View Full Version : Fluoride Supplements?
Hi, I was wondering what others living in Brisbane, or in homes with filtered water, where the water doesn't have fluoride, think about the fluoride debate.
I'm confused by the research - I don't know if the pro on the con side of the debate has the better science.
Do we need to give our kids fluoride supplements to keep their teeth healthy? Or is brushing their teeth twice a day and avoiding sugars enough?
I was hoping to hear some first hand experiences on this topic - from Mums who give fluoride supplements and from those who haven't - especially if your kids now have their adult teeth.
If you do give fluoride, how often is necessary?
Does Brisbane not have flouride in the water?? How interesting. It's been in the water here for ages.
My understanding is that flouride in the water has led to a significant reduction in caries in teeth and an significant improvement in oral health - which saves money for everyone in the long run. Also, poor teeth can contribute to all sorts of other problems, so flouride toothpaste and flouride in the water is a good thing. I don't know about supplements - they aren't necessary if there is flouride in the water, but I'm not sure about otherwise.
Here is a fascinating aside about dental health - a recent study has shown that gum disease significantly increases the risk of premature birth, and that treating gum disease appropriately may cut the premature birth rate by up to 90%!!
B
maddysmama
02-02-2006, 10:09
I haven't done a lot of research on the matter, but from what I've read I'm not yet convinced of the necessity of having fluoride added to drinking water.
I did read that most studies claiming large benefits for fluoridation are poorly designed in terms of choice of test and control populations ( i.e. different socio-economic backgrounds not taken into account) And the failure to consider the effects of diet and poverty, which are the main factors determining prevalence of dental cavities.
I think I'd prefer the choice of whether to add yet another toxin to my diet. But like I said, I haven't properly researched the matter, I am very interested in hearing what others have to say.
THis shows how ignorant I am on the subject. DS had his 6 month shots on Tues and the dr (a different one, my ususal GP was off sick) said "are you giving him fluoride drops?" I had no idea I was meant to!! The nurse at the surgery then told me how she had given fluoride drops to her kids and they all have beautiful teeth. It was the first I have ever heard about it! I guess I want the best for my bub so will start him on the supplements. But am I the only Brisbane mum not to know about this????
As a little comparision. My mum gave my brother a floride supplement for years. My brother had them for most of his childhood but my mum stopped giving them as when I was little I got my hands on the bottle and overdosed on them. A trip to the hospital and a week or two later, I was fine but my mum never had them in the house again.
So my brother and I did the same with our teeth except for the fact that he had a floride supp and I didn't. We have both never had any problems with our teeth. My teeth have been perfect.
From what I have read floride is a dangerous industry by product. I don't know all the ins and outs of it all but from my own experience I have not seen the benefit.
In saying all this, even if it was put into Brisbane water it wouldn't effect me as we have tanks anyway.
Interesting topic though.
The fluoride debate is interesting.
From what I've read over the past few years, yes it seems to have helped with oral health, but there are lots of other factors involved too, one of the key ones being educated about oral hygeine, dentist visits, the affect of sugars & diet etc. And remember, some people still have terrible teeth, just as some had great teeth before the fluoridisation of our water.
The concern I have is that the side affects of fluoride don't seem to be considered, or if they have, they haven't been made overly public.
The fluoride compound that is added to our water is apparently the same compound that is found in valium, and the same that was added to the water in Nazi concentration camps during the war. It is used as a sedative.
The MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheet) for Fluoride also lists it has hazardous waste and says "Do not release into the environment".
:confused: The main issue I have is not about whether it is good or bad for us, but whether governing bodies have the right to mass-medicate the public, removing our choice in the matter.
Lis
I asked CHN about it when DD1 was a baby and they said flouride supplements weren't required until she was 3.
I asked a dentist about it and he suggested that she would get the fluoride she needed from her toothpaste, even the fluoride reduced kiddy toothpaste (because she is too little to spit out). He did not think that flouride supplements were necessary. So I don't give either of my kids fluoride.
DH actually has problems because he had too much fluoride (supplements given into his teen years). His teeth have flouride staining (white patches) and he has very deep grooves in his molars that require filling.
I am glad that we don't have flouride in the water in Brisbane, as eveyone here can then make their own decision and not be medicated enmasse (JMO ;) ).
Yup, i am glad we dont have it in the water. I have done quite a bit of reading about fluoride and as a family we decided not to use it. We buy fluoride FREE toothpaste as we see it as yet another toxin that we can live without:rolleyes: We tyr to make sure the kids dont have juice or lollies or anything, heaps of water and brush their teeth really well:)
melfunction
02-02-2006, 14:50
I'm not giving K any fluoride of any kind. From my research, I believe he can do without being exposed to another toxin.
5 grams of full strength Fluoride will kill most adults.
Exactly KM:) They tell you not to swallow toothpaste for a reason:) Wasnt fluoride some kind of waste product from the aluminum industry first discovered in Nazi Germany? MMM yummy...:rolleyes:
melfunction
02-02-2006, 15:13
Although, the most cases of fluoride poisoning is caused by accidental ingestion of insecticides and rodenticides..Nice thought :eek:
Well, you learn something new everyday:D I never knew that "rodenticide"was a word!!
Kirstlea
02-02-2006, 16:28
We are having this great debate in Cairns.
I think there is alot of scare mongering. There is no flouride in our water and we have alot of kids getting teeth pulled at 3 and 4 years old. Now that is not to say its because of no flouride as I think soft drink and juice is also part of the culprit.
My brother and I were brought up in London for the 1st ten years of our life with flouride in our water and up until the last 5 years every dentist that saw my teeth commented on my lovely teeth. I have been in Cairns for 10 years.
The idea that it is toxic, well that amazes me as you do not hear of people dying from flouride poisoning. Everything in moderation.
The same with flouride the small amount of flouride that goes into water is not enough to cause problems but enough to help with health.
Its like eating too many mangos really - they give you belly ache if you eat too many :D I just did that lol.
There are several dentists up here that reccommend using full flouride toothpaste for your children and not to rinse their mouths so that they get some flouride into their system.
Dentists must know what they are talking about, they all did years of study and research.
Well thats my opinion, obviously not everyone will agree with it.
Dentists must know what they are talking about, they all did years of study and research.
I do agree with you that dentists know all about teeth:D I would probably question how much they know about what else fluoride can do to the body.
I grew up with fluoride in the water in Sydney and have never had a filling so I dont doubt that it is good for teeth, however that benefit, for me doesnt outweigh the fact that it is poisonous. I know that ew dont seepeople dropping dead from fluoride poisoning but I worry about the longterm effects of all these chemicals that we put into our bodies these days...chemicals in food, cleaning products, water, vaccines, medicine etc etc. Just freaks me out a bit:eek: LOL
Its like eating too many mangos really - they give you belly ache if you eat too many I just did that lol.
LOL, I know!! But they're just so damn irresistable!
Kirstlea
07-02-2006, 22:54
chemicals in food, cleaning products, water, vaccines, medicine etc etc. Just freaks me out a bit LOL
I hear you Ffrenchstar I feel a little paranoid myself about all the chemicals but with the flouride issue I really feel that the obvious benefits out weigh the possible dangers.
Your talking to a person who uses a steam mop with no chemicals to clean the floor and lots of elbow grease and hot water to clean anything else.
No chemicals down our sinks or toilets as we are on a septic system. I rarely take pain killers or give dd panadol.
We are even trying to get organised enough to grow our own chemical free vegies lol.
No I am not a greeny:p
The flouride issue will always be a great debate don't you think? I reckon they should give out flouride tablets free of charge to anyone who wants them. That way a choice is made by the individual rather than the council who gives you no choice.
We only have rain water tanks as there is no town water where we live so we have a choice. Only problem is no one stocks flouride tablets, or if they do they are hard to find.
The flouride issue will always be a great debate don't you think? I reckon they should give out flouride tablets free of charge to anyone who wants them. That way a choice is made by the individual rather than the council who gives you no choice.
Yup, I agree with this....people should be able to choose whether they have it or not...better than having no choice about it being in the water:)