the folding, not that i have had to do much of it, i just do it when all the other clothes are dry and im folding those clothes. Then the nappies are ready for whenever i need them.
I guess it really isnt for everybody but i dont think it has added to my washing or anything like that. And as for water comsumption. More water is used to make on 'sposie that it takes to wash an MCN. I dont wanna get into an argument about what is more environmentally friendly and what not so ill stop there.
Anyway, each to their own.
Cassidy was very fussy last night and again today. Not sure what the problem is but i feel a bit like this :hair: as nothing seems to be making her happy. Just put her down for a nap after lots of tears on her part. Hopefully she stays there for a few hours as i think she needs the sleep.
LMenz
11-08-2007, 03:32 PM
Yesterday Liam had baby porridge with pears for breakfast, for lunch a little bit of baby food from a jar (which he didn't seem to like) followed by a whole mashed up banana, some baby yoghurt for afternoon tea, and for dinner a bowl of veggies followed by another whole mashed up banana. He's going to eat me out of my house!
Looks like Liam will be in the running for the biggest fatty :D
I LOVE the look of MCN..I think Jack would look so cute in them but I'm just far too lazy. I forget to do the washing now so imagine if I forgot to wash his nappies :o
icugal
11-08-2007, 03:34 PM
Penny: I can see you're still up too. Do you know of any allergies with potato? I think it's one of the nightshade family along with strawberries, capsicum & I think tomatos, but I don't know if this has any baring. His eye doesn't look swollen, (both eyes look a bit puffy - just that overtired look) it's just very red in the corner, and is too big for a scratch and he had nothing with him to hurt himself with. It must be annoying him as he managed to poke himself in the eye while I was trying to put him to sleep, which caused him to cry in pain.
The first time I gave Kaelan potato... all seemed fine but then I put him down for a nap and when he woke up he was suddenly sick with flu-like symptoms. It happened again the next day too... however as it turns out, I also came down with a cold at the same time... so I'm fairly sure now that it was just a cold. I've only given him potato a couple of times since.. and I think everything is ok. He hasn't had the runny nose etc... but he has had a bit of a reddened face. It's so hard to judge though because I'm thinking his excema type symptoms are more from chlorine (from his weekly swimming sessions) in combination with the ducted heating in the house (plus he has a bit of a dribble rash at the moment too).
Poor kid looks like a mess at the moment :)
my_lot
11-08-2007, 04:13 PM
in regards to MCNs and washing. Yeah i have only been doing it for a few days but so far have found that it doesnt really add to the amount of washing i have to do. I have so far just been chucking them in with the towels. I usually wash at least one load every day (when im not lazy and leave it like i did this week). We only have a 5.5 kg machine so we fill that up pretty quick and a few nappies doesnt make that much difference.
The inserts can be dried in the dryer on a low setting if they are unable to be hung outside in the sun. And as for the folding, not that i have had to do much of it, i just do it when all the other clothes are dry and im folding those clothes. Then the nappies are ready for whenever i need them.
I guess it really isnt for everybody but i dont think it has added to my washing or anything like that. And as for water comsumption. More water is used to make on 'sposie that it takes to wash an MCN. I dont wanna get into an argument about what is more environmentally friendly and what not so ill stop there.
oooh you have been converted, the mcn cult has really brainwashed you :laughing:
but yes you are right in everything youve said.
but people who dont want to use them will say things like they use more water and are hard work more washing and cr@p like that.. really if they dont want to who cares?
i dont go around saying "it saves water to use mcn" or "its better for our world" but probably because thats not my main reason for using them. i like them. i like having material against my sons butt. i like seeing them on the line. i like the way they work. i like the resale value. i like that i dont have to spend $30 every other shopping trip to throw it out with the trash.
i dont give a toss if people want to use sposies, they are fantastic for all their own reasons and suit many/most peoples lifestyles.
i dont use a dryer at all so when its wet i hot wash the nappies and use an airing rack in the bathroom for the inserts and still hang the naps outside under cover. i do have a lot of mcn tho. when i first started out i used more sposies than mcn now i have enough to go full time (and maybe for two kids!!) but i like using sposies at night and i still buy them for the cars, prams, nappy bags, sleeps ect just that a box of huggies will last me for ages and ages. i hate buying sposies now i must say. i look at them and think thats such a waste of money and i really should just go full time with mcn but ahh we have the best of both worlds and its working so ill stick to it.
i cant wait for summer. the other day Eli shat from head to toe and i was out on "a quick trip" so once again stupid me left the nappy bag in the car. well i was no where near the car so i raced into best and less to buy a change of clothes. i stood there thinking my boy has so many clothes for winter and its been so warm so i decided to get him some shorts and two summer Ts (as we have so many singlets too) so i put these on him after his clean up and OMG he looked so funny in shorts. his little chunky legs on show for the first time. he looked "all growd up" in his summer top and shorty shorts. it was cute. i cant wait til summer and he can use all those fancy printed mcns with just Ts. fat clothie bum crawling around.
juzzy
11-08-2007, 04:24 PM
oooh you have been converted, the mcn cult has really brainwashed you :laughing:
but yes you are right in everything youve said.
I dont know about brain washed, i just do too much reading and research when i want to know the ins and outs of something! LOL
I think sposies are great and dont have a problem using them, hell up until 3 days ago i was a full time sposie user! And to top it all off i bought a 90 bag of babyloves today cause they were $25 and im still using them at night.
Im not going to dribble the environmental **** to everyone as i think everyone still has the right to a choice LOL
I just feel more edumacated (:p ) in my choice now that i have done some research and know what im talking about.
icugal
11-08-2007, 05:34 PM
So, nice weather today huh??? :laughing: :p
LMenz
11-08-2007, 05:45 PM
Do you know of any allergies with potato? I think it's one of the nightshade family along with strawberries, capsicum & I think tomatos, but I don't know if this has any baring.
I think Lily (Ziggy29) had a reaction to potato. Am I right?
US - We got most of the garden tidied up...Jack slept for 1.5 hour which gave us a bit more time. After he woke up he sat in the high chair on the front porch and watched DH mow the grass. He loves watching our little dog Henry run around...he's completely facinated by the pets atm...He cacked himself laughing when Henry barked at someone walking down the street...DH and I were in stitches..he's got a funny sense of humor!
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.