View Full Version : melbourne 30+ mums

Pages : 1 [2] 3

17-02-2008, 15:25
I have a nappy bag like that but its green. Fantastic nappy bags and they don't even look like they hold nappies!

Jules16
17-02-2008, 15:42
That's the nappy bag I have my eye on! Is that the colour you have? I've been thinking black but it would be good to be a bit more adventurous and get something bright!

Here is me at 37 weeks!

mysweetpea
17-02-2008, 16:27
That's the nappy bag I have my eye on! Is that the colour you have? I've been thinking black but it would be good to be a bit more adventurous and get something bright!

Here is me at 37 weeks!

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m...y/ONE_9199.jpg
the link didn't work! bummer!

yes, i that's the colour i have. i love pink! i have a red pram but somehow the colours work together. it's a great bag, very stylish.

the one on ebay is only $41 (unless it's gone up since i last looked at it) which is really cheap. i bought mine for $139 at baby bunting!!

Jules16
17-02-2008, 18:16
The link should work now!

Yeah those bags aren't cheap are they?

Funkychicken
17-02-2008, 18:52
Just popping in to say, that you look absolutely beautiful, Julie! :goodvibes::goodvibes:

Pregnancy suits you so well.

Nearly there now-how exciting! :yelclap::yelclap:

mysweetpea
17-02-2008, 19:05

Here is me at 37 weeks!

http://s105.photobucket.com/albums/m201/rose1610/Baby/?action=view&current=ONE_9199.jpg
you look beautiful! and really well.

a lovely photo :yes:

forbetoel
18-02-2008, 13:43
Morgang....You look beautiful...a stunner!

Jules16
18-02-2008, 20:24
Thanks ladies!! You're so sweet.

BG - great photos! Cute bump!! I'm sorry to hear FOB is giving you grief!!

forbetoel
19-02-2008, 08:46
Bronny...Cute, cute bump!

Keep us up to date on FOB.

20-02-2008, 18:52
:hugs: BG

I am hoping ms is dissipating. I can hope.
We are moving soon. Just a whole 1k north!!

Jules16
20-02-2008, 21:33

BG - I hope the indigestion eases soon. Mine has eased this week - am guessing it's 'cos bub has dropped. I hope FOB doesn't give you any grief. You need to focus on being as relaxed as possible leading up to the birth. Try doing some relaxation cds if you get stressed. Do you have any? I have a couple I could lend you.

Kymmy - hope you're feeling better soon. Mine came back a bit last week but I think it's 'cos I got so tired. It's awful isn't it.

21-02-2008, 09:47
I am trying to keep healthy. I love my sleep and only wanting to eat good foods. Hope it lasts after pregnancy too but depends on baby!

Jules16
21-02-2008, 12:49
Hey BG! I doubt you'll start social smoking again. You will feel different I'm sure being a Mum! Great to hear you are feeling so good. I'm the same actually. I've had such a fantastic pregnancy. Although feeling a little vague and exhausted today. My stomach is starting to drop and I lost some of my plug this morning. My Mum is on her way over from Perth this weekend so it will be nice to have her around. She was originally going to come late next week but has decided to come a week earlier so we can make sure we get some time in together before bubs comes.

I find I am craving lots of sugar so am eating the occasional chocolate/cake - but am also eating lots of fruit and veg too and am taking my vitamins each day.

Let's just hope the delivery is just as good as the pregnancy. I feel like I have m/s today though - gross!

21-02-2008, 15:22
I didn't lose my plug til the day I had my babies. Wow not long to go for you Morganj.

Jules16
21-02-2008, 16:27
Apparently!! Although i spoke to my doula this morning and she said the amount was very small - the whole plug can be about the size of a golf ball apparently. So it could still be a little way off. Would be nice if bub came in the next week though I think. I'm starting to feel ready.

It was funny 'cos I was in the shower and visualising bub bearing down and me relaxing my cervix and opening up for bub and practicing my breathing and everything that I was taught in my hypno birthing class. And then out comes a glob. Sorry for TMI. DH thinks I should stop practicing - lol!!

21-02-2008, 20:20
You made me laugh! :laughing:

mysweetpea
24-02-2008, 15:18
hi ladies :wave:

another Sunday, another work day. gosh they come around so quickly!!

can't believe it is nearing the end of Feb!! we'll have a new bubba soon, so very exciting!! it makes me wish i was having another one lol!! i'd better get cracking too if i am to have another one, not getting any younger afterall!!

it's another cool day, and windy!! how strange is this melbourne weather (though not surprising really!)

my brother and his partner had their 2nd baby the other day (their 1st is nearly 8!!) they called him Harry and i'm yet to meet him. can't wait though! his poor mum lost a lot of blood and had to have transfusions. apparantly she is feeling better now so we'll go in and visit them tomorrow. so exciting! all these boys! i have 3 brothers and only one of them has a daughter! their are now 4 grandsons and only one granddaughter for my mum! i'd love to have a little girl myself next time.

anyway, no other news from me. hope you are all well.

xox:wave:

mummynumba1
26-02-2008, 19:35
Hi all, I am a 30 year old mummy of 1, Ashton, he is 14 months a joy to our lives.. We love being parents and well look forward to expanding our small little family.
We are at present looking for playgroups in which we hopefully will find sometimw this week. Living in Doncaster East, a lovely place..

Jules16
26-02-2008, 22:00
MNo1 - welcome!! Great to have you here!

BG - I hope the last few days at work fly by for you! You'll so love not working - well I certainly am loving it. Feel like a different person.

My Mum arrived from Perth on the weekend!! :yelclap: She is just wonderful. Ironed all DH's shirts today, hung out and brought in all the washing, cleaned up after dinner, is sorting out the garden and sewing up torn curtains! :smiliedance: I hadn't seen her for ten months so you can imagine we are just loving spending time together. She is staying until I have bub and will leave when I come home from hospital - and then come back with Dad at the end of April!!

Saw the ob on the weekend and apparently bub isn't coming out anytime soon. Just hoping and praying that I don't have to be induced. Am only 38 weeks though so plenty of time for bub to find his/her way out.

forbetoel
27-02-2008, 08:21
Morganj, how exciting. So nice to have your mum with you too. I see my mum 4 or 5 times every week, so I can only imagine how much you are enjoying your time with her. Nearly there now hun. xoxox

mysweetpea
05-03-2008, 16:12
hi everyone :wave:

welcome mummynumba1! i have a little boy who is 15 months old so our bubbas are pretty close in age. look forward to chatting!

not much news my end i'm afraid. have had dh home for 3 weeks after an ingrown toe op. am actually looking forward to him going back to work lol!! but it's been good having him home, he's great with ds. and he's let me have some lovely sleep-ins which is FANTASTIC!! i just feel guilty spending too much time on the computer when he's home. he just doesn't get the whole forum thing and chatting to 'strangers' as he sees it!

we're off to the in-laws shortly for dinner which will be nice. it's great for them to spend some time with daniel. they just adore him!

anyway, hope you are all well. hopefully i'll be back on again soon!

xox :wave:

forbetoel
05-03-2008, 20:59
Wow, BG, you are almost there. How is the name game going? Have you decided for sure yet?

Jules16
05-03-2008, 21:41
How exciting BG!! Yippeee!!!

melissa.r
06-03-2008, 14:03
Hi, I just discovered this thread, I am a SAHM with a 4yo and a 2yo, both girls. Just thought I would pop in and say Hi.

Jules16
13-03-2008, 08:54
Hi Melissa and a big welcome!!

BG - how's the maternity leave going? Are you keeping busy?

Not much to report here - just playing the waiting game and having a few tightenings here and there. My folks go back to Perth in a week's time so hopefully bub will come soon.

forbetoel
13-03-2008, 20:23
Hope it happens soon morganj:fingerscrossed:

Jules16
13-03-2008, 20:38
Thanks 4boys2love. Me too!! The tightenings stopped a little tonight - so frustrating!!

Ana Gram
13-03-2008, 20:45
I can't recall ever seeing this thread before!! I am 30+, in melbourne and a mum :D

forbetoel
13-03-2008, 20:52
:wave: Hiya Chelle and welcome!!!

Morgang...just try to enjoy your last days of being pregnant, before you know it, it will all be over. Look after yourself, and enjoy:D

mysweetpea
17-03-2008, 11:35
hello everyone :wave:

melissa.r and chellegoth welcome to our thread! look forward to chatting and getting to know you better!

morganj - tightenings, wow! and that was last week!! today is the 17th so it's possible you've had the bub. oh how exciting!! if so i hope everything went well and i can't wait to hear all about it! if not, no doubt you must be getting very anxious to meet your little bubbba!

BG - how are you enjoying not having to work? as i said to morganj when she finished up it is such a special time. when you have this time to yourself and getting ready to meet your little bubba for the first time. enjoy this time because you will never have it back!!

i haven't any news. i didn't work yesterday as i somehow managed to hurt my back. i've had a sore back before (before bub was born and i was working full-time) and that time i was able to have time off work and rest on the couch for a couple of weeks. not this time!! no chance of a rest with a 16 month old toddler lol! so i'm just having some pain killers and soldiering on. hopefully it will be back to normal soon!

anyway, hope you all had a fantastic weekend.

xox :wave:

Jules16
17-03-2008, 11:40
Hi Ladies.

Just a quick one to let you know it's finally happening! Contractions at three minutes apart. Just sitting it out at home for as long as possible now. DH frantically trying to finish some work and then we'll go to the hospital once it gets intolerable.

Hope you are all well.

forbetoel
17-03-2008, 12:47
Morganj...so excited for you, all the best for a safe and healthy delivery. Can't wait to hear what you have and all the other details. :flowerz:

Funkychicken
19-03-2008, 09:30
Julie, I am so excited for you. You must be holding your little bubba by now. Can't wait to hear more. :goodvibes:

forbetoel
19-03-2008, 10:05
A little birdie told me that Morgang had a baby boy :D :D :D

Can't wait to hear fromyou Morganj.

forbetoel
19-03-2008, 17:29
Loving not working! Have been madly trying to do last minute things like sorting out paperwork and throwing things away and tidying up mobile phone numbers- hahahaha ... of course my mobile phone broke didn't it - so now i'll have a crappy phone at the hospital and not my camera phone - DOH!!!!!!!!!!
Bronny, I have PM'd you.

Can't wait to hear from Morganj, it is lovely to have a little baby born into this thread.:goodvibes:

mysweetpea
20-03-2008, 23:37
CONGRATULATIONS MORGANJ!!
can't wait to hear how you and bub are doing!
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedanc e::smiliedance:

mama71
25-03-2008, 08:39
Hi there, I am a new mum in south east melbourne and am glad to have found this thread. I really hope to connect with some others Mums that are close to me. :wave:

Tina33
25-03-2008, 10:22
Hi there, I am a new mum in south east melbourne and am glad to have found this thread. I really hope to connect with some others Mums that are close to me. :wave:

Hi there..Welcome to Bub hub..I am only new to this site:smiliedance:..

It;s amazing how many "older Mums" there are out there!!:D

forbetoel
25-03-2008, 15:29
Oh wow Bronny, only 6 days left!!! Well maybe 20 if your baby is stubborn, but just seeing that little counter at lil ole 6, is very exciting!!!:D

forbetoel
25-03-2008, 16:50
lol...you must be feeling pretty good then.

mysweetpea
26-03-2008, 08:23
hi all :wave:

hope everyone had a great Easter!

welcome to our thread mama71

BG - only 6 days to go!! wow, not long now! hope you are feeling well and that everything goes well with the birth! so EXCITING!!

i am SO tired today!!! for some reason i couldn't sleep for hours last night, SO frustrating!! :hair: and ds was asleep by 8pm and slept all night so it wasn't him keeping me awake. i'm tempted to go for a nap when ds does!

no news my end. very boring actually. i'm too tired to think anyway! so think i'll go and hopefully will be more interesting next time!

morganj - hope everything is going well with your gorgeous new bub! look forward to hearing all about it!

:wave: xox

forbetoel
28-03-2008, 06:47
Ah well - better enjoy the food now coz it's onto the healthy, breastfeeding diet once baby comes...

That sounds like gread BFing food too.:yes: You still need fat in your diet because the milk needs that too. I found that while feeding, especially for that first few weeks, I could NOT stop eating...:o

Jules16
30-03-2008, 09:55

Thank you all for your congrats!! Blake William Jock arrived on 17 March (St Patrick's Day) at 9.33 pm weighing in at 8 pound 6. He is absolutely gorgeous!! We are very proud. Am struggling a little with sore nipples but I think I may be on the mend now. The feeding is going quite well generally though - he has such a huge appetite! Wow. He has already put on weight! He was born at 3.8 kg and was weighed last Tuesday (8 days old) and weighed 3.93 kg or something.

I have posted my birth story here

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2504531&posted=1#post2504531

BG - any news yet??

A big hello to everyone else. Sorry for the lack of personals but haven't had time to read through all the posts as yet.

forbetoel
30-03-2008, 15:42
Morganj...I am soooo happy for you. Ouch!! Sore nipples, I remember those! They seem to reach a peak as far as the pain goes, then before you know it, you will be fine. I tried to just change the position of feeding so that the baby would latch in different positions just to give them a rest.

I love the avatar, you must be sooo proud...well done!

Jules16
30-03-2008, 19:04
Thanks for your kind words BG! Yeah I reckon staying home with some supportive people really helps. I felt a bit lost once I got to the hospital. You're sitting in this room thinking - so now what do I do. They can only help you to manage the pain with gas or an epi. I think if you can stay at home and keep distracted it really helps. Rest as much as too because labour can really drag out and you want to preserve as much energy for the end as possible. I had my obstetrician telling me I had to give it more (the pushing) and I'm thinking - I'm already giving it everything I have. You just have to find so much energy (well I did anyway - everyone's experience is different - but bubs wasn't coming out easily). Luckily my obstetrician was really patient and gave me the opportunity to try my best before getting out the forceps etc. I think the world of him! He supported my hypno birthing and yet gave me heaps of encouragement to push bub out.

I hope things happen for your soon. The period pain is a good sign. That's what the contractions feel like really.

Jules16
30-03-2008, 20:16
Thanks BG! I remember being in tears a couple of days before Blake arrived. Very moody I was!! Sounds like it's not long for you now!! :fingerscrossed:

forbetoel
31-03-2008, 17:00
Oh Bronny, I hated the the hip pain. I used to put a sleeping bag under my bottom sheet just to soften the bed a bit for my poor hips.
My weekend was good. I didn't do much which was nice. The two older boys had a sleep over at a friends house, so with just the 2 little ones things were really quiet.

And a big happy due date for tomorrow.:D

Funkychicken
01-04-2008, 14:32
Julie, I am so happy for you! I have just read Blake's birth story in the other thread and have to say WOOHOO, you did it! You finally have your little baby in your arms. :smiliedance::goodvibes:

So, congratulations again to you and B and I wish you all the joy in the world as you journey through parenthood together. :goodvibes::goodvibes::hugs::hugs:

forbetoel
01-04-2008, 21:23
Don't give up yet Bronny. I couldn't count on even one hand the amount of friends who were told 'nothing happening down there' only to go into labour either that night or in the following few days. Not everyones body gets slowly ready over a few days, some woman just go bang...Labour.

Funkychicken
01-04-2008, 21:27
BG, you are at such an emotionally confusing time at the moment. We spend our entire pregnancy waiting for the magic due date to arrive and when it passes we get all confused and let down.
You still have a couple of weeks before you are considered officially overdue. Who knows, your baby may very well make her appearance in the next day or two!
Hang in there-you have been so strong getting to this point and I am sure you can keep that strength up for a bit longer yet. :goodvibes:

Funkychicken
01-04-2008, 21:33
;) Makes perfect sense. :thumbsup:

Been there done that with what everyone else is expecting. Try to remember this is about you and your baby-you two only get to do this birth thing together once!
Phooey to all those people who are being nosy-as well meaning as they are-this is your chance to shine! :goodvibes:

Jules16
01-04-2008, 23:50
BG - hang in there and just relax as much as possible and talk to your little one and tell her you are ready for her to make her entrance whenever she is ready. And she will arrive when she's ready!! Take care and rest up and be kind to yourself and your little bub!

Sal - thank you so much for your kind words. How are your little ones. Growing up fast I see!!

Funkychicken
02-04-2008, 08:20
How are you feeling this morning Bronny? I hope you had a good nights rest.:)

Funkychicken
02-04-2008, 09:23
Good luck with the acupuncture! I love my acupuncturist-she is my heroine! :goodvibes::goodvibes:

Jules16
02-04-2008, 11:31
Acupuncture is great! Actually, can anyone recommend one in the bayside area? Mine is in Preston and I really can't see myself getting to that side of the world in the near future between feeds (it's more of a day trip from here).

forbetoel
02-04-2008, 11:48
Funky Chicken....if you are willing to share, what do you find acupuncture helps with?

forbetoel
02-04-2008, 13:49
Wow, she is going to try and get to your birth. Is she a personal friend of yours, or does she try and make herself available for births?

mysweetpea
03-04-2008, 11:02
hello everyone :wave:

wow! this thread has been busy! it's great to see!

morganj - Blake is just GORGEOUS!! your birth story certainly was amazing!! you did so well! i'm glad the feeding is settling down. you'll be fine. as 4b2L said, you'll find that it all just falls into place and before you know it it'll be a breeze. just have to get through that stage of sore nipples, getting the positioning right etc. CONGRATULATIONS AGAIN!!

BronnyGrace - i can understand your frustration BG. daniel wasn't overdue but i did have to be induced and it's very disappointing. but it may not even come to that (:fingerscrossed:) and you'll go into labour naturally. they usually give you 10 days - 2 weeks before they induce (i think that's right, correct me if i'm wrong) and even though ds was induced (i ended up with emerg. cc anyway) the end result is a beautiful happy baby and that's the main thing. wishing you all the best BG with the birth! i hope you get the birth you want and i'm sending you vibes so you don't have to be induced!

4boys2love - having been through it 4 times you must be an expert lol! hope you're enjoying the school holidays with your boys.

i hope everyone survived the mad winds yesterday! how scary! daniel and i had a quiet day and stayed inside all day so luckily weren't affected. but seeing the news a lot of people were. even a couple of deaths. very sad.

well, not much news my end. daniel is nearly walking (i prob said that last post!) don't think it'll be long now. he is just so cute! i fall more and more in love with him every day :hugs: i'll have to add some new photos in my profile, haven't been in there for AGES!!

hopefully next time i log on there will be a new bubba! thinking of you BG and hope it all goes well!

take care

Joshandsamsmum
03-04-2008, 11:58

I am new to this site and I am 33 with 2 boys Josh 2.4 and sam 7 mths. Would love to meet some mums from Melbourne. I am from Prahran, is anyone from near here? Would love to get to know you all :)

Sophie

Joshandsamsmum
03-04-2008, 16:23
Bonnygrace you are not too far from me then ;) I will be popping in here regularly, you sound like a very lovely and supportive bunch... just what I need :)

forbetoel
03-04-2008, 17:25
Hi, and welcome Joshandsamsmum.....look forward to chatting with you.:)

Joshandsamsmum
03-04-2008, 19:28
Thanks for the welcome. :) How many people are in this group? Have you all met? Just let me know if you want to know anything about me.

Sophie

forbetoel
03-04-2008, 19:29
We have been planning a meet, but nothing has panned out as yet.

forbetoel
03-04-2008, 19:44
Yes, we will have to. :yes:

Funkychicken
03-04-2008, 23:54
Funky Chicken....if you are willing to share, what do you find acupuncture helps with?
For me it is my back. I have a dodgy disc that has popped out twice and I use acupuncture as a maintenance program to keep things in alignment.

After the birth of my last bub, my pelvis went all askew and one quick trip to my friend and I was straight again!
Honestly, when my back goes, I stand with an exceptionally pronounced curvature in my spine. One hip sticks way out to the right and the other one is tucked in under my shoulder. It isn't pretty.:no:
So, it is usually one session when things are just a bit misplaced and up to two when they are worse.
I have also used moxibustion to turn my last bub which worked a treat!

I haven't had a "relapse" in over two years now so I am hoping to keep it that way!

Funkychicken
03-04-2008, 23:55
Thanks for the welcome. :) How many people are in this group? Have you all met? Just let me know if you want to know anything about me.

Sophie
Hi Sophie and welcome. I'm afraid I am really slack in this thread and only get in here occasionally-especially when a baby is born! :D

Morganj and I have met a number of times but I haven't met any of the other girls in here.

forbetoel
04-04-2008, 07:45
Thanks Funkychicken, that is really interesting, I look into one myself.

mysweetpea
04-04-2008, 09:51

BronnyGrace - that's great you've made the decision to give bub the two weeks to make her own appearance. it makes so much more sense that they come when they're ready (as long as mum and bub are healthy of course)

joshandsamsmum - welcome to our thread! i'm hoping too that we can have a meet one of these days. i'd love to meet the lovely ladies in here! i'm in Northcote but i used to live in Prahran before moving here. it's a GREAT area isn't it?

Funkychicken - great to see you popping in! i've always been fascinated with acupuncture. do you think it can assist with weight loss? if so maybe i need some!

forbetoel
04-04-2008, 13:24
out
- have had an offer of hot sex but politely said 'no thanks' hehehe

!!

:laughing::laughing:Hot sex and 9 months pregnant..:laughing:;)
I know eveyones definition of hot sex is different, but I am thinking.....:barf:
Anywayz....yes Bronny I agree, if your trust your doc then yes, I owuld do the same and take the advice also.

I trusted my doctor and was happy to go with what he thought was best also.

SO next Thursday at the latest....you really are nearly there.:goodvibes:

Scout
06-04-2008, 07:29
Hi All - it has been a loooooong time since I have posted in here!

I'm going to try and make more of an effort - I would rather "connect" with a group of people than make random posts, as I have a tendency to do.

Anyone else up earlier than normal this morning with the daylight savings changeover? We are well into our 4th episode of Teletubbies!

BG - good luck!

Sal - hope your back is better! I swear by accupuncture for everything. I also like the moxibustion too!

Must run - I'll sit on the computer all day if I don't move now!

Scout

Funkychicken
06-04-2008, 07:31
:wave::wave: at Scout. Nice to hear from you! :goodvibes:

forbetoel
11-04-2008, 07:29
JUST HEARD FROM BRONNY ABOUT 2 MINUTES AGO.....HERE'S THE MESSAGE WE HAVE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR...

Alexis Grace Heywood is here!
Emergancy Ceaser at 12.43am.
9pds 2ounces with a full head
of black hair! We both doing fine x

Wow! I was so happy to hear that everything went fine, and both mother and daughter are well!!!! YAY!!! Well Done Bronny, you are awesome, enjoy mother hood! I am sooo excited and sooo proud of you!!!!!xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo :hugs: :hugs:

Jules16
11-04-2008, 08:53
WELCOME ALEXIS GRACE AND A BIG CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU BOTH!!

forbetoel
11-04-2008, 08:55
Morganj, how is your little man doing? I love your avatar!

Jules16
11-04-2008, 09:08
Morganj, how is your little man doing? I love your avatar!

He is doing really well thanks!! Growing so quickly though!! Here are some photos!!

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=36266&l=2a3ac&id=709457432

It still doesn't feel real though. When does it start to feel real?

forbetoel
11-04-2008, 09:12
He is such a beautiful baby, he is just so cute!!!

Honestly it took me about 12 months for it to feel real, for it to finally sink in that this gorgeous little boy was really my son, and I was his mum. I just fell head over heals straight away, and it almost felt too good to be true.

It really took a long time to feel real for me.

You must be so proud. His photo's have made me *cluck* *cluck* *cluck*

Jules16
11-04-2008, 09:21
Thanks! I think he's pretty special too! Love this photo aswell!

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=784929&l=39e88&id=709457432

I think he looks older than his age. He just doesn't seem like a newborn.

forbetoel
11-04-2008, 09:33
Awwww!!! He is adorable. Such a good looking little baby.

Can you believe you actually made that precious little soul?

Jules16
11-04-2008, 13:01
No I really can't.

mysweetpea
11-04-2008, 23:28
CONGRATULATIONS!! BronnyGrace on the safe arrival of your beautiful daughter Alexis Grace. i can't wait to see a photo! hope you are well xox

4boys2love - thanks for letting us know the good news! xox

morganj - your little boy is just GORGEOUS! i really hope we can organise a meet one day in the near future when everyone is up to it. i think it's about time we all met!

Scout - lovely to have you back! don't i know you from somewhere else lol?!!

it's a bit late so i'd better go. i'll be back tomorrow or the next day to fill you in on the latest from me.

have a great weekend everyone!

Scout
12-04-2008, 18:41
Congratulations BG - I love her name.

Julie - oh boy do they grow quick! I can't believe Sax is almost two. I'm frightened he will be 21 before I know it. Some days I wish I could go back to the lovely stage you are at.....then again, I like now too.

Scout - lovely to have you back! don't i know you from somewhere else lol?!!
:laughing: yes, you do! How funny! I never go to that other place anymore, I hate it. I did meet one nice person though ;). Seen any supermum's lately?

I went back to work full-time this week. :( We are very short-staffed and I've only got 11 weeks until I leave, so I feel like I should help out. Even though it's only one extra day at work, I'm so buggered.

Yay - I just won a great car on eBay for Sax. Like he needs another car....

forbetoel
12-04-2008, 19:03
HI everyone:wave:
Scout...I thought you were already working fulltime? Were you only part-time?
Just imagine how many cars I have at my house....just multiply the cars at your house by 4! :eek:

Hi everyone else, have a good weekend!

Scout
12-04-2008, 21:07
Hey 4b2l - mmmmm, why don't we just change your name to 5b2l?? :D You won't notice one extra, surely??? He doesn't eat much.

I was working 4 days a week, now 5. Only for a short time though - I'm finishing work at the end of June and having a month off before we head to the UK for 12 months! That's going to be lots of time for the little guy and I to be together - I wonder who is going to crack first :laughing:.

forbetoel
13-04-2008, 15:42
The UK for twelve months....wow! Is it a sort of working holiday? That will be a great experience for your son.

As for the name change...well I wouldn't mind another little boy, I am actually debating with myself whether or not to have another...I just can't decide. I always thought that after my 4th I would just feel 'done'...but I don't :(
You probally think that I am insane or something:laughing:

It will be nice to have the one month off, although I know you do enjoy your job, which is great, it's half the battle. A lot of people don't like their job.

Anywayz.....hi to everyone else, I am just having a lazy ole Sunday.

alphafemale2901
13-04-2008, 18:28

I'm a Melbourne mum, not new to the site, but new to this thread. Am I too late to join in and am I welcome?? I only just realised this thread was here.

I'm in the outer South East and have a 13 y/o DD, 15 week old DS and 9 y/o SS.

I look forward to getting to know the Melbourne mummies. :shakehands:

Sarah

mysweetpea
14-04-2008, 09:25
good morning ladies :wave:

well, another weekend gone and another week begins. time is going so fast!

alphafemale2901 - welcome to our thread! and it's never to late to join! look forward to chatting.

4b2l - i have just the one ds so far. i can't imagine having 5 lol! he is yet to discover cars but i'm sure it's only a matter of time. his obsession is balls. he thows and spins them all day. and anything that is not a ball gets thrown also!

scout - hey supermum :wave: you remembered lol! yeah, it's a different place but i don't mind it. i go through phases though. sometimes i'm on there a lot and other times not for ages. wow, the UK for 12 months! how exciting! and a fantastic opportunity!

morganj and BronnyGrace i hope you and your gorgeous new bubbas are all well. it is such an exciting time getting to know your new baby. i am so happy for you both.

well, i can't remember if i told you or not but i've found a place in childcare for daniel. which means that i can go back to work for another day. i've decided to do a wednesday. that means that i work sunday and wednesday and have a couple of days at home with ds in between. i'm excited at the prospect of earning some more money! so that should happen in the next few weeks (the child care place is a new one and hasn't opened just yet)

other than that no new news from me.

hope you all had a great weekend and will have a great week!

alphafemale2901
14-04-2008, 14:58
alphafemale2901 - welcome to our thread! and it's never to late to join! look forward to chatting.

Thanx.

I look forward to getting to know the mummies in this thread with a bit of :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:

forbetoel
14-04-2008, 16:52
Welcome alphafemale, look forward to chatting.

We should organise a meet before Scout goes to the U.K.

Mysweetpea...my 2 younger ones love playing with cars and balls, I think it is so cute watching them play. How is work going? Are you still just doing a couple of shifts?

Hi everyone else.

mysweetpea
14-04-2008, 18:26
hi again :wave:

4b2l i am currently only working on sunday arvos but will be picking up a wednesday as well as soon as the childcare centre opens. i'm so lucky to have found a place because the waiting lists in the Darebin region are out of control!

i too think we should have a meet before Scout leaves! i would love to meet all of you!!

xox

Jules16
14-04-2008, 20:11

Scout - wow 12 months in the UK sounds very exciting. Where abouts? We are going over at Christmas to visit the outlaws (I am so not looking forward to the flight though). Maybe we'll be able to catch up if you are near by. We will be staying on the out skirts of London.

alphafemale - welcome to the thread!!

mysweatpea - well done on getting a day in child care.

I would love to meet up with you all. Although Blake's been a bit unsettled the last couple of days so will have to see how he goes. I think it's the four week growth spurt perhaps?

BTW - what does everyone recommend as far as when to change a newborn's nappy. Before, during or after his feed? I usually do it half way through but he often throws up, and if I do it before he is usually screaming at that point and desperate for his feed. Any advice welcome.

alphafemale2901
14-04-2008, 20:47
Good evening mummies. I hope the day has been a great one for you all. I'm so excited to be a part of this thread. I can't believe I never saw it before. :doh:

alphafemale - welcome to the thread!!

BTW - what does everyone recommend as far as when to change a newborn's nappy. Before, during or after his feed? I usually do it half way through but he often throws up, and if I do it before he is usually screaming at that point and desperate for his feed. Any advice welcome.

G'day morganj - thanks for the welcome. I look forward to getting to know you.

Am I clear to give advice yet being such a newbie to the thread?? I'll throw caution to the wind and say have you done it at the end of a feed? And does he throw up at that point too? Does he go straight to sleep after a feed? I would think that if he's screaming before a feed, then that might be too traumatising on you both so either mid-feed or at the end would be better. However, if changing his nappy stirs him up too much and hinders getting him to sleep then you may as well keep doing it mid-feed. I reckon it might be better to have him chuck than be screaming or unsettled.

How old is your bub?

My newest one is 15 weeks; a little boy called Koby. I experimented heaps with every different combination of feed, change, sleep and will probably keep experimenting. My other child is a 13 y/o DD, so I've kind of forgotten how it all went way back then. its like being a first time mum again a lot of the time.

Welcome alphafemale, look forward to chatting.

We should organise a meet before Scout goes to the U.K.

Hi 4B2L - thank you for the welcome too. I'm keen to be a part of this thread. It seems like many of the mothers I chat to are way younger than me (I'm 38), and not that theres anything wrong with that because I can talk the talk with absolutely anyone, but its refreshing to meet some chicks in my age bracket.

Again throwing caution to the wind, I would love to be involved in a meet up if thats ok. I'm in the outer South East, but have car and will travel.

Do you ladies regularly meet up? And are new chicks welcome?

I already told you about half of my family. I also have a DH and a SS (9 y/o). We're in the process of packing up our lives ready to move house into our own place, for the very first time (woohoo). Packing sux however and I can't wait for it to be over.

Another little bit about me - I'm a SAHM. I was studying a Bachelor of Social Work for the last few years, ultra-part-time, but in the interests of enjoying the first year of Koby's life I have taken this year off. I was grieving a bit about giving up study for a year but thankfully the pay-off of having a relaxing time getting to know my son is so wonderfully rewarding, I can hardly remember what I was grieving about.

Anyway, as you can see I not shy of a bit of :ecomcity: :ecomcity: and I think I've done enough for now. So until next time, have a great night Melbourne mums and I'll see you soon.

Sarah :)

mysweetpea
14-04-2008, 21:34
i used to change daniel's nappy half way through the feed (after 1st side bf). that way if he fell asleep during the 2nd side i could put him straight to bed without having to change him again (at least i think that's what i did. it seems like AGES ago!)

alphafemale2901
14-04-2008, 21:50
Did you mums see the post about the melbourne meet up on April 22nd in Carnegie??

I'm going for sure. :yes:

*Sparkles*
14-04-2008, 22:02
Hi, I only just saw this thread too and as you can see from my post count I am not a n00bie lol.

I'm Hels (Helen) and I live in the outer south east. I am 38, married and we have a 15 mth old son called Reece. We are currently TTC'ing again for no #2, hopefully it won't take too long as the clock is ticking now!

I think I may already know some of you from around the forum and I look forward to chatting to the rest of you :)

Julie, we have chatted before and I'm so very happy to see that you have since had a bub, he is just gorgeous too.

forbetoel
15-04-2008, 09:15
Morganj...all babes are different, so it is hard to say. While very young I would change at the end of a feed because they would always seem to do a poo right as I was putting them down for a sleep. Otherwise I would do it before, so they (and me) could have an uninterupted feed. :)

Welcome Hels*bels :wave:

Alphafemale..no we have never all got together for a meet before. And congrats on the move into the new house.

Mysweetpea...Glad you have found a child care centre for Wednesdays, hope it all goes smoothly and that he enjoys his time there.

:wave: @ everyone else.

Have heard from Bronny, won't give too much away as I am sure she will have a lot to say when she gets back, but she and her DD should be coming home tomorrow.

Jules16
15-04-2008, 10:05
Thanks everyone for their advice.

Sweetpea - I usually end up putting Blake to bed asleep after he's fallen asleep on the boob aswell. It's so easy at 3.00 am in the morning to let him do this, however during the day I try to put him to bed awake if I can so that he can learn to self settle. Did you have any problems with Daniel forming a habit of going to sleep on the boob and not self settling any other way? That's my fear - although it is early days yet.

I think I'll stick with doing it mid feed so he doesn't get too wound up. Had two horror feeds last night - so bad that I considered maybe starting expressing during the day and using a bottle at night. He just kept squirming in my arms the whole time and kept coming off the boob as soon as I attached him, and then screamiing and squirming trying to find the nipple again. He was arching his back too so I don't know if he had wind or not. It was very tiring and he got himself so worked up. I had to just take him off in the end and put my little finger in his mouth for him to suckle on until he fell asleep as I could see he was getting way over tired.

Bronny - can't wait to hear from you!!

HelsBels - welcome and thanks for the congrats. Good luck with the ttc! Reece is growing up very quickly!! Time flies doesn't it?

Alpha - feel free to give advice anytime. Thank you. And thanks for the info re the meet. I might have to try and make it to that one - depending on whether or not Blake's feeds settle down a bit. Too many tears at the moment. He was four weeks yesterday!

puppydogstails
15-04-2008, 10:41
Good morning mums. I hope the day is good so far for you all.

Hi, I only just saw this thread too and as you can see from my post count I am not a n00bie lol.

I'm Hels (Helen) and I live in the outer south east. I am 38, married and we have a 15 mth old son called Reece. We are currently TTC'ing again for no #2, hopefully it won't take too long as the clock is ticking now!

G'day Helen, I'm a 38 y/o in the outer South East too. What a wonderful coincidence. I have blabbed a fair bit about myself in the last few pages, so for those who have fallen asleep reading my rant already I won't repeat it.

Good luck TTC. I'm not sure I'm done having babies yet either. All these new mum stories get me all clucky. I got preggers within a month of us trying, so age IMO doesn't amke any difference. I think its how healthy the body is that counts.

Alphafemale..no we have never all got together for a meet before. And congrats on the move into the new house.

Well then I would say such a meet up is long overdue. :yes:

I'm pretty excited about the move, but the packing is doing my head in. I'm a bit pack-happy. Everytime someone in the house asks me for something I have to tell them sorry - I've packed it. Today it was discovered we have no tissues - because I've packed them.:doh:

We move in 16 days - woohoo.

I think I'll stick with doing it mid feed so he doesn't get too wound up. Had two horror feeds last night - so bad that I considered maybe starting expressing during the day and using a bottle at night. He just kept squirming in my arms the whole time and kept coming off the boob as soon as I attached him, and then screamiing and squirming trying to find the nipple again. He was arching his back too so I don't know if he had wind or not. It was very tiring and he got himself so worked up. I had to just take him off in the end and put my little finger in his mouth for him to suckle on until he fell asleep as I could see he was getting way over tired.

Alpha - feel free to give advice anytime. Thank you. And thanks for the info re the meet. I might have to try and make it to that one - depending on whether or not Blake's feeds settle down a bit. Too many tears at the moment. He was four weeks yesterday!

You poor love. Its really distressing isn't it. Just relax though, he's only 4 weeks old. My DS started to give up on my breast milk at about 4 weeks and I had to gradually put him on the bottle. I was pretty devestated by that, but I gave it my best shot and he got 4 weeks worth of BM so thats cool.

Just keep doing whatever works at the time I reckon and don't be to concerned with sticking to one method or another. As long as you both get some much needed rest at the end of it all. Things will start to settle down soon I'm sure.

So glad you're going to try and make it to the meet up. I'm really keen to put faces to names (or handles anyway).

Have a great day mummies. :smiliedance:

PS - forgot to say I had to use a different handle - I had trouble logging in as alphafemale this morning

alphafemale2901
15-04-2008, 12:55
Sorry for the confusion with the above post ^^^.

I have been having some issues with my login using this handle so I just made a new one. I hope I don't get in any strife for doing that. :(

I have made one of the moderators aware of the prob, but I'm starting to have a feeling that I'm actually having a problem with my keyboard or something else at my end. :geek:

Anyway, sseyuz later.

mysweetpea
15-04-2008, 13:33
Thanks everyone for their advice.

Sweetpea - I usually end up putting Blake to bed asleep after he's fallen asleep on the boob aswell. It's so easy at 3.00 am in the morning to let him do this, however during the day I try to put him to bed awake if I can so that he can learn to self settle. Did you have any problems with Daniel forming a habit of going to sleep on the boob and not self settling any other way? That's my fear - although it is early days yet.

Bronny - can't wait to hear from you!!

HelsBels - welcome and thanks for the congrats. Good luck with the ttc! Reece is growing up very quickly!! Time flies doesn't it?

daniel didn't have any problems falling asleep himself. sometimes he fell asleep on the boob and sometimes he didn't. but i have heard of bubs that will only fall asleep on the boob so it is a habit that can possibly arise. all bubs are different though.

i would be careful if you end up expressing though because in these early days it can affect your milk supply. when daniel was born he had to have bottles because he had latching problems. but i still had to express during the night even when he was having milk i had expressed during the night in order to establish my milk supply.

it can be very frustrating i know! it took daniel and i 8 weeks to get the hang of breast feeding (expressing, bottles, then nipple shields) but we got there in the end and he is still going! though only one feed before bed now. i'm planning to stop in a month when he is 18 months old.

good luck with it morganj. it really is worth it in the end (imo anyway) it can just take some time to get the hang of it.

you are doing a GREAT job! :thumbsup:

forbetoel
15-04-2008, 13:53
Morganj..my babies always fell asleep on the boob at night, but I made a point of not letting it happen during the day. As a result my babies really got a good idea fairly early on between the difference between night and day, and also quickly learned to self settle and fall asleep on their own, which I thinks makes for a happier baby and mum.

Sounds like you are doing a great job.

The best advice that I could give any new mum is to just relax (babies pick up on stress) and to know that a lot of the time it is all just trial and error until you come up with something that works for your baby.

*Sparkles*
15-04-2008, 23:40
G'day Helen, I'm a 38 y/o in the outer South East too. What a wonderful coincidence. I have blabbed a fair bit about myself in the last few pages, so for those who have fallen asleep reading my rant already I won't repeat it.

Good luck TTC. I'm not sure I'm done having babies yet either. All these new mum stories get me all clucky. I got preggers within a month of us trying, so age IMO doesn't amke any difference. I think its how healthy the body is that counts.
Well then I would say such a meet up is long overdue. :yes:
I'm pretty excited about the move, but the packing is doing my head in. I'm a bit pack-happy. Everytime someone in the house asks me for something I have to tell them sorry - I've packed it. Today it was discovered we have no tissues - because I've packed them.:doh:

We move in 16 days - woohoo.

Where are you in the S.E? I am at Lynbrook. Are you moving to a different area? Moving is so stressful but so worth it when you get to the new place, I hope it goes smoothly.

Thanks for the welcomes everyone :D

Julie - I could only BF Reece for 1 month too as my milk was like water. I had heaps of it but no substance so he didn't gain any weight. After I put him on the bottle he just powered along and there has been no looking back lol. I remember he used to play around on the boob aswell arching his back etc, very frustrating! Just do what you can and it will all fall into place one way or another.

Well I am in the 2WW again. I have insemination done each month as we need assistance to get PG. I had my procedure today and this is my 5th cycle. I have 1 more left before moving to IVF so I really hope it works soon :fingerscrossed:

With my first DS it took only 3 cycles.
Is anyone else TTC'ing or PG?

alphafemale2901
16-04-2008, 06:33
Good morning Melbourne mums. Its freezing!!!

Where are you in the S.E? I am at Lynbrook. Are you moving to a different area? Moving is so stressful but so worth it when you get to the new place, I hope it goes smoothly.

I'm in Cranbourne North, so just around the corner. We're moving to Narre Warren South, but again, just around the corner.

Good luck TTC and with the insemination. I hope it works this month and that you don't have to go to stage 2. :fingerscrossed:

I'm feeling yucky in the belly this morning - I think it was the Singapore noodles I ate yesterday. I'm tired too. Koby has been waking up around 3.30am for a feed which has thrown me out a bit because for the last 3 weeks he has been sleeping 10-12 hours overnight. Its a growth spurt I guess.

Have a good one mummies and stay warm.

See yuz

Jules16
16-04-2008, 11:54
Good Morning Ladies

It certainly is cold - I'm struggling to type. We are waiting for our heating to get serviced as we want to check it's all okay before putting it on as we don't want to expose Blake to any carbon monoxide. So my hands are numb here as haven't even had a chance to thaw out in the shower this morning. Blake is in his bouncer asleep so I can't leave him on his own to shower as we have two cats. Apparently it's supposed to be 25 today though. Go figure. Might go for a nice walk later.

Thanks everyone for their words of advice. I usually let Blake settle on his own during the day and sometimes at night too, so I guess he should be okay if I let him sleep on the boob occasionally. Each day is so different though isn't it. I feel a lot more relaxed this week and have decided to just take it one day at a time. He is going through a growth spurt at the moment so he's waking me up every three hours or so. We are going to the MHN today for his four week check up so we'll see how much weight he's put on. He's getting so big already so I'm sure he'll have put on a few grams.

Hope everyone is keeping warm!!

*Sparkles*
16-04-2008, 12:01
Alpha - Yes you are just around the corner lol. Have you built a new house at Narre Sth or is it established?

Julie - Good idea about the heating, can't take any chances with these things hey.
I also wanted to say to you just do what ever feels right with Blake. I used to stress so much about everything I did with Reece. But you soon realise that their routine changes so much in the first year and you may do things one way for a month and then it totally changes. After a few months it just all falls into place.

I'm really looking forward to having another bub, based on what I just said above. It will be so nice to do it all again without stressing over the small stuff. They really should give us an instruction manual :D

alphafemale2901
16-04-2008, 19:22
Good evening Melbourne mums

I've been crook all day and trying to sleep, in between moaning and whinging. Luckily DH was home so he took charge.

Helen - We're moving to an established house (about 8 years old) on May 1st. We should catch up sometime for a coffee and chin-wag since we're practically neighbours.

I'm sending you fertility angels hun. :babydust2::angel::babydust2:

Morganj - I hope you warmed up in the afternoon. It became really beautiful outside. Not that I saw much of it because I was feeling too sorry for myself with a tummy and head ache.

Also, you sound like you're doing an ace job of mothering your little womble hun and you have the right attitude, taking it one day at a time. :yes:

Howdy to all the other Melbourne mummies too. I hope everyone has a great evening.

Jules16
16-04-2008, 21:05
Alpha - sorry to hear you aren't well. Hope you're feeling better soon!

HelsBels - great advice!! Thank you. I feel much better today about everything. Good luck with ttc #2. I really hope this is your month. :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:

Scout
16-04-2008, 21:36
Gaaaaahhhhh - so many posts, so quickly.

Julie - unfortunately I can't remember when, where, how, why or who would change Sax's nappy when he was at Blake's age. It's all such a blur!

Sweetpea - there was an article on the 7.30 Report about our "Super Mum" last night. Great news about the extra day at work!

Alpha Female & Hels Bels (loving both of those names! :laughing:) - welcome :wave:.

I wanted to do a longer post but I'm engrossed in the new show on Nine, Canal Road. The lead guy is gorgeous!

alphafemale2901
17-04-2008, 06:04
Good morning mummies

Alpha - sorry to hear you aren't well. Hope you're feeling better soon!

I'm feeling heaps better this morning and I got a much better sleep. I think it was something I ate the other day. Anyway, I'm back into the swing of things today and I have a busy day so just as well.

Alpha Female & Hels Bels (loving both of those names! :laughing:) - welcome :wave:.

Thanks Scout. I read you're going to the UK. You lucky girl. How long are you going for? Is it a holiday or working adventure? A meet up before you go has been suggested, which I reckon would be awesome.

Sweetpea, 4B2L & Helen - hope you have a great day.

Koby has been rolling around all over the place and giggling. He's such a cute little womble. Check him out.

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll289/alphafemale2901/12-04-08_0958.jpg

Lets hope the sun shines for us all today mums.

See yuz later.

mysweetpea
17-04-2008, 10:46

man i'm tired this morning! i would so love a sleep-in!

Scout - i didn't see that but i'm sure it was just more of the same drivel!

morganj - i'm glad you're feeling better about things. you'll find that everything will fall into place soon. those 1st couple of months are probably the hardest! you're doing well!

Hels*Bels - welcome to our thread. i'm glad you finally found us!

4b2l - great advice! you said it perfectly. how old are your boys btw?

alpha - i'm glad you're feeling better this morning. it's amazing how much better you feel when you've had a good sleep!

the childcare place has officially opened so we are off to have a little play there this afternoon, just to get familiar with the room, toys etc. we'll do the same tomorrow, then one day next week daniel will have a half days orientation. it will be interesting i'm sure! then i might put him in on wednesday but not actually work till the next week. that way i can go and get him if he is really stressed. although maybe i should just work. after-all, i won't be able to just go and get him if he's stressed when i'm at work! what do you girls think? (does that make sense lol?!)

it seems as though winter is really settling in! yesterday was a lovely day in the end but the days really is getting that wintry feel about them.

daniel is quite grizzly this morning. i think he's in pain, he has teeth coming in all over the place! the poor little guy :( i've given him some panadol but i still feel so helpless.

anyway, i'd better have a shower i suppose. the morning is getting away from me!

hope you all have a great day

xox:wave:

forbetoel
17-04-2008, 17:10
My boys are 8, 7, 4, and 2. :D

WorkingClassMum
17-04-2008, 18:32
Knock knock

Can I come in?

I'm in Melbourne, I have kids and I'm definately 30+:o (and then a little some)

I've been let out of the Padded Cell for good behaviour:D (DD's good behaviour - not mine), and I though I might pretend to be a mother of a well behaved child or two (well I'm a mother - I pretending they behave)

forbetoel
17-04-2008, 18:39
*answers door* .............Well hello KayteO, how are you luv? Welcome to the dirtie 30's. :laughing:

Of course you are welcome hunny. :)

alphafemale2901
18-04-2008, 06:55
Good morning mummies

Welcome KayteO. :wave:

So cool to meet another Melbourne mum. :smiliedance:

Did anyone look at the pic of my munchkin, or did I post it wrong?? I'm not so good with all the photo stuff yet.

Sweetpea - Yay for the childcare place, boo for the teething pain. Hope Daniel is feeling better soon.

Helen, Morgan, Scout & 4B2L - I hope y'all have a great day. I wonder if the sun will make an appearance.

DH and I are going fridge and TV shopping today. He has yet another day of no work. :banghead: :banghead:

I've told him that this self-employed bull-poo is not working for us at all and that after we move he has to get a real job. Do yuz reckon I'm being a little b!tchy or what? The only reason we are able to survive right now is because we have money from the sale of a piece of land, which is the reason we are able to buy our house. The money will quickly run out though and I don't want DH to become complacent with getting every 2nd or 3rd day off.

Plus he gets under my feet. :laughing:

See yuz later. Have a good one.

forbetoel
18-04-2008, 08:42
Alpha..I just saw the pic then. I must have missed the link earlier.

Tute...tuuttee, tttuuuttteee. How adorable.

alphafemale2901
18-04-2008, 15:14
:D :D :D ^^^

I think he's adorable too. :sunshine:

Shajbm
18-04-2008, 15:46
Knock Knock,

Is there room for 1 more. I'm Sharon and I have 3 beautiful boys Jake who will be 5 in 2 weeks and Ben and Matthew who will be 16months on Monday.

I'd love to chat, so hope I can come in.

forbetoel
18-04-2008, 16:19
Hi Shajm...Welcome:wave:

alphafemale2901
18-04-2008, 19:11
G'day Sharon:wave:

Great to meet you. Come on in.:thumbsup:

mysweetpea
18-04-2008, 21:40
evening ladies :wave:

welcome KayteO and Shajbm. it's lovely to have new melbourne mum's joing us.

sharon your twins are just one month younger than my ds. it's a gorgeous age isn't it?!

well, we are off to a 4th birthday party tomorrow, should be fun! she's actually a gorgeous little girl and her parents are lovely so it will be a fun day i'm sure. they are having a fairy (it's a fairy party) so it'll be interesting to see what daniel thinks!

daniel had a play at the childcare centre yesterday and today. he had a good time. it's all so lovely and new too. we have the half day orientation next wednesday the following wednesday i start my extra shift.

i finally got my 40th birthday present from dh. we had a ring made and it took longer than we thought. it's BEAUTIFUL!! i love LOVE it!! i can't wait to show you when we finally get around to having a meet!

today was a beautiful day wasn't it?! i love this autumn weather!

anyway, better finish the dishes, i keep putting them off.

have a great weekend everyone.

:wave:xox

alphafemale2901
19-04-2008, 07:29
Good morning mummies. I hope everyone had a good sleep (or still having a good sleep in). I'm waiting for my womble to rise. He's had a big sleep in - 10.5 hours and counting. Yay. :smiliedance:

i finally got my 40th birthday present from dh. we had a ring made and it took longer than we thought. it's BEAUTIFUL!! i love LOVE it!! i can't wait to show you when we finally get around to having a meet!

I guess I came in too late to catch your birthday. So happy belated birthday and I'm thrilled for you at finally getting your well deserved 40th birthday pressy.

Hi there all the other mummies. Lets enjoy this magnificent weather while it lasts. This is the best season of the year I reckon. I'm looking forward to meeting some if not all of you at the Tuesday meet-up, and hopefully the :sunshine: will be shining on us that day.

Stay gorgeous mummies. Catch yuz later.

*Sparkles*
19-04-2008, 15:16
Hi girls :wave:

Sharon - Welcome, I just recently found this thread aswell.
Me and Sharon have met before through our birth group as our boys are the same age :D

Alpha - Yes we will have to organise a meet when you are settled into your new place.
My DH is self employed too so I understand how hard it can be when they don't have work. What does your DH do?

It is a lovely day in Melb :yes:, we are going out to dinner tonight with MIL so that should be fun. My DS is a good little boy so I don't ever have to worry about him playing up or misbehaving (I hope I don't end up eating my words here lol).

alphafemale2901
19-04-2008, 18:33
Most definitely Helen. We move in 11 days (OMG I'm so excited).

Hey I'm cool to catch up before then anyway if you want. I'll PM you my phone number.

DH is a steel fixer. Puts together the frames for swimming pools. Apparently the work is all go as of next week (we'll see about that - I'm not holding my breath).

Yes what a gorgeous Autumn day. I love Autumn, its my favourite.

Jules16
19-04-2008, 19:58
Alpha - your little one is very cute!! Love the photo!!

KayteO & Sharon - Welcome!!

Hi to everyone else!! :wave: Sorry I haven't been around for a while but have been struggling a bit to find anytime for myself. DS has been suffering some reflux so it took me three hours to get him fed and to sleep tonight. Last night I was either feeding him or asleep on his bedroom floor. So tired. Hope you are all well. Yes this weather is lovely. Must try and get out for a walk soon.

forbetoel
20-04-2008, 10:52
Morganj...3 hours to feed and settle...you poor thing....no wonder you are tired.:hugs:

I really hope things start to settle for you soon. :hugs:

WorkingClassMum
20-04-2008, 14:49
What a great day - I just wish I had the time to enjoy it

Our weekends are so full now that the kids are older

DD does ballet on Saturday mornings, DS does Golf on Saturday PM and ever 2nd Sunday PM, I need to fit in shopping and house cleaning and watching nieces and nephews at their sporting events where I can...

Hopefully though - it'll bet wet wet wet soon. (But after we get our roof on:rolleyes: - it's only been two years)

alphafemale2901
20-04-2008, 16:29
Alpha - your little one is very cute!! Love the photo!!

Thanks Morganj. I hope the settling problems are a bit better today - you poor luv.

What a great day - I just wish I had the time to enjoy it

It is the best day. What a pity you can't enjoy it. I can't either really. I'm up to my armpits in packing ready to move.

Howdy everyone. I hope you've all had a good weekend.

mysweetpea
20-04-2008, 16:56

just a quick one from me as i am at work and although it isn't that busy i feel bad sitting at the computer for too long! and yes, i'm missing out on this beautiful day too! :hissy:

morganj - you poor thing! no wonder you are so tired! i hope the settling routine gets quicker for you both. glad to hear you are having some sleep whilst Blake is, you really need to grab sleep when you can!

alpha - thankyou for the birthday wishes. yet it was the big 4 0! i'm still not used to it but what can you do?!

hope you are all having a good day. i'd love to come on Tuesday but have absolutely no idea where Carnegie (sp?) is!! hope you all have a great time. you'll have to take some pics.

Jules16
20-04-2008, 19:55
Thanks Ladies! I think that three hours included a bath and changing him etc. Is that really bad? I keep feeling like I'm a bad Mum or something 'cos he doesn't settle easily at night. Although each feed thereafter is usually pretty easy. I'm hoping I'm not setting up bad habits but he gets so wound up that I don't know what else to do. I can't leave him screaming in his cot. Anyway, sorry for the vent.

WorkingClassMum
20-04-2008, 22:36
I keep feeling like I'm a bad Mum or something 'cos he doesn't settle easily at night.

Your no more a bad mum than he's a bad babe

I was so arrogant with DS cos everything was easy. I was such a good mum.

DD was my come upperance - she screamed for 6 weeks, and refused to breastfeed. Once DD was on script formula - she :barf:for 12 months, and never slept through the night until she was 3. Until she was 2 she'd never slept anything longer than about 3 hours at a time. Oh and when she didn't just burp it all up, she'd put it on the ceiling and halfway up the wall, all over the car window...

So if you're a bad mother - what does that make me? I think that nearly puts me on par with a serial murderer....LOL:laughing:

Hmmm - I'm just a mum with a spirited child - and you're a mum with a new babe, with reflux.:yes:

I think it's a bit harder when you're older (oh woe is me) as you seem to need all your sleep.

forbetoel
20-04-2008, 23:11
Morgan.....No, 3 hours is not really bad at all. Just hard. You can't help it if he is sometimes hard to settle. Just relax, and keep in mind that you are still getting to know him. Trial and error is a wonderful thing......some things work, some things don't.

The best advice anyone could give a new mum imo is to just relax, and go with the flow. :hugs: You are doing an awesome job. :hugs:

Jules16
21-04-2008, 00:45
KayteO - Wow it sounds like you had a tough few years with your DD. Big hugs to you.

Thanks Ladies for the encouragement. The reflux and the constant frustration he has with my breasts (not sure why) doesn't help. He scratches me, screams, throws his head about, arches his back, and just wants to keep feeding and feeding. How do you put a bub like that to bed? He gets so wound up. Not all days are this bad, however I'm hoping when we get the gaviscon tomorrow it helps.

I'm generally relaxed about it all. I just have to let go of the housework and then I'll get more sleep. I went grocery shopping tonight at 9.00 pm, and I just bought everything - lol. Everything in the biggest box possible. Haha. I'm sick of running out of stuff and not being able to pop down to the shop.

alphafemale2901
21-04-2008, 06:16
Hi mummies

alphafemale2901
21-04-2008, 06:52
Good morning mummies.

Heres to hoping we have another glorious Melbourne Autumn day.

Sweetpea - is there something to get used to about being 40? OMG I'm still adjusting to being 30 - and I'm 38. I like to think of myself as still 29, but celebrating the 9th anniversary of that age. :laughing:

Morganj - You are absolutely not a bad mother. Your littlie is still so very little and it can take several weeks for a newborn to adjust tolife outside the womb. You're doing fine and there is nothing to worry about. You're an awesome mum hun. :hugs: Did I see your name mentioned somewhere with regards to the Hastings meet tomorrow? I hope so. I'm going and I'd love to meet ya.

:iagree: with 4B2L - its a game of trial and error. What works today may not work tomorrow and so you just try something else. I know it can be exhausting, but honestly it is temporary and you make a step forward every day, even if it doesn't seem that way.

G'day Helen, Scout, Katey-O and Sharon. I hope you all have a great day planned.

I'm having some down time this week because next week will be hell-week. We're moving that Thursday. Woohoo - 10 sleeps to go.

Stay gorgeous mummies. :smiliedance:

forbetoel
21-04-2008, 08:35
Morganj...does he have a dummy? Maybe he has a strong sucking reflex and so therefore wants to keep sucking but doesn't really want the food, because he is full and just wants the comfort of sucking. Does that make sense???

WorkingClassMum
21-04-2008, 15:25
. The reflux and the constant frustration he has with my breasts (not sure why) doesn't help. He scratches me, screams, throws his head about, arches his back, and just wants to keep feeding and feeding. How do you put a bub like that to bed? He gets so wound up. Not all days are this bad, however I'm hoping when we get the gaviscon tomorrow it helps.

I'm generally relaxed about it all. I just have to let go of the housework and then I'll get more sleep.

Have you though about cutting dairy etc out of your diet? If bubs has intolerences - he can become intolerent of your breast milk as what you eat ends up in his tum too.

But yeah - let the housework go - it'll still be there tomorrow - and bubs are babes for only a little while

Also have you considered doing your shopping online for a short while?

I did this when I was pregnant with DS

mysweetpea
22-04-2008, 17:01
hi all :wave:

how gorgeous has today been?!! daniel and i went for a lovely walk to the park. we have to make the most of these days while they last. once winter sets in it'll be too cold!

we're off to the childcare centre tomorrow for daniel's orientation. i was thinking of going to the movies but then thought i'll probably be worrying too much and won't enjoy the film. i'll wait and see how i go i guess. i haven't been to the movies on my own for years and years! i think it would be fun.

how was the meet up today? what a glorious day for it! i hope someone took some pics, i'd love to see!

morganj - have you tried elevating the head of the cot a little? i've heard that that can help with reflux babies. and a friend of mine had a baby with reflux and she found that walking her bub in the pram really settled him. she walked miles and miles in those early months and also lost heaps of weight! (i'm not saying you need to though!)

alpha - i think turning 40 is similar to turning 30, only worse for me!! i didn't mind turning 30 but for some reason 40 depresses me lol!

anyway, i'm off to get my eyebrows waxed. i was hoping dh would be home to look after daniel but he's not so i've got to take him with me which will be interesting!

chat soon

forbetoel
22-04-2008, 17:53
Mysweetpea...goodluck with the centre tomorrow, hope all goes well and that Daniel enjoys himself.

Scout
22-04-2008, 18:43

Julie - no more talk of being a bad mum and you are right, bugger housework!

SweetPea - good luck tomorrow with the orientation. Go to the movies too - oh what a luxury.

Alpha - I think you said it a few pages ago but where are you moving too?

Welcome, welcome, welcome to the new gals (that was probably a few pages ago too!)

4b2l - Well, well, well - who would have thought that we would have something in common, huh? :laughing: We don't drink, smoke, gamble or do much else in this house, so we have to have one vice! At the very least, we know now that we could argue over a coffee! :laughing:

I've got a hideous head cold at the moment, so have had a couple of days off work and another tomorrow. Unfortunately, a cold for me can be catastrophic as I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - if I don't look after it then I will suffer for months and months.

The cold has no doubt come from working 5 days a week. DS has also greatly suffered (unbearable to deal with on Saturday's) so I'm not doing it anymore. DS is the biggest influence though, that 5th day at daycare is just too much for him.

You've got me thinking now SweetPea - I might go to the movies tomorrow. Mmmmm, off to look at the cinema guide....

alphafemale2901
22-04-2008, 18:47
Good evening mummies

What a great day I had. I met up with some bubhubbers and we had a lovely arvo.

Sweetpea - oh hell - i started using wrinkle cream when i turned 30, and I'm yet to see results. What will become of me when I turn 40 - start using a walking frame perhaps. :laughing:

Sounds like you had a pretty great day too hun.

Best of luck with the day care orientation too, and I hope you feel relaxed enough to go spoil yourself with a movie. You know - you'll probably be more freaked out than Daniel.

BronnyGrace - nice to meet you. I'm kinda new to the thread. I look forward to getting to know you and I hope you're feeling better really soon. I had a c-section in December, so I empathise with you.

Hiya Morganj, 4B2L, KateyO , Scout and Sharon. I hope you're all well.

alphafemale2901
22-04-2008, 18:51
Alpha - I think you said it a few pages ago but where are you moving too?

I'm moving to Narre Warren South.

I hope you're on the mend soon Scout. Take care of yourself. Stay warm, this Autumn weather can be deceiving. Get plenty of rest if you can.

Scout
22-04-2008, 19:15
Who met up today and where did you go?

Did anyone take photos?

alphafemale2901
22-04-2008, 19:24
We met up at PunkyDiva's place (she's awesome - I only met her for the first time today).

Present were me, PDiva, jolily, Crissyg, Lyn85 and Nikki (um not sure if these handles are correct entirely, but it was along those lines).

I hope I'm allowed to say all of the above as per bubhub rules etc.

Sadly no photos. I didn't even think to bring a camera or anything. It was a pretty low-key affair but heaps of fun. I can't wait for the next meet-up in Narre Warren.

Where you at Scout?

forbetoel
23-04-2008, 10:07
4b2l - Well, well, well - who would have thought that we would have something in common, huh? :laughing: We don't drink, smoke, gamble or do much else in this house, so we have to have one vice! At the very least, we know now that we could argue over a coffee!

:thumbsup:...yes we will have to catch up for a latte or 3 before you go away and have a good chat about..um...I don't really know:laughing:

;)...I would really like to meet you before you move.:yes:

Chronic fatigue syndrome...You poor thing.......How do you cope?:hugs:

Jules16
23-04-2008, 17:20

Alpha - sorry I missed you yesterday. I was hoping to get there but Blake was too unsettled. I've realised now that it's wind that's been winding up these last few days so now at least I can try and deal with it.

I went to my first meet of my new Mother's Group today. The ladies all seem really nice. Blake was very unsettled still, that is until he did a massive explosion in his nappy (which everyone heard) and then he almost had a smile on his face - looked very pleased with himself. I think it is the dirtiest nappy I've ever seen. It took forever to sort out.

Hope everyone is enjoying this lovely weather.

Scout
23-04-2008, 20:52
Chronic fatigue syndrome...You poor thing.......How do you cope?:hugs:

I don't know, I just do. I've had it for a long time but was only diagnosed last year - getting diagnosed was the best thing I've done cause I think that I have actually got better since.

Julie - I loved my Mother's Group so I hope yours is the same too. No one will remember Blake's poop either - they would have been just as nervous and unsure like you.

SweetPea - how did today go for Daniel??

Alpha - I know the general direction of Narre Warren but wouldn't have much of a clue how to get there though. I have a very limited knowledge of Melbourne :o.

Bronny - you poor thing, so many little things that would get you so down! Do you have people around to help you? And yeah, they are worth every minute of heart-ache.

ETA - Bronny - are you still living in Elwood?

alphafemale2901
24-04-2008, 06:30
Good morning Melbourne mums.

I think the sun will be out again today. What a marvelous Autumn we're having. We could do with a bit more rain though I guess. I hope it starts raining a bit more, we're buying a 3000 litre tank for the new place.

Alpha - sorry I missed you yesterday. I was hoping to get there but Blake was too unsettled. I've realised now that it's wind that's been winding up these last few days so now at least I can try and deal with it.

Yeah I'm sorry you missed it too. It was a reallly nice afternoon. Everyone was very chatty and relaxed. There will be many more next times. I can't make it next week coz we're moving and I have stax going on that day particularly.

I'm glad things are starting to move through with Blake. It does get easier hun, and your doing just fine. :hugs:

Alpha - I know the general direction of Narre Warren but wouldn't have much of a clue how to get there though. I have a very limited knowledge of Melbourne :o.

Yeah, but where are you located. I'm very familiar with the whole of Melbourne, having lived in most parts of it at one time or another (got gypsy in me I think), and I would happily travel for a meet up.

I was trying to have some down time this week but you know how little jobs and errands just creep up on you and you end up getting not much rest at all. Next week will be full-on with the move. I guess I'll just have to plan some down-time for after we're settled.

Hello to Sweetpea, 4B2L, Bronny, Helen, Sharon, KateyO and anyone I might have missed.

Have a great day ladies. :sunshine:

mysweetpea
27-04-2008, 17:22

just a quick post from me as i'm at work.

daniel went really well at his orientation last week. no trouble at all! i didn't end up going to the movies :( as i don't think i'd be able to concentrate and i wanted to ring the centre and see how he was going. i ended up just window shopping instead. it is his 1st full day next wednesday and i think it will be a lot more difficult than last week because i have to drop him off at 6.30am and he'll most likely be the 1st bub to arrive. and i won't be able to linger for too long because i have to be at work at 7am. so i think there will definitely be tears (for both of us!!)

morganj - i have some Infacal (?sp) wind drops that have barely been used if you'd like them. you could just buy a new dropper as i don't know if i've still got the original one. not sure how well they work but they are just sitting there doing nothing. pm me if you're interested.

better dash. i'll pop in again tomorrow

forbetoel
28-04-2008, 21:48
mysweetpea. So glad to hear that everythng went well. :) Goodluck for Wednesday.

*Sparkles*
30-04-2008, 22:12
Sorry I haven't been keeping up with this thread very well but I hope you are all doing well?

Julie - How's that gorgeous bubba of yours? I had to laugh at your explosive poop story, Reece has done that many times. You will soon become accustomed to having a coughing fit right at that moment :D ;)

Alpha - Have you moved yet?

I have some exciting news, I got a :bfp: this month so bubs #2 is due at the end of the year. I must be mad for going back there again :D

mysweetpea
01-05-2008, 10:58
hi girls :wave:

well, what can i say about yesterday?! it certainly didn't turn out how i expected!

1st if all, i went to bed earlish (10.15pm) on tuesday night and eventually went to sleep (not sure what time) anyway, Daniel woke up at about 12.30 and wouldn't go back to sleep for 2 hours!!! dh was settling him so at least i didn't have to get up but i just can't sleep when he is unsettled/crying. so he eventually went to sleep at about 2.30am. i'm thinking "great, i'll only get about 5 hours sleep but at least it's something". how wrong was i?!! at 3.30am i was still awake and miserable with my cold (i thought i'd be alright to go to work) and exhausted so i ended up ringing work and calling in sick. i felt terrible because it was my first shift back on a weekday. i finally fell asleep some time after 4.30. wtf?!!! i don't know why i couldn't sleep but i was so frustrated! i suppose it was because of my cold (itchy throat, coughing etc) and also just knowing that i had to be up early and stressing about that. i still took daniel into the childcare centre and came home and slept for a few hours. went to the docs and got a certificate (and some sleeping tablets, i WILL NOT be having a repeat of tuesday night again!!) poor daniel though, he was so tired from being awake overnight and was fast asleep when i went in at 6.15. he wasn't happy at all to be woken up! i changed his nappy but kept him in his pygamas, rugged him up (it was only 7 degrees!) and off we went. he cried and cried the poor darling when i left but other than that they said he was fine. they said it took him ages to go to sleep but he eventually did and slept for nearly 2 hours. he gave me the biggest hug when i picked him up, i thought he'd never let go!

so there you go. we survived our first official day at childcare! but what a drama!! i still feel c**p with this cold and guilty for not going to work, but what could i have done? i shouldn't be spreading germs to patients anyway, and i couldn't physically have gone with only 1 hours sleep! i'm going to try and have a nap today when daniel goes down for his.

sorry about the essay girls, that was a bit lengthy!

hels*bels - CONGRATULATIONS on your :bfp:. that is very exciting!! i am so happy for you. wishing you a good and healthy pregnancy.

hello to everyone else. hope you're all surviving this cold and miserable weather! it's a good excuse to stay inside and not venture out!

bronny and morganj - hope your little bubbas are going well and sleeping for you! i remember (barely though!) when daniel was that young, and it all a blur now! those first few months of your baby's life are just so full on. i'm not sure how i survived! but somehow you do and it is worth every single sleep deprived, worrying, anxious etc moment that you go through. so hang in there girls, you are both doing are wonderful job and you will get out the other side i promise you!

take care everyone

mysweetpea
01-05-2008, 11:41
:wave:again,

thought i'd put a few recent pics of daniel in. they were taken at our local park and are my faves!

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3168.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3145.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3138.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3136.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3235.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa135/angiebabe28/IMG_3210.jpg

forbetoel
02-05-2008, 20:14
Congratulations helsBels...that is sooo exciting!!! Nothing quite like the feeling of ading to your family. Well done!!

alphafemale2901
04-05-2008, 16:21
Hi mummies. :wave:

I have moved, but don't have my computer up and running yet, so I'm using my parent's PC at the moment and only briefly, so I haven't had a chance to read the thread.

I'm hoping I'm back in business with my computer by mid-week, but everything is still in a great degree of chaos and DH is being an a$$hole today so I don't feel like asking him to do it.

Anyway, hope you're all well. See yuz soon I hope.

forbetoel
08-05-2008, 18:47
Has this thread been killed, or is it slowly dying....:(

:wave: hi everyone!!!

mysweetpea
09-05-2008, 17:40
:wave: ladies,

4b2l i hope this thread isn't dying!! guess i'd better make more of an effort hey?!

daniel had his 2nd day at daycare on wednesday and all went well. he cried when i dropped him off but that's to be expected. he settled in well otherwise. work was good. very busy but that was good because the day went really fast! it was good seeing everyone again (you don't get to see many people on a sunday) also because it was busy i was walking walking walking so the exercise was good lol!

we have to move!! we have been given 2 months notice (the owner of our unit wants to sell). we want to get something close to daniel's daycare but not sure how easy/hard it will be. rental prices have skyrocketed since we moved last! thankfully we've been given the opportunity to house-sit dh's parents house for 3 months as they are going overseas. so that takes some pressure off us and gives us some extra time to look for the ideal place. fingers crossed! :fingerscrossed:

other than that no other news. i have to work Mother's Day which is a bummer, but oh well, i'm not the only one!

hope everyone is well!

chat again soon

forbetoel
09-05-2008, 20:24
Mysweetpea...love the photos of Daniel. I must have missed them the last time I was on here. He is just gorgeous.

PunkyDiva
09-05-2008, 20:51
Sure I was a part of this thread a whiles back but :wave:all anyways.

We are meeting each Tuesday at my house in Hastings if anyone else would like to join us one day, very informal stuff, basically take me and my house as you find us at the moment.
I thought you pretty awesome too Alpha:thumbsup: hope to see ya next week.

D's 7 weeks old tomorrow and I'm still trying to get back into a routine and not sure why I'm finding it so difficult. I thought maybe I had PND but still have to see my GP for check up and smear (insert cynical yeah) etc, so will discuss with him.

Maybe I just need to get out in the fresh air a bit more, hard with all this drizzle around though.

Anyone going to the zoo meet on the 24th, we'll be there as long as it's not pouring rain. Boys are going with DH to the footy so it'll just be D and us girlies.

What are we all up to for Mother's Day? Big hugs to those of you celebrating it as a new mummy :hugs:
Think we are going for a picnic at Flinders but maybe try somewhere new on the Peninsula, a day at a spa would be lovely but wishful thinking.
Julie, I think after all you've been through to get Blake you're prob gunna fall preggo again real quick :fingerscrossed: I'm not even contemplating resuming sex yet let alone contraception, just too tired. DH got enough to last him a bit longer when we were trying to start up labour :p

D's asleep now so off to fold clothes, blurggghhh. Stay warm and have a lubbly Mothers Day.

alphafemale2901
10-05-2008, 06:22
Hello mummies

I hope everyone is well and happy. I'm still busier than a one-armed bricklayer unpakcing after the move. I've having a little cold at the moment, but soldiering on, as we mums do.

Bronny - hi and nice to meet you. You should definitely come across to Punky's place on a Tuesday sometime. I have missed the last two because of moving house and being a wee bit crook, but I'm off there next Tuesday for sure. Hastings is past Cranbourne, about 30 minutes.

Have a great mother's day everyone. :smiliedance:

PunkyDiva
10-05-2008, 16:51
BG...Mornington Peninsula, WesternPort Bay side. Take Frankston Flinders road, about 20mins from Frankston or there is a diesal train service from Franger too.

mysweetpea
13-05-2008, 11:35
Punkydiva- :fingerscrossed: for you that you don't have PND. good luck at the docs. also, hopefully you and your bub will get into a routine soon. i can't remember having one when daniel was only 7 weeks, it is still so young! probably not the more i think about it.

BronnyGrace - that's great you are so calm! people you to say that to me when daniel was a baby and i used to just shrug it off. but i suppose i was compared to some mums. i think if you just follow your instincts when it comes to your baby there is no reason to not be calm (having said that though i know there are all sorts of variances that occur everyday for different people so it doesn't always work that easily for everyone)

gorgeous sunny day today! i think daniel and i will have to for a nice long walk. i certainly need the exercise!!

hope everyone enjoys this lovely day

forbetoel
14-05-2008, 18:17
Evening ladies!

Everyone has been commenting on how she is such a placid baby and how calm I am. I guess I am calm, I don't really notice - I just think she is beautiful!

My babies were all VERY placid and easy, and I was very relaxed and calm. I don't think that is a fluke. The most stressed out mums often have unsettled bubs. Sounds like you are doing great...keep going with the flow.:thumbsup:

WorkingClassMum
14-05-2008, 18:59
....The most stressed out mums often have unsettled bubs.

but what came first - the baby or the stress?:laughing:

I was a very calm together mum with DS - and he was the perfect bub:D

Anyhow - hi all:wave:

DD was born screaming - and I'm still screaming 4.5 years later...:hair:

I'm coming to the Zoo Saturday week and am looking forward to meeting a heap of BH's.

I can't make any week day stuff:no:

I'm glad your bub's is good BonnyGrace.:thumbsup:

forbetoel
14-05-2008, 19:02
but what came first - the baby or the stress?:laughing:

Yes...soetimes it is the streesed out bubs first.:yes:

I think overall though, that a calm approach is ideal for most babies, and they respond well to it. Of course some babies have medical issues, and will be more difficult anyway.

modernmummy
14-05-2008, 21:21
:wave: just found this thread so I thought I pop in and say hello! My dd is 10 months old (born july 07) at the moment Im a sahm but I will be going back to work in a few weeks starting part time (taking extended mat leave) I be going to the office next week to make final arrangements so Im excited to go back to work (with adult conversation) anyway hi to everyone I havent read every page on here (50 pages I be here for the next yr lol) anyway till next time

Jules16
14-05-2008, 21:41

How are we all?

ModernMummy - welcome!!

PD - hope you are feeling better. Looking forward to coming to meet you all next Tuesday!!

MySweatPea - love the pictures of Daniel!! He is just gorgeous!! Glad child care is going well.

BG - your little Lexie is just beautiful. You must be so proud. I am going to go along to PD's next Tuesday for the meet - hope to see you there and meet little Lexie if you can make it.

All is going really well here. I had my folks here the last two weeks and feel a different person for having my Mum here to take over the running of the house while I spent some quality time with my gorgeous little Blake. He is smiling now and becoming so aware of his surroundings - am just loving every minute with him. He had his jabs today so he's had a nice early one tonight as he had a bit of a grisley afternoon sulking on my shoulder. I enjoyed the cuddles though and comforting him. He's going through a bit of a growth spurt at the moment though and is feeding every three hours through the night which isn't too much fun. Hopefully it's only a short term thing.

Anyway, I best go get some sleep while I can. Have a good rest of the week everyone.

Scout
15-05-2008, 07:32

I'm absolutely freaking frenetic at the moment! Just over six weeks of work to go now. Unfortunately, my care factor decreases significantly each day but the work doesn't stop.

This is not being help by DS turning 2 last week and hitting the terrible two's on the same day! Where has my gorgeous boy gone - a monster has replaced him. I've been quite depressed about it.

We need to start thinking about a meet up date in July!!! I have to have something to look forward to!

Scout *mwah*

alphafemale2901
15-05-2008, 07:56
Yay Scout. Just focus hun - not long now.

I'm up for a July meet up, if its not too far away. Petrol is a killer these days.

Sorry to hear your struggling with your two year old. He is still your gorgeous boy, he just has a little gremlin mask on at the moment.

Hope everyone is well.

I've been absent from this thread alot because I have been suffering with dialup since the house move. I have my beloved broadband back now.

It looks like the sun is out to stay today. this weather is marvelous isn't it. Still bl00dy cold in the mornings though.

Cheerio for now.

Jules16
15-05-2008, 09:39
Scout - hang in there hon!! Hope he settles down soon for you! Would love to catch up!! July sounds good. Wow Blake will be four months already by then. I wish they didn't grow up so fast.

Alpha - it certainly looks like a lovely day. Am planning a quiet one today to let little Blake get over his jabs, but I think I'll definitely have to get out for a nice walk with the pram.

Hope everyone else has a lovely day.

mysweetpea
15-05-2008, 11:45

how lovely is this sun?! definitely a good day for a walk.

modernmummy - welcome to our thread :)

morganj - i'm so glad that things are going so well for you. it's such a lovely time getting to know your baby and watching that first smile and seeing their faces light up when they recognise you. i hope Blake has recovered from his needles. it's so hard watching them go through them isn't it?!

Scout - you sound so busy!! hope it gets better for you! it musn't help having a little terror to deal with lol! hope it's just a phase (and a short one at that!)

alpha - Yay! you got your broadband back, that's great!

4b2l - i agree that a calm approach is the way to go. getting stressed doesn't solve anything. (easier said than done for some though, everyone's different)

KayteO - it's amazing how different two bubs can be isn't it?! i've always thought of daniel as an easy bub, but that doesn't mean when we have another one that they will be the same (:fingerscrossed: though!)

BronnyGrace - hope things are going well with you and Alexis (hope i spelt that right!)

well, i worked yesterday and other than only getting about 4 hours sleep it was a good day. busy again but that was good cause it went quickly. guess i'm just going to have to get used to be so tired on a wednesday, i never sleep well when i know i have to get up early. and besides, what difference does one more day make lol! i'm ALWAYS tired anyway!

i think a meet is a great idea. it would be lovely to put faces to names!

hope you all have a great day.

forbetoel
15-05-2008, 15:53
This is not being help by DS turning 2 last week and hitting the terrible two's on the same day! Where has my gorgeous boy gone - a monster has replaced him. I've been quite depressed about it.

My two year old, just int he last week has been the same. Luckily form past experience, i know it gets better agian. My two eldest are back to be the gorgeous sweet boys they once were...so trust me, he will turn away from the dark side, it may just take another year or two.

Scout
15-05-2008, 19:39
Oh everyone has been so nice - I breeze in, vent and everyone is nice. Thanks :hugs:.

...so trust me, he will turn away from the dark side, it may just take another year or two.

You are kidding me aren't you? :crying: You should be telling me the attractive things about staying at home with children!! There is nothing attractive in that for me at all. :laughing:

forbetoel
16-05-2008, 16:36
Oh everyone has been so nice - I breeze in, vent and everyone is nice. Thanks :hugs:.

You are kidding me aren't you? :crying: You should be telling me the attractive things about staying at home with children!! There is nothing attractive in that for me at all. :laughing:

:laughing: Sorry. Yes there are good things too though. Inbetween all the :hair: moments. As you know I love being at home with the kids, and I am up to my 4th toddler now, so it is not too bad at all. Lots of awesome times to look forward to.:goodvibes:

PunkyDiva
17-05-2008, 17:03
:iagree:I agree 4boyz2love, I'm sure just as we forget the pain of birth we also forget those trying times with bubs and toddlers. Mine were all angels :laughing:

Well I've had such a blissful week, D has finally settled down with feeding and consequently poos have become less, he is actually fun when he's awake now (according to his older siblings) chatting to us accompanied by heaps of smiles and starting to reach out for toys. He is so strong and CHN says I can start using the jolly jumper in a few weeks as his head control is brilliant.
I've also been walking the kids to school now D will settle in the pram, at 16lb 7ozs (7 weeks old) it's no wonder my back was a aching when I used the sling :p Trying to make the most of sunny days and get out of the house a bit more, have a lovely BH freind just down the road now so can call her to meet for lunch and a chat, better then talking away to myself. Guess it's when you answer yourself that it becomes a worry:laughing:
Keep warm and if anyone interested I have BH meets at mine every Tuesday, just PM me for details, otherwise hope to meet some at the zoo and will be in on any other meet not too far away or accessible by train as I'm a bit of a chicken driver. xxx

forbetoel
18-05-2008, 17:03
PunkyDiva...you are just a bit too far away for me to make it to your meets on Tuesdays. You are awesome having the meets every week. :thumbsup: I will try to make it to one though.

2lilgals
18-05-2008, 17:18
hi girls just found this thread do you mind if i join?
hope everyones had a lovelky weekend:)

PunkyDiva
18-05-2008, 20:37
:wave:Hiya 2lilgals and welcome to our thread and BubHub. :hugs:

mysweetpea
19-05-2008, 10:12
hi 2lilgals :wave: and welcome to our thread! look forward to chatting.

how cold is melbourne getting?! winter has really set in now and it's not even official yet!

my gorgeous baby is 18 months old today! i can't quite believe how big he is getting! the time has certainly flown. it doesn't seem that long ago that he was a little baby just like Blake and Alexis!! he's not a baby any longer (although he will always be my baby!)

and our breastfeeding journey is now over. daniel hasn't had a feed since last wednesday night. and i'm a little bit sad but it was time to stop and i think nearly 18 months of bf is a pretty good effort! so, it really is the end of an era!

hope everyone had a great weekend and a great week ahead!

2lilgals
19-05-2008, 12:07
hi girls thanks for your warm welcomes!
mysweetpea it is freezing!can't believe it, think it might be here to stay now.

18 months is an awesome effort but i know what you mean about being a little sad as its an end and breastfeeding is special.do you think this is your last baby?if so then it really is the end of an era.time flies doesn't it our bubs grow up so fast

ok well i best be off to try to be productive now as both my girls are asleep now. have a great day!:wave:

mysweetpea
19-05-2008, 12:51
i'm hoping to have one more bubba. but i'd better hurry because i'm not a spring chicken anymore!!

i just want to lose some weight before getting pregnant again! but maybe i'm being silly since i hardly have time on my side! i just think it will be even more of a struggle if i get pregnant at this weight. i'm worried i'll never lose it!

kat13
19-05-2008, 13:26
Hi there!!!!

I think I already know you from somewhere:wave:

But I'd love to join this thread! I haven't had much chance to post, but both boys are sleeping now and mummy is a bit sick so I'm spending some computer quality time now.

I'm 31, mum of 2 boys Elias and George who are 16 months and 30 months respectively.

We are taking a break from TTC, but hoping to start next year some time again (oh the joys!!!)

I am in Mulgrave, but all my cousins live over in the Northcote area.

2lilgals
19-05-2008, 17:23
i hear you mysweetpea im working on losing weight before ttc next bub too
i have 2 girls 7months and almost 2 and would ideally like to get pregnant late this year

welcome kat13!im in ringwood north

mysweetpea
19-05-2008, 17:42
hi Kat13 :wave: and welcome to our thread.
i'm just trying to think where you might know me from :confused: sorry if it's obvious and something i should know but i just can't think lol! can i please have a little hint?!

i am in the northcote area but unfortunately we have to move in a month or so because our place is being sold. a bit of a bummer actually! but still, it's a good chance to move into something bigger for when we do have another bubba. i don't think we'll be able to stay in this area though because rentals are so pricey now!! :eek:

mysweetpea
19-05-2008, 17:54
i hear you mysweetpea im working on losing weight before ttc next bub too
i have 2 girls 7months and almost 2 and would ideally like to get pregnant late this year

my trouble is that i'm trouble getting started. i just don't seem to have any self control when it comes to food!! it's VERY frustrating!! everyday i say, i'll start tomorrow....... it all seems too much sometimes.

alphafemale2901
20-05-2008, 21:24
Good evening Melbourne mummies

I've been so absent from this thread but I'm getting my groove back since the move and hoping people remember me in this thread.

I hope everyone is having a good evening.

Jules16
20-05-2008, 21:35

How are we all? Yes Melbourne is definitely getting very cold!! DH's folks arrive from London on Friday - I hope they're not hoping to get a tan!!

Welcome 2lilgals and Kat13. All the ladies are lovely in this thread. Well I think so. They put up with all my stupid questions when Blake first arrived - haha.

We went to the paed today to discuss Blake's reflux, and he said that he is really healthy and growing well, and that he does have reflux but it's not causing any developmental problems etc. Apparently though the feeding to sleep thing is not a good thing for the reflux and we have to stop it, so we're expecting a few tears tonight. And after only three hours sleep last night, I hope it doesn't get too hard. It's time for him to learn to go to sleep in his cot anyway, although I'm not really into letting him cry it out. Hopefully he will be okay.

alphafemale2901
20-05-2008, 22:10
Hey Morganj. How you doing? It must be conforting to know there is nothing major wrong with Blake. You know next Tuesday even if Blake isn't 100% or even if you aren't, I bet you will find it really relaxing to come along to Punky's place. It will be good for you to meet us others. I really hope you can make it next week. Don't stress about the ups and downs hun. We're here to support you whenever you need it.

mysweetpea
22-05-2008, 10:51

How are we all? Yes Melbourne is definitely getting very cold!! DH's folks arrive from London on Friday - I hope they're not hoping to get a tan!!

Welcome 2lilgals and Kat13. All the ladies are lovely in this thread. Well I think so. They put up with all my stupid questions when Blake first arrived - haha.

We went to the paed today to discuss Blake's reflux, and he said that he is really healthy and growing well, and that he does have reflux but it's not causing any developmental problems etc. Apparently though the feeding to sleep thing is not a good thing for the reflux and we have to stop it, so we're expecting a few tears tonight. And after only three hours sleep last night, I hope it doesn't get too hard. It's time for him to learn to go to sleep in his cot anyway, although I'm not really into letting him cry it out. Hopefully he will be okay.
lovely to hear from you morganj.

how did you go the other night? i hope Blake is settling for you without the feed. thankfully it's only reflux, and whilst it's not pleasant at least it's something he will grow out of and is nothing serious!

and don't be silly! you haven't asked any stupid questions, there's no such thing!

mysweetpea
22-05-2008, 10:57
Good evening Melbourne mummies

I've been so absent from this thread but I'm getting my groove back since the move and hoping people remember me in this thread.

I hope everyone is having a good evening.
hi again alpha :wave:

of course we remember you lol!

i used to wonder if people would forget me when i've been away for a while but i just jump back in and remind you all who i am lol! i tend to think i'm easily forgettable but that sounds really pathetic so i'm changing my thinking to 'who could possibly forget me?!' :D

reecesmum07
23-05-2008, 23:19

I'm kinda new to this Forum thing but I am a 31 year old mum to a 5 month boy. I live in Mt Evelyn and have been married for 3 and a half years. Just finding my way around the site.

calm
23-05-2008, 23:23

I am very new and as I am 38 I fit in this section, just.

2lilgals
24-05-2008, 09:30
hi reecesmum07 and calm look forward to chatting with you
hope everyone has a great day:)

mysweetpea
24-05-2008, 11:56
welcome to our thread reecesmum07 and calm :wave: hopefully you'll like it here.

it's great to have so many mums in our thread! can't wait to have a meet one day!

how nice is the sun today? i know it's still cold but just seeing the sun outside lifts my spirits. i don't really like winter much :(

hope everyone has a great weekend. i've got work tomorrow as usual. not sure what we'll do today. dh is away all day working so it's just daniel and i. he is going down for his sleep shortly, then we might go to Northland for a bit of a look around.

MamaHearts5
25-05-2008, 18:30
Hi all :wave: I just turned 30 last week so I can say HI now lol

I am 30yo SAHM, DH turns 30 next week & is currantly looking for work so tough times at the mo.
I have 3 gorgeous boys Twins & my lil one turns 1 next week too.
We are also TTC #4 which I may already be preg getting a blood test on wednesday to confirm.:):fingerscrossed:

Would love to make new friends. So feel free to message me.

Scout
25-05-2008, 19:42
Hi everyone - this is a very quick pit stop!

A very big hi to all the newbies - I cannot believe how much this group keeps growing!! :D

Julie - glad to hear that Blake is ok despite the reflux. Sax had it too but grew out of it very quickly. I hope that the first night of not feeding to sleep was ok. Listening to your little one cry is not easy - but it doesn't mean that you can't cuddle, rock etc etc to sleep. You do whatever works for you!

jaq
25-05-2008, 20:28

I'm not exactly new but I've never quite made it to this thread before, which is a bit dumb since a) I am definitely over 30! and b) I live in Melbourne.

37, and Briar Hill (Greensborough) to be precise.

I have two gorgeous girls, Annika is nearly 3 and Sofia is 15 months next week. Married to Nick, who is a wonderful human being and a fabulous Dad.

I am a SAHM, trying to finish off an arts degree I started a million years ago, and am also trying to write a novel. It's all a bit much at the moment and I'm kind of hanging out for next year when a) I have finished my degree and b) Annika goes to kindergarten!!!

I can talk/type underwater, and often do, so look forward to chatting with you all!

Jules16
25-05-2008, 21:35
Hi everyone - this is a very quick pit stop!

A very big hi to all the newbies - I cannot believe how much this group keeps growing!! :D

Julie - glad to hear that Blake is ok despite the reflux. Sax had it too but grew out of it very quickly. I hope that the first night of not feeding to sleep was ok. Listening to your little one cry is not easy - but it doesn't mean that you can't cuddle, rock etc etc to sleep. You do whatever works for you!

Thanks Scout. It actually did go really well and little Blake is now settling really well in his cot. We didn't have many tears at all actually. We were always reassuring him as soon as he cried and gently stroking his head. Tonight he was wide awake when I left his room and I didn't hear a peep - he just fell asleep on his own. :smiliedance:

Welcome to all the newbies. Not much to report here. We have the in-laws here from England at the moment so little Blake is being showered with love and attention.

alphafemale2901
26-05-2008, 06:44
hi again alpha :wave:

of course we remember you lol!

i used to wonder if people would forget me when i've been away for a while but i just jump back in and remind you all who i am lol! i tend to think i'm easily forgettable but that sounds really pathetic so i'm changing my thinking to 'who could possibly forget me?!' :D

Hiya sweetpea and thanks. It must be a dint in our self esteems huh. I'm changing my thinking in line with yours. Thanks for the inspiration.

I'm kinda new to this Forum thing but I am a 31 year old mum to a 5 month boy. I live in Mt Evelyn and have been married for 3 and a half years. Just finding my way around the site.

Hi and welcome.

I am very new and as I am 38 I fit in this section, just.

Hi and welcome to you too.

Hi all I just turned 30 last week so I can say HI now lol

I am 30yo SAHM, DH turns 30 next week & is currantly looking for work so tough times at the mo.
I have 3 gorgeous boys Twins & my lil one turns 1 next week too.
We are also TTC #4 which I may already be preg getting a blood test on wednesday to confirm.

Would love to make new friends. So feel free to message me.

Hmmm you look familiar. Welcome to this thread Bev.

I'm not exactly new but I've never quite made it to this thread before, which is a bit dumb since a) I am definitely over 30! and b) I live in Melbourne.

37, and Briar Hill (Greensborough) to be precise.

I have two gorgeous girls, Annika is nearly 3 and Sofia is 15 months next week. Married to Nick, who is a wonderful human being and a fabulous Dad.

I am a SAHM, trying to finish off an arts degree I started a million years ago, and am also trying to write a novel. It's all a bit much at the moment and I'm kind of hanging out for next year when a) I have finished my degree and b) Annika goes to kindergarten!!!

I can talk/type underwater, and often do, so look forward to chatting with you all!

Hi and welcome. Sheesh you're a busy girl.

Good morning Melbourne Mummies.

We finally fisnished our front yard over the weekend and it looks awesome. We're very proud.

I hope everyone has a great Monday planned.

MamaHearts5
26-05-2008, 10:40
Hi Alpha, yeh I think we have chatted in posts before :)

PunkyDiva
26-05-2008, 22:31
Alpha...noone could ever forget you sweet, you're one of those life of the party people I remember always being jealous of as a teenager :D

Morganj...so glad to hear you are easily settling Blake now, well done, has taken me six kids to work it out :laughing:

Welcome to newbies and huge hello :wave:

jaq
26-05-2008, 22:44
Thanks for all the welcomes, people - it's nice!!!

I'm sitting here celebrating with a glass of wine while everyone else in the house sleeps! I've just e-submitted my last assignment for one of my Uni subjects :D

I still have an exam left for the other one, but .. :sunshine: one day at a time. Big relief to have NO MORE ASSIGNMENTS for a while.

Given that I had lots to do, the cherubs decided NOT to sleep today, of course. Nothing new for Annika, but Sofia should still be having two, two hour sleeps, so I was a bit peed off. WHY TODAY, CHILD :hissy:

To get over myself, I took them for a quick whiz around Edendale Farm. Sofia was agog at seeing REAL sheep, and wanted to talk to the chickens. Cuteness.

Hope you all had slightly more successful days. Me and my Sangiovese should go and slide into bed :sleeping:

forbetoel
27-05-2008, 09:04
Morganj...Sounds like Blake is doing really well. Hope you are enjoying motherhood.:)

mysweetpea
27-05-2008, 15:57

welcome to our thread BeverlyB and Jac :wave: it's lovely to see some newbies! good luck with ttc BeverlyB! and good luck with your novel Jac!

Scout - hi! great to hear from you! how is the packing going?? you must be leaving soon?

Morganj - that's fantastic that Blake is sleeping in his cot and settling so well for you. well done! i hope you have a lovely time with your inlaws. it's great to have a helping hand in those first few months!!

Alpha - that's great you finished your front yard, well done!

well, not much to report here. poor daniel has been unwell with a nasty cold that has reached his chest. i had him at the doctor today but there isn't a lot we can do. i bought some Dimetapp from the chemist at the Dr's suggestion. i haven't used anything like that before so hopefully it'll help. so daniel won't be going to daycare tomorrow and i won't be able to go to work. am looking forward to a quiet day inside.

anyway, hope you are all well and surviving this cold weather!

chat soon

forbetoel
27-05-2008, 16:00
Mysweetpea...enjoy your day tomorrow cuddling your gorgeous little boy. Hope he is better soon.xox

alphafemale2901
28-05-2008, 07:07
Mysweetpea - I'm sending all my get well wishes to Daniel. I hope a lazy day at home with his mummy makes the world of difference to his chesty cold.

Hi there all the other mums. Happy Wednesday. I hope its going to be a good one. DH is home today, apparently you can't build pools in the rain. :laughing:

I'm looking forward to a day at home with him anyway.

Jif
28-05-2008, 10:00
morning ladies. Get well soon daniel anbd sweetpea & alpha enjoy your time at home!

today i hope to get to yoga, mum group, bank supermarket and dog walk! think i'm going to have to prioritise especially given J and I are still feeding in bed!:rolleyes:

Gotta realise i can't whizz about like i used to pre bubba!

PunkyDiva
28-05-2008, 11:55
Wow Jif, you are amazing for a first timer, so relaxed and competent.:thumbsup:

af, what rain ?? enjoy your day home with him, I love it when my DH is home. Ohh he's a pool builder, we're going to need one of those sometime in the next couple of years. :p

Sweetpea, sending some healing huggles. My bub is a bit stuffed up so hoping he doesn't get a proper flu or anything, last winter was a nightmare for us, with morning sickness, flu and gastro knocking us all down for three months, just seemed to go around and around. Trialing olive leaf extract and triple stregth garlic, horseradish tabs this year to help boost our immune systems.

I've just scoffed the last of my lactation cookies so waiting for my boob explosion:o
gotta make some cakes or something as I made ten tonnes of passionfruit icing yesterday that needs using, oh maybe some custard slice:chef:
Have a good one :hugs:

alphafemale2901
29-05-2008, 07:08
morning ladies. Get well soon daniel anbd sweetpea & alpha enjoy your time at home!

today i hope to get to yoga, mum group, bank supermarket and dog walk! think i'm going to have to prioritise especially given J and I are still feeding in bed!:rolleyes:

Gawd luv. You're soooo busy. Don't forget to have a rest at some point. BF can really take it out of you.

af, what rain ?? enjoy your day home with him, I love it when my DH is home. Ohh he's a pool builder, we're going to need one of those sometime in the next couple of years. :p

:laughing: It was raining on Tuesday afternoon, really heavy. DH was working up your way too. Didn't you get the rain? Needless to say it didn't rain all day yesterday, but it was nice to have the day at home with DH strangely enough. He's having the day off today too. He has a sore eye. I think he might have got some bark in it when we were gardening. I'm sure his presence will have worn thin on me by the end of the day. Ooooh I'm so horrible.

Well when you want a pool built, lemme know and I'll put you i n touch with the right mob.

Sweetpea - hope Daniel is feeling better today.

Happy Thursday everyone, have a great day.

Jif
29-05-2008, 07:43
:laughing:thanks pd! don't feel it but its reassuring to hear. Echinacea is good for warding off colds - have u tried that? not sure if its ok while bf though.

thanks alpha - as expected we only got some stuff done. i think j must be doing the 12 week growth spurt, really long and quite frequent feeds.

if dh has scratched his eye it can b quite serious. my dh was told by nurse on call to put on dark glasses n get to the doc who saw him daily for 4 days (when he argued with a tree branch while walking the dog!) might b worth getting it checked?

forbetoel
29-05-2008, 16:18

You can. I did. My lifestyle didn't really change after kids. Other than being no longer in the paid workforce, I still did everything I normally would...except with a gorgeous little son hanging off my hip.:goodvibes:
My boys like being out and about. Even as newborns they were quite settled being out and about with me all day.

alphafemale2901
29-05-2008, 19:24
if dh has scratched his eye it can b quite serious. my dh was told by nurse on call to put on dark glasses n get to the doc who saw him daily for 4 days (when he argued with a tree branch while walking the dog!) might b worth getting it checked?

Errr yep told him that, but he doesn't go to the doctor unless he's practically dying.

Are all men like this???

forbetoel
30-05-2008, 09:26
Scout...How is the lovely 2 year old going?

mysweetpea
30-05-2008, 13:30
just a quick hi from me :wave:

poor daniel still isn't well. he is just so miserable at the moment, it's heartbreaking to watch. he can't even cry properly, it's so sad :(

lovely bit of sun today and yesterday! hope it lasts for a few days. might rug daniel up and go for a walk. but maybe i shouldn't with his cold. i'm just going a bit stir crazy!!

forbetoel
30-05-2008, 13:32
Hope Daniel gets better. Poor little guy. All of mine have colds at t he moment. :(

mysweetpea
30-05-2008, 13:36
thanks 4b2l.

sorry to hear about your boys.

it seems that heaps of people are sick at the moment. even more than usual?! wonder what's going on?!

forbetoel
30-05-2008, 13:37
I honestly think that %50 of everybody that I know is not well at the moment. Thsi is my second cold in a month. So much going around.

mysweetpea
30-05-2008, 13:40
i'm the same! i've had 2 colds. one on top of the other.

i usually only get one or two colds a year. but now it's a lot more. maybe it's having a child that does it?

2lilgals
30-05-2008, 19:57
hi gilrs hope everyoine feels better soon!
my little girl turned 2 today! we had a great day, really special.
hope everone has a great weekend:)

PunkyDiva
31-05-2008, 17:57
Belated Birthday Wishes and Huggles for 2lilgals lil 2yo DD.happybirthday

2lilgals
31-05-2008, 18:53
thanks punkydiva thats so sweet:)

PunkyDiva
31-05-2008, 18:57
2lilgals...enjoy every moment cause before you know it your babies are having babies. My avatar photo is of my "first baby" and I just don't know where the years have gone.:D

mysweetpea
02-06-2008, 09:04
:wave:everyone

happybirthday to 2lilgals dd who turned 2 the other day! time certainly goes fast doesn't it?! my ds is 18 and a half months old. it seems like only yesterday that he was a little baby!!

punkydiva your dd looks quite grown up! how old is she?

hasn't the weather been lovely?! the nights have been so foggy but when it lifts in the morning the days have been lovely and sunny. today is lovely again. will have to get out for a walk with daniel in the pram.

hope everyone had a great weekend. can you believe it's june already?! that really freaks me out! w

we are moving in just under two weeks and have barely started packing! better get to it i guess! it's just such a big job i don't know where to start!! any tips would be appreciated.

PunkyDiva
02-06-2008, 10:10
mysweetpea...my eldest bub is now 17yo.
No good tips on moving except start packing as early as possible, organise babysitters and if you can't afford cleaners start that early too.

I sooo hate moving, twice halfway around the world with 5 kids does that to ya:p
If we move again I'll employ those people that do everything for you.:D
Hope it goes smoothly :thumbsup:

We are all sick with colds so back to GP with bub today as he has gotten worse over weekend.:( So no happy chappies 'ere all very miserable. Stay warm and well everyone.

bruna
03-06-2008, 14:39
Hey girls I am Bruna mum to Dylan and Victoria who are 3 on Thursday and am 18 weeks pregnant with baby #3 due in November.

I am 37 and am in Melbourne.

2lilgals
03-06-2008, 17:41
punkdiva, your daughter is beautiful. dont i know how fast time flies, my youngest is 7.5months and it feels like she was born last week lol
my sweetpea thankyou. yes its freezing in the mornings but the afternoons are lovely.its so nice to be able to go for a walk as i really want to shift some weight before ttc#3
welcome bruno!

hope everyone's going well

mysweetpea
03-06-2008, 21:13
hi Bruna and welcome to our thread.

2lilgals - i'm in exactly the same position! i really want to start ttc #2 but i want to lose some weight first. i know i don't exactly have time on my side but if i don't lose any first i figure i'll be fighting an uphill battle and end up the size of a house!!

i'm planning on joining weight watchers, i've heard people have had a lot of success with it.

bruna
05-06-2008, 22:26
Thanks for the welcome mysweetpea :)

mysweetpea
06-06-2008, 11:14
you're welcome Bruna :)

well, we are moving next friday and i still have SO much to pack!! it is so hard, impossible in fact with daniel around so i have to wait till he is asleep or when dh is home. i got a bit done yesterday and hope to get a lot more done today. i'm going to try and find a roll of white butcher type paper as we have HEAPS of white kitchenware and i'd rather not use newspaper and get print on everything. think i'll try a party shop, they might sell it for table cloths for parties?

another sunny day, i LOVE it! pity i won't be able to enjoy it. maybe i'll make the time and go for a walk or to the park for 10 minutes.

hope you are all well and having a great day.

2lilgals
06-06-2008, 11:22
mysweetpea i have never really been small or too worried about weight however after having babies i packed it in and i just felt like it would only get harder to lose if i dont do it now. i was eating healthier and walking daily and have lost 17kg so now i am smaller rthan prepreg weight but would like to lose 8 more to be an ideal size. i lost motivation about a month ago and am struggling to get it back which is frustrating because i know that i can do it if i really try.

i really want my kids close in age as there are large gaps in my family and i dont want that for my family
anyway sorry for rambling. weight watchers is meant to be great. i know a lot of people who have had success with it

you can do it!

mysweetpea
06-06-2008, 20:42
thanks 2lilgals. you've done so well to lose 17kg! well done, thats a fantastic achievement! i'm struggling to get motivated. i have plenty to motivate me but it just doesn't seem to work! very frustrating!! i know once i get started it will get easier, it's just getting started!

maybe we can motivate each other?!!

mysweetpea
09-06-2008, 20:24

wow, it's been quiet around here lately!

we're still busy packing. getting there slowly but surely. i'm doing all the packing and dh is doing all the moving. we had one of my brothers helping today so that was a big help!

not long now and we'll be gone from this place! it will be the end of an era really. so much has happened here:

- this was our first place together (dh and i moved here after we got married)
- we got pregnant with our first baby, our gorgeous daniel.
- daniel was born
-our darling cat passed away and is buried in our back yard (it will be very sad leaving him behind :()
- we both had our 40th birthdays here

so yes, it will be a little sad to leave. but i guess it's time to move on.

a change can be a good thing :)

forbetoel
10-06-2008, 09:08
Yes, a change is a good thing. Although hate change becausee I really the mourn the end of things. I hated leaving our last house for reasons similar to yours. Even though it was half the size of what we are in now, it is the happy memories that were made there, all the good times. I actually think that smaller homes have a better feeling about them. However saying all that, I am now attatched to this home, as we have made lots of new memories that are just as great as we had in the last house. Change can be good...it just takes a little time.:)

2lilgals
13-06-2008, 16:02
havent been on in a while lifes been hectic we went away last weekend my husband is into motor sport and had 2 events. it was a great weekend but so exhausting and the girls both have conjunctivitis so busy looking after them and giving lots of tlc poor things

thanks my sweetpea motivating each other sounds great!i was on a roll but seem to have lost it a bit havent put any weight back on though which is good. just have to pick up and carry on!
moving is a big thing i can only imagine how your'e feeling after living there so long and having some many important memories there.
i think you meant your cat is buried there, that is hard but you take them with you wherever you go!

i'm typing ina hurry so have to apologise for how it reads im sure its terrible!anyway gotta go
hope everyones weeks gone well!what are your plans for the weekend?

mysweetpea
23-06-2008, 12:28

it's so quiet around here lately. where is everyone?

well, the move is over thank God!! i can't believe how much stuff we've got though!! i was hoping to use it as an opportunity to declutter but in the end ran out of time so just moved everything! can't believe we've got to move it all again in 3 months time!! daniel has settled in quite well which is good.

not much to report here. i'm still trying to get motivated and do some exercise, but i'm just finding it so hard! it's very frustrating! i could blame the cold weather but that would just be an excuse. it's really me just being lazy. i wish i could off my fat bum and just move!! :hair:

i hope everyone is well. would love to hear how you all are.

forbetoel
03-07-2008, 13:56
This thread is dying a very slow death. I am going to try and revive it. Someone do me a favor and pass me the scapel please.

BUMP!

mysweetpea
03-07-2008, 16:56
hi 4B2L :wave:

you've shortened your name!

thanks for bumping this up. i wonder where everyone has gone?!

what have you been up to?

not much to report here. we are house-sitting the in-laws place and it's going ok. am looking forward to finding a place of our own though.

ds has a cold again! it's amazing how many colds such a little person can get!! poor thing, he's been miserable and other than panadol and dimetapp there isn't much i can do. i feel so helpless! :(

anyway, hope you and your boys are all surviving this cold winter!

forbetoel
03-07-2008, 17:38
Hi mysweetpea,

Yes, I have shortened my name, I don't really know why, but I think it is a little easier.

So how long will you be at you in-laws for?

Another cold! Thats no good. My first son got colds a lot while he was young, but once he hit aged two, he seems to have an excellent immune sytem. He never gets sick, never has runny noses, and has probally only had 3 colds since he was a small toddler, so there probally is a silver lining for your little man.

I think it does help build a stronger immune sytem.

I hate the cold, so I am not coping too well. My heater is in over-drive, although I am trying to not use it so often because I do feel VERY guily about the enviromental impact, so I am trying to find a happy medium.

Hope you are otherwise well, and lets hope this lovely thread starts moving again.

03-07-2008, 17:43

Approaching 31 weeks!
I wish this belly would keep me warm!

forbetoel
03-07-2008, 17:46
Wow kimmy, 31 weeks already!!!! How are you feeling? Do you know what you are having?

04-07-2008, 12:55
Wow kimmy, 31 weeks already!!!! How are you feeling? Do you know what you are having?
Feeling great!
:goodvibes:
We hope to be having a baby. If not it will certainly be a surprise!

forbetoel
04-07-2008, 15:38
kimmy...All of mine have been surprises-any baby in any shape or form would have been love and wanted in this household, with the sex of the baby being the very LEAST of our concern. Goodluck to you.xox

Jules16
04-07-2008, 16:35

Sorry for not being around for a while. Had lots of family coming to stay to see our little Blake. He is growing very quickly as you can imagine.

Is anyone near bayside area interested in catching up some time for a walk/coffee?

Hope everyone is well.

forbetoel
04-07-2008, 17:02

Sorry for not being around for a while. Had lots of family coming to stay to see our little Blake. He is growing very quickly as you can imagine.

Is anyone near bayside area interested in catching up some time for a walk/coffee?

Hope everyone is well.

I would if I were closer. :(

After the school holidays are over I would like to catch up for a coffee or something anyway if that suits. I might try and see what Bronny is up to, as I have been meaning to organise something with her for ages too.

mysweetpea
04-07-2008, 22:33
i would love to catch up for a coffee but not sure if i'm near anyone. i'm in Macleod (house-sitting for another couple of months)

good to hear from you Morganj! little Blake must be getting bigger?! don't they just grow far too quickly?!

xox

sarahas
04-07-2008, 22:44

I am moving to Sandingham in 2 weeks with a 1 yr old and another due in Dec. I'm 31. sarah

Jules16
05-07-2008, 13:17
Sweetpea - yeah they grow way too quickly. He is coming up to four months!! Can you believe it? How's Macleod?

4B2L - I think Bronny is down this neck of the woods too. Perhaps we can organise something all together.

Sarah - Welcome! You aren't far from me! You should come along too if you're keen.

forbetoel
08-07-2008, 12:44
Sounds good Morganj.

Hope everyone is well, and coping with the FREEZING weather!

2lilgals
09-07-2008, 16:33
hi everyone hope your having a good week. my sweetpea i'm in ringwood north is that about half an hour from mcloud?not sure

mysweetpea
09-07-2008, 18:04

2lilgals - Macleod is just near Rosanna and Heidelberg. i'm not sure how far RIngwood is from here. i'm hopeless with directions!

sarahas - welcome to our thread. it's been very quiet around here lately, hopefully everyone will come back soon!

i am freezing my t*ts off here it is SO COLD!! talk about miserable weather!! i know it's winter but even so........:hissy:

hope everyone is well

xox

nikki78
11-07-2008, 21:18
Hi everyone i thought i would join this thread im turning 30 on monday and i have a daughter who is 10months old.
Im an offical SAHM from last week so ready to chat with other mums
Igo to the frankston thread meet on a tuesday which is great meeting other ladies
Anyway look forward to chattin to u all

mysweetpea
12-07-2008, 14:51

nikki78 -welcome to our thread. it's been very quiet in here lately though. maybe you can liven things up a bit?!

still freezing isn't it?!! i'm so over this cold weather. i know it's winter but gee, it's freezing. so depressing! a good excuse to stay inside which makes me even more depressed!

how is everyone?