View Full Version : Ovulation predictor tests & TTC
Girls
I've been TTC for 2 months for our 3rd child but have found my cycle to be a little irregular so cannot rely upon temp charting to give me an accurate pinpoint with ovulation (and as you all know, finding the time with little ones around is not easy, so this doing it every second day is not always possible).
I've now bought ovulation predictor tests to get a more accurate idea of when is the right time to give it a go. Have any of you used them before and found they helped you to conceive?
Any other tips you could lend we women out there who are not getting lucky first or second time around?
R
willsmum
01-04-2005, 11:30
Hi Ruth,
We used a Maybe Baby. It is a lipstick sized microscope that tests saliva. If you are ovulating the saliva dries in a fern shaped crystal that you view thru the microscope bit. Costs about $80 from chemist, but can be used over and over again indefinitely.
Willsmum
Did you get pregnant because of it's assistance?
R
We used the urine ovulation monitoring (Clearplan brand) and found it excellent....got pregnant 2nd month using it!! Mind you - I had pretty regular cycles and had a fair idea that I ovulated about day 14 anyway - but this made it very accurate.......expensive though - 5 tests about $60.
good luck,
T
willsmum
01-04-2005, 15:33
Hi Ruth,
4 pregnancies from Maybe Baby (2 babies, 2 miscarriages)
Vicky
Hi Ruth,
I have used the Clearplan Ovulation Testing kit and it has been somewhat successful -still took time to get pregnant though -I think that's life unfortunately (am 11 weeks pregnant with first baby after having a miscarriage at 8 weeks in August last year - took us 5 months to conceive both times). I have irregular cycles too (though possibly much more irregular than yours - from 31 days to 44 days - the 44 day one drove me insane let me tell you) and really needed help to work out when I was ovulating.Unfortunately it was very expensive at $60-70 a packet (I had to buy 3 packets because I could be ovulating anywhere from day 14 to day 29 - very convenient!!!). However I believe it was worth it because we really wanted to start our family and after a years worth of trying I am hoping that this one will stick with us. Anyway I think they are good and it defintely helped me get pregnant both times (quite a distinctive blue line when you are about to ovulate).Best of luck.
My only other tip is try to not focus too much on getting pregnant (much easier said than done though I know - I was quite obsessed after trying for a year).I finally got pregnant the second time around in the one month that I thought "it doesn't matter if it happens or not" because I had decided to focus on other things instead -getting fit and healthy and looking after myself and having a break from work and relaxing and enjoying my time to myself.
Hope this is a lucky month for you (and if not it will happen in the future) - enjoy your time with your family as it is for now.
Cath
P.S. I also bought the Maybe Baby microscope but didn't find it worked - don't know why.
I used a maybe baby and didn't find it worked. I have used fortel urine ovulation tests which you can but from supermarkets and chemists from about $17 through to $30 depending on where you buy it. It contains 5 tests and it predicted my ovulation. I just ordered 20 ovulation tests and 7 preg tests for $11 incl postage off e bay, they should arrive soon so I will let you know how they go.
Abby
Well, I've been testing for ovulation with the Ovunow tests (cheap from Ebay). I get a control line and nothing else. I've also been monitoring my cervical mucus and it's indicating big time that I'm about to ovulate.
I'm beginning to think that these ovulation tests are not working. Perhaps this is because they are the cheap sort.
Anybody else had this problem?
R
noniandlilysmum
09-04-2005, 10:49
Hi there Ruth, I used the fortel ovulation predictor kit for one month and spent $60 before I ovulated, they do work, but I didn't fall pregnant using them, I gave up as they were so expensive... Like you, I have 2 little ones, so every spare moment I got(which wasn't very often) we had sex and fell that month... Everyone is different in this area, My sister in law has been trying for about 2 years and nothing, she's not even that serious, like with using OPK's, mucous checking and taking temp daily, so I thought she would surely be pregnant by now... I have said to her to go and see the Dr, just to eliminate one thing or another... She says she is scared he will tell her she just can't have children... I am not sure what to say, I guess when your ttc, your hoping that someone will give you a magical answer and sadly for many there isn't one... :confused: But anything helps right... :)
Girls
I've changed my perspective on the stress of all this TTC business.
There I was the other night hoping that hubby and I had got the timing right (we did, all signs showed I ovulated shortly after), when I received word from a good friend overseas who's due her second baby in July. She'd just had a car accident, fractured her pelvis and numerous other bones and so sadly her little baby died in utero shortly after. She's now sitting in a hospital with all her broken bones, waiting to be strong enough to deliver her little baby.
Here I am stressing about trying to conceive my third baby whilst she has all that to contend with. If I were to conceive this month I would gladly give her my baby to carry if I could.
Life's not fair sometimes, but it does make you think.
R
Yep Ruth - you are right. We have to be thankful for what we have. I have one beautiful bub and will try for another - but if it doesn't happen I'm eternally grateful to have the one I have.
I too had tragedy's which put it into perspective for me - a friend and her Hb were both killed in car accident but their 2 young children survived......+ have another friend with 3 young children with cancer...........makes you think........live for today and be happy with what you have.........having also faced infertility and childlessness (severe endometriosis) myself + have a sister who couldn't have children..............I am now realising how lucky I am.......some people never get the chance to have one child.
Having said all this - it IS very hard to want to have a baby and then it won't happen............
All the best & good luck to you - I do hope it happens for you soon.
T
DIANNEKB
20-04-2005, 10:55
I am new to the forum and have been trying to concieve for 2 months and bought the maybe baby kit to help me out.... when I do the test I find that I might have 1 fern (quite large) under the microscope then the rest is just heaps of dots......and now again this morning I am not even getting the fern like structure just dots but they are more spread out and larger than when I first tested on it when I wasnt ovulating. I am very confused and cant seem to find any information on the net about it, apart from the basic stuff..........
Can anyone help????????? Also if you are pregnant and you test your saliva does anyone know what result will show up???
Can someone email me today either on the thread or personally .... thankyou so much......
Dianne :confused:
Hi dianne,
I too am using a cheaper brand of maybe baby off ebay and im finding it too hard to work out as well. Some days i get slight ferns and other days lots of ferns ( when i know im not ovulating). I do know that if you do it while you have AF or are pregnant you will most likely see lots of ferning. Im finding the urine ovulation sticks much more effective. Hope this helps and goodluk:bee:
mum2maddy
22-04-2008, 13:38
I used one (wee on a stick type) TTC with this bub - can't remember which brand but i got it from Woolies. It was about $20. We had been trying for 4 months and had no success so we decided to try something a bit more clinical.
We fell pregnant on the 2nd month of using it. I wouldn't bother ttc without one now - not that we are planning on going for round three!
I am sorry to hear about the lady who lost her bubs due to car accident - so so sad. :(
Peace
mrsnomes
22-04-2008, 14:41
I wasnt TTC but bought a Maybe Baby for when hubby and I decided to start. I found that whenever I used it, it never worked. Then one night i decided to take my saliva sample from the back of my tongue rather than the front. It worked!! I saw ferns! I actually saw them by accident cause I was showing hubby how to use it (hehe he wanted to see if he was ovulating :laughing::laughing:)
Anyhoo, this bubs was a big suprise to both of us cause we weren't TTC for another 6 mths.
Good Luck TTC, baby dust coming your way :babydust2::babydust2: