View Full Version : Fab Feb Mummas (July thread)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

SuperFrog
26-07-2007, 17:03
Bottle was still no go, and I know he was hungry this time.

Ideas???

LMenz
26-07-2007, 17:09
Bottle was still no go, and I know he was hungry this time.

Ideas???

Can you get your DH to do it? With you out of the room?

SuperFrog
26-07-2007, 17:16
Can you get your DH to do it? With you out of the room?

That's what we tried last night. Unfortunately he is still at work at the moment but it is a good idea that I might try over the weekend.

Switched to a boob feed after 10 minutes of trying the bottle. Now he has fallen asleep feeding, I think all the crying has tired him out.

LMenz
26-07-2007, 17:25
Oh No...same thing happened here when I tried the formula

Jack will take the bottle but once he gets a sip of the formula he cracks it

The siper cup could be worth a shot too. Maybe Tanya could give you some tips about using a straw

Good Luck :)

*Sparkles*
26-07-2007, 17:36
Mon - Which bottle and teat are you using? I have always recommended the pigeon peristaltic range as they are meant to be the closest to boobies. Could be worth a try if you don't already have them? Or the sipper cup sounds like a good idea. I have bought a Heinz baby one that's for age 4 mths up but haven't used it yet.

Re Craft Fair - Do they sell cheap fabrics and threads at these things?

LMenz
26-07-2007, 18:39
Re Craft Fair - Do they sell cheap fabrics and threads at these things?

Not sure if it's cheap but they definately have it :)

JoJoMart
26-07-2007, 20:39
Mon - all you can do is persevere. Like Hels said, maybe try and different teat? You could also mix formula with EBM eg do half and half or something to get Liam used to the taste. When I BF and expressed I used to mix EBM with formula (health nurse said it's okay). Don't be too hard on yourself about the routine being out the window. I've had PLENTY of days like that and find it very stressful but you can get Liam back into a routine and things back to normal again. My Paed said it's development milestones that often cause excessive waking in the night and changes to baby's mood.

harleyq
26-07-2007, 20:39
I have been MIA for a little while - head buried in Harry Potter 6... Coen is now on the mend, l am getting there and DH is sick as a dog (poor thing) -- he is not too bad as a sick patient thought!

Coen has his first taste of real food today... farex - l wouldn't say he loved it, but he kept opening his mouth up for more (got it all on tape)!!!

Mon - :hugs:, l agree with other advice, somebody else give the bottle, try with EBM first (if you can) - let him master one thing at a time; and leave the house if you can... good luck!!!

Roopee
26-07-2007, 21:26
Mon- Try using a sippy cup. He's old enough for it and if it works great!

I dont have any advive really about helping them use a straw..i just shoved it in and she sucked it. Didn't like the water though..oh well.

I have had a flat out day today with 5, yes 5 kids.

Had DS1 at the ENT surgeon this afternoon and looks like another operation for him. His adnoids, tonsils and new grommets i think. We have a few hings to try for 10 days and if its a no go then the OP it is for him.

Cody has her paed appointment on Tuesday in regards to her cranial plates so :fingerscrossed: we dont need an operation for her too!!

Hope everyone has a good day tomorrow:hugs:

Bellas Mum
27-07-2007, 06:56
Well we had another wakeful period from 4.30 -6.00 and she is now still asleep. Little bugger!!!:shame: I hope it's just a stage as Joanne said, because it's wearing me out. Did your paed. say how long this stage lasts for Joanne?? She just wakes up and is wide awake, not crying or even that hungry, just wide eyed and bushy tailed. Wrong time of the bloody day though!
Oh well, could be worse, could've been 2.30 -6.30 like Tues night. Hope everyone else had a better night. Catch u later..Nik

JoJoMart
27-07-2007, 08:56
Roopee - have fun today with 5 kids! I admire you........one is enough for me at the moment :)

Nik - my paediatrician didn't really say how long these 'difficult' stages last for. He asked how Liam was sleeping and I told him how he's been waking a lot lately, is more grumpy etc and he said that babies go through a number of developmental milestones and just when you think you have them all 'sussed' and in a routine it changes! He said around 6 months then again around 9-10 months or when they start crawling. He said they also get frustrated because they want to get moving (crawling etc) and of course there is also teething. I think now that our bubs are a lot more alert we might find they fight sleep a bit more :banghead:

Have a good day everyone.

LMenz
27-07-2007, 09:14
My Paed said it's development milestones that often cause excessive waking in the night and changes to baby's mood.

****....Jack must be ready to start walking and talking with the amount of night waking he's done :laughing:

harleyq
27-07-2007, 09:23
LOL Lauren!
Coen slept through 7-6.30am the last two nights - 6.30 is so much better than 5am.... We're all still a bit sick - hope it clears up before tomorrow!

Good luck Cody!!!

Purplebird
27-07-2007, 09:30
Mon - Yes, try a sippy cup. Eloise will sip from one, only water so far which she wasn't keen on, but she loved having the cup to 'hold'. Try the Tommee Tippee first cup, or maybe go with the straw like Tanya did.

Lauren - I've been bitten several times! actually, it didn't hurt that much really, I think I have nipples the consistency of tough old leather by now! I just stopped feeding her and turned away for a moment and it seemed to do the trick - she was really gentle after that.

tanya - :hugs: hope all the health issues resolve themselves!

Sandy - hope you all feel better soon. How's Harry?! I'm not into the books (I like the films) so I cheated by going on Wikipedia and reading the whole plot of the new book :laughing: I won't tell..

well I must have jiinxed myself yesterday by saying E's new tooth was not bothering her! she was really wakeful last night - not crying but just awake a lot babbling away. It sounds like lots of bubs are like this at the moment. I'm going through lots of Bonjella - she loves it! Actually I let her lick a banana yesterday and she couldn't get enough of it, can't wait to start properly..I may make banana her first proper food.

Ok, must get showered and dressed as it's already 10.30 and I'm out for coffee at 11! Have a good day :)

Bellas Mum
27-07-2007, 10:13
I agree Lauren, although I suppose the fact that she has a cold hasn't helped. She has learnt to sit now, so maybe that's why. Haven't thought to let Bella lick a banana yet, but I did let her chew on a drumstick chicken bone and she loved!! She sat in her Bumbo seat for half an hour chewing on it. Am off to the shops. Catch u all later.

harleyq
27-07-2007, 10:15
Sandy - hope you all feel better soon. How's Harry?! I'm not into the books (I like the films) so I cheated by going on Wikipedia and reading the whole plot of the new book :laughing: I won't tell..

Oh l didn't know you could do that - l finished 6 last night and l am about 100 pages through 7 - l am hooked - l even invited my MIL over to come and "help" with Coen so that l could escape and read... well l left a message for her anyway... those of you who have followed my MIL dramas know that this is a big call for me.... the call of Harry is very strong :laughing:
Nah in all honesty when DH rang her yesterday she said "do you want me to come over and hold Coen (seeing as you are both sick)" DH said know cos he took offence to the fact that at any opportunity she jumps in to get Coen... oh you want to go overseas for two weeks -- l will mind Coen (fat chance), oh you want to go to the movies - l will take Coen, oh you want to fart.... well l made up that one, but really sometimes she just comes and takes him out of my arms - which l find offensive... all that aside though - I told DH that she is also looking after us - she would have offered to come over and bring us soup before we had Coen...

*Sparkles*
27-07-2007, 11:34
Thanks for the PM Jo, that's very interesting and we will all have to be aware of that and be more careful in the future.

R has taken to waking up several times in the night, just crying. He sems to do it a couple of hours after he has gone to bed and then every hour or so after that until around 2pm, which is when he seems to finally settle. It's very annoying being woken up so much :banghead: Last night DH got up to him and re-settled him. I hope it's just a phase that passes soon, we must be going through a development stage :(
I'm going to try solids again this weekend as we've had a break for a couple of weeks. I have a jar of baby banana and custard which I will try as he seems to have a sweet tooth. Also have some baby yogurt in the fridge so we will tread carefully at first.

Off to the MCHN this arvo for a weigh in so I'll report back later :wave:

LMenz
27-07-2007, 14:10
I was meant to see my mum today but called her to say Jack's still a bit sick so best I don't come out. I asked her to come here instead but she told me she was too tired :mad: I'm being a whinger I know but you kind of expect more from your own mother...

Not much else doing here.....can't bubhub with Jack on my knee anymore as he tries to eat the keyboard

I can feel some internet shopping coming on......I need a boost :D

Hels - What's the dress code for Saturday Night? Is it a pub were going to?

icugal
27-07-2007, 14:54
Lauren - you are more than welcome to have my mother... free to good home... infact, you can take Kaelan as well if you like ;)

I'm sorry... I'm not doing any personals right now. Kaelan is pi$$ing me right off today so I'm in a bit of a feral mood.

Where is the 'baby' shop... I want a refund on my baby !! Next time I'll buy one that stops whinging, will eat his f**king food and will give me five minutes peace.

:hair: :banghead:

Vent over... back to the whiney baby again.

icugal
27-07-2007, 15:27
ok.. tantrum over (on my part anyway :D ).

It's hard to stay angry with such a gorgeous bubba !!! He just looks at me with those big eyes and I melt.. damn him for being so cute !!

Here are some photos I took of him yesterday..

Kaelan sitting up playing with his blocks (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_14.jpg)

Kaelans gorgeous face (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_15.jpg)

The bib says it all (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_12.jpg)

Whats not to love !! (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_16.jpg)

Bonding with our dog Mollie (http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jul07_18.jpg)

*Sparkles*
27-07-2007, 16:20
It's hard to stay angry with such a gorgeous bubba !!! He just looks at me with those big eyes and I melt.. damn him for being so cute !!

:yes: we all feel like that at times hehe. Although, I'm not looking forward to the "terrible two's" :(

Lauren - It's a restaurant (with a bar area) so I was going to wear black pants, boots and a nice top (providing I can fit into the pants :o ) otherwise my black jeans will do. So I suppose smart casual is fine.

By the way melb girls, if I'm the first to get there I will reserve the table and then wander around, as I don't want to sit in the bar area with a drink (by myself) looking available :laughing: . But I will stay close enough to see when someone else rocks up. If anyone wants my mobile number then PM me, although most of you have it by now.

*Sparkles*
27-07-2007, 16:26
Ooops, I forgot the reason why I was posting lol.

Reece had his 6 mths check-up today, everything is fine and he's doing well. Here's his stats (finally);

DOB: 26/1/07
Birth - weight: 3.1kg, Length: 49cm, head circ: 33cm

4 weeks - weight: 3.7kg, length: 51.5cm, head circ: 37cm

2 months - I forgot to take the blue book so nothing is written down :o

4 months - weight: 6.9kg, length: 61cm, head circ: 41.8cm

6 months - weight: 8.2kg, length: 66.5cm, head circ: 45cm

SuperFrog
27-07-2007, 17:04
Tried a sippy cup with some water, but Liam tries to chew it, not suck. Was the same problem with the bottle teats.

Will try again tomorrow with some EBM.

How do you teach a baby to go back to sucking?

A friend of the family, who is already in heaps of debt, has taken out a new business loan to start up a baby/kids play gym centre franchise. I really hope for her sake that it works out for her.

Would anyone here take their baby or kids to a play centre? Seems like a waste of money to me when you could go to the park for free... but I've never been inside one so I could be missing the point of them.

Bought a pair of pinking shears today... can't wait to go cut some stuff. Keep me away from the curtains! :laughing:

LMenz
27-07-2007, 17:39
Would anyone here take their baby or kids to a play centre?

I would! I think they would be good in winter when it's raining :rain:

SuperFrog
27-07-2007, 18:21
I would! I think they would be good in winter when it's raining :rain:

Excellent point... I obviously haven't thought about it enough.

Did you just want to use the rainy smiley man?

LMenz
27-07-2007, 18:32
Did you just want to use the rainy smiley man?

:yes: :yes: :yes: :yes:

my_lot
27-07-2007, 18:34
penny, cute photos. is his hair red or blonde? (reece is another one i cant tell..) what on earth is that under the coffee table? is it a dog stretched out?

mon. i would take eli to a play centre if i was going for the other kids. they ARE heaps of fun but id feel funny going with just him. i took ds to one when he was 8 months old (for a birthday party)and he loved the slide and ball pit...

tan. my other kids were drinking out of straws between 6 and 8 months, i really should try eli again with that. you have the mag mag system dont you? is that what you used?

us. we had another cr@po night. ill be happy when he is better im sick of this 3 times a night waking. i feel like just as he gets better he will be due for more shots!

im off to put one princess cranky pants to bed and set the others up for friday night at the movies in the playroom theatre..lol

LMenz
27-07-2007, 18:42
Kay I just noticed your signature.....have you set a date for the wedding?

icugal
27-07-2007, 19:43
penny, cute photos. is his hair red or blonde? (reece is another one i cant tell..) what on earth is that under the coffee table? is it a dog stretched out?

You weren't supposed to notice my messy house !! :D

The thing under the coffee table is a dog toy. It's like a fluffy sausage dog with a squeaker in it. Available to buy at Big W for the record ;)

As for K's hair... his hair is red... though it glows golden in the sunlight.

On a different topic briefly... I'm a little concerned about Kaelan tonight. He's had some really dry skin on his face so after trying numerous moisturisers without much success, I decided to try some baby sorbolene cream this morning. Tonight however, the lower half of his face is very red, almost like welts and I'm thinking it might be itchy (he keeps putting his hands up to his cheeks and rubbing it).

If he has had an allergic reaction... it has to be a localised thing because he has no redness/rash on his body... only on his face and maybe slightly on his hands. Also need to note that his drooling has been very prolific today... almost continuous like a tap.. so now I don't know if this redness is an allergic reaction to the sorbolene (or other unknown factor) or whether it's an excoriation type rash because of the copious amounts of saliva he's producing.

Poor little bugger, he has such sensitive skin (english blood, fair skin, red hair etc).. I hope he's not going to be an allergenic child.

Ok.. as I've typed this I've decided that over the next couple of days I might do a spot test with the sorbolene cream. I'll put a tiny little dob on the inside of his wrist and see if he reacts to it or not. It's probably the only I'm going to find out.

juzzy
27-07-2007, 19:45
Its just Cassi and myself at home tonight so we are sitting back watching Big Brother.

Just a few photos.

Cassidy enjoying her dinner (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000721.jpg)

Cleaned up and watching FNL (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000732.jpg)

*Sparkles*
27-07-2007, 20:15
Kay - Reece is now a blonde, although he started out as a strawberry blonde.

LOL @ those photos Juz, I see that you got the alphabet mat too :thumbsup:

Penny - I hope you get to the bottom of what's causing K's rash. I know of another baby who rubbed her face with a Johnson's wipe and got a similar reaction. They thought it was chicken pox at first.

R is having his bath right now and going to bed earlier tonight, so am I for that matter, I really need some :sleeping:

I hope it isn't :rain: tomorow as we are going out.

my_lot
27-07-2007, 20:54
lauren- yes, september!!

penny- i noticed the rash straight away (not just funny thing under coffee table) but i didnt know if you were onto it or what. id use steriod cream, thats just me though. some people are funny about using it on babies.
we had one dd always breaking out in rashes sometimes on her back arms or legs but always on the face. ..everytime she had any dairy products. we had months of it. somedays it would look good others it would bleed in small areas. we tried a lot of soap free washes and creams and ended up using a steriod cream to really get on top of it.

hels- some pics ive seen (must have been months back) he looked a little red, sometimes really blonde. must be the lighting too. eli really looks blonde in the light but sometimes the back looks brown and ginger in bits- not that its really hairy, just... um.... hairS!

icugal
27-07-2007, 20:58
Cleaned up and watching FNL (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000732.jpg)

Cassi... that's not a very lady like position !!! :D

juzzy
27-07-2007, 21:08
Cassi... that's not a very lady like position !!! :D

HAHA!!

That has to be her most favorite pose at the moment! I said to David that she will make someone very happy one day if she can keep doing that! :laughing:

Was anyone else just watching FNL? When Zach saw his mate the first thing he asked, after not seeing him for 14 weeks, was 'Did u get me tickets to Christina (Aguilera)?' LOL loving the priorities!!

Well looks like i wont be able to make it out tomorrow night :hair: :banghead: one of DPs customers has had a major disaster so it looks like i will have to stay home and look after Cassi as he will be on site working all weekend. Dont want Dps mum to have her as i will be hearing about how she did me a favor for years. I dont know why she cant just be grateful that she gets to see her grand daughter for a few hours.

Roopee
27-07-2007, 21:49
Penny- some other things you could try is Pinetarsol wash for the bath and Dermaveen cream for after. It worked wonders when Cody had her viral rash on her face, head and torse and the itching drove her nuts! Worked a treat!

Kay- i dont have th MagMag system- i just bought a Tommee Tippee one from the supermarket to try. Ya know the ones that say "no leaks" yet they all always leak (except for the playtex and magmag):rolleyes:. That being said though i stuck it in her motuh today and she looked at me like "well what do you want me to do with that woman!!":laughing: So its not a completely acquired skill yet!!
Congrats on setting that date too! Not far away either!! If you need anything for the day, let me know, id be happy to help. Actually now that i mention it- i have a size 1 black suit (jacket, shirt and pants) that Riley wore to help Cooper give me away at our wedding. If you wnat it for Eli, let me know and i'll dig it out for you!

Juzzy- has the cream made any difference yet? Hope it works for you and sorry it looks like you might miss your night out tomorrow!!

Have a good weekend everyone!:yelclap:

icugal
27-07-2007, 21:50
Was anyone else just watching FNL? When Zach saw his mate the first thing he asked, after not seeing him for 14 weeks, was 'Did u get me tickets to Christina (Aguilera)?' LOL loving the priorities!!

I know.. I laughed when he said that... bless his cotton socks !! I love Zachy so much... I hope he wins !!

GO ZACH !!!!

(Sorry you might not be able to make it tomorrow night Juz)

*EDIT* - Thanks for your suggestions Tanya. I'm a bit reluctant to use Pinetarsol because I think it would probably dry out his skin even more...the Dermaveen could be a possibility though. We going shopping in the morning, so I might stop in at the chemist.

juzzy
27-07-2007, 21:59
Juzzy- has the cream made any difference yet? Hope it works for you :

Have been using it for a few days now and it has made a MASSIVE difference, her skin is fantastic again, no more ugly rash/dry spots on her arms and legs! Thanks again for sending it to me, i love it! I am still going to keep using the QV bath oil and that cream as i think i have a winning combination.

Pen instead of Pinetarsol, try QV bath oil. It really helped with Cassidys dry skin so if that is all it is it might help with Ks skin as well.

Roopee
27-07-2007, 22:09
Oh told ya Juz it was a miracle cream:laughing: Its great hey!

Another one for you penny- Hamilton wash, Alpha-Keri wash and any of those type of things work well too!

juzzy
27-07-2007, 22:20
i am totally bored. im watching BB up late now. LOL.

That cream is amazing alright! I dont think miracle cream is good enough to describe it!

As hels pointed out, i did manage to get my hands on a foam mat (thanks for the tip Pen and Mon to try the Reject shop). Didnt realise how big it was going to be however! So some of it is in the lounge on the tiles the rest is in Cassi's room on the floor. Good investment though, am thinking about buying another.

my_lot
27-07-2007, 22:30
juzzy- i saw a cute dora the nasty voice... yeah that character foam floor mats. it had numbers on them. it was a hopscotch mat!! it was $30 down to $12 in kmart. the only kid in my family that likes dora is my 2 yr old nephew and i dont think his mumma would like it too much!

he says dora, the kid likes dora i tell ya. so i got him a dora doll (teddy style) and she was holding a birthday cake and had a party hat on, so i wrote his name on the back with fabric paint so shed have a hard time giving it away or talking it back to the shop (yeah she does that with his gifts) and she took one look at it and screached "ahhh DORA, dora is for GIRLS!!!"

so i didnt get him hop scotch dora mats! i did however get him BOB THE BUILDER ones....

juzzy
27-07-2007, 22:36
lol i dont think there is anything wrong with a boy liking Dora! Geez what does she think will happen to the kid if he likes Dora?

DPs nephew is totally obsessed with a yellow care bear that i have for Cassidy. What does that say about him? LOL

icugal
28-07-2007, 10:00
What is the name of the miracle cream??? We need some of that..

*Sparkles*
28-07-2007, 10:30
It's 11.30am and I just got up, I needed a good sleep lol. R and DH are still asleep in our bed. We're heading out shortly to Pillow Science. It's a shop that makes pillows for people with specific problems eg migraine sufferers, back problems etc. DH reckons he needs a good pillow as he keeps waking up in the night. Where as I just need a baby that doesn't wake me up constantly! Having said that, he was alot better last night.

If I don't get on again today, then I'll see the Melb girls tonight. I'll book for 7 of us so if anyone else isn't coming then please let me know by PM or sms.

We'll miss you Juz! :hugs:

juzzy
28-07-2007, 14:15
penny Tanya sent me some cream that her chemist makes up. PM tan and im sure she will help you out.

Just myself and Cassi home again as DP is at work. Im fuming that i cant go out tonight.

i feel like doing this:crying: and throwing a tanty cause i cant go LOL

SuperFrog
28-07-2007, 17:05
Juz - I can't make it tonight either. Liam just isn't settled enough at the moment for me to leave. :( Have an appointment with the MCHN on Wednesday to check his weight, so I might have a chat with her about our various problems and see what she suggests. I'm just not sure what I should tackle first as the are all connected. MCHN is a cow though, so she'll probably just tell me to suck it up, or to make another appointment as she is too busy today.

Once L goes to bed tonight (hopefully not too late) I'm planning to multi-task and do some sewing in between loads of washing. If I post crafty pics tomorrow you'll know we had a good night!

There was a Western Suburbs meet today as well, but I didn't make it there. Apparently one of the mums lives around the corner from me, which would be lovely (assuming she isn't a complete fruitcake! :laughing: ). Maybe next time.

SuperFrog
28-07-2007, 20:18
Either Liam has been using a really cheap fake tan or he has eaten too much pumpkin and/or sweet potato. His skin has a definite orange tinge to it. A few people have commented on it today, so it's not just me that sees it.

What should I feed Liam for breakfast? I can't get him to eat rice cereal or baby porridge. This morning I mixed apples and porridge, then shovelled it in when he was crying... he swallowed it, but definitely didn't enjoy it. Then to finish off I gave him apples along and he willingly opened his mouth and wanted more. Think I might make super-runny porridge tomorrow... maybe it is a texture thing rather than the taste.

juzzy
28-07-2007, 20:50
eeeeekkkk i have been giving Cassidy lots of sweet potato and pumpkin as well... hmmm maybe i wont give her as much from now on....:detective:

juzzy
28-07-2007, 22:47
ok so did some reading on foods to introduce

four to six months
farex, pear, apple, carrot, sweet potato, potatoes, green beans, courgette, swede, parsnips, mango, peaches, broccoli, avocados, peas, cauliflower

six to nine months
wheat based baby cereals, pasta, raw fruits such as raw fresh apricots and soaked, cooked dried apricots, melon, cooked plums, coloured peppers, pumpkin, cabbage and later spinach, brussel sprouts and celery. Tomatoes and well diluted unsweetened fruit juice can be introduced if there is no history of allergy
Meat and fish may be introduced. Lamb may be introduced at 7 to 8 months along with red lentils and butter beans. Yoghurt, mild chedder cheese, small amounts of unsalted butter and cows milk can be included as well as first finger foods such as cooked toast fingers, cooked carrot or broccoli sticks

That was taken from 'The Contented Little Baby Book of Weaning' by Gina Ford. Has some pretty useful hints and tips in it. But dont know if i agree with some of the foods that she suggests to offer. I guess some of the other ladies will have some better suggestions than mine.

LMenz
29-07-2007, 10:32
Morning All :wave:

Last night was good fun. Nice to have a "baby free" night. I'm still drooling over the lemon tart. How were everyones' babies when they got home?

Jack went back to sleep this morning and then DH got up to him so I could have a bit of a sleep in...they are currently out walking!

DH off to the footy this afternoon...I'll be having a quiet afternoon (hopefully) with Jack. Were having a lot of "day sleep" issues at the moment.

Is anyone else having trouble getting their bub down for 3 day naps? Jack's been refusing his afternoon one for a week now

Mon - For beakkie Jack has pear (his favorite)or apple mixed with farax. I usually do 2 tablespoons of pear with 1 teaspoon of farax. If it's too thick I'll water it down a bit. Have you tried the flavoured farax?

ziggy29
29-07-2007, 11:06
Hi all.

I went out with the girls last night too and had a great time. managed to have a sleep in too as dh looked after lily for a while which was great.

does anyone else feel like it is 2 steps foward, 1 step backwards with our little ones? i dropped the dream feed this week and she slept through 3 nights running - but then started to wake up for night feeds again the last 3 nights. so we have reintroduced the dream feed but she still woke up at 530am for a feed. hopefully things will settle back again soon.

despite the frustrations and fatigue, i am so in love with my little family. lily is so beautiful and i really feel that dh and i are pulling together as a couple again. (maybe those happy pills are starting to work hey?)

thanks for the food ideas juz - most things i feed lily seem to be orange - pumpkin, carrot and sweet potato. i am pretty confused about what to give when. i am still uncertain about dairy and baby yogurt versus natutral yogurt.

LMenz
29-07-2007, 11:15
does anyone else feel like it is 2 steps foward, 1 step backwards with our little ones? i dropped the dream feed this week and she slept through 3 nights running - but then started to wake up for night feeds again the last 3 nights. so we have reintroduced the dream feed but she still woke up at 530am for a feed. hopefully things will settle back again soon.

Sure do...Jack's doing something very similar...except he's waking at 3.30am :thumbsdown: His is definately hunger too. After a feed he settles back quickly and then sleeps for another 3.5 hours. I think he's having a growth spurt. I hope it passes as well. I was liking the no night feeding

*Sparkles*
29-07-2007, 12:56
Hi girls :wave:
Thanks for a great night out last night (melb girls). I really enjoyed it but I'm feeling a bit tired today. DH spent the evening at his mum's as she lives near the city and he dropped me off and picked me up. Apparently R was very well behaved and was quite happy to play on the floor with his toys. MIL didn't nurse him though as she was worried that he would cry again. I said to DH that he should have let her try just before they left so R can get more used to her, but nevermind.

I had to get up to R once in the night at 1.30pm. He cries in his sleep and doesn't even know when I am in his room. So I put his dummy in and stroke his head a few times and he goes off to sleep straightaway. He's in fine form today, lots of screams of delight and laughing going on lol.

The first night of using our new pillows was a success. I actually woke up with a clear nose for once (usually it's blocked in the morning). And I didn't hear DH snoring either :smiliedance:

We are going out shortly to the shops to get a few bits and pieces. Then I am going to chill at home for the rest of the day. Take away dinner for us tonight too!

icugal
29-07-2007, 13:10
Hey girlies...

Thanks to the Melb girls for a lovely baby-free night out (though remind me to never try to park at Crown Casino on a Saturday night ever again !!).

Kaelan was asleep when I got home at about midnight so it was nice to have the role reversal for once (normally he is asleep when DF gets home from work). K actually spent the evening with DF at a friends 40th birthday party and was apparently lapping up all the attention... so I think he had a good night too :)

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post this but if you guys go and buy the Better Homes and Gardens magazine this month there is a special offer to make a free photo book (like Momento). It looks pretty good... and even better cause it's free. Currently I'm making a book of Kaelans first six months... actually I was up until 4am this morning playing with it !! *LOL* (I'm working night shift tonight, so staying up late wasn't for nothing).

Have a good day girls :)

Purplebird
29-07-2007, 13:29
Is anyone else having trouble getting their bub down for 3 day naps? Jack's been refusing his afternoon one for a week now

Oh yes! We are down to 2 30 minute naps now! I have no idea why and it doesn't matter what I do (even feeding to sleep or laying down with her). It might be her new tooth (which is still only just poking through), but I think it's now a habit. I refuse to stress about it now as she is actually not grumpy with it :) Out of interest Lauren I called the QE centre and they suggested that bubs might start to want to be awake for longer in the day now between sleeps. They suggested to me that awake time may be 2-2.5 hours. They also told me I have a 'cheeky one' on my hands and wished me luck :laughing:

Sorry I couldn't make it last night Melb girls. E is waking for a feed at 9 ish now (for some reason) so DH would have had trouble settling her. I think it's a growth spurt too.

Well, we're off for coffee and cake this afternoon (I'm sure I'll never get this diet off the ground!).

JoJoMart
29-07-2007, 15:20
Hannah & Lauren - Liam is lucky if he gets two decent sleeps during the day. Today he only slept for 40 minutes at lunchtime and has only just gone down now after nearly 3 hours awake time. It's a pain because I can't get much done as he's not content to entertain himself for long :no:

Penny - that photobook from Better Homes & Gardens sounds great! Glad that Kaelan enjoyed the party. Liam was well behaved at home for DH too.

Hels - glad your new pillows are working a treat!

Ziggy - yep, I feel like it's one step forward 2 steps back most of the time too.......mainly because I want to get some sort of 'order' back into my life......like have some 'me' time and do some more housework but it aint working. I'm going to keep trying..........maybe I need to let Liam entertain himself more? What do others do to get something done around the house or hobbies etc???

Mon - hope things are better for you and Liam and that the MCHN is helpful. Some of them are hopeless aren't they?

SuperFrog
29-07-2007, 17:23
Glad to hear the Melb gals had a great night. Jealous much!

About to try Liam on some mushy peas... try and neutralise this orange! :laughing:

No craft to show today, but I figured out how to use this overlocker finally. Was one tricky bit in the threading, which took a bit of googling to figure out.

Went to our friends' house today as DH was drawing a mural on the wall of their son's room (underwater theme... looks good!). Liam not only fell asleep without the dummy, but he also drank some water from a sippy cup. Yay! :smiliedance: I'm thinking we should go there more often. :laughing:

Anyone heard from Butterfly Mumma, Leashie, or Mummy2Oceana lately? They haven't been around for a while. Anyone else MIA? :detective:

My smiley quota is up... must be time to go.

Roopee
29-07-2007, 21:59
betterhomes and gardens- do the book! We do them at work ( i work for that company) and they are fantastic!! They look really good- you wont be dissapointed.

Penny- if you would like me to get you some of that cream, let me know, i'll be out that way tomorrow and he should have some left, if not i will get him to make some up for you!

us- we've had a massive weekend this week, so im knackered, off to bed!

Have a good one:hugs:

SuperFrog
29-07-2007, 22:14
I actually got around to making something crafty tonight... finally! The photo is a bit dark as two of our down lights have decided to go on strike together. Can take a better pic in the morning.

So, here are Liam's magnets (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/Liammagnets.jpg). Weren't quite as stiff as I was hoping (keep the jokes to yourself), and I just used some scrap materials I had around the place, but these are only prototypes. Will keep working on it.

With a bit of refining, do you reckon I could sell something like this??

Bellas Mum
30-07-2007, 07:44
Hi Girls:wave: ,
We had a pretty full on w'end so couldn't get on to see how everyone was going. Sounds like the mum's who had a get-together had heaps of fun! We just went to a friend's place for dinner on Sat night and then went to one of the Leagues clubs near us for brekkie on Sun morn. They have a buffet brekkie and I stuffed myself silly!!! Other than that, lots of housework to do as I was too lazy to do it during the week and it's easier when DH is home to help entertain Bella while I do it.
Speaking of the little darling child, she is still waking up in the night and wont settle back down for hours. Last night I took her in to our bed and I swore i would never do that. She wakes up and wont go back to sleep. Just lies there and stares at me. If i do get her back to sleep in my arms she will wake as soon as I put her down. If I walk out and leaver her she screams!!:shame: My neighbours bub who is 3 days younger is doing the same thing, must be a phase they go thru at this age. Whatever it is she better grow out of it real quick!! Same as Mon, I am going to take her to the CHN and talk to her about it and get her weighed. I reackon she is close to 9 kg's. I think her legs weigh about 3 kg's each on their own!!! They're huge!! Well, will check in later to see how everyone's going, hope you all have a great day!!

ziggy29
30-07-2007, 08:03
i am hosting my mothers group this morning but only one or two people are coming. everyone seems to be so busy at the moment - maybe we will have to change it to meeting only one to two times a month and not weekly.

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 08:26
Sharon - same thing happened with my mother's group. Makes it hard when people start going back to work, and a couple of people moved as well. We now meet every fortnight or so, sometimes just for coffee at the local shopping centre. Going for coffee seems to suit everyone better as you can accomplish a few things in the one trip out. We are a practical bunch hey??!

Purplebird
30-07-2007, 09:00
happybirthday HAPPY HALF BIRTHDAY KAELAN!!

My poor cat got hit in the head by a car yesterday :thumbsdown: We think he's got a broken jaw, poor soldier.

Bella's Mum - i had Eloise in bed with me from 3 this morning as she had been wide awake (not crying, just playing!). We both dozed off and I was awoken to her snuffling into my chest at 7! A bit annoying but very cute :)

harleyq
30-07-2007, 09:06
Would anyone here take their baby or kids to a play centre?
Congratulations to Liam on the sippy cup experience!!! On the play centre - they're great, especially when you have kids a bit older, my girlfriends and l (pre Coen) used to catch up at these centres - so their kids could go off and play and we could sit and have a coffee and relax - its something different for them - especially in cold/superhot weather,

We're heading out shortly to Pillow Science. I have a pillow science pillow - l have sufferred from chronic neck pain (and all the problems that go with that including migraines) since my car accident 7 years ago - the pillow l got from there all but solved it... l have a few problems now but l think it is more from holding little bubs all the time than anything else... good luck with it - l hope your happy sleeping continues.

(Solids advice) That was taken from 'The Contented Little Baby Book of Weaning' by Gina Ford. Just a warning on Gina Ford Juzzy - please take this with a grain of salt - but my friend swears it was her book that set his baby back months - she is very controversial - from memory l think it is because she has no kids of her own... but has all this advice from her experience (childcare expert) - much of which (l have been told) is not practical for a 24x7 mother.

Us - I am finally feeling a bit better, just the remnants left now - bit of a cough (not so good for the pelvic floor), and slightly stuffy nose... Coen and DH are much better.
Coen is still sleeping through the night - till 6 am this morning. We have had some major milestones this week... We tried Coen on solids, he has now had farex - which he eats - but l don't think he likes so much and carrot, we tried yesterday - talk about mess!!! I don't know how you ladies are doing 2 & 3 solid meals a day - you must be feeding all day long! I feel like that is what l am doing and l am only doing one solid feed!!!

Oh and the other milestone was that we put Coen in his own room on Saturday night! I was going to wait until 6 months - but my inlaws bought us a wardrobe for him (2nd hand but really nice -- they can be so nice sometimes - l am such an ungrateful wench) and l had to rearrange his room anyway - so we thought we would take the plunge -- that first night every time l went into our bedroom l felt empty - it was awful - even now - gee l don't know what l would do without my little munchkin!!! But we have made it through two nights now - and l have slept well (lets put aside DH snoring for the timebeing) - both times... I jump out of bed when he wakes up at 6ish cos l just want to be near him again.... its kind of nice!

Hope everyone is having a good day!
Oh and l finished Harry Potter!!! I loved it - it was a bit slow in the beginning - but it was a good book. Sharon, what are your thoughts (w/o giving anything away ofcourse)

Oh - l am so glad that you guys had a great night on Saturday - and so sorry that l missed it - l will definitely be at the next one (l hope) :fingerscrossed:

harleyq
30-07-2007, 09:09
My poor cat got hit in the head by a car yesterday :thumbsdown: We think he's got a broken jaw, poor soldier.

Oh poor kitty - l hope it turns out okay
happybirthday HAPPY HALF BIRTHDAY KAELAN!!

icugal
30-07-2007, 13:26
Yay for Kaelan !! Happy half birthday my gorgeous little man !!!

I was running around at work lastnight telling everybody who would listen that my baby was going to be exactly six months old at eight minutes past midnight (I was very excited). Of course when the time actually arrived... I was too busy chatting with my friends and then looked up at the clock... it was 12:10am... I missed it !!!!! D'oh !!

Anyways, other than cleaning my house up today (have mothers group here tomorrow)... I'm going to take Kaelans monthly Elmo photo and then do his hand and feet prints again as a keepsake. I have footprints from birth and three months already.

Tonight is also the finale of Big Brother so a friend of mine is probably going to come around and watch it with me. The show was pretty dull this year until beautiful Zach walked in as an intruder... I love this gay boi so much... I've told DF that I want to adopt him !!

Go Zachy !!!!!

Roopee - I'm definately going to do the photobook. Last year I did a 'Momento' photo book of our two trips to New Zealand and it turned out great... I imagine that the Snapfish one will be of similiar quality.

If you could get your hands on some of that cream, I would be really grateful. Happy to pay whatever it costs !!

Hannah - Hope your pussy cat is ok. Poor baby !!

Mon - Loving the letters !! I love that I have such crafty friends :) Are the letters magnetic so that they can be stuck on the fridge... or would you make them for a general wall application?

Bellas Mum
30-07-2007, 16:00
happybirthday HAPPY HALF BIRTHDAY KAELAN...!!!! Sorry to hear about your poor cat Hannah, hope it is feeling better soon. As much as I'm sorry that you had Eloise awake during the night, I'm glad that I'm not the only one.
We'll be watching BB tonight as well. And I agree...GO Zachy!!!Isn't he adorable? I really dont think he'll win but I'll be happy to be wrong!! Have a good night ladies. :fingerscrossed: Bella sleeps thru tonight!!

LMenz
30-07-2007, 16:02
Hiya Ladies

I hosted my Mother's Group today and all went well. A few have dropped out but there was six of us today. It's a pretty good group :)

Jack slept thru last night...first time in a while, that was even with no afternoon sleep. I've tried to do everything the same today.

Jack finally drank some water today......It's only taken 4 weeks of me offering it everyday :rolleyes:

Sandy - Glad you are all feeling better. GO Coen! He really is growing up isn't he? I'm trying carrot this week too.

happybirthday Kaelan!!

harleyq
30-07-2007, 16:23
Hey ladies, quick question for you. When do you move to two meals a day? Coen wolfed his way through his carrot and farex this morning, l ended up mixing another half batch and he ate all that too, so tomorrow will do a bit more - when should l look at introducing multiple meals? or is it just trial and error? TMI alert.... Coen did 3 poos yesterday... hope it wasn't a reaction to the carrot -- he seems normal today though...

Go jack on the water!!!
Penny a girl in my mothers group lent me a stamp pad to do Coen's feet, but l haven't done them yet - thanks for the reminder l might do them tonight so l can give it back to her...

Enjoy Big brother tonight those of you who are fans!!! I can't stand the show - never could.

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 16:49
Hey ladies, quick question for you. When do you move to two meals a day?

.... Coen did 3 poos yesterday... hope it wasn't a reaction to the carrot -- he seems normal today though...

Not sure about the meals as we moved straight to three a day to try and beef Liam up. Just be careful on the amount of orange food... unless you like the golden glow look. :D

Liam went from one poo a week to two poos a day. Different consistency though. I think you're good there.

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 16:51
Mon - Loving the letters !! I love that I have such crafty friends :) Are the letters magnetic so that they can be stuck on the fridge... or would you make them for a general wall application?

Yes, they are magnetic. Hadn't thought much further than that.

Bought some foam today to use on the back... will see if that makes them more sturdy. Oh, ans Spotlight was having a big discount on remnants so I stocked up. :yes: Gotta love Spotlight.

ziggy29
30-07-2007, 17:29
a few of us seemed to host out mothers groups today. 3 mums and their babies ended up coming which is better than the none i thought would come. i dont mind spending time with these ladies but i havent really developed anything more than a superficial friendship with them. thank goddness for my bubhub friends. :hugs:

tanya - thanks for the advice on the cream. lilys skin is still quite mottely so i have booked her into see the gp tomorrow just to make sure of what it is before i start investing in creams to fix it. cheers.

lily is eating about 150grams of food now - three times a day. i start with something yummy like a vegetable often mixed with rice cereal, then rice cereal with formula and if her mouth is still open she gets rice cereal with water until she shuts it!

i feel like i am feeding her all day. still trying milk first then solids with the solid feeds around normal meal times. but sometimes she wont eat till 1.5hrs after the milk. i am a little worried she is snacking. but she eats so much everytime...

she is pooing 3-4 times a day now!! what goes in must come out i suppose...

sandy - re HP. i liked it. there was a lot in it and most of it made sense. there wasnt much character development but considering how much pressure was on her i think she pulled it off. i cant wait to read the last 200 pages again to make sure i completely understand what happended (after dh has finished it).

havent really watched BB this year - so sick of the boring person winning. sounds like i would be going for zach if i had been watching.

blah, blah, blah - i am in a talkative mood tonight...:cool:

LMenz
30-07-2007, 18:08
Hey ladies, quick question for you. When do you move to two meals a day?

I did 2 almost straight away. I say if Coen's enjoying it then go for it :thumbsup:

i start with something yummy like a vegetable often mixed with rice cereal

I was wondering if I could mix farax with vegies...might try it with his zuchinni to thicken it up a bit

Jack's pooing has become less regular since the solids....but after the water today he went twice. The consistancy is like peanut butter now...so gross! BUT no more runny poo's up to his neck :laughing:

We also moved into toddler nappies today...what will happen when he's a toddler? I hope they make some big enough for my little porker

Mon - The letters look great..can't wait to see what you do with them next. I think you should start selling the sock monkey on your Zoints thingy too....It looks great!! I'd buy one :yes: I love handmade toys.

harleyq
30-07-2007, 18:40
I was wondering if I could mix farax with vegies...might try it with his zuchinni to thicken it up a bit

Jack's pooing has become less regular since the solids....but after the water today he went twice. The consistancy is like peanut butter now...so gross! BUT no more runny poo's up to his neck :laughing:

I gave Coen just carrots yesterday (w breastmilk) - and he was ho hum about it, l mixed the carrots with farex and breastmilk today (equal parts carrots & farex, double amount of breastmilk) and he lapped it up like it was the best thing he had ever eaten - shouted at me when l was too slow getting it to him - a mistake l did make though was to steam the carrots - there bits in them still - so will throw out the left over and boil them next time.

I think we will go with something green next... l don't much fancy having a real live munchkin (orange skin and all)... oh and soooooooooo not looking forward to peanut butter poos! ewwwww

Sharon / Mon - are you giving your bubs water as well?
I think Coen likes water, every time l drink out of my water bottle Coen tries to grab it - a couple of times l have squirted some in his mouth (l know l shouldn't cos its not boiled) and he loves it... so maybe l will start giving him some of that too... do you think if l try and give it to him in a sippy cup l will be confusing the issue too much, nipple, bottle sippy cup? Oh and l guess l have to sterile things for water don't l??? How long do you have to sterilise things for?

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 18:46
Jack's pooing has become less regular since the solids....but after the water today he went twice. The consistancy is like peanut butter now...so gross!

As long as you don't start telling us it tastes like peanut butter! :barf:

Mon - The letters look great..can't wait to see what you do with them next. I think you should start selling the sock monkey on your Zoints thingy too....It looks great!! I'd buy one :yes: I love handmade toys.

If you are serious, PM me and we can talk sock monkeys. :D

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 18:56
Sandy - I've decided not to sterilise now. I wash everything in hot soapy water and rinse really well. He puts everything in his mouth anyway, and I don't sterilise the spoons and bowls he uses, so I don't see the point.

I'm trying to give Liam water but he only drank a little bit yesterday, which was from a sippy cup. Wasn't a non-drip one so it basically just flowed into his mouth and he had no choice but to swallow... but he went back for more! He had a few mouthfuls today, but nothing to write home about.

Suppose I should probably go make some dinner rather than getting distracted here.

LMenz
30-07-2007, 19:15
Oh and l guess l have to sterile things for water don't l??? How long do you have to sterilise things for?

I'm not sterilizing either anymore....Jack will lick, or suck anything he can get his hands on. I do keep a few empty bottles in the fridge though...ready to use for his water.

As long as you don't start telling us it tastes like peanut butter! :barf:

:laughing: Gee....I must have grossed you out. You used the spewy smiley :laughing:

harleyq
30-07-2007, 19:27

I gave Coen just carrots yesterday (w breastmilk) - and he was ho hum about it, l mixed the carrots with farex and breastmilk today (equal parts carrots & farex, double amount of breastmilk) and he lapped it up like it was the best thing he had ever eaten - shouted at me when l was too slow getting it to him - a mistake l did make though was to steam the carrots - there bits in them still - so will throw out the left over and boil them next time.

I think we will go with something green next... l don't much fancy having a real live munchkin (orange skin and all)... oh and soooooooooo not looking forward to peanut butter poos! ewwwww

Sharon / Mon - are you giving your bubs water as well?
I think Coen likes water, every time l drink out of my water bottle Coen tries to grab it - a couple of times l have squirted some in his mouth (l know l shouldn't cos its not boiled) and he loves it... so maybe l will start giving him some of that too... do you think if l try and give it to him in a sippy cup l will be confusing the issue too much, nipple, bottle sippy cup? Oh and l guess l have to sterile things for water don't l??? How long do you have to sterilise things for?

LMenz
30-07-2007, 19:35
Is it just me or has Sandy's post appeared twice? :confused:

SuperFrog
30-07-2007, 19:59
how freaky!

juzzy
30-07-2007, 22:05
Not much happening here, did have one good achievement for the day.... i made a really good shepherds pie for dinner, it was yummo

Cassidy sat up for about 5 minutes unassisted today. Naturally i was close by with the camera:yes: :D

I can sit! (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000747.jpg)

Purplebird
31-07-2007, 07:48
Go Cassi! - Eloise is a long way off sitting I think, she topples straight over.

Mon - love those letters, they look great.

Morning all :wave: Well, it's my turn to host Mother's Group today - should have about 10 mums coming. I've just got to clean the bathroom and then I'm sort of ready :D

My poor little kitty cat has got a broken jaw so he's in animal hospital for a few nights.

Am I the only person not giving solids yet? I'm looking forward to starting now, I'm stocked up on bananas :)

ziggy29
31-07-2007, 08:34
Just got some rather bad news - one of my closest school friends husband died in a motorbike accident yesterday me and lily are going to go and keep her company today. please everyone give their families a big hug tonight for me. :hugs::hugs:

ziggy29
31-07-2007, 09:02
just realised that was a lot to dump on you all today. i am fine. it just really makes you appreciate how much youve got.

i try to give lily water from a sipper cup during and at the end of every solids meal. it is one of those take and toss brand - you get 5 or so for $5. it drips out slowly. there spoons are great too - like a mini shovel

Bellas Mum
31-07-2007, 09:29
Hi Guy's ,
Another cr###y night in our household. Bella was awake from 12.30 - 3.30. I dont know what to do. I am so tired and I get so frustrated cause she is just wide awake and there is no way to get her back to sleep when she does this. Either that or I get her back to sleep and when I put her down she wakes up again. Any ideas on how to cope?? If I have to keep doing this I will go INSANE!!!!!:hair:

Sandy- I have been putting Farex in Bella's vegies since day one and it's been fine. It does thicken it up really well.(doesn't help her sleep better though!!)
Sharon- sorry to hear about your friend's hubby passing away. She must be so devastated!! My friend's father passed nearly 3 months ago and she is still not coping with it.
Great going Cassidy!!!:smiliedance: Bella has been sitting for a couple of weeks now. She can sit on her own for about 15-20mins. Depends on whether she is tired or not. She still wont roll though.:rolleyes: Hmmmm...strange!
Sorry to dump on you guy's. Just dont know how I will cope if she keeps it up! Am going to see our CHN today and see if she can offer a solution.:fingerscrossed: Will check back in later. Hope you all have a great day!!

harleyq
31-07-2007, 11:13
Not much happening here, did have one good achievement for the day.... i made a really good shepherds pie for dinner, it was yummo

Cassidy sat up for about 5 minutes unassisted today. Naturally i was close by with the camera:yes: :D

I can sit! (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000747.jpg)
I love shepherds pie!!!! Go Cassidy!!!

Just got some rather bad news - one of my closest school friends husband died in a motorbike accident yesterday Oh Sharon -that's terrible, big hugs to you... how is your friend doing? Does she have lots of family and friends around her?

Sandy - I've decided not to sterilise now. .. That is so what l wanted to hear... l figure the same they put everything in their mouth right? Just another question on this though. For everybody who is giving water, are you giving them cool boiled water?
Oh and lastly - how are you mushing the food? I told you about my debacle with the steamed vegies, so l am moving to boiling... but are you using a blender, bamix type thing, food processer, mouille (sp?). My little piggy ate 2 tblsp solids mixed with 4 of breastmilk this morning - ate it all up and then had a feed... so we'll do the same tomorrow and if he eats it all up... well then l guess it is time to increase it.

He is screaming in his cot right now - he doesn't want to go to sleep - and l don't want him to stay awake - its a battle of the wills.!... l just went in and sang if your happy and you know it... which seems to have settled him.... lets hope so.

Bellas mum - you've probably already done all this - but will suggest it anyway just in case? Are you positive Bellas hungry? If you let her lie for 10-15 minutes will she drift back off to sleep or is she crying? Could it be wind (Coen had a problem with this and we found a warm heatbag on the tummy helped), or infants friends before bed. What ever it is - l hope it sorts itself out soon. Coen's only a relatively new member of the sleep all night club - and l don't know how l would cope going backwards.

mumslilspunks
31-07-2007, 12:22
Hello lovely ladies :wave:
Im back LOL
Sorry been MIA lately but getting the PND under control.
Ive tried to catch up so here we go.
Big Brother- Not a fan here,
Feeds- Billy is on solids but some days he just refuses to have anything. HATES farax but loves fruit and some veg. He wont take water either.
Sleeping- We moved his bed time to 9is (instead of 730) and it has seemed to have work, no more getting up for 2/3 feeds a night! He had needles yesterday and still slept last night.
Mon-Love the magnets! very clever.
Juzzy-- go cassidy! Billy wont sit yet either.
Hannah-Poor kitty, Hope you get him home soon,
sharon-:hugs:
Nikki-Hi dont think we have met yet, Im ren mum to Billy (nearly 6mnths) and Jack 2! look forward in chatting with you.
Huge hello to every one elese if i didnt mention you it was intentional (sp)
Im leaving the boys woth DH this weekend and heading to Melb for a little break :smiliedance: Cant wait but as per usual something will probably happen and i wont get to go. ****crossing everything****lol
Hope everyone is having a good day.

SuperFrog
31-07-2007, 12:25
Sharon - :hugs:
Hannah - :hugs:

For everybody who is giving water, are you giving them cool boiled water?
Oh and lastly - how are you mushing the food? I told you about my debacle with the steamed vegies, so l am moving to boiling... but are you using a blender, bamix type thing, food processer, mouille (sp?). My little piggy ate 2 tblsp solids mixed with 4 of breastmilk this morning - ate it all up and then had a feed... so we'll do the same tomorrow and if he eats it all up... well then l guess it is time to increase it.

Yes, cooled boiled water. I just make sure that I boil the kettle if I fill it up so I know I can always take it from there. (I don't drink tea or coffee, so it doesn't usually have boiling water in it).

I'm steaming my veggies with no probs. Mushing food with bamix, although my pumpkin and sweet potato is so mushy that it can be done with a fork.

Just a suggestion... do solids after a feed, not before. I started doing that until I was given the word to the wise from someone here. If bubs is full when bf they won't suck as hard or drain it properly, which lowers your supply. Might have been my problem there for a while.

I've added some cinnamon to Liam's pears & porridge this morning. Am hoping to increase the porridge ratio each day. Theory is that the cinnamon will be a consistent flavour so he won't notice the change too much.

Have just realised in a different light that I didn't clean Liam's face very well after his lunch... his forehead has dried up bits of peas and pumpkin on it. Think I could market it as a facial scrub? :laughing:

harleyq
31-07-2007, 14:50
I'm steaming my veggies with no probs. Mushing food with bamix, although my pumpkin and sweet potato is so mushy that it can be done with a fork.

Just a suggestion... do solids after a feed, not before. I started doing that until I was given the word to the wise from someone here. If bubs is full when bf they won't suck as hard or drain it properly, which lowers your supply. Might have been my problem there for a while.

I b/fed Coen both before and after the feed - he was still hungry -- so he got more... what are you steaming yours in? I did it in the microwave - perhaps that was my problem???

SuperFrog
31-07-2007, 15:30
... what are you steaming yours in? I did it in the microwave - perhaps that was my problem???

I do mine on the stove. I used to use my double boiler/steamer saucepan until I completely forgot about it the other day and burnt the bottom entirely. Now I'm using one of those collapsable steamer/collander thingies that sits inside the saucepan. I make sure I set a timer now and check there is enough water in the bottom. My house still stinks of burning burnt burn, and it was about a week ago! :rolleyes:

Oh, my fingers and thumb are all healed now after last week's calamities. No scars. :D

My parents were coming to visit today but had to cancel. My sister moved out of their place into a unit on the weekend, but she is now sick with the flu. She didn't get around to unpacking everything or doing any shopping so she stayed home from work today and Mum and Dad are looking after her.

Hope to catch the chat tonight. I'll bring the chocolates! :laughing:

*Sparkles*
31-07-2007, 15:43
Juz - YAY Cassi :yelclap:

Hannah - I hope your puddy cat recovers soon, sounds like he definitely used up one or more of his 9 lives! R is 6 months old and not interested in solids much, so you're not the only one not giving them. I will try him again this week though.

Ziggy - My thoughts and prayers go to your friend and her family at this sad time, how awful :hugs:

Mon - Loved the magnets. If you start selling on eBay, let me know as we can cross promote one another ;) We can have a little "business chat" this thursday at the meet (if you are going?)

Welcome Back Ren!

Us - R is a little :angel: at the moment. I have had a nasty headache for 2 days and he has let me rest and even slept in my bed beside me yesterday arvo for 2 hours. Then DH came home from work early so I could continue to rest. R is asleep in our bed again, he has been there since 2.30pm and he seems to like it. He still wakes a couple of times in the night but nothing major. His next lot of needles are on friday this week. I was meant to take him yesterday but I wasn't feeling well enough.

I hope to make it into chat tonight for a while. Our computers seem to be behaving at the moment *fingers crossed*

LMenz
31-07-2007, 16:20
I b/fed Coen both before and after the feed - he was still hungry

We need a little piggy smiley for Coen :laughing:

JoJoMart
31-07-2007, 16:20
Hannah - your poor cat, I hope he will be okay. It's horrible when they get hit by a car isn't it? As for solids, you're not the only one who hasn't started yet. Liam's paediatrician has said to start to help with the reflux so we will be starting soon.......just with rice cereal to begin with.

Juz - wow go Cassidy! Don't worry that she's not rolling much.....Liam is the opposite.....he rolls heaps onto his tummy and from tummy to his back but won't sit for long at all.

Bellas mum - I really hope Bella sleeps better tonight.

Ren - :fingerscrossed: you get some time off this weekend. How are things between you and DH now?

Sandy - Coen sure seems to like his food! How long did it take (how many days etc) to increase his solids from one teaspoon up to a tablespoon or more? Do you just start with a teaspoon and build it up the more they will take?

US - My mother's group are going to Chadstone Shopping centre tomorrow. There will be probably 6 to 8 of us so that's a lot of prams in one spot having coffee! I'm really tired today........not sure why.

LMenz
31-07-2007, 18:16
Jack's had a spewy day today. Doesn't do much for your self esteem to be covered in vomit all day long. :gloomy:

I took him to the doctor's today too as he's still got his cold.....all ok just lingering around. I'm so sick of him being so sick. I also showed the doc his dry skin patches and he said it's eczema. We got some cortizone cream...hopefully it will clear up. Will need to watch what foods he's having in case of a flair up...I think it could be apple. It seems to make him vomit more too

Nikki - :hugs: Sounds like things are rough for you atm. Hope you can get some sleep soon....Jack was doing a similar thing a while ago. I was like a walking zombie!

Sharon - :hugs: Your poor friend...good on you for staying with her today. I hope she's coping ok

Ren - Good to hear from you...glad your feeling better! Enjoy the break!

Hels - How's the head? Not sure if I'll make it to the meet this week...will see how Jack's feeling.

Well that's it...all caught up :D Hope everyone else is travelling ok

harleyq
31-07-2007, 18:59
We need a little piggy smiley for Coen :laughing: Here Here!!!

Sandy - Coen sure seems to like his food! How long did it take (how many days etc) to increase his solids from one teaspoon up to a tablespoon or more? Do you just start with a teaspoon and build it up the more they will take?
Day 1 - 1 tsp of farex -- 2 tsp breastmilk
Day 2 & 3 - 2 tsp of farex - 4 tsp breastmilk
Day 4 - 2 tsp of carrots - 4 tsp breastmilk
He ate it but it didn't seem to go down quite as easily as the farex.
Day 5 - - 1 tsp each of carrots & farex- 4 tsp breastmilk (all mixed together) This was very popular so l mixed up another batch (half as much) - he ate all that up - l gave in (couldn't be bothered mixing anymore and breastfed him again....)
Day 6 - 1 tbls each of carrots & farex- 4 tblsp breastmilk (all mixed together) -- he ate it all up and l gave him a breastfeed afterwards...

Tomorrow l will introduce broccoli, l will go with same amounts as yesterday - 1 tblsp each of farex and brocoli - if he eats all that up and wants more then l will up it to 1.5 tblsp of each.

I'm just playing with it a bit atm to be honest - l don't really mind if he is still hungry at the end of it cos l will just give him a breastfeed and then up it the next day - l feel like l have some time up my sleeve cos he is not yet 6 months and so l don't have this pressure of trying to get him onto solids quickly....

My plan (for now - it might change) is to stick to one solids meal a day (and as much booby juice as he likes) until he is 6 months - if he starts looking for more frequent booby juice (more often than every 3 hours) then l will introduce another solids feed.

Not sure if that makes sense - but it does in my tiny little brain so thats the plan.:detective:

harleyq
31-07-2007, 19:40
I had some time to kill and l just went and read some of the posts from our first after baby thread (march) -- wow -we have all come such a long way -- its really funny to see how the issues have changed - l might have to see if l can get back into our pregnancy threads...

5 minutes later...
I found one of my earlier posts - wow it brings back memories (l am smiling like a bl00dy idiot) :rolleyes:
"My DH and l have been debating when to tell people - l know lots of people hold out until after they have past the dreaded 12 week milestone... and l kinda understand why... but even if something did go wrong :fingerscrossed: don't you need the support of your closest confidantes to help you through it?

I'm five weeks - due feb 19th (our wedding anniversary) with our first -- l'd love to hear your feedback about when you have told people in the past with past pregnancies ... or your plans for this one...

We were thinking of making the decision when to tell after our first ultrasound... but no real reason for this, other than - we might know more than we do now..."

and my first ever post - it was two days after l got the confirmation l was pregnant!!!
"I got the call saying we were pregnant after treatment for annovulation and pcos, falling pregnant on our first try was completely unexpected - but great!
I am also looking for an OB in Melbourne - possibly in FPH... all thoughts, advice appreciated... we're due Feb 19"

Anybody else care to share there very first post on bubhub?

*Sparkles*
31-07-2007, 20:12
I am back (did anyone miss me???? :p )
We had a great holiday, the weather was really good and we went out and did something everyday. I had to take it easy walking around though, mainly because bubs likes to sit really low sometimes. One night we were in a restaurant and he was so low that I had to undo my maternity shorts, buttons, zipper and all :laughing:
We went to Australia Zoo, I have been 3 times now and it has changed so much. Very sad to see all the memorial tributes to Steve Irwin. I always seem to bump into Terri when I am there and this time was no exception. We had a little chat and I told her how impressive the zoo is now, so she was grateful to hear that. She looked ok considering everything and is back working around the zoo which must help take her mind off everything.
I found out that bubs doesn't like flying very much, especially the take-off and landing so it must be the air pressure?

My sick cat ended up back in the vets before we left as I wasn't happy with how he was progressing. So we had one cat at the cattery and one at the vets. They both came home last night so I am keeping :fingerscrossed: that we don't need to go back to the vets again, it has cost us a fortune so far.
I have put some holiday photos on our baby's webpage in the photo gallery, the link is in my siggie if anyone wants a squizz.

We are doing bub's nursery this weekend so I am excited about that.
With regards to clothes, I have a range from 0000 to 00 and they are all different sizes so I think we should be covered now unless he is a tiny premmie (hope not).
The pram we bought will fit in our boot as we have a Toyota Kluger, we should get the baby bag in there too but not much else.
We hired a Toyota Yaris in Noosa and it hardly had any boot, couldn't even get a suitcase in there so that sort of car would be hopeless to fit a pram into.

Anyway, glad to hear everyone is well, we are all popping out now by the sounds of it. I gained a kilo this last week and yet I didn't eat badly whilst away so it's all bubs and boobs I think lol.

This is the oldest post of mine that I could find. I posted it on 10th Oct last year in the due in January thread. It was just after we got home from Noosa.

icugal
31-07-2007, 20:16
hehehe... have a look at this girls.

My oh-so-short TTC diary from June 2006 :)

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=24085

It's so strange reading that knowing that Kaelan was the result of that BFP :)

bAaM
31-07-2007, 20:20
Its been awhile i have been really busy with work. I thought i would drop in to give you all an update.

We are doing really well been a little sick with the flu but the kids are great.
Marissa is defenatly on the move now she isn't crawling properly yet but she rolles around and army crawls. She said her first word last week and of cause it had to be DAD:rolleyes:
(loving the new icons)
She is still only on one solid a day but s getting big i will post some pics next time.

Andrew is doing really well at school apart from beening banned from playing with another little boy cause they had a fight over who loves one of the girls in there class the most (BTW he is only in prep) my boy in starting early:laughing:
Boys will be boys.

Everything else is great i'm going over to Tangaloma Island on the 18th for the weekend to pat the dolphins for our 3 yr anniversary cant wait for that.

I hope you and bubs are all doing well.
I will try and get on a little more.

Alicia
xxxxx

harleyq
31-07-2007, 20:31
Loved reading the TTC diary Penny!!! it bought back very happy memories for me!

harleyq
31-07-2007, 20:50
I just wanted to be the 600th post! Hello!

SuperFrog
31-07-2007, 21:50
I just had to go back and find my very first post, and here it is! And yes, as I predicted, the novelty has worn off. :laughing:

I've been following the progress of all the Feb Mum's-to-be for a few weeks now and finally decided that I should come join the party. Better late than never hey? So a big hello to everyone and I hope I'm not being a party-crasher.

We are expecting out first bub on Feb 8, although I've had a bit of a rough time with gestational diabetes, and am now on insulin, and my OB says that I'll probably be induced early. Will have to wait and see I guess.

Had to finish work a little earlier than expected and I'm currently in the process of adjusting to my new domestic role. Have just done the first washing load of baby clothes. They are just so small and cute! I'm sure the novelty will wear off after I've washed them a hundred times, but I can't stop smiling every time I see them hanging on the clothes horse

In the middle of putting an extension on our house (what were we thinking??!), and it doesn't look like it will be finished before the baby arrives. I'm not too stressed about it though. Figure I'll just go with the flow. Actually, that's been my philosophy throughout the whole pregnancy, and will be our birth plan as well!

I'm looking forward to being able to chat with people who understand the whole pregnancy thing and how I'm feeling. And I can't wait to meet our baby... we decided not to find out if it is a boy or a girl but the suspense is killing me!

juzzy
31-07-2007, 22:12
this was not my first post.... but its the oldest one i can find from our other thread

well i have my scan in about 35 mins... just waiting for DP to come and pick me up (thankfully its only a suburb or 2 away!!) im so scared!!

everyone keeps telling me its a boy hopefully we will get to find out tonite!!!

am terrified that something is wrong with the bub, but i felt kicks today for the first time so thats got to be a good sign right???

AAAAAAAAArrrrrrrrrgggggggggggHHHHHHHHHH SO NERVOUS!! Will report back later and let you all know what happened!!

Cheers!!

icugal
31-07-2007, 23:36
I have just spent hours reading our old threads (thanks Sandy !!). I particularly loved re-reading the January and February threads from this year... I got to re-live everyones birthing experiences all over again... including my own.

I highly recommend reading the threads !! (makes you realise though how many of our girls no longer post anymore)

icugal
01-08-2007, 00:19
Just realised it's now August... so I've started a new thead here..

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1750319