View Full Version : Little problems....

24-01-2006, 17:28

My DS comes to work with me at a long day care centre, its a great centre and offers amazing care!

But I am having some small problems with the teachers in O's room. They are all great teachers dont get me wrong but they dont seem to listen to what I say (maybe its because I also work there, I dont know)

Like for example I have been slowly tt O for some time now and he is able to do no.2's in his potty but has trouble with no.1's so I just take him to the toilet every thirty mins. The teachers in his room think his too little to tt and never put him on the toilet, even after I ask them every morning etc!
Now O is starting to regress with his tting as he is going to day care full time for 2 months straight.

Also they put him on a small bed after chrissy as his such a big boy (which I was fine with) but then he started getting an allergic reaction from the carpet in the sleep room. I told them he can no longer sleep in that room and they have to put him back in his cot or put him to sleep on the lino (to prevent him having an allergic reaction)
Well I assumed that they did this, but today I found out by accident that they had put him on a bed in the same sleep room after I had asked them not too.

I dont want to make waves, especially as I have to work with these people etc but I dont know what I can do to make them listen to me without it sounding *****y etc.I know that if I was a regular parent then my wishes would be automatically taken into account .

Just need some advice, thanks

lukaelmo
24-01-2006, 17:40
Hmmm, it is a delicate situation.

This might sound really stupid but how about getting O's dad to request things. Like that it would be like a "regular" parent asking.

H&B'sMum
24-01-2006, 18:11
I sympathise I use to have Harry at my centre too but found it all too hard. It was hard emotionally for both of us. Seeing each other but not able to be with each other so you are a better person than I am if you can do it.

With the staffing issue I would go to the room leader with all your issues and talk to her. Tell her that you don't want to upset anyone, but to be able to leave O and work in your own you need to sort this out. Tell her what your concerns are and what you wish for them to do to sort it out. be friendly about it as you say you do have to work with them, but if neccessary be assertive. As a parent of the centre you still have a right to voice your concerns just like any parent does.

I have just pulled Harry out of his centre and into another one (very lucky to get a place) because I was not happy with the care I was receiving. He left my centre last year when we found it too hard. I like him being at his own centre, with his own friends and his own teachers. But had real issues with the centre (his, not mine) because I know my rights as a parent and know what questions and things to look out for in a centre a nd wasn't happy with what was happening.

Sorry this is an essay but what I'm trying to say is that you have every right to tell the staff what you want and they need to comply.

Good luck with it

kiwibird27
24-01-2006, 21:10
If thats all u have to worry about then you've found and work at a good centre - This happens all the time - but from the centre's point of view logistic's and the majority dictate how your child will be catered too - for individual care go to family daycare or a nanny
Child care workers just don't have time - alot of the time parents do try and toilet train far to early and when you've got 10 or 12 toddlers and half of them are being toilet trained too early, it makes it impossible
Child care would preferably be about individual care (if it was setup like n.z. it would be) but it simply can't be the way it is now!!!!!!!!!!!

Would say talk directly with the staff firmly and to the director - remember the squeaky wheel gets remembered - often the quiet, she'll be right parents are the ones forgotten!!!!

rynosmum
24-01-2006, 21:30
Sorry to hear it S. I can only imagine how hard it is to be pussy-footing around the girls but still trying to get the best for O.

Do you have a close relationship with any of the girls in the room so you could talk to her individually ? The TT will probably right itself when you're back to part-time but the allergy stuff is dangerous - they of all people should understand this.

Want me to come and mess 'em up for ya?;)

26-01-2006, 14:57
Thanks for the replies girls I appreciate it :)

Ali- I think your idea is great as the girls really like DH and chat to him often, if he were to bring stuff up they may respond better, ta.

Karena- It is hard for me knowing his only in the next building but I am very lucky as O is very easy going and has never suffered from seperation anxiety. I even go see him sometimes when Im having a break and he is great always happy to see me and just as happy to see me leave :rolleyes: He loves it there and it is a great centre yadda yadda :)

Kiwibird- I know what your saying, I am very lucky to work in a great centre and have a place for my son etc (thats why I wrote 'Little problems' etc
I have worked in the nursery at this centre before I had O and we used to have no problems taking children to the toilet every half hour etc to ensure they had opportunities to successfully toilet train.
I agree some children are not ready to tt and parents want them to anyway as they feel its time etc this can be tricky for staff etc.but the parents wishes need to be taken into account.
I also know my son and he has been tt successfully at home for a couple of months now ( i dont want to see him regress).
I understand O wont get one on one attention all the time while in care as they only have one staff member for three bubs (15 bubs in total and 5 staff). At the same time I do know for a fact that childrens individual needs are met without too much fuss etc coz the ratios are still pretty high.

K- thanks lol your a doll:p

Well I have had some success, the teachers have seen the difference in O when they switched him back into a cot and into a sleep room which has windows and lino instead of carpet etc. His skin is clear and he is no longer unsettled and unhappy etc
They have agreed to keep him in that room and to see how he goes.

I have a very close friend who is O's primary carer (we have been good friends for about 5 years and she loves O to death!) but she has been away over seas holidaying so this is why we have had a few problems. She gets back next month so heres hoping things get better.

As I have said before it is a fab centre and I am extremly happy with the care they provide its just a few little concerns etc

Thanks again girls
S

rynosmum
26-01-2006, 17:25
Glad to hear it's starting to improve.

I'm sure it's a great centre (otherwise you wouldn't be working there or have O there no doubt) but it would have to be hard on the political front when you work at the same place you need to 'sometimes' be firm with.

Great news about the cot !:D

H&B'sMum
26-01-2006, 19:40
Glad to hear it's all starting to work out for you!!!!!!!!!!!!:)