View Full Version : Hello
New mummy
01-04-2005, 21:07
Hi, I am really glad to have found this site! this is my first preganancy, Im about 8 weeks and very excited! I am hoping to meet some great new people and share our stories and experiances.
So far an interesting thing for me is my gums hurt :o ( think this is normal) I am looking forward to having a growing tummy :D , but am alittle reserved thinking about giving birth :confused: , but am definately sure it will be all worth it in the end :-)
Ok thanks for hearing a little bit about me, hope to hear from others soon
New Mummy :-)
hi new mummy, welcome! Im so excited for you!
dont worry i had sore gums with my 1st for some reason :o they would bleed sometimes too. look forward to getting to know you :)
shellbell
01-04-2005, 22:20
hi new mummy,
CONGRATULATIONS !!! its a wonderful thing, this whole pregnancy and motherhood caper!
i don't remember my gums being sore, but they bled everytime i brushed - normal but a bit gross. The growing tummy thing is the best part of pregnancy, as far as i'm concerned, and just wait till your little one starts to kick. it'll bring tears to your eyes - magical. of course its natural to be terrified by the whole birth process, but it really is a beautiful thing. otherwise, why would we all keep going back for more ?? (i have 2 and we're contemplating #3)
anyway, keep posting your experiences/fears/stories. i look forward to hearing them
michelle
alicesmum
01-04-2005, 22:24
hi new mummy
Congrats! A very exciting time for you!!!
I loved being pregnant, despite the 16 weeks of sickness. It is a truly exciting learning curve!!!
Check out the birth stories thread if interested. Mine's there...just posted it in my chardonnay-affected state!! (Very happy I can have a couple of wines again...9 months of abstinence was hard for this little crushed grape fan!). Though it's only one day in your life, it's a day unlike any other; one that you'll never tire of talking about (unfortunately for some perhaps :) ) and which you'll never ever forget.
Try not to be too scared. Enjoy!!!!!!
:p
shellbell
01-04-2005, 22:27
hey alicesmum
drinking and chatting on the net - sounds very familiar !! :D
New mummy
01-04-2005, 22:46
thanks heaps to you all, its so good to hear from you all.
Im new to this web site too so am still learning my way around this site
cheers!
New mummy
02-04-2005, 13:24
Hi all :D
How is everyone doing today? its saturday, day off for me, so I got to sleep in for alittle bit, better live it up while I can hey!
I work in child care as a group leader at a centre in Darwin, what does every one else do? Well ill be off again , am feeling hungry so wil go make myself something to eat, oh what types of cravings have people had? I havent had any yet but Id love to know if others have had any
Ok take care and have fun!!
New Mummy :D
New mummy
02-04-2005, 13:40
hi new mummy
Congrats! A very exciting time for you!!!
I loved being pregnant, despite the 16 weeks of sickness. It is a truly exciting learning curve!!!
Check out the birth stories thread if interested. Mine's there...just posted it in my chardonnay-affected state!! (Very happy I can have a couple of wines again...9 months of abstinence was hard for this little crushed grape fan!). Though it's only one day in your life, it's a day unlike any other; one that you'll never tire of talking about (unfortunately for some perhaps :) ) and which you'll never ever forget.
Try not to be too scared. Enjoy!!!!!!
:p
Hi Alices mum I have just read your story it was amazing and so many other too, it brought a real smile to my face for you, it sounds amazing! I wouldnt know anything about not breathing though, guess I will have to find out some time :)
I loved reading every minute of it! and congratulations on it all!! must be the best feeling in the world!
New mummy
New mummy
02-04-2005, 13:42
hi new mummy, welcome! Im so excited for you!
dont worry i had sore gums with my 1st for some reason :o they would bleed sometimes too. look forward to getting to know you :)
Hi how are you? Ive been reading some of the stories they are great, did you have one?? Ill have a look around :) What does the little codes next to your babies names mean? hope im not rude in asking?
ok take care
New mummy :)
Michele Crocker
02-04-2005, 17:29
Hi, New mummy,
Congratulations, I am also pregnant and I am 8 and half weeks. This will be no. 5 for me. When are you due, I am due about the 8th November, this is a rough estimate because I haven't seen my obstretician or had my U/S yet.
Michele
Mother of Christopher, Luke, Melissa, Jayden and ?(due in November)
02-04-2005, 21:46
Hi NM! Congratulations! I hope your gums feel better soon, but all the books ive been reading (scary hu...I guess youve all been there) say that its normal...something to do with hormones I think. :-)
Good luck! Looking forward to getting to know you! :p
Hi New mummy!
I'll be a mum soon, I'm very excited but scared also. I hadn't really been scared as the whole labour part seemed so far away but not anymore! :eek:
You have a wonderful experience ahead of you, I can understand why some people go back again and again, feeling your baby kick is unbelievable, something you will never forget! :D
Talk to you again soon!
New mummy
05-04-2005, 22:17
Hi NM! Congratulations! I hope your gums feel better soon, but all the books ive been reading (scary hu...I guess youve all been there) say that its normal...something to do with hormones I think. :-)
Good luck! Looking forward to getting to know you! :p
Hi kathleen,
All exciting! My gums are dong better now, not brushing so hard and being alittle moree gentle :-) I am now 9 weeks Yippee!! only a month to go till I can tell people! cant wait :p how far along are you ? I am due approx novemeber 12th ish, I guess I wont acturally find out till the scan and apparently they dont do that till about 20 weeks, oh bother how long to have to wait!
What books are you reading? I am reading what to expect when your expecting and Up the duff by kaz cooke ! and oh my gosh love up the duff, its a hoot, she sheds the light on some things you cant pronounce and things you can pronounce but can be Taboo. Just love it. Makes me glad to feel I am normal to feel happy, sad, grumpy, excited and worried all in one day :D
Ok will be off have fun ! Nice to meet you
New mummy
New mummy
05-04-2005, 22:26
Hi New mummy!
I'll be a mum soon, I'm very excited but scared also. I hadn't really been scared as the whole labour part seemed so far away but not anymore! :eek:
You have a wonderful experience ahead of you, I can understand why some people go back again and again, feeling your baby kick is unbelievable, something you will never forget! :D
Talk to you again soon!
Hi Narelle,
Nice to meet you! I am very excited for you! the time must go sooo quick, I keep wanting for my belly to pop out but I just get told to wait it will happen in time, and before you know it you will be about to have the baby, but it has got to be very much worth it! I can understand being scared about labour although im still abit away, but I reckon that it will be great other wise we wouldnt go back and have more children!
ok best wishes talk soon
New mummy :D
Hi New mummy!
It does seem to take forever for a belly to appear, especially when you're checking yourself out in front of the mirror every day! :D
Don't be in too much of a rush it makes putting your shoes and socks on a lot more difficult!
Baby Girl
06-04-2005, 11:01
Narelle,
You made me laugh. And got me thinking.... I don't think I have worn socks or any shoes that aren't slip ons in about a month and a half and I am not due until 24/5/05!! :D
I have noticed that once your belly gets big it can be entertaining watching bubs move around in there!! My DD loves to watch her baby brother or sister doing somersaults!!
Girls, don't be afraid of labour, I was terrified with my first one but once I started to actually have contractions I was fine. I was really calm and not worried at all. I had convinced my self that I WASN'T THE FIRST AND I WOULDN'T BE THE LAST ONE TO EVER GIVE BIRTH!! And I am here for a 2nd time so it couldn't have been all bad ;) .
Good luck to all.
Thanks Kelly!
That makes me feel a little better!
Hey that's one of the benefits of being pregnant over summer, it's hot enough and not to mention trendy these days to wear thongs!
All the best with the birth of your second child, do you know what you're having?
We don't, I like suprises! :D
Baby Girl
06-04-2005, 11:40
God bless the person who made thongs a fashion item!!
Nope we have no idea what we are having (I hope it is a baby!!). The little bugger actually had its hands in its crutch at both ultrasounds so I have my suspisions!! I did not want to find out but my partner did (with the 1st one too) and we weren't able to see with either of them (umbilical cord was in the way with our DD). I am not even going to hazard a guess this time as I was sure I was having a boy last time and actually asked the midwife to check again when my daughter was born!!
I thought I would have a feeling about what I'm having but I have no clue!!!
At first we thought we might be having a boy as the baby's heartrate has been
around 140 every time it's been checked and there's the old wives tale that if it's
under 150 it's a boy but then we found out a healthy heartrate shouldn't go
above 160 which doesn't leave much room for a girl!
A few people have told me recently that I'm having a girl as I'm carrying high,
who knows? as long as my baby's healthy I don't care, anyway don't have to wait
much longer! :D
Welcome New Mummy. Love your book choices...I've read those too (Kaz cracks me up!), and have been recently reading "Active Birth" which might be good for making you feel more comfortable about the whole birth thing. :)
I was desperately keen for my tummy to start popping out so that people would know I was pregnant (rather then just porking up) too...not long after that though I found that it makes a lot of things you take for granted in a non-pregnant body tricky! When you first feel your baby move around inside is great too, but by the time you're in your last couple of months you may be over the constant footy games from 11pm to 4am. Swings and roundabouts with all the stages I think. I guess with the birth you have to look at it that way...it may hurt a LOT, but at the end of it you'll meet the little person you've been host vessel for for the past 10 lunar months. Can't wait. :D
Narelle, had to giggle at your comment about people saying your baby must be a girl "because of where you're carrying" ...if I had a dollar for everytime someone tells me what sex my baby is bound to be because of where he/she is...hee hee
harrysmum
12-04-2005, 23:56
Congrats !! Such an exciting time for you. I had my first 13 months ago Sounds soo typical but it really does change your life.
Best of Luck