View Full Version : Fab Feb Mummas (August Thread)
So, nice weather today huh??? :laughing: :p
yeah i feel like that too when i read what the melb mummas are having for lunch for the 50th time :sticks my smiley tongue out too: dif is i dont SAY it.
So, nice weather today huh??? :laughing: :p
alrighty then
so much for free speech
*turns laptop off and walks away*
*Sparkles*
11-08-2007, 18:51
Reece sat in a trolley today in the front part (where the big kids sit :p ). He only just managed it but thought it was wonderful. He hasn't slept much today so was over tired and cranky when we got home. He had a bottle and is currently having a sleep in his pram.
Does anyone give their bub baby food from a jar? I have bought some because I am quite lazy in the kitchen. So he will have a mixture of freshly made food and jars. I still can't find those Motherly cubes anywhere. Should I be looking in the frozen section? :confused:
Having a quiet night tonight and tomorrow. Although we have some friends calling in for a cuppa in the arvo.
P.S I think I am one of the only people who understands Penny's sarcastic sense of humour? it's an English thing, or comes from being partnered to one :p Anyway, her comment was only meant in good fun. I burst out laffing when I saw it :D
ohhh come back Juzzy....I was enjoying the MCN discussion AND when are you going to set up the cloth bum photo thread?? taps fingers impatiently!!!
What's everyone else up to tonight?
DH is working on his computer :rolleyes: and there's nothing on the idiot box
Hels - I've bought a few jars but haven't given them to Jackie yet...I think they wil be good for when were out and about...I haven't found the Motherly Cubes either and yes I'm pretty sure they would be in the freezer section - that's where I've been looking
Rightio then! I dont find that it adds to my washing to use cloth at all. I just throw them in with the towels or whites and im away- they take up no extra room. And really its no extra effort either- your washing anyway.
Just on the water thing- it takes 7 litres of water to make ONE disposable- and a whole lot less than that to wash a nappy.
I use sposies and MCN- so i dont have an issue with sposies at all- i do though have an issue when some say we are wasting water by using them. Its untrue.
hels - theres one called 'baby boost' and its in like a cat/dog food packet. its the same as motherly cubes that its fresh. cost about $1:60 and is a bit more portion size that a small tin of food.
i use a lot of custard tins. apple and fruit mainly but also some others.
and thats great that you got that and laughed but i just thought it was blo0dy rude.
seems to me when ever the conversation doesnt suit then a tantie is in order. i have a dd like that. we have to bring her down a few pegs every now and then just to remind her that she is part of a group ie our family and the world doesnt revolve around her. we do everything about her and make everyone stop and listen when she talks and she soon sees what we are doing and comes down off her stage. hhhmm hope shes over it by the time she becomes an adult cos its something that really bugs me.
oh BTW the baby boosts are in the fridge in COLES right near the yoghurts.
*Sparkles*
11-08-2007, 19:19
I've tried some of the baby boost packet one's, he wasn't too keen on the sweet potato but likes the pumpkin. He's also started opening his mouth a bit for the spoon which makes it heaps easier lol.
I'm a part-time MCN user, but use sposies more. But if I can get them to stop leaking (with the right inserts) I would use more of them. I have a great washing machine that senses the load size and uses minimal water (it's a front loader). I don't notice the extra washing and they dry after a couple of days on the airer in the spare room. Infact, I have a whole room devoted to drying washing lol, ah the joys of living in Melb!
Hang on... what are you guys getting your knickers in a knot for?? I was just trying to change the subject to diffuse the situation.
Sorry you took it the wrong way... I sincerely am :gloomy:
hels- ah another MCN user that doesnt think its more washing or a pain to dry ectect. im yet to hear of a mcn user that says its too much water or too hard to dry its more like cant be bummed using them :laughing: and i have my days like that and so he spends the day in sposies. oh well.
i buy the 'pumpkin and sweetcorn' and the ' sweet potato and broccoli'
and theres another one. cant remember it.
oh juzzy where are you?? lets start that MCN thread. theres enough of us and id like looking at everyones cute clothie bum babes.
but maybe we should just post them in here seen as tho it is our group.
Hang on... what are you guys getting your knickers in a knot for?? I was just trying to change the subject to diffuse the situation.
:
difuse what situation?
Ok so i took one idea from this and to post some pics of the kids in their nappies seems like a great idea! It might make people more interested and see why we like them so much!
So heres one of Cody in her starbunz nappy! This is one of my all time faves for funkyness!!( is that even a word?)
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2443.jpg
*Sparkles*
11-08-2007, 20:46
Ok so i took one idea from this and to post some pics of the kids in their nappies seems like a great idea! It might make people more interested and see why we like them so much!
So heres one of Cody in her starbunz nappy! This is one of my all time faves for funkyness!!( is that even a word?)
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2443.jpg
I love that piggy nappy.... very cool :thumbsup:
heres some MCN pics. feel free to add, copy and paste or skip over.
greenkids-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/000_0248.jpg
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4901.jpg
berry plush-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4488.jpg
ittibitti-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4610.jpg
woolies-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4620.jpg
babylegs-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4309.jpg
drying mcn-
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/000_0340.jpg
sorry all my pics are old ones i havent taken any for ages. heres one i took looong ago.
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/nappies.jpg
oh and a terry flat!
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4612.jpg
and ill chuck in a sposie pic too :laughing:
http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x84/my_lot_clothbum/100_4498.jpg
*Sparkles*
11-08-2007, 20:55
Wow Kay, that's an impressive stash! I have got only 2 photies of R wearing his GK's;
Red GK (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/RedGKNappy.jpg)
Yellow GK (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/MCNYellowGK.jpg)
Juz - I'd love to see the photos of Cassi in her new MCN's.
that stash pic is about 3 months old now. ill have to take some recent ones.
i love the yellow. i always seem to go for loud and bright my yellows are blinding. thats nice.
tan is that pig an AIO or pocket?
Ill will have to take some pics tomorrow as i havent taken any of her in them yet. Pretty funny considering i am usually johnny on the spot with the camera!
I think i just killed my laptop. I spilled beer on it accidentally so am using DPs, i hope not ill be sad if i did
SuperFrog
11-08-2007, 21:57
I think i just killed my laptop. I spilled beer on it accidentally so am using DPs, i hope not ill be sad if i did
Laptops are tougher than you think. I've dropped mine a few times now. The case is a bit dented on one corner but it still work fine. I also read here (http://barbhowe.typepad.com/lucky/2005/11/medium_rare_ele.html) about someone whose laptop was treated much worse than yours and mine.
i know Laptops are pretty tough. DP was not impressed, but he thinks it will be ok. The Mitac might live to see another day!
Kay- its a pocket! I'll be sending to you on maoday with a little jacket! Didnt get there on Friday! Will walk to kids to the Post office to tire them out for a day sleep:fingerscrossed:.
Juzzy- hope you puter is ok!
Hels- how long till you will have some customs made up? I cant wait to see them!
HA HA!!
I am the killer of laptops. If i am not on much during the week that is the reason why!!
Cats&Kid
12-08-2007, 00:17
Thanks Penny. How's Kaelan going? I've got the flu and Matthew's been sneezing a lot so maybe it could be a cold related thing too. The redness had settled down today - had gone sort of a dark brown. I didn't give him any potato today - stuck to things he's already had for awhile. I'm thinking of taking him swimming soon, is there anything you can do about the chlorine?
Thanks LMenz, I'll send Ziggy29 a pm. You'll have to take a movie of Jack. How long has he been laughing? I can only get M to giggle so far but it's so cute.
Hels, I've been feeding Matthew a mix of fresh & commercial food, have bought some of the baby boost but haven't tried it yet. He likes "Only Organic". Haven't bought any Motherly cubes yet, but the website has a list of available places.
Roopee: Love the photo of Cody, a perfect nappy for a little 'year of the pig' baby :)
Kay - that's an amazing range of MCN's, can't wait to see the updated photo.
Still have one very unsettled & unhappy baby here. Don't know if he's suffering from the flu or shots or a growth spurt. Taken to waking every 10 minutes for the 1st 2 hours of being asleep - ended up holding him for 2 hours from 4am as it was the only way he'd sleep - he'd wake everytime I put him down. Off to bed soon.
Hope everyone is sleeping well
*Sparkles*
12-08-2007, 08:11
Hels- how long till you will have some customs made up? I cant wait to see them!
I've ordered some software from the US (gotta love the exchange rate ATM). It means that I can d/load embroidery designs off the internet and put them into my machine. Once that's all set up I will do the slogans before I make the naps as I need to do them on the PUL fabric first (as I'm making pockets).
I think we could be a few weeks off yet. But all good things come to those that wait hehe :p
4.5 hours sleep! yay!
Go Eli! I didn't even manage that last night.....not sure if he's still sick or just playing us. DH was just about ready to crack as I kept sending him out to deal with Jack. He dropped the F word several times :laughing:
I think he's ready to not be wrapped.....at 5.30am I wrapped him with one arm out and he slept until 8am. I even heard him wake and settle himself back to sleep.
Loving the MCN pictures.....I had NO idea it used so much water to make a sposie... :no: How about that!
im still using DPs laptop, we will know for sure if i managed to kill mine later today. If i have killed it i will be starting a laptop hunt this afternoon, DP will just charge it to the business which isnt so bad as it can be a tax rightoff for next year.
I will take some photos of Cassidy in her MCNs throughout the day today and post them later. Ive already taken one but will wait until later so i can put all the different types on her through the day. Cassidy has just gone down for a nap as she was a real cranky bum when she woke up so i am going back to bed until she wakes up.
Purplebird
12-08-2007, 09:17
Hels - that's fantastic news about your appointment, really pleased for you :babydust2: .
Go Eli - keep up the good work on the sleep front, but longer than 4.5hrs would be nice!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: We have a huuuuuuuge fluffy mail coming soon, I had so much fun choosing MCNs last night! - I've gone for a selection of different types - including Gadimals and a new one called Bambineo; can't wait to post the pics when they arrive. If anyone wants a go at a Berry Plush lavender Fields (Medium 7.2 - 11.3 kg) pm me - Eloise has outgrown it, fat bum that she is, and I'm willing to part with it as it has hardly been used :) Otherwise I'll pop onto the nappy swap thread.
Hope everyone's having a good weekend. Juzzy, hope the laptop lives to fight another day!
You'll have to take a movie of Jack. How long has he been laughing?
He's been laughing for about a month now but yesterday was the first time he's actually laughed at someting himself IYKWIM?? Normally it's DH or I making silly faces or singing songs etc that makes him giggle....He must have thought the dog barking was funny!!
We've just had a massive down pour of hail!! Boo I wanted to go to the park this afternoon
I've always wondered what fluffy mail meant....Kay the chili pepper nappy was my favorite
oh and I don't think Jack is ready to be unwrapped...I just tried with his day sleep and he screamed the house down...MON - How did Liam go? Did it take long for him to settle? Much crying?
oooh i think tan or leashie might like that berry plush??
lauren- its no problem to keep wrapping if hes not ready ive asked a few people their reasons to stop wrapping and none so far have been becasue of a danger to the baby.
i think its really only a danger when they can roll over in their cots. eli can roll the full length of the lounge room but he cant roll in the cot while wrapped, but the minute he does it will be when he is no longer wrapped.
some still like it at 8,10,12 months.
do you like my AV? weve been looking at pics of ds1 at 1yr old. i only kept a few bigger size clothes from ds just the special things so i put eli in a jumpsuit the other day that grandma had given him on his first birthday. poor kid couldnt crawl in it because the legs were so long. the jumpsuit fits eli better at 6 months than it did ds at 1yr!
so i found a pic of ds wearing it and its amazing how alike they are in so many pics.
juz-you wanna charge one for me too?? actually i think ive already paid for one in repair costs to this **quote computer guy** "really old computer"
its 4 years old!!
I've always wondered what fluffy mail meant....Kay the chili pepper nappy was my favorite
?
the funniest thing ive seen on clothies on BH would be the new clothie section they made a while back. it was so new. one lady went on and on about her 'fluffy mail' she was talking about her baby mcn tho and the new thread was about LADY fluffy mail. as in cloth pads.
yes i love that chilli nap too. only i got it when eli was about 2 months and it was huge! it only just fits him well now. mind you it does have poppers on the inside front to fold over to make it smaller but that makes the belly really bulky.
am i converting you lauren??
wait til hels does the funky slogan, i bet you get one then :laughing:
maybe hells can make nappy covers for sposies? oh or is that just mummas to girls that use them? they do look so cute over a sposie under a dress.
SuperFrog
12-08-2007, 11:56
oh and I don't think Jack is ready to be unwrapped...I just tried with his day sleep and he screamed the house down...MON - How did Liam go? Did it take long for him to settle? Much crying?
Lauren - We decided to stop wrapping Liam not for safety reasons but for dummy reasons. He can put his dummy in (and out) of his mouth sometimes and we were having to do the dummy run a lot early in the evening as he couldn't put it in with his arms wrapped. Most mornings he would be unwrapped anyway... little Houdini.
We've made big progress on the settling, but it is hard to tell if it is due to the non-wrapping. Without being wrapped Liam does reverse worm manoeuvres on his back and will wiggle his way to the top of the cot, bump his head and start crying. So we put him in a sleeping bag and don't have those problems now.
Sleeping bags are on special at Best and Less, plus they had a discount on sleep wear. I picked up one for $8. Can't go wrong for that price! Also bought a bigger one for him to grow in to. The bigger one would probably fit Jack now if you wanted to try it out. I'm now thinking that by the time Liam grows into it summer will be here and it will be too hot for him. Let me know and I'll bring it to the next meet.
I’ll also talk sock monkeys with you soon too.
How’s Jack’s ear? Bit more settled now?
Jo - Probably a bit late now, but to settle Liam I will sometimes walk around the house and sing to him. I usually make up the songs though as I'm not a big fan of nursery rhymes. Poor kid will get to pre-school and he'll be all "Wait, what do the wheels on the bus do again? Mum never taught me that one".
Juzzy - Hope Cassidy has recovered from her vaccinations now. Liam needs his in a few weeks... fingers crossed that it goes smoothly. Might give him some panadol beforehand this time.
Hannah, Kay and others with sick kids - Hope they all get better soon. I know how hard it can be, especially when you are sick yourself. I can only imagine it must be harder with numerous sick kids.
Hels – Sounds like you have got a lot of business already! Can’t wait to see this machine of yours. Jealous much! And congrats on the IVF
MCN lovers - DH’s Auntie loves to knit and is looking for some new projects. So if anyone wants some knitted bum covers or some longies, I might have a knitter for you. Don’t have a pattern though, so just point us in the right direction.
Penny – I think I am raising a mummy’s boy here too. When he is a rebellious teenager you’ll be wanting your mummy’s boy back!
Kay – How did the shakers work out? Any pics??
Cats&Kids – Sounds like a good idea to go easy on the potato for a bit. Liam is always poking and scratching his face… sometimes looks like he has lost a round with our cat. I have to cut his nails every few days now. Tricky job.
Tanya – I’ve been meaning to ask, is everything back to normal now after the flood? From the pics of your backyard it looked like it would take a while to recover.
Sandy – Glad to hear that Coen is enjoying his food. Have you noticed any changes to his bf routine?
Big hellos to everyone else. :wave: Liam is singing out for his lunch so that’s the end of personals from me for a bit. I’d probably have time to get around to everyone if I didn’t write so much!
Liam just whacked me in the face with one of his hard toys. Hoping it doesn't bruise... embarrassing to be beaten up by a six month old hey?
Purplebird! I am more than interested in your Berry plush!! I'll pm you!
JoJoMart
12-08-2007, 12:22
Hi girls :wave:
Well DH has just managed to settle Liam after an hour.........he's still cat napping in the morning which means Liam is really tired by lunchtime. Will be interesting to see how long he sleeps for now.....THANKS heaps for the advice from everyone too. What seems to work eventually after a lot of crying is to rock Liam and sing/talk gently to him. He prefers if if I stand up and do this though so it's a bugger when I'm tired.
Sandy - I'm with you.........I don't think I have the extra time to wash cloth nappies as well. I'm used to sposies now.
Hels - that's great news about your appointment! You are lucky that Reece sleeps so well for you!! Liam's pretty good at night it's just the daytime that's driving me bonkers.
Solids - is potato a veg bubs are more likely to react to? We are going to start Liam on solids this week, after my MCHN appt. I'm pretty excited but I reckon Liam won't be that interested at first.......will see how we go.
Well I hope everyone is having a good weekend. Nothing much planned........inlaws popping over shortly and we're going to discuss the new pergola and decking we are planning to build.....DH is a DIY so he will build it with his brother and Dad.
Have a great one everyone
Mon- everything is pretty much back to normal yeah! The insurance money came thru a while back but the grass in the yard is STILL damp. Even though the last week or two we have had 20-25 degree days!
There are still places around that are condemmed- no one can lie in them and some families at scholl are doing it tough as they werent insured.
I donated a few things for them Fridges etc much to DH's disdain! His perspective on it "too bad- no insurance-not my problem" I try to get him too look at is at Giving the KIDS the fridge not the parents who would rather spend their monay on alcohol and cigarettes.
am i converting you lauren??
hmmmm????? Maybe??? I do like the look of them...just not the pooey washing!
I'd be into the sposie covers. I saw some cool ones on a website the other day with flames on the butt....still umming and aring about buying those
We've made big progress on the settling, but it is hard to tell if it is due to the non-wrapping. How’s Jack’s ear? Bit more settled now?
That's such great news about the settling Mon! Is he back to sleeping thru? Jack's ear seems ok...lots of gunk still coming out but I don't think it's painful anymore. Thanks for the offer of the sleeping bag but I bought one ages ago from best and less too. It's navy with a truck on it. I'm not ready to spend up big on a Grobag yet especially with summer just around the corner
Well I just put him down for a sleep and he was fighting the wrap like crazy.....he even laughed at me when I was telling him off - cheeky bugger! So I did one arm out again and gave him his dummy to play with and he's ASLEEP :yelclap: The reason I'm keen to stop wrapping is he's waking a bit in the night and is unable to re-settle himself if he gets out of his wrap, which he does all the time. I'm forever going in and re-wrapping......This is me at 4am :hair:
He woke up after 20 minutes :thumbsdown: Screaming!!! Ahhh!! He wont let me wrap him but cries when he's not wrapped.
Should I just keep persisting and eventually he'll get it?
Ok finally took some photos of cassi in her MCNs
Green Kids Strawberries (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000780.jpg)
Green kids plain (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000776.jpg)
Happy Heiny flowers (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000779.jpg)
Happy Heiny swirls (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000778.jpg)
Happy Heiny cows (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000777.jpg)
BumGenius pink (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000772.jpg) (this one was taken very very early this morning, so i apologise if its a bit dodgy, i was still asleep LOL)
This is clearly Cassidys favorite (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000770.jpg)
I am also waiting on delivery of my BabyBeehinds but looks like it could be a few weeks for those. When i eventually get to do my tax i will be spending up big as their are some gorgeous nappies out there!
The only ones i didnt manage to get a photo of were the Pea Pods as they are still wet after being washed this morning. I had fun taking all those photos!
Oh and big :hugs: to Lauren
sorry i dont have any advice for you, Cassidy is still wrapped for her sleeps and i plan to keep doing it until it is dangerous for me to do so.
Id try a sleeping bag or something similar, have read that people have had great success with them as babies can get the same feeling of being wrapped IYKWIM.
Good luck!
Yeah for liam!!! Sounds like he is really coming into his own - that is fantastic news Mon.
On the solids - l only give Coen about 3 tblsp of solids mixed with some breastmilk.... he could eat more l know - but l tend to give it to him before a breastfeed (l know that is not what they advise - but it just works best that way for us) which means in an hour he is very keen for his booby juice... So in answer to your question yes his bf habits have changed a little - he will no longer scream the house down at the 3 hour mark if he hasn't had a feed - but we are still doing 5-6 feeds a day - probably a bit shorter than what we were doing though... Right now l am giving him solids because he was hungrier - so the theory was that l wouldn't actually replace my breastfeeds just top up with solids... Coen is still a couple of weeks off being 6 months so l am still just playing it by ear for now...
happybirthday Happy Half Birthday to Bella & Billy (for yesterday)!!!
Juzzy / Tanya / Kay - Great to hear your views on MCN's - my opinion was totally uneducated - so l am glad to hear a balanced view of it from someone who has used both... I'd love to hear how you are feeling (you too Hannah) after a few weeks - I know Kay is a die hard and Tanya is a convert... who knows if we keep hearing such glowing reports of it we just might have to try it ourselves!!! My biggest thing is the washing of them (laziness) and drying, my clothes airer is full time these days and usually chocca's with clothes - Melbourne is difficult in winter (l don't like to use the dryer too much, but l guess l could chuck them in with the towels)...
Tanya - very cute piggy - serious question though (and l am not trying to be a smart @rse here) - can you get clothes over those ears?
I am a bit down in the dumps today - not exactly sure why...(if l actually was getting my period or was pregnant l would put it down to hormones - but l am not (on both counts) l just feel like everything l do is wrong, that l am fat, nasty.... all of those really negative things (and just to be sure - it has nothing to do with anything on here!!!) - I just feel like l want to cry - and l have no idea why! I just can't shake it - I am fine with Coen - and it is not me doubting my mothering skills - just me doubting me l think! I hope l snap out of it tomorrow.
Lauren - :hugs: - I would persist - but then again l haven't had a sick baby for weeks on end - just do what you can handle... it sounds like rolling when wrapped is very difficult.
mumofmonkey
12-08-2007, 15:32
sorry to butt in, iam new to this site and thought i would say hi. my DD was born on the 12/2/07. just thought i would pop in and chat to other mums/dads that had babies around the same time.
last weight at 5 month check was 6.410kg length 62cm and head was 40.5cm.
OK...for Jack's next sleep we did the one arm in and he went off to sleep on his own and slept for 40 minutes. I'll keep at it...hopefully he'll get the message. There's no way he could roll with how tight I have him wrapped....it's seriously like a straight jacket!!!
Juz - LOVE the pics! OMG how cute is the strawberry one!! It's adorable!
Sandy - Hope tomorrow is a better one for you :)
Welcome mumofmonkey :wave: I love your username!
Is anyones elses baby obsessed with the tags on their toys? Jack loves them - I might buy him one of those blankets with tags sewn around the edges...does anyone have one?
Another question.....Jack's doing 360's on his playmat and moving backwards - How long do you think before he's moving forwards? Is it a sign he will be crawling soon?
I think Lily (Ziggy29) had a reaction to potato. Am I right?
I think lily did have a bit of a reaction to potato. i have tried it twice and on both occassions her exzema got a bit worse. i have just decided to leave it out for another month and try again. regarding the sore eye maybe he could have rubbed some his hand into his eye and that could have caused an irritation?? i think it would be unusual to have an alergy (from digestion) only appear in one eye.?.
There are plenty of other foods around to try. lilys recent new foods have been baby oats, lentils, baby yogurt and avocardo. i did a big cook up and she can try broccoli, cauliflower, and parsnip this week. plus i use the baby food jars a fair bit - once every 1-2 days. she eats so much and it is a bit of a pain - she will easily eat a whole tin and then the same amount of rice cereal for each meal.
went to ikea today and i forgot to take enough food for my piggy so i even up mushing up some beans from my salad. well at least i know she can eat bigger chunks now. and she devoured most of a rusk (and it kept her entertained for over an hour).
as for the mcn thing - they do seem like great fun but i am trying not to do anything that will add any extra effort to my plate at the moment. maybe when i get on top of this fatigue thing i might give it a go.
lily has dropped her last nap the last 2 days so looks like we are only having 2 sleeps a day from now on. i am tired but she just keeps on going. anyone elses baby dropping a day sleep?
just remembered lily had her shots on friday - she had some fevers the next day and has been a bit grizley. maybe that is why she has been not sleeping in the afternoon?
here are her 6 month stats:
Length - 67cm
head 42.5
wt 7.4kg
not huge but on the 50% for weight which i am chuffed about as she started out under 10%.
got my pixie photoes back and they are great - will take a photo of them for you soon.
SuperFrog
12-08-2007, 17:12
Is anyones elses baby obsessed with the tags on their toys? Jack loves them - I might buy him one of those blankets with tags sewn around the edges...does anyone have one?
These would be sooooo easy to make. If you wanted to buy the material and ribbons I could whip one up for you. What do you think?
Thank you Mon but I posted in another section asking for some opinions and a fellow bubhubber has kindly offered to send me one her DS never used.
I think you should look into starting a children's range Mon!
Well this faaarking wrapping is doing my head in :hair: Tonight we did the one arm out and his usual bedtime routine and he settled and went to sleep on his own with no dummy! At the 40 minute mark he woke up howling..this went on for 45 minutes. I kept going in and reassuring him, patting etc..he just got louder and louder!
So I decided to try and wrap him fully - He won't let me!!!! This sounds so pathetic cos he's a small child but when I try to wrap the second arm the first one keeps coming free...I actually had to step out of the room I was getting so uptight (and DH is at the gym of course)
Anyway I got one arm back in and evetually had to pick him up he was so hysterical. I rocked him a bit and then patted him off to sleep in the cot.....I can't do this every 40 minutes :hair:
Any suggestions????? How did I end up with a child addicted to wrapping??? :laughing:
yes i did lote of tags on my cat playmat too. eli loves his tags
*Sparkles*
12-08-2007, 19:26
wait til hels does the funky slogans, i bet you get one then
maybe hels can make nappy covers for sposies? oh or is that just mummas to girls that use them? they do look so cute over a sposie under a dress.
Oh dear, the pressure is mounting now for these naps of mine! I hope they live up to everyone's expectations :o
:yes: I am going to make covers with slogans too. I'm going to start using them on R regularly as he's started leaking in his babylove's. Today he pee'd all over me and I had to change his clothes yet again.
I am a bit down in the dumps today - not exactly sure why...(if l actually was getting my period or was pregnant l would put it down to hormones - but l am not (on both counts) l just feel like everything l do is wrong, that l am fat, nasty.... all of those really negative things (and just to be sure - it has nothing to do with anything on here!!!) - I just feel like l want to cry - and l have no idea why! I just can't shake it - I am fine with Coen - and it is not me doubting my mothering skills - just me doubting me l think! I hope l snap out of it tomorrow.
I hope you are feeling like your old self soon :hugs: I felt like this last week. I put it down to hormones and the damn PND. It seems to pass after a few days.
sorry to butt in, iam new to this site and thought i would say hi. my DD was born on the 12/2/07. just thought i would pop in and chat to other mums/dads that had babies around the same time.
last weight at 5 month check was 6.410kg length 62cm and head was 40.5cm.
Hi and welcome :wave: with a username like that, you should fit nicely into the mad house lol
We had a lazy day today, DH has been working on the 'puter as some of the parts inside needed updating (that's about the extent of my knowledge).
Then this arvo some friends popped in with their little boy who is 3 months older than R. He's a lovely baby and it's nice to see what he can do now as R will soon be following suit. I'll post a photo of the boys tomorrow as I need to upload them first.
SuperFrog
12-08-2007, 19:36
Any suggestions????? How did I end up with a child addicted to wrapping???
Do you wrap him for daytime sleeps too? I started by phasing out wrapping for naps, but Liam only has 40 minute naps anyway so it really didn't change anything.
If you want to keep wrapping, maybe try using cot sheets. Much bigger, so you can tuck and overlap bits easier.
Also, how exactly do you wrap him? I've been shown three different ways, and one definitely worked much better for us than the others.
Harley- clothes over those ears? What? Are you kidding me? I wont cover those baby's up for anything-that nappy cost me $35!!:laughing: Seriously though- yeah, but they have to be stretchy pants-otherwise i have bought some big girls socks (5-10yrs) that i put on ad pull them right up so her legs are covered but the nappy is not.
On the washing thing- its honestly not any extra! Trust me i HATE washing-am a firm believer in disposable clothes-so if i can do it anyone can!:laughing:
Lauren- have you tried propping him on his side? A big no no from MCHN's and health proffesionals alike- however- its the only way any of my kids would sleep. Just a thought! Good luck to you.
hels- well.....you certainly will be busy wont you! Wonder if you regret mentioning it!*lol*
juzzy- those pics are so cute! I have the HH flowers one and the GK rose that you have. How funny! I think i might be off to grab some more soon hehehe.
mumofmonkey- Welcome to the group! Feel free to "butt in" any time! Your more than welcome here.
My names Tanya and i have 4 kids, Cooper 6, Riley 4, Baylee (girl) 2 and Cody (girl) 6 mths.
Kay- you STILL havent posted a pic of that mat! Where is it! I want to see how clever you are! Oh and guess what! I have a Cotton On Kids opening up less than 5 mins away from me! Yay in the same shopping centre where i work! Looks like i'll be trying to pick up extra shifts to pay for the new wardrobe my kids are about to acquire *Lol*.
I have had a massive day today! I started cleaning the house at 7am and have just finished! I went thru the toy room like a chick on a mission and threw out most of the kids toys! I always have warned them that if they leave their stuff laying around i will throw it out- well today i had had enough of not being aboe to walk into their room or the toy room and threw out 14 garbage bags full of toys ETC! My house looks so so clean and so so empty! Its liberating to take control of my house back!
Of course i didnt stp there- did both bathrooms, all 4 bedrooms, toy room, loungeroom- every room in the place!! Dh is too scared to touch anything now- as soon as he looks like he might mess it up i curl the top lip! Oh well- i'm guessing it will take about 2 days for it to be back to toys everywhere-(not that they have many left) and stuff just dropped at their backsides when they have finished with it!
Oh and some good news- a friend of mine has just gne into labour tonight so im sitting by the phone waiting for her call!!! Oooh i cant wait to hear from her!
Yes Mon he's always wrapped. I've been wrapping him in a special wrap with velcro since he was 6 weeks old....He's just far too stong for it now
If this continues into the night I'll wrap him in a cot sheet with DH's help (DH has to hold down one arm so I can tuck the other in)
I'm seeing the MCHN tomorrow for his 6 month check up so will pick her brain
It's just such bad timing as I'm sick and sleep deprived already :(
Oh well I'll soldier on.....
*Sparkles*
12-08-2007, 20:56
Here's a photo (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/ReeceMatthew2.jpg) of Reece and his little 9 mth old buddy Matthew (taken today). Not sure if you can see in the photo that Matthew has really lovely big blue eyes?
And I was wondering if anyone else's bub ends up looking like this (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/Muckypup.jpg) after a meal? :laughing:
Tan - Nah, I'm keen for the business, especially now the interest rates have gone up again :thumbsdown:
lauren- i use a flat cot sheet, have done for about 2 or 3 months now. no problems here.
i can take some pics as i wrap to show you the style i use. i was shown this at the sleep school we went to when dd1 was a baby and weve used the same style wrap with all the kids now.
tan- your day sounds like mine. we did 3 trips to the dump and have one trip ready for vinnies. im worried dp wont know our garage tomorrow when he comes home its so empty. he might think its next doors.
kay id also be interested in those photos as Cassidy is starting to get out of the wrap now so i think it is time to try a different style.
SuperFrog
12-08-2007, 22:05
Liam has really turned a corner lately. Again he settled himself in his cot to sleep for his night sleep as well as his daytime naps, even with my parents and the inlaws over. I didn't expect him to settle but thought it was worth a try, and what do you know, he exceeded my expectations. And last night there was not one single dummy run from 9pm through to 9.30am. Frickin amazing. I feel like a completely new person. Hope it lasts.
Sounds like an impressive clean-out Tanya. My Dad volunteers at a Vinnies store and buys stuff there for Liam all the time. Maybe we'll end up with some of your toys! :D
Night all. :sleeping:
Morning
After all my sleep deprived rantings last night - Jack slept thru! After that initial tanty (from him not me :laughing:) I didn't hear a peep. I woke at 4am and couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the time :)
I hope he keeps it up also..looks like the one arm wrapping is a step forward
Hels - Cute photo! There's not a lot of difference in size is there?
Mon - Well Done with the settling :thumbsup: Does Liam sleep longer during the day now he can self-settle?
Off to get chubby weighed today...I'll post his stats when we get back :wave:
mumofmonkey
13-08-2007, 07:30
good morning everyone :wave:
thanks for making me feel so welcome. hope to chat more soon.
hi monkeymumma would you like to join us in live chat on tues & thur nights? i can PM you the password if your interested. thats a good way to get to know everyone better.
ill get onto those pics now im just abput to put him down.
mumofmonkey
13-08-2007, 10:41
that would be great. ta
Hi... Just a quickie from me as I've worked night shift all weekend and I feel like I've been hit by a Mac Truck.
Lauren - (re: tags). When we were England, K's step-grandmother bought him a thing called a "Taggie". Not sure if they sell them here in Oz but apparently they are very popular over there. All it is two pieces of polar fleece sewn together in a small colorful triangle shape. It has a little squeaker in it... and it has several tags (of different textures) sewn into the seam. I was kinda thingking "WTF is this stupid thing?" when it was first bought for him... but seriously, Kaelan *loves* it. And it would be a really, really easy thing to make... (*looks at Mon*).. even I could make it... and that's saying something !! :D
(EDIT: Just looking at the Taggies website - I won't post the link, just google if you're interested - and they do distribute in Australia)
Welcome Mumofmonkey !!
I just received the Snapfish photobook that I did for free through Better Homes and Gardens Magazines... and it turned out pretty well... I'm rather happy with it. I know that Ziggy and Purplebird were also going to do one... so just know girls that it is worth the effort of spending hours making it look gorgeous !! :yes:
I'm thinking I'm making either a photo mug and/or a photo mousepad for DF for his first Father's Day... what are you guys doing??
Here's Jack's 6 Month stats -
Weight - 8.9kgs
Height - 67cm
Head - 44.5 cm
He's a little on the chunky side for his height but overall everything is perfect.
She thinks his bottom teeth are only a few weeks away. I asked her about the crawling too and she said it could be soon. Today he's started lifting his bum up when he's up on his arms - like a mini push up!
I kinda wish he would do it soon as the tanty's he's throwing out of frustration are driving me crazy!!!
He want's to go forward to get his toys but keeps moving backward instead! It's kinda funny to watch :laughing: What a mean mum I am!!!
Hope eveyone is well :D
I'm thinking I'm making either a photo mug and/or a photo mousepad for DF for his first Father's Day... what are you guys doing??
I was going to ask this myself....no idea yet I was hoping to pinch an idea from someone on here :p
Thanks for the taggies info too. I'll talk to you and Mon about it on Thursday :thumbsup:
ive decided to make DP a photo montage of Cassidys first 6 months. Am sorting out the best pics in the next day or so and will then be putting them on CD to be developed. If anyone knows where i can get a reasonable sized photo frame from that would be great!
The craft markets are good for frames... I sometimes go to one out at Yarra Glen (they alternate locations around Melb every week) and they had some fab framing stuff there... though they might be closed for winter.. Hmm...
Alternatively, I often buy my frames from The Warehouse, GoLo, Reject Shop etc... they're great !! Rabbit Photo also had some good specials on frames when we walked past the other day... and if all else fails Juz, I can get you 10% off all frames at Harvey Norman (yes, I know... a whopping 10% !! :rolleyes: :D ).
i want a fairly largish frame.... not the standard photo frame obviously!! LOL... have done some googling to see what i could find but i will have to hit the shops later in the week and have a better look.
Its still all a pipe dream at the moment, not sure if it is a good idea or not
thanks for the tip about the frames though!! all help is appreciated seeing as i am not overly crafty... lol
Purplebird
13-08-2007, 14:50
For father's day I'm going to get DH a mug with a picture of E on it that he can take to work. I'm also doing an enlarged photo - one of his faves in a frame. Not very imaginative but it will do!
Oh dear, have I got the tubbiest baby at 6 months - please let one of the others be heavier!! :laughing:
She certainly loves her food. How's this for a messy mealtime shot? It was broccoli and carrots followed by melon!!
http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u126/purplebird_2007/STP60852.jpg
hi how is everyone
Haven't been on for awhile been busy getting ready to go away leaving tomorrow morning.
Took Lochlain to the footy for the first time on Saturday nite he really enjoyed himself. Dp is a parramatta fan so went to a parra game (i'm a penrith fan). Brought Lochlain a parra jersey he looked so cute in it. He already has a penrith jersey but hasn't been to a penrith game yet hopefully will get to one before the season is over.
For those who wrap their bubs when they sleep does this help. Lochlain sleeps well in the day but at nite he's terrible.
He used to sleep right through the nite but he stopped doing it when he got sick and hasn't got back into it yet.
Luv Amanda
juzzy - i got a big frame from ikea yesterday. i know your husband is a bit geeky - have you thought about one of those frames that is a little monitor that scrolls through all your favorite pictures??
lily is quite unsettled this afternoon. dont know why she has already had 3 sleeps today. ive just put her down to see if that is the issue. all quiet so far :fingerscrossed:.
Purplebird - wow. great photo. is she doing finger food already. how does she handle chunks. lilys food is pureed but i am starting to make it a little chunkier.
Lmenz - glad you had a good night and lets hope that he turns the corner just as liam has done
well i has a terrible nights sleep again. i have turned over a new leaf today and am going to try to do some exercise daily and not nap at all in an effort to get my body clock back into zinc (sorry mon but cant spell zinc the real way). so far i did 14 mins on the cross trainer this am, did the house work, went to my cousins for lunch and just had a little power nap earlier so not too bad so far. and i ate a piece of fruit today as well!!
wow hannah shes eating 'real' food!! thats amazing....we are still on puree and after my scare at the shops that day i wont be giving anything else for quite a while. no fun flipping my baby over my arm and giving his back the 'wack of life'....
anyone else here doing finger foods?
eli is cutting his eye teeth, top and bottom so his two meals a day have gone to two teaspoons of spat out food. he doesnt want to eat anything.
his dribble is full on. he wets up every top and bib very quickly. hes worse than a big drooly dog
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5695.jpg
ok heres my wrap. its probably just what everyone does anyway...
its a flat cot sheet. fold down one long side.
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5731.jpg
put bubby on this head a little on the folded down bit (so not on shoulders) slip one arm up into the folded pocket.
then cross that side of the sheet over and tuck in under body very firmly.
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5735.jpg
then tuck the other arm into the pocket fold
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5736.jpg
then fold that side of the sheet over and tuck under body firmly
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5729.jpg
when he was a newborn we used the same style wrap only put his hands on his chest now we give him a little space.
i looked at those taggie blankets and its so much like what ive made for eli on his playmat. i made squares of different cats with velcro on the backs so they can be used on the mat as a matching game later on. also each square has stuffing, crinkle or a bag of buttons inside...as well as the tags on the hem. fun stuff.
SuperFrog
13-08-2007, 18:51
... an effort to get my body clock back into zinc (sorry mon but cant spell zinc the real way).
Do I have a reputation as the spelling Nazi?? It is synch, as in synchronisation, but we all knew what you meant. You've made me paranoid now... do I make you all feel bad about spelling?
Actually I do it a bit different... Liam ends up looking like a burrito when he is properly wrapped. Might take some pics tomorrow to show you.
Still haven't seen any pics of this play mat... c'mon! I wanna see!
mon you can fix my spelling any day...
i dont like it when sm@rt @sses use the same word in another post just to ..well.. be a sm@rt @ss.
Still haven't seen any pics of this play mat... c'mon! I wanna see!
Me too!!!
Kay - Jack has dribble like that lately....I'm so in love with the alpahbet mat I got him as the drool (and spew) just wipes off clean
We've had an average day...still getting the hang of one arm out and he wouldn't have his afternoon sleep so he was even harder to settle tonight but he didn't wake at the 40 minute mark tonight.
My bestie is 37 weeks pregers today and has been having period pains every 10 minutes ALL DAY!!!! She's a bit excited! I wonder if she'll go into proper labour tonight :detective: I'm leaving my moblie on just in case.....
My DH just asked me to iron his shirt for tomorrow......we need a smiley giving the finger!!
nope i do it a different way kay but i might give it a go your way and see if she can escape from it.
Liam ends up looking like a burrito when he is properly wrapped.
lol Mon i was trying to think of a way to describe how cassidy looks when she is wrapped.... that has summed it up perfectly!!
If i remember i will take a photo to show you all.
Purplebird
13-08-2007, 19:17
Purplebird - wow. great photo. is she doing finger food already. how does she handle chunks. lilys food is pureed but i am starting to make it a little chunkier.
Yep, I've decided to do 'Baby-Led Weaning' which basically involves skipping the purees and going straight to finger foods. There is research to back up this approach and I've been reading about it for a while and thought it made intuitive sense :detective: . The principal is that babies are developmentally ready for self-feeding at around 6 months and that, as milk forms the bulk of calories until 1 year, food is just for exploration of tastes and textures to start with. So, basically a baby gets offers lots of different foods to explore (within reason obviously, lol!) and decides what they like. the main safety precaution is that you shouldn't help them eat because the principal goes that whatever food they can get into their mouth they can handle biting and chewing themself safely.
Now I know some of you are probably rolling your eyes :D and that's fine - it's not for everybody! So far though Eloise has managed lots of things well and eaten a surprising amount, obviously as her grip gets better she'll eat more, which kind of corresponds with the gradual drop in breastfeeds.
OK - hippy rant over :laughing:
Is anyones elses baby obsessed with the tags on their toys? Yes, Coen is, so l will be very interested in all of these innovative ideas of yours Mon / Penny!!!
Welcome mumofmonkey - I've added your daughters details to the stats - l will circulate them again when we have some more 6 month stats.... what is your daughters name?
Thanks Sharon - have updated Lily's!
Thanks Lauren / Hels for the kind words -- and Hels its good to know that other people have these moments -- I have snapped out of it a bit... but still not quite myself... but there is light at the end of the tunnel...
Tanya - where ever do you get the time to clean your house like that - l cleaned one bathroom (albeit l got down on my hands and knees and scrubbed the floors) but l was pretty much done after that... DH and l have decided we are going to do normal cleaning weekly... but a thorough cleaning of one room per week...
Hope your feeling better Lauren - great to hear Jack slept well for you... and Yeah for Liam, Mon, you just feel like a new person when you have a good sleep don't you?
Hannah - So far Eloise is taking the biggest booba prize, 100g more than Jack - but Coen is yet to be weighed - and he had biggest booba prize at 4 months... so there is still hope :(
Oh - and my MCHN told me about that research... apparently it also helps babies be less fussy eaters... I know this sounds bad - but what a mess - I think l will get Coen a smock before l try that!!! What foods have you tried?
Great photos of Eloise and Reece eating!!! What a mess - but they look like they are loving it!
mumofmonkey
13-08-2007, 20:12
hi harleyq
daugthers name is Eliza. i will have her 6 month stats next week.
on the tag thing Eliza loves them too, give her a toy and she plays with the tag. its like the box kids all love the boxes things come in, maybe just buy boxes save a fortune on toys hehe
Kay i'm keen to see this mat as well or is it top secret.:p
Hels keep me in mind for some of those covers they sound great.
Juz I loooove the MCNs my fav is the cows and the swirls might have to get me some.
So i have some news. My SIL asked me to be her support person and she was induced today at 38 weeks cause her bub stopped growing and after 1 hour of labour :eek: she did 2 grunts not even a push and the baby was there the nurse wasn't even ready no gloves or anything so now i have a beautiful niece these are the details and some pics:
Ebony-Rose 5pound 9Oz/ 2535kg
Length: 46cms
Head:33cms
and she is sooooooo tiny
2min old (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Ebonysphotos1006.jpg)
30 min (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Ebonysphotos1010.jpg)
1 hour (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Ebonysphotos1011.jpg)
Marissa and Ebony 6 1/2 months apart (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/Ebonysphotos1014.jpg)
Next i got some pics of when i took andrew and bub to the local show
My boys (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/photos1212.jpg)
Andrew and I on Alice the Camel (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/photos1221.jpg)
Marissa kickin' back (http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/photos1207.jpg)
Hope you enjoy.
Alicia
xxxxx
SuperFrog
13-08-2007, 20:27
To have a word as a link, highlight the word that you want and click on the world with a link button. It will open up a new dialogue box where you can paste in the link. I can talk you through it on MSN if you are having probs.
***Leashie has figured it out now, but I thought I'd leave the instructions here anyway.
That reminds me, I have some pics of Liam that were taken yesterday. Will upload and post the links soon.
SuperFrog
13-08-2007, 20:39
Here are the pics of Liam taken yesterday. I thought they might make a nice series of photos.
One (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1947.jpg)
Two (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1948.jpg)
Three (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1949.jpg)
Four (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1951.jpg)
Five (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/IMGP1953.jpg)
Also have a short video of Liam playing with his rubber duckie in the bath (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkjHQHzZAEM). Some of you already saw this in the live chat last week.
wow alicia doesnt marissa look huge and so grown up next to a tiny little newborn!! it amazing how quickly it went. andrew looks little. i thought i was the only one with a tiny boy. go the camel!!! id never do that!!! LOL
heres some pics i just took of my 'taggie' squares from the secret play mat. :laughing:
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5747.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5748.jpg
you shouldn't help them eat because the principal goes that whatever food they can get into their mouth they can handle biting and chewing themself safely.
:
yep and bugs, shoes, lego, bits of dropped food, cat/dog food, grass and dirt and anything else they think is yumo:laughing:
really tho i found your post very interesting. i have a baby that wont eat anything thats not pureed. he spits it or gags. all my kids have been the same.
so i was thinking of trying your way...
but then i thought of all the times in one day that i will say "ah ah" "yucky" "spit it out" and i really dont think its such a good idea to let them explore and play with food. my mother always told me i should have let dd2 eat with her own spoon and hold her own foods then she wouldnt eat like a pig now....
maybe ill give it some more thought....
ive been showing dp the baby eating pics and he keeps saying eeew what a mess! funny thing is eli looks like that when HE feeds him!!
Thanks for the help with the links for my pics Mon.
While i'm here i should do my stats
6months
wieght:7.1kg
length:64.5
H/C: 42cm
So the secret is out Kay it took you long enough:laughing:
ok no more news from me my bum is numb from siting for too long so i'm off to bed.
Have a good one girls.
Alicia
xxxxx
here is a pic of cassidy wrapped for bed.
Wrapped bubba (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000802.jpg)
Kinda hard to explain how i do it.....
I fold down the top bit of the blanket, place cassidy at the top in the middle.
Arms are down next to her sides. Right side of the blanket crossed over her body and under her. Then follow with the left side and tucked under.
Bottom of the blanket is then bought up to her chest and either side is tucked under.
I used a bigger blanket tonight to see if it makes a difference, i think her other blanket was getting to small for her. If it doesnt work i mite try Kay's way of wrapping and see if that helps.
I bought some suits for Cassi a month or so ago from Target in a 00. Found them tonight tucked away in her draws. Her chubba thighs are too big for them and they dont fit!!! Takes after her mother lol
Leashie - oh wow - l remember those photo's- or rather l have some very similar... she is sooooo tiny! Congratulations on becoming an Auntie!
Mon - great sequence shots!!! Liam always has a secret glint in his eyes... like he knows something that we don't... actually now that l think of it - it is much like yours....
Kay - l could see Coen really enjoying those mats!! They look great.
DH and l just finished doing our Snapfish photobook - wow it takes a bit of time - but we're reasonably happy with it - l hope it turns out well! Penny can't wait to see yours on Thursday. How long did it take to arrive?
sandy- they are just squares from the big mat.
its very big, goes under the wooden playpen and overlaps. each square of the playmat is a different activity and all rolled into one with the cat theme. so some cats have funny tails that velcro on a cat. they can be swapped around. each cat itself is diffent that one has crinkles, plastic, stuffing or buttons (sewn into a bag sewn inside the belly off the cat) some cats have a pocket or pouch. theres a match game (thats what the squares in the pics are from) and a zipper and felt and other touchy feely things. even a cloth book, with a cat.
my latest project has been a trolly seat cover.
SuperFrog
13-08-2007, 22:17
Mon - great sequence shots!!! Liam always has a secret glint in his eyes... like he knows something that we don't... actually now that l think of it - it is much like yours....
I am a woman of mystery... what can I say?? :laughing:
my latest project has been a trolly seat cover.
Oooooh, I was just talking about making one of those recently. Have searched online for a pattern but only found some vague ones for US trolleys (or carts as they call them). Are you making it just out of fabric as a trolley seat liner or is it going to be padded as well? Please tell me more!
pic of cassidy wrapped for bed.
That's very similar to the way I used to wrap Liam. As he got older I didn't turn the top over to make the arm pockets so he could get his arms out if he really wanted to... usually when he woke in the morning and he would be happy to stare at his hands in amazement for 30 minutes. Those were the days! :laughing:
I also used to make sure that his legs were fully stretched out when I pulled the wrap up over the front, so that even if he curled them back up he would still have room to kick them around later whilst staying wrapped.
Does that make sense?
I was planning to go to bed early tonight but i just looked at the time and realised it is almost 11.30 pm. I am such a night owl. My body clock is about 4 hours behind what is socially agreed as the norm. Not enough to make me want to do night-shifts, but enough to make it awful getting up in the mornings. Having a baby has definitely been a shock to my timing mechanism!
its padded. its made. looks pretty good if i do say so myself.
i got the pattern from spotlight
That's very similar to the way I used to wrap Liam. As he got older I didn't turn the top over to make the arm pockets so he could get his arms out if he really wanted to... usually when he woke in the morning and he would be happy to stare at his hands in amazement for 30 minutes. Those were the days! :laughing:
I also used to make sure that his legs were fully stretched out when I pulled the wrap up over the front, so that even if he curled them back up he would still have room to kick them around later whilst staying wrapped.
She gets her arms out anyway... LOL Well usually the left arm as it is wrapped second and easier to get out lol. Yeah i have been leaving her lots of leg room as well as she likes to kick too.
When ever i walk into her room in the morning she starts to kick like crazy and waves her one free arm around like a crazy woman.... its pretty funny to watch, she gets so excited!
Well.. stupid shiftwork has gone and completely screwed my body clock up yet again. I ended up in bed at 8:30pm lastnight (couldn't even stay awake to have dessert... thankfully my parents were here to put K to bed)... and got woken up by DF at 2:00am when he came to bed after finishing work. I tried going back to sleep but ended up tossing and turning for an hour so I figured that I might as well get up for the day... so here I am.
Hannah - Love the photos of Eloise !! So cute.. and so messy !!
Leashie - Marissa looks like a giant compared Ebony !! It just astounds me how much a baby can grow in six months.
Mon - Love the photos of Liam. He's got such a cheeky look in his eye... I think he is going to have your warped sense of humour :laughing:
DH and l just finished doing our Snapfish photobook - wow it takes a bit of time - but we're reasonably happy with it - l hope it turns out well! Penny can't wait to see yours on Thursday. How long did it take to arrive?
It took about a week to get us which is a pretty good turn-around time. I think that the Momento photo books are probably better quality (and you can do more with page layout and design), however the Snapfish books are considerably cheaper to buy and more user-friendly to create, so it definately all balances out in the long run.
i got the pattern from spotlight
Oooh excellent... note to self - go to Spotlight. I too have been wanting to make one (and/or buy one when I completely stuff it up. I am very much NOT a sewer). Was it hard to make??
I got some good news yesterday... I have just organised my salary packaging through work and unbeknownst to me, I accidentally paid my mortgage twice this fortnight... so looks like I'll be getting a few hundred dollars back into my account this week. This is great news because I'm so broke at the moment... and this means I can pay off some layby's, pay bills etc.... A huge relief !!
However...
I taking my car to Holden in the morning. On Saturday night I went to drive to work and discovered that my headlights weren't working (I had high beam and parkers... but not normal lights). We initially assumed that the fuses were blown, but because they both went at the same time, we're a bit suss. Anyways, DF is completely useless with cars... and being as he wants to test-drive a new Commodore (like we can afford a new car !!), we're going to see if one of the guys at the dealership can look at it. I'm sincerely hoping that it will be a $2 fix... otherwise looks like my windfall this week will be spent fixing my car :)
Everybody else is posting photos... so you know I can't resist :D
Cheeky Smile (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_04.jpg)
Is this what you call 'eating your words'? (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_05.jpg)
Close-up Shot (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_06.jpg)
I don't have any swaddling photos because I stopped swaddling K a few months ago in order to get him to sleep in a Grobag (it never occurred to me that I could probably swaddle OVER the Grobag - D'oh !!). Anyways I took a photo of him early this morning asleep in his cot (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/aug07_07.jpg). My mother put him in the cot (as I was already in bed) and for some reason, she's layed him down on top of one of his blankets (he would normally be only on the bottom sheet). Me thinks I'll be having yet ANOTHER chat with her about potential SIDS risks.
Purplebird
14-08-2007, 07:04
Wow! Phototastic everyone - good work :) It's so nice to see the other bubs and how gorgeous they all are. Congrats Leashie on becoming an auntie!
Kay - I would love to see a pic of the whole of your secret playmat, it sounds amazing! Would you make me one?? Seriously - I'm sooo rubbish at sewing and don't have a machine anyway. I'm sure with 4 children and a wedding to plan you have heaps of time on your hands!
On the BLWeaning, if anyone's interested here are some links:
http://www.borstvoeding.com/voedselintroductie/vast_voedsel/rapley_guidelines.html#basis
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/uk_news/story/0,,2104921,00.html
Though I know what you mean about all the other stuff they put in their mouths Kay - may be this encourages it more which is not necessarily a good thing!!
Sandy - I'm egging Coen on in the weight stakes :laughing: It wouldn't be right for a girl to take out the prize! You're right BTW, you need industrial bibs for finger foods!!
Good Morning!
He slept thru again :smiliedance: Surley 2 nights in a row isn't a fluke???
All the photo's are great!
Mon - Liam is chubbing up...he's got a budda belly in the bath video! Cute stuff!
Kay - The playmat looks so great...Jack would go crazy over all those tags
Still waiting on some news from my friend...I've just texted her...oh I hope she's in labour!!!!
I will post some pics shortly - I want to try out the instructions Mon as given!
Here's some pics I took the other day -
Click here (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0399.jpg) and here (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0413.jpg) :D
SuperFrog
14-08-2007, 08:23
I'm in cuteness overload! Great pics everyone. Love the hat that Jack is wearing... my MIL is planning to knit me one like that :)
Penny... I almost didn't click on one of Kaelan's pics as I misread it as Close Up Snot. :laughing:
Liam isn't that interested in tags on toys but it sounds like most other bubs are. Might have to try making a tag blankie. Hmmmmm.....
Third post coming...
Jack's paying me back for sleeping thru - He won't go down for his nap.......He's refused the boob, solids and is currently going around in circles on his tummy squealing :devil6:
Looks like it's going to be one of those days
Good going Jack!
Penny - That first photo of K is just gorgeous!!
Kay - I have been trying to picture the mat in my mind from previous descriptions - it was great to see a part of it.... it sounds like loads of fun! Coen would be jealous (l'm sure) if he saw it!
hannah- i read both those pages, thanks. i am very interested and may give it a go. i should get the roof of his mouth checked again first. after the last chunky food trial when he choked i think its worth seeing to that. we had this high palet problem before and dd1 was still on puree/mush at 1 yr old (not for lack of teeth- she had 12 teeth at 12 months!)
so im not kidding that my kids all were like this. dp thinks its a good idea to try him. we are both amazed at all the problems we had with the other three that we just dont have with eli. took us four kids to get a normal one!
hes (dp) been really getting into BH :laughing: he said that first pic of jack looks like hes 'on the run' and the second one he said he wants a shirt like his :laughing:
also hannah the playmat wasnt hard to make, even dd8 was sewing some things for it, but its just finding the time...do you have a machine?
penny- the pattern for the trolly seat wasnt that easy. i asked dp to bring home a trolly (we live right by the supermarket) and he said "last time i did that you yelled at me that i was a HOBO!" but it would be easier to make it in 3 parts. if you get a trolly you could make your own pattern.
hes (dp) been really getting into BH :laughing: he said that first pic of jack looks like hes 'on the run' and the second one he said he wants a shirt like his :laughing:
My DH want's a matching one :laughing:
Cassidy has started waking at 5am cause she is hungry, i thought it may just have been part of the aftermath of immunisations but no, its nearly a week now and im putting it down to stopping solids. So we are starting again.
Here was this mornings attempt at some custard
Mmmmmm yummy (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000806.jpg)
It went everywhere, took me 20 mins to clean up the highchair not to mention cleaning up Cassidy!
Oh and here is Cassidy and Cappy (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000811.jpg) my cat. They were just chillin' on the playmat after i cleaned Cassi up
me again! :laughing: :wave:
one more photo, just cause i can (cant half tell that i have nothing to do today)
Baby Legs (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000813.jpg)
Got them in the post this morning, shame Cassidy is more interested in the post bag than anything else :laughing:
*Sparkles*
14-08-2007, 11:12
Great photos everyone. This is how Reece sleeps, and has been for the last couple of months;
Cot photo (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/Cot.jpg)
Except he doesn't have a dummy anymore.
Here's another one of him enjoying his food!
Mucky Pup photo (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/Muckypup3.jpg)
Last night DH tried to feed him his dinner (peas) and he wasn't that keen so he blew a big raspberry and sprayed it all over DH :laughing: So we gave him some pumpkin instead which he scoffed.
Tonight I am trying cauliflower. I don't puree anything, I just mash and he seems ok. He loves bananas so he's having that shortly, he's not even up yet! lazy toad hehe.
Off to the post office soon, nice to see the sun shining outside for a change.
Hels - Coen sleeps just like Reece - identical!!!
To all those on solids - l bought a plastic velcro tie bib from ToysRUs for $3 that is just wonderful, it is quite large, covers his whole front, has a pocket for any food that dribbles down the front and can be done up as tight or loose as you want (tight for us so the food doesn't slip down his neck) - it makes dinner time a lot easier for us...
Hannah - Thanks for posting those links - l haven't had a chance to read them yet - but am really looking forward to it - was going to do some research - now l just have to read!!!
Okay - so l have been the slackest mum on earth and haven't been posting my photo's so here is an update...
Coen in his new hoodie (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMG_2635.jpg)
Coen's first taste of food (farex) take 1 (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMGA0094.jpg), take 2 (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMGA0093.jpg), take 3 (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMGA0092.jpg)
Coen's first hike (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMG_2618-1.jpg)
Mumma's bad hair day (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMG_2628.jpg)
And cos l have realised how many photo's l don't have - a couple of cute ones in his overalls - don't you just love overalls - and l loooooooooooove red!!!
Today (http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMG_2653.jpg)
Just Kicking Back
(http://s149.photobucket.com/albums/s49/harleyq_album/6th%20month/?action=view¤t=IMG_2648.jpg)
Okay - done!!!!
I love looking at all the photos. Lauren - l almost bought Coen that Mmmmm Boobies top, but couldn't find it in his size!
Great photoes everyone. coen looks so crown up. liam is such a cutie - great pjs. all the boys are beautiful - makes me want one of my own. the girls are georgous too.
just wanted to share that for the first time in about 3 days lily is feeding well during the day and it feels like my breasts are emptied and not engorged for the first time in ages!! horray. what a nice feeling.
Jack's only had two 20 minute sleeps. He's finally asleep now...I actually let him cry it out today. Nothing I did worked (I even gave him his dummy back) so I just let him go for it. I feel really guilty.
Some days I feel like it's one step forward ten steps back. Am I the only one?
That is great news Sharon!
lauren - no you are not the only one.... Coen had one sleep of 20 min. today also... these kids just love to throw curve balls our way...
SuperFrog
14-08-2007, 15:01
More cute pics... we all make cute babies, don't we??? Yay! :smiliedance:
Sandy - Liam has that same red top... I'm a sucker for red too! :)
Got some stuff today to make some tag blankies. Will be a fairly simple small flat blanket, not stuffed. Hopefully I'll get one done to bring to the Melb Thursday meet.
We are heading over to our friends' house tonight. DH sketched a mural on their son's bedroom wall a few weeks ago. They have painted it, so DH is now going to outline everything and give the final touches. Funny... we are decorating someone else's walls when Liam's room has had nothing done to it. Oh well.
Nice sunny day in Melbourne today. I've put my washing on clothes horses and have them outside in the sun. Builders have mess in the backyard so I had to put them out the front. Hopefully no one steals my undies!
SuperFrog
14-08-2007, 15:05
All the boys are beautiful - makes me want one of my own. the girls are georgous too.
I feel this way about girls sometimes... purely for the cool clothes that are out there for girls!
just wanted to share that for the first time in about 3 days lily is feeding well during the day and it feels like my breasts are emptied and not engorged for the first time in ages!! horray. what a nice feeling.
:smiliedance: Go Lily, Go Lily, Go, Go, Go Lily! :smiliedance:
Some days I feel like it's one step forward ten steps back. Am I the only one?
I know the feeling. It could be worse though... at least there is one step forward so you are only nine steps back. :D Hang in there... things will get better soon I'm sure.
*Sparkles*
14-08-2007, 18:19
Forgot to add this photo earlier... here's my little man feeding by himself;
Clever Boy (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/Selffeeding.jpg)
I'm busy buying nappy making fabric, there's so much to choose from!
Will try to make chat later.
Sleep vibes coming your way Juzzy, Kylie...
Sleep Cassidy / Matt Sleeeeeeeep:wizard:
thanks for the sleep vibes Sandy
Clearly it hasnt worked tonight.
She woke up at 420 this morning, has now been doing this every night since she was immunised, so a week now.
My theory that she was waking from not having solids has gone out the window so i dont know what it could be
I know i cant complain as she has been a good sleeper until this point but geez im so tried from it. By the time i get her to sleep and then get myself back to sleep its time to get up again!
I know the feeling. It could be worse though... at least there is one step forward so you are only nine steps back. :D Hang in there... things will get better soon I'm sure.
Thanks Mon...I know it will. I'm having a pity party atm
By the time i get her to sleep and then get myself back to sleep its time to get up again!
I sooo hear you Juzzy! Jack did this for nearly 3 months. Is she waking up hungry? If so it could be a growth spurt. They tend to have one around 6 months.
US - Jack only woke for a quick re-settle at 2am..I can barely even remember getting up to him. I just need to get his days sorted now.
yeah i am thinking a growth spurt could be the reason for her waking as she is hungry when she wakes. How long do they usually last for?
i feel totally dead this morning. DP woke me at 730 and asked me to make him breakfast..... hmmmmm i think not. He doesnt wake when i get out of bed now.
we had a 3am wake up/feed then 5:45am wake up/feed/ start the day.
i have to move everything off the floors we are getting the carpets cleaned tomorrow AM. four kids and one dog to get out the door by 8:30am
- oh what fun
How long do they usually last for?
Up to two weeks....my DH doesn't even hear Jack cry now...frustrates the sh!t out of me
Well he's done another 20 minute sleep this morning...I've had enough :mad: I got him up, fed him again then wrapped him fully and told him it was time for sleep.
we had a 3am wake up/feed then 5:45am wake up/feed/ start the day.
i have to move everything off the floors we are getting the carpets cleaned tomorrow AM. four kids and one dog to get out the door by 8:30am
- oh what fun
Thats my everyday! Minus the dog or course lol. Its so much fun :rolleyes:. I can here you now Kay!
" get your backsides in your car seats NOW- we are going to be late!!"
OR
"hurry up and get out that front door- if we dont leave NOW that bell will go and YOU wont be there!"
Just a little snippet from my 8.30am dialogue lol.
We had a good night apart from DD1 coming into our bad at 3 am! I dont mind if she gets in there but i DO mind her laying sideays across the top of the bed! A heel in your eye socket is NOT comfortable! I kicked DH out and he got into her bed nd she layed on his side hehe.
Im tired now though- after the marathn chat last night.
Soon as Cody goes to bed this afternoon its nanna nap for me!
juz- are you still hunting mate? I've finished all the regular sites now and just have the extreme ones left. I have done one of them but need 5 more- man they are hard work!! I wont be doing them till after my sleep today though- need all your wits about you when attempting those.
MIL bought an outfit for Cody yesterday and seriously it has to be one of the ugliest ensembles i have ever seen. Sorry to anyone who hs it- just not my thing lol.
here it is-
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2464.jpg
and another
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2462.jpg
And this is a cake i made the other day for a friends baby shower. It took ages as i handpainted all the decorations but i think it turned out well in the end.
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w80/roo_pee/DSCN2461.jpg
juz- are you still hunting mate? I've finished all the regular sites now and just have the extreme ones left.
MIL bought an outfit for Cody yesterday and seriously it has to be one of the ugliest ensembles i have ever seen.
And this is a cake i made
I am still hunting, i have got 39 took me three days to get those but havent done any hunting in the last week cause have been dead tired. I mite have a nanna nap this arvo and see if i can find some then. Good on you for having the extreme ones left, i doubt i will get that far!
As for that outfit, yeah it is pretty ugly, sorry to your MIL but thats bad taste in my eyes!
Oh and love the cake! :thumbsup:
Up to two weeks....my DH doesn't even hear Jack cry now...frustrates the sh!t out of me
Great!!! another week of very little sleep!! Like i said before i dont really have the right to complain as she has been a really good sleeper until this point! I dont know how everyone who has a bubba who wakes regularly copes!! I am already feeling like that :hair:
DP sometimes hears her..... and then he rolls over, wakes me and says "Cassidy wants you" :banghead: Get up to her yourself you lazy sh!T
HarrisonsMum
15-08-2007, 10:33
Hello all,
Not sure if you remember me as its been nearly three months since i got on here.
I haven't relly read back as that would take me hours of which i don't have.
What have we been up to well:
Harrison and i went up to townsville and spent some time with my sister which was great. We got back and discovered that i am pregnant again. This new bub is due on valentines day.
Harrison is now on solids once a day and holds his own bottle 50% of the time.He can roll from front to back nd back to front and i say he will crawl pretty soon.
hope you are all doing well and are enjoying each and every day we get with our little ones. they grow up so quick. I will try to get on here more often now that life is settling down. Have a great day all.
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 11:29
Wow! Congratulations Bernie!
Great to hear from you again. Obviously you've been busy doing other things. :laughing:
What on earth is this hunting that juz and tanya are talking about? Is this MCN hunting or am I missing something?
Liam and I went to the park this morning. I took some pics on my phone but I can't get them off as the bluetooth doesn't seem to be working.
I put the baby monitor on DH's bedside table, so if L wakes during the night he will definitely hear it. :D
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 11:30
Size 7 font is a lot bigger than I thought it would be!
we are talking about the great down under nappy hunt (GDUNH) http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=103205
:babydust2:
Congrats Bernie!! :babydust2:
MIL bought an outfit for Cody yesterday and seriously it has to be one of the ugliest ensembles i have ever seen
LMAO - Thanks for posting that Tan..I needed a good giggle! Cody seems to like it though ;)
"Cassidy wants you" :banghead: Get up to her yourself you lazy sh!T
hehehe......I've had that exact thought many many times. Juz the spurt might not last that long. If it goes longer then you know it's not hunger..she's just being naughty
:yelclap: CONGRATS BERNIE!!! :yelclap:
exciting stuff!!
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 12:19
Who thought up that outfit? "It's like a leopard print, but it's purple. Who's with me on this one?"
GDUNH - Thanks for clearing that one up. For a minute I thought you had 39 MCNs on order!
With solids, how do you know when they have had enough? I just fed Liam a tub of baby yoghurt and a mashed banana, and I think he would have eaten more. I don't want his tummy to be too full, and I don't want him to puke it back up all over me. He's not screaming for so I'm guessing it was probably enough.
Tanya - that outfit is hideous - what on earth was she thinking???? On the flip side - that cake is fantastic - have you done a professional cake decorating course?
Bernie - Welcome back!!! And CONGRATULATIONS!!!
On growth spurts - l am with Lauren on this one - usually last about 2 weeks - how many feeds is she having during the day - solids and milk? Can you cluster feed for the last few hours? I found this helped with out last growth spurt... that is, feeding every hour or so for the last 3 hours (or so)... I hope it improves shortly for you Juzzy - l kinda know what it is like - Coen went from waking 1 -2 times during the night -to not waking at all - but deciding 5 am was morning - he did that for about 2 weeks - then it got gradually later... i was initially happy with anything that started with a 6--- now l want 7 onwards (yes l am greedy) - and this morning he gave me until 7.20 which would have been wonderful but l couldn't relax - DH was the same - he went and put his hand on his chest to make sure he was still breathing.... paranoid???
Holly_Golightly
15-08-2007, 12:42
I should finally say hello :wave: rather than being a lurker.
Addicted to this thread as my bub is a 11th Feb boy.
Following the sleeping posts as DS sucks at this. Following the MCN posts too but am very scared I will start another buying addiction.
DS stats are:
6 months
Weight: 9.6 kilos
Length: 69.5 cms
Head circ: 45.5 cms
DS is both BF and FF and enjoying his solids. Is sick with the flu at the moment so a bit unsettled.
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 12:53
Love the name Holly Golightly... I have a Breakfast at Tiffany's poster in my lounge room. Welcome aboard!
Completely missed the pic of that cake. Looks great! I love to decorate cakes, and used to work at a Cheesecake Shop, but I haven't done any for ages. My sister is the cake decorator in our family. Her cakes are amazing.
Welcome holly_golightly, what is your son's name? and yours? Hannah you will be pleased to hear that we have a new leader for the 6 month fattest booba prize (don't worry holly_golightly - Coen took out the prize last weigh in (4 months) - he won't be weighed for a couple of weeks yet, but he will be vying for his title back)
How is every one's day going?
Purplebird
15-08-2007, 13:34
Love the cake Tanya, but that outfit is, well, shall we say "different"!
Congratulations Bernie - that's great news!
Welcome Holly Golightly - hope to 'see' you around more. I'm glad to hear your bub weighs more than mine! What's his name??
Juzzy - Hope Cassidy settles down for you soon and goes back to a later wake up.
Sorry I left chat suddenly last night - I pressed the wrong button and closed it down - oops! Eloise then started crying so I toddled off to bed.
Eloise is soooo grumpy today - I just can't do anything right so I'm not even trying now! She hates being on the floor, she just wants to be held or to play in her exersaucer - I'm trying to limit that otherwise she'd be standing up all day. She's driving me nuts - think I might head out for a walk and put the ipod on so I can't hear her!
Purplebird
15-08-2007, 13:37
Hannah you will be pleased to hear that we have a new leader for the 6 month fattest booba prize
I prefer the term 'robust' :laughing:
How is every one's day going?
Started off crapola....getting a bit better! I'm about to go buy a replacement part for my vaccum....oh what an exciting life I lead!! :yes:
What about you?
I prefer the term 'robust' :laughing: LOL - Okay robustest booba prize then :p
My day is going really well - :fingerscrossed: I hope l am not about to jinx myself - it started off well with Coen sleeping until 7.20, and although he hasn't slept for longer than 40 minutes at a time yet, he is now down for his 3rd nap of the day and has gone to bed very very easily all day... Mum came over today - she played with him - l did a bit of gardening, made the hedgehog for tomorrow... and that's about it - just deciding what l am going to do for the rest of the arvo! Don't you just love it when you have a good day - unfortuntley however l am about due for a bad one - hope its not tomorrow!
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 15:26
Liam has been asleep for over 2 hours now. This is unheard of during the day! I'm going to the park and will tire him out on the swings every day.
Have spent the extra time crafting... not cleaning my house like I should have. I keep thinking he'll be awake any minute, but so far he has kept on sleeping. I've been in there a few times to check that he is still breathing. All good!
Suppose I should think about making dinner.
mumofmonkey
15-08-2007, 15:44
hi all. my day has been ****, had to take hubby to airport this morning on the way got a flat tyre and he missed the plane. was meant to go the mums group after that couldnt find the street, spent 1 hour settling Eliza, to have her wake after 5 mins and been crying ever since (yeah for me). she is due a feed soon so hopefully that might help.
cant get any worst right?
Sorry your having a bad day mumofmonkey - sounds like my day yesterday...I hope Eliza settles down for you :)
I want Sandy and Mon's day!! Especially the two hour sleep...I take it you'll be bringing the tag blanket tomorrow then Mon? ;)
Well I'm back to wrapping for day naps...I can't take the 20 minutes sleeps. I just put him down which is really late for him but he went off just listening to his music....definately not missing the dummy! I'm almost confident enough to throw them in the bin
Holly_Golightly
15-08-2007, 16:05
Oh dear! Yes I do seem to breed robust babies. I think I'll use that next time someone calls him fatso.
His weight gain has actually slowed dramatically so don't doubt that lots of babies will be catching up. He was 8.9 kilos at 4 months so hasn't gained a great deal since last weigh in. He has had 2 colds in that time and seems to be naturally cutting back on feeds.
By the way, my sons name is Noah. Noah has been grumpy today but seems to be sleeping more :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: . I should be doing the ironing but am on her instead.
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 16:27
...I take it you'll be bringing the tag blanket tomorrow then Mon? ;)
Have temporarily changed my avatar pic to give you a sneak preview. :D
*Sparkles*
15-08-2007, 16:28
Bernie - Welcome back and congrats on the pregnancy. 2 bubs within a year, you'll have your hands full!
Tan - When I saw that photo I immediately thought it looked like an outfit that a celebrity would dress their kid in (eg Gwen Stefani) and think it was trendy because it cost $1000 or something :laughing:
Holly_Golightly - Welcome :wave:
Us - I have been busy, I've ordered enough materials to make 60 pocket naps and a few covers :eek:
I love sniffing out a bargain though, and with the great exchange rate most of my supplies are coming from overseas. I got my embroidery software in the mail today too. I just need to get DH to set it up for me and then learn how to do it all :rolleyes:
R has been his usual self today, he got up at 1pm so he didn't have his morning solids, he will just have dinner today. He's not that fussed anyway but I keep trying.
Good news... I've lost 2 kilos all up and I tried on the dress today. It fits but still not as comfy as I would like. I had a look inside the seams to see if I could make any adjustments. And lo and behold it had already been sewed in! So I've let the seams out and it's given me about another couple of cm's which I hope will be enough, along with some of that "suck your belly and fat bits in" minimiser underwear lol. I guess I'll be alright if I breathe in all day and don't sit down in fear of the dress ripping!!!!
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 16:33
Sorry to hear that people have had cr@ppy days. I'll probably have a bad day when you have a good one.
Does anyone else's bub have problems with the concept of a teething ring? Liam will play with them, but won't put it in his mouth. I thought it might have been too cold, but even when it is warmed up he won't munch on it. I've got a few different ones but still no go. His rubber duck is his adopted teething ring I think... maybe I should put it in the fridge!
Have temporarily changed my avatar pic to give you a sneak preview. :D
Ohhh looking good :thumbsup: Can't wait to see it in the flesh.
I haven't posted an eating pic for a while and I thought this one was pretty good
Mum, I don't feel so good.... (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0435.jpg)
SuperFrog
15-08-2007, 16:37
Can't wait to see this embroidery machine Hels. Does it only do pre-set stuff or can you do your own original designs?? And can it sew through thick material?
mumofmonkey
15-08-2007, 16:46
Eliza is finally asleep for now, hope she has a good nap:fingerscrossed: .
should be doing some house work but oh well, it will still be there later hehe.
No house work for me got a headache, i guess sitting at the laptop doesnt help either.
Cassidy is asleep, has been since about 3.45 hope she stays there for another hour.
Got my baby beehind magic alls in the post today, have thrown them in the wash and if they dry will hopefully get to try them out tomorrow.
mumofmonkey
15-08-2007, 17:04
asleep since 3.45, want to swap:) . i could only dream of Eliza sleeping that long
QUESTION - When you say how old your bub is do you go by weeks or months?? 26 weeks = 6.5 months??
Not sure if I'm explaining it right :confused: Jack was born 6 months to the day today but is 26 weeks on his ticker thing...
Does anyone know??
Lauren i go by months. Cassidy will be 6 months tomorrow for example. I get confused counting weeks so its easier to go date to date with the months.
My prediction was right, slept til 7pm. All i need to hope is that she sleeps all night tonight
JoJoMart
16-08-2007, 08:18
[quote=LMenz;1799153]QUESTION - When you say how old your bub is do you go by weeks or months?? 26 weeks = 6.5 months??
Lauren - I've just been saying 'nearly 6 months' unless someone asks how many weeks.
Welcome to mumofmonkey and Holly_Golightly. I've been in this thread for ages but I'm not on here every day. Also welcome to any other newbies I've missed :wave:
No personals from me today, as I'm hoping to make it to the Melbourne meet today.
Have started Liam on Farex on Tuesday and he's reluctantly taking a few half teaspoons at a time........I gave it to him half an hour after his morning formula feed....those feeding their bubs formula and solids do you space them out? It seems some people do but others I've spoken to don't. I just think if Liam's full he might not want to eat anything else??
Hope everyone's having a good day and bubs are behaving themselves.
hi all. my day has been ****, had to take hubby to airport this morning on the way got a flat tyre and he missed the plane. was meant to go the mums group after that couldnt find the street, spent 1 hour settling Eliza, to have her wake after 5 mins and been crying ever since (yeah for me). she is due a feed soon so hopefully that might help.
cant get any worst right? What a day! :hugs: hope you have a better one today - well it can't get much worse can it?
I should be doing the ironing but am on her instead. Oh you have been bitten by the bug - l think many of us have escaped our cleaning and gotten on to bubhub - its much more fun....
QUESTION - When you say how old your bub is do you go by weeks or months?? 26 weeks = 6.5 months?? I say months now Lauren -- By the way happybirthday to Jack!!! Can't wait to see you both today!!!
Have started Liam on Farex on Tuesday and he's reluctantly taking a few half teaspoons at a time........I gave it to him half an hour after his morning formula feed....those feeding their bubs formula and solids do you space them out? It seems some people do but others I've spoken to don't. I just think if Liam's full he might not want to eat anything else?? The literature suggests that you give them solids about an hour after a milk drink -- l haven't been doing that because l can give him boobie juice anywhere but solids you need so much stuff.... so l have been giving him his milk first thing when he wakes from his big sleep, he has his nap, then when he wakes up for the 2nd time l give him his solids -- not too much - enough so he is satisfied, but would eat a bit more if l had it.... then l wait a little while (about an hour from when l first started the feed) and offer him more milk.... does that make sense? I tried it the proper way these last two day, that is, milk, wait an hour then solids - and both times it was a disaster - he was tired and really wasn't that interested...
He is asleep and l had better jump in the shower if l want to make it out today!!!
*Sparkles*
16-08-2007, 09:10
Can't wait to see this embroidery machine Hels. Does it only do pre-set stuff or can you do your own original designs?? And can it sew through thick material?
I have just bought some software so I can now do designs that I download from the internet. Yesterday I bought 214 baby slogans that are coming to me on CD. I would need to buy some additional software which would allow me to design my own, so I might look at that later. It all gets loaded on a memory card that slots into the machine, which is fully computerised :)
I'm not sure what thickness the materials can be, but it does have a foot for quilting, it also does normal sewing and over-locking.
Well I had a shocker of a headache last night, took a tablet which made me :barf: (sorry TMI). I ended up in bed early so I left DH to feed R his dinner and milk and put him to bed.
I'm feeling a bit better today but I had to take another tablet which means I can't drive for a while (too groggy). So unfortunately I won't be able to go to Penny's today. I hope you all have a great time. Lauren, if you read this before leaving - no need to bring the dress now but thanks so much for the offer :) .
Well I'm going to head back to bed now with my little man for a bit more :sleeping:
I'm running late for the meet - Penny I sent you a text message. Of all days Jack's sleeping longer than 40 minutes. Been down for 1.5 hours now
Hope to see you soon :wave:
ggrrrrrrr i am at home rebuilding a couple PCs for DP as he forgot about them and needs them done for his customers by this afternoon, what a slacker.
Cassidy is 6 months old today! How time has flown!
happybirthday happy half birthday!
ETA: Oh and she slept from 930 last night until 8am this morning... Had solids last night so am hoping that she goes back to being a good sleeping bubba!
Happy half birthday Cassidy!!!
mumofmonkey
16-08-2007, 17:03
hi everyone:wave:
hope everyone had a good day, i'm having a much better day today then i did yesturday. (lucky not all days are bad ones)
Lauren - good work on getting rid of the dummy.
i went to work today and i still cant sleep at night so i am really fatigued.
my dh has resigned from his job. i hope this is the right decision for us. with interest rates up and the stock market down i hope he can still get an even better job easily.
Thanks for the meet today girls....was nice to get out of the house!
Jack is still protesting - been 45 minutes! You can't imagine having just one arm out can make such a difference.
Here's some pics from today's meet :)
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1802777#post1802777
I've set up the chat room...where is everyone???
Good morning. I hope you all got some sleep last night. I did a bit better and slept soundly for 4 hours and then another 2 hours. (after i kicked dh onto the couch for snoring).
Lily has taken to getting up at 6am now. she calls out for me but isnt crying - just bored and whingy. i have read that to make babies sleep later the key is when you put them down for their first sleep of the day. so i kept her up 20 mins more than i usually would!! i wonder if that will backfire.
dh is having a birthday party on sunday so i have lots of cleaning and organisation to do today.
JoJoMart
17-08-2007, 12:03
Penny - thanks for the meet yesterday at your place. It was great to see you girls again and the drive home wasn't too bad (except I missed the turn off to the new Hume Hwy so got stuck on the old Hume :no: ). Lauren, I love the pics!
Sandy - read your post re: waiting an hour after a milk feed before offering solids. This morning I tried Farex after his milk feed but didn't wait long and he wasn't interested so I might try after 1/2-1 hour after the milk feed.
Hels - I hope your feeling better and your headache has gone.
ziggy - I just put Liam down so will see how long he sleeps for now. He had 40 mins this morning so I'm hoping for a longer sleep :fingerscrossed:
Me - I'm pretty tired today. Thinking of going to the shops this avo if I can be stuffed.......I desperately need to do some housework. Do any of you vacuum while bubs is asleep? I can't because Liam usually wakes up......when do you do your housework? What a boring topic!
*Sparkles*
17-08-2007, 12:39
Jo - We do housework at the weekend. I go around and dust, clean toilets etc and DH vacuums. We don't mop as often as we should, but that will have to change when R gets active.
During the week I do the little things like the washing, wiping down the kitchen everyday and I have a rechargable carpet sweeper that's great for picking up bits and the cats fur. I'd like the place to be cleaner but I have more important things to do with my time lol.
Well today I feel totally wiped out for some reason. Like I want to stay in bed all day, can't seem to get motivated. I didn't sleep well and I'm very tired. Have to go to the shops later, will have to drag myself there I suppose :rolleyes: .
Better go as R needs his lunch.
Sandy - read your post re: waiting an hour after a milk feed before offering solids. This morning I tried Farex after his milk feed but didn't wait long and he wasn't interested so I might try after 1/2-1 hour after the milk feed.
when do you do your housework? What a boring topic!
Jo - I am sticking (at least for the time being) to solids before milk... its not what they advocate - but it works better for us... as l said l just make sure he is not getting too much solids that it will turn him off his milk...
As for housework - like Hels l do a bit of tidying up - but that is about it - when mum comes over l usually get a bit done - but l do the deeper cleaning (with DH) when ever we find the time - sometimes on the weekend l find it a welcome change to leave Darrin with Coen while l do the cleaning - other times l just can't be stuffed... I feel guilty sometimes about not having a cleaner home - but at some point l just have to come to terms with the fact that l have other things l want to do and l can't do it all... (unfortunatley) :-)
Hels - I feel stuffed today to - Juzzy - I told you l would jinx myself - since telling you that Coen is no longer waking up at 5???am he has started doing it again - I know why - its because we have been putting him down about 7 pm - but its unavoidable - cos that is when he is due for his nap (big sleep) and if we delay it - it will just be a nightmare getting him down -- it all (for us) comes down to that last sleep, if he wakes up from that last day sleep any time before 5pm - we're pretty stuffed... I am tired now....
I had better go clean a bit we have a friend coming over for dinner tonight!
It is quiet in here today. where are you all?
re:housework - i do some each night. i must admit though i pay a cleaner once a fortnight to do all the big stuff.
we took the hire baby capsule back to the ambulance today - does that mean i dont have a baby anymore?
Sharon - Was your DH unhappy at work? I'm glad to hear you got some more sleep last night
Jo - I'm pretty much the same as everyone else...just do bits and pieces of cleaning when I can. Major stuff I leave for the weekends or at night when Jack's asleep. I used to be really particular about cleaning but I've relaxed lately. I'd much rather play with Jack or bubhub ;)
Sandy - Jack's been waking at 5.30am..seems he likes to do number 2's first thing in the morning! Lucky me! For us though it's a welcome relief...I like 5.30 better than 2.30! Will Coen have a feed and then go back to sleep?
Us - Jack slept for over 2 hours this morning! I can't even remember the last time he did that. He had lot's of floor time as well as a go in his Jolly Jumper. I'll try the same tomorrow and see if it works :fingerscrossed:
We're back to wrapping. Last night was a nightmare to get him down and my DH can't commit to being home for support so I'll keep wrapping for a bit longer. I'm not coping well with the crying
Better go and feed my squealing bub :D
Hi guys!
Sorry i missed the meet yesterday, was rebuilding PCs all day for DP.
Other than that not much happening, Cassidy is sleeping through again. Which is good, i just have to learn to get to bed before midnight then we wont have a problem!!
Went into kmart today as they are having 25% off kids clothes. Got a few things for Cassidy as there are some real bargains in there at the moment. Might take DP in there tomorrow to have a look.
Whats everyone got planned for the weekend?
I dont have much planned this weekend come to think of it. If it is nice enough id like to get into the garden and tidy it up a bit but have heard that it is going to rain. Other than that... ummm nothing!!
Best be off, have to do some housework now that Cassidy is having a nap.
Purplebird
17-08-2007, 18:04
Well, Eloise is very snotty and grumpy - we had a terrible night and today she just wanted to be held and wouldn't eat any solids. Three of the other bubs from Mother's Group have got brochiolitis - yuk! I'm just :fingerscrossed: that hers just stays as a horrid cold. Still managed to get out to the shops today though - I had to, I was going mad! As soon as anyone else spoke to madam she was all smiles :rolleyes: Oh well, at least she was down and asleep in time for me to watch Neighbours!
Jo I'm pretty much the same as everyone else - housework gets done at the weekends, but I have a wipe round, tidy up and 'dust bust' every day, only takes a little while and makes me feel better about being slack! Did you get to the shops??
Lauren - sounds like wrapping works well for you. Eloise did the 3 am poo for a few days a while ago - thankfully she's stopped that now! Hopefully Jack's early morning wake up poos will stop soon!
Sandy - I also find that solids work better before milk, I'm not sure why. we tried it the other way and it didn't suit us as well. Hope Coen goes back to his later wake up for you.
We've started on cloth nappies today - so far so good :) Eloise has 'christened' her soft leopard print nappy - does that means she likes it or not?!
I've just spent 3 hours doing a Snapfish Photobook (Thank-you Sandy and Penny :) ) I'm really rapt with it and my DH even thought it was good!
Hope everyone is having a great night.....not much planned for the weekend. DH want's to spend some time with Jack so I may just get out of the house on my own :D
hi everyone
well i had a huge shopping day. we went to two different shopping centres and the very last stop at 4pm on the way out the door, we found the perfect dresses for the bridesmaids...even got the jewellery from the same shop. today grandmama is taking the kids to their 2 hours skating while i get a hoop and look for b/m shoes.
we got a baby tux for $50 3pc set with a bowtie i wonder how hes going to look in that!!
hels i was reading your post in the c-sect thread. ill send you a pic of my belly with staples if you want to look.
SuperFrog
18-08-2007, 08:26
Morning all! So, what's happening this weekend? DH and FIL are painting again today so I am thinking of heading out to a craft market to get out of the fumey house.
And you?
*Sparkles*
18-08-2007, 08:36
Today we are going to my nephew's wedding. I'm really not that enthusiastic though. I feel really tired and I'm unhappy with how I look. So I'm faced with a huge task this morning of trying to turn an ugly duckling into a swan :thumbsdown: I didn't get to the shops yesterday (long story) so I'm wearing an outfit today that I feel fat in (have to squeeze into some pre-preggie clothes) and my skin is also pretty bad today.
Oh well, I suppose it's not about me though is it?
I said to DH that maybe if I sit in the church with bubs on my lap, no one will notice me behind him :laughing:
poor hels. its sounds like you have a lot of negative thoughts running around in your head. just remember what a strong, happy, beautiful woman you are. try to have fun today.:hugs:
Morning girls...
What are we doing this weekend?? Hmm... not alot. DF still has it in his mind that we are going to trade in his old-man' Magna for a brand new Commodore... again I ask, we are we getting the money to pay for this $40,000 car?? Last time I looked, we weren't growing any money trees in our backyard (just a lot of dangerous looking spiky thistle things :D).
Other than that, I might tidy the house, pull out said thistles from backyard and do a little baby-sitting (Hello Reece !!). Also might pop down the shops and pick up a lay-by.
Sunday night I'll be working, so I imagine that tomorrow will be as low key as today.
Exciting huh?
SuperFrog
18-08-2007, 12:00
Hels - Everyone is there to look at the bride (and maybe the groom!), so I wouldn't worry about anything. Just try to relax and have a great time!
No craft market for me today. My house looks like a cyclone has come through so I really need to stay home and tidy up what I can... ducking and weaving through the painters, and not touching the walls.
I just cooked DH and I lunch, and FIL arrived to paint but hadn't had lunch either. So he is eating mine (although I didn't tell him that) and I'll have to find something else.
Penny - Those thistles are taking over your place! Good luck... and wear gloves. :D
Having some breast feeding issues lately. Liam is starting to clamp down hard, and even though he doesn't have teeth yet it still hurts! I started a thread in the bf section and am hoping to get some feedback soon.
Just got back from shopping....I picked up a heap of board books for Jack. I got some from the Reject Shop for $2 each - BARGAIN!!
Mon - I've posted in your B/F thread
Hels - Have fun at the wedding. I bet you'll look gorgeous :yes: Have a few Chardy's and relax
We're off for a walk with Jack...
JoJoMart
18-08-2007, 14:54
:) Hi girls,
Sounds like everyone is having a pretty good weekend. I still haven't made it to the shops yet.......for some reason I just can't be arsed! Feeling a bit unmotivated at the moment :rolleyes:
Not much planned for the weekend, probably do some housework and DH is currently planting some vegie seedlings in our vegie patch. He's not keen to do the vacuuming for me today :mad:
Hels - enjoy the wedding. I'm sure you will look fine. Like Mon said, most people will be looking at the Bride, Groom and bridal party really.
Mon - I didn't make it to the Mongolia Craft market either but I'm going to go in November. I love painting and other crafts so I would really enjoy it I reckon.
Liam didn't show much interest in his Farex this morning.......I have to trying something else to get him interested I reckon. When can I try teething rusks?
What everyone having for dinner tonight? I'm making pumpkin fettucine for something different.
Free to good home
work-a-holic
xbox loving
car fixing
PITA
Answers to the name 'David'
PM me for further detials
:banghead:
SuperFrog
18-08-2007, 15:17
... the Mongolia Craft market
It's the Magnolia Craft Market... I'm pretty sure Mongolia would be too far to travel. :laughing:
Sorry, that just cracked me up. Too funny. :yes:
SuperFrog
18-08-2007, 15:20
Free to good home
work-a-holic
xbox loving
car fixing
PITA
Answers to the name 'David'
PM me for further detials
:banghead:
I think I have the same model... except I got the guitar-playing one instead of workaholic. Not a PITA usually though, so I really can't complain. :D
What everyone having for dinner tonight? I'm making pumpkin fettucine for something different.
Roast chicken pieces and vegies. Apple pie and icecream for dessert (or maybe peach crumble, not sure yet)
Mon He is walking a very fine line today... LOL men suck
ETA: Mon love your Av, that is such a sweet piccie!
mongolia?? wow
weve just got back from another shopping trip. we got the shoes, met dp there and got the rings!!
i got the pick of the shop and i picked a pendant! :laughing: i found two very different rings and just could not pick between the two. i walked out and left dp to decide for me i know he got the pendant but dont know what ring he got. it will be a nice surprise on the day, hope he didnt get the one he picked out and picked from my two :laughing:
grandmama has taken over the kitchen and we now have a 3 tier wedding cake. got to find a place to store it now.
tomorrow we meet with the celebrant.
and now im getting very funny in the tummy because its going so fast and everythings in place.
im off to get the rings engraved before they shut.
Mon - I forgot to ask you about he sock monkey...Are you still up for it? I bought some thigh high socks today with skulls and crossbones on them if you are
Purplebird
18-08-2007, 17:56
Hels - hope you're feeling better and that you managed to have a nice time at the wedding.
Jo - I'm with you on the 'can't be arsed' thing! I think Ive got Eloise's cold so I'm feeling pretty drained today. Maybe Liam just doesn't like farex? - wouldn't be surprising, it's pretty bleurgh stuff!
Kay - ooh how exciting, you sound very organised!
Mon - I didn't read your other post in the bf thread, but Eloise was clamping down on my nipples (ouch!!) for a while, both pre and post teeth. I just kept firmly saying 'no' and stopping the feed. She got the idea pretty quickly.
Funny, I read that as Magnolia Market originally!!
Well, I had my hair cut and dyed today for the first time since Eloise was born - it was sooo nice and relaxing. We are staying in tonight and eating curry. Off to a Christening tomorrow if E is better.
Purplebird
18-08-2007, 17:57
Mon - I forgot to ask you about he sock monkey...Are you still up for it? I bought some thigh high socks today with skulls and crossbones on them if you are
I love the sound of a sock monkey too! Did I miss a picture of one you made?? :)
For dinner we're having Chicken Kiev with mashed potato and vegetables. It's all cooking at the moment.
Today we went to Holden and had a look at the new commodore.. well, needless to say, we're going to be on a very tight budget for the next five years... oh my lordy.
At the moment, we have gorgeous young Reece visiting with us... but so far, he hasn't been too happy to see us :D We've unfortunately had to resort to the bumbo seat in front of the TV and that seems to be keeping him a little bit happier... I think he's just missing his mummy and daddy !!
For the record, Hels looked great !! If I looked that good, I'd be very happy :)
Jo - I've been giving K teething rusks this week and he loves them.
Juz - Good luck with DP
Thanks for the good luck wishes Penny. We have called a truce and he has gone to get noodle box for dinner (as i am on a cooking strike at the moment... long story, so disregard my post from earlier as DP wont cook!)
We will be ok just need to sort a few things out me thinks. Sorry to dump on you guys! Need to vent somewhere but it seems every time i post i am complaining about DP.
LOL oh and Penny would have been more impressed with your car purchase if it was a mazda RX8. LOL... Congratulations all the same!! Nothing like new car smell!
Glad to hear that Hels looked great, knew she would!
I think i have missed something in regards to all this sock monkey talk going on.....
Kay So exciting about all the wedding things coming together!
Penny - I was wondering how you were getting on with Reece...How is it having two kiddies to look after? Scary?
Hannah - Hope you and Eloise are feeling better soon. There is nothing worse than being sick yourself with a sick bub :hugs:
We had a fun afternoon...took Jack for a walk, stopped at a cafe and then checked out some shops. On our way home we stopped in at Windy Hill so DH could watch the footy on the big screen...Jack started squealing so we left :o
We had Chicken and Vegies for dinner...boring!
Our neighbours are having a party tonight...so far it's not too loud but he did pop over yesterday to warn me. Jack doesn't seem bothered by the music which is a relief. He's been blissfully sleeping for over an hour.
Re: Father's Day...I was bitten by the Snapfish bug last night and ordered a personalised calender for DH with photo's of him and Jack together for every month. I hope he likes it!
I think i have missed something in regards to all this sock monkey talk going on.....
Check out Mon's Zoints Profile..in her photo albumn :thumbsup:
SuperFrog
18-08-2007, 19:22
I love the sound of a sock monkey too! Did I miss a picture of one you made?? :)
Sock Monkey (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/sockmonkey.jpg)
Sock Monkey Montage (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/smaller_monkey.jpg)
Lauren - I've got a pair of long red and black stripey socks that I was going to sock monkey up for you, but I can wait and use the skull and cross bone ones if you like. Sounds funky! DH read that over my shoulder and asked why Liam doesn't have stuff like that. I had to remind him that Liam has a skull and cross bones bib and a bottle to match.
I made minestrone soup today but DH and I decided to get some Thai food delivered. Should be here any minute. Yum! Guess we'll be having soup for lunch and dinner tomorrow!
Sandy - Jack's been waking at 5.30am..Will Coen have a feed and then go back to sleep?
Us - Jack slept for over 2 hours this morning Unfortunatley not - he has a feed but then thinks it is the start of his day - so he is up for 2 hours before he will go to sleep again...
Coen had a 2+ hours sleep this afternoon (till 5.30pm)-DH and l kept going in there to check on him, in the end we woke him up cos l was worried about it interfering with his long sleep....
Liam didn't show much interest in his Farex this morning.......I have to trying something else to get him interested I reckon. When can I try teething rusks? It is reccommended to wait until kids are at least 6 months... and then to wait until they have been on solids for a little bit as they are wheat based and wheat can be tough on their digestion... but l know other people have tried them without any adverse reactions...
Well, I had my hair cut and dyed today for the first time since Eloise was born - it was sooo nice and relaxing. We are staying in tonight and eating curry. Off to a Christening tomorrow if E is better. Oh l am jealous, l was just thinking that is exactly what l need atm... l hope you and Eloise feel better soon!
Hels - How was the wedding? Did you end up feeling gorgeous? Post a piccie...
Kay - sounds like the wedding plans are full steam ahead and it is all going smoothly... how are you feeling about it? excited, scared, in control etc.????
Penny - Congratulations on your purchase, when do you get it?
It is so much easier looking after a bubby when DP is home - (he went back to work after 10- days off) ...
I started looking through the jobs advertisements today to see what was out there... l have never had to apply for a job before - l don't think l am suited to it... l think l am just going to let my networks know that l am open to other offers and see if any come in... otherwise l still have my meeting with my boss at the end of the month... hopefully l can convince them to give me some sort of part time position.
Lauren - I've got a pair of long red and black stripey socks that I was going to sock monkey up for you, but I can wait and use the skull and cross bone ones if you like. Sounds funky! DH read that over my shoulder and asked why Liam doesn't have stuff like that. I had to remind him that Liam has a skull and cross bones bib and a bottle to match.
[text removed by moderator]
Penny - I was wondering how you were getting on with Reece...How is it having two kiddies to look after? Scary?
Hehehe.. the first hour was a bit hairy... poor bubba R screamed the whole time... but after a bit of a play on the floor and then asleep, he is a much happier bubba now... infact he is currently laying in his strider making happy baby noises whilst cuddling his little blanket... and is also blowing lots of raspberries... so very cute !!!
K went to sleep relatively early for him tonight so he didn't give us any trouble for once. I must say though, I have a new appreciation for mum's with twins now :D
Just stopping in to say hi not much happening here i'm pretty sick with the flu.
After live chat on thursday i was so exited about learning how to sew then woke up the next morning feeling like i was hit by a truck and i'm still feeling pretty CR@po maybe tomorrow.
RE: Housework i have to do mine every second day cause Andrew is so active and all over the place spilling stuff but we have timber floors upstairs and tiles down so its just a matter of a qhick mop every couple of days the only thing we have to vacume is the rooms and the mat in the lounge and the toilet shower and sheets all get done on the weekend. I don't mind doing housework (i no i'm a freak) but i hate dishes and washing so that is DP job.
ohohohohoh i almost forgot to tell you I stuck me finger in bubs mouth tonight cause of how crabby she has been and found her 2 bottom teeth have come through, but now she won't settle with out being held i guess she will be in our bed for a few nights:rolleyes:
Anyway no news from us Hels i hope you had fun at the wedding.
Kay You are my new hero you are so organized i don't no how u do it i can see your big day is going to be perfect.
Hey brissy girls has NINA been married yet i do remember her big day was coming up?
Anyway catch p later i need to go to bed
Alicia
xxxxx
Purplebird
19-08-2007, 08:36
Ooooh, the sock monkeys are gorgeous Mon, you're very clever! I wish I could sew things (well, apart from buttons onto shirts!)
Penny - good work on the babysitting, sounds like you did a great job.
Sandy - Good luck on the job front - hopefully you will be able to go part time and then you can avoid the drag of job applications :thumbsup:
Eloise seems better today but I'm still sniffly. I'm tempted to send her and DH out to the Christening so I can have a snooze. Trouble is it's one of Mother's Group bubs so I kinda have to go really.
Must go and get E down for a sleep so she's not grumpy later.
Good morning.
we are frantically getting ready for DHs birthday party. we are mostly ready. just have to make the salad, the punch and cut up the onions.
it is a bit cold for an outdoor party today but at least it isnt raining..yet.
lily has a new trick - blowing kisses - so cute! she still has no interest in rolling and aint so good at sitting by herself. after i put her to bed for a nap yesterday i heard thumping noises. when i went in to check on her she was out of her wrap, turned around and was kicking her feet on the edge of the cot - what a little monkey. :)
I am not quite sure what it going on with my bub at the moment - l know he is getting really hungry (so am back up to two meals a day)... but he is not settling to sleep like he usually does, the weirdest thing was not even for his first sleep in the morning... that is usually so easy to get him down for...
Oh we tried him with apples yesterday for the 1st time... do you think he liked them (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeMi0sIBZ_w)? PMSL
SuperFrog
19-08-2007, 11:26
Apples...
That was hilarious! :laughing:
Oh that is so cute Sandy... he didn't look too impressed !! :D
I love that you girls are exploring the world of YouTube... keep 'em coming
Hannah - Hope you are feeling better soon !!
Sharon - happybirthday to your DH !! Hope he has a nice day.
Leashie - Yay for Marissa and her new teeth. We're still waiting for K's.. oh-so-patiently...
*Sparkles*
19-08-2007, 12:12
The wedding was great although we got to the church late, so we snuck in the back row and unfortunately missed the "I do's". But I don't think too many people noticed. R was well behaved except for blowing a big raspberry near the which turned a few heads :laughing:
Big Big thanks to Penny and Tony for watching R :hugs: It's a shame that he was unsettled but that's the type of baby he is. We will wait a while before leaving him with anyone again, still too early I think. Has anyone else successfully left their bub with anyone yet?
I have only got 1 photo of us taken at the wedding (forgot to take our camera), so I'll scan and post it another time.
DH and R are both in bed still and it's now 1.15pm. I'll have to get them up soon as we are going to spotlight and the shops this arvo.
We got home just after 1am (I drove) and Penny it took exactly 1 hour and 4 mins to get home from your place at that time of night (via citylink). Not bad hey?
It was nice to actually be sober at a wedding for once, I met some great people and had some interesting convos. Also great to wake up today without a hangover, just tired is all.
Mon - The monkey sock things look great, you could easily sell those I reckon.
Juz - Hope things work themselves out with DP, feel free to post your thoughts here hun :hugs:
Sandy - Loved the video! That's a great big plastic bib that Coen has on. I need some bigger one's for R I think.
Sorry to those that I missed, too many posts and too little time lol.
Better go and wake up my boys now :rolleyes:
SuperFrog
19-08-2007, 14:10
Liam eats Weet-Bix for breakfast (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/bix.jpg)
Beautiful day in Melbourne today. Liam is asleep at the moment, but after a quick feed we might head to the park.
HELP!!!
I put Coen to sleep at the end of the cot, l come back and he is on his tummy, facing the other way and at the other end of the cot.... what do l do??? Perhaps this is his way of telling me he doesn't need to sleep as often? It is taking an hour of putting him back to bed... and each time l go in he cracks me up - l try not to laugh, but sometimes his legs are hanging out of the cot, other times he is just looking at me in a cheeky way - l swear this kid is trying to be a comedian!!! :rolleyes: Its been okay cos he has only been really doing this for 2 days full on - (weekend) but this is going to drive me insane if this is his new thing and it continues throughout the week!
sorry for the double post... but given my experience with the apples, can l ask what variety of apple you guys are using? I now put only a small tsp of apple and a very large tblsp of farex - he seems able to handle this... he is going to be eating apples for the rest of his life at this rate though (considering how many l made)...
SuperFrog
19-08-2007, 15:57
Sandy - Liam did this yesterday... he obviously rolled from his back to his tummy for the first time. I still haven't seen him do it but I know he can!
Like you said, perhaps he isn't tired yet. Maybe stretch out his sleeps (and maybe his feeds too) and see how he goes.
I use Granny Smith apples.
Went to the park and for a walk. Took lots of pics so I'll get them off the camera when the battery is recharged. Hopefully there are some nice ones.
Am doing Liam's veggies at the moment. Seems odd to be cooking stuff for him when I haven't figured out what we are having for dinner yet. I usually do them at the same time.
Could be minestrone soup for dinner... same as lunch. :)
I am not quite sure what it going on with my bub at the moment - l know he is getting really hungry (so am back up to two meals a day)... but he is not settling to sleep like he usually does, the weirdest thing was not even for his first sleep in the morning... that is usually so easy to get him down for...
Oh we tried him with apples yesterday for the 1st time... do you think he liked them (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeMi0sIBZ_w)? PMSL
We have the same thing happening in our house atm....plus a screaming episode at 3am this morning. Mark walked Jack for over an hour before he fell asleep today...He changes every 5 seconds.
Love the movie too :thumbsup: What a cutie! We use Fuji apples
After last nights episode I checked his mouth and I can see and feel a bit of a tooth on the bottom left - it's not thru but it's definately there. Does anyone know how long before it cuts thru?
SuperFrog
19-08-2007, 20:08
We had great fun at the park today. Took oodles of pics, but here are just a few.
Liam and DH (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/DandLpark1.jpg)
Who's the cutest? (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/DandLpark3.jpg)
A touching moment (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/DandLpark5.jpg)
Ready to slide (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/DandLslide.jpg)
Peek-a-boo! (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Liam/August%2007/peekaboo.jpg)
Great Pics Mon!.....Jack has the same hoodie :) Those pics would be great to use for Father's Day
Another 5am "pooey" wake-up here....I'm tired today. Seems the more sleep I get the more I want.
Sharon - How did the party go?
JoJoMart
20-08-2007, 09:08
Mon - love the pics! Yes, Mongolia is a long way to go for a craft market :rolleyes:
Sandy - Good luck with the job hunting...I hope you can go part time at your old work? As for Coen not settling......Liam was like this for 2 weeks but better last week. He would wake up after only 20 minutes asleep during the day & be on his tummy with feet sticking out the bars.......he's in a sleeping bag now though......I think it was teething but who knows. Love the movie of Coen screwing his face up at apple.....too cute!
Hannah - I hope you feel better soon. The nice Melbourne weather today (so far) should help :)
Juzzy - I really hope things improve with DP. I know the feeling as things are rocking at times between me and DH. My DH is not very sympathetic towards me at the moment at all and I'm not happy about that.
Lauren - these 5am poos must be driving you bonkers. Let's hope Jack stops that soon or moves them forward to 7am instead.
Hels - Sounds like the wedding went well....did you enjoy some time away from Reece? Penny, sounds like you enjoyed some time with Reece.........!!
Have a good day everyone. Little bugger has just woken up after 20 minutes asleep......hope I can resettle him.
The party was great. It was raining but we have a big back deck so we all stayed dry. the kids all had to play inside though which means the house is wrecked! one baby is definately less noisy that eight 2-7 year olds!
Lily smiled and laughed all day yesterday. today she is feral - i suppose she is wondering where everybody went?
Lauren - re the early pooing. i usually avoid giving any fruit for lilys dinner to avoid night time pooing. what if you give extra carbos at night or vegs instead?
He always has vegies for tea...pumpkin or zuchinni. Maybe I should stop the pears for breakfast and see if it helps?
I have a feral child today too. Jack's only had 20 minutes sleep since 6.45am...I'm pretty sure it's his tooth. It feels pointy. I've given panadol and bonjela but now he's overtired. I really hate day's like this
I've got Mother's Group today too and it's about solids..not sure if I should go. He's such a handful when he's overtired :(
:wave: I've been MIA again! Sorry- trying to crack the extreme sites in the GDUNH- takes ages for someone who is used to thinking about what to feed the kids as opposed to solving cryptic puzzles etc. Makes for HARD WORK!
I have just purchased some more MCN's. A bitty boo to be exact- will let you know (thise that are interested) how it goes!
Dh and i have been having some issues lately so trying to work it out- wont bore you with the details.
Kay- sounds like you have everything organised! Well done. Its so not easy is it! Hang in there- rememeber if theres anything i cn do from down here- i'd be happy to help!
Hels- re leaving the babies. I have left Cody a few times and she's fine! However, i think its because she has been exposed to alot of people since birth if that makes sense? Our house is never quiet- there's always kids (ours and other peoples) running through here, adults dropping in, neighbours over etc. Its a busy busy place so she is used to alot of people.
Tomorrow i will have 7 kids to look after, the oldest being almost 5 and the youngest will be 3 mths.. Wow! WOnt i be tired tomorrow night! Funny thing is, is doesnt worry me at all- the more the merrier. They all occupy each other so its no big drama. That being said though, it raining here and not supposed to stop until friday so i think it'll be a bit harder with them all inside!
ziggy- glad the party went well. Lilly is may be tired form her big day socialising yeterday! LOL.
Lauren- Cody went thru a stage too where she would poo at 3 am! Very uncivilised that was. It lasted about a week and now she does it at a more acceptable hour!
mon- great pics!
Have a great day everyone!
Purplebird
20-08-2007, 11:10
I'm having a me post today as it's my birthday. happybirthday me!! I still feel horrible and not up to doing anything fun so I'm feeling pretty sorry for myself!! I was supposed to be going out for lunch. The good news is that DH has pulled a sickie so he's coming home to help me out and hopefully cheer me up. At least the sun's out today.
Hope everyones babies and partners are behaving themselves.
JoJoMart
20-08-2007, 11:35
Big :hugs: and happybirthday to you Hannah! Have a great day.......well once hubby is home to help out it should be more relaxing for you! Enjoy.
Roopee - wow 7 kids to look after tomorrow. I hope you aren't too buggered by the end of it!
Lauren - Liam has started out that way this morning too.......overtired and didn't sleep well for his morning sleep. Is asleep now so :fingerscrossed: he stays that way for a while......I'm about to have a rest myself as didn't sleep well last night. I hate days like that too.........so stressful.
Ziggy - glad the party went well. Lily sounds like a socialite.......she's probably just grissly cause all the fun kids have gone!
Not much happening here so I'm off. Have a great day ladies. I guess I should put a wash on as the weather is nice today.
As for Coen not settling......Liam was like this for 2 weeks but better last week. He would wake up after only 20 minutes asleep during the day & be on his tummy with feet sticking out the bars.......he's in a sleeping bag now though......I think it was teething but who knows. Thanks for that Jo, did you start using the sleeping bag during the day? We are only using it at night at the moment, but if it will help l guess we could use it during the day....
HAPPY BIRTHDAY HANNAH!!!
That's fantastic that you DH is coming home to help out!!! Enjoy your day! Perhaps at our next outing we can have a glass of wine/champagne to celebrate it!
Okay - whinge alert!!! went over to MIL's yesterday to visit with some o/s relatives.... they told us they really wanted us to go over yesterday - so even though we couldn't get Coen to sleep we went... Coen as you can imagine was ****ty cos he hadn't slept for 4 hours by the time we left, fell asleep in the car on the way home (3 minute drive)... we had to wake him at 10pm to change him and feed him...:eek:...
Then feeling guilty DH takes the day off today and we go over there for lunch.... we get the pressure put on us to go to the zoo with them (no offence but Coen was due for a sleep and we are not going to spend $50 to get in at 2.30 - we'd only be there for a couple of hours)... anyway they bring it up a few times.... then they tell us that they are bringing the relo's over our place cos they want to see it.... this is utter bullsh!t... they just want to show off our place... they brought there friends around a few months ago.... it annoys me cos then l have to clean the house up like crazy... last time l had some laundry drying in the bathroom (the door was closed), l was feeding Coen - and my mil gave her friends a tour of my house commenting on the laundry (as if l was a messy person)!!!
It annoys me- its my house - l don't want/need people tramping through it - unless we invite them - and in all honesty if the relo's wanted to see our place l would be the first to welcome them over- but l hate being put on the spot like that - especially when l know my house is never clean enough!!!
Okay whinge over! Sorry!
Coen fell asleep on the 3 minute drive home from their house again today... might go read a book now -the house is pretty clean - l guess looking on the bright side - it got me off my a$$ and cleaning up...
What a gorgeous day it is in Melbourne today... we might follow Mon's lead later and take Coen to the park!
Mon - l showed DH your photos when he was skeptical about taking our little boy to the park... l said "look he's having fun" (pointing at Liam) DH just laughed at me - l think he thinks l am nuts --
I thought you might find this interesting - apparently the suggested sleep pattern for 6 month olds is -
11 hours nighttime sleep
and 2 sleeps during the day totalling 3 1/4 hours so the equivalent of 14 1/4 hours per day...
at 9 months it is much the same, except the day time sleeps go down to 3 hours (wow 15 minutes!!!)
I think Coen (in this last week) has been trying to tell me that he needs less sleep....
:eek:
Mon - Great photos of DH and Liam... you're inspiring me to take Kaelan down to the park more often
Hannah - A very big happybirthday to you !!
Sandy - if only you could choose your relatives !!
Hello to everyone else. Hope we are all having a lovely day today. I'm not long out of bed (after working night shift) and I've just noticed that it is a gorgeous day outside here in Melbourne.. bring on Spring and Summer !!.
Us - Well, poor K is still suffering from this awful skin condition on his face. Poor little mite has obviously been rubbing at his cheeks with his sleeve overnight to the point of creating a bit of a wound as he has blood on both sleeves (and collar). His cheeks are red raw atm... almost like burns. It looks awful. I think it is a bit itchy... but other than that, he doesn't seem too fussed by it. I've booked him in to see a doctor tomorrow at Greensborough, so maybe they'll give us some Cortisone cream to treat it with.
I'm sure his symptoms are exaggereated by teething... he's chomping on everything, the drooling has gone into over-drive and his bottom is red. He's had teething symptoms for three months now... I just wish these bloody teeth would cut through so that the poor bubba can catch a break.
Anyways, Master K is currently sitting on the floor screaming his little head off... must be bottle time me thinks. Be back later :)
*Sparkles*
20-08-2007, 15:54
happybirthday Hannah. Hope you enjoy the rest of the day with your DH.
We went shopping yesterday and went a bit wild in the kmart 25% off kids clothing sale lol. Let's just say that R now has a full summer wardrobe and 4 pairs of little shoes!
He slept in until after 1pm today, then had some weetbix and played for a while. He has been back in bed since 3pm so maybe he is catching up after the weekend.
We are going over to my SIL's for dinner tonight (so I'm pleased that R is having a good sleep now). We are catching up with our niece and her b/f who are over from UK (came over for the family wedding). Neither of them have seen R properly yet.
Have a good night everyone :)
SuperFrog
20-08-2007, 17:35
Hannah - Happy Birthday! Hope things have cheered up for you today.
Hels - We got stuck in traffic once and completely missed a wedding. Arrived as they were having photos taken afterwards. It was at a winery that had a really long road leading up to it so it was very obvious that we were late. Oops!
Will Reece sleep tonight after such a big sleep in?
Lauren - I can't believe how many clothes Jack and Liam have that are the same!
5am poo would be such a pain. Liam is an 8am and 3pm man these days.
How did Jack go at your MG? Feral like you expected?
Sharon - Glad to hear that the party went well. Sounds like Lily enjoyed all the attention!
Tanya - I love cryptic puzzles! Let me know if you need a hand searching a site or two. It's an interesting concept but I don't have time for a full hunt. And I'm not moving to MCNs anytime soon so the marketing strategy would be lost on me anyway.
Jo - Did Liam have a decent sleep and let you rest too? I find it hard to sleep in that situation as I keep looking at the clock wondering if he is going to wake up soon.
Sandy - I can usually join you on the MIL rant, but mine was really great today. I couldn't leave because builders were here so she came to have lunch with us and brought some KFC :)
Did you go to the park? I took a video of Liam and DH laughing on the swings if D needs convincing!
Liam has three naps during the day, usually 40 minutes each. He sleeps at night for 12 hours, so I guess it all evens out.
Penny - Poor Kaelan. Do you think it is a food allergy still, or maybe a cat like you previously mentioned? Hope it clears up soon.
Have yabbered too much and run out of time to talk about me! Maybe another post after dinner. :)
How did Jack go at your MG? Feral like you expected?
He wasn't too bad...got pretty stroppy towards the end. I'm glad I went. Probably not the best day to stay at home. He only had three 20 minute sleeps today. I put him to bed at 5.50pm...he was so tired he wasn't even feeding properly so I'm guessing he'll be up for a night feed
MG was great...my MCHN is the best - I wish she would move in with me :yes: We talked a lot about sleeping. She said it was still very common for babies 6-12 months to wake 2-3 times a night due to so many developmental milestones. Makes me appreciate Jack sleeping thru (for the time being anyway)
Anyway...DH still not home. Spose I should cook tea. Will try for an early night I think
:yelclap: HANNAH !! :yelclap:
Hope you have had a lovely day!
:babydust2:Happy Birthday Hannah:babydust2:
Hope you had a great day!!!!
Mon- while i would love your help on the cryptic clues- unfortunatley that would be considered cheating so i'll have to pass! However! Who likes those things anyway??? Too much brain strain for me:laughing:LOL- KIDDING!
I am all ready for tomorrow! The craft stuiff is out, the paints are set up and playdo is good to go.
We will be building matchstick houses and paddlepop stick boxes and then painting them so hopefully that keeps them entertained in the rain!:fingerscrossed:
SuperFrog
20-08-2007, 20:22
Back again for the 'all about me' post!
Concreters were here today to lay the stencilled concrete for our outside area. Poor Astro the cat had to spend a lot of the day locked in the laundry as they had our doors open to lay down the stencil. Apparently cats and concrete don't mix. :yes:
They threw this powder stuff all over the concrete, which absorbs into the top layer to give it the right colour. Looks really cool, but geez it is messy stuff... and it gets everywhere. Think of the toner from the printer or photocopier and you'll know what I mean. There is a fine layer of it all through my kitchen. Even though I keep wiping it there still seems to be another layer hiding underneath it.
The health centre has an open session and the health nurse asked me to come today to get Liam weighed, just to check that everything is on track. When I got there it was all dark, with a sign saying that the open session is now held on Wednesday afternoons, and sorry for the short notice. Grr!
Went for a lovely walk this afternoon with one of the mother's group mums who lives around the corner. Was nice to get out and have a chat. We are thinking of walking "The Tan" at the botanical gardens later in the week. Haven't done it before or know exactly where it is either. I'm really unfit so I hope I don't collapse in a heap!
DH and FIL are painting again tonight. I'm on Astro patrol... keeping him away from the walls after he brushed against one before. Anyone know how to get paint of a cat's tail fur?? I've put the space heater on in the loungeroom and he has curled up in front of that, so my cat-sitting job is relatively easy.
Finally, something is wrong with the space bar and the m key on my laptop. I think there is something stuck underneath them. If I don't press really hard I end up with ysentencesakingnosense,whichakesithardtocoprehend.
DH reckons you can pull the keys off... ight Google it and see what coes up.
SuperFrog
20-08-2007, 20:24
Mon- while i would love your help on the cryptic clues- unfortunatley that would be considered cheating so i'll have to pass! However! Who likes those things anyway??? Too much brain strain for me:laughing:LOL- KIDDING!
You're no fun. I love a brain-strain challenge, and feel very satisfied when I figure it out. Good luck with the hunt!
My brains fried after i finish with the kids! Im all "thinked" out:laughing:
Good evening ladies and bubby
A BIG happybirthday TO YOU HANNAH
I hope the rest of your day was great and your DP came home and spoiled you.
Sharon I'm glad everything worked out for your DP's party do he enjoy it?
Sandy love the apples vid i tried M on banana the other day and she had the same face expressions i wish i had my video cam at the time it was so funny. Marissa does the same thing in her cot but its in the morning when she wakes up she pops her little head up so u can just see her over her bumper and starts making this goiy goiy noise that is so cute and gets louder and louder till we wake up and get her up.
Hels see i new you would look great
Penny have u given him anything new to eat he could be having a reaction M is lactose intolerant and her cheeks went like that when i gave her yogurt.
WOW Tanya can i sent you DS for the holidays lol he would have a ball.
Us we had a very unsettled day today cause of M teeth she would cry in devastation every time i was out of her eye view. but over all she has been really good. We had a little play time with some boys that are 5 months today and she thought she was king sh!t cause she can move around and they can't she kept crawling over and pinching and pulling at them left a nice mark on one of them but its so good to see her interact with other bubs.
I'm having some problems with DS wetting the bed the last few week we have stopped giving him any drinks after 6pm and i take him to to loo before i go to bed but he wets the bed 2-3 times a week its getting frustrating cause i'm constantly washing sheets. any advice?
Anyway i'm off to bed to read my book have a got night every one.
Alicia
xxxxx
I'm so sentimental..
Was just going through all the programs and stuff that we have recorded on the HDD of our DVD Recorder.. and I found the video footage of Kaelan from birth through to six months that I put on there only last week... it still amazes me how much he has changed in that shirt period of time.
I then went further back and I've found the video of our 20 week morphology scan where we found out that we were having a boy (September 28th, 2006)... it's hard to believe that all these baby 'bits' that I can see on the video make up the 'whole' of my 8 kilo little man. According to this video, Kaelans estimated foetal weight at the time was only 350 grams... Awwww !!
I know for a fact that if I keep going back further that I also have my 12 week NT scan on the hard-drive as well... maybe I'll have to go and watch it too :D
These videos are something that I am going to treasure for the rest of my life !!
(Just remembered that I also have the DVD of my 4D scan.... Oooooohhhhh.... )
BTW.. I've taken a photo of K's rash and have put it online. If anyone can suggest anything that may help, I'm open to ANY suggestions (we do have a doctors appointment tomorrow as well)
http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/k_ouchies.jpg
Oh Penny his rash looks terrible......I'd cut out all solids until it clears up and then slowly introduce one food per week to see if he has a reaction. Apparently it can take up to 3 days for a reaction to happen
Have you changed washing powders lately? or K's bath products? I use Gaia body wash for Jack and it's helped a lot with his skin (it's pretty $$$ though)
Hopefully the Doc will be able to help you. Jack's been prescribed a Cortizone cream for his patches
US - YAY! Jack didn't wake for a night feed as I thought he would so he slept 5.50-600am....he didn't poo until 6am so much better than 5am. I mixed a bit of farex in his pumpkin last night, maybe that helped. He refused to go back to sleep after a feed much to my disgust....
Question - Does anyone elses bub throw a tanty when they don't get what they want? If so what are you doing if anything to stop it? Can you stop it?
penny- i could show you pics the same! dd2. we have so many pics of her in her first 12 months like this. it was a lactose problem.
can you switch to lactose free diet for a few weeks to see if that makes a difference?
the other thing (one i wish we'd done earlier for dd) ask your DR about getting allergy testing done.
OMG tan- that suit jacket is the cutest thing!!! now we have to get ds one!!! thankyou sooo much. we out it on him last night. ill have to take some pics of him in his full suit now....and the piggy nappy!! my girls want it on their doll...begging me to let them put it on a doll!!
leShie- hi!! im glad your posting. i like reading your posts. on the bed wetting- we had this problem with ds after eli was born...not right after but a few months. hed been night dry since 2 yrs old and when i asked him if he was awake or asleep when he wet it he said he was awake so i was really mad about it...i didnt tell him i was mad and didnt show it in the way i spoke. i just got the camping mat ( you know the pre-school mats? we got it from the pre-school) and made him a bed up on the floor next to his bed. i told him if he was going to keep on wetting his nice big bed then hed have to sleep on the camping mat because he was going to mess up the big bed mat and bedding. i didnt say anything more. just read to him down there and put him to bed there. in the morning he told me he didnt want to sleep there anymore and wouldnt wet his bed again....he didnt but i kept the floor bed made up for a week so he had to step over it. good luck!!
Leashie- yep, post him up! Let him know thoguh that wet beds are not a goer in this house lol.
On that topic- if the boys havae an "accident" it drives me nuts! I threaten with taking the bed back to the shop and making them sleep on the floor.
Kay's idea was GOOD! Its hard, you dont want them to know your p!ssed but they cant keep doing it ither, especially if they are awake for it.
Good Luck!
Kay- oh, the girls can put the nappy on the doll if they want! Just tell them its a boomerang lol. It is cute isnt it! AND i'm glad you like the jacket! Did it fit? Riley was 14 months when he wore that and even then it was a bit big lol.
The kids will be here in about 30 mins so i should get off and finish getting ready! Have a good day everyone!!
JoJoMart
21-08-2007, 08:05
Leashie - no advice on bed wetting, sorry, but I would be interested to know myself for future reference. All these things to look forward too (the good and the bad)
Penny - That is a horrible rash.......it looks like a reaction to something but wait to see what the GP says. I hope it heals soon......nasty.
Sandy - yes, I've been using the sleeping bag during the day because Liam was 'waking himself up' I think by rolling around and getting his feet stuck.....well it seems to have helped anyway. As for MIL, your's sounds like she oversteps the mark, I don't blame you for feeling that way at all. My MIL really annoyed me the other day when they were over as I was trying to settle Liam to sleep, had explained 100 times how he'd been unsettled during the day and MIL decides to play with the dog outside making him bark! They also bring their little dog every time and she barks too. Luckily Liam is fairly used to dogs barking but when he's really tired it keeps him awake.
Lauren - that's great that Jack slept that long! The solids must be helping. As for bubs throwing a tanty. I've noticed this with Liam......well it's been going on a while now :rolleyes: . For instance, he always tries to grab the remote controls and I take them off him and move them away and he cracks it! I don't do anything because I don't think you can do much at this age because they don't understand but not sure???
Mon - I'm a bit jealous of your new concreting with the stensilcrete.........minus the dust in the kitchen! I'd love something like that done at our place with all the horrible uneven concrete......told DH it will be dangerous once Liam's walking so we will get something done eventually.
US - Had a not so good day yesterday so I hope today is better........both Liam and myself were in a mood! Things between DH are marginally better.......but I think there's a long way to go for us to be like we were if that makes sense. Even though he loves Liam I don't think DH has adjusted that well to fatherhood, especially the freedom we both once had. I have adjusted heaps better but being a mummy is something I love.
SuperFrog
21-08-2007, 08:41
Melbourne Mums - Discussions for the next meet are happening over at this thread:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1816905#post1816905
Jo - Hope you have a better day today :hugs:
Leashie - Don't have any bed-wetting advice either, but it sounds like you first need to work out if he is awake or asleep at the time.
Tanya - Have fun with your kid's craft day!
Kay - What date is your wedding again? Sounds like it's coming up soon.
Lauren - Sounds like Jack's sleeping habits are improving. Yay!
Figured out how to pop the keys off my laptop keyboard and found bits of plaster and wood chips under the space bar and m key. :rolleyes: I want my house finished already!
You're no fun. I love a brain-strain challenge, and feel very satisfied when I figure it out. Good luck with the hunt! Me too!!! I get obsessed by them...
Kay - l like that advice about bed wetting - so much to learn....
Sandy - yes, I've been using the sleeping bag during the day because Liam was 'waking himself up' I think by rolling around and getting his feet stuck.....
US - Had a not so good day yesterday so I hope today is better........both Liam and myself were in a mood! Things between DH are marginally better.......but I think there's a long way to go for us to be like we were if that makes sense. Even though he loves Liam I don't think DH has adjusted that well to fatherhood, especially the freedom we both once had. I have adjusted heaps better but being a mummy is something I love.
Thanks for the advice Jo - l never would have tried this... but l used it this morning and he went to bed easily, he still played around but only for 5 minutes (as opposed to 90)... he seems to have just settled himself back to sleep too... better go check on him... l'm back, yes he resettled himself back to bed, after doing at least one 180 degree turn, and l suspect rolling on to his tummy and then over to his side... oh well l don't mind as long as he sleeps.... l am going to try to reduce the number of sleeps Coen is having during the day and try and get him to sleep a bit longer i.e. resettle himself... like that stuff l posted the other day, if l can get to sleeps of about 3 hours + then l will be a happy chappy!
Hope everyones day is going well!!!
Lauren - Coen has started throwing little tantrums as well... not quite sure what to do about it... he is going through some pretty big changes with his feeding and sleeping needs and so l suspect that part of these tantrums might be him waiting for his mum to catch on... at least l hope so... sorry no advice for you - but keen to see what others suggest...
SuperFrog
21-08-2007, 09:49
Does anyone know if there would be any problems introducing these foods now?
onions, garlic, tomato, capsicum, mushrooms, herbs and spices (such as pepper, rosemary), cheese, minced meat, eggplant
Sounds like a pizza!
Liam has mashed foods at the moment (rather than pureed), but he doesn't really chew so I'm not sure how he'd go with some of that stuff. Also I'm a bit iffy on the mushrooms as they are a fungus.
Does anyone ever rate threads? I've just given this one a 5... wonder if it will make a difference?
Purplebird
21-08-2007, 11:57
Thanks for the birthday wishes everyone! I had a much nicer afternoon once DH came home. We all went and layed in the hammock in the garden! feeling a bit better today so I'm going to Mother's Group.
Poor Kaelen, Penny, - hope that clears up soon. Have you tried Dermaveen cream? It's really good for dry skin and stuff.
Mon - we've tried Eloise with capsicum and onion and she liked them and had no problems.
Jo - hope your day is better today.
Does anyone know if there would be any problems introducing these foods now?
onions, garlic, tomato, capsicum, mushrooms, herbs and spices (such as pepper, rosemary), cheese, minced meat, eggplant
Sounds like a pizza!
Liam has mashed foods at the moment (rather than pureed), but he doesn't really chew so I'm not sure how he'd go with some of that stuff. Also I'm a bit iffy on the mushrooms as they are a fungus.
Does anyone ever rate threads? I've just given this one a 5... wonder if it will make a difference?
Cody eats all that stuff, including the mushrooms! Just throw it into the food processer and mix to the consistency you like.
The freezer is curently full of beef and mushroom casserole with rice and Spaghetti Bol!:yes:
Lauren - that's great that Jack slept that long! The solids must be helping
Yes, it's great. I think it is the solids but also because we ditched the dummy two weeks ago.
His days however have gone completely down hill. Sometimes no sleep for 4+ hours or just 20 minute naps, crying for up to an hour etc. I really have no idea how to fix it. It's frustrating, I seem to get one thing right and then the rest stuffs up
Better go I put him down 40 minutes ago and he's still screaming...I'm trying to ignore it :hair:
*Sparkles*
21-08-2007, 14:44
Sandy - We have air wrap around the bottom of the cot, stops any limbs from poking out lol. I actually got it to stop the light shining in his cot from the window.
Mon - R slept all night yesterday without a single peep. I even had to wake him this morning as we had to go out early.
I'm quite annoyed at the moment. DH took this morning off work so we could to our 1st IVF appt. We got there on time and then waited about 30 mins to see the doctor. Finally sat in his office and straight after the pleasantries and hellos his phone rang. Turns out he is also an OB and had to rush off and deliver a baby! So that was it, appt cancelled :banghead:
I have re-scheduled it for 2 week's time.
Not much else happening here, R is watching New McDonalds Farm and will have a sleep soon.
Lauren - as a result of his playing, rolling over etc in the cot we are trying the two day sleep strategy, this morning he needed a sleep at 9.30 so that is when he went down - he slept for two hours, this afternoon it is not 3.50 and he is going down for his second sleep (he fell asleep at 3.30, but he woke up just now when l went out the front door, but l think he has already resettled himself)... lets hope he goes down for another 1 hour+...
Maybe you could try that? Coen did wake up this morning at 10.30 but l left him in his cot for 10 minutes and he fell back to sleep (he wasn't crying though... ) does Jack wake up crying?
Good luck!!
We have air wrap around the bottom of the cot, stops any limbs from poking out lol.
... Turns out he is also an OB and had to rush off and deliver a baby! So that was it, appt cancelled.
If sleeping bag doesn't work we may have to look into this air wrap business...
How annoying about the appt!
Pen - how is K's rash? what did the dr. have to say? Was it you that said that bubs had some reaction to the chlorine in the pool?
does Jack wake up crying? Good luck!!
Not really crying just whinging....I leave him for up to an hour now but he rarely re-settles. My MCHN said to only get him up once he's really going for it. He knows how to settle himself to sleep and re-settle he just won't do it much during the day. He still needs the sleep though as he's rubbing his eyes and is generally cranky
He never slept this arvo so I resorted to the car and he only slept for 20 minutes...hate to think how much petrol I used
I hope it's just a phase :(
its so good to be able to start posting more often now i don't work :smiliedance:
Penny that rash looks soooo sore poor little K.
I agree with lauren about stopping solids and going one by one when it clears up.
Marissas bum looked like that when we found out she was Lactos intolarent. I hope the doc has some good news or a miracle cream for him.:hugs: for U and Kaelan
Lauren Marissa chucks tanties all the time when she can't see me but i let her go she soon finds something to play with or chew.
Kay and Tan thank god for mummies that have more then one bub. I asked him if he is awake or asleep when he wees, he said 'asleep' but i told him about the little bed on the floor thing and the take his bed back to the shop and he said he will stop weeing the bed so we will see what happens. thanks for the tips ur life savers. Or u could say water savers.
Kay wedding bells real soon are you packing your panties yet?
Tan how did you go today are you :hair: out yet?
Mon i give all that to Marissa and she hates the bland stuff now.
Hannah so glad to hear you had a better day after all u deserve it.
Hels sorry to hear about the doctor. I didn't even no you where starting yet how long after you see him could u be pregnent?
will try and catch u all in chat tonight
Alicia
xxxxx
Hehehehehehehehe
Double post
RE; sleeping Marissa wakes at 8am then has a 20min sleep round 10am then a 45min round 4ish then bed at 9pm so she don't sleep much during the day.
Marissa is totally fascinated with the xbox remote she will play with it for ages.
I'm glad I'm not the only one with a crappy day sleeper...seems I just like to whinge about it more :p
This is what Jack thinks of day sleeps (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0460.jpg)
Oh and this one (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0016.jpg) is for you Mon!
No chat for me..I'm a closet All Saints fan and I need some vege out time on the couch tonight.....I will have to make it to TMI Tuesday one of these nights :D
Hels - That sucks about the appointment... I guess that is the hazard of seeing a specialist that also doubles as an Obstetrican. Hope your next appointment goes better :)
Thanks everyone about your advice re: Kaelans rash. The doctor couldn't really tell me much (I honestly don't know if he knew what he was talking about... nice guy though). He seemed more concerned that K's hands were 'swollen'. In my opinion, I think K's hands were just reddened and puffy because it was very hot in the clinic... vasodilation will do that to a person !!
Anyways, as I suspected he prescribed Kaelan some cortisone cream so we'll see how that goes. He also thinks it's an allergy so I guess I'm going to have to be more observant with what solids I give him (I'm still suspecting the potato here).
I'm tossing up whether I should go to my normal doctor (the doctor today is my 'back-up' doctor *LOL*) and ask for a referral for allergy testing. Only catch with that, is that there is a 6-12 month waiting period to get in at the Childrens Hospital.
In the meantime, :fingerscrossed: that this cortisone cream works.
hi everyone
we have a room in live chat. ive changed the password so wait in MAIN for an invite and we will send it with the invite..
see you all there
JoJoMart
21-08-2007, 19:49
Lauren - this might make you feel better......Liam only had two naps today and both were 30 minutes so by 6pm he was really cranky......or shall I say ****ed off big time! He cracked it after his bath when I was changing him into his night clothes.......started screaming....then I fed him and he fell asleep on the bottle towards the end of the feed. What a handful Liam can be in the evenings!
I have my MCHN appt tomorrow to get Liam weighed etc and will ask about solids too as he's refusing farex and pureed apple so not sure if he's not ready yet or just not hungry or interested?
No chat from me I'm about to sit in front of the box before DH comes home.
*Sparkles*
21-08-2007, 19:52
Hels sorry to hear about the doctor. I didn't even no you where starting yet how long after you see him could u be pregnent?
The first appt is top get back on the program and see what course of action they want us to take, eg insemination or IVF. We won't be starting until oct/nov but they might want me to do some tests first to check if I am fertile after having bubs etc. There's no rush, but it can take ages to get things happening because they have so many patients.
Thanks everyone about your advice re: Kaelans rash. The doctor couldn't really tell me much (I honestly don't know if he knew what he was talking about... nice guy though). He seemed more concerned that K's hands were 'swollen'. In my opinion, I think K's hands were just reddened and puffy because it was very hot in the clinic... vasodilation will do that to a person !!
Anyways, as I suspected he prescribed Kaelan some cortisone cream so we'll see how that goes. He also thinks it's an allergy so I guess I'm going to have to be more observant with what solids I give him (I'm still suspecting the potato here).
I'm tossing up whether I should go to my normal doctor (the doctor today is my 'back-up' doctor *LOL*) and ask for a referral for allergy testing. Only catch with that, is that there is a 6-12 month waiting period to get in at the Childrens Hospital.
In the meantime, :fingerscrossed: that this cortisone cream works.
There's a pretty good chance the cortisone will clear it up. I am allergic to metals and I get an itchy rash if I wear non gold and even the back of the button on my jeans will give me a rash on my tummy! I suppose you need to get to the bottom of it though, so an appt at the allergy clinic might not be a bad idea :yes: .
I made my fist MCN insert today!! A nice big hour glass one made of 3 layers of microfibre towelling. I'll wash it a few times and then try it on R in a GK nappy.
Might pop into chat for a while, I forgot today was tuesday lol.
great pics lauren. we had at mini meet today at ninas new house. she is getting married in 3 weeks. ryan is well and finially over his cold. weather is misereable here at the moment. went to another dr about the pnd. i have to take fish oil and stop drinking alcohol. suppose it will be worth the sacrife if it makes me feel better in the end.
SuperFrog
21-08-2007, 21:07
Oh and this one (http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u299/lmenz/IMG_0016.jpg) is for you Mon!
I thought it was going to be a nose-picking pic! :laughing:
Seriously though, you are partly living my life I think... we have flooring the same as that.
Ok.. I'm bored. I should be asleep because I have to get up early to have another liver ultrasound at 9am (no further worries here... the Austin just want to have their own scan and their own results, so I have to do it all over again !! :rolleyes: ). This also means I'm fasting which sucks because I swear that you only want food when you can't have it !!
There is another thread on Bubhub about whether babies looked similiar to what they did in their 4D scans, so I put a comparison picture together of K at 30 weeks gestation and then on the day of his birth.
http://www.penny-clark.com/temp/comparison.jpg
I can definately see the similarities... what do you think??
Oh well... nothing left to say... maybe I will try and get some sleep.
Goodmorning all
Haven't been able to post much lately as i'm on holidays. Using my aunties computer at the moment.
Well the first few days here the weather was really good but the last couple of days all i've seen is rain. It has finally stopped raining today but still very overcast.
Well anyways i better get going. got to have a shower and get dressed then decide what to do today.
mon and lauren- we have that jacket too!! we have the whole set. dp loved this theme so much he got the bodysuits, overalls, hat, top, jeans, socks and booties all the same theme. (PP had a sale on!) not like him to give a toss about buying kids clothes but if its cars then he'll buy it! his overalls are just like the pic we saw of coens. pretty cute.
i love the other pic lauren, you just need a really cool MCN and hes set.
im meant to be working so id better get to it while eli is asleep.
he starts childcare on friday...