View Full Version : The best gift?

runningmum
31-01-2006, 18:41
Any thoughts on what to buy for a friend who is having a baby shower? What was the best gift you got, the one you have used the most?

I didn't have a baby shower but still got loads of gifts and found I have used absolutely everything that I was given. I've probably used the mobile the most. The worst gift had to be a bottle of red wine given by some workmates. Not the most appropriate gift for a newborn and breastfeeding mother! But at least Dad got to drink it. Come to think of it I'd love to hear about the worst gift you were given too. Just so I don't buy it for my friend!

H&B'sMum
31-01-2006, 18:52
The best girft I got at mine, was the a washer from the Body shop. It's a chami lile material and love it, gets Harry's face nice and clean. And he canget really dirty, sucha boy. Also from teh same friend I got some milk bath powder, which was yummy when I had a bath to relaxe in. May be something nice for mum rather than all baby or a mixture of both.

veve
31-01-2006, 19:11
oooh DEFINATELY the microwave steriliser... even if she is breastfeeding... it is great for the odd occasion when she needs to sterilise her breastpump... :D it cost about $20... and I use it EVERYDAY!!!!!!! worth its weight in gold!!

I also love my bath support.... Jack is getting too big for it now... but it helps with bath nerves when you first get home!!!!

good luck!! have fun at the shower!!!

Tracie
31-01-2006, 20:39
If you are a bit creative, a fun and unique prezzy is a "Baby Cake".

It's basically a "cake" made out of disposable (or cloth) nappies, bibs, onesies, socks, dummies, bottles, toys, whatever you want really?

You just put it all together to look like a real cake - great to have as the centrepiece at your party.

Actually it's a great prezzie for hospital too - looks just as pretty as flowers but is full of useable, practical things.

I have made heaps of them for friends and they are always really chuffed!

If you need more info on how to make them, let me know.

Tracie

zenifa
31-01-2006, 21:32
One of the best presents I received was a nappy service, its great especially in those first few weeks, if mum is undecided about using cloth/disposables and also means that they don't have to worry about all that washing (remember that newborns go through lots of nappies). They drop off nappies once a week and collect dirty nappies twice/week. When changing bubs its so easy as the nappy, liners (if they use them) and wipes/cotton balls all go into one bin thats collected.

Another great present was a sling, I had my DD in it for months. In those early days/weeks, its a great way to settle bubs as they love to be close to mum, but she can have her hands free to do other things.

I also received some lovely natural products from Perfect Potion - for baby the 'beautiful baby bottom balm' with tangerine, lavender and chamomile and for mummy the 'sweet dreams pillow mist' with roman chamomile, lavender and sweet orange. You just spray some mist on your pillow to invoke serenity, inner peace and hopefully some restful sleep in those first few weeks/months!!! If you can't get these products Gaia baby stuff is also great and all natural!!

SuperWoman
31-01-2006, 22:06
:o Some of the useful things I recommend are baby carrier, cot mobile, singlets, packs of jumpsuites, bath products, nappies, powders, creams, bibs, bunny rugs or some infant toys! Hope that helps!!:o

Snugglepot
01-02-2006, 07:09
The best gift to give is large Bunny rugs. All the usual ones you buy at target etc are less than 1m x 1m. They is too small within a few weeks to keep baby snug, they need to be bigger than that size. I like to make then out of lovely soft cotton at around 1.2x1.2mts. You can also buy larger ones from the breast feeding association at Target and other places, they cost more but are really good.

My SIL made 4 large flannel ones for my winter son and I still use them for his change table etc now. The Best gift ever!

Oh I also got a bag of little plastic containers and bowls for bubs first few months on solids. I love them, they have snug lids and are the right size to pop into your baby bag. There was about 20 items in a pack, it has been a great gift.

I can not think of a worst gift, maybe someones elses taste in clothes!

elissas
01-02-2006, 16:45
I received some awesome gifts - including laundry hampers choccas with baby stuff.

One of the best was a massage voucher for me at Endota Day Spa! Awesome!

Another fantastic gift that had me in tears was 200 school dinners in our baby's name, donated to those less fortunate, with a card from Oxfam. Very thoughtful and original. It reminded us that baby's bring so much joy, and that the birth of our bub brought something to other children's lives. It also helped us put everything in perspective. We get so bogged down in the financial, material stuff sometimes...

Lis xo:D

JenNT
01-02-2006, 17:12
I have to agree with Harry's mum and say the Body Shop's Chamois...its brilliant and soft, perfect for getting into those little creases and soaking up excess moisture after the bath as well.Dries like a rock but is soft as a feather and is only about $6-$8.Maybe some baby bath as well...Amolin is gorgeous, gotta love that smell!!

HTH Jen :D

01-02-2006, 17:29
The things that I got as gifts that i got the most use out of was a Microwave Sterilizer - even though I still bf, it gets used for MJ's dummies, sippee cups & breast pump on the rare occasion i try to use it.

What was a really clever idea was the gift of a couple of boxes of panadol :p I was very grateful for them. Oh and the goodie basket of chips, choc etc :p

RB

pthalokitty
01-02-2006, 23:35
Definitely soft soft baby wraps- preferably cotton- really great for the summer heat, and you can layer without overheating in the winter. The bigger the better.
em xxoo

sugar n spice
01-02-2006, 23:56
I totally agree the microwave steriliser and bath support though you can never get enough nappies (not cheapos though):o

02-02-2006, 13:57
i'm going with the microwave steriliser too. it's fantastic!!

for me, the worst was trinkety stuff. i'm the opposite of a hoarder, so i found them a bit useless. eg. my first curl box.

consumable stuff is always great. like wipes, soap etc. u can never have too much of that!!:p

Mummy_Johnno
02-02-2006, 19:26

Do you think it is rude to have a list of things you would like to receive at a baby shower? I am the same as you Becca Rae, i hate clutter and nic nacs.

Lyn

Frazzled
03-02-2006, 14:05
one of my most beautiful friends made me a basket of things just for me - face masks, feet treatments, Palmer's Firming lotion (top stuff) and beautiful body products. This was lovely to have in the time just before the baby comes when you are at home in waiting.

I don't know if you could give this as a gift, but one of the best things I have loved since having my baby is a great and comfortable maternity bra - if she is going to feed? Loveable are the best (IMO)

also agree with the basic stuff, nappies and wipes and best of all pull-over-the-head BIG bibs - if you have a reflux baby like me these are wonderful! Bonds singlets that are body suits are fanatstic cause they dont ride up like normal singlets! BIG wraps - pumpkin patch are great but someone bought me some from BestnLess and they are huge and great.

Have fun!

jarrahsmumma
03-02-2006, 14:17
The best gift I recieved was a weeks worth of frozen organic meals that a friend had made for us. She even took into consideration which foods may give baby wind through breastmilk.:D

jacks mum
03-02-2006, 16:20
we were so lucky with our baby shower that I didn't have to buy hardly any clothes (even got bought bigger sizes).

Still using products that were given

Zoo pillow which is for breast feeding but is now good for ds to sit in and play with.

coloured cloth nappies which I use as spew rags (you know which colour you take for the day and it doens't get mixed up with anyone elses)

massage voucher for me (lovely)

cot mobile ( fish that makes noises and lights up with vibrations from target)

cot mobile that plays music and projects onto the ceiling which ds loves to look at when he goes to sleep. (he doesn't get it every night so he's not reliant on it)

anything practical is the best pressie

good luck

veve
03-02-2006, 21:10

Do you think it is rude to have a list of things you would like to receive at a baby shower? I am the same as you Becca Rae, i hate clutter and nic nacs.

Lyn

I dont think its rude...

I had a list - but I gave it to a friend to handle ... that way people didn't have to ask.. but if they did - I didn't know what I was getting... :)

even if you have a list... you'll get cute nick nacks :rolleyes: ... at least most of the ones I got were for bubs (moneyboxes etc)

mumoftwoboys2005
03-02-2006, 22:21
When a friend of mine told me she was pregnant a few years ago, I started buying bits n pieces every time I went food shopping. By the time her little boy arrived I had a big plastic box on wheels filled to the brim with it all. She loved it and was still using some of the things when her DS#2 arrived 2 years later.

Another friend of mine did that for me last year for DS#2 and I use the items every day. You could always put them into a big nappy bucket. Even if she doesn't use cloth nappies, I use mine to put his dirty clothes in at the end of the day so they don't get mixed up with everyone elses.

I hope I have been of some help. :)

SuperWoman
07-02-2006, 14:18
A subscription of practical parenting or mother and baby magazinewould be a great idea!!:p

lovemybub
08-02-2006, 17:25
The best gift I was given was actually when my baby was born, but it was a copy of the DVD "The Happiest Baby on the Block" - I think you can get it at Babies Galore and probably Babyco.

It's by an American paediatrician by the name of Dr Harvey Karp, who talks about calming reflexes in babies. It looks like magic when you watch the DVD, and I have to admit that I was skeptical because it looked so easy, but it really works. He talks about 'reflexes' your baby has which are like an off switch for their crying. Mind you, if they're crying because they're hungry or dirty or something, then you're probably better off feeding or changing them.:D

But when it comes to the sort of crying that people generally put down to 'colic' or whatever, it is wonderful. The things he shows you are also good for calming your baby down if they're over tired or whatever and having trouble getting to sleep.

Mind you, sometimes you have to persevere, or try a few different combinations - the 'trigger' that worked last time might not necessarily work this time, or might take a minute or so of persistence - but if you're like us, you will find that there are certain things that calm your baby down quite quickly and you will feel much more confident, not to mention less stressed.

Check out the website at www.thehappiestbaby.com I can't recommend it highly enough!

lovemybub
08-02-2006, 17:30

Lyn

I think that's a wonderful idea, particularly as I now have so many stuffed animals that I don't know what to do with them, and I feel like I can't give them away because they were gifts.

I found a lot of people asked me what I wanted anyway, especially if they haven't had children before.

Mumoffour
12-02-2006, 22:14
a sling ie baba sling would be great if you have the $$. how about a subscription to 'Natural parenting'magazine? my ex husbands ship mates did a big basket for us with baby consumables in it for bub and a nice hospital worthy nightie for me. :)

colkel
13-02-2006, 10:14
I have been to a few 'in home demonstratin' baby showers. One was Tupperware where the mum to be spent all the money earnt from party on baby tupperware, one was a jugsaw toy party and again spent the money earnt from party on toys and books for bubbie,

brooke
13-02-2006, 13:40
The best gift I ever got was a nappy wrapper.. its great and makes my life so much easier! Also I got a friends a magazine subscription to mother and baby mag and she loved it!

runningmum
14-02-2006, 12:47
Thanks for all of the great ideas. I ended up filling a nappy bucket with lots of consumables (nappies, wipes, cotton wool etc) and hope I've saved the new mum some money and trips to the shops when bubs is very small.

She got a lot of clothes as gifts so I'm glad I got something different.

Cheers!

indycar
20-11-2007, 08:56
The best gift I was given was a buckt of all things baby that my friend put together. She attached little notes to every item and told how it worked for her. She has the happiest little bubba. It was great for me and made me feel very confident. I have since made the 'Baby Bucket' for 5 friends. If you're having a shower it's a great idea to get everyone to put in $20-30 each and one person make up the bucket and tags. You use the bucket too - for soaking clothes in! You give tips on the tags like 'Panadol: give one hr prior to immunisation or when temp is over 37.5' etc,
We include: Curash baby wipes, baby panadol, J&J's breast pads, sudocream, pigeon newborn bottle with the peristalic nipple, pigeon 3 stage cup, Heinz spoons, a bib, a change mat, nappy sacks, a Huggies nappy travel pack, Gaia baby wash, bath toys, AND OF COURSE: STUFF FOR MUM. Like some nice Shea Butter to keep the stretch marks at bay.

3TinLids
21-11-2007, 13:53
I was given a bath thermometer for my first son 7 years ago at my baby shower and still use it now for my daughter(No 4). I have given all my friends one and they all loved them. The Nuk brand are the best!

Rebecca:sunshine:

choccie mmm
21-11-2007, 15:07
i always like to give a baby-related pressie FOR the mum @ a shower - and then give the baby a gift once it is born...so...at the last couple showers i have given the mum a subscription to "mother and baby" (or a magazine similar) so the gift lasts all year round!

Mummaholic
01-04-2008, 12:49
The best baby shower gift I recieved was a big hamper that most guests contributed to. There was napisan, dummies, baby bath stuff, lotions and heaps of other useful stuff. Got to try heaps of lovely brands this way.

In fact it was so useful that now I am about to have another baby shower for bub #2; and instead of presents as such, we're asking ppl to just bring one or two small, inexpensive items for the hamper. Items that probably cost under $5-10 but will most certainly come in handy.

mum2nv
23-04-2008, 14:28
My friend had all the baby basics from baby number one, but we wanted to throw her another baby shower just for the fun of it. So we all decided to give her little luxuries she wouldnt get for herself. She got things like a post baby massage voucher, gorgeous little gilrs clothes etc I bought her these gorgeous Isoki Vintage Slippers -so cute:cloud9:-from metromum. I think its nice to get luxuries you wouldnt buy for yourself

A Party of Five
25-04-2008, 08:55
A couple of the best thing I got was some Baby Paws (http://www.babypaws.com/) shoes and a Snug As A Bug (http://www.snugasabug.com.au/) but best of all was a New Mother's Gift pack for The Body Shop (http://www.thebodyshop.com.au/) with some really yummy body butter for those stretch marks :p

diesal444
25-04-2008, 09:33
The best gift I was given was a buckt of all things baby that my friend put together. She attached little notes to every item and told how it worked for her. She has the happiest little bubba. It was great for me and made me feel very confident. I have since made the 'Baby Bucket' for 5 friends. If you're having a shower it's a great idea to get everyone to put in $20-30 each and one person make up the bucket and tags. You use the bucket too - for soaking clothes in! You give tips on the tags like 'Panadol: give one hr prior to immunisation or when temp is over 37.5' etc,
We include: Curash baby wipes, baby panadol, J&J's breast pads, sudocream, pigeon newborn bottle with the peristalic nipple, pigeon 3 stage cup, Heinz spoons, a bib, a change mat, nappy sacks, a Huggies nappy travel pack, Gaia baby wash, bath toys, AND OF COURSE: STUFF FOR MUM. Like some nice Shea Butter to keep the stretch marks at bay.

Thats exactly what I was going to say. I have done this for a few pregnant friends and they loved it.
Its great to have a supply of consumables, like wash, wipes, panadol, nappy sacks etc...

Uniquey
26-04-2008, 09:15
The best gift for 'me' at my baby shower was a voucher for a deluxe predicure which was bliss, and for the baby, a thermometer (which has been a godsend) and some beautiful wraps for swaddling.

quaver
26-04-2008, 15:50
A subscription of practical parenting or mother and baby magazinewould be a great idea!!:p
:iagree:
I loved the mother and baby subscription. I am still enjoying it. It seems to arrive on a day that i need cheering. I live in a unit and have to limit the amount of baby stuff so this was great. Also it seemed weird at the time but I got a baby einstein DVD- Beethoven that has been a life saver on a couple of occasions. These are really pressies that you can give if you think the person has a lot of things already.
Also I dont think having a list is rude. My mum had a list that I was making for myself. Exact brands that i researched. She gave people ideas from that if they asked. It was great because i crossed things off on my list.