View Full Version : Help! He won't drink!

Mummabear
26-01-2006, 15:48
Oz is 6 months and 1 week old. He's been on solids for a month now after recommendation by the doc that he start at 5.5 months. He's pretty good with his food - he's not a huge eater (I thought he was, but then I saw what some of the other bubs his age are eating :eek: ). My problem is that he just won't drink. He's not interested in his bottle, doesn't matter whether I try and feed it to him or if I let him lay on his couch and do it himself. I'm not too concerned about the 'milk' factor as he has a healthy solids menu, but I am VERY concerned about the fluid intake. He is extremely prone to constipation. He is taking around 100 - 150ml (I have to really struggle with him to get this down) 4 times a day, and then I give him a dream feed just to get some extra milk into him. He won't drink water either. I've tried adding a splash of the dehydration stuff from the chemist for flavour (and to ease my mind), but he doesn't seem to care about the flavour aspect either, he just doesn't want to drink.

What can I do??????? He literally screams when i try and give him a bottle once he's decided he doesn't want anymore. This is exactly what I went through when trying to breastfeed him - including all the tears (from me :( ). I'm so worried with all this heat and him not drinking - I won't even take him outside atm because he can't afford to lose any hydration through sweating.

Any tips / suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Mamaduke
26-01-2006, 16:42
What about trying icy-poles? He might like to suck on one instead of drinking and then he would be getting fluid. I remember seeing some sort of icy-poles at the chemist that are used for hydrating children. That might help.
Also you could try fruit with lots of water in it eg/watermelon.
Sorry I haven't been much help:o

Rockett
26-01-2006, 17:39
What about trying icy-poles? He might like to suck on one instead of drinking and then he would be getting fluid. I remember seeing some sort of icy-poles at the chemist that are used for hydrating children.

They are called Hydralyte.:)

Goosie22
26-01-2006, 19:54
You could try putting the fluid into a straw bottle, like a sports bottle with a straw on it? My kids would drink from them from about 6 months. They have baby ones but I found them to hard to clean they sell some at Woolies(hold about 700mls) that have a close over top to keep the straw away from flies ect. I used to put a couple of inches of water in the night before and freeze it then in the morning top it up with cold water. Hope you find this helpful:)

jembelina
26-01-2006, 20:36
Don't forget lots of solids have fluid in them too - esp. fruit. Stewed fruits with a little of the liquid left in, grapes, watermelon, rockmelon.
Even steamed veges have fluid in them (things like zucchini are good)!
I have also heard of people giving those heinz fruit gels to help with hydration. You could try giving him a wet flannel to play/chew/suck on too.
As goosie said, some sort of sipper cup (there are a gazillion to chose from at the supermarket!) could help - the novelty of it just might be enough to get/keep bub interested!

Good luck- - if I think of anything else i will post again

Mummabear
26-01-2006, 21:30

Thanks for your tips. We just got back from the emergency room :( He hadn't had a wet nappy since last night and when I worked it out he had only had around 300ml of fluids in the last 48 hours :eek: He's also gone off his solids. I also heard that the gels are good for fluid, but he wouldn't take them. I knew something was up when he wouldn't even eat pear, which is his ultimate favourite.

Anyway, they have a pediatric emergency room now at our hospy so he was seen straight away by a pediatrician, which was great. No obvious physical reason why he's off his food and drink. She said he's still hydrated enough (thanks to his nasty Mummy and a rather large syringe of hydralite :rolleyes: ). She put a wee bag on him to collect a sample overnight (here's hoping he wees!) to rule out a UTI, but she said it's just prop a bit of an upset tummy, nothing to worry about, just make sure I monitor him well and keep trying the fluids.

Thanks again girls. Much appreciated.

27-01-2006, 00:49
Awwwww big hugs to Ozzy !!!!! :)
I hope he is doing better by the time you read this !

Its really scary when they get like this thats for sure ! Around the 6mth mark was when Harry started refusing his fluids also & dropped to 3 bottles which i sometime even had days where he would only take one !!!! Used to freak me out i think they do it for fun ;)
Spoke to my CHN & she suggested him having the fruit gels or anything like say fruit etc with added water or ice cubes to make him have it. As she said he isnt unhappy or the likes with say a fever so dont stress he was let himself get bad & it is true. As i now know what he is like dehydrated after him being sick with the virus a few weeks ago now that was scary :(
He now has done a complete turn around & is having 4 bottles a day & even sometimes 5 again !!!! Honestly i am so lost at this mothering game !!!! :confused:
Doesnt matter as long as they are happy & healthy right heheheh.

Well hope all is well now take care the both of you !

Imogensmum
27-01-2006, 08:36
hey larissa-
Sorry to here about ozzy!!! They can be determined little buggers when they want to!!!!

Imy is also not a huge drinker- 120mls 4-5 times a day! but i have resorted to gels- icy poles made of baby yoghurt or puree'd fruit, and letting her suck the face washer!! I don't know if oz will help you by taking those things but.... hopefully this is a little helpful..

Shannan

Manxie
27-01-2006, 08:48
Hi Riss

Nearly joined you up at FMC last weekend LOL. Its so stressy with this hot weather isnt it? Those damm nappies too, I ended up leaving Lucy's off just so I could check out the colour of her wee.

We did the wet flannel job and have also started her on a cup which she is kinda getting the hang of. I thought I might try one of the avent cups as they look like they might be a bit easier to use.

Anyway big hugs to you and Ozzy and glad he is ok.:D

Mummabear
27-01-2006, 12:09

You know I never thought about the wet flannel thing - and he loves sucking his flannel in the bath. I think that will do the job!!!

He slept well last night and I managed to get a dream feed into him of about 100ml which eased my mind a little. He had the wee bag on overnight and there was quite a bit of wee in it, so perhaps he was just storing it up for use overnight :p .

This morning he drank about 140ml and then he ate a good brekky of cereal and pear (which I made rather sloppy so he'd get more water!).

Thanks for all your support girls, and all the good suggestions.

Where would I be without you all :D