View Full Version : Vitex question
I bought some Vitex today in the hopes that it will help regulate my cycle. My question is do i have to take 3 a day like it says on the bottle? There's only 40 tablets in a bottle so if i took 3 a day they would be gone in 13 days and i'd rather not have to buy a new bottle that often. Can i take 1 or 2 a day or should i just stick to what it says?
ElizaDee
25-01-2006, 22:17
PUK when I took mine I did 3 a day and stoped at O, I still have some if you like I can mail them to you? They are opened already and I understand if you would rather not.
I just bought some too, just waiting for AF so I can start them!
And if noone else wants those tablets I'll take them ;) just PM me with how much you want for postage etc :)
I guess i'll do the right thing and take 3 a day. Thanks for the offer, i couldn't pay you for postage or anything - no credit card or anything like that! Maybe you could come to the Brisbane meet and bring them then?
That goes for anyone else who has some lying around! :p
Ooh, hi LMTB, didn't see you there! Let me know how you go with the Vitex, i'll keep everyone updated too! :D
Puk, when I took it I bought it as a tincture (liquid) and I had 2ml every morning. The bottle was about 100ml I think so that was heaps (I fell preg first month so gave the rest of my bottle to a friend!!). It cost about $21.
You might want to try that instead of the tabs - more economical, easier to remember when it's once per day and I always thought tinctures were more effective..?? Could be wrong on that last one but the first 2 points are valid. :D
oh, and I kept taking it until I got the BFP. I didn't think there was any need to stop at O. I think you can keep taking it safely up until you confirm the pregnancy, then stop.
Oh wow! Where did you get that? Just a chemist or health food store? I'll be in that for sure! :D
Puk im assuming that youhave the blackmores brand you can get a brand called Natural Nutrition i think thats what i have and it comes with 60 tablets for about $14.00 abd you take 1 - 2 dailey the tablets themselves have a higher dosage therefore not needing as many.
Puk I bought it from a health food store. Forget the brand name.... something 'green' but when I remember I will post it for you.
here it is: Greenridge is the brand.
You can also get the St John's Vitex which mixes St Johns Wort with the Vitex Agnus Castus so it is particularly helpful for mood swings etc.. good for if you are using it with hormonal problems that cause mood swings. But also could be good for the ups and downs of TTC..? When Pippa and I both got pg back in August she was taking the St Johns Vitex. Just FYI.
http://www.thexton.com.au/product/Greenridge/Vitex__Agnus__Castus__50ml
melfunction
26-01-2006, 09:57
Puk, I found some in the Health food shop at Stafford City yesterday....
H&B'sMum
26-01-2006, 11:39
I'm on the Nature's way ones and only have to take them once or twice a day. I was taking 1 a day up until a few days before oing and then twice a day from 2 days from o and continuing with 2 a day onwards. It is ok to take them after oing and if you are pregnant until you find out as it's a natural progestion and that is the hormone you need for the pregnancy to stick. Also youare only taking a small amount and it shouldn't (only my belief!!!) hurt bub if taking for a short time while pregnant. I'd much rather take the risk and make sure the pregnancy sticks than stop and have a missed miscarriage.
I was going to get the liquid form but after taking a herbla tonic for ages I can't handle the taste of liquid herbs so the tablets are better for me.
Good luck Puk
shereejoy
26-01-2006, 22:35
PUk if you are taking the blackmores one as I was it is three a day unfortunately, but I still preffered to do that then to take a liquid, each to their own I guess, and I think it does say that those particular ones are not safe to take whilst pregnant, so I ran out at ovulation so I was safe anyway and I feel pregnant first cycle on them, so no need to buy anymore, worked a treat!!!! :D
dylansmummy
27-01-2006, 08:08
hello, I am confused what exactly is vitex used for? Is it only of benefit to you if you have irregular cycles? Or are there other benefits also?
Dylansmummy, if you do a google you can find quite a bit of info about Vitex which is the 'official' name for Chaste Tree or Chaste Berry.
It is a herb that acts on your pituitary gland to regulate your body's production of oestrogen and progesterone so it works wonders with regulating your cycle and balancing things like mood swings, skin breakouts (all hormonal issues) but it also makes sure you ovulate when you are supposed to and that the conditions for sustaining a pregnancy (ie enough progesterone) are optimal.
A few of us took it to fall pregnant and it worked a treat. :D But it is also good for general cycle issues.
Re: the liquid.. it's such a tiny dose and I mixed it with a little apple juice. Not the most pleasant but certainly not the worst thing I've ever taken in my life. :)
dylansmummy
27-01-2006, 09:05
thanks Cosmic,
To be honest I have felt 'hormonal' since losing a pregnancy late last year! Think I might pop off to the health food shop and have a closer look at Vitex!
Thanks heaps - feel better already ;)
oh I'm sorry to hear that Dylansmummy. Maybe try to get the St Johns Vitex (Greendridge brand). As I said, it contains St Johns Wort which is a herb that is known to work wonders for mild anxiety and depression. I have used it on its own in the past and had great results with it.
Pippa had also suffered a miscarriage and was still a bit fragile when she was TTC last time, so she found the St Johns Wort was great for her too. I hope it helps. The person in the health food store should be able to give you some good advice. :)
Dancing Girl
27-01-2006, 09:20
Looks like vitex is the latest thing for us all to try!! I've been on it since AF started on the 15th Jan but it makes me feel sick in the evening, so I'm just taking it before breakfast and lunch. I figure better to take some than none at all! :D
I'm on the Blackmores brand - has anyone else found that it tastes horrible, even if you swallow it straight away?? Those things are enough to make me gag...
Anyway, good luck all - hopefully we get some more BFP out of these little pills :)
Thanks so much for all your replies ladies! I'm really hopeful that this will work for me! I'll keep an eye out for the liquid and for the brand that has 60 tablets! Anything to save a bit of money!
Dancinggirl i don't find the taste of them bad at all! I used to take these awful iron tablets though and they were hideous! I think anything that tastes better than those did is great! :D
dylansmummy
27-01-2006, 21:39
Well I did go to the health food shop, had a long chat with the staff and they wouldn't recommend Vitex for me so I didn't get it. I regularly see a kinesiolegist so will wait for my appointment in two weeks and see what he thinks I need, if anything at all! Maybe I have just had a really bad week and next week will be better :)
wishstar
27-01-2006, 22:38
Hi Guys, :) just wondering when it could be possible for implatation spottinf to begin after ovulation. i have had slight brown discarge about a week or so after I think i have ovulated, along with a big dip in temp? any clues?:confused:
melfunction
28-01-2006, 10:25
Here's the low-down on Vitex FYI.....
VITEX... THE WOMAN'S HERB
Pre-menstrual tension, menstrual difficulties and menopause are problems as old as womankind. It's no surprise then that many different remedies have been sought to help women cope. Natural therapies have undoubtedly led the way in this area, and of these natural therapies one herb stands out as superior in the treatment of problems associated with the female hormonal cycle. Vitex Agnus Castus, or simply Vitex, is a timeless herbal remedy for women of any age.
Hippocrates -- the father of medicine -- first mentioned Vitex in 450bc. Since then, traditional herbalists have recommended the herb for ailments including fevers and headaches, to dispel wind and to promote urination. Most commonly though, Vitex was used in the treatment of 'female problems' and the herb's popularity as a remedy of this kind has continued to grow with time. PRE-MENSTRUAL TENSION
PMT is usually caused by an imbalance between the hormones oestrogen and progesterone. A relative deficiency of progesterone is the villain commonly responsible for symptoms such as fluid retention, breast tenderness, pain, cramping, irritability and depression. Vitex is effective at reducing or eliminating these symptoms by addressing their cause. It is believed the volatile oils (and most probably other synergistic elements) of the Vitex seed influence the pituitary gland, which is largely responsible for balancing many of the body's hormones. Vitex stimulates this gland to produce more or less of certain hormones, which leads to an increase in the production of progesterone by the corpus luteum in the ovaries.
Vitex works with the body to gently restore the natural balance to a woman's hormones. It ha been successful at addressing progesterone deficiency even where progesterone therapy has failed1, with none of the side-effects sometimes associated with synthetic hormone replacement. Relief from the symptoms of PMT may be evident in as little as two weeks, but for best results Vitex should be taken for at least three to six months. Over time, its normalising action has even been known to eliminate PMT entirely. MENSTRUAL DIFFICULTIES
Vitex's action is like that of a herbal steamroller, albeit a very gentle one. It flattens the peaks and raises the troughs of the hormonal roller-coaster to promote a regular menstrual cycle. Whether your cycle is too short, bleeding time is too long, infrequent, too heavy, or non-existent, Vitex helps to restore normality. MENOPAUSE
Menopause is the big dip at the end of the hormonal roller-coaster. Once again, Vitex is able to help by slowing the dramatic drop in progesterone and letting the body become accustomed to the changes in hormone levels. Symptoms such as hot flushes, dry vagina, dizziness and depression may all respond well to treatment with Vitex. MORE VITEX FACTS
Where a hormone imbalance is causing infertility, Vitex can help to regulate the ovulatory cycle, boosting the chances of falling pregnant2.
Taken in the weeks after giving birth, Vitex encourages the production of breast milk1.
Acne, caused by an excess of testosterone in males or oestrogen in females, can be successfully treated with Vitex3.
Vitex is extremely safe with an exemplary record of use over some 2400 years. It has none of the side-effects sometimes associated with the use of synthetic hormones as it works together with your body's natural hormone production instead of overriding it.
maybe1more
28-01-2006, 16:59
Kaidens mum, Thanks heaps for all that info, i never knew what Vitex was, but i do now!:)
hoping4another
28-01-2006, 19:54
H all,
Thanks to comsic and kaidensmum for all the info on vitex you have been very helpfully.
I brought the liquid (Greenridge) one today and the taste isn't that bad i reckon i can put up with it. I know i have a regular cycle but i am going on it due to AF being painful (Cramping) and heavy the ladies reckon it will help it out. But also another reason i am going on for as it look like it has brought alot of ladies on her good luck with getting PG when they have been on it.
I mean it not going to hurt taken it so i am given it a go and we will see the outcome.
Wendy
H&B'sMum
28-01-2006, 20:12
Good luck Wendy hope it works for both of us!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
hoping4another
28-01-2006, 20:17
Hi Harry'smum- thank and good luck to you. Is this your first month taking it and are you using becaue your cycle is irregular.
Wendy
H&B'sMum
28-01-2006, 20:20
I used it when I stopped breastfeeding Harry to get my cycles regular and now I'm taking it to boost my progestrone so a pregnancy will stick.
Good luck! :) I know 3 people who fell pregnant the first month of taking it when we were all in the TTC threads. Could be coincidence..? :rolleyes:
H&B'sMum
28-01-2006, 20:24
I remember C, that's why I'm taking it;););)
hoping4another
28-01-2006, 23:16
Cosmic- this is a question for you do i have to take EPO at the same time as Vitex is it okay to take both at the same time? Did you take both? IF so when do i start and stop taking them.
I know it increase CM but i don't really know what the norm is for CM for a lady at O time.
I am on CD2 at the moment. Started Vitex today. thanks
If anyone else know the answer feel free to answer i just have read cosmic know's a bit about vitex. Any advice would be great
Wendy
Wow - i have heard a little about Vitex, but never paid much attention as my cycles are regular.. But I had no idea about it helping a pregnancy to stick..
I am currently takeing Blackmores Pregnancy and breastfeeding Vits, Blackmores Folate (as extra folate was recommended by a few fert specs friends have seen), and last month i was takeing Evening Primrose Oil and Robitussin to help with EWCM (but found it useless), but this month are going to try Pre Seed..
DH is takeing a multi Vit (centrum) and also Cenovis Zinc (to help with makeing the spermies stronger and faster)..
I am on CD11 - is it too late to start takeing Vitex? should i wait to see if this month is successful and then if not start Vitex next cycle??
I've got no idea about whether or not you should start it now or not. I would but that's just me, i'd do anything that might help.
I finished my bottle of Vitex tablets and decided to get the liquid as it works out to be cheaper. I know i was warned that it would taste bad but i expected it to taste bad like medicine tastes bad. This is the most vile stuff in creation and it takes over you're your senses! But i will do anything to help me get pregnant!
On a brighter note, i have worked out the best way to take the Vitex liquid if anyone is interested. I have a little syringe that i use and what i do is put a bit of water in my mouth, hold my head back and squirt the Vitex into the water and swallow. Then i take a drink of water or juice, i find that's the best way to get the least amount of taste possible! :)
hoping4another
12-02-2006, 15:37
Hi Puk- I know what you mean by tasting bad, I have a syringe and i get it out of the bottle with this and than put it into a little bit of juice and hold my nose and swallow the Vitex with the juice i hold my nose for a further 30 sec's i reckon it works wonders and i don't taste it at all give this a go.
Wendy
H&B'sMum
12-02-2006, 17:20
Did a month of a herbal tonic and couldn't stand the taste anymore so had to stop taking it. This is why I have mine in the tablet form, no taste at all.
I'm sorry Wendy, I just saw your question! Woops. :o I took EPO every morning at the same time as my Vitex (I took the vitex mixed in a bit of juice followed by a juice chaser!) and my folate etc. The only difference is that as soon as I knew I'd ovulated I would switch the EPO for Fish oil or Flaxseed Oil until AF arrived again but I took vitex through the whole cycle.
Actually the first month I took Vitex, AF never arrived :D so I just stopped taking it as soon as I got the pregnancy confirmed by a blood test (which for me was 3 weeks and 4 days pregnant so quite early anyway).
Even though they say don't take vitex when you're pregnant, my understanding is that it's fine to take until you have that positive result. You don't have to stop taking it at O time.
I also know that Siobhan (on this site) who works with natural therapies is happily taking EPO through her pregnancy and she was really surprised that I had heard not to take it after O time.. but to me it was just as easy to switch it for flaxseed oil. EPO apparently can cause uterine contractions and obviously you don't want that happening too early!
Hope that helps!
C :)
maybe1more
13-02-2006, 10:46
Cosmic- do you know why you cant take vitex whilst pregnant? I think i remember you asking this question a while back but i could find the thread on it.
I'm sorry Wendy, I just saw your question! Woops. :o I took EPO every morning at the same time as my Vitex (I took the vitex mixed in a bit of juice followed by a juice chaser!) and my folate etc. The only difference is that as soon as I knew I'd ovulated I would switch the EPO for Fish oil or Flaxseed Oil until AF arrived again but I took vitex through the whole cycle.
I know the pros to takeing EPO before O - but am not sure of the pros of fish oil or flaxseed oil (which is better) in reguards to TTC, can u help answer this for me? thanks..
Another question - has anyone noticed Vitex causing them to have heartburn? For the past week i've had it and my food repeats on me terribly. I'm not getting my hopes up pregnancy wise, just wondering if it could be the Vitex?
My pimples are clearing up! YAY!! They've been so bad since i went off the pill, worse than they ever were as a teenager but since taking Vitex i am happy to announce my skin is starting to feel like it's old self! :D
15-02-2006, 20:50
I haven't had any heartburn myself - but I probably haven't been on it long enough either. I guess everyone reacts to things differently - I hope it is pg heartburn for your sake!!!
Thanks, i hope so too. The heartburn started after i'd been taking Vitex for two weeks.
15-02-2006, 20:53
Eh... Great - I hope I dont have that to look forward to! I haven't heard of anyone else having it though...
hoping4another
15-02-2006, 23:21
Hi Puk- i have been on vitex for about 3 weeks now and have not got any heartburn with it at all.
My skin has also cleared up but it wasn't bad in the first place. The only weird thing i had while been on vitex is that i got four straight days of BFP on my OPK
(stopped testing after the 4th BFP run out of test's) which i didn't get the two month before when i wasn't on the vitex i was only getting 2 days i don't know if it has anything to do with taken it but if someone can answer if it does would be great.
How did you go with my tip on holding your nose has it help you?
Wendy
16-02-2006, 07:52
The only weird thing i had while been on vitex is that i got four straight days of BFP on my OPK
Hey Wendy - this isn't weird at all. That is what you should get with OPK's!
OPK's detect your LH surge - which happens 24-36hours before ovulation. Your LH should stay high and detectable over the period that you are ovulating, and even one or two days after ovulation.
It is because of this that it is recommended you begin testing with an OPK a couple of days before your expected ovulation date - that way you will detect the BEGINNING of the surge - and not mid-way or at the end. When you get that double line you dont know what STAGE of the surge you are at - that is why it is best to test for a few days straight. :)
How did you go with my tip on holding your nose has it help you?
Blocking my nose works a treat! That combined with my system almost stops me from tasting it completely! :)
It's interesting to hear that no-on else is getting heartburn with the Vitex. I assumed it was that because the heartburn started too early for it to be a pg symptom. Oh well, i guess only time will tell! :)
~J'dore~
21-02-2006, 10:35
I used vitex last month and it helped with AF cramps but CM wasn't as good and my luteal stage wasn't as long as usual.
Has anyone else experienced this???
I know the pros to takeing EPO before O - but am not sure of the pros of fish oil or flaxseed oil (which is better) in reguards to TTC, can u help answer this for me? thanks..
Hey Nixie, I'm not sure if Fish Oil or Flaxseed Oil help particularly with TTC, but they have lots of other benefits so I think it is more to do with keeping up some kind of 'oil' supplement throughout the month. I personally have continued to take Fish Oil throughout my pregnancy as it is supposed to help with the baby's brain development and also help prevent PND. Another member (Pippa) was advised by a naturopath to alternate Fish Oil and Flaxseed Oil throughout her pregnancy; ie. take fish oil until the bottle runs out, then flaxseed oil and vice versa. So they obviously have benefits, but I'm not sure if they are benefits specifically related to TTC iykwim.
Another question - has anyone noticed Vitex causing them to have heartburn?
Hey Puk.. any update? Heartburn was a very, very early pregnancy symptom for me! :eek: :D
melfunction
21-02-2006, 11:22
I have just been reading the printout I got on Vitex from the health food shop and it says and I quote "The oestrogenic activity of some herbs such as Vitex might directly oppose the actions of competitive oestrogen receptor antagonists such as the drug clomiphene"
So don't take it if you are on Clomid.....and talk to your doctor :)
21-02-2006, 11:38
There are a whole stack of people out there who know a lot more about Vitex than I do (aka Cosmic!) - I'm just wondering when you took Vitex till? Did you continue to take it til you ovulated? Or til a positive HPT? Or a positive blood?
Ally, I took it until my positive blood test which for me was 12 days after ovulation. Even though some say don't take it when you're pregnant, one of the benefits of it is to lengthen a short luteal phase by making sure you have the right amount of progesterone etc. And since one of my concerns when TTC was that my luteal phase was a bit short and I was worried about my progesterone levels I was a bit paranoid about stopping taking it because I was concerned (probably unnecessarily!) that it might cause my progesterone levels to drop and my body to not sustain the pregnancy. That could be complete paranoia and is based on nothing but my own interpretation of what vitex does, but regardless, I kept taking it till I got the positive blood test. :rolleyes:
The woman who sold it to me said there is no need to stop taking it at O time as the point of it is to work on your cycle all month long, so just to stop once you know you are pregnant.
21-02-2006, 13:59
Thanks for that Cosmic - much appreciated. I am currently taking 2 each morning and night and plan on ceasing when I get that much-desired and long-awaited BFP! And it is coming. This month.
I'm keeping optimistic that I am going to see my double line for a HEALTHY pregnancy in about 3 weeks time!
~J'dore~
21-02-2006, 14:09
Ok, well I'm back in on the vitex after reading the last few pages of posts (just took two). I only took it until I O'd last month, so this time I'll continue right through.
I think I was just trying to find something to blame:rolleyes: You know how it goes... anger, denial, blame etc... But i'm through to the acceptance stage now. Three days later!!:eek:
But I do believe that Vitex is great, I'm sure it will continue to help this month TTC.
xx Denise
stone+pebble
21-02-2006, 19:09
I have been taking Vitex for years now. I think it is really good for improving the quality of AF. I know that sounds weird, but I have had in the past quite a lot of symptoms of endometriosis, which seem to have gone now. I take it inconjunction with evening primrose. I also think it can give you a slightly shorter cycle if you go way over like 30 days, it will bring it back to 28 or 27. I take one eye-dropper ful in a bit of water. One bottle lasts for ages.
I know I am right on the end of this discussion.
But I haven't really felt like logging in for a while.
I have a really heathy AF, but what I'd really like is a really healthy PG.
Rach
hoping4another
24-02-2006, 11:40
Just a update this was my first month of taking Vitex as i usually get very painful and heavy AF well AF didn't arrive and instead a BFP arrived so i reckon its did help me.
Wendy
melfunction
24-02-2006, 11:41
CONGRATULATIONS WENDY!!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
WOOHOOOOOO!!!!! YAY WENDY!!!!! :D That is bloody fantastic news! Go the Vitex! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Congrats Wendy! :D
I may be the first one here who has not gotten pregnant the first month on Vitex! But it is working!! My cycle was 29 days!! The others have all been over 40!! Yay Vitex! :yelclap:
24-02-2006, 13:03
I'm on Vitex now - lets see if I get a BFP in 3 weeks...
I feel really guilty... I didn't take my two Vitex tabs and folate this morning... :( Was too busy hopping around!
~J'dore~
01-03-2006, 12:21
Vitex is great, I wish I knew about it sooner:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
leilani07
05-03-2006, 18:29
Hi all :) ...just wondering if anyone can help me with info on vitex.... I have just started taking provera (to bring on AF) this week. I am up to my 5th tablet and nothing has happened yet....no side effects, no AF. This is my last tablet, and I'm supposed to wait now until I have AF and take clomid on days 5-9 to encourage ovulation.
I am really worried that these drugs are having no effect on me.....do you think it would be safe to take vitex as well (to help things along?) :confused: Thanks
leilani07
05-03-2006, 18:35
I have just been reading the printout I got on Vitex from the health food shop and it says and I quote "The oestrogenic activity of some herbs such as Vitex might directly oppose the actions of competitive oestrogen receptor antagonists such as the drug clomiphene"
So don't take it if you are on Clomid.....and talk to your doctor :)
Duh :rolleyes: I only just read that one..... Bummer. Ok, back to the waiting game.