View Full Version : Any one from Ireland living in Brisbane

niamh75
02-07-2007, 00:18
Hello,:wave:
we are moving to Brisbane in April next year really looking forward to it we have friends living in Brisbane so we are lucky there i just wanted to see how any other Irish were finding it ive alway heard only good thing so i wanted to confirm it all.

also how are the schools, do they have any folk groups whats the shopping like for children's clothes
any information would be great:)
Niamh

Mammy
03-08-2007, 10:21
Hi Niamh,

Im originally from Ireland and live on the Gold Coast which is about an hours drive from Brisbane.
I moved here 2 years ago after living in the UK for 10 years.
Its a fantastic place and has got everything you could possibly want. The weather is amazing, its now the middle of winter and the temp today is expected to hit 27 degrees :eek:
A little different to the old Emerald Isle! I hear the summer there is pretty bleak at the moment.

I dont know Brisbane very well but it seems like the up and coming city in Oz and everyone wants to move here. The Gold Coast is undergoing some massive development with huge new skyrise appartments popping up everywhere. There is an influx of over 1000 people per week moving to this area.
There are new housing estates everywhere and the Gold Coast is basically like a subarb of Brisbane.

It is hard to adjust of course and i miss my friends and family heaps. I still havent made any real friends here, it does take time.
I guess it will just get harder missing home when my first bub arrives but it will also, i hope, give me an opportunity to meet new people.

Feel free to PM (private message) me anytime you want.
Good luck with the move. At least you'll have something to look forward to over the long irish winter ahead.

Valla
16-08-2007, 09:14
Hi Niamh,

We've just moved to Brisbane from NSW 3 weeks ago! I am originally from Wicklow.

I hope all your planning is going well and feel free to ask any questions...

niamh75
20-08-2007, 20:13
Hi Niamh,

We've just moved to Brisbane from NSW 3 weeks ago! I am originally from Wicklow.

I hope all your planning is going well and feel free to ask any questions...

Hi Valla,
how you settling in, we are going through the visa application process at the moment the we are getting all our information for the TRA which is so nerve wrecking. i wont be happy on till i have it back.

how have you found living in Australia im really looking forward to the better weather we have had so much rain this summer and you can feel the days getting cooler already so im expecting a rotten winter as well:snow:

thanks for replying
Niamh

Valla
24-08-2007, 13:09
Hi Niamh,

I love it over here! It is initially a big change from Eire. I think the hardest thing is being so far from family and friends - thats what I miss, oh and the Guinness!! The lifestyle is great here, mainly due to the weather. I was back in Ireland for a visit last April and it has changed alot! Have you been to Aus before? Do you have any family over here?

Good luck with your visa application - Feel free to pm me

clairehc
28-04-2008, 20:08
hey niamh,

we arrived in may 2007 so still newbies here and expecting our first child in October. We are originally from kildare and were living in westmeath before we came over last year.

we live in se brisbane, i don't know much about schools and that but can give you a run down on some suburbs we have seen around our area.

email me if you want

claire & dave

Vesu
05-06-2008, 16:33
How is Brisbane living? You won't know yourself. It's very different and definitely cheaper living.

how are the schools - Very good and quite similar to Ireland although teachers are thought of better over there than they are here. You can choose between independent and public schools and the fees for both are much cheaper.

do they have any folk groups - Yes. Although no Planxty or Altan though. Still, you'll find what we have in the Irish clubs and pubs around the place. Word of warning. They don't know how to have a real session here. You may have to teach them.

whats the shopping like for children's clothes - Ireland is far better both in choice and cost but you'll get decent enough stuff here.

Meeting Other Irish tip - 4am at various pubs around town for the All Ireland in September...drags hundreds out of bed all with their colours on. Mad. Hyper. Brilliant.

Bring some chocolate Kimberleys with you and I'll be your new friend :) Ha!

Eire09
15-06-2009, 13:14
I moved to Brisbane in January this year from Meath and have found it very difficult. We came with our DD who turned 2 in March. We thought she wouldn miss anyone and was young enough to deal with it but we were so wrong. She has really bad days were all she wants is my mum and her Uncle (my brother 8) and she cries at the door and asks to go on the plane and go home. I am a real home bird and am missing home terribly. The women here are all lovely and have made me feel very welcome and i joined a local playgroup which i would advise as you meet alot of mums and some are in the same position as you. We just found out were expecting baby #2 in feb so we have decided we are going to change our plans and go home in Dec for good. I will miss the weather and all the parks and zoos i took DD to but i wont miss being home alone for 12 hours a day while DP worked. It can be very lonely so i dont wanna dampen your enthusiasm but please be ready for how your gonna feel and try your best to get to meet people.

Eire09
15-06-2009, 13:16
Just looked over my last post and realise iv painted a pretty grim picture. Im sure you will love it here and you have thought about for a while (We decided 2 weeks before we flew).
I wish you the best of luck and hope it works out x

niamh75
22-06-2009, 19:07
Eire How are you, :wave:

I went over had a baby, loved it but like you my children weren't totally happy my then 2 year old used to call and older woman he saw Nana he craved for his Nana's and my sister. my 6 year old always asked to go home especially after I had our daughter they all said can we go home now. very hard to know they felt that way. as it happened so did I, I'm a home bird as well so we decided to come home in February and although some days I miss little things about Australia I'm loving being home and haven't looked back at all.

I think your doing the right thing and hope it all goes well for you, how far along are you. I know how it feels to feel so lonely :hugs:

mrsl2b
20-01-2010, 20:04
Hi irish gals! How r u all goin? Do any of u still live in brissie and still use this site? Im originally from wicklow and have bn here since aug 08. Living with my aus partner and findin bein away frm ire and my family v hard at the mo. Tryin to put myself out there a bit more to make some friends of my own instead of sharing dp's if u know what i mean? Im sure it would help with the homesickness! Anyway would love to hear how its all going for you. S

niamh75
26-01-2010, 05:02
Hi irish gals! How r u all goin? Do any of u still live in brissie and still use this site? Im originally from wicklow and have bn here since aug 08. Living with my aus partner and findin bein away frm ire and my family v hard at the mo. Tryin to put myself out there a bit more to make some friends of my own instead of sharing dp's if u know what i mean? Im sure it would help with the homesickness! Anyway would love to hear how its all going for you. S
Hi Ya :thumbsup: I was on the sunshine coast, but the homesickness was to much and I came home but ... we are considering going back, with the recession here and no jobs at all to speak of, Im sure you saw the budget and now the public servants are on a work to rule I can see why they are angry! our health service is bad and about to get worse. Im so annoyed with how the goverment is running things and so worried about the future so feel we have little choice but to move again!

your doing the right thing getting out and finding your own friends and you will, try some of the meet ups on here and other fourms. I had my daughter in Australia and have made some great friend whom Im still in touch with from on line forums. LOL mad!

I hope your homesickness is not to bad as I know how bad it can get. keep us updated on how your getting on and I hope some of the other girls will come a long with good idea to cope with homesickness .

good luck oh I should add most people get a bout of it just after christmas.