View Full Version : Fab Feb Mummas (August Thread)
Lauren - this might make you feel better......Liam only had two naps today and both were 30 minutes so by 6pm he was really cranky......or shall I say ****ed off big time! He cracked it after his bath when I was changing him into his night clothes.......started screaming....then I fed him and he fell asleep on the bottle towards the end of the feed. What a handful Liam can be in the evenings!
Thanks Jo....Jack's a real handful too in the evenings. Little monkey's aren't they? I hope he was good for you last night
Seriously though, you are partly living my life I think... we have flooring the same as that.
How bizzare :laughing:
Penny - I can see the similarities, definately in the nose.
Sharon - Thanks for the update on Nina! Give her my best wishes for her wedding :)
US - Jack's first sleep today was for just over an hour...YAY! Hopefully that means we will have a good day. My DH is in Sydney today and Jack is having his 6 month needles so I hope so
It's another gorgeous day in Melbourne...maybe a trip to the park is in order
JoJoMart
22-08-2007, 11:31
Well something bizzare just happened.......I managed to put Liam to sleep with no real crying or grissling........this NEVER happens, I normally have to settle him for at least 15 minutes. He must be tired. I hope he sleeps a loooooong time :fingerscrossed:
Mandi - where are you on holidays??
Lauren - that's great that Jack slept for over an hour. It makes the day so much better doesn't it.
I've got mothers group this avo......it's beautiful weather today in Melbourne. I should put a wash on but will watch some t.v. and veg for a bit first.
I'm cooking a chicken casserole tonight........I'm a bit bored with my usual recipes so hope it's nice.
Have a great day everyone :)
mumslilspunks
22-08-2007, 12:44
Hello lovely ladies!
Just a few personals firstly;
Lauren- Love the tounge photo. How did the needles go? Billy still hasnt had his 6 mnth needles yet.
Joanne- Heres hoping Liam will settle himsef from now on! I know what its like having to settle one to sleep.:banghead:
Penny- Hows the cream working? Poor little man, does it seem to worry him?
Sharon- I too was told to stay off the alcohol, Its unfair isnt it LOL I still have the occasional beer though.:D
Kay- Hows all the wedding plans going? Have you got your dress organised?
Hannah- Happy birthday for the other day!
US- Well both boys are finally asleep at the same time so this is why im posting.
Billy is on solids now, little bugger wont eat anything i cook. He loves avocado and fuit and also jelly and vegemite toast! I dont know if any of you have seen this thingy:
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j262/mumslilspunk/Billy6mnth024.jpg
Its Called a 'munchkin', I put vegemite toast, grapes, watermelon and other stuff in it and Billy just chews on it and gets all the flavour but no lumps!! Its a bit like a dummy with a mesh bag so the food cant get through. He LOVES it.
He still wakes for 2 feeds a night and its normally around 1ish and 5 ish. Our days start from about 6am.
He's starting to settle himself a bit more and he normally sleeps for about 2/3 hours during the day.
Anyway thats enough about us.
Hello to everyone elese i didnt do personals too. Hope you are all having a great day!!
mumslilspunks
22-08-2007, 12:58
Sorry for the double post just thought id show a couple of photos of Billy.
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j262/mumslilspunk/Snow035.jpg
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j262/mumslilspunk/Nans80th027.jpg
Awww Ren, Billy is such a cutie :D
Jack is refusing his afternoon sleep again...I have to go to the GP soon for his needles so it's probably not worth persisting. It's driving me bonkers :hair: He went down really easily for the first two but from now on he just won't sleep
He's going to be feral after his needles....wish me luck!
mumslilspunks
22-08-2007, 13:28
:babydust2: Aw good luck:babydust2:
Just a quickie...
Firstly Ren... nice to see you back again.. the photos of Billy are so cute !! I've got one of those food meshy things but I haven't used it because I wasn't sure what to put in it. I was planning on trying K with some banana this week (have been a little reluctant because I actually became severely allergic to bananas while I was pregnant with him)... but given the problems he's having with his skin and the fact that it may be allergy related, I'm not sure if I should try now.
Why can't starting solids be easy??
Speaking of Kaelan's skin, it is looking a lot better today. I'm pretty sure that he doesn't react to Farex, pumpkin or apples... so I'm going to keep him on that for a few days and then gradually trial other foods again. I'm really hoping to get to the bottom of this allergy thing.
Well, I'm a little pi$$ed off... I've been down at Northland today and have just found out that Baby Target is closing for good on the 1st September... I'm devastated !!! I love that store. They have a much better range of baby stuff than the normal Target stores. Thankfully there will still be a Toys R Us there, because that is my other favourite place to buy baby stuff... there'd be no reason to go back to Northland otherwise.
Lauren - Hope Jack went ok with his needles today.
JoJoMart
22-08-2007, 16:16
Ren - Great to see you on the thread again. Love the photos of Billy. Where did you buy the Munchkin from?
Lauren - :fingerscrossed: with Jack's needles and better sleep habits. Liam is asleep now for 40 minutes but his other sleeps today were short, the little bugger. I have a headache because of his crankiness!
Penny - Southland Target has a large baby area, but that's too far for you to travel unless you're down this way.
Better go.....need to start dinner I guess.
*Sparkles*
22-08-2007, 16:40
Nice to hear from you again Ren. I saw one of those munchies in Big W so I think I will get one now that R is a bit more interested in food.
Penny - Glad to hear K's skin is getting better. Reece loves bananas and I have bought him some jars of baby custard so I mix the banana in with it. He also likes yogurt so I mix fruit into that too. He will eat a whole pot in 1 go now.
Today he got up at midday as usual and then DH came home early as he's not feeling well. DH had a bath so R went in with him and he really seems to like floating in the water. Then the 2 of them went to bed at 3.30pm and I haven't heard a peep from them since :rolleyes:
When R wakes up I'll give him some dinner.
Not much else is happening here, I have been working all arvo and then drove down to the post box. I was going to take a walk there with R in the pusher but he slept through it.
Hels...I'm so jealous :p Reece is such a good sleeper!
Needles went ok..he cried on the second one for a bit.
I picked DH up from the airport this arvo so he had 20 minutes sleep in the car....DH and Jack are playing on the mat now then it's bath time and bed
mumslilspunks
22-08-2007, 18:01
I brought the munchkin from Big W! As i said i put vegemite toast, grapes, watermelon, rock melon and when hes grumpy coz of his teeth i stick it in the freezer with the grapes/ watermelon in it so it gets nice and cold and he loves it! it must soothe his gums.
my munchi thingy is in the trash.
the snap shut part melted in the steriliser.
tan ive finished codys 'secret' taggie blankie. do you want a look, ill post a pic? or wait til you get it??
No- keep it a secret!! I wanna surprise!!:yes: I cant believe you did that! Thanks so much!
Ren- its so good to see you back in here! I miss your posts about your little men!! Make sure you pop in a bit more hun!:hugs:
I have had a great day- but then, my bubs is pretty good, so not often i have a bad day- BUT tomorrow and the next day are going to be extremely busy so im pretty sure i will have 4 feral kids come friday afternoon:rolleyes:. Oh what fun!
What i would give for just one day where i dont have to set the alarm at 6 and go anywhere. Oh, to lie in bed for hrs with a book! Ok im dreaming now!!
Purplebird
22-08-2007, 20:17
Just a qq - is it OK for Eloise to sleep on her side? It's probably a really dumb question! She has started 'crawling' around the cot and settled herself like that. She's in a sleeping bag.
Ren - Billy is very cute!
Kay - is Eli munching banana in that new pic? Whatever it is he looks like he's loving it, gorgeous.
Hannah- i would say its fine! Cody has been doing this since birth- we prop her on her side- she sleeps better this way.
Eloise will be fine- she's old enough to beb able to lift her head etc-:hugs::yes:
Purplebird
22-08-2007, 21:05
Thanks Tanya! You've put my mind at rest, I might start propping her that way
BTW - DH is very interested to know what parts he needs from Bunnings for the squirty thing!!! I know you're super busy, so whenever you have time :D :hugs:
oh TAN you want a surprise huh??
i hate surprises :laughing:
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/000_0548.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/000_0545.jpg
ill leave the rest a surprise....
oh TAN you want a surprise huh??
i hate surprises :laughing:
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/000_0548.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/000_0545.jpg
ill leave the rest a surprise....
WOW! That looks great! Oooh i cant wait to see it!!!
Your a champ!!!:smiliedance:
eli eating-
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/elieatin.jpg
eli choking-
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/000_0531.jpg
at least he didnt give up this time, he put it in again right after the choke...and gave it a little lick and suck and spat out a chunky bit. i think we are a long way off mash but so much better that when we first tried.
SuperFrog
22-08-2007, 23:10
Got Liam weighed again today and he is putting on weight at a great pace now! He's now 7.16 kg, which is a great improvement.
After no luck with bottles or sippy cups I decided to try Liam with a straw today... and it worked! Liam looked so surprised when he got a mouthful of water... don't think he was expecting it at all. He took a few mouthfuls, so we'll try again tomorrow and see what happens.
Woah, I just looked at the clock. Way past my bedtime. Will have to catch up again tomorrow. Night all!
*Sparkles*
23-08-2007, 07:04
Great photos everyone. Kay what is it you made for Tan? Looks really nice.
R has woken up early today but he's happy playing in his cot for the minute. Last night he didn't want to go to bed, I think he wanted to stay up with us. We got him back up for half an hour for cuddles and then put him back and he settled the second time after about 10 mins of crying on and off.
That's great about Liam's weight gain Mon and also the straw. I haven't tried one yet. Are you planning to give Liam formula this way?
Better go and feed his majesty, will catch up later.
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 08:15
That's great about Liam's weight gain Mon and also the straw. I haven't tried one yet. Are you planning to give Liam formula this way?
Not sure yet. Will have to see how he goes, and if he can reliably drink that way.
Off to my mother's group for lunch today. There's only a few of us still going now, but that's okay.
Ren - great photos!!! Does Billy feed himself?
Go Eli!!!! he seems to be enjoying feeding himself.... l gotta try that with Coen sometime soon...
Mon - that is great news about Liam's weight gain - l bet it puts your mind at ease... so what percentile is he in now?
Coen's day time sleeps have turned into a nightmare again... was it me who was wanting Coen to roll over??? silly girl l was.... now when l put him to bed all he wants to do is roll over... putting him in the sleeping bag does help a bit (thanks Jo), as it stops his legs from hanging out the cot, but it doesn't stop the rolling... well he has just woken up now.... it took me 20 minutes to get him down for a 40 minute sleep, l guess that is better than the 90 minutes two days ago (mind you that day he did sleep for 2 hours)... have a good day today gals, l'm off shopping!!!
Sarieslittlemen
23-08-2007, 09:10
Hi everyone!:wave:
You probably don't remember me, I haven't spoken to you guys in so long. When I was here last I was 'Sarie' (had computer issues and reregistered to try and fix them!) I was pregnant when we moved to WA in December and our 3rd little man Cooper was born in Karratha on Feb 24. We have since moved back to the east coast and it has taken us a few months to get our computer back but it's finally here!
I hope all your bubs are getting along well!
Looking forward to getting to know all of you again!
Sarie:D
You probably don't remember me, I haven't spoken to you guys in so long. When I was here last I was 'Sarie' (had computer issues and reregistered to try and fix them!) I was pregnant when we moved to WA in December and our 3rd little man Cooper was born in Karratha on Feb 24. We have since moved back to the east coast and it has taken us a few months to get our computer back but it's finally here!
I hope all your bubs are getting along well!
Looking forward to getting to know all of you again!
Sarie:D
I remember you! My DS1's name is Cooper!!! Nice taste you have there:yes:
Hope the family is going great!!!
Welcome back!
Hels- Kay secretly made me (well Cody actually) a "taggie Blankie"! How cool is THAT!
sarie- i remember!! you drove there 30 odd weeks preg with 1 (2?) little ones in the car too! i remember thinking oh F&*K poor bugger!!
welcome back to our thread. we have live chat on tue and thur nights if you want to join us. go into main and wait for someone to invite you and give the password. from about 8-8:30pm
hels- its a playmat. 9 squares. the mouse cushion in the pic is part of the match game. there are four squares each with different things inside and they velcro to the mat on their matching animal. the cat (in the pic) is just cos'. its a smaller one of a cat square from elis cat mat. his mat has 25 large squares and all to do with cats, i did codys on all dif animals. actually i was starting to make it for her b'day but because of all the tags, crinkles and "doing" things i thought shed get the use out of it now...
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 10:36
Mon - that is great news about Liam's weight gain - l bet it puts your mind at ease... so what percentile is he in now?
He is below the 10th percentile, but at least he is in the coloured section now. I'm not worried at all. He eats like a piggy.
Hi there... welcome back! We probably missed each other the first time around. My name is Mon and my son Liam was born 25 Jan. Hope to see you around more.
hels- its a playmat. 9 squares. the mouse cushion in the pic is part of the match game. there are four squares each with different things inside and they velcro to the mat on their matching animal. the cat (in the pic) is just cos'. its a smaller one of a cat square from elis cat mat. his mat has 25 large squares and all to do with cats, i did codys on all dif animals. actually i was starting to make it for her b'day but because of all the tags, crinkles and "doing" things i thought shed get the use out of it now...
I had planned to make something similar (Kay, you inspired me) but I can't find enough time. How do you do it??? I think I know the answer already... more sewing, less Bub Hub. :D
Sarieslittlemen
23-08-2007, 13:08
Thanks guys! I don't know if I will get on tonight, we're going late night shopping for the first time since I started working nights. And I'm only on dial up at the moment... it's dead slow, I'm hoping our broadband will be up and running early next week!
Yep we had two little ones in the car 20 months and 3 years at the time. They were brilliant considering the trip was a hard one (we had 6 tyres go on us all up, oh and we lost the aircon in NT. Got stuck in the middle of NT out of phone range with two blown tyres and hubby went off with a stranger to get them fixed - oh and a bush fire coming towards us on the other side of the road. The most frightening 3 hours of my life!!) Even though we were only gone 5 months all up (6 months short of what we expected to be) it was an experience we won't forget.
We drove back also, via the southern route. So the kids have been right across the country. Now we just have to go back and visit Victoria and Tasmania - plus all the places we saw along the way that we didn't have time to stop at.
Cooper was only 8 weeks old when we headed back, he was brilliant! So were the older two. I'm really proud of them.
mumslilspunks
23-08-2007, 14:04
Wow look out ladies, two days in a row posting. :laughing:
How is everyone today? I just got back from a play date with ds1 and both boys are sleeping in the car. (the car is in the driveway behind gates)Would want you to think im a bad mum......:rolleyes:
Sandy- Billy tries to feed himself but would rather chew on the spoon .How was shopping? Did you get yourself any treats?
Sarie- Hello and welcome back :yelclap:
I have two boys Jack 2 and a bit and Billy 6 mnths. Its a nightmare driving the 3hrs to melb with them god only knows how you did it with three!!!!Look forward in chatting with you.
Kay- Your pretty clever. How do you find time to do that kind of stuff with your tribe?
Tanya- Ill try and become a regular again..... Lie in whats that? I would love to get more than 6 unbroken hours sleep!!!!LOL
Well ill try and make it tonight to live chat but hubby had to go to canberra today and is heading home tonight so not sure what time he'll be back but ill try.
Hope you are all having a good day and that your bubs is being a perfect angel!!:babydust2:
*Sparkles*
23-08-2007, 15:02
Sarie - Welcome back :wave: I'm not sure if we have chatted before? I'm Hels and my bub Reece was born on 26/1/07. I started off in the due in january section but came in here as I thought I might go overdue. Well, now they can't get rid of me :laughing:
Kay - I can't wait to see the finished product, what a lovely gift idea. I wish I had the time and imagination to make something like that. I am up to my ears in nappy inserts ATM. Today R is trialling a demo one for me in his GK's. If he doesn't leak then I will mass produce it. I have to say, it was really nice to see my little man with a cloth bum again :)
Juzzy - Where are you? haven't seen you around for a while and we missed you in chat on tuesday. Is everything ok?
My online store is now set up but I can't start building it as I'm waiting for my domain name to be registered, which can take up to 2 days. So frustrating as I have some time today to play around with it :banghead:
Oh well, hi ho hi ho it's back to the sewing machine I go!
J
Well, I'm a little pi$$ed off... I've been down at Northland today and have just found out that Baby Target is closing for good on the 1st September... I'm devastated !!! I love that store. They have a much better range of baby stuff than the normal Target stores. Thankfully there will still be a Toys R Us there, because that is my other favourite place to buy baby stuff... there'd be no reason to go back to Northland otherwise. Yeah l heard about that last time l was at Northland as well -- Toys R US rocks!!!
Just a qq - is it OK for Eloise to sleep on her side? Coen does this now also... its not a problem if he gets there himself -- same with sleeping on their tummy (if they can roll off it - which incidentally Coen cannot yet)
Hi everyone!:wave: I remember your big trip -- it stuck in my mind cos l was blown away by your courage!!! Glad to hear you survived.... and with great stories to laugh over (which l am sure were sooooooooooo NOT funny at the time) Welcome back! You will always be the gal that travelled the breadth of the country 30+ weeks pregnant in my mind - so not easily forgettable!!!
How was shopping? Did you get yourself any treats?
Shopping was great fun - we checked out a shopping centre that we'd never been too... nothing for me (although l am desperately in need of some new clothes)... but I got my fav. golden book for Coen (Poky little puppy) -- I am sure my mum knew it off by heart when l was a kid.... and he also got one of those sucky things that you were talking about recently... I think it sounds like a great idea...
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 16:36
I usually keep my avocados at room temp, but for some reason I just found two in my fridge that I bought at least a week ago. Thing is, they don't seem to be ripe still... they are both rock solid.
Reckon they'll ripen, or have I missed the boat completely and they have transformed into some inedible matter already? I don't want to cut them if they'll be ripe in a day or two if I leave them out.
*Sparkles*
23-08-2007, 16:47
I usually keep my avocados at room temp, but for some reason I just found two in my fridge that I bought at least a week ago. Thing is, they don't seem to be ripe still... they are both rock solid.
Reckon they'll ripen, or have I missed the boat completely and they have transformed into some inedible matter already? I don't want to cut them if they'll be ripe in a day or two if I leave them out.
I always buy 4 packs of avos and keep them in the fridge. When I want one, I'll sit it on the window sill to ripen for a couple of days. In the fridge they will last up to 2 weeks (or maybe longer) and are fine to eat still.
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 18:25
I always buy 4 packs of avos and keep them in the fridge. When I want one, I'll sit it on the window sill to ripen for a couple of days. In the fridge they will last up to 2 weeks (or maybe longer) and are fine to eat still.
Excellent! So I should plan my guacamole for Saturday night then?? :D
Hi Gals,
I had a small success today with Jack's sleeps...seems I was trying to put him down when he wasn't tired enough :o I will get this mothering thing right one day.....Will keep him up a bit longer tomorrow and see if I have the same result.
Mon - Great news with Liam's weight gain :thumbsup:
Hi Sarie :wave: Welcome Back
Hope to make it to chat tonight....what's the new password??
Here is one of my first attempts at youtube.
if you havent tried this next type of fantastic toy with your bub yet i suggest you try it. shame about the expense -oh well they are worth it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDN7KVeWQMk
Hi Guys
sorry i have been MIA, i needed to retreat into Juzz-land and sort a few things out. Took some Juzz-time and all is well (for the moment, at least)
Cassidy is well apart from a REALLLLLLLYY bad case of nappy rash that has meant that she has open sores on her bum, spent the day at the Doctor yesterday as a result. Cassidy was crying every time she did a wee, very sad to watch (and listen to for that matter). These open wound things literally appeared over night.
Doctor said that her wee has pretty much burnt her skin due to the acidic nature of urine. It can be caused by the introduction of solids and can be a result of teething as well. Poor bubba.
So Cassidy has pretty much spent the last two days with no nappy and her bum coated in either paw paw cream or cortisone cream to help the healing. She seems to like having no nappy and spends the whole time talking to herself happily.
Other than that, not much else happening here.
I have increased my supply of MCNs which has been fun (not so for the finances, but fun for me at least!).
Not much else to say really, i hope everyone is well and there isnt too much trouble with the bubbas!
Here a couple of pics for good measure!
Cassi in the car seat (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000817.jpg)
Geez life is tough (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000819.jpg)
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 21:34
Cassidy is well apart from a REALLLLLLLYY bad case of nappy rash...
You might not want to hear this, but have you considered the possibility of the nappy rash being related to the swap to cloth nappies? From what I understand they don't lock the moisture away like the disposables do so her bum might be having more contact with the acidic urine. Just a thought.
Love the pic of Cassi in the car seat... she and Big Bird have matching socks!
Sarie - I definately know your name... but I've been racking my brain all day trying to remember your story... we'll blame it on pregnancy hormones from at that time. Welcome back anyways !!
Sharon - loving the new Avatar and the YouTube videos.... Lily is gorgeous !!
Juz - Poor Cassidy !! Hope her nappy rash improves soon... it almost sounds comparable to what Kaelan has had on his cheeks (face cheeks, not butt cheeks *LOL*). I know that if K had nappy rash, he'd love nothing more than to spend a couple of days with no nappy on... he loves being naked. He's my little nudey rudey :D
Well not a whole lot to report on my end. The only thing of note is that one my best friends told me today that she is 12 weeks pregnant, due on the 7th March. This is such good news because she had a miscarriage a couple of weeks before Kaelan was born (which made my time of joy, a time of great sadness for her). She had her NT scan today and everything looks great. I'm so happy for her !!
I have uploaded a video of Kaelan to YouTube that I have entitled "The Wonderment of Spoons" (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-cpZO6n7wc). Hopefully you'll be able to see why :D
You might not want to hear this, but have you considered the possibility of the nappy rash being related to the swap to cloth nappies? From what I understand they don't lock the moisture away like the disposables do so her bum might be having more contact with the acidic urine. Just a thought.
Love the pic of Cassi in the car seat... she and Big Bird have matching socks!
Yes i had thought of that and i did ask the doctor that as well. He said that it may be the case and it may not.
The Doc said that it will either be the change to cloth nappies, teething or solids.
If it has something to do with the cloth nappies, i will just have to change them more frequently. I mean thats kinda obvious.
I feel stupid enough having to take her to the doctor for nappy rash so please dont make me feel worse.
SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 22:34
I feel stupid enough having to take her to the doctor for nappy rash so please dont make me feel worse.
Sorry, I wasn't trying to make you feel bad. If Liam had a bad case of nappy rash and I was concerned, I'd be off to the doc too. We are nervous first-time mums... it is our right to over-react if we want! :laughing:
mon, i think if you were using MCN youd understand they are not like 'cloth' nappies. they are used with bamboo or hemp inserts or snap ins.. this draws the wet away from their skin. they are not actually sitting in a wet rag of urine.
juz, id have gone to the Dr too, blistering open skin can lead to infection.. id use a micro fibre towel (insert even) to wash her skin with water after each wee/change. its softer than a face washer and no wet wipes at all til it clears. paw paw is my fav bum cream.
TAN, what have you done for bum rash, you must have had one bad one in your four, i know i did...long ago TG. my friends boy had a rash so bad he ended up with baliantitis (sp) his little f/skin was like a ball, red, weepy and the poor little mite screamed each and everytime he weed. one child on i had a boy and the same thing happened to him when he was about 18 months (BTW no cloth naps then- and he was in sposies and undies) we were very nearly going to get him circd as his f/skin became so tight....all this from "nappy rash".... dont feel bad juz , sh!t happens!
love that car seat pic...
is everyone else still rear facing bubs in the car? i spoke to the childsafe people the other day about this as eli is pulling forward trying to sit up in his seat, she told me my seat is rear facing up to 12kg. i didnt know that. i always thought it was 6 months and/or 8kg ??
I missed chat! I fell asleep on the couch :sleeping:
Jack was a monkey again (for an hour!) during the night...not sure what was up so I fed him and he still took half an hour to settle which is unusual. I'm thinking teeth???
Sharon - Great Av! Lily definately looks like you :)
Juz - Don't feel bad for going to the doctor....you know how often I take Jack. I think the receptionists recognise my voice now :o I hope Cassi's bum feels better soon!
Jack has the X from his alphabet mat stuck on his leg...funny stuff!
*Sparkles*
24-08-2007, 09:10
Reece has got a nappy rash too, although not as bad as Cassi's (poor thing). So I'm trying to keep on top of it. Sometimes it seems to be improving and then other times it looks quite sore. I have noticed though that when he wears a MCN that there is more moisture around that area when I change him. Where as after taking off a sposie he is pretty much bone dry. So I think there is some truth in what Mon said. But then again, Reece is a big wetter so I do need to change him more frequently when he's in cloth.
Juz - Did the Doc recommend any particular cream for Cassi? I have been using sorbolene on R but I wondered if there was something better?
I've been trying to do the snapbook this morning (thanks Penny!) but I can't get my own photos on the pages, it keeps putting them in for me. Any ideas? I wonder if it's the IE settings and I'm not seeing all the options. I tried Firefox but couldn't even get the flash pages to load on that. I will try it on the laptop later to see if that makes any difference. I also tried the help pages and it said to drag and drop the photos, but it won't let me do that over the top of the photo that it already selected grrrrr.
*Sparkles*
24-08-2007, 09:15
is everyone else still rear facing bubs in the car? i spoke to the childsafe people the other day about this as eli is pulling forward trying to sit up in his seat, she told me my seat is rear facing up to 12kg. i didnt know that. i always thought it was 6 months and/or 8kg ??
We turned ours the other day because his feet were touching the back of the seat. My MCHN said any time now is fine, so it's conflicting info as usual :rolleyes: I suppose it also depends on the length of the baby, car seat design and model of car? There's no way we could have left him rear facing for much longer. I am still using a head insert though.
How about everyone else?
I have noticed though that when he wears a MCN that there is more moisture around that area when I change him. Where as after taking off a sposie he is pretty much bone dry. So I think there is some truth in what Mon said.
Juz - Did the Doc recommend any particular cream for Cassi? I have been using sorbolene on R but I wondered if there was something better?
The Doc said to me just to use cortisone cream or paw paw cream and to let her have nappy free time to help clear it up. I have put a few towels down on her playmat and she is lying on those at the moment.
With the MCNs, i have found that Cassidy is always pretty much dry when i change her, same as sposies. So i guess it can be different for everyone.
As for the car seat, going by that photo i posted it is clear that she is still rear facing. I guess she will stay that way for a little while yet.
hels- what head support do you use? we have the one that came with the seat and one that goes around his head, she told me not to use the one that came woth the seat when i do forward face him, its only for the rear facing position.
i wonder why the car seat says 12kg yet ds seat says 8kg. both are safe and sound. what brand seat do you have hels?
friends of ours have a 2 yr old who is too high for his babylove 0-4 seat so we are going to swap them for our spare safe n sound. seems to be a smaller seat all round so will be better for us in the 2 door work car if we ever need it (we just keep the carseats in the boot of the work cars)
juz- we are the same here, eli is as dry in the mcn the same as the sposie. i do change him very often tho. after his sleep, during his awake time and before the next sleep and if i feel hes wet during his awake time then i change it again....so far no rash for him since birth. hes had a few times of looking a little red but nothing more.
i was thinking about how you wash and dry your mcn?
*Sparkles*
24-08-2007, 09:40
Kay - We have got a fisher price car seat, newborn to toddler. I don't use the head insert that came with it as it's way too small now. R has a big head anyway lol. We bought a universal one from Babyco that can go in a pram, or car seat etc. Reece has a habit of leaning to one side (he does it in the pram all the time). So in the carseat he sits up nice and central. It probably doesn't have any other benefits other than that. I can't imagine why they would say not to use it. It's not going to have any bearing one way or another in the event of an accident. So in this instance, mummy is going with what she thinks is best :)
Well hello girls, long time no post.
There is way too much to catch up on so have just had a quick zip through some of the last posts.
Seems our bubs are still raising many questions, well they wouldn't be babies if they didn't.
So hate to generalise but good wishes to those with any aliments, (paw paw for everything in this house). Although Elly hasn't had nappy rash it works wonders on craddle cap.
We have been busy having a major clean out of the shed and house and have chucked so much stuff. Our lives feel slightly less heavy!! We are hoping to find a bigger house in town. So hard to get a decent corporate rent.
Well Elly hits the 6 months on Sunday. She is almost sitting up and blowing raspberries like no tomorrow. Her other trick is to do her morning pooh during her morning sleep..mmm!!
She loves her lunch time fruit and yoghurt but is still a bit hit and miss with her tea. Not sure why? She still suffers from "plastasine pooh" and have treid everything!
Her one great marvel is now she has two good sleeps a day and goes to bed around 7.00 -7.30pm and goes through until around 6.00ish. We swapped to a cot sheet for wrapping and it does the trick. We have had 6 nights straight of not having to get up..ahhh sleep. Strange thing is she will go to bed at night awake and not needing dummy but not during the day.
I'll leave it at that as your probably bored at hearing about us.
Good wishes to everyone and hello to the new ones.
juz- we are the same here, eli is as dry in the mcn the same as the sposie. i do change him very often tho. after his sleep, during his awake time and before the next sleep and if i feel hes wet during his awake time then i change it again....so far no rash for him since birth. hes had a few times of looking a little red but nothing more.
i was thinking about how you wash and dry your mcn?
Thats about how often i change Cassidy if not more on some days. When it happened DPs sister was looking after Cassidy as DP and i went to the movies. She left her in a nappy after she woke up (slept from 330 until 730, she was still in the nappy when we got home at 9, we use sposies for sleep). Thats the longest time, except night time, that she has stayed in a 'sposie. We put her in the bath at 930 that night. Then the next morning she had the open wound things.
Well the MCNs have been going in with a load of towels and then being dried on the airer, except for the last few days when they have been going outside on the line as it has been sunny enough to do so. I use earth choice laundry liquid and i dont use very much of it.
Im checking out this snapfish thing as well.... hmmm thats if Cassidy will let me anyway!
Juz re the nappy rash: lily had a terrible bum rash for the first couple of months (again a problem with acid from her reflux in her poo). in the end i cleared it up with 2 times a day steroid cream, 2 times a day daxtozin (for thrush/fungal componet) and thick barrier (sudocreme) the rest of the time. i changed her nappy 7-8 times a day including in the night. now at the first sign of reddness i give a 2 week course of dactozin. i tried the paw paw cream at first for ages but i personally i didnt have much success with it.
Re car seat. i think the "rules" are to try to keep them rear facing until they are at least 6 months and 8 kg. after that if they can stand it to leave them rear facing as long as you can to protect their little spines in an accident. i had lily facing foward and she loved it but the gp recommended i turn her around (she was only 7.5kg) and leave her there as long as she was happy.
Lily is having quite a happy day today - but not sleeping much. it is still raining here but i did the washing anyway and have hung it out under the deck. probably wont dry till it stops raining.
re: nappy rash. Kaelan only very occasionally gets a reddened bot and that is usually our own fault because we've accidentally left him in the one nappy too long (like when we are out and about). I use Zinc Cream which I have always found to be VERY effective... we use it at work on our patients too... so it's just what I'm used to using. I'm yet to try this paw paw cream and I've heard lots of rave reviews about his effectiveness, so maybe one day I'll get around to buying some.
Speaking of buying stuff... we went and picked up our new Commodore today and it is noice !!!!! It's so shiny and clean (makes me realise just how filthy my poor Astra has become). I thank god that DF has finally got rid of his old-man Magna... it was a good car, but only people over 60 drive that particular type of Magna... and that is *so* not us !!! We went to Macca's for lunch and we were sitting in the restaurant just admiring our car in the car park... "That's OUR car" We're such sad individuals !! *LOL* Now we just have to work out how we're going to pay for it !!
I'll post a piccie of it soon.
Another beautiful day in Melbourne today (we've been so spoilt recently)... might have to try to go for a walk when Kaelan wakes up.
hehehe.. just after posting my message above, I walked into Kaelans room and found this... (Where's the Baby??) (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_11.jpg) :laughing:
I pretty much had to wake him up just to find him under the blankets... thankfully he's gone back to sleep again.
Anyways, I finally managed to get a pic of our car online (the servers of my web-hosts are very slow today). We've basically gone from this - (ugly, old-man Magna) (http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/magna.jpg) to this - (kick-a$$, hoonable Commodore) (http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/commodore.jpg).
As a Holden girl... I'm very pleased that DF has finally come over to the dark side :D
Well Penny, it surely sh*ts all over the Magna.
Just a question, if your bub eats zucchini do you peel it or just feed them the whole thing?
Purplebird
24-08-2007, 13:30
Juzzy - Hope Cassi's nappy rash clears up soon. Don't feel bad - we've had nappy rash on and off here both pre and post MCNs. I use paw paw and sorbolene and have found them both great. Which new MCNs have you got?! I use the Earth Choice laundry too - I love the fact it's so mild.
Sharon - love the new av, Lily is gorgeous. You already know I love the vid too (especially as you and Lily are fans of Sunrise):D
Sarie - hi and welcome back! I'm newish around here so I don't remember you, but look forward to getting to know you.
Hels - I had the same problem with the Snapfish book, but as I'm such an impatient girl and I couldn't be fussed to mess around I just let it put the photos in for me. I'm sure I should have made more of an effort!
Blubber - nice to see you again. I hope that good sleep pattern lasts for you - go Elly!
Penny - congrats on the new purchase. It's OK - I think you're allowed to be excited!
Car seat - ours is a Safe n Sound and Eloise is rear facing still. The bloke who fitted it just said to leave her in it as long as she is comfie (12kg limit). She's quite happy at the moment so we have decided to keep her rear facing until she isn't comfortable basically.
Well, I'm not sure if it was the bottle of formula or the 6 month needles which Eloise had yesterday but we did have quite the best night last night for some time. She woke as usual around 10.30 for a dreamfeed (not so 'dream' like as she actually wakes!) and then didn't wake until 4 am. Amazing for her. I think we'll try the formula again tonight (shame we can't repeat the needles in case it was those). If she keeps this up I may be in danger of feeling human again!
We tried weetbix this morning for the first time and it seemed to go down quite well. I think she is much preferring fruit to veg though (hardly surprising really).
Went to Southland today to pick up my pictures - I got tempted by one of those Tickled Pink photo stalls a couple of weeks ago. - $8.50 for a shoot and a picture. The poses were a little bit tacky I guess - think head band with flowers on it etc., but I like the pictures. Needless to say I didn't stop at the one free photo, lol!
OK, enough of my waffle, Eloise just yawned and I think I may go and have a nap too (it's a hard life)!
Blubber - I've only given K zucchini once and I left the skin on.. in retrospect, I probably should have taken it off because it did not puree well. Once bub moves onto chunkier food, it won't be an issue.
re: carseats. Ours were both rear facing until today. We had take the car seat out of the Magna to put in the new car, so DF put it in front facing simply because it was easier to install that way. I'm not entirely sure if I'm happy with being it front facing though because I would have preferred to wait as long as possible.
The dilemma now is whether I should leave the car seat rear facing in my own car. I don't know if K is going to get confused switching between the two cars with their respective car seats facing different ways. Opinions?? (BTW, both of our car seats can be turned around at 8 kilos and K is now about 8.5 kilos).
K just woke up from his nap and was pretty much hysterical (took me ages to settle him down).. I just had a look in his mouth and there is a tooth sitting in the bottom right position just about to cut through the gum. It is the first time I have seen an actual tooth !! Not long now !!
i found out today what its like to have my back licked, slurped and sucked! never again will i put eli in the ergo, to vacuum the house, only wearing a singlet top !! eeew it was so gross i had to put a shirt on!
penny- we have my seat in rear facing and have used dps forward facing and will do so for any future trips in that car.
the magna is exactly the same car that the old fart next door drives! the mean old b@stard that is taking us to court over a dog that "MIGHT bark in a years time".... new car is very nice. easily fit three little munchkins in car seats in that in a few years time... was it a hint that your baby bearin days are far from over?? :laughing:
the other weekend when we were cleaning out the garage dp decided it would be easier to fill the trailer without my car in the garage too so he asked ds to go upstairs and get my keys...well he must have hit the garage door remote because the door came crashing down..on dps car which was half way backed into the garage with the trailer attatched. by the time we could get around the trailer to the internal remote it had banged down hard on the car! glad it wasnt a brand spanking $40,000 car!! oh kids..what fun they are.
JUZZY- re the rash! Just use the cream i gave you if you have any- alternate it between the steriod cream if you like.
It could also be a thrush rash- the steriods will fix this up if thats what it is.
Lots of air on bubs bum too.
It wont be the MCN's causing it- your changing her enough by the sounds of it.
What actually causes nappy rash is the mix of wee and poo sitting on bubs bum. It cause a chemical reaction. NOT the Mcn's. The hemp and bamboo (and the fleece lining) wicks the moisture away and as long as your baby's bottom is dry when you change her then you wont have any issues.
Also, keep using the Mcn's thru this as the fabric will feel alot more comfortable against her skin.
Use a liner in your nappy too so the cream doesn't penetrate the fabric- it stains.
I always do exactly as your doing now- funnily enough- Cody has never had a nappy rash since we have been using cloth. Even when she had that bout of poo and spew for 10 days. No rash- the Dr was amazed!
We have all gone to the Dr about a nappy rash hun- i have plenty of times- not just with the first but the 2nd and 3rd too and im sure one day i'll have Cody there too.. Dont feel silly:hugs:
JUZZY- re the rash! Just use the cream i gave you if you have any- alternate it between the steriod cream if you like.
I have been using the cream i love that stuff! It looks alot better than it did on wednesday. Healing slowly but getting there.
The nappy free time is doing it good i think. Except today she pooped all over the towel i had her on then proceeded to lie in it.... that was fun to clean up!
The only time she has been wearing a nappy has been when she is sleeping. So her big nap in the afternoon and when she goes to bed for the night. I have just been sitting her on a towel in the highchair for meals.
What nappy liners do you suggest tan
As for it being thrush, the Doc said that it wasnt. Before i went to see him i figured it was a possibility.
I have an appointment with the Doc on Monday for my PND so if it doesnt clear up by then i will get them to have another squizz at it.
Oh and thanks for the advice and reassurance everyone, i was starting to feel like a bad mother!
To tide you over you could use chux cloths. I use flushable liners (from the health food store)- its so easy- poo, lift out, flush and no grossness on the nappy:laughing:
The chux cloths cant be flushed though- so just chuck them in the bin.:hugs:
:yelclap: That its starting to heal!! poor little mite.
good idea re the chux.... i have some of those in the cupboard they will do until i can get some proper liners.
I think i will let her have a nappy free weekend and will then use nappies again from Monday on. Its not like we are going anywhere this weekend anyway.... its the end of the month and we are poor LOL (DP gets paid monthly... we could just take more money out of the business but dont want to do that)
Whats everyone up to this weekend?
Tonight DP is working (customer had an emergency :rolleyes: ) so i am making pizza and having a beer. LOL
Poor Cassidy...I hope it all heals quickly Juzzy, apparently l had the same thing (obviously when l was a baby, not now :D), but for me it did not go away, so mum had to toilet train me by the time l was about 8 months -- no idea how she did that.... I couldn't imagine toilet training Coen in 2 months... and somebody correct me if l am wrong, but l think girls urine is a bit stronger than boys (or at least that's what my mums said) ...btw love the car seat photo
Speaking of mums, l am really annoyed with my mum at the moment - and its not even really for a valid reason... she came over today and she couldn't do anything right, l have a whole heap of pent up anger towards her... not sure what to do about it...
Lauren - l tried to put Coen down at about 2 -2 1/2 hours twice today both times were a nightmare (although he did look tired), but when l waited until after 3 he went to sleep without too much hassle - l think 3 + is the new magic number, will try that for awhile (perhaps that is partly why l was angry with mum, she told me not to let Coen cry too much cos he could get a hernia - don't know if that is true or not, but does she think it is easy for me to listen to my son cry? what does she think l can do - he needed sleep... she was like - do you want me to try and pat him - l said go for it but it won't work.... and btw he was only crying from the time it took me to get from his room to the kitchen and back -my house isn't very big so not long at all!!!)
Oh Sharon... love the avatar!!! Very cute!
We haven't turned our car seat yet... note to self, must look up guidelines for our car seat...
Kay - oh l haven't put Coen on my back yet in the Ergo.... how long have you been doing this with Eli??? I haven't used the Ergo for a couple of weeks (no need for it) - but l think he would probably prefer the back or side now.... incidentally was Eli getting to big for the front??? I have a mental image of Eli giving you hickies on your back
Noice car Penny...
How much time do you give bubs nappy free (generally)? I must admit l don't give Coen very much, a few minutes before a bath and thats about it...l probably should do a lot more....
Oh yeah i meant to say Penny love the car!
Hannah i got some more GKs and BB magic alls. Here (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000835.jpg) and here (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000833.jpg) are photos of my stash currently. They are from left to right, (First Pic) Pea Pods, GK Funtimes and Happy Heinys (Second Pic) GKs anytimes, BumGenius, BB Magic Alls. The new ones are the GK anytimes as well as two of the GK funtimes and 3 of the Magic alls are new.
Geez Sandy toilet trained at 8 months!! I have no idea how your mum managed that one! But my god i dont think i could manage that with Cassidy!
As for nappy free time... we were just doing it before her bath as well and occasionally in the morning. She seemed to enjoy it. But has totally loved the last few days, i think i am raising a nudist.....
And with the car seat we have a safe n sound compaq deluxe convertible. Just checked the manual and it says can be used rearward until she is 12kgs. So i think i might keep her facing that way as long as i possibly can.
Jack and I have had a fun day. We went shopping to DFO this morning. His 00 tops are getting short in the arms. I got everything at Cotton On of course - 5 items for $45! One jumpsuit has a cow on it and underneath it says "moody" :laughing: I thought it would go well with his cow babylegs
Then this afternoon was a first for us, I finally did a full groccery shop on my own with Jack. First time in 6 months!!
Jack refused his afternoon sleep again today - he cried as soon as I layed him in the cot. He was up from 1.30-6pm. Surprisingly, he wasn't too tired.
I sat him in his high chair while I got tea prepared. He watched our cat walk around and squealled at her until she walked to the back door to be let out - I imagine the squealing got on her nerves too
No plans for the weekend yet...my DH is off to the footy on Sunday. If it's a nice day tomorrow I would like to take Jack to the park...still haven't got there yet!
Sandy - I'm fairly confident crying will not give Coen a hernia. If it's true Jack would have 10 by now :laughing:
Re:Turning the car seat around..we have in DH's car but not mine. I can still manage to lift him in so will keep it rear facing for a while. Our seat (BabyLove) recommends turning it between 8 - 12kgs
Better serve up tea...roast vegies and chicken! Yummo!
Sarieslittlemen
24-08-2007, 19:23
I remember your big trip -- it stuck in my mind cos l was blown away by your courage!!! Glad to hear you survived.... and with great stories to laugh over (which l am sure were sooooooooooo NOT funny at the time) Welcome back! You will always be the gal that travelled the breadth of the country 30+ weeks pregnant in my mind - so not easily forgettable!!!
I cried a great many tears during our trip, most definately unforgetable. But I can now look back and laugh. Especially the hysterical crying on the side of the road as my husband drove off with some stranger - thank goodness I didn't watch Wolf Creek till we reached Karratha!
Thanks everyone for the lovely warm welcome. It is great to be back, in Brissy and back here on the hub! Oh how I missed Bubhub while we were away. My computer wouldn't let me log on, so I was looking in from time to time, I just couldn't post!
Anyway my addiction to the hub has returned, as I'm supposed to be getting ready for work and here I am just submitting one more quick post!
:hugs: to you all!
the magna is exactly the same car that the old fart next door drives! the mean old b@stard that is taking us to court over a dog that "MIGHT bark in a years time".... new car is very nice. easily fit three little munchkins in car seats in that in a few years time... was it a hint that your baby bearin days are far from over??
See, you proved my point exactly that the Magna is an old-man car !!! :D I should let DF read this thread !! As for three munchkins... I've been given a two-child limit... so unless I have multiples next time, there will be only one more. If I were ten years younger, I'd be pushing for three or four... but I honestly don't feel like popping out kiddies at 40 !!
Re: the garage door - I always assumed that the garage doors have sensors to stop them from closing down on a car !!! God, now I'm going to be paranoid that I haven't parked my car in far enough !!
Juzzy - Will you be going to any Melbourne meets anytime soon?? I have two boxes of nappy liners that you can have if you wish (they're just the chux-type liners). Alternatively, you can buy them from the supermarkets fairly cheaply.
I gave K some official nappy-free time after his bath tonight for the very first time (inspired by you Juz) and as expected Kaelan LOVED it... he's always loved being naked... another nudist in the making me thinks !!
Speaking of mums, l am really annoyed with my mum at the moment - and its not even really for a valid reason... she came over today and she couldn't do anything right, l have a whole heap of pent up anger towards her... not sure what to do about it...
Welcome to my world !!! ;)
Lauren - Kaelan squeals at my dogs too... they are his new favourite things !! They on the other hand, still can't work out what he is.. stranger?? family?? toy?? :D
I swear I was going to write something else about us... but I honestly can't remember what.. so I guess I'll finish this here.
SuperFrog
24-08-2007, 21:29
When I'm out with Liam, complete strangers come up to us and start cooing over him, asking questions about how old he is, does he sleep through the night, etc. Fast-forward a bit and I'll be trying to teach him stranger danger, and how you shouldn't talk to or trust strangers.
What a conundrum.
I can't remember who wrote what so I'll just be very general here.
Zucchinis are unpeeled around here, and have been since the beginning. I steam it until it is very mooshy.
MCN = Modern CLOTH nappies, so I was technically right when I was talking about cloth! (But I know what you meant about them being different to the traditional terry-flats) I don't use MCNs so I'm not familiar with the day-to-day stuff about them, but just thought I'd raise the possibility with Juz of the rash being associated with the change. No arguments required. :)
Ooh, nice black car Penny! Is it manual or auto? That's about the extent of my car knowledge. I once amazed one of my friends by diagnosing her car problem as a faulty ignition module. I didn't tell her that I had the exact same car symptoms the week before and it was diagnosed as an ignition module problem. :thumbsup:
Welcome back Blubber!
I have PMd Melbourne people about the next meet. If anyone would like the details, or I have forgotten you (not intentional), please let me know.
Liam will be turning 7 months old tomorrow.
My Mum really gets to me sometimes too... but I think it is really a case of me being less tolerable than usual.
I don't give Liam nappy-free time as our house is too cold at the moment. Supposed to be warm over the weekend I think so I might give it a go. I have visions of him being a water fountain feature though... will make sure I have lots of towels around!
Liam wouldn't take a straw today, but the sippy cup was a goer. Crazy kid can't make up his mind.
Lately Liam hasn't been feeding well towards the end of the day and sometimes refusing it completely. I've been feeling like I have been pushing the milk feeds and food on Liam, so today I thought that I would give him lunch at 12.15pm and then wait until he was asking/crying for the next milk feed. He had about 4 mouthfuls of water at 4pm (trying the cup but not too fussed about it) and didn't want boobs until almost 6pm. That's a long time! He settled for the night relatively easily too. So I'm not sure if I should cut back a feed, reduce the amount of solids, introduce a water drink in the afternoon, or something else. Thoughts?Ideas?
My random thoughts have come to an end. Until next time folks. Naa Noo Naa Noo.
For those who may be wondering how K's rash is coming along (probably none of you, but I'm bored and have nothing better to do :D ), I've posted a comparison photo of it here (http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/k_ouchies2.jpg). The left picture was taken 3 days ago (Tuesday) and the right photo was taken today. The improvement is quite noticeable.
I've used minimal Cortisone cream (only applied it twice) plus I've been using a baby-specific moisturiser that one of the girls in my mothers group gave me... I've also restricted his diet to only formula, pumpkin, apple and farex. It seems to be working so far. Once he is in the clear... I'll start re-introducing other foods again to see if he reacts to anything specific. We didn't take him swimming this week either, so not sure if that has anything to do with it.
Mon - I'm pretty useless with car knowledge too... but what I do know is that it is a 2007 VE(?) Commodore Lumina, automatic (bleh !!), 18" alloys, rear spoiler, dark tinted windows, electric windows, cruise control, keyless entry... 6 speaker stereo and bluetooth for the mobile... blah, blah, blah... I don't know.... the web-site for our car is...
http://www.holdencampaign.com.au/lumina/index.html.
It's pretty much everything my beloved Astra has... except that I don't have in-built blue-tooth, my alloys are smaller and I have an 8 speaker stereo, not 6 :D
Ok, enough about the bloody car....
*Sparkles*
24-08-2007, 22:23
The car looks great Penny :thumbsup:
Juzz - you have an impressive stash there, what a shame that Cassi needs alot of nappy free time ATM lol. But at least they will look nice in the drawer!
I've been busy all day creating my webstore. But I have reached a brick wall so I need DH to help me as he has an IT background. So I haven't done all that well today with the snapfish or my webpage :laughing: I get so frustrated when I can't do something! I think this is a trait that R is going to inherit.
The poor thing hit his head on the coffee table tonight TWICE!! He cried so hard, you know the type when they take in a deep breath and pause before absolutely bellowing?
DH is still sick with a cold so he went to bed early and I am heading that way soon.
Tomorrow arvo we are going to a family friend's 50th birthday bash at her house. It will be alot of the same people who were at the wedding last weekend. Don't think we will stay late as quite a few of them have too much to drink and then get pretty feral. Seeing as we are taking R, I don't want to be around that. At least my feral SIL isn't going this time. Anyway, sorry to :ecomcity: time for bed me thinks.
Juzzy - Will you be going to any Melbourne meets anytime soon?? I have two boxes of nappy liners that you can have if you wish (they're just the chux-type liners). Alternatively, you can buy them from the supermarkets fairly cheaply.
I dont think i will be able to make it to the meet coming up but will hopefully make it to another soon enough. I was in the supermarket tonight but do you think i remembered to look for liners?? NOOO!!
Oh and Pen K rash looks alot better! That is heaps of improvement in a few days!
As for car knowledge, i have been around cars since i was a little kidlet. I used to race a car when i was 16 with my dad. Now that is what i call fun!! I have more knowledge of rotary engines rather than piston engines however, probably why i own an RX7 and why i will one day own an RX8..... LOL
Ohhhh i finished my snapfish book thingo and cant wait to get it back, it was alot of fun to put together actually.
Hels yeah the stash is in a nappy stacker at the moment, need to clean out her draws!! But they do look good, shame she isnt wearing them! Oh and if you want some more technical help with your website and what not (besides ur DH obviously) let me know, DP will be more than happy to give you a hand. Hes a computer geek!
SuperFrog
24-08-2007, 23:06
I'm sensing a theme here. Hands up if your partner is NOT a computer/IT geek?
**Mon keeps her hand down**
DF likes to think that he is a computer geek, but the reality is that I probably know more than what he does :D
I have a squealling, early riser on my hands :eek: Jack woke at 4.50am and decided it was time to start the day :eek: and I think I'll just add another one of these :eek: to show you how I really feel :laughing:
**Keeps hand down**
It sucks actually our whole life is currently ruled by his IT business.
Nothing going on her today. DPs customers disaster has spilled over to today so just Miss Cassidy and myself at home. Might go into Frankston and have a look around the shops....
**sharon keeps her hand down - way down. dh has a website called secretgeek. i dont know why he thinks its a secret?**
Purplebird
25-08-2007, 08:38
My DH is a geek - but a physics one, not an IT one. Is that even sadder?
Juzzy - thanks for the pics - your stash looks great. I'll take some photos of my faves over the weekend and post them. Most of mine are plain bamboo ones but I have some lovely ones for overnights.
Mon - Liam is obviously trying to trick you and keep you on your toes! Sorry, I have no advice as I have not had to try lots of things - Eloise loves her milk still and only eats little bits of food. Hope you find something that works for you both. How annoying is it when old people hang over the baby and touch them? It's always old people isn't it?!
Penny - love the wonderment of spoons!
Well, the strangest thing happened last night - Eloise had a bottle of formula again and then slept through the night apart from a brief wake up at 2 am. I'm not getting excited as I don't want to jinx myself! It does suggest that the poor child has been hungry for the past 6 months :eek: Of course I still woke up to check her and panic :rolleyes: , but I feel so good today - like a new woman!
We're off grocery shopping this morning, what fun!
What do all of you have in the cot which stays in while bubs is asleep? Eloise has a little bunny which I'm trying to get her to have as a comforter.
Question: Do you girls still have your linea nigra?? (the vertical stripe on your belly from pregnancy?). Kaelan is nearly seven months old and although it has become slightly shorter in length.. and has faded a little bit... it is still quite obviously there !!
I would have thought it would have disappeared by now...
SuperFrog
25-08-2007, 12:08
Question: Do you girls still have your linea nigra?? (the vertical stripe on your belly from pregnancy?). Kaelan is nearly seven months old and although it has become slightly shorter in length.. and has faded a little bit... it is still quite obviously there !!
I never had one. Probably a good thing... I have so many stretch marks that I would have looked like a noughts and crosses board!
How nice is it in Melbourne today? Liam is wearing safari shorts and his lion t-shirt. Very cute!
No linea nigra on me penny.
Here is a funny story :
- yesterday i was going to have a tin of spagetti for lunch. i got the spagetti tin out of the pantry and then i needed to attend to lily. when i came back i couldnt see it so i assumed i never got it out of the cupboard....
Today i found it frozen solid at the back of the freezer!!!!wtf???
G'day all.. Penny - better get down quick to Northlands Baby Target - it is clearing out fast... they have some things on sale.... but nothing l got too excited about (except an excersaucer out of the box for $80 which l considered... and then thought better of)....
Well l went to see Harry Potter today - not as good as l expected, is it a different director or something? anyway so the last time l have fed Coen was about 10.45, it is now 4.23 and my boobs are pretty full, but coming on bubhub was the worst thing l could do, cos l came home and there is no bub here, and reading about all your bubs is making my milk come down.... :eek:
DH has obviously taken my munchkin somewhere and l am resisting the need to call him to tell him to come home (or at least to find out where he is)... that boy better be awake when he gets home other wise l may explode.... perhaps l should go and express a little??? :thumbsdown:
Lauren - hope you are able to get a nap some time today...
Has anybody else found that their bubs likes to have a drink while they eat??? Coen squealed a couple of times and l have just worked out that that means that he needs something to wash the food down with.... its quite funny, cos he becomes he doesn't open his mouth as wide, squeals a bit like l am not getting it in fast enough, but as soon as he sees the bottle (breastmilk or water) his mouth opens like a little chick waiting for a worm and he has a good old suck and then is ready for more food....
Penny mine is still there and really noticeable... but l didn't end up with any stretch marks - so perhaps this is my punishment???
SuperFrog
25-08-2007, 15:53
frozen spagetti tin...
I once lost my glasses and was just about to get a new pair made up when I found them in the door of the freezer! Must be the place where random things go to hide.
so the last time l have fed Coen was about 10.45, it is now 4.23 and my boobs are pretty full, but coming on bubhub was the worst thing l could do, cos l came home and there is no bub here, and reading about all your bubs is making my milk come down.... :eek:
Has he gone that whole time without a feed, or has he had some without you? As I mentioned yesterday, L is going ages between lunch and dinner. Very strange.
Penny mine is still there and really noticeable... but l didn't end up with any stretch marks - so perhaps this is my punishment???
I'd much rather one big line than a bazillion small ones. I have them on my stomach, boobs, bum, thighs, and probably other places that I can't see. They have faded a little though, so it doesn't look like I have been badly whipped anymore.
I think Liam might be getting a cold. He sounds very nasally and he just sneezed snot on me. Ick!
penny- yes but its fading
i think i got all the damage with the first one so no stretch marks for me this time or the two prems but the ones on my boobs are silver now...this would be from the first bub when my milk came in and they were so huge i couldnt put my arms down my sides!
ive spent the avo doing things for the wedding.
i went shopping for a nice medium size scrap book and had to get quite a few packets of extra pages. i also got some nice stickers, sayings printed on velum and ill go through my BOXES and boxes of untouched scrapbooking things and add to this. this will be our guest book. we have 'hired' a good friends 17 yr old son to walk around with our spare digital camera and take photos of our guests each .. he will then pull them aside to the dressing room to create their own page if they wish to or add a little note, well wishes, advice or whatever else to their page where i will later stick in their photo. we have a lot of arty farty people coming..i keep getting reply cards in the mail with stickers and funny pictures added onto them - so it should go down well.
ive sorted the hairdresser and makeup today also. i have to line the flower girl basket later tonight.
i put the tux on eli to see how much it need taking up and in on the pants so i took some pics of him in it and in the little jacket TAN sent for us to use. ill post them later...
JoJoMart
25-08-2007, 16:31
Liam is 6 months old today! happybirthday
6 month stats:
Weight: 8.9kg
Height: 70.5
Head Circ: 43.3
Well, the strangest thing happened last night - Eloise had a bottle of formula again and then slept through the night apart from a brief wake up at 2 am. I'm not getting excited as I don't want to jinx myself! It does suggest that the poor child has been hungry for the past 6 months. Of course I still woke up to check her and panic, but I feel so good today - like a new woman!
Hannah - that's fantastic that Eloise is taking a bottle of formula and sleeping better....how do you feel about using formula?
Lauren - you poor thing I hope Jack sleeps better tonight and wakes up at a more reasonable hour. He's an early bird by the sounds of it......:eek:
Penny - my linea nigra is barely noticable.....I have a few stretch marks though.
The weather is fabulous today in Melbourne.......it's been lovely the last few days actually but today has been the best. I can't wait for spring!
Liam had his 6 month needles today.....has been grissly but otherwise okay. Didn't feed as well as he usually does. Had a great day today as some friends dropped around for a visit so got out the wine and cheese.
What's everyone doing tonight? We're just vegging in front of the t.v. so nothing special. Have a 1 year old birthday party to go to tomorrow.....hope they have fairy bread I love that stuff :yes:
Purplebird
25-08-2007, 16:51
I don't mind using formula at all Jo. I guess I would have liked to have expressed but I can't. My goal was just to bfeed as long as I could...I will carry on I think, but just give a top-up bottle of formula at night. I'm just rapt that I can have a break now :D
I've still got my linea nigra quite clearly as well as stretch marks. It's all fading now, but you can still see them.
Sandy - hope Coen came home and was awake for your poor boobs! I've found the same thing with Eloise and the drinks - she loves cups of any kind, she gets very excited if anyone's drinking anything and she likes holding a cup herself too!
Kay - that's a fantastic idea for your guest book - wish I'd thought of something interesting like that. We just had a book people wrote in.
Been shopping, been to the park and now we're having a vegging night too. :fingerscrossed: for another good sleep.
Hannah - I'm so glad your getting some sleep at night...you certainly deserve the break!
happybirthday Liam! He is the same weight as Jack except Jack is 3cm's shorther...
Penny - I never got a line but lots of stretch marks popped up in my 39th week! They are fading a bit now...sort of purplish
Kay - Your wedding plans sound great! It's such an exciting time.... Only a few more weeks to go! How's Eli feeling now? All clear?
US - I've had a bad afternoon...My DH has been a real pr!ck today. I never realised how selfish he could be until we had Jack. I won't go into it..too depressing :gloomy:
Some good news is Jack finally rolled from his back to his front today :yelclap: I was a bit proud! He seemed pretty pleased with himself too. Hope everyone is having a good night. I've already cracked open a beer :p
Big :hugs: to you Lauren. Men suck is all i can say.
As for the whole linea nigra thing, i never got one but i did get lots of stretch marks. They are starting to fade thankfully.
Nothing happening here tonight. Cassidy just woke up after going to bed at about 4. She is now playing on the floor. I am planning to tire her out and then bath and back to bed. With any luck, could have her back in bed by 1030.
My DP is still at work. He worked until midnight last night and has been on site since 9am this morning. Called him before, said he is nearly finished so i am not expecting him home for a few hours yet, him saying 'nearly finished' means he will be ages.
I think i am sick. I have gone through a box of tissues today just blowing my nose which is now all red and really sore. I went to bed at 5pm and woke up just before Cassidy did. Ive lost my appetite and generally feel like ****.
Since i feel like **** im watching tv and doing nothing. I suspect i will be doing nothing tomorrow too as a result.
young_mummie07
25-08-2007, 21:09
Hi ladies i just saw ur photos from ur last meet great shots and gorgeous bubs as well :) just wanted to know if i could come along my DS was born on the 11th feb 07 it would be nice for him to have others babies around the same age to play with :)
I have had a massive couple of days- was in bed at 8pm last night- unheard of for me! I had a migraine though- you know the ones- light sensitivity, any small or slight noise and your head feels like its going to explode. Woke up all better though, so thankfully this one wasnt 3 days long like usual.
I had to work today and left the house at 7.45am and got home at 5.45pm! Big day. We were so busy so the time went fast but the perils of that are, no toilet break when you have customers lined up out the door and no lunch break either! I was busting and starving by the time i got home:o.
Kay- can wait to see a pic of Eli i the tux! And thanks for you email! Your so clever!! How do you do that? Hints please!!
young mummie 07- im sure the melb girls will fill you in on any meets- im sure there is one coming up (there was a post) so have fun meeting thm all!
Oh and :wave:welcome to the thread!
Juz- glad to hear the nappy rash is going now! How horrid for little Cassidy!
As for the Linea Niagra- i didnt get one either- and no stretch marks either so i have no advice there- sorry.
Well its a home day tomorrow for us thank god! If the weather is nice- we might take the kids and some friends up the beach in the car for some sandboarding and surfing, other than that we will be chilling out at home me thinks!
Oh and i friend had her baby on Tuesday so im going around to visit and drop off her pressie! ANOTHER new baby in my circle of friends to make me clucky!:laughing:
I put the hard word on DH today about possible starting to have more (yeah i know getting the vas reversed) when Cody is two and "freezing" some for number 6 but for some inconcievable reason- he wouldn't agree! Bummer- looks like i'll have to get a new puppy or something. I cant believe how clucky i am atm. I just want another bubby.:laughing:
Holly_Golightly
26-08-2007, 06:47
Hi Ladies :wave:
My linea niagra has gone (just checked) but I did notice it was still there a month or so ago. Did not get one with DD though.
Noah's 2 bottom teeth are just about to pop up and are driving him nuts. Had to give him Nurofen last night as he couldn't sleep. That seemed to help alot.
Noah will only eat vegies if I add a bit of natural yoghurt to them (?). Must be a texture thing. I tried a bit of his cauliflower and it tasted horrible but he scoffed it. He LOVES Jalna yoghurt.
Anyone having problems with their parents wanting to feed bubs things you don't want them to have? If I hear the phrase "But we did it in our day," I think I will scream.
The In laws clarified the reason why I have not left Noah with them yet. FIL wanted to give him a piece of Kofta (so he could suck on the meat juice :barf: ) and some lebanese bread !!! Dimwit! MIL 'joked' that she would feed him things when she looks after him and just not tell me.
DH took me away to the Hawkesbury Valley last weekend for a night and we left the kids with my parents and now they 'talk' to Noah about how they are going to look after him next time. Fat chance.
Sorry for the vent.
Juz- DD used to get horrible nappy rash up until she was a toddler. I used to use Pentaten cream and that was quite good. We used disposables and she still got it. Sounds like you are doing all the right things.
JoJoMart
26-08-2007, 08:28
Bianca - you are more than welcome to join us at our Melb meets, check out this thread.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=60760
Holly - I know how you feel about your inlaws.........I haven't taken up any offers from mine to babysit as yet because I'm uncomfortable.......DH doesn't know how I feel but probably guesses.....they are the type of people who don't like to be told and want to do things their way. I can't hold off forever and I wish I was more comfortable with them babysitting Liam but it will take time and me being assertive with them!
Lauren - I know what you mean......I reckon DH seems a lot more selfish since we had Liam. I never thought he was that selfish but at times he can be. I'm lucky to get a sleep in at the weekends because he reckons I can sleep anytime I want! What a load of ****!
Hannah - I'm glad that using formula for the rollover feed is working for you & you are finally getting more sleep! It works for us........Liam sleeps through after we feed him at 10:30/11pm.
Juz - you poor thing if you are unwell again. Get better soon.......are you resting and eating well?
Sandy - happybirthday - half birthday to Coen!!!
Better go and get ready........we're off to Ethan's 1 year old birthday party today.......I hope Liam sleeps through it because it's smack bang during his day sleep time :fingerscrossed:
happybirthday coen and liam for yesterday.
warning - vent alert.
DH when away yesterday for a bucks party and i dont know when he will be home today. i am sure when he gets here he will be completely wasted and hung over. he is pretty supportive and deserved a night off BUT when do i ever get any time off. i am so tired and a little bit bored. i want to go out and do something for myself! i am feeling fat but i dont know when i would find the time or energy to exercise.
yesterday, after the first breastfeed i asked dh to look after lily for one hour until she went back to sleep so i could go back to bed. half an hour later she was crying (she rarely does this with me) - i got out of bed and found dh at his computer and lily crying alone at the other end of the house. he just wanted to check his email and thought she would be alright for 10 minutes. :hair::hair::hair:
i really love being a mum and enjoy being at home with her but it is just such a full time job - i dont think our partners understand that at all.
thanks for the vent girls.
Hi. Where is everyone today? has bubhub been down.
The day turned out ok. I had a meltdown and rang DH - he came home and i just left the house.
I ended up in a resturant and a sunday paper and ate a spagetti marinara. Dh has looked after lily all afternoon. he hasnt had to look after her by himself for ages - he said that she is heaps more demanding and wants attention constantly and didnt sleep much and cries a lot. i feel a bit better knowing he has had a small glimpse into my life.
lily seems to be only having 40 min naps again which is frusrtating as i thought we had tackled this problem. when your bubs wakes do you leave them in the cot or get them up. she will usuall stay there for up to 1 hour before she really starts crying (she does moan a fair bit though).
Ohh Sharon.... :hugs: You pretty much summed up what's happening in our house ATM. I had to nag DH many, many times yesterday to play with Jack so I could have 5 minutes without him whinging at me.
I don't want to go into it much on here as other people can read it but things are not good with us. I'm not really sure how to handle the situation.
I think Jack is feeling the tension too...he's not sleeping or settling well. He cried for almost 1.5 hours tonight when I put him down (he never does that! always goes off to sleep at night really easily)...nothing I did helped. When I rocked him he just arched his back and screamed. He's not sick. I spent the day at my friends place and he was all smiles and laughing. Don't know what's going on :( and of course DH isn't home!
Enough of my whinging...I'm starving! Better make some tea
Geez.. I thought Bubhub was never gonna come back... I was getting withdrawals (NOTE TO SELF: Get a life !!). :laughing: :D
Anyone having problems with their parents wanting to feed bubs things you don't want them to have? If I hear the phrase "But we did it in our day," I think I will scream.
I'm thankful that my in-laws live in the UK, because when we were over there at Easter, my MIL was wanting me to give all this stuff to Kaelan just because "that's what I gave to my boys when they were little". As it is, she made us bring some Farley's Rusks back with us and it was only recently that I've discovered that sugar is listed as the seocnd ingredient in the rusks... Needless to say, he's having them very sparingly.
I also only just found recently (after DF accidentally confessed) that while we were in England, my MIL gave Kaelan one of those Cadburys Chocolate Fingers to suck on... he was only 10 weeks old !!! Not happy !! (especially considering that she had previously asked me if she could give him one and I said NO).
Well not much to report today... I didn't get out of bed until 3:30pm because I worked lastnight (and am working tonight)... so I've basically just pottered around the house, played with Kaelan a bit and cooked some dinner. Tomorrow it is supposed to be 25 degrees in Melbourne so it should be a lovely day (assuming that I don't sleep all day).
I guess I'd better get offline and get ready for work. Have a nice night ladies :)
Purplebird
26-08-2007, 19:24
Happy half birthdays to Coen and Liam (for yesterday) - sorry Jo, I kind of missed that last time! Half a year down already..
Big :hugs: Lauren - I'm so sorry you're having such a hard time.
Sharon - :hugs: to you too. It's good when our DHs look after the little one and realise what hard work it is. I think they reckon we sit around all day drinking tea (well, OK, I do a fair bit of that!) but it's so draining.
Tanya - I'm feeling very clucky at the moment too - I have a couple of friends who are pregnant and I can't wait to try again myself. I think we're going to wait til next year though. I always thought I'd want 2 kids, but now I can see us with three (at least?!). Oh, we made our little squirt today - thanks for the tip!
Us - Well, we've had a very productive weekend - I've been spring cleaning! Everything has been washed and cleaned..it was so therapeutic. I feel like I haven't cleaned properly since Eloise was born. In fact we may not have cleaned the windows for a good year or so :o We went to a birthday party last night - E was pretty good and slept in her pram. That top-up bottle at night is still working wonders. We're down to only one dreamfeed..long may it last.
We've booked our tickets for the UK at Christmas (courtesy of the ILs!) - we're going for 6 weeks. Can't wait to have a proper cold Christmas - if we're lucky it might even :snow:
Purplebird
26-08-2007, 19:31
Hope work's nice and quiet for you Penny. I was brought up on Farley's rusks and my MIL was itching to give Eloise some last time we were there. I thank my lucky stars she lives in England too :D I would be furious about the Chocolate Fingers as well - how inconsiderate!
SuperFrog
26-08-2007, 19:36
Bub hub is back!
Liam has a cold, and is very snuffly. Poor bub is having trouble boob feeding as he gets out of breath. And then he won't feed on the other side as he is traumatised. So I've been giving him feeds more often and also some water.
Had to do midnight, 4am and 6.30am feeds last night. I am so not used to that any more and was stuffed today. Hope he'll sleep better tonight, but I'm about to head to bed, just in case.
On the plus side, I managed to keep Liam laughing today with fake sneezes... thanks for the idea Penny!
Hope he'll be okay for the meet on Thursday. I'm hoping it is just a 24 hour bug or something. If he isn't improving in the next few days I'll let the Melb bunch know and you can decide if you still want to meet up. It would have to happen the one time we organise a meet over my side of town. :rolleyes:
Bianca, I'll PM you the meet details.
DH and FIL are painting our loungeroom and kitchen. So for the week I have a couch and coffee table in my bedroom, which makes it feel like a holiday cabin. I'm also without a tv for the week. I used to have it on in the background all the time, but lately I've had it switched off during the day. Luckily DH and I just finished Scrubs Season 3 that Penny lent us... will have to trade it in for the next Season please! :thumbsup:
It only just occurred to me today that my Liam is exactly one month older than Jo's Liam (and Sandy's Coen). Extrapolating on this, my Liam turned 7 months old yesterday. Time is flying lately!
*Sparkles*
26-08-2007, 19:45
Hels yeah the stash is in a nappy stacker at the moment, need to clean out her draws!! But they do look good, shame she isnt wearing them! Oh and if you want some more technical help with your website and what not (besides ur DH obviously) let me know, DP will be more than happy to give you a hand. Hes a computer geek!
My DH is more into the hardware side and not software, so he's not much help to me. However, I took the plunge today and bought one of those custom made templates, it looks great. I have my own logo so I'm just waiting for them to send me the html and away I go. Not sure if I'll need any help after that, but thanks for the offer I'll keep it in mind :)
I never got one or any stretch marks, so I got off lightly first time around. All I have now is a muffin top :(
R is not too good today. He has a weeping eye that I have to keep bathing. His nappy rash is alot worse too as he did a no #2 overnight and when I changed him this morning he was really sore. I gave him a bath this arvo and I'm using Dermaid cream which has 1% cortisone. It's the strongest available over the counter. But if it gets worse I'll take him to the Dr for something stronger. He's also off his food today so I think he might have DH's cold. Thankfully he has still been in good spirits so it's all not bothering him that much.
DH on the other hand has been a pain in the butt. Why do men always act like they are dying when they get sick? :banghead: I told him if he was going to be so grumpy tomorrow, then don't bother coming home from work!!
OMG it has been a long afternoon without bubhub! I kept the page open and kept clicking refresh until i came back up! LOL i am so sad i know! :D :yes:
Sharon i am in the same boat as you in regards to DP/DH. We havent been seeing eye to eye on a few issues in recent times. DP seems to think it is ok to leave Cassidy crying on the playmat while he plays xbox.... hmm i dont agree. I need some time out for myself at the moment too. Just to chill out and actually read a book or a newspaper. I swear i have read the same page in the book i am reading about 50 times and by the time i get to the end of it i am either asleep or Cassidy needs me for something.
Jo i am feeling better thanks. I really did need extra sleep yesterday and feel better after my stretched out nanna nap yesterday afternoon and a good night sleep. Still going through tissues like crazy but at least i am able to function again.
As for feeling clucky, i think it is a well known fact that i would love to have another baby. LOL yes i remember how uncomfortable and unhappy i was at the end of the pregnancy but it was all worth and and id love to go through it again.... Still no AF though... so i dont think it will be happening just yet. I am only fitting in 3-4 breast feeds a day as well as 2 meals of solids and 2 bottles (they come after breast feeds, one before her arvo nap and one before bed). So can i send out a search party for AF? lol
Anyway, i have had beer and rambling a bit so i should be off. I am having chicken curry for dinner and it is just about ready....
Has he gone that whole time without a feed, or has he had some without you? As I mentioned yesterday, L is going ages between lunch and dinner. Coen had some solids and some expressed milk whilst l was away... but l don't think he got enough food as he woke up at 8.30 (90 minutes after we put him to sleep) for another feed... but that could also be teething as well, cos for the first time in about 2 months he woke up during the night as well... screaming... l kept thinking of how some of the bubs started waking up during the night after sleeping so well and l got scared... nothing we could do would console him, we gave him bonjela, which helped for a few seconds whilst he licked it off... then panadol and finally a breastfeed... l know l shouldn't rely on breastfeeding, but what else can you do when they are screaming.... :fingerscrossed: that it doesn't happen again tonight...
I am a bit worried about this myself... I think mum would be too scared that if l found out l wouldn't leave Coen with her again (and she'd be right)... and l haven't left Coen alone with my inlaws yet (well not for long enough anyway) so they haven't been tempted... having said that, my MIL saw the video of Coen eating his apples... she told DH to tell me to just add sugar... Yeah, thanks for the advice -- me thinks l will just ignore that one...
Thanks everyone for the birthday wishes... and Happy birthday to Elly & Liam as well (both Liams) - wow Mon - 7 months... its funny how much older the other side of 6 months sounds... we sung Coen Happy Birthday today...
lily seems to be only having 40 min naps again which is frusrtating as i thought we had tackled this problem. when your bubs wakes do you leave them in the cot or get them up. she will usuall stay there for up to 1 hour before she really starts crying (she does moan a fair bit though). Glad you got some me time today Sharon... we really do need some for ourselves every now and again... and the men in our lives do need to have some exposure to what our daily lives are like... my general rule of thumb is, if Coen sleeps for less than an hour he stays in the cot until about an hour after he initially went to sleep... this gives him a chance to resettle if he is going to resettle, or to have some rest (even if it isn't sleep)... this is all providing he isn't screaming ofcourse... l don't see any need to rush to their side if they have only had a short nap and seem content to lie in their cot (with the odd whine or two)
You pretty much summed up what's happening in our house ATM....Ohh Sharon.... I think Jack is feeling the tension too...he's not sleeping or settling well. He cried for almost 1.5 hours tonight when I put him down (he never does that! always goes off to sleep at night really easily)...nothing I did helped. When I rocked him he just arched his back and screamed. :hugs: Lauren, I hope it sorts itself out soon... what you described above sounds like what happened with us with Coen at midnight last night... It was weird...
Hannah - :smiliedance: it is fantastic news that you and Eloise are finally getting some extra sleep!!!
And congrats on booking those tickets!
Hope Liam is feeling better soon Mon!
Coen and l went to a baby shower this afternoon - our friend is 4 weeks away from her due date, she is doing really well and feeling very healthy... their was a film crew at her baby shower though, doing a doco for release next February.... l wish somebody had of told me that before l went -- l looked like a disaster!!! Thank God they didn't interview me - but they took enough photos of Coen and l... :eek:
This weekend has been good, both DH and l have had some "me" time... my nether regions are feeling heavy again, so l am going to try and take it easy again.... l guess l just figured all was good again and went back to my old habits... not quite ready for that my body seems to be screaming...
Lets hope all the bubs sleep well tonight - good night, going to go snuggle with DH...
My goodness, l just looked at the footer of my post... 3.68kg - l can't even remember what it was like when my booba weighed 3.68kg... l will have to weigh him tomorrow - bet he is 9+ -- Lets see if we can take out the biggest booba .... oops l mean most robust booba prize!!! Go Coen - Go Coen - Go Coen.... actually l take that back...
SuperFrog
27-08-2007, 07:56
After two nights in a row of **** sleep, Liam had another bad night. I've had about two hours sleep, and DH hasn't had much more. At least when our lounge room was accessible I could take Liam out there so DH could sleep.
L is blocked up in the sinuses and has a runny nose, but because he can't sniff it all hangs around. Starts crying when he is lying down as he can't breathe. He seems to be doing better this morning I think, although his hair is all funny like it has gel in it... I think it is snot. Icky! Better out than in though.
Heading over to my MIL today as she has kindly volunteered to entertain L today so I can sleep for a bit.
Did I mention I'm tired? I've called Liam Astro twice this morning... that's my cat.
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 08:28
Oh dear Mon, how awful. I hope you get some much needed sleep today :hugs:
I am suffering from insomnia, I lay there for hours unable to get off to sleep. I'm ok once I'm actually asleep but I'm sick of starring at the ceiling.
Then last night, I was just drifting off around midnight when R's sensor alarm goes off for a few seconds. Well, it's enough to scare the @%&$# out of me so I bolted straight in there. Seems he had wrigged his way right over to one side of the cot and off the sensor pad. I moved him back and he was fast asleep and breathing normally so I wasn't too worried. His nappy rash seems to be getting better too :fingerscrossed:
Today is a lovely day so we will take a walk later down to the post box and shops. I haven't done that for ages!
Big hugs to Mon :hugs:
i was having a lot of trouble sleeping as well and found it was all related to my PND. But now that i seem to have that under control i am sleeping a bit better.
Like Hels said, lovely day in Melbourne today. I have an appointment at my Doc today so Cassidy and i will be walking there.
Oh one more thing...
Is anyone else having issues with their bubs getting distracted while bfing? Cassidy and i are having real issues at the moment because everything seems to be distracting her and she cant concentrate on feeding. She pulls off the boob and almost refuses to go back on until whatever was distracting her has gone away.
I have been feeding her in our bedroom as there is nothing in there that is a distraction (our room is quite boring) but bit hard when she is distracted by my cat and the cat follows me around like a bad smell.
mornin' everyone
heres the tux.
its all a size 1 so a little too big but the size o we tried on in the bridal shop was a 'just fit now' around his belly and the pants were going to show socks ...so these pics were taken when we had to se how much to take in and up-
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5811.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5819.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5813.jpg
and a pic of him drinking from his magmag.
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5833.jpg
I've been trying for 3 hours to get Jack down for a sleep...what is wrong with my child :crying:
mumslilspunks
27-08-2007, 10:30
Good Morning ladies!
Sharon- Glad you DH pulled his socks up long enough for you to have some time to yourself! They can be so selfish , most, of the time!!
Lauren- Mega :hugs: As i said to sharon men can be a**holes. I ve certainly had my fair share of s!%t from my dh. If you EVER need to have a b#@tch or vent plaese PM.
Mon- Have you tried a vapouriser? Maybe lifting one end of his bed so he can breathe a littlte easier? Hope he's feeling better today!
Hels-How is Reece feeling today? All these poor bubbas. Its a bugger when you cant really do much for them.
Juzzy- I wouldnt worry about the search party for AF, enjoy while you can i say!! LOL
Sandy- Billy is up around the 9kg mark aswell. Ill weigh him later for exact weight. Our big boofs!!
Kay- What a spunk!!!!! They are just gorgeous. Have you got a dress organised?
Computer geeks- My dh wouldnt even have a clue on how to turn the computer on!
In-laws- Mine are great. I would rather leave my boys with my inlaws rather than my own mum.....
Us- Well i had my mum come up from Melb and DH and i left sat morning ( on the harley) and came home sunday afternoon. It was so relaxing. We ended up doing nearly 700kms. When i got home on sun my mother :banghead: had rearranged my whole f'ing
Kitchen..... Moved DS1 room around and re stacked my pantry.:mad: Now i cant find a damn thing and DS1 woke screaming last night and walked into the wall coz she had moved his bed. Bloody mothers.
Enough of that, hope everyone has a lovely day, im off to have a shower coz im still sitting here in my PJ's.
Catch you lovely ladies later.
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 12:03
Kay - The tux is going to look great! what date is the wedding again?
Ren - Reece seems to be alot better today, thanks for asking. He's just woken up so I'm about to see if his appetite has returned.
Your trip on the Harley sounded like fun! Sounds like things with DH are back on track which is great.
hels-
send me a cheeky bots and ill send you a pic!!!
im waiting waiting waiting for my custom, hint hint.
oh and the wedding is 22nd sept, ive spent the morning sorting out tables and transport.
tan- i sent you the huate nappy i got from kylie in with the play mat. dp sent it sat so you should get it tomorrow!!!
Afternoon girlies...
Another weekend of work over... praise the Lord !! Once again, our ICU is full of recently-extubated CRAZY people so my night was very busy and frustrating (enough to make you want to go and bang your head against a wall... much like this really --> :banghead: *LOL*). I hate this time of year in Crit Care... we get a lot of long term ventilated patients because of pneumonias, chest infections etc... so once they are eventually weaned off the ventilator (after being on it for several weeks), it can make them quite loopy and aggressive. The lady I had last night had acute short term memory loss... do you know what it's like having the same conversation with somebody every two minutes ?? ( I think the banghead smiley is appropriate once again)
Big news for us today.. we finally have a tooth !!! It's been sitting directly under K's gum (bottom front, right) since Friday, but today it seems to have cut through finally. It's so exciting !!
Lauren - Hope you and DH work out your problems soon !!
Hels - If you need help with HTML, I might be able to help you. All my web-sites are written in HTML by me, so I have some experience with it. I'm no good with Java, Javascript, CGI and CSS though... only general HTML.
Mon - Tell that boy of yours to start sleeping again... we can't have you all zombied out during the day... you're just not as funny when you're tired :D (Don't worry though, today I can empathise... I've only had three hours sleep after working all night).
Currently I'm trying to get Kaelan to have an afternoon sleep... but being as there is a whole lotta noise coming out of his room... I'm thinking that I might be kidding myself here !!
Oh.. and one more thing...
1000 POSTS FOR ME !!!!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
(So immature I know ;) )
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 15:35
Congrats Penny! I was almost on 3000 posts last week, then the mods must have deleted some old threads as I've dropped right back again.
Kay - I'm waiting for some materials to come from NZ and USA. Once they get here I am ready to rock 'n roll. I'd love a pic of Eli (fully dressed) for my album though :p
Congrats on the 1000 posts Penny!
Kay love the pic of Eli, what a little spunk!
Went to the Doctor today, thinks i am doing better but thinks i should be on meds for PND for another 6 to 12 months, unless i fall pregnant in that time. I really didnt want to be on them for that long but i guess i need to do what is right for my mental health.
Otherwise not much to report, just chilling at home, feel like doing some online shopping but i know i shouldn't.
Anyway, i am procrastinating as i dont feel like cleaning my house....
Holly_Golightly
27-08-2007, 16:49
What the????
Noah had a 2 and a half hour day nap.
I totally sympathise with anyone who has a non-sleeper. Noah normally only has 4 x 40 minute day naps but today has had 2 x 40 minute naps and the looonggg sleep at lunchtime.
YAY:yelclap: . I used that time wisely and sat on the puter :o .
icugal- YAY on the tooth!!! Noah's is driving us all nuts. You can just see a white line under the surface but it will not pop through grrrrr
my_lot- Very cute tux!
Kay- those pics are so cute! If you need to adjust the jacket- feel free- it was only going to the Vinnie bin anyway.
Oooooo cant wait to recieve my parcel!!
Penny- yay on the tooth!
sending lots of sleep vibes to everyone not getting any (sleep that is):wizard:.
us- well Dh has gone away again for work! So its just me and the kids till Thursday night or so. It makes it really hard- the dinner, bath, bed thing is the worst. His not usually here anyway at that time BUT at least, usually, i have the fact that he is about to walk in the door, to provide me with 5 minutes on the front verandah with a coffee to look forward to. It's just hard going with all the kids when you have no one here to bounce off.
I have my "tuesday special" again tomorrow! 7 Kids! My g/f is going for her driving test to get her P's (she's 37) and i hope so much she gets it! It means she can leave her husband (looooong story)- which will be better for the kids and her so everyone keep their :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:.
Hope everyone has a good night!!!
I finally got Jack down after him being awake for 6 hours...he slept for an hour. He's gone down well tonight so fingers crossed he stays that way
I had Mother's Group today and it was just what I needed. I feel really lucky to have found such a great group of ladies. We are going to start taking our bubs to musical maestro's soon..I think Jack will really enjoy it. He loves songs and music
Penny - Great News on the tooth! A long time coming hey? I need to pick your brain about it.....How has Kaelan been leading up to it cutting thru? Has he been off his milk?
Jack only had 2 breastfeeds today....I felt like my boobs were going to explode. One of the ladies in MG said her bub was exactly the same about a week before his bottom teeth cut thru..he also had a runny poo today. If it's not teeth then I have no idea what's going on :confused: He was really fussy on the boob yesterday too...cried everytime I offered it. Weird as he's usually such a boobie monster
Dinner's ready... DH came home early tonight and has been very helpful....he's sooo NOT forgiven though.
Forgot to say..Mon - I hope Liam is feeling a bit better and you were able to catch up on some sleep. I had Jack on 6 hourly panadol when he was sick and it really helped him (and me) get thru the nights. A bowl of hot water with vicks in it is realy good for his room too :)
Been a few days i've had a big weekend.
On the comp geeks my *hand is up* cause DP hates the computer....... But is an XBOX JUNKIE and now marissa craks it if she doesn't have the other remote to hold while he is playing.
Kay Eli looks soooooo cute i reakon he is going to be a womanizer. ;)
RE linea nigra- i never got it but i got the stretch marks, I got them really bad with DS and only got a few extras with Marissa. Oh and the muffin top .
What happened to bubhub yesterday?
RE more babys i don't think i want any more. I think i have been blessed to have 2 healthy happy babys and i got my boy and girl. But u never know
sandy can you send me the stats pretty please.
Penny congrats on K's first tooth now the fun starts:D
Juzzy I was on meds for 5 yrs before i had bub then the doc put me straight back on them after i had her (the reason i couldn't breast feed) and i am now slowly coming off them i was on 200mgs and i am down to 100mgs now and feel ok but don't think i could handle going totally off them but will see what happens.
By the way how is cassidys bum going i hope its getting better poor little darling.
Tanya I got my :fingerscrossed: for your friend.
Sounds like nearly everone is having probs with bubs being sick and sleeping issues,:hugs: to u all and i hope things get better sooner rather then later.
welcome back Ren you have been missed
Hi Sarie can't say i remember you but you may have been on before me i didn't join till i was 30 weeks.
And welcome Bianca and Holy_Golightly can we have your real name?
well the only news i have is that my baby girl slept in her own room last night for the first time and after a week of hardly any night time sleep she slept perfectly. Heres hopinging it lasts.
Has anyone done up something with all the feb mums in it this thread seems to be getting biger i wonder how many of us there is? If some one has already done it can i have a copy otherwise i will sit down tomorrow and go through our threads and do up a list if any one is interested.
Hope you all have a good nights sleep.
Alicia
xxxxx
Hels how do u put more then one pic in your aviator?
Purplebird
27-08-2007, 20:10
Lauren - it does sound like Jack is teething. Eloise wasn't too bad, but she did not enjoy feeding as much just before her teeth came through. Hope they cut through soon for you!
Leashie - Yay for Marissa sleeping through, that's great! Funnily enough we moved Eloise into her own room at the weekend (I really didn't want to, but I guess it's really hard to do the longer you leave it) and it's definitely helped her sleep dramatically. I miss her but it's also nice to have a bit of space.
Poor Mon - big :sleeping: vibes coming your way. Sleep deprivation is horrible isn't it? Hope Liam feels better very soon.
Kay - Eli really is gorgeous.
Hels - I'll send you a picture of Eloise...hmmm, trying to decide which one, lol.
Well Eloise is still waking much less at night :D . She only woke once last night, but it took me 1.5 hours to settle her. Pretty annoying at 3 in the morning. I think she wanted to play and I probably did all the wrong things like smiling at her. I couldn't help it as she was grinning at me!
What a lovely day today - perfect for drying the MCNs! i've ordered some more but please don't tell DH how much they cost...he thinks they will be cheaper in the long run! Well, with the rate I'm acquiring them we would need to have about 6 children before they worked out as cost effective :laughing:
SuperFrog
27-08-2007, 20:20
Hels how do u put more then one pic in your aviator?
Well there's the pilot, the co-pilot, the navigator... :laughing:
Seriously though, the How To section has a tutorial explaining how to do it, but I've never tried.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=36617
Well there's the pilot, the co-pilot, the navigator... :laughing:
PMSL
Night guys, Cassidy gone to bed early time for me to go too....
:sleeping:
SuperFrog
27-08-2007, 20:39
I had a mini-sleep today so I've regained a bit of my funniness. Liam is currently in his cot having a bit of a whinge... am trying to ignore it for a few moments and see if he'll settle. Poor thing is still a bit stuffled up. Seemed to dry out a lot during the day but is back to a liquid state now. I REALLY need to sleep tonight.
Okay the crying is getting worse... might be time for some special mummy get better hugs.
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 21:10
Oops.. I screwed up trying to edit a post and accidently deleted it (I must be having a blonde day).
For those who didn't read it on the previous page, I am after photos of your bubs for my new website. I'm going to do a pretty collage with all the bubs in the bubhub circle of friends. So please PM me your pics :)
Leashie, if you need any help with your aviator, I'll send Leonardo Di Caprio over! ;) ,
No seriously, give me a holla ok?
HOLLA HOLLA HOLLA
I can't do it its to complicated and can i get Wentwerth Miller instead of Leo? :D
Leashie... if you want to send me about 4 pics of your kids, I'll make an amimated GIF for you. You have my email address :)
Hels - the photos of the babies.. do you want any particular age??
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 21:43
:no: Wenti is mine Valentine
PM me 3 pics and your email addy and I'll do one for you now.
*Sparkles*
27-08-2007, 21:45
Leashie... if you want to send me about 4 pics of your kids, I'll make an amimated GIF for you. You have my email address :)
Hels - the photos of the babies.. do you want any particular age??
You beat me to it Penny lol.
It doesn't matter what age the photo is, just something that you like. Most of the one's I have so far are recent one's. But one of K's professional one's would be good :)
Jack is still refusing the boob - I'm worried :( He only had 2 wet nappies yesterday. He took one side in the night but howled this morning when I layed him down.
I'm waiting for my MCHN to call me back
Sarieslittlemen
28-08-2007, 07:24
I didn't have one either, actually I didn't have one for any of my pregnancies!
I ended up working till 2am last night, at least the boys stayed in bed till 7am so I got about 4 1/2 hours sleep. I'll definately be having a nap when they go down today.
I was filling the HPT's one night last week and got quite teary at the thought that I most likely will never need to use one again... I'm a sad sack aren't I?!
:no: Wenti is mine Valentine
HEY!! Wenti is MINE! Ive loved him since he was in the mariah carey video clips!! HAHAHAHAHA....
Hels i will PM you later with a pic of Cassidy, after i stop debating with myself over which one i like best!
I am making toblerone cheesecake today:chef:
Other than that i am housebound, hence why my cooking skills are going to get a work out.
SuperFrog
28-08-2007, 08:01
Morning. Another average night here. I think L is much better but enjoys the attention at night :( Will wait until the painting is finished before trying anything drastic, just in case that's what is bothering him.
I'm not a dog person, so it is doubtful we would ever have a dog. My MIL has just got a new puppy and his saying she is a puppy for Liam. :confused: Not sure if she is joking or what. As long as it lives at her house she can call it what she wants! Is very cute though, and placid too. Is a Hungarian Vissler (no idea how to spell that... Sandy will be pleased!) and they have named her Bella.
DH is sick and home today. Another day at my MIL's for Liam and I... leave DH to get some sleep.
SuperFrog
28-08-2007, 08:03
Jack is still refusing the boob - I'm worried :( He only had 2 wet nappies yesterday. He took one side in the night but howled this morning when I layed him down.
I'm waiting for my MCHN to call me back
Is he eating anything? What about trying a bottle of ebm? Or even some water?
JoJoMart
28-08-2007, 09:17
Hi everyone. Liam's been asleep for nearly 50 minutes so far........needless to say I'm still in my pj's and on the computer....he's been sleeping better in the mornings....oh just heard him stir so he's probably about to wake up.
:hugs: to everyone who's bubs are sick or not sleeping.
Mon - glad to hear that Liam is feeling better, so hopefully Thursday will still go ahead.
Lauren - I hope things improve between you and DH soon......I'm going through a similar thing at the moment with my DH and it definitely affects Liam when there's tension between DH and I. Have you heard back from the MCHN?
Just a quick post from me. Was wondering if anyone has found their bubs have rolled onto their tummy while they are asleep? Did you leave them asleep on their tum or turn them back over onto their back? Liam has done this a couple of times and I read somewhere at this age they can have a preference for sleeping on the tummy but what about the SIDS risk, is it not as bad now they are older?
Lauren - how's Jack this morning? Has he had any decent feeds? Is he eating his solids well? If so, could you perhaps mix a heap of EBM with it, make it really soupy? The other thing that works for Coen is having a drink in between mouthfuls of solids, sometimes EBM, but more often than not l have been offerring water during mealtimes (l can't stand it if l have to throw the EBM out if he hasn't drunk it all) :-)
Is anyone else having issues with their bubs getting distracted while bfing? Yeah Juzzy, Coen is still getting really distracted!!!
Well Eloise is still waking much less at night :D . Yay for Eloise!!! Pity about the 90 minute middle of the night settling though!!!
I am making toblerone cheesecake today:chef: Thanks Juzzy - Now l feel like Toblerone cheesecake -- you are soooooo making that next time we have a melbourne meet pppppppppppppppllllllllllllllllleeeease?????
Mon - how is Liam doing today?
Is a Hungarian Vissler (no idea how to spell that... Sandy will be happy... We babysat a Hungarian vizsla when we were house sitting, beautiful dog, but high energy... as much as l loved Muppet (affectionately known as muppy puppy) and l absolutely loooooooooooove dogs, l wouldn't take on a hungarian vizsla if you paid me, they are loads of work!!!..
Was wondering if anyone has found their bubs have rolled onto their tummy while they are asleep? Did you leave them asleep on their tum or turn them back over onto their back?
THis is Coen's new thing Jo, as soon as l put him down for a nap he rolls onto his tummy.... l spent all of last week going into his room every few minutes to roll him back over, l did a bit of research and it says the risk of SIDS goes down at around 6 months, it also says that if they can get on their tummy by themselves they should be right... Coen can get on his tummy alright, but has only successfully gotten off his tummy a few times (and never in the cot)... so all in all l have given up and will now let him sleep on his tummy (l have done it twice now)... but l have the monitor close by and if l hear him struggling (sometimes he just keeps trying to lift his head and doesn't realise he needs to turn it to the side) then l go in... l check on him more frequently now cos l am just not that comfortable with the whole turning thing yet....
Okay some big news, l have been putting Coen down on the floorboards a bit lately.... and he can move around... l had the wardrobe open, l turned around and he was in there picking up stuff.... we soooooooooo have to baby proof this house.... and quickly... gotta go now, he's getting sick of moving around the study... oh just one more tidbit.... l ran out to the kitchen to get something, and he had maneouved himself to the door so he could see where l went... isn't he a clever little boy....
Ciao ladies... oh go K with the teeth!!!!
leashie will send stats asap it has list of mums & bubs in our forum....
Morning all
Hels and penny i will send them to u both :D
Hels i will send u on of bubs pixi photo's instead. I will send a couple and you pick the best.
Oooh Lauren How is jack I think if he is still like that and not eating you should take him to the Doctor or even hospital cause you don't want him to get dehydated. :hugs: for u and Jack
Juzzy Mariah Vids? didn't even no he was in them.but i bagsed him first.:p
Jo Marissa has been doing that for awhile now and i leave her cause she can roll around easily.
Thanks Sandy
Might hang around for a bit today
Well i'm back from my holidays (went to queensland). It was good to get away but it feels good to be home.
Rained most of the time we were there wasn't able to do too much but had a good time anyway.
My aunty picks up bags that people leave out with things they don't want anymore and when she is finished for the day she normally brings them home and goes through them and get out what she wants before she takes them to her work so i helped her while i was there and ended up getting so many clothes for me and Lochlain and even dp. mum got heaps for herself and for dad and my sister so we ended up coming home with heaps of stuff. I've spent all morning trying on clothes to see what fits. I'm surprised we managed to get everything in the car. It was a very squashy ride home.
Well anyway i better get going now and continue unpacking my suitcase. Will try to get back on later and maybe on chat tonight.
leashie there is also a list here:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=87510&page=3
Mandy where abouts in Queensland where you?
Sarie we live close I'm in Kallangur!
I'm off to do some house work.
Been to the doc's this morning...Jack's throat is red so probably ANOTHER cold :thumbsdown: Thankfully his ears are clear for the minute.
I'm actually feeling a bit depressed about how sick he is all the time....seems like things are good for a few days and then he's sick again. Sorry to be all doom and gloom, it's just so exhausting.
Anyway looks like I'm off for another drive as he won't sleep in the cot.....:hair:
Sarieslittlemen
28-08-2007, 14:52
Leashie fantastic, I did see you in the other post. We'll have to get together sometime!
i know this probably means very little but big :hugs: to you Lauren, you have been having such a tough time with little Jack recently
Finished making my cheesecake and i am very proud of it! Once it is set i might take a photo of it for you guys! Hehe, and yeah Sandy i might make one for the next meet i can make it too. Are we still having meets at peoples houses? Or is it only public places now?
mumslilspunks
28-08-2007, 14:56
Lauren- Huge hugs for you! :hugs: :hugs:
Im having a pretty terrible day too. My little boy (dog) Bundy who i have for 7 years went to another home today :crying: :gloomy:
Everytime i walk out the backyard i expect him to come running up to me...
Anyway i will be in chat tonight ladies, DH is away for the week, yet again and im all by my lonesome so ill be in to keep be occupied.
Hehe, and yeah Sandy i might make one for the next meet i can make it too. Are we still having meets at peoples houses? Or is it only public places now? Yummy!!! Yeah we are doing a bit of a mix Juzzy, sometimes at peoples place sometimes at central location...
Lauren - big hugs! Poor Jack...:hugs:
Ren - Hope your day gets better too...
Other than the fact that Coen has only had 2 x 40 minute sleeps we are having a good day... he has gone down pretty easily so l shouldn't complain -- but l have had to exhaust him before trying to put him to bed - l just can't do the hour long fights for him to go to bed ... it breaks my heart, so these days we are waiting about 3 3 1/2 hour before trying to put him to bed (unless he is really tired beforehand)... how many day sleeps are other bubs doing, how long for and how long in between?
I have sent all those who have contributed the latest stats... Coen's aren't on their yet cos he hasn't had his MCHN appt. but l might take my own measurements and add him shortly... if l have missed anyone PM me your e-mail address and l will send it on... (if you have contributed);)
Coen is asleep again now so l had better get some stuff done... ciao for now, hope to make it to chat tonight, but we'll see.
ds just came home from kindy with his fathers day craft- a drawing of something daddy does with him and a little note about it. this poem on the other side and then its laminated.
i thought id share it-
walk alongside me daddy
and hold my little hand
I have so many things to learn
that i just dont understand
teach me things to keep me safe
from dangers everywhere
show me how to do my best
at home at school at play
every child needs a gentle hand
to guide them as they grow
so walk with me daddy
we have a long way to go
with lots of love from.....
tan- you got that mail yet??
ren- why did the dog find a new home??
Hi guys no chat for me tonight DP wants to spend some time together. I will catch up tomorrow have a good night.
Alicia
xxxxx
Well for once i am in a really good mood today!
Not sure why - lily has been a pain - but i went for a walk this afternoon with cate (jan mum) and felt really good after it. Also won a battle with lily and she resettled herself during a sleep today - wonders never cease.
Lauren - huge hugs to you :hugs: . looking on the bright side - next year jack will have no sickness as he will already have gotten an immunity to most of the bugs around. Try to look after yourself as much as possible hon.
on a slightly more serious note (and this is a reminder to you all not just lauren) my Dr said that PND can start anytime in the 2 years after the baby is born! sleep deprivation and irritability/fighting with my dh all the time were some of my initial signs.
Sandy- lily definatly is staying awake longer and longer - yesterday 4 hours after she dropped her last nap. generally i find that she needs at least 2.5 hrs of full on stimulation to go to bed without a fight. she isnt really rolling in her cot yet though as she is still swaddled. have you considered wrapping coen?
Mon - get some sleep girlfriend. we need more speelling jokes asap.
might see you in chat tonight - if it doesnt start too late....
Sarieslittlemen
28-08-2007, 18:16
I was just having a look at the photos from all the meets you guys have had! Fantastic!
I would love to host a Brissy meet for the Feb mum's if anyone is interested!:thumbsup: Just let me know.
Sarie
kay- no mail yet- maybe tomorrow? Im hanging out for it though!!
That poem was great- so cute!I bet your DF will love it! Or will it go over his head?
All my kids are in bed now- yay! So im up for a chat tonight! What time is everyone going in?
ren- bugger about the dog hun! What happened?
Lauren- sorry to hear Jack is sick again! Soemtimes some kids spend all winter sick- my Ds1 was like that in the first year of his life- mind you he hardly ever gets sick now-so maybe he is getting it ll out of his system now?
Its hard and stressfull- but please dont blame yourself- not one thing you could do apart from wrap him in a bubble.
Juz- my hunting days are over! I finished them all on Sunday!!! No more frustratingly (is that even a word?) searching for the ever elusive! I even managed to get the extremes! Iknow, I know, im so smart:laughing:.
Oh, and i would like a piece of that cheesecake couriered up please??
See you all in chat..
Tan we are in chat now!
I have given up on GDUNH... LOL
I was staying at Monterey Keys on the gold coast
Sarieslittlemen
29-08-2007, 06:52
Morning Girls!
Spent most of the night up with PJ last night, I'm not sure whether he was having bad dreams or his molars are giving him troubles. But the poor little bugger cried in his sleep pretty much all night. Then I woke up to him playing with his car one my side of the bed, when I asked him what he was up to he said 'I weed mummy' and sure as heck he did, wet as a shag poor little guy.
I can't wait till these teeth come through he'll be 3 in March and he still doesn't have his 2 year old molars!
Cooper had a pretty good night last night, DH gave him a bottle at 11pm and he didn't wake up till 6am this morning. Can't wait till he drops that feed, the other two dropped their midnight feeds quite early, but Coop seems a little more disturbed during the night. I also think he's picked up that I go to work at night, as soon as he hears my voice when I get home he has a bit of a squark.
Not much on for today. Catch up on my house work and maybe do some baking - I plan that on the back of 2 coffee's, wait till the cafine wears off a little and there could be a change of plan. DH pinched my car today, so I'm house bound...
there must be a melb meet on! its so quiet in here.
i hope the newbies in melb got to join in the fun of your meet.
hels- would you like me to send you some of my inserts for a looky? anything you need ill help you with just ask.
tan- has your mailman come yet?
well im off to finish this flower girl basket, its a pain in the @ss. i didnt think lining a basket would be so tricky
No Melbourne meet today... maybe everyone has gone and got lives today (unlike me :) ).
I just got back from the Austin Hospital after having my appointment at the Liver Outpatients. The good news is that they can't find anything seriously wrong (with the tests they've done so far)... the bad news is that they think I may have the start of a 'fatty liver' so they're giving me six weeks to lose weight and see if my LFT's improve... if they don't, then I have to have a liver biopsy :eek:
There's nothing like the threat of having a large needle stuck in your abdomen to motivate you to live a healthier lifestyle...
The diet starts now...
Holly_Golightly
29-08-2007, 11:20
:hair: Noah did not sleep well last night. He had 1 x 20 minute nap and 2 x 40 naps during the day and was up countless times during the night.
I wish these freakin' teeth would hurry up!!!!
He was also starving so am trying to up his solids but today he is not interested.
He has the runs too. Fab!
Lauren- So sorry Jack is sick. DD was always sick too from about 2 weeks old through to being a toddler she seemed to catch everything going around. Just think that he is building his immunity. DD is rarely sick now.
Post hasnt been yet Kay! He comes anywhere from 9am to 4.30 pm! Big fat pain in the butt he is lol.
Well DH comes home tonight thank god! Now the kids will have someone else to whinge at:laughing:.
Im so tired0 chat was too late last night!! Silly me should have gone to bed earlier- cant help myself.
Oh and some news from me.....
Cody is very close to crawling! I looked at her on the floor a while ago and she was up on all fours rocking!:eek:
mumslilspunks
29-08-2007, 14:33
Afternoon all,
Penny- that is good news.
Tanya- woho Cody. Billy has also been doing this. Sometimes he forgets to go on his knees and just lifts himself up with his toes.:laughing:
Well Billy had his 6mnth needles today and the worst thing happend.
DS1 was playing on the floor and an older ladie tried to step over him, well he moved and she hit the deck. Thay had to call an ambulance coz they think she has broken/fractured her hip. I was bawling my eyes, i felt so bad!!:gloomy:
Great Ds2 has just woken after a 15min nap :banghead:
BRB
good to hear that there is nothing seriously wrong Penny, and well you're right, nothing like the threat of a needle to motivate one to do some exercise and watch the food intake...
Ren - that sounds awful... poor thing (you and the old lady)
Lauren - how is Jack today?
Coen had his needles today, they went really well... he had a bit of a blocked nose last night and early this morning so l was worried that we shouldn't give them to him, but the Doc did a check on him, and l had taken his temperature before hand... and all was right, just a bit of a red throat... but he is his happy non day-sleeping self...
You know how l mentioned this meeting with my boss this friday... where l try and convince him to let me go part time... well l have just realised l threw away all of my suits!!! :eek: I mean all of them - what a bloody idiot l am - the least l could have done was keep one.... but l was in the last week of my pregnancy and l wanted to clear some space.... and and... now l have nothing to wear!!!! I really should be scrounging through my wardrobe right now to try and find something... this is the kind of meeting where l would normally don my best suit blah blah blah...
omg ren that is terrible. it was only an accident - try not to worry about it too much.
lily was offered a child care place at a long day care centre today. we went for a look and although it was nice it was really expensive and i am not ready to let her go just yet.
she was up in the night last night. and then again at 5am - i let her scream and she dropped back off. then again at 6am. i feed her at 2am and i am refusing to give the morning feed till 7am now in an effort to get her to sleep later. i think she was testing me as today she has been so happy and had two 1.5hr sleeps and is having another nap now! hopefully i will not pay for it tonight!!
I got my Blanket from Kay today! Its fantastic! She is so clever!
Will post a pic later!:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
SuperFrog
29-08-2007, 17:29
Liam is usually a 40 minute napper. I'm at my MIL's house and he has now been asleep for almost 2.5 hours! Hope he still sleeps tonight.
SuperFrog
29-08-2007, 17:29
Ooh, my last post was #666. How deliciously evil!
Purplebird
29-08-2007, 18:13
Big, huge Thanks to Hels for my new av!! She's so clever.
Mon - :devil6: Mwahahaha!!! (sorry, just always wanted to use that one!)
Penny - good news it's nothing seriously wrong with your liver and good luck with the healthy life style!
Poor you Ren and poor lady. Accidents happen though..
We've had a nice day today - went to a baby shower and I did an Indian Head Massage afterwards for the preggers chick. Tomorrow I'm expecting my next lot of fluffy mail :smiliedance: Some Itti Bittis, a Monkeydoodlez...oh, I won't bore you..I'll take pics when they arrive (and bore you then, lol).
Eloise has now taken to waking at 11.30 pm, 2 am and 4 am :hair: I think she thinks 4 am is wake up for the day time. Might try the 'wake to sleep' method - anyone had a go at that?
Hannah im looking forward to seeing pics of your stash!! So at least u know im excited! I want to buy some itti bittis so tell when you have used them and what you think!
*Sparkles*
29-08-2007, 19:03
Hannah - You are very welcome :)
Kay - Thanks for the offer of inserts. I'm going to catch up with Juz next week to check out her stash (she is only 20 mins away from me, just down the road really lol), so I think I'll be right thanks.
I've approached a fabric supplier for a wholesale contract and if I get it then I'll order 10m of bamboo fleece for the inserts. I'll probaby do a budget one with the microfibre and a better quality one with the bamboo.
Not much happening here. I have been working all day (so what's new :rolleyes: ). I think I do more work now than before I had bubs! But I enjoy working for myself and I've been learning html and website design this week so it's all good for the old brain to keep ticking over.
R has been a bit unsettled today, very whingy so not sure why that is. His nappy rash is gradually getting better but some skin has come of so it's still quite raw looking.
Hels sounds like a similar kind of rash that Cassi had. Probably a stupid question but has he had some nappy free time? I found alot of nappy free time really helped clear up the rash. Cassi pretty much spent 4 days without a nappy (only wore sposies for sleeping). I also found using a cream that had hydrocortisone in it really helped clear it up to. Perhaps speak to the chemist if you havent already? They might be able to point you in the right direction.
Yay !! I just got paid-out my annual leave from the hospital I resigned from recently. It's pretty much 'money for nothing'... because I haven't actually worked in that place since October last year. When I finished up early (because of the cholestasis whilst pregnant), I used up every hour of annual leave that I had over the following months (up til christmas). But since I've been on maternity leave however, my yearly anniversary date clicked over (in May), and I accrued another six weeks of paid annual leave (on full-time hours). Gotta love that !!!
I'm going to use most of the money to pay off my maxed out credit card... and the rest will go into savings (and maybe I should buy a Weight Watchers membership too :D ).
What's the bet that I get a huge tax bill now to compensate for my windfall??? :rolleyes:
Purplebird
29-08-2007, 20:29
Bless you Juzzy! I'm ready with the camera :) I really wanted some of those luscious Bitti Boos, but the large were all sold out...I think that the GDUNH has depleted stocks of everything good! All those sales and discounts... Anyhoo, I'll let you know how we go. love your new avatar too by the way! :thumbsup:
Noice windfall Penny!
Oooh, I've eaten too much and feel a bit sick! Too much cake...
Bless you Juzzy! I'm ready with the camera :) I really wanted some of those luscious Bitti Boos, but the large were all sold out...I think that the GDUNH has depleted stocks of everything good! All those sales and discounts... Anyhoo, I'll let you know how we go. love your new avatar too by the way!
Noice windfall Penny!
Oooh, I've eaten too much and feel a bit sick! Too much cake...
:p I have a abitti boo and am getting another one next week! I know the lady who owns itti bitti (she's a newcastle lady) so i get heads up when she has them in stock:p So sorry- i just had to gloat:laughing:
Should i add that to my shopping list for next month? LOL a bitti boo?
:laughing: Might be a good idea- i know she is sold out of the large's atm- she has one on hold for me- just has to put the snaps on- but there should be more in a coupple of weeks.
ou could try the other websites that stock them but they are not an easy nappy to come by.
The chemist up the road stocks them but they dont have the bitti boo's just the AIO- which i love! Kay isnt a fan though- so maybe order one and see how it goes?
I can get you a AIO tomorrow if you want one-$33.50 for the Bamboo one and $12.50 for a spare insert. Pm me if you want to grab one mate.:D
OMG you are feeding my shopping habit you realise? Ill PM you.
Ever thought of become a sales rep for itti bitti? LOL
OMG you are feeding my shopping habit you realise? Ill PM you.
Ever thought of become a sales rep for itti bitti? LOL
Well im on a buying ban courtesy of DH! If im gunna spend some money, it might as well be yours:p:laughing:
mumslilspunks
30-08-2007, 08:44
Well im on a buying ban courtesy of DH! If im gunna spend some money, it might as well be yours:p:laughing:
PMSL :laughing:
Sure is quite in here this morning.
Well im off to the hospital to give the lady that fell over a card and some flowers. Im still unsure if ill give them to her personally. I think as soon as i see her ill start crying coz i feel so bad.
Anyway its a lovely sunny day here so i think ill take the boys to the park after we go to the hospital.
Does anyone have one of those toddler scateboards that you connect to the back of a pram? I brought one of ebay but im not sure ive put it on properly.
DH is still away and wont be home till sat night so im hoping to make it to chat tonight. What is it with getting booted from chat? I got booted last week and tried a couple of times to get back in then just gave up and went to bed.
Im just rambling now.......
Sorry. :laughing:
Hope everyone has a lovely day.
Poor Reece, l hope his nappy rash heals fast, which brings us to Cassidy, how is she going Juzzy?
It seems many of us have sickly bubs at the moment. Both Liams, Jack and now Coen as well, he has the sniffles... l put him to bed early this morning (after being up for only an hour), l don't think his determination not to sleep much during the day is helping him much... its bound to be effecting his immune system... poor little thing, he woke up crying in the night, and for about an hour was wimpering on and off, DH and l kept going in there to check on him... he had his injections yesterday too (they went well) and was a nightmare to get to sleep last night (for his big sleep)... Its funny, up until two weeks ago l thought l had it all sorted, l would just pop Coen in his cot after 2 hours wake time and walk away and return when he woke ... all was good
... then something changed and now l have a little man who rolls as soon as he gets in his cot, can't quite figure out that if he would just turn his head he could sleep on his tummy and fights every sleep... I am going to avoid breastfeeding to sleep at all costs now... we only used to do it at night, not by intention, it just seemed to happen that way more often than not; but over these last two weeks l have to admit that l have been resorting to breastfeeding him, knowing full well that he will probably fall asleep... its really hard when you know they are soooooooooo tired but just won't sleep!!!
I'm still in my PJ's, l should probably pull my finger out and get something done... Looks like l am house bound today :eek:
mumslilspunks
30-08-2007, 08:46
Sorry for the double post but i certainly did ramble didnt i.....:laughing:
Can you tell im craving 'adult conversation'.
which brings us to Cassidy, how is she going Juzzy?
She is better thanks for asking, well her bum is anyway, its all cleared up now and she is back to wearing all the pretty MCNs i have.
You can probably add her to the list of sick babies however. Seems she has a tiny bit of a cough and is sneezing heaps. Her appetite has gone a bit funny as well. She woke up at 4am this morning and she was not impressed. Managed to get her back to bed at 5am and she slept until 9am which was nice.
Shes currently having a nap in the highchair then i think we need to go do the grocery shopping.
Time for me to go, dont know if i will be in chat tonight, might be having DPs sister and nephew over for dinner
*Sparkles*
30-08-2007, 14:35
Hels sounds like a similar kind of rash that Cassi had. Probably a stupid question but has he had some nappy free time? I found alot of nappy free time really helped clear up the rash. Cassi pretty much spent 4 days without a nappy (only wore sposies for sleeping). I also found using a cream that had hydrocortisone in it really helped clear it up to. Perhaps speak to the chemist if you havent already? They might be able to point you in the right direction.
:yes: he has nappy-free time, I also use a soft wet face washer to clean him, so no wipes ATM. He has a bath every night and we let him air dry before putting on some cream. I've been using Dermaid which contains only 1% hydrocortisone. I'll check at the chemist tomorrow to see if there is anything stronger, otherwise he might need a script. It is getting better but not as quickly as I would have liked.
I feel really tired today, I think I've been spending too much time infront of the 'puter. It's after 3.30pm and I don't know where the day has gone. There's still a load of washing sitting in the machine :rolleyes:
MCN Girls - I got my wholesale account approved so I've just ordered 10m of soft bamboo fleece for inserts. I got it for just over $14m and free shipping, I thought that was good. Thanks to Kay, Tan and Juz for your suggestions in chat the other night about inserts and materials.
I also got alot of fabrics delivered today. I have 7 shades of PUL and one of them is a hot pink which I really love. Too bad it's no good for Reece but I have young Cassi in mind for that one, with a "cute as a button" slogan on the bum ;)
Ren - That's a nice gesture taking flowers and a card to the old lady in hospy :)
Well, I'd better go and hang the washing out whilst we still have daylight left.
I have 7 shades of PUL and one of them is a hot pink which I really love. Too bad it's no good for Reece but I have young Cassi in mind for that one, with a "cute as a button" slogan on the bum ;)
Ohhhhh that sounds so cool! I am excited!
Bought Cassidy a sippy cup today while i was out shopping. She loves the idea of drinking out of it so i put some water in it (for the first time) and she sat sipping on it for ages. She was so excited once she realised what was going on.
Mmmm yummy (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000846.jpg)
Also took this one last night before she had her bath.
TV time (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000837.jpg)
Well Coen's sniffles are worse today, and other than the fact that he won't let me out of his sight - he isn't too bad... but he wasn't feeding so well this morning and his nappy wasn't very wet so l was worried about dehydration (his nose is leaking like a tap), he had a bit of a fever before (only a slight elevation) so l gave him some panadol... low and behold about 20 minutes later he had a really good feed, followed shortly thereafter by a good wet nappy - so am happier now...
Coen has slept so much today, 2 hours this morning, 40 minutes at lunch time, and l just took him for a walk and he is asleep again... so far about 20 minutes... my poor little mite... hopefully this will mean he will get better sooner... I wonder if his bad day sleeps have contributed to him getting ill (being hit harder with this cold)... all this week he has been lucky to sleep 2 hours during the day... that is just ridiculous... anybody else having this issue?
What a gorgeous day it is in Melbourne!!! I'm tempted to go and do some gardening... what is the weather like around the rest of the country?
Hope everyone is having a good day!:hugs: for all the sick bubs and their mamas.... oooh l think l hear him stirring!
Today I spent the day down at various shopping centres (mainly looking, not buying) and believe it or not, the Hallmark Christmas Ornaments are out already !! :eek: Of course, I couldn't help myself so I bought a 'babys first christmas' ornament. I guess once Fathers Day is over, the christmas stuff will be back on the shelves... this year has gone incredibly quick !!
There is one thing I saw today that kinda concerned me and I don't know if it is something I should have taken more notice of... there was a car parked in one of the car parks and next to it were several bags of (what looked like) food shopping. The bags looked a little ratty as if they'd been there for awhile. As soon as I saw it I started thinking that maybe someone had gone to their car with shopping and then been attacked or something... I'm sure it's nothing. Someone has probably dumped some rubbish next to car perhaps?
Sandy - Hope Coen gets well soon.
Juz - Clever Cassidy (Kaelan has no idea when it comes to cups). Love the rudey nudey photo... very cute.
Ren - How did you go with the flowers today? It'a very nice (and brave) thing to do. I think I'd be too chicken to face her (I still haven't even had the courage to see my boss from the hospital that I've resigned from... I feel so bad about it !!).
Hels - I must have missed your earlier post about Reece's nappy rash... poor little mite !! Wonder if it's from solids... or maybe his teeth.
It's been a lovely day in Melbourne today... a little windy... but at least it makes for good washing clothes weather !! :fingerscrossed: that the sun continues to shine in the coming days :)
Juzzy- expect some fluffy mail coming your way! I hope you like it!
Purplebird- yours is on order and being made! Might be a couple of weeks but it's in the process hun!:hugs:
mumofmonkey
30-08-2007, 18:45
hi all:wave:
hope everyone is well. i havent be on for awhile, we have been in QLD.
here are elizas stats weigth: 7085gm length: 66cm head: 41.7cm. growing really well
Enjoy chat tonight everyone, gonna snuggle with DH on the couch and watch a movie!!!
Coen went to bed easily tonight-- thankfully - l hope we make it through the night... last night we were up a bit cos of his blocked nose (and worrying about him).:hugs: everyone!! Sweet dreams
hi everyone!
where is everyone - people dont want to chat tonight??
hannah- i wanted to ask you..what other finger foods do you give? im giving eli things to hold and eat everyday now, he still has his puree but is getting better.
*Sparkles*
30-08-2007, 20:55
I won't be in chat tonight either. I am so tired I can hardly keep my eyes open! Definitely having an early night.
DH managed to work out how to do the snap fish with the drag and drop, so he's finished the book and just waiting for me to approve it lol. I'm going to give it to my mum for her birthday next month. Will probably get one for ourselves aswell. I think they are a fantastic idea. MIL will get one for Xmas too!
Thanks to those of you who sent me a photo for my website. Anyone else want to send one? I'll be making up the page next week and I'd love to have more BH bubs in it :)
Morning all
Well Lochlain is finally sitting up all by himself. Started doing it about 3 weeks ago but was still falling heaps now he can sit really well. It is so good now i can just sit him on the floor with his toys and he'll play for ages.
Now that he's got the sitting up part happening he is trying to work out how to crawl.
Every now and then when he's on his tummy he sticks his bum in the air and pulls his legs under but thats as far as he gets. It's so funny to watch.
Well anyway got to get going have to take mum to work this morning.
Sarieslittlemen
31-08-2007, 07:40
Good morning girls!
I didn't work last night and I think I'm even more tired today!
Mandi great news about Lochlain! Cooper will sit for a little while, but he's still falling over alot. He is moving around the floor really well though. He can now roll from his front to his back (which he's been doing for quite a while now) and back on to his tummy, and he's constantly on his hands and knees. He's done a couple of proper crawls, but he is still mainly just worming around. Which is quite fine, I'm really not wanting him to be too mobile yet. But he watches the other two and wants to be playing with them.
PJ also had his first nappy free night last night. He was very determined about 'No nappy' when he went to bed, so I gave him a go, he got the whole way through the night and had a little accident just as he woke up, I think he forgot he didn't have a nappy on. See how he goes tonight!
I did have plans of taking the boys out today, but DH slept through his alarm and had to take the car. What a bummer!
HI everyone.
i missed chat last night as my internet went down. :no:
got my first ebay package today - about 20 items of size 0 girls clothes for $20 total. what a bargain - some really cute outfits too.
lily has really settled into her day sleeps and is waking at 7am again now. i put her back on a more strict routine - the main rule i followed was no feed before 7am (unless she wakes at 2am or so but i am not feeding her at 6am for example) and regardless of when she gets up in the morning i am not putting her down again till at least 9am. it has worked a treat. (there was one morning when she cracked it but since then she has been much better).
off to get my hair done today - have a wedding tomorrow. plus i have to buy all the fathers and grandfathers gifts and heaps of other errands etc. actually i better get going.
have a great day.
Sarieslittlemen
31-08-2007, 08:07
Hi Sharon, I think I might try that with the feeding in the morning too. I try not to feed him straight away when he wakes, but he's been up alot between 4am-6am lately. With night shift I could use a sleep in!
And i forgot to mention that i also added an extra blanket to lily overnight - i think this might have helped as well.
SuperFrog
31-08-2007, 09:06
Morning all :wave:
This should be the second last day that I have to flee my house. Last coat of paint is going on the kitchen and lounge room tonight, flooring goes down tomorrow, and then I'll have my house back!
Am off to my Mum and Dad's place today. All this moving around has really unsettled Liam's routine and he has woken at 4.30am most mornings this week. Hope this isn't his new routine!
Hope the sick bubs are on the mend. :hugs:
I haven't been on this thread for ages maybe because i'm expecting again next march :) well Brandon turned 7 months old yesterday and he has one tooth its so cute he is doing really well he rolls everywhere eats three times a day and sleeps nearly all night.
Hi mumbron
My names Amanda and my ds is nearly 7 months. He has just started sitting up by himself, he doesn't roll yet i don't think he can be bothered to but recently when on his tummy has been sticking his bum in the air and pulling his legs up. He eats really well loves his food.
Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy.
Purplebird
31-08-2007, 09:52
Morning All :wave:
*KAY - I give Eloise pretty much anything and everything now. Here's a fantastic BLW blog which just goes to show how much babies can eat, lol!
http://charliesdiner.blogspot.com/
Ziggy - enjoy having your hair done! Hope the wedding goes well. That sounds great about Lily's sleeps - I'm about to do the same with night feeds too.
Mumbron - Congratulations on your pregnancy!
Mandi - that's great about Lachlain. Eloise is not great at sitting for long yet.
**Warning! the rest of this post will bore the pants off anyone who is not interested in MCNs, lol.
Here are some pictures of some of my stash:
This is a bambineo (which I love, love, love - it's silky and thirsty. I have 10 of these used with wonder wraps or fleece wraps), a Berry Plush, a Gadimal and a Drybees: http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60886.jpg
This is Eloise reading the business pages, wearing a Wonderwrap! http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60885.jpg
These are my Itti Bittis: http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60890.jpg
This is another wonderwrap and one of my Happy Heineys (little lambs): http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60891.jpg
I'm now awaiting 2 Blue berries, a Bitti Boo (THANKS TANYA!!!), a Bumgenius, another Gadimal, a Monkeydoodlez, a FuzziBunz. Oh, and bankruptcy...
Here, just for fun is a picture of Eloise eating some chicken!: http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60889.jpg
Hannah have another look at your post and retry the links! LOL I am so desperate to look at your stash!
mumbron congrats on the pregnancy!!
Can someone please suggest a way for me to encourage Cassidy to roll over? I have tried her favorite toy and everything, she doesnt roll over to get it she just inches her way along the floor by random movements until she can get it!
i have the same issue w ds who isn't rolling or crawling at all...
but the few times he did almost roll over, it was lying awake in my bed to get closer to me.. so one arm pulling onto me and thus making himself roll toward me, iykwim?
we do that in the mornings when he's awake but i don't want to get up yet.
Purplebird
31-08-2007, 11:54
Juz - think thats it now, lol! I'm so technologically challenged! If it still doesn't work I'll fix it later when I get back from Chaddy. Shopping, yippee!!
Its fixed now Hannah, good job! :thumbsup:
i still cant look at them though, as our internet connection has been shaped and its taking ages to load!! Cant wait until tomorrow when it will all be back to normal!
Hannah - Those furry nappies look fabulous !! I want some of them !! :D
LOL do we have another potential convert on our hands? :laughing: :yelclap:
You never know... :laughing:
I'm not quite the anti-cloth person you guys might think I am !! :D
Being as I am one of the ...er... older members of the Feb group, there has to be some consideration of the fact that in my time ("back in the old days" *LOL*) that I have cared for numerous bubba's over the years... infact, little known fact... I pretty much raised one of my friends daughters from newborn to 1 year old way back when I was 18 (and doing year 12 at the same time I might add). I really only ended up 'handing her back' to her mother because I moved away to go to University... anyways, I'm completely getting off-topic now...
The moral of the story is that up until Kaelan was born, I had only ever used cloth nappies on a baby... but they were terry flats... not MCN's. Even when I worked up in Corowa where we had a 5 bed maternity ward attached to our tiny 15 bed hospital, we only ever used cloth nappies. I used to spend my night shifts feeding babies and changing nappies... in addition to looking after the rest of the ward... I loved it !! So many babies to cuddle !!
As that was back in 1999-2001, I'll admit that I was completely suprised when I found out that hospitals these days use disposables as that was not what I was used to (and if you asked any of my friends, they'd verify that I had no clue which way a disposable nappy went on !!).
I had every intention of using cloth nappies after K was born (and that was when I didn't know that MCN's even existed).. I bought the nappies, the liners, plastics, pins and a nappy bucket.. but then I once K was born, I used the Huggies disposables at the Mercy Hospital... and I got completely hooked on them... which is quite ironic because my viewpoint up until then had been "why would anyone waste money on disposables when there are cloth nappies around" *LOL*
Isn't it amazing how one's viewpoint can change so quickly !!! :)
The stupid thing now though is I have trouble imaging going back to cloth.. it's almost I feel like I'd be taking a step backwards or something... even though using cloth is probably the most normal thing in the world. On the other hand though, I also think that once I use an MCN the first time, it will be fine... it's just having to break the habit of using disposables that very first time... if you know what I mean... I'm having so much trouble here trying to articulate my thoughts.
Well... there you have it.. my haphazard thoughts on life, the universe and everything (well, nappy related anyway). I'm absolutely willing to try out these MCN's for home use (may still stick to disposables when going out and for overnight though)... and financially it makes better sense for us.
If you got this far, then congratulations :) I can hear that Master K has just woken from his nap, so time for me to go.
Penny its all good
i had never entertained the thought of going to cloth until a month or so ago. I dont even know why i converted to cloth actually!
But it is alot of fun walking past the disposables now and not having to buy any (shes still wearing them at night, so every now and again ill have to buy a pack).
It can be quite alot of money for the initial outlay, well with MCNs anyway. But i found it to be great fun shopping and looking at all the pretty different prints and whatever. Even after bashing our visa and realising how much money i spent i am still happy that i bought them and wouldnt go back to full time sposies. I guess they will pay for themselves, especially if we have more children.
And i had no idea that some hospitals used sposies! Monash Medical Centre, where i had Cassidy was very much anti sposies, they used and promoted the use of cloth. So i guess Cassidy spent the best part of her first week of life in cloth nappies....
Anyway, next time there is a meet or something, ill bring some of my MCNs along for you to squizz at.
I just did some more online shopping, not for nappies this time, but for some large muslin wraps. Cassidy is getting to warm in the blanket she is currently sleeping in even with very little clothing on so i had to buy something lighter. Well, thats what i am going to tell myself anyway....
Sharon: Elly doesn't even look like rolling. Mia never did and all the neices and nephews havn't either??? Suffice to say Mia did crawl and of course now walks.
In saying that seeing bubs do it you know it is a great way for then to occupy their time and not get so frsutrated.
Hannah: That chicken shot is a gem. Elly was only 6 months on Sunday so have refrained from chunks yet, but not complete mash. I guess the choking thing scares me.
Should i just bite the bullet and see how she goes. She has sucked on water melon, some broccoli but the toast just got stuck..
Penny: I babysat cousins in the 80's and was a master with cloth. I think i have said before it just never entered my mind until talking to everyone here. Didn't know and still don't know anyone that uses them...well besides here. There certainly is a case for both. I guess i'm just a little lazy.
Well we are out tonight so better get my sh*t together. Have a god one everyone.
Where is everyone tonight?? Am i the only one who doesnt have a life?! LOL
Whats everyone doing for the weekend?
Not really sure what we are up to, DPs sisters are singing in Traralgon this weekend so we might be going to see that. Otherwise, if the weather is nice enough we might clean up the backyard a bit. Its looking a bit feral, guess thats our fault for letting it grow all winter!
*Sparkles*
31-08-2007, 17:56
Had a bad night as I had to get up to R 4 times! I think he has DH's cold. Hardly surprising when DH has been coughing and spluttering around us all week :banghead: I feel quite sniffly to.
But R does seem to have his appetitte back and after slowing down on the solids this last week, he has shown more of an interest today.
The nappy rash is getting better too.
What is everyone up to this weekend? We have nothing special planned, but desperately need to do some grocery shopping. And Dh is going to mow the lawns, I hope :rolleyes:
Guys Kay has started us a new thread for September it can be found Here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=117890)