View Full Version : How do you ? (get them to go)
Peaceangels
27-01-2006, 13:54
Help! - please! :)
We are in the process of toilet training (tt) DS1 and all is going along fine. We went straight into jock's thank's to the advice of many mums on here (pull-ups for outings).
ATM, the main accidents are #2's and I have been reminding him on the hour or thereabout's to sit on the potty or the toilet (he's still not at the stage of going voluntarily).
This is where our problem lies, he won't go if reminded, just says "very soon" and then minutes later does it in his jock's (which I don't go mad on him for, just tell him that wee and poo is for the potty/toilet).
We started a star chart on the fridge, on which he gets a star sticker everytime he goes, then if the stickers are filled for 5days he gets a reward (which he hasn't got yet).
I have had to resort to bribary to get him to sit on the potty/toilet, but that is wearing thin. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice re trying to get him to regularly go.
BTW, he is 3 next week.
Bonnie77
27-01-2006, 14:13
Hi peaceangels,
This is such a big step for the littlies. Small comfort I know but they all get it in the end!
With Hayden I actually took him on the hour for the first couple of days saying it was 'toilet time' because he would say no every time I asked him. This got him familiar with sitting down and getting used to the sensations. When your little man says 'very soon', keep a very close eye on him and as soon as he gets quiet or goes to squat suggest going to the toilet then. After Hayden had an accident I still put him on the toilet and asked if he had any left. I also got very excited when he got something out, you'd think I'd won the lotto or something.
It doesn't matter how old they are. I know some mums have a need to get their kids out of nappies by two or so but it really won't work if they aren't ready mentally. You could also try waiting a couple of weeks and giving it another go then.
You can't make them go and it can just make it a bigger issue (for both of you) if you push too hard. (no pun intended!)
Hope any of this helps.:)
DD1 was wet trained for 6 months before she decided to poo on the loo. And she decided: no amount of bribery, threatening, cajoling, getting her to "help" change her baby sister's nappy worked. DD1 decided that she wanted to go to sleep in knickers and that was her "key". If she did that, there wasn't any night nappy to wait for for number 2 - so she started doing them where she should.
I know its not what you want to hear but relax and eventually it will happen. This is one thing that your toddler has total control over :D .
27-01-2006, 16:56
O loves to play with the potty, he sits on it then gets up, then sits down (does this about 20 times etc:D ) When he is due for his morning no.2 etc I just say "poo in the potty" and he will go get the potty, sit on it and do it.
No1's we are not having much success as he is too slow so usually wees everywhere but he does try and get to the potty..........his still little so Im not worried.
With O we started clapping every time he sat on it and we made up a cute little song which he loves but coz Ethan is older this may not work, sorry.
At kindy we use stamps to encourage tt and we use puppets/books anything to keep the child entertained while on the potty. Perhaps you could put on his fave cartoon or something? Sorry baby brain I cant think today!
S
sugar n spice
27-01-2006, 17:10
I started toilet training at 2 1/2 then 3 till now stopping and starting as i thought he was ready. Anyway it has taken me a good yr to get him there but this wk he has finally done it (horay) and just in time for kindy. It will happen when there good and ready. it tried bribes, pocket money, stickers, toy etc.
He is 4 1/2 the poohs is what took time that was the last thing to learn. Boys are supposed to be slower. I wanted him toilet trained before my second bub came along but that didn't happen. you can't force them they control that one thing. good luck
maybe1more
28-01-2006, 17:26
My son is 2 1/2 and i have just started training him, when he wakes up in the morning i take his nappy off and as him if he needs to do wees, usual in the morning its a "no go' probably cause he`s still half asleep, so ive been putting those clth training pants on him, and i keeps asking him if he needs to go, and he says "not yet' but he has come up to me when he has needed to go, however im still putting nappies on him for his arvo sleep, and a new one when he wakes up, so im increasing the time he wears his training pants, week by week untill he just has them on a night, im just letting him take his time.
Yes I know how you feel, Cross fingers where up to day 17 of #2 on the toilet(This is a second go though). This is what I did for DS.
1st time - (A friend told me this was on DR. Phil but used for something else) I bought him a toy he really wanted (Teenage Munant ninja turtle not to expensive i think it was under $15) and i told him that everytime he did a poo on the toilet he could get to play with his special toy for 10 minutes, I put the timer on the oven and when the bell went off that meant he had to pack it up he did for a whole 2 weeks sometimes even before the bell rang he would pack it up.
All was well than we had family stay with us and all that went out the window so this time and as i said where up to day 17 and this is what i'm doing.
I have made a chart up on the computer (a 1 month calander)and made some sticker of motor bikes (cause he loves them). Each time he does a poo he get's to put a sticker on his chart and he get's one for him self, he also can have a dried banana (there a treat he thinks there lollies) and he really wants to go to dream world to see the wiggles world there so we told him once his chart is finished we will go. I know it's a big ask for a 3 year old to fill the chart but we will go at the end of the chart month even if there are a few spaces missing. Than hopefully i wont ned to worry about it by than. I don't even need to remind him anymore he just goes.
I hope this helps
Tan-mumof3
31-01-2006, 14:30
Hi, i too am my trying without much success to tt my DS, he is 2yrs and 5 months. Somedays he is really good like at the shop the other day he had a nappy on but both times i went to the toilet he wanted to go and his nappy was dry he did big wees which was great. But today he has wet his jocks about 5 times i ask him and he says not yet but i still but him on the toilet and he will do a little dribble then about 1 -2mins after getting off the toilet he finishes what he was doing in his jocks, it is getting sooooooo frustrating. Im not used to this as my DD was completely toilet trained by 2yrs 2 months no night nappies even and she never had any accidents, it is just so different with him :confused:
whatwasithinking
31-01-2006, 15:09
I tried all that is discussed in this thread to know avail - I was almost resigned to the fact that I would have a daughter still in nappies in school. I just basically gave up trying to TT (I know others will think it is wrong but oh well each to their own I guess) then one day the penny just dropped with her and she went all by herself and hasn't gone back to nappies during the day since - we are up to about day 14 I think from memory.
I guess what I am trying to say in a nice polite way is try not to stress or force bubs and it will just happen and fall into place (I know I know easier said than done)
Good luck.