View Full Version : Infants nappies
mylittletwins
24-01-2006, 18:13
I am currently using Huggies Infants 4-8kg for boys. Ever since i started using it i have noticed more leakages and crystals. When i had them on the newborn ones there was no problem.
Has anyone else had the same problem. Is there another brand worth trying?
24-01-2006, 18:22
I have used Huggies with DD2 since birth and didn't have that trouble, but i now use the Woolworths Select ones, and find they are excellent. Maybe give them a go, they are as good as if not better than Huggies i reckon, and a bit cheaper to boot!
hayleylea
24-01-2006, 18:45
i use huggies infants for boys, but have been looking for a cheaper good brand. I have had a few leaks of late too. I just find that all the other brands are too big, as we are in the "inbetween" sizes at the moment. I havent had too many leaks i am just trying out cheaper brands in the hope they are good, if not then ill stay with huggies. I have tried aldi brand aswell and they arent too bad. My sister uses them all the time for her girl and has had no probs with them. Im trying the Dymple brand (from BIGW) at the moment, i brought a box of 96 today for $23. Am going to try them out tommorrow...will let you know how i go though. Its so hard because everyone has different opinions...some love huggies some dont, some love snuggles some dont, some love baby love some dont, i suppose it depends on the child :confused: Anywho goodluck with finding a nappy that suits you and doesnt leak!:p
dormouse
24-01-2006, 18:49
I found the there were more crystals when I started using the Huggies crawler nappies. I have never had a problem with leaks tho. I, too, never had that problem with the newborn ones.
Also, I found the crystals more with boys nappies (I bought a blue pack by mistake:rolleyes: ) than the girls ones. Now I am using the girl ones again I haven't found them.
Edited to add that I have heard that Snugglers are very good.
i have found a few crystals and leaks with huggies newborn nappies.. I thought maybe the leaks were because I didnt put it on properly or not! But I did!
I am glad someone else said something about the crystals.. I was wondering where they come from.... :o
I to have found that the Infant size Huggies leak and leave crystals. Only on the odd occassion. I have considered giving the Woolies brand a go, but they sell them in such huge quantities. I don't want to be stuck with nappies that I'll never use. If anyone else had tried them please leave feedback.
24-01-2006, 19:16
I think im the only one who hasnt experienced crystals :confused:
Even with the Babylove i never had any dramas guess im lucky hehe :)
Anyhows i find the huggies the best as ive tried the Babylove & Snugglers & Bi-Lo brand the Snugglers & Babylove are good for daytime but i find nothing beats the Huggies for nites !
But that being said im now changing to cloth LOL !
Im getting a whole heap of pocket nappies & cant wait to start maybe its an option you can look at soon when your more confident & in a routine with bubs :D
You sound just like me Ally.
I haven't had problems with crystals in huggies for a while. I think it really depends on the batch you get. Oliver can't go in anything but Huggies, we've tried them all. But we are now attempting to switch to cloth too.:)
SuperWoman
07-02-2006, 17:23
I use Huggies and BabyLove nappies for my little man and have found that they only get those crystals when i put powder or nappy cream on his bottom. Otherwise they are the best ones ive used. :D
Might try snugglers too, have heard they are not bad for boys, anyone know if this is true?:rolleyes:
Baby Girl
07-02-2006, 17:28
I havehad crystals all over both my DD's bottoms with huggies and switched to Woolworths Select and they are brilliant - I can't recommend them enough :D They have worked great for us.
My mum bought me 2 boxes of huggies as they were on special ($10 off a box) and we are using these at the moment - crystals galore - drives me crazy. I use the select ones overnight and the huggies through the day as they are not on as long and don't seem to leak crystals so much during the day - I guess because the night nappies get to have more wee in them!!
jarrahsmumma
07-02-2006, 17:41
The crystals in the nappy are sodium polyacrylate, which is the chemical used to make the nappies so absorbant. If you are finding crystals in the nappy and on your babys' skin, it generally means the nappy has reached its capacity and has been on for too long. If you change the nappy more often the crystals should not leak out.
Mum2Lucas
07-02-2006, 19:48
We havent had problems with leaking but we have had heaps of problems with the crystals coming out. We're switching to cloth soon so that we dont get any problems like that.
I also found that I had trouble with huggies in the crawler size & so started using snugglers & found them to be worse so I now use Baby Love & havn't had any probs, they even work really well through the night. I think I was originally sceptical because they are cheaper but for Liv they work really well, no leaks, rashes or redness.
stormanet
07-02-2006, 21:20
Heya :) When we were in the "infant size" nappies I actually used a pilcher on the top... like you would with a cloth nappy. Only needed it for about 3 weeks... caught the leaks... and crystals don't hurt :)
~Chick79~
15-02-2006, 12:27
From birth I used huggies nappies on Ryan (Babylove gave him a terrible rash and snugglers constantly leaked!) and while he was in newborn size - no problems what so ever! Was perfectly happy with them (would even use them again)
The crystals in the nappy are sodium polyacrylate, which is the chemical used to make the nappies so absorbant. If you are finding crystals in the nappy and on your babys' skin, it generally means the nappy has reached its capacity and has been on for too long. If you change the nappy more often the crystals should not leak out.
However when we started getting up in size crystals were becoming more frequent - even after the nappy had only been on for an hour if that!! His poor bum was absolutely covered in them! We first thought it might have been that packet (it was the smaller convenience pack) so we bought another packet and it was the same...
We changed over to the Woolies select ones and have not looked back since! No leaks, no crystals, no rash and it is a whole lot cheaper!
Now that we are expecting bub #2 we are considering buying the newborn size in the woolies brand - has anyone had any experience with this? Or is the huggies brand better for newborns??
jarrahsmumma
15-02-2006, 13:36
and crystals don't hurt :)
Actually they are a chemical and can be rather dangerous, can get into your baby's urethra and cause all sorts of infections. They can cause allergic reactions. They have been banned from use in sanitary products as it was linked to toxic shock synrome.
I am genuinely not picking a fight here :) but this information is not readily out there and most people don't know about the dangers of Sodium polyacrylate. A lot of 'nappy rash' is actually a reaction to the stuff in the nappies..