View Full Version : jogger pram warning
Hi i didn't know how to write this, but a friend of mine purchased a three wheeler pram one with the seat for an older child to sit on the front. She had only just fed her baby and she was in the shopping centre so she thought her baby would be safe just to put her into the pram not strapped in as she was asleep and didn't want to wake her up.. She was walking through the shops and the pram broke in half. Her son fell to the floor and her few week old baby got thrown out of the pram!! Luckily she was in the shops and not walking across a busy road.
I see people with these prams and want to tell them but don't want to offend them. So please if any one reads this please pass this warning around. And lets hope that it doesn't happen again! :fingerscrossed:
borntobemummy
21-07-2007, 12:22
:eek: what was the brand?
hmm was it an el cheapo one? was it put together correctly? and sorry but you should ALWAYS use the harness whenever a child is in a pram.
how did it 'break in half'?
I can bet it has nothing to do with the fact its a 3 wheeler, it would be either a cr@ppy cheap pram, or put together wrong. prams dont just randomly 'break in half'. was the older child under the weight limit?
so many questions and so many reasons why it could have happened.
just had a thought, my 3 wheeler folds down in the middle, but you need two hands to unlock it to get it to 'bend in half' to fold forwards, maybe when she put it up she didnt lock it into place properly? that could make it fold forwards maybe?
it seems sooooo suss :confused:
punkbaby
21-07-2007, 12:40
just had a thought, my 3 wheeler folds down in the middle, but you need two hands to unlock it to get it to 'bend in half' to fold forwards, maybe when she put it up she didnt lock it into place properly? that could make it fold forwards maybe?
it seems sooooo suss :confused:
I was thinking that too actually i know when i put my toddler seat on hubby didnt click it into place and here i am walking along and bingo, it starts folding on me its like OMG!! Thankfully i clicked it back in and all was ok after a mild heart attack
Not a fan of the joggers though prefer the 4 wheelers after going through so many where the front wheel seemed to not wantto stay on :(
Sounds like she either bought a dodgy one or it wasnt put together right
see i have had worse trouble with 4 wheelers, mine literally fell apart, and it was NOT cheap. the front wheel fell off constantly the back rest snapped, bits started falling off it. it was bad.
I would never buy a cheap brand pram, like from Aldi etc or targets brand (Baby Club) one of the baby section managers said they are the dodgiest brand and not to buy them!
punkbaby
21-07-2007, 13:43
No way i figure you cant put a price on safety prams car seats etc...when we had our accident our car seat split in half and the pram was thrown out the back window of the wagon....would you believe it was in one peice afterwards LOL so i went and got another one the same as it would survive such an impact!
yeh u gotta be careful.
i had a woolies trolley wit the two baby seats - the red ones , both my kids sitting in them and all of a sudden the bolts came loose and one of the wheels fell off. nobody helped me and had to somehow hold both kids and limp this trolley to the service desk.! :mad:
had a newborn and a two y.o so they werent heavy!
Missus S
21-07-2007, 21:58
Mosaic - that's dreadful :mad: I hope your friend is onto the manufacturer and retailer of the pram to let them know what happened.
That sounds dreadful hope they r ok!
Becus: doesnt it have a 9kg limit on those red chairs on trolleys??
It was a steelcraft pram. The children were all okay. her son wasn't over the weight limit and apparently it was put together properly!!
The shop where she got it was trying to get another pram for her but had a hard time trying to. She didn't want another one anyway. I couldn't really blame her!!
I am not bagging steelcraft or i didn't mean to offend anyone if i have i am sorry all i was trying to do was to warn people that these things can happen!
missie_mack
22-07-2007, 22:27
Thanks for the heads up Mosaic. Maybe this was a faulty pram. I'm a firm believer of what a previous OP said about getting what you pay for in prams (most of the time anyhow)
A family friend had a mothers choice 3 wheeler that had its front wheel drop off but then Ive also seen 4 wheelers fold down and collapse with the child in it....
I've had my 3 wheeler for a year now never had a problem, it pushes easily and never has shown any inclination to tip or break. It actually has a alimunium chassis! And I am far from delicate with it. Those shocks are there for a purpose!! :D
So maybe the moral of this story isn't to avoid all three wheelers but instead to be more choosy with which pram you buy????
Well said missy mack.
I look for quality when shopping for items that concern DD's safety. You never can be too careful!
I had always thought that Steelcraft was a good brand in prams but not anymore. My 3 wheeled pram is a shocker and doesn't feel safe when my 18 month old leans to one side to look at something.
I have a steelcraft 3 wheeler and the wheel dropped off in the middle of big W!!!! Wasnt even a year old at the time! I wouldnt have called it a cheap pram but middle range. It turns out that the bearing was screwed on way too tight and it just fell apart (something like that anyway) and a friend of DHs replaced it and have never had a problem with it since.
I dont use it anymore as with what ryma said, as DD moved around, it felt like she was going to tip out! I just use a cheap stroller now and I am trying to get her used to walking instead.
I think it just pays to be careful at all times, no matter how expensive or cheap your pram is!
~J'dore~
31-08-2007, 08:20
We have a three wheeler pram that has a front toddler seat that can attach at the front, we paid about $500 for it 4 years ago and it was top of the range at the time. Anyway, about 2 years ago when DS1 was 2 and DS2 was just a newborn I went for a walk with the kids. There was a gap in the footpath where an empty section was and when I reached the next driveway where the footpath began again the front seat of the pram flew off with DS1 straped in:eek: I had to pick him up and try and get him out, he was screaming and there was blood everywhere! His whole face was swollen. It was one of the worst days of my life!
He ended up needing to have his top lip glued back together and his nose was swollen for days.
I cried so much and felt like such a bad mum. I always made sure it was assembled correctly, maybe the bumpy grass area unlocked the safety bar thingys. I dont know, but I'd say that no matter what pram you own they can be dangerous and we should never put too much trust in them.
charlen49
31-08-2007, 08:45
I think it just pays to be careful at all times, no matter how expensive or cheap your pram is! so true...ive had an experience with a newborn..didnt listen to warning about overloading..out chrissy shopping and didnt have newborn strapped in..the pram fell over on a crossing outside busy shopping centre..bub fell back on head..i was an absolute blubbering mess..bub was fine thank goodness..but learvnt my lesson the hardway i guess..also when out walking in that 3 wheeler if i go on a path with differing inclines it feels like its going to tip and it takes all my strength to keep it upright..i have now bought a 4wkeeler stroller for shopping with my 9.5mth old and will only use the 3 wheeler for short walks to the park i think!
We have a three wheeler pram that has a front toddler seat that can attach at the front, we paid about $500 for it 4 years ago and it was top of the range at the time. Anyway, about 2 years ago when DS1 was 2 and DS2 was just a newborn I went for a walk with the kids. There was a gap in the footpath where an empty section was and when I reached the next driveway where the footpath began again the front seat of the pram flew off with DS1 straped in:eek: I had to pick him up and try and get him out, he was screaming and there was blood everywhere! His whole face was swollen. It was one of the worst days of my life!
He ended up needing to have his top lip glued back together and his nose was swollen for days.
I cried so much and felt like such a bad mum. I always made sure it was assembled correctly, maybe the bumpy grass area unlocked the safety bar thingys. I dont know, but I'd say that no matter what pram you own they can be dangerous and we should never put too much trust in them. oh thats so horrible you poor thing and poor son
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: