View Full Version : Do you know what ur having?
alicesmum
27-01-2006, 10:52 AM
Since the 'Due in June' thread was getting so long, thought i'd start a new one.
Yes, the old cliche answer to this question is always "a baby". hahahaha!!! :p
But seriously, I am definitely having a boy. The scan was clear as day!!!
What about the other June mummies???
bekkyboo
27-01-2006, 05:32 PM
ello :) you wont be a bogan now :p
I have my 20 week scan tomorrow morning, so fingers crossed i will find out then.
I dont care either way now, i jsut want a healthy happy baby...
will post back tomorrow with any updates
HoopDeeDoo
27-01-2006, 05:56 PM
we wanted a surprise so we didn't find out :D
kiwibird27
27-01-2006, 07:47 PM
90% sure it's a girl - had it's legs crossed but apparantly there are some tell tail lines???!!!! Couldn't wait to find out and tell everyone - it'll probably be a boy now, just to surprise everyone
titania
27-01-2006, 11:08 PM
Bubs was very obliging and I can safely say we're having a girl. :p
SH3LBY
27-01-2006, 11:12 PM
I wasn't 100% and that made my partner get a bit angry and stubborn. But when the chance arrived to find out, it felt right and I'm glad that we did.
MotherOfPearl
28-01-2006, 09:36 AM
We're having a surprise!!
We don't mind what we have as it's our first so we couldn't see any point in finding out. I wouldn't be able to keep it secret ant way!!
angelickaren
28-01-2006, 09:47 AM
hi we are having a little girl our baby was showing it off to world to see it was a great rush for me having to boys already :D
bekkyboo
28-01-2006, 12:15 PM
We are having a baby boy :)
just got home from the scan and the lady was showing me the little bits - she first thought it was a girl (he had his legs closed) but then he rolled over and exposed it all :) my little baby boy Garrett Nicholas is on his way :) - He also grabbed his bits, and stuck his finger up to us while trying to get a good face photo
KiLLaKaZ
28-01-2006, 03:49 PM
sounds like u r in for a handful, bekkyboo!! ;) lol
mine was just SUPER-stubborn at the scan! it took 2 hours because she refused to move no matter how much the guy poked & prodded! but she was VERY active with her arms & legs! & gave us a peace sign (my nickname in high school was 'hippy chick', so i loved that she did that!!) & also opened and closed her hand quite a few times.
i wanted to find out because i feel like i'm prepared for a girl (clothing-wise - hand me downs from a few ppl, & mentally), but if it was going to be a boy, i would need A LOT of mental preparedness as i'm not used to boys! i have 3 sisters, NO brothers!!!
so yes, i'm having a girl!! :D i kind of was hoping for a boy, as an older brother for any girls i may have, but at the same time i also wanted a girl since i relate better to them!! there were tell-tale lines saying it was a girl, but i want to prepare myself anyway in case it does turn out to be a boy... just in case!!
Melmo
30-01-2006, 08:21 AM
We had our 20 week scan a couple of weeks ago and it looks like a girl (couldn't see a penis)! I guess it could just be a "little" boy, but the sonographer seemed to think it was a girl!
Melmo
TillieAndBug
30-01-2006, 08:45 PM
our sonographer couldn't tell either...and she said unless you have a 3d scan really not that accurate... on the normal scan machines she said they look for gap inbetween the legs that fills with fluid - that indicates a girl...she said the clitoris is bigger than the penis at 20 weeks and the ovaries and testes haven't dropped...my scan was only 45 minutes and really she was rightly so more worried about getting all the measurements and doing the morphology report...she did try for about 5 minutes but had another appoint etc...and apparently the baby had been a little bugga throughout the scan in the same position...which had made it really tricky to do the bladder etc too. I was really miffed for a few days but am now resigned to fact it will be a surprise (unless i get to have one at 30 weeks). I trying to be positive!
SweetDreams
31-01-2006, 03:02 PM
How many scans do you get? I had one at 9 and one at 19 but I think we're going to have a surprise. I think it's a girl but I don't know!
KiLLaKaZ
02-02-2006, 03:48 AM
i'm not sure of how many scans - but i think i'm only getting 2. i had my first at week 20, & the next will be about week 32. but, i have a low-lying placenta - so if it hasn't shifted by week 32, i *may* get another one, i guess!
smidgebump
02-02-2006, 12:58 PM
Hi there! My first go at this so hope i'm doing it right.... Stumbled onto site and have been here for HOURS!
Had my scan last week and according to the operator was as clear as day a boy - glad he could tell what he was looking at, even when he pointed it out I was confused.... :confused:
alicesmum
02-02-2006, 04:51 PM
hey smidgebump
congrats on your little boy. that makes two of us!!! when r u due? there is another thread in this June 2006 forum which i presume you found already.
welcome! :D go crazy and start posting all over the forum!!!!!!
hope to see you around...
rachel :p
Carmel Jane
05-02-2006, 03:44 PM
We are having a girl and are so so happy :D :D We've been letting nature take its course for over 3 years now and from the moment we decided we want to be parents, we've been talking about our baby girl Adia. I'm relieved its her in there otherwise I think I would have felt a little out of kilter for a while. Not because we didn't want a boy, but just because its always been Adia.
Of course I cried when the sonographer pointed out her girly bits :) DF couldn't be happier, I think that was the moment for him that it all clicked into place, as opposed to just being the baby in my tummy, its now Adia!
All the signs of what I was carrying said a boy (according to the tales), and everyone who see my tummy expertly say oh your carrying a boy! She'll probably be a tomboy like her Mum.
Congratulations to Everyone on your little ones.
KiLLaKaZ
06-02-2006, 02:56 AM
congrats carmel jane! :D
i can't wait till my little girl's born.... i've been given (& bought) sooooooooooooo many cute clothes to dress her up in! i heard that u need to change the baby's clothes several times a day coz of reflux, etc... so that should be no problem for me - i could change her several times a day for a week & still not have to do any washing (well, NEARLY)!! ;)
Carmel Jane
06-02-2006, 10:24 AM
KillaKaz - have you picked any names yet? Are you finding your being given heaps of suggestions because you know what your having? I find it hilarious, I keep getting emails of links to baby name places, even though we've already chosen.
That is excellent that you've got so many clothes, we didn't buy anything until we knew, but now... the floodgates will open! There are so many gorgeous things to buy aswell, I'm sure those shops pray on our cluckiness :)
summerly
06-02-2006, 03:09 PM
According to the ultrasound we are having a boy. :) I think I kind of wanted a girl mainly because I know what I would be getting myself into. (I don't have any tackle myself so what on earth are you supposed to do with it - what if I accidently squish it or something? And boys can pee everywhere right?:eek: ) And we have so many beautiful clothes left from my DD and I am still attached to them, I don't want to give them away. I am still mainly buying unisex clothes at the moment just in case the ultrasound was wrong. But I don't think it was. I saw the sticky out bit boys are supposed to have and looked up heaps of pics before we went so I would know what it is meant to look like. Now we just have to find a name we can agree upon.
cavalier
07-02-2006, 08:52 AM
Was told by u/s doctor that we're having a boy too. ELATION ! I guess its great to choose not to know the sex of your baby until the very end, but knowing midway at 20 weeks sorta breaks up the pregnancy and allows you the joy of being able to think about names and shop for clothes.
Georgiem - I'm spooked...is it true that clitoris is bigger than the penis at this stage? The u/s doctor did point out baby's "willy", not that we can recognise it anyway! Unfortunately, we forgot to ask him how accurate that is (ie what are the chances of a surprise baby girl).....hmm, shall I get unisex stuff too (like Summerly) and have a backup of girls names just in case? Sorry for being OTT...first time mummy!
TillieAndBug
07-02-2006, 09:23 PM
Well thats what our sonographer said - I thought maybe she was justifying the fact she couldn't b***dy tell what it was...but I had my 1st ante natal clinic at KEMH yesterday and my lovely midwife said I wasn't to be too sad that I couldn't find out (she said again I may have another scan) and that anyway it isn't that spot on...they had a Jasmine born the other day with a willy! To be perfectly honest I just was really surious once ANdrew said he wanted to know - but I had planned not to go tooo mad on the pink or blue themes...just in case...I know of at least 4 people it was wrong for in UK and 3 had state of art scans!...but I think statistically about 90% right...if that helps :rolleyes:
I having feeling a girl but reckon because of that probly be a boy! THe clitoris thing I remember being told that too by the way when I did advance human biology...and my Auntie who a nurse said it too...but I was just on 20 weeks maybe if you a week or so later it more accurate...
KiLLaKaZ
10-02-2006, 05:05 AM
I'm hoping at my 32 - 34 week scan they can give me a DEFINITE sex. The 2 sonographers at my 20 week scan seemed pretty sure it's a girl - but I don't want to put all my faith in them, just in case ;)
Carmel Jane
16-02-2006, 11:18 AM
The sonographer told me she was 98% sure. She is also a Professor of Ob/Gyn etc so I trusted her. It was a 3D scan and you could clearly see her girly bits. She didn't have anything that looked like a big penis or clitoris, just 3 clear lines.
I'm still buying neutral type stuff anyway, not because I don't believe her, just cos I can't bring myself to buy pink! :p
TillieAndBug
16-02-2006, 06:12 PM
;) I think I just basically unlucky to be broke and sent to a suburb bulk bill place where the scans not so hot! But then at Foetal assesment unit...the ob said she couldn't deffo see either and that was abit later at 21 weeks when I had the crash. So I hope I can be told at the next scan :) feel left out here not knowing! It would also be cool to be able to buy a few items that not yellow or white :p THe other thing the sonographer said is they look for a gap that has fluid or not in it? But that may be just earlier (ie 20 weeks) sounds like you ladies all have had pretty clear pictures! What was it like seeing the babies features for those who had 3d scans? I really couldn't see much apart from bones and basic outline...:rolleyes:
Carmel Jane
17-02-2006, 02:59 PM
The 3D scan was absolutely amazing!! The picture I have stuck to my monitor is of her little face as she is sucking her thumb :) Its not the clearest thing, its still a bit lumpy, but I can see her whole face, and make out her nose, jawline, lips, eyebrow, ear and her eyes.
Adia was just so happy to have her picture taken, I think she is going to be very photogenic :D
bekkyboo
17-02-2006, 03:47 PM
This was the 3d shot taken of Garrett 4 weeks ago. The had to take his hand out of the scan so that they could get a clearer pic of his head. My placenta is sitting at the front so that makes it hard to have a really clear pic...
If anyone is having trouble this is the pic bigger with explainations -
Garretts 3D pic (http://images.cainer.net//uploads/3d_ultra.jpg)
Julez82
21-02-2006, 09:42 AM
Sonographer didn't want to commit herself so I haven't run out and bought any pink things yet - just lots of neutral stuff!:p
Carmel Jane
25-02-2006, 05:41 PM
Shed I don't know how to do that :( What do I do? Do you mean make it my picture thingy?
Bekkyboo what a gorgeous scan - love his nose :)
bumpsmum
03-03-2006, 09:07 PM
Told its 96% sure a girl, Which has surprised us after 2 boys and we were convinced it was a boy. Not sure we're ready for this. The thought of a teenage girl scares the life out of us. But I guess we will have time to think about it.
I think the general rule of thumb is if they say it's a boy its more certain than if they say its a girl. Due to obvious bits I think.
I've limited myself to 2 pink babygros and the rest is cream and yellow.
RacOOooOOoon
03-03-2006, 09:12 PM
Yes we are having a boy! :thumbsup:
WitchHazel
03-03-2006, 09:17 PM
We decided not to find out, but the suspense is killing me! I have another scan at 32 weeks - maybe the gender will be obvious even to me at that point! I suspect it's a boy - we don't mind what the gender is!
Carmel Jane
04-03-2006, 08:57 AM
Yay Shed I figured it out. I'm sure other mothers and mothers to be can see her clearly, alot of the guys at work kind of go hmmm, so what is it :laughing:
3D scans rock!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.