View Full Version : May 2006 Mummies (pt 7)
shereejoy
01-07-2007, 09:54
Hey girls I am looking for a particular toy for Lachlan that I have seen. I have found something similar on EBAY but to get anyone to freight it to me is impossible. Been searching websites all afternoon, so thought I would run it by you all.
It is a house without a roof and only half walls. The toddler can open the door and walk in. I have seen on EBAY this afternoon a Little Tikes Activity Garden Mail Box that appears it is only on the States EBAY site, so no use to me. And the other one was a Little tikes ZOO, but again on EBAY. Can't find anything like this on the online stores, can anyone help.
Here are some links to show you what I am talking about:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Little-Tikes-ACTIVITY-GARDEN-MAILBOX-Playpen-COMPLETE_W0QQitemZ260132132571QQihZ016QQcategoryZ2 574QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/LITTLE-TIKES-ZOO_W0QQitemZ170126549579QQihZ007QQcategoryZ19179Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting
Buddha Bubbas
01-07-2007, 15:42
Sheree - I have seen the first one im my local toy library so you must be able to get it here.
I just looked at the second one. Maybe you could post on BH asking if anyone lives close by to Dapto. If you win maybe they could post it to you?? :fingerscrossed:
Is Little Tikes in Australia? Like a head office? Maybe give them a call.
new thread huh? noice.
Hey BB, how you doing?
I don't know Sheree about the toy, I'd just get a big box and cut out some windows and a door and paint it if I were you.
Em, you should come all the way down here and knit with us, so fun, we gas bag more than anything, tomorrow we are going to Ziggies Star's house.
Carolyn, that cracked me up about the cow!!! How funny. I'd hide it so no one would eat it :)
Ohh kids yelling, gotta run, take care all and I'm trying really hard to not eat junk Scouty so hopefully I don't actually have to do that horrible thing called exercise.
shereejoy
01-07-2007, 18:47
Thanks Buddha, but I think it would be too big for Australia Post.
Mel - we have one at our CHN office and he loves it, opening and closing the door, in and out, in and out! Lol.
Africamum
01-07-2007, 20:25
Ohh kids yelling, gotta run, take care all and I'm trying really hard to not eat junk Scouty so hopefully I don't actually have to do that horrible thing called exercise.
Mel, I can buy nearly 400g of Lindt Chocolate in Dubai for about $US5 (I think it is about $10 Aus for 100g), so naturally I stock up and buy a couple of kilos:eek:
Then I eat it, and then a push the pram a couple of kms down to the main gate and back.
A toy library, I can only dream.
Ok back to the cow, we think that the cow herder has actually collected the cow back. And there is a fair chance that Simon (the chief geo) is able to pick our cow out of the herd! So there is no way of proving it. I can imagine what corporate are going to say when they see an incident report of a lost/stolen cow!
I have been reading but have felt slack for posting lately :o sorry girls... Can't believe the amount of extra hours I have been conned into doing at work already (dammit he's gone! *rolls eyes*) and I haven't really gotten into a good routine as yet. However for the first time in a long time we are 'comfortable' in our money situation. It is the best feeling not having to live week to week all the time- so going back to work has been a great idea for us.
I cannot believe the amount of cr@p food I have been eating lately either!! I blame the cooler weather... But have been noticing my pants are a wee bit tight around the thighs :o so might have to do some of the dreaded exercise *faints at the thought* LOL
Well Rhianna is officially walking all the time. It is so cute! Today we went for a walk to the park which is about 50 meters from our house- it was the funniest thing. I love the way she toddles down the path, then spots something AMAZING (stick for example :laughing:) bends down picks it up, inspects it for a while before continuing down the path. LOL Was quite a long walk really... hehehe...
I am starting to get concerned though about her lack of talking. She says mummum, daddad, bubbub, and hello but that is all. I try not to worry about it, but other bubs seem to be doing it so much more by this age. She isn't too interested in copying sounds at all... She can copy actions, and knows the difference between things, like I say 'get the ball' and she will pick up the ball, and same with 'get the phone' etc... she knows which item is which- but has no interest in saying the names yet? Argh... LOL
She babbles constantly so maybe I am just not speaking the right language... ;)
Ok I swear I did read everything, but then we got a new thread and I forgot it all... hehehe I promise to try and keep up better now!
So sorry for the me, me, me post
Luff youse all xoxoxox
01-07-2007, 20:55
KDK - hey, that's enough with the funny cracks. I don't cope well with competition.
:laughing: Score one to Scouty. It's funny because it's not true, I'm thinking that perhaps you thrive on a little competition, Scout? Just a bit?
You both crack me up!
Thanks for the support Scout :hugs: I won't know where to start when I see whoever the EAP sends me off to!
Regarding the Implanon, I have to get a non-hormonal alternative ASAP! I am forgetting the Pill every few days :eek:. I try SO hard to remember but fail miserably. I even keep it with Mason's insulin, so when he does his 8.30pm injection, I take my pill at the same time... you'd think that would work! Nope..
Carolyn, the cow just knew what was happening and got the hell outta there :D
Mellll you have email hun! I am sooo green, I wanna knit with you and other BHers!
I have to aplologise guys... I mean to, but so often I don't reply individually to you all and it sucks and I feel really bad!
Sheree- I have the Little Tikes garden mailbox thing, got it for Ronan's 1st and it has been a hit! But it also doubles as nice decor... it looks so cute! Good for peek-a-boo and hiding things at night for kids to find in the morning, lol.
But I have to agree that the box with windows (we did little curtains too, lol) was even more of a hit! Still is, but they fight inside them and when Ronan hides underneath the box, Ariene climbs on and sits on it for ages, and Ronan's generally too nice to do anything but stay under there feeling miserable until she eventually hops off LOL!
shereejoy
01-07-2007, 21:01
Em - where did you buy it from?
Belinda - hello honey. Talking mmmm... Lachlan doesn't talk much either, and hey he still doesn't say Mum. But it doesn't help that Wade calls me old girl!!! Grrr... Glad you are enjoying work and did you enjoy your night out with Kev too? Whahooo on her walking. It is cute hey, Wade and I hung out downstairs alot today with lachlan, I ended up getting one of those climbing gym things and we were putting it together and he was just walking around in the back yard amusing himself. He is so much easier at the walking stage especially if he is no couped up inside. Loves it in the outdoors.
shereejoy
02-07-2007, 16:30
I have been sick today.......
I have not been great all week, but I wouldn't say I was sick. Just a terrible irritating cough. I have been up all week till 1.30am doing paperwork and then go to bed and then also trying to attend to Lachlan as he is night waking and ontop of all that I go to bed I and I have this terrible tickle, that makes me cough all night long. Sooo I don't get much sleep. We were meant to go next door last night for tea and they were doing a camp oven cook up, but I chose not too be out in the cold air, thank god I didn't, cause last night for me my cough was worse then ever. All week I have been saying to Wade, have you heard me coughing all week at night, and he says no, and yet a little whimper out of Lachlan he hears, what tha...... Anyway last night I did wake him and he was up getting me a glass of cold water and trying to find some drugs. He came home at 9.40am this morning and I was still in bed and so was Lachlan. Wade had given him his bottle at 6am this morning and put him back to bed with a water bottle, so I didn't hear a whimper out of him, sucking away on that water bottle, he didn't even wake me up. So when Wade got home he dressed lachlan, fed him some yoghurt and took him on the courier run with him. They got home at midday and I was still fast asleep. And to be quite honest I could go back to sleep right now too. I haven't eaten all day and don't even slightly feel hungry, really weird! But I can't really say I am sick of a cold or anything, just miserable and tired. I am guessing it has all just caught up with me again.
But then in the next breathe I just went to the loo, and the devil as you know it - AF is here, god dam it. CD26 too!!!! My cycles are all over the place since having Lachlan, once upon a time I use to have them every 28 days to the hour. I actually thought my cycle had corrected its a little, the last three months I have been 28, 28, 29 and now I am 26 geez, no wonder I can't get pregnant. Oh well when it is meant to be it will be I guess.
On a good note Lachlan is finally saying Mum, well it is a M word and he hasn't ever said any m words too date. I am so happy. And he ate well. I would really love another baby but if it meant that I wasn't meant to have another baby and Lachlan ate well for the rest of his life I would be happy. He has been such a good boy today when mummy was feeling off. I just layed on the lounge and I got lots of cuddles and kisses. I hope Lachlan is a smoocher with his mummy cause his dad never gives me cuddles and kisses.
Regarding the Implanon, I have to get a non-hormonal alternative ASAP! I am forgetting the Pill every few days :eek:. I try SO hard to remember but fail miserably. I even keep it with Mason's insulin, so when he does his 8.30pm injection, I take my pill at the same time... you'd think that would work! Nope..
OMG, I have THE BEST non-hormonal contraceptive for you.
Abstinence!
:laughing: Works a treat for me.
Mmm Dessert
02-07-2007, 20:10
My pledge to Scout:
I promise that, in future, I will leave all wisecracks to you. You are the funniest, the greatest and the most exercisiest of all May mummies. I can only hope that, some day, I can be half as hilarious as you.
***hangs head in shame and skulks away ***
:p
Mmm Dessert
02-07-2007, 20:15
And now I'm back!!
Sheree, just wanted to send you these :hugs: for AF arriving. Unfortunately, I know the feeling. Hope you're feeling better soon.
Billy, I don't have much of a talker, or even a walker. Will says a couple of things and imitates sounds, but he's not exactly setting the world on fire with his language skills. Given the potty mouths in this house, I'm just thankful that his first word didn't start with 'f'.
Em, good luck with the Implanon alternative. You sound like me - I can never remember to take pills when I'm supposed to. Dreadful.
Anyway, work tomorrow so better get some sleep. Will still waking once a night :banghead: since he's been sick, so I go to bed early to try and get a little rest...
Africamum
02-07-2007, 20:36
Scout - you are very funny however I would end up divorced very quickly.
Pookie -I was on implanon before I got pregnant and for some reason I never considered putting it back in. I didn't even realise that it was compatable in b/f (otherwise DH may have suggested it).
Sheree, I hope you are feeling better soon. More :hugs: for AF. (to ask a dumb question does CD stand for cycle day and if so does it start from Day 1 of AF) *blushes and hides blonde hair*
KDK, I hope Will is feeling better soon
Mel - goodluck with the knitting.
hi Billy, Still Dreaming and other May mummies out there.
Today I am waiting for AF, I have three HPT and I used 1 yesterday :bfn: It should have been day 29. I am annoyed with myself for testing so early and not having patientce. I feel a bit queasy and have done for a couple of days, but thats probably psychological at the thought of eating the cow! (No sign of the Cow, Cow 1 Geologist 0). AF could be today, tomorrow or the next day, who knows :fingerscrossed:
the good news is that a domestic washing machine has arrived onsite. YAY as of tomorrow I would be able to do my own laundry - thats really sad, I am excited at the thought of doing my own laundry :(
Ok, better look at this assignement (i need to at least check the due date cause I havent started)
Billy, I don't have much of a talker, or even a walker. Will says a couple of things and imitates sounds, but he's not exactly setting the world on fire with his language skills. Given the potty mouths in this house, I'm just thankful that his first word didn't start with 'f'.
Oh wow, maybe I have a split personality and KDK is my alter ego?? :confused: It's the only way that I can explain that Scout like crack in our previous thread and the high potential for a potty mouth child.
Billy - we have a few words here - Hello, Hi and Hiya are all used on a daily basis (with raise in the air of one hand at the same time). He can also say banana and duck. How can a baby say banana you ask?? I have no idea but when you hand him one, he says it. He's a child prodigy, I tell ya!
Sheree - hope you are feeling better today.
Carolyn - wow, excited about doing the washing. If my clothes were getting ruined, I would be excited too. That's a smart cow too - OMG, we eat them and they are smart?? :eek: I really shouldn't think about these things, I'm always five minutes away from being a vegetarian.
Sax had to go back to bed within an hour of getting up this morning - he was so damned cranky! Poor little thing. I hope that he is better when he gets up because he's got a play date with his best friend Zoe today.
My house cleaner starts today. Yay!!! So, so, so excited. :smiliedance:
dancingchipmunk
04-07-2007, 10:42
Hi everyone. Haven't popped in for a while so I thought I should at least say hi.
Cameron saw the peadiatrician on Monday and she tinks he's fine. He only weighs about 9.3kg but looks much bigger. He's walking, talking and hitting all milestones on time so I'm not too worried. We have a follow up in a couple of months.
When he was weighed I had to strip him naked and as soon as the nappy came off he started peeing all over the floor :o :laughing: . At least the nurse didn't seem to mind. I haven't been that emmbarassed in a while though.
Cameron slept through till 5am this morning :smiliedance: . He went back to slepp for a couple of hours but he hasn't slept that well since he was 4 months old. Back then it was right through the night but went downhill very quickly so :fingerscrossed: this keeps up.
Hope everyone is doing well and all bubbas are going great. We're having fun going for walks now, I never noticed how exciting stickes and leaves were untill now.
Untill next time, stay well.
04-07-2007, 21:17
Hey there DCM :D Sounds like Cameron weighs about the same as Ariene- and Ariene looks like she weighs more too!
Ariene also pees as soon as the nappy comes off, her fav thing to wee on (assuming she has a preference) is the bathmat.... every time!
That's so cute about the little walks.... it gets even cuter, when they start to talk about the sticks and leaves, singing songs about sticks and leaves, etc... Ronan loves to talk about the wind or if it's a sunny day etc, and at the moment he loves to sing a song they have on playschool a lot - "wet washing hanging on the line, drying very quickly, when the weather's fine" ect, because it's about wind :)
Scout, I have no problem with the idea that I eat smart animals :p I'm not a hippy after all! There's a great Threadless (+ dot com) tee that I actually got Mace for last Christmas that says 'Meat Is Murder' then in smaller font underneath: "tasty, tasty murder..." I love it:p
04-07-2007, 21:19
Carolyn.. :fingerscrossed: you get that :bfp: ! Especially with how difficult it can be for you and Greg to be in the same country at the right time!
Tam.. you around hun? Just wondering! How are you mate?
shereejoy
04-07-2007, 21:30
Yeah I think Tam has gone AWOL!!!! Tam where are you come out from wherever you are. LOL.
shereejoy
04-07-2007, 21:33
Carolyn - yes CD stands for Cycle day and CD1 is the first day of AF.
Scout - how was the house cleaner, awesome i bet!
Well everyone Lachlan has finally said MUM! Me is so happy.
Scout, I have no problem with the idea that I eat smart animals :p I'm not a hippy after all! There's a great Threadless (+ dot com) tee that I actually got Mace for last Christmas that says 'Meat Is Murder' then in smaller font underneath: "tasty, tasty murder..." I love it:p
That's funny, terrible but funny. Although it then makes me think of a song by The Smiths called Meat is Murder...."the flesh you so fancifully friy, the meat in your mouth as you savour the flavour of murder". A very melancholy song with the sound of grinders in the background. :barf: And CHEESE, don't get me started on cheese!!!
That's very cute about Ronan singing Play School songs! I can't wait for Sax to do that. Actually, I have a confession - I watched Play School the other day and Saxon was actually asleep...Simon Burke was on and I think he is hot! :o
DCM - hiya! It has been ages since we heard from you. Sax isn't overly huge either, just on 10kg I think. Sax is soooooo long though - he towers over the other kids at daycare.
Sheree - yay for you. Mum is a special word to here. I must admit, I even get excited to hear Dad too which is good because that what Saxon mostly says!
Carolyn - any further news? Are you knocked up yet? God, isn't that the most dreadful term? I can't believe they just released a movie with the same name!
I've got yet another cold! The third one in 3 months. Then again it is going around work and I've been pushing myself really hard (despite the fact that I'm not meant to). I keep getting into a lather at work - our work environment is cr@p at the moment. It's making me very career oriented again - bugger!
shereejoy
05-07-2007, 11:20
Man oh man, I feel so nauseous and ordinary, feel like I want to be sick! Don't know what is wrong with me. I got AF 2 days early, so I couldn't be pregnant, but gee I certainly feel like I am! What the hell is going on?
Africamum
05-07-2007, 13:27
:bfn: :( next month :fingerscrossed:
I bought Ryan a T shirt the other day which said
Batteries not included
I thought it was funny, cause Ryan has been non stop lately
Sheree, thats how I felt this week, it must be something going around!
Mmm Dessert
05-07-2007, 14:28
Carolyn and Sheree, hope you both feel better soon. Bummer about the :bfn:
We've just been for our weekly trip to the doctor's with yet another ear infection. Apparently Will has some 'super-bug' that is becoming resistant to the antibiotics, so the infection keeps coming back. :banghead:
I hate to think how painful it is for my poor little man - the other night he wouldn't sleep at all unless he was in my arms. He screamed the house down if I even tried to put him down. :crying:
Scout, I find it really hard not to get involved in things at work. I really enjoy what I do and love the 'me time'. The only down side is working in an all-male environment, which I think may have rubbed off a bit too much, since they are threatening to buy me a 'swear jar'. :o Apparently I should have enough in there for an overseas holiday by the end of the month... I'm trying to cut down though. Honest.
DCM and Pookie, we had Will weighed today. He's just on 10kgs and, judging by how little he's been eating lately, he'll be staying there for a while. Other people might think that's small, but I feel every kilo when I lug him up and down our stairs!
Now for my weekly question: for those of you bottle feeders - are you still giving bottles or have you switched to cup-only. I'm getting mixed messages. One (very bossy, know-it-all) friend insists Will should only drink from a cup. I sent him a cup of milk to day care and they told me he cried with jealousy when he saw the other kids sucking on their bottles. (Yes, he has dreadful food envy...)
Where is everyone else???
Africamum
05-07-2007, 16:47
KDK, Sorry about the super resistant bug that will keeps getting. We have had three ear infections and they suck.
Ryan was weighed yesterday and he is also 10kg. And he is getting heavy to lug around.
Ryan is still breastfed however he is taking water etc from a cup. He can use a normal cup, he is not too fond of sippy cups. He is only taking a cup because he has had a long standing hate relationship with bottles. I bought a heap of different bottles and sippy cups in Australia, none of them were of any great success.
05-07-2007, 20:41
Now for my weekly question: for those of you bottle feeders - are you still giving bottles or have you switched to cup-only. I'm getting mixed messages. One (very bossy, know-it-all) friend insists Will should only drink from a cup. I sent him a cup of milk to day care and they told me he cried with jealousy when he saw the other kids sucking on their bottles. (Yes, he has dreadful food envy...)
KDK- Hey :) Can I have a shot at your weekly question. Just give him bottles :yes: It's ok, it's fine- it's obviously such a great comfort to him, and it's so important to him and you that he is happy and content in day care... So I say scrap the advice of your (single and childless??) friend and let him have the perfect comfort of a bottle!
Try out a few 'bottle-like' sippy cups to see if they work, if you want (if you are using Avent bottles, there is a soft silicon spout that fits the bottles) but don't be surprised if nothing compares!! Ronan was bottle obsessed for some time but Ariene has never got into it at all and is happy with a cheap cup. They are all so different... But Ronan was happy at childcare and on a bad day a bottle would fix everything. He will give it up eventually, when he is finished and 'over' the bottle and no longer needs it and I PROMISE that will be before he starts school! :D
05-07-2007, 20:45
Cosmic, how are you going? How's work and study and motherhood all fitting together? I think aboutcha a bit and wonder how everything is hun! :hugs:
Africamum
06-07-2007, 21:31
Hello All
Cosmic, how are you going? I will second pookies question. I am really interested in how you deal with the child/uni/husband balance, becuase I think I am failing miserably.
Queenie, We are you, we miss you.
Scout how is work going, how is your cleaner?
Sheree I hope you are feeling better
pookie and KDK Hello
Trish, can PM your details on where your foster? (is that the right word) child lives.
Finally I have succumbed to getting a house girl, I feel that although I dont cook, clean, work or have a life that I am unable to devote suffiencient time to looking after Ryan and getting my assignments done. I actually find that I was doing better when I was working FIFO and doing my uni work while onsite. Now I get two sentences in and I am chasing after small people. I also feel that it is time to have some control over the washing and cleaning situation (without having to do it myself :eek: ) How sad is that! DH keeps asking why I want another child when he thinks I cant cope with the one I have. I figuring that because I live in the middle of the jungle that I am doing ok!
So as of tomorrow I have Amina (house girl) full time, I know it is excessive but it costs me per month less than two days in Australian daycare. She will do my cleaning, I will teach her to do the washing (my way) and look after Ryan so I can get some work done. I only needed her 2-3 hours per day but it was an all or nothing scenario.
My latest assignment a case study on corporate childcare. I have learned a different set of questions to ask the childcare people next time i leave Ryan in day care such as
How much a day due you spend on food per child,
What proportion of your staff are qualified, (teaching, administration and cooking staff)
do you employ cleaning staff or do you expect the teaching staff to clean toilets etc 5 days a week as well.
What proportion of time does your staff devote to administration while caring for the children
what is the rate you fall below the minimum staffing levels etc. (once a week, month, never).
i shouldn't be surprised but for some reason I am.
shereejoy
07-07-2007, 19:28
I am feeling better thanx Ladies, I tested just incase and it was a BFN. I am glad cause I was bleeding and that would have freaked me out being pregnant and bleeding like that, so all is good!
Lachlan too loves his bottles, god I dread the day I take that away from him. Who would have thought hey that he would love his bottles so much after everything we went thru.
Yeah Cosmic, pop in and say hello, we miss you!
Bubble*Crazy
07-07-2007, 20:03
Sorry I've not been around, I've been madly planning a wedding that's getting out of control :laughing:. Compared to the backyard casual 'event' we were having, it's now turned into a 140 guest pretty full-on 'affair'. It'll be good though, and worth it I'm sure!
Ethan's come down with conjunctivitis this arvo and also a temp. He wasn't happy and Jamie was at work so in between his crying (open mouth style) I had to squirt panadol down his throat :crying: which made him gag, but it worked as within 10 minutes he settled down and his temp dropped too thank goodness.
School holidays have just started (well not really if you count the weekend!) and I'm already about to lose the plot. I love her to death, but geez, Tayla certainly knows how to push my buttons! Only 17 days left till school goes back ... not that I'm counting.
Glad you are feeling better Sheree. I've been trying to keep up with the posts, but just don't get a chance to post.
Oh, Ethan had his first day at daycare Wednesday. It was like returning to my old stompin' ground as it was where Tayla went and a lot of the staff are still there which is nice. It went pretty well, I think?! However, the comment from one of the girls when I picked him up made me chuckle "Geez, he's pretty full-on isn't he?". My response "Aaaaah, yeah. Why do you think he's here?!" It'll be interesting to see how he goes this week. We really should be saving the daycare money for the wedding, but sheesh, I need a break from my little tornado and a chance to actually vacuum my floor (sad, I know!).
Have a great lazy Sunday everyone. Miss you all :hugs:.
Hi guys...I have a late April bubs and not much happens in the April thread...I'm wondering if you would mind if joined your thread??? Honestly feel free to say no...It's just we have been in Russia this year and will be til December. There is no kinda mum support and I love talking with other mums about their same age bubbas...
07-07-2007, 20:27
My latest assignment a case study on corporate childcare. I have learned a different set of questions to ask the childcare people next time i leave Ryan in day care such as
How much a day due you spend on food per child,
What proportion of your staff are qualified, (teaching, administration and cooking staff)
do you employ cleaning staff or do you expect the teaching staff to clean toilets etc 5 days a week as well.
What proportion of time does your staff devote to administration while caring for the children
what is the rate you fall below the minimum staffing levels etc. (once a week, month, never).
i shouldn't be surprised but for some reason I am.
Thanks so much for posting that Carolyn... I don't recall ever thinking to ask questions like that when I was looking for childcare for Ronan, while I was working and before Ariene was born. They are very good questions indeed.... do post other stuff like this that you come across, it is all good to know :yes:
And yay for the house girl! Isn't it all an entirely different world? I can't comprehend what it must be like...
Anyway, you are going to me much less stressed and able to study more effectively, and I know how important that is. I hope that Amina starting today has gone without a hitch!
07-07-2007, 20:38
Hi guys...I have a late April bubs and not much happens in the April thread...I'm wondering if you would mind if joined your thread??? Honestly feel free to say no...It's just we have been in Russia this year and will be til December. There is no kinda mum support and I love talking with other mums about their same age bubbas...
JO! :smiliedance:
Of course you can join our thread!! We'd love to have you here! Please tell us about yourself, your bub, your family, and all that :yes: Another international mum... cool bananas. Oh and do note that we have frequent posters and those that don't get a chance to post often, but never feel like you have to post all the time to be accepted and thought about in here.. you can just start again where you left off and all is good :)
Tam!
140 ppl!! Whoa! How excitement... that's going to be one awesome :party: and no wonder all that wedding planning has been stealing you from us!! That's so awful about Ethan being sick... Thankfully you got that temp down, but the poor mite, it sucks hey? How's his eye today? Sounds like he settled into childcare really well, perfect!
shereejoy
07-07-2007, 20:57
Hi Jo, the more the merrier, as Em said. Oh and wasn't Elijah a big baby born? Wow!
Tam - gee you have been busy, wondered where you had got too. Poor Ethan! I hope the rest of the wedding planning goes ok and it is what you ever dreamed of. Mwah. We miss you around here.
We just watched A Night at the Museum. Not bad.
Anyway nite, I am having an early one for a change. We leave for Brissy on Thursday on the plane, so have a big day tomorrow of finishing paperwork and packing. How do you pack limited stuff, I am always a shocker, winter is hard too!!!!!!
HoopDeeDoo
07-07-2007, 21:18
It's been a few days between posting, i've been reading but not had a chance to post.
Sheree - hope you are feeling better today
Carolyn - Good news about your house girl, wish I had one LOL
Tam - Wow that sounds fantastic, good on you for going all out!! Also good to hear childcare went well, and good luck with the school holidays.
Scout - hope you're feeling better today
mummyj - welcome, Lachlan was born on the 29th of april (he was due in june though), and they let me join in, so you are welcome to too :p
Emma - good to hear you sounding much chirpier (is that a word? :laughing: )
Well I went to BigW (sorry Billy for shopping at the opposition LOL) and put most of the xmas and Noah's b'day pressies on layby YAY! I got the fisher price kitchen set to share, and a tricycle each, Noah a Wiggles one, and Lachlan the one that converts from being able to be pushed, to be able to be ridden. And for Noah's birthday a lightening macqueen and a megablocks racing track thingo. So I am being very restrained this year and minimising the amount of toys they will be getting. My SIL on the other hand is spoiling them rotten, and her layby for my children was more than mine, she got a Thomas set, a mini lap top and various other things for the boys.
I still want to get them the mini trampoline in the Target catalogue with the bar across it though, I'm hoping I can talk my mum and dad into getting them that.
Other then that haven't been up to much except trying to keep the boys entertained and happy.
Oh and I got Wiggles tickets for December Wooo Hooo!:smiliedance:
I had front row seats and the bloody site crashed, and by the time I got back in I got 7 rows from the front. So I'm still happy with that but as you can imagine I was sooooo frustrated at the time going "NOOOOOOO"
Anyway hello to all the may mummies!!!!
JO! :smiliedance:
Of course you can join our thread!! We'd love to have you here! Please tell us about yourself, your bub, your family, and all that :yes: Another international mum... cool bananas. Oh and do note that we have frequent posters and those that don't get a chance to post often, but never feel like you have to post all the time to be accepted and thought about in here.. you can just start again where you left off and all is good :)
Ok...so us...Well there's me (Jo), my hubby (Tim) and Elijah (or Eli for short). We are sydney people at heart...we lived in Sydney til January when we moved to Russia. We are here just trying to learn Russian. It's been awesome, but a whole another world!!! Maybe not quite as extreme at Africamum, but different...
Don't know what else to say. Eli loves it here - it's summer right now. Next week we are going on a Russian kids summer camp. Most of the kids are orphans and aged 3-18. So excited!!!!! Eli will just love it with all the other kids and stuff...
Was going to ditch the dummy soon, but then he started getting his chunky molars through...so he could have the dummy ANYTIME!!! Any sign of any other molars???
Thanks for letting me join. x x x
HoopDeeDoo
07-07-2007, 21:55
Lachlan hasn't got his eye teeth yet, but he is getting molar lumps. So I don't think they are coming anytime soon, but they must being painful, he's had the red cheeks and being a reall mummy's boy at the moment.
Which is something else frustrating me ATM. He is wanting me all the time, he comes and grabs my pants and shakes my and lets out this huge squeal until I pick him up, and then doesn't want to be put down. But he's refusing to say Mum. I ask him to say mum, and he giggles and says "DADADA" :crying:
07-07-2007, 22:16
No mumum here too... just 'dada, dada' alll the time.. at the door waiting for him to get home. While jumping on his tummy. While getting fed by me because she wants him to do it... you get the picture! Daddy's girl!!
HoopDeeDoo
07-07-2007, 22:22
Oh while I'm :ecomcity: Lachlan is doing this really cute thing at the moment when Noah is jumping he tries to jump, but instead he just kinda shuffles his feet and he screams hyterically in laughter, it's sooo cute, I so wish I had a video camera at time like that
Bubble*Crazy
07-07-2007, 22:28
Welcome MummyJ. Of course you're welcome, and yes as Em (Pookisossige) said post as often or as infrequent as you like ... and we don't bite ... much :devil6: Hehehehe. Would love to hear how different things are there to being at home. It must get difficult/frustrating at times. Ethan is still trying to cut his 8th tooth (bottom row) so I can't really get in (he hates it), but I can only imagine how painful it is for the poor littlies. Hope it doesn't drag too long for Eli.
Em (HDD), how frustrating for you. When Ethan's clingy he isn't clingy iykwim? He wants to be picked up, but then is not happy so you put him down and then he wants to be picked up .... he is jabbering quite a lot now (obviously gets that from me!) and can say Dad, Mum (not as often as dad), bow-ba (for shower. Very cute!), hot (gosh, he says this ALL DAY!) and a type of 'Tayla'. He also runs to the door when I say let's go and pick up Tayla from school. I love this stage they're going thru!
We went shopping this arvo (before Ethan got sick) and it's the first time I've actually shopped after the first day of toy sales and actually walked out with nothing. Tayla was with me, so I couldn't be bothered trying to make excuses that she'll no doubt pick me up on. May try and get Nanna to have them both one day this week. If I can be bothered!
Scout - I forget to send you some get well vibes earlier, sorry. Hope you are feeling better :hugs:.
Sheree - I was about 10kgs over in luggage weight when we went to Sydney (and home again!) and they must have just felt sorry for me trying to struggle with all the bags, a pram and Ethan as they put it through no questions asked. They put the big overweight tag or whatever on it and sent it down the shute! Me not complain!
Hehehehe, I haven't been on for ages and look, now you can't get rid of me!
mummyJ WELCOME!!!! I have to ask, how come you moved from Sydney to Russia??? :eek:
I hope you can beat Africamum's (Carolyn) cow story!! Go back a few pages to hear about the cow someone bought back for dinner that escaped.
shereejoy
08-07-2007, 10:55
Gee we are talking about Daddy's boys/girls. When daddy is home, Lachlan doesn't want a bar of me. Truely I may as well not be in the room at the minute! I feel so unloved............... :(
shereejoy
08-07-2007, 10:59
So Jo you are just over there to learn the language, is that right?
Hi Tam, nice to see you back. Good to know too that you had excess luggage. I am more worried, cause when we come back both my sisters will be at work and I will have to get to the train station to get to the airport, so with 2 suitcases a stroller, a high chair and a foam insert for the portacot, I am not sure how i am going to do it!!!!! I am going to hire a carseat and a portacot I have decided. Any other tips lol.
Lachlan is saying mum atm, but like dadad, not sure he really knows what it means. Oh and the squeling to be picked up, is driving me insane!
Yeah, we are here learning the language...But that is because we plan to move here in the future...We plan to do Christian mission/aid work here.
Next week we are going on a Russian kids summer camp with kids aged 3-18. Most of them are orphans. We are presenting them with dental, drug/alcohol and sexual health programs. We are SOOOO excited!!!
Don't think I can beat the cow story! Sorry girls!!!!
Hate to tell you, but I have such a little mummy's boy!!! He is heaps more affectionate with me. Totally loves his dad, but he would choose to hang out with me more if he had a choice.
shereejoy
08-07-2007, 14:12
Wow what an interesting life you have! Good on you! You guys must be very caring people.
awww, posted a long post yesterday and it disappeared, grrr. I'm gonna have a sulk and then come back
BTW still no walking here!!
Hi all :wave: Sorry I have been MIA computer has been dead the last few days grrr- not sure how long it will work now either so we'll see...
Welcome Jo! You certainly do lead an interesting life!
Aww Mel that sux when you lose a post (((HUGS))) I hate it too... Hope you come back soon.
I have read the last few pages but can't remember what I was going to post LOL Oh yeah- Emma I bought stuff at Big W too hehehe :D
We have 12 teeth here now- 4 of which are molars (2 top 2 bottom). Surprisingly we didn't have much trouble with them at all! She seems to be cutting teeth like a mad woman, every time I can get my finger in her mouth (without her biting it off!!) there are more teeth haha... so there could be even more now I guess- but at last check, 12. ;)
Ok sorry girls another me, me, me post... Good luck for Sheree and Carolyn for some BFP's soon :fingerscrossed:
Mwah xoxoxox
shereejoy
09-07-2007, 17:58
Hi Belinda, nice to see you back! Mwah
shereejoy
09-07-2007, 18:20
I think these children of ours are just way too busy these days, no time for nappy changes (screams blue murder), don't want to be constrained to a carseat or a highchair, too busy too eat!!! They really are understanding so well atm though, it is unbelievable!
THIS IS A MUST READ - SO SO CUTE!
It was so cute last night when daddy was cooking dinner and I was meant to bath Lachlan, but then the phone rang. So daddy had to stop cooking dinner and bath him. When I got off the phone I went in and took over. There is this set of drawers that I use to leave all his socks, until I got sick of picking them up all over the house! So I have put them in a high drawer now. Anyway I was drying Lachlan and daddy puts a pair of socks in the drawer he can get too and I said what are you doing and he said you will see! Anyway I no sooner put Lachlan down on the ground and he walked over to the draw picked out the socks passed it to me with a ta, dropped to the ground on his bum and lifted his foot for me to put the sock on. How cute is that! This kid loves socks and shoes, which I realise is such a good thing.
We went for a trip to Emerald today (1 hour away) and I was expecting Lachlan to play up (he just hates the car seat these days), but nope he was treasure. Then I had my nail appt at the lady's house and he again was a good boy, just had to keep on passing him biscuits. But then we went to the shops and OMG, he wouldn't eat, squeled and screamed like a pork chop. Then he spotted a car, so he went and got in it. I let him stay for 5 mins and then said, comon we gotta go now. Ohh no bad move mummy. I was carrying down the mall and he was screaming and crying. We got 200m down the mall and I thought he may have forgotten so put him down to walk, nope he turned around and started running back. Little monkey.
They certainly know what they want these days don't they. And gee if they don't get it........
Africamum
09-07-2007, 20:37
Hello All,
Welcome MummyJ I am looking forward to sharing story's of your exciting life in Russia.
Mel - dissapointed about losing the post.
Sheree - I am so glad that there are no shopping centers near here.
Thats all at the moment I am in assignment hell. It is over due and I have had to grovel for an extension.
My DH greg saw my signature the other day and just about exploded - he thought DH meant something else:laughing: So i will have to change it now:cool:
See you all at the other side of this essay
Bubble*Crazy
09-07-2007, 23:00
Hi everyone! :wave:
Sheree - that is sooo cute about the socks. Ethan is getting to the independant stage too - wanting to go when & where it suits HIM. He's sure to let me know if he's not happy about something too. Full on tantrums. Me guesses he gets that from Tayla!
Billy & Mel - so glad you've both got your shopping sorted. This is the first time in many years I've not raced out and layby'd pressies. I honestly can't be bothered, don't know what to buy the kids, and don't know what sort of budget we'll have with the wedding only 1 month before Christmas. I'll probably end up shopping in the November sales - you know, the week of my wedding or something stupid!
Carolyn - hope you get the assignment done in time (with the extension). How's the hired help going? Had a chuckle at the "DH" comment too!
I'd been using over the counter drops since Saturday for Ethan's conjunctivitis and today his eyes literally puffed up. (Bleth 10, I think it's called. DON'T USE IT for your littlies as it's supposedly not sensitive enough for them, I've since found out ... thanks to the chemist who gave me the original stuff:rolleyes:) ... it was shocking today, so I took him to the doctors this arvo at 4pm. Turns out his conjunctivitis is bacterial (I thought it would be normally??) and he's on antibiotics. Poor bugger HATES the drops and just screams when he sees a little tube coming at him :crying:. Looks like our second week of daycare is out, and $60 down the drain!
On a positive, don't think I've mentioned before, but I'm usually finishing giving Ethan his dinner just before Jamie gets home. He hears the garage door go up and starts saying "Dad, dadda, daddy" etc until Jamie opens the door and then goes totally crazy saying "bow-ba" (shower). Think he likes his shower times with Daddy :D.
Sheree - I wish Eli was like your son!!! Eli is constantly taking off his shoes and socks...always at the most inconvenient of times (i.e. on the metro escalators when I'm alone, out shopping...basically anywhere you don't want him to!!!). Such a shocker...He's really well behavaed normally, but that's one thing i really struggle to get him not to do!!
I can't even imagine having Christmas shopping sorted!!!! We are planning to suprise the family and arrive home Christmas eve...so I doubt I'll have ANY pressies for him...until Boxing Day sales!!! haha Trying to fit our lives back into 3 20kg suitcases will be a challenge I imagine...
BC - how cute re: Ethan's talking and his showers with his dad...Eli has had way too many baths, so much so that he hates the shower...
Carolyn - I'm impressed that you are even attempting any kind of assignments, let alone getting them done!!!
Are your bubs still having 2 day sleeps?? Eli is in between 1-2 at the moment...so life is more unpredictable...
Mum-of-Preston
10-07-2007, 08:58
Gosh it's been soooo long since I've been able to get on here Preston just cries if I go anywhere near the computer these days.
He has been waking frequently through the night, one night I counted 7 times so I have been shattered. I now know why! He was laughing and I just caught sight of a big tooth that has cut through on the bottom then I looked at the other side and there was another big tooth, so he now has 10. He also has another two big teeth coming through at the top. His gums are purple and red poor thing.
I have been trying to keep up on the reading but never have time to post.
Just a proud moment I'd like to share, Preston has made the photo gallery on Baby Beehinds website. Go into product info, the gallery is at the bottom right and he is in the 8-12 months second photo down.
****deleted by moderator***
It brought tears to my eyes to see him on there.
Got to go Preston has just woken up
Hope to get back on here soon
Donna
shereejoy
10-07-2007, 09:36
Tam - geez stupid chemist, you would think they would know huh! Hope his eyes clear up soon honey. And too cute re: daddy and the shower.
Jo - I put Lachlan down for two sleeps a day but i am lucky to get 20mins each one! But he has never been a good sleeper EVER!
Donna - Awggh you deserve to be one proud mumma!
Ok some other funny ones
Every morning I pick him out of the cot. Prior to doing this I say to him ta mummy and he passes me his water bottle and I put it aside. As soon as I pick him up, he put his hand up (palm facing up) and says gone! It is a real Ghhhhh one IFYKIM. It is so funny.
Also this morning as usual he screams blue murder as soon as I pull out the nappy, but I settle him by saying socks, where are you socks and he puts his foot up. Anyway this morning I dressed him, put his socks on and he usually, grips my neck (I call it a big bear hug), cause he wants off, off the change table. Anyway this morning he stood because I pulled him up and he automatically drops to his bum and points to the open cupboard. Yep he wasn't goin anywhere without shoes! This kiddo can be so funny at times.
I am writing in a quick crazy rush...
We head on camp tomorrow...So am running around like a crazy woman trying to get everything ready...Will be out of computer action for 2 weeks...It's not that I have already abandoned you!!!
Look forward to telling you all how it goes and hearing all about your little guys...x
Bubble*Crazy
10-07-2007, 16:59
Have a fantastic time Jo - it certainly sounds like you and Tim are looking forward to it!
Lachlan sounds so cute Sheree!
And congrats Jo - what a proud mummy moment to have - and Preston is so adorable!
Ethan's been in the paper a few times the past month from the Mother & Baby comp and the actual magazine issue is due out 2 weeks tomorrow (I think) so that'll be exciting for us!
Finally took the plunge and ordered the girls' flower girl dresses (Tayla and her cousin) and Ethan's 5 piece tux off ebay today (only costing me about $175 for all of them including post! I've seen the exact dresses at proper bridal stores for $130 EACH :eek:). Pity I haven't ordered my dress yet - but I'm just slack! Will probably do later this week.
Only 130 days to go apparently!
shereejoy
10-07-2007, 19:08
Gee 130 days, is that all Tam? Doesn't sound long when you say it like that!
Flying visit, it was Connor's 6th birthday today and we had a party with 12 prep kids:party: He has so many presents, I wanted to hide them all from him so he isn't greedy. I've been playing Bindeez this evening, what joy!
shereejoy
10-07-2007, 20:42
Happy Birthday Connor happybirthday
Bubble*Crazy
10-07-2007, 20:47
happybirthday Dear Connor
Hope you all had a special day!
stilldreaming
10-07-2007, 21:55
happybirthday CONNOR-I hope the party went well!:D
Africamum
11-07-2007, 13:12
Mel - you are a great mum, having 12 prep kids around. What is Bindeez?
M2Preston - Great photo, so cute.
BC I ordered a 5 piece suit of ebay recently for Ryan's christening and it was great. Did you get matching shoes for Ethan? If not I have a pair of size 4's I bought off ebay that he wont where again, - i think they have been warn twice and I am happy to send them too you for free. But they might be a bit small by then.
The assignment is going ok, although greg has not been home before 8pm both last night and monday:mad:
We are moving !!!! We got asked if we were intereted in another mine about 6 months ago and we were not too keen, well they couldn't find anyone else. So we are moving probably next week. it is only 120km away but it has other ex-pat families and we get to live in a real house. We will tell the people here that we are leaving on Friday.
BTW I have only had the house girl for one day before she went on break!
11-07-2007, 13:32
Oh Carolyn, that is so very very exciting!!
Way to go Mel, organising and having that party! I would have freaked! happybirthday for Connor yesterday!! And did you get an email from me last week Mel? Just wondering- I would be so upset if you been thinking I didn't bother to thank you!! :hugs:
Tam, the countdown is on! You need one of those ticker-things :D How excitment :smiliedance: Ethan's outfit sounds soooo cute!!
Bubble*Crazy
11-07-2007, 14:08
Thanks for the offer of shoes, Carolyn, but Ethan's already wearing size 5 (wide foot like me!).
Wow - a REAL house - sounds exciting! I don't know how I would have survived doing what you're doing. You're very inspirational :yes:. Is your house girl going to be moving with you, or do you have to find someone else?
Africamum
11-07-2007, 14:33
BC I am hoping to be able to take Amina with us. I am not sure that she will want to come, but I will try.
There has been a precedent already set at the new site that the families are not supposed to have there own staff. The company provides someone to clean all of the houses every day. However our security department has always been at Greg and I to get a nanny / house girl as it means that we have someone in the house fluent with the language and can preempt any trouble. The new site is not as stable as where we are now.
Do you have a picture of the wedding dress that you can show us?
I saw one of our May mummies in a thread a couple of weeks ago wearing her wedding dress, I cant remember who it was now, but she was stunning!
Bubble*Crazy
11-07-2007, 14:51
I think it may have been Em (PS) in the dress - and yes, a stunner!
Anyway, this is my dress ... I think it's the one I'm going to decide on!
Front view - I'm only going to have it sweep length though (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/H024TopbridalcomaudressEbay.jpg)
Back view (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/H024-2.jpg)
Close up detail (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/H024-3.jpg)
I certainly don't look like this, but I'm sure a bit of body shaping 'lingerie' will go a long way :laughing:
ohhh nice dress, get some of the sucking in lingerie and you'll be right!
EM I did get your email, sorry I didn't reply, school holidays you know :)
Thanks for Connors birthday wishes, he came and read them.
shereejoy
11-07-2007, 15:54
Ohh Tam that dress is absolutely beautiful!
shereejoy
11-07-2007, 21:09
Hey girls, not sure if I will be on 2morrow, we have a flight to catch in Emerald and hour away, so if I don't I will chat to you all in a week when we get back from the Gift Fair.
Wish me luck for the flight, I am totally stressing, my child does not sit still!!! Hopefully he is a good boy for me.
Geez I have had alot of fun packing! Not! I hate not being able to take the kitchen sink hehe.
Bye
Bubble*Crazy
11-07-2007, 22:56
Have a great time Sheree. I'm sure Lachlan will be fine. If Ethan can do a 4.5 hour flight, I'm sure L can.
Have fun and can't wait to have you back!
HoopDeeDoo
12-07-2007, 07:59
happybirthday Connor for the other day.
I've just been flitting in and out at the moment too much to do, not enough time in the day and all that. I just wish Lachlan would sleep more through the day, or play happily if he won't sleep.
Caroline, good luck with the move, sounds a bit scary where you live, I don't think I could do it.
Gorgeous dress Tam!!! That will look beautiful, (squeels like a girl) oh wedding stuff is soooo exciting!!!
Good luck with your trip Sheree
:wave: em, and everyone else
SIL and I are going to start going to the Gym again, we went last night to a body balance class (mix of yoga and pilates), and OMG I am soooo out of shape. I felt every stretch and movement. Anyway hopefully if we keep it up it will be great, just wish it wasn't so bloody cold.
shereejoy
12-07-2007, 08:43
Great time to be starting gym Emma, like you said needs a lot of motivation with the cold.
Hey Tam, what did you do to keep Ethan still?
Bubble*Crazy
12-07-2007, 09:18
Sheree, I honestly had 1 bag FULL of toys etc to play with, but Ethan was quite happy to stand on my knees and look at all the other kids behind us rather than play! He picked up a few biccies off the floor and ate them before I realised :barf: and played under my feet. I was so surprised how quick the flight home was and how he easily occupied himself.
Just remember to try & give him a bottle or dummy to suck on the way up and down to help there ears not block. If he screams all the better as his ears shouldn't block then! Good luck!!!!!!!! :hugs:
Thinking back, he was quite funny on the way to Sydney. My sister and I were in fits of laughter when taking off as Ethan reminded us of a jockey riding a horse and was getting really excited even though he didn't know what was going on.
... now that I write it, it was one of those "you had to be there" moments :o
Bubble*Crazy
12-07-2007, 09:19
Em, great stuff about the gym - well done for taking it on! I know I'm that out of shape that's why I don't want to go if you can understand my logic :o. That vicious circle/catch 22 situation :(.
shereejoy
12-07-2007, 09:34
Hehe tam and thanx for the advice.
I think to my advantage the flight is at 6.50pm (bed time), so hopefully I can just give him his bottle most of the trip as he is so over the day by 7pm at night off late!
:fingerscrossed: this works.
Geez we have been having terrilbe nights the last few nights. Awake at 9.30pm, awake at 11pm. Twice before midnight and then quite a few times after that too! Guess it is teeth, each night seems to be burring up to get worse, just when I am going away GREAT!
Hi Guys
I've just done a quick read, will remember what I can.
Sheree - I hope you have a good trip particularly good flights.
HDD - good girl for going to the gym. Body Balance is such a lovely class. I can tell a great story about what Body Balance taught me and the trouble that it got me into.
Tam - OMG, the dress is stunning. I love it. Thanks for sharing!
Carolyn - a move! and with other families, yay! Any word on the cow?
Mel - happy birthday to the big boy and you didn't explain what Bindeez are.
Sorry if I have missed anyone.
A busy week here - lots of work, busy with Sax and fighting the flu again. I have a job interview tomorrow and the football tomorrow night! I'm going to be having a very quiet weekend.
I'm very keen to get this new job - I'm very career hungry again, although it is a little more tempered these days because getting home and spending time with Sax is a huge driving force for me.
I'm going to run - I'm almost dead on my feet so I'm going to crawl into bed.
Hope everyone is well.
Mmm Dessert
14-07-2007, 17:28
Hello? Is anyone out there???
Very quiet these past couple of days. Just going to do a me me post while Will is in the bath.
He's walking:smiliedance: !!!
And driving me nuts!!! Still has his ear infection, so I don't know what a restful night's sleep is anymore. Has been waking as soon as his drugs are wearing off, then absolutely refusing to go back to sleep alone. We can get him to sleep in our arms, but he wakes up screaming again the moment we go to lower him into the cot. Poor DP slept on the couch with him last night from 2am...
On the other hand, he's getting very exciting to be around. He's very 'chatty' and is just doing all sorts of things that we think are soooo clever but are probably just par for the course with little ones his age. (I'm so tempted to bore you with the details, but I won't!)
OK, better go. Will try and get back over the weekend.
Bubble*Crazy
14-07-2007, 18:59
Well done, Will on the walking! :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Isn't it a great age - their true little personality starts shining through as they discover the world. Hope you all get a good nights sleep soon. Ethan's just got over the conjunctivitis and now he's been all snotty today, hope it doesn't turn into anything else :fingerscrossed:.
Oh, and I just wanted to use this new emoticon :babydust2: ... I think it's gorgeous!
KDK - Yay!!! Go Will! How excitement for you. Re the ear infections - I've taken Sax off of milk and we haven't had one for a couple of weeks. I give him a mix of normal and high-calcium soy milk. The runny nose has slowed and no ear infections - it's been great.
Tam - watch where you sprinkle that baby dust, lady! Over Carolyn's way please!
Some photos of Sax taken yesterday with his girlfriend Zoe.
Denim Kids (http://s56.photobucket.com/albums/g184/BabyT2/?action=view¤t=denimkids.jpg)
Tea Party (http://s56.photobucket.com/albums/g184/BabyT2/?action=view¤t=Teaparty.jpg)
KDK- :smiliedance: Go Will!!!! Isn't it adorable??? Such a gorgeous time. Poor darling with his ear infection- that doesn't sound fun at all... I hope he gets better soon.
Tam- Your dress is STUNNING!!!! Soooo excited for you!!!!! I hope Ethan stays healthy for you too... :fingerscrossed:
Hey Scouty how are you? Glad Sax is doing better too, that's wonderful! Those pictures are so cute!! Gosh he's so grown up... *cries* Not babies anymore!!
I have been reading not posting much, sorry lovelies again... :hugs:
I am starting to worry about Rhianna's speaking. Is it too early to worry??? :( She only has said one clear 'actual' word (other than mum dad etc) 'hello'- and I can't help but worry...
What can I do to help her speak?
14-07-2007, 20:37
Well, I had a huuuge post to stick in here during that quiet couple of days, but was away at my folk's place and dad's laptop battery died seconds before hitting 'post reply' :banghead: I found myself feeling pretty similar to what you must have been not too long ago, Mel!
BUT, in that post I expressed excitement for Carolyn and also some nervousness- I hope the move goes well and that you are happy in your new community!
I also reminded Scout that it appears she has a story to tell regarding Body Balance? I have no idea what you were getting at there!
Oh the wedding dress pic was me.. that dress was a total BARGAIN from Linda Gorringe Courture in The Block in Elizabeth st (in Melb). I love her stuff (and she won Aust Gown of the Year around that time, too) but NO WAY would I have been able to afford anything of hers unless it was as affordable as mine just happened to be!
TAM! That dress is STUNNING imo. You are going to look just so beautiful with very little effort, hun :yes:
Ariene has finally started walking more then she crawls- 5-6 weeks after her first steps, I think?! Told you all that she's in no hurry!! And she's still a long way off running up the steps! Ronan's keen on teaching her everything, lol, it's so cute. He takes her hand, she shakes it off and pushes him :eek: :laughing:
I just had a couple of days at my parent's place... it was lovely. Well, it would have been better if my little sis (21 and also visiting) and I didn't have a bit of an argument.. Well, I sat and sipped soup and even went away to the toilet and came back, while she swore and cried and stamped her foot, told me that ever since I did something when she was something years old, she's hated me and the family hate her and don't like her partner and so on *sigh*. She's so emotional and fragile, it's so hard to know what will set her off, I try but I just can't seem to have a successful adult conversation with her!
Ah enough of my boring chatter!
Night!!
HoopDeeDoo
15-07-2007, 20:54
Your sister sounds like my 23 year old bro, I never know what will set him off :rolleyes:
Scout I think I can guess where the body balance class story is leading to ;)
I haven't been near the comp since fri arvo, I worked on Sat, then had a 2 year olds birthday party on Sat afternoon, which we had to leave early from because Noah threw massive tanties over one of the birthday girl's presents :o
Both boys have a cold again so Lachy isn't sleeping well.
On up side though I picked up Noah's new car seat this morning, the booster seat MIL gave us is just rubbish, so I got the hi pod from Target. It's so great, and should last him till he's 5.
Billy I wouldn't worry about talking just yet. If she still isn't saying much by 2 yrs then look into it, but it's normal at this age. They are learning so much at the moment to do with mobility, and how things work thats where they are focusing on right now. I think different babies do different things at different times though. Lachlan is only saying Dadda at the moment, and occasionally repeats a sound like he said 'dottle' this morning, but then wouldn't say it again. And he is completely rufusing to say mama still :crying:
16-07-2007, 20:31
No talking from Ariene either Billy- I'm not worried though because at this age, Ronan hadn't started yet, nowhere near. And he has great speech for his age now :thumbsup:
Em, you sound like you know just what I mean re: tanty-throwing siblings... Mine rang today though, in an unusual state of maturity (yay!) to resolve the issue somewhat. She thinks she has some issues with living in the past and blaming other people for everything and having control of her emotions etc. She's probably right, but it was so good to see that she can nut things out a bit.. even if she was crying the entire phone call... I was very impressed with her :yes:
Today Ariene barley crawled at all, she's got the walking thing sorted and is pretty chuffed about it all :yelclap:
Remember when Queenie told us about Curtis walking? Feels like ages ago.. Wait on- that's because it was! 9 - 10 months old or something.. I wonder how they're going..
16-07-2007, 20:35
Em :hugs:
Regarding the b'day party tanty... been there... it's so awful huh? I mean what else can you do but leave? I get so frustrated with Ronan's behavior sometimes. He is usually a considerate, thoughtful, caring, chatty little boy at home with his family- yet everyone else must think he is the biggest undisciplined brat who is somehow still non-verbal :o:banghead:
Thanks girls (both my special 'Ems' LOL) :hugs: makes me worry so much less to hear that! This parenting gig is hard sometimes!!! :eek: ;)
I'm sorry you and your sis had an argument Emma, that must be hard for both of you. I hope she is in a better place soon and works out what she wants.
Yay Ariene!!! Walking all the time now clever girl. We actually let Rhianna walk around Autobarn with us the other day... LMAO so cute and funny!
Em hope the boys are feeling better really soon!!! (And no more tanties... argh we can wish! LOL)
Hi everyone else hope you are all well :hugs: xoxox
Bubble*Crazy
16-07-2007, 21:10
Em (HDD), so sorry to hear about the boys' colds. Ethan's like he's been hit by a truck and Tayla's not too bad. Ethan was up a lot of the night and we ended up bringing him into bed with us last night. I put him back when Jamie left for work (he moves to much and would probably roll out) and slept until 9.20am. I put him back in bed around 10am as he was sooo tired and he woke after some gentle persuasion at 1.30pm as I had to go out. He was back in bed at 2.15pm and woke at 4.30pm. Unusual for him, poor boy.
Em :hugs:
Regarding the b'day party tanty... been there... it's so awful huh? I mean what else can you do but leave? I get so frustrated with Ronan's behavior sometimes. He is usually a considerate, thoughtful, caring, chatty little boy at home with his family- yet everyone else must think he is the biggest undisciplined brat who is somehow still non-verbal :o:banghead:
Hmmmm ... I've got the opposite DD. Absolutely no one believes me about her bratty behavious she displays most days at home. Totally frustrating.
Well, it's babies galore around here atm it seems. Friends had a baby girl Friday and my friend I was talking about a few months back (she had a high risk of a down bub, but all is fine) had a baby boy this arvo. It's just the start of bubs around here. My cousins wife is due in 2 or 3 weeks and it manifests from there with friends all over the place!
Ok, he's awake ... screaming ...
stilldreaming
16-07-2007, 21:23
Hi everyone! I haven't posted for a while again....but I have been reading.:yes:
All the talk about tanties inspired me to write...and would you believe it Cooper has been just fantastic lately. I'm hoping the prickly period has passed for now. Well little miss Abbey is another story! WOW she is a stubborn little thing and her tanties are quite *ahem* extreme. oh joy!:laughing:
Things are going well with us...still settling in the house and all. Our backyard looks like it will be done next week-when thats done I will be soooo happy. It'll be great to shove them outside instead of pushing them up and down the street all day in their cars and bikes!
Abbey is officially walking all the time and has just cut her 6th tooth.
Sorry for the me/us post will try to pop back tomorrow for some personals. :hugs:
I'm in the middle of tidying up before the cleaner comes and I've just enforced a sleep upon Sax so I thought that I would sit down, enjoy a latte and say hi.
Mmmm lots of talk about our own siblings - I'm not sure whether I should feel blessed or not that I don't have any. There seem to be some immediate positives that I can draw :rolleyes: - I don't like competition when I'm having a whinge!
Tantrums going on here too - the bottom lip drops, the mouth opens and he WAILS! Generally over something stupid, we won't let him bang a spoon on a bowl, directing him away from the plasma tv etc. My girlfriend who has a PERFECT child even just sms'd me and said her boy was throwing cracker tantrums - it happens to the best of us.
I remember saying a few weeks ago that there a bit of talking going on here - all forms of hello, banana occasionally. But nothing else intelligible. If you ask if he babbles a lot - I have to say incessantly! The kid doesn't shut up!
It is freaking freezing here today and raining, raining, raining. It's snowing in Ballarat apparently.
Well after one of the worst periods of up and down depression that I've ever experienced, I have now gone 3 weeks without a mood swing - even during PMS (where I was getting increasingly suicidal with each period :eek:). When I see my shrink today, he is now going to think that I truly am crazy! I can only think that it is happening because I'm pacing myself so much better now that I know I have chronic fatigue/fibro (whatever it is) - I'm on lots of supplements, don't do too much, go to bed earlier etc etc. It feels so weird to be like this! Then again, would you believe that I'm punishing myself because I haven't changed my diet a lot, started yoga, can't get a routine going etc - I'm my own worst enemy!
Actually, I bought a book yesterday called You Body Speaks Your Mind. The premise is that your mind creates illness - a bad back can mean that you are not getting enough support, stiff shoulders can mean that you are carrying too much of a load. I have explained this very simplistically. This is me embracing some of my hippy side. I guess it's a bit like The Secret - not that I'm into that...maybe I should be :confused:
Have also just bought How To Raise An Amazing Child - The Montessori Way. It is fantastic - I can't recommend it enough, even if you aren't into Montessori. Some of the ideas are just great. I love that Montessori advocates teaching children housework or practical life as they call it. I've even bought a little broom and dustpan for him!
Did I tell you I had a job interview last Friday??? I absolutely sucked - I displayed a great case of Repellent Personality Disorder! It's a good thing that I don't totally hate my current job, it's just a shame because the other job would have created some great challenges and opportunities to work with some very talented people. Oh well.....
Gawd, I'm rambling. I'm gonna turn the box off and turn some music on and get this tidying done!
Mwah, mwah to you all.
:wave: Hey all
what's happening? i've been driving round in a hailstorm all morning, yuck!
Luca is getting a big toothy at the back and is very grumpy and STILL not walking, is anyone else not walking? He doesn't talk much either Billy so i wouldn't worry. Except when he is pretending to talk on the phone, :ecomcity: He is also obsessed with guitar playing, daddy is very impressed!
I'm trying to do some washing so i better go but :hugs: to everyone
stilldreaming
17-07-2007, 14:35
Scout :laughing: :laughing: re cleaning up before the cleaner arrives. My mum used to do that all the time as well..........
Gotta go but just quickly I sell the Montessori book through LL. Its excellent I'm a big fan of Montessori as well, we are just waiting to see if Coop gets accepted into the one near us. If so he starts when he's 3 :eek: which is only a month away....
Scout :laughing: re cleaning up before the cleaner arrives. My mum used to do that all the time as well..........
Gotta go but just quickly I sell the Montessori book through LL. Its excellent I'm a big fan of Montessori as well, we are just waiting to see if Coop gets accepted into the one near us. If so he starts when he's 3 :eek: which is only a month away....
:no: No, no Trish - not cleaning before the cleaner comes. T I D Y IN G. Big difference! ha ha. My mum used to do the same thing and I thought she was nuts - it's never nice to discover one is like their mother.
I think the whole aspect of starting school at 3 is what has excited me about Montessori. :laughing: Our local Montessori has them 5 days a week for half a day for 6 months and then 5 full days a week after that. Bliss! I'm not sold on the no tests/exams philosophy though, and as an academic DP is mortified so he'll probably go until he's 6 which is when he would start school anyway.
17-07-2007, 20:25
Oh, to have a Montessori near us!! I was researching it and getting really excited... until I discovered that our closest Montessori school is in, uh, Mansfield (they get all the good stuff like that!). So what's that... 2-3 hours drive from us? Sucks. No Steiner here either.
Scout, Mace is the opposite of your DP in the need for exams/homework department.. He doesn't believe in it for primary through to about year 9 - 10-ish at all but unfortunately I think our kids will be at the public school 200 meters down the road... NB I have nothing at all against public schools and can't afford private, just really wanted something special and I loooove the Montessori principles :yes:
Scout, it's absolutely bloody awesome that you've been feeling good these last few weeks. 'Bout time you were cut a break and can start to feel better. Do you know more about your diagnosis? What do your specialists/your shrink think about Cognitive Behavior Therapy?
Trish... I'm ahh-ing and umm-ing over getting that book... sounds GREAT :yes:
Bladder about to burst (TMI :laughing: ) gotta fly!!
Trish... I'm ahh-ing and umm-ing over getting that book... sounds GREAT :yes:
Em, don't umm & ahh - get the book. I cannot rate it highly enough. Esp with an older one, he is at the perfect stage to soak this stuff up! There is another great Montessori book called the Joyful Child - book (http://www.michaelolaf.net/1JChome.html) - the actual book has great ideas for furniture and items to use around the house. The Montessori stuff itself is hideously expensive but I make do with things that I find around the place.
Interesting that you ask what my shrink thinks - I saw him yesterday for the first time since the rheumatologist's diagnosis. I think that it is time that I start treating my depression holistically rather than just with medication and CBT - I have never felt like depression has answered a lot of the symptoms I have. The shrink doesn't believe in CFS or Fibromyalgia so we've hit a bit of a snag in the working relationship. I'm taking a couple of weeks to think, consult with my GP and decide what role I want the shrink to play now. I've had more success in the last few weeks doing different things than I've had in 3 years with the shrink and I've followed his advice and guidance to the letter. I need to shift things back to my own internal locus of control!
Em - how are you going now???
I love this time of year, ladies. Le Tour de France - elite male athletes with waxed legs in lycra. :D
Africamum
18-07-2007, 13:22
Hi I'm back.
We has a couple of days in Dar and then had to go to Bulyanhulu for a couple of days. Dar was good, i got my assignment done, bought some fresh coffee beans and a new bean grinder and an electric frypan! Got to go swimming in the pool and cruising on a large luxury game boat.
Buly was intresting. I have been there twice before both times i was treated like cr@p. After having to wait an hour to get through security I was dumped at my accomadation with no food, kettle even tea and coffee and was not told where the mess was or who to ring if i needed anything. This time we were expressed through the gate and security, the accomadation we were in had tea, coffee, cups etc, a large fruit platter, then they bought me some freshly made bread and rolls, them I got some fresh homemade biscuits and slieces. My lunch was delivered every day. Greg and I were quiet appaled at the hipocracy of it all. Everyone was on edge and trying so hard to plese the new boss. (About 3000 people work there)
So now we are back at Tulawaka until Monday. We may go to Dar again towards the end of the week - I think Greg is just trying to get out of packing. He seemed to miss that last time when he was in Africa and I was packing up the house on my own with a 5 week old baby:detective: .
One good thing about the new site is that the are short a couple of metallurgists and I may be able to work eventually.
EEK I just realised its Wednesday and Greg is going to Dar tomorrow! At least I dont have much to pack.
Last night was the first time Ryan has slept all night without having a feed.
Africamum
18-07-2007, 13:37
I also love the montessori concept but have since found that a large corporate child care chain has intrests in montessori - but I am not sure if that is only in the US or in Oz as well.
Scout - I have an intrest in cycling this time of year also. So many beautifully proportioned bodies.
Billy - Re a few words, my SIL is a speach therapist and would much prefer that parents take their child in for an assesment as early as possible and not wait. If there is an issue, the outcomes are better if you start younger. She would much rather see kids and start earlier than try to rectify situations. The best thing a speach therapist can tell you is that there is no problem. SIL is on the hub, I can send you her email or PM her if you like she may be able to point you in the right direction. SIL goes by Tassiemum (we are not overly creative with out usernames).
Mel - we are also getting a new tooth at the moment, I think it is number 13
OK i am going to get coffee. DS is still sleeping and it is 8am!
BTW it looks like I will be in Australia again in August I have decided to go home for my nan's 90th birthday and will do another subject at uni in Perth
Thanks heaps for that Carolyn :hugs: I will do that.
And LOL at the non-original names :laughing:
I also love the montessori concept but have since found that a large corporate child care chain has intrests in montessori - but I am not sure if that is only in the US or in Oz as well.
Scout - I have an intrest in cycling this time of year also. So many beautifully proportioned bodies.
Puh-leeeeeeessse don't tell me that company has not who I think it is!!! Noooooo, I refuse to believe that there are greater interests like that in Montessori!
When you have previously been to Buly has DH just been a worker, rather than the boss? And who exactly is treating you differently?
Glad to see that someone else has an, eerrrr... appreciation of Le Tour. I'm loving Tom Boonen this year! I barely watched last year a) because we had a new baby and b) Le Tour without Lance is just not the same place. However, Tom seems to have filled a small place in my heart.
Africamum
18-07-2007, 19:40
Scout - Yes its the alphabetical one. But as I said, I am unaware if their montessori intrest is in the US or the Aus, they centainly own a company called montessori something. They do have child care centres operating under that brand in the US.
The last time we were at Buly DH was the GM on Tulawaka, so he was not a nobody.
Who is treating us differently, all of the staff. People were bending over backwards to please us. It is really sad, its no wonder that power goes to some peoples heads.
Africamum
19-07-2007, 20:59
where is everyone ?
Dunno - it's damned quiet!!!
Mmm Dessert
20-07-2007, 19:16
I'm here!!:wave:
But I have nothing to say...
Still not knocked up (and it's not for lack of trying:laughing: ).
Oh, and Will is absolutely refusing to go to sleep by himself at the moment. He used to go into his cot awake and drift off alone. For the past two weeks, he's been screaming like a banshee and will only go to sleep on my lap.
Is anyone else having this???
Am I going to be carrying my teenager to bed because he can't remember how to put himself to sleep???:hair:
Oh, and I'm sooo sick of the cold. I'm going to see Priscilla Queen of the Desert tomorrow night and have nothing warm to wear. :eek:
Africamum
20-07-2007, 19:26
It is the right time of the month for us to try but Gregs in Dar and I am onsite. When he gets back tomorrow we will have a farewell party on Saturday night - I dont think we will be capable of much after that!
I need more than :babydust2:
KDK throwing some :babydust2: your way. Scout - I hope you dont get caught in the cross fire :laughing:
Oh, and I'm sooo sick of the cold. I'm going to see Priscilla Queen of the Desert tomorrow night and have nothing warm to wear.
I'm just thinking about Guy Pearce in a g-string and I'm heating up! What's wrong with you?
And if you can't think of anything to say, just damn well make something up! Rumour, gossip, innuendo...just don't be trying to poach us to another forum! Did anyone else read that sticky from Hillary today? Some people are shameless (I don't mean Hillary, I mean the offenders).
KDK throwing some :babydust2: your way. Scout - I hope you dont get caught in the cross fire :laughing:
*coughs politely* If I get caught in that cross-fire it will be a damned immaculate conception.
Seriously, I don't know where anyone gets the inclination to even have sex - even to have a baby. I got to bed at night completely shagged, of another kind, and I'm asleep in 5 seconds. I keep telling DP that perhaps we should schedule it in - he says that's not romantic and spontaneous so *shrugs shoulders*...tough. Just call me camel.
Average day here - damned ear infections again. KDK was it you also suffering with Will? I put my foot down with the Dr today and demanded a referral to an ENT, which we got along with another dose of anti-biotics. That was just after Sax did the most massive poo that went everywhere including all over me when I was changing him :barf:. Why do these things always happen in public?
Africamum
20-07-2007, 20:18
That was just after Sax did the most massive poo that went everywhere including all over me when I was changing him :barf:. Why do these things always happen in public?
Thats is really funny - because its not me.
Packing sux, my house girl has gone AWOL!
Wheres that sticky from Hillary?
HoopDeeDoo
20-07-2007, 20:27
Hi Carolyn - the sticky is the very first on the top of index
Sadly I know what she is talking about and frankly I think it's pretty low - the behaviour of some people. It's all well and good to start a 'free' forum where you can say whatever you want, but I don't think it's fair to use that freedom to bag out other forums and people.
Anyway howdy Scout :wave:
:babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2: You can have all my baby dust as I really don't want it. Babies turn into toddlers
:babydust2: You can have all my baby dust as I really don't want it. Babies turn into toddlers
That is the wisest piece of advice that I have heard! :yelclap: HDD! :laughing:
stilldreaming
20-07-2007, 20:43
:babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2: You can have all my baby dust as I really don't want it. Babies turn into toddlers
:laughing: true, true you guys can have mine too!
shereejoy
20-07-2007, 20:43
Ok we are back and this is just a quick post, cause I am cold and want to get to my warm bed before Lachlan wakes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Will fill you in with all the details over the weekend, but was it you talking about ear infections Scout?
Cause we were in Brissy and Lachlan had yet another high temp. Higher then last time when he had the convulsion. It read at 39.4 with an ear thermometre and they say that they read lower then the under the arm thermometres.
Luckily enuf he didn't have a convulsion this time, but I was concerned cause when he had his last high temp the doctor at the hospital told me that temps over 39 degrees it is not normally teef and something else contributing to the temp.
So we didn't have a car seat, my sister went to an appt and 4got she had the car seat in the car. So we called the ambulance for transport. An hour later they decided to rock up!!! What tha.... No wonder we don't live in Brissy. And so so glad he didn't have another convulsion.
Anyway turns out he has an ear infection. A viral one and they don't give antibiotics for viral infections. So that night I was up with him, every half an hour he woke! Had to put him in bed with me in the end as it was so so cold. He wouldn't lay down so had to nurse him in my arms. I am not sure I got any sleep. So for 1.5 weeks now he has been waken 3-4 times a night and I am exhausted.
We got home last night, and Wade did the night time wake ups for me as I really needed a break!
Do you all think that it could still be the ear infection if it was a week ago now that they diagnosed it????
I am wondering if I should take him back to the doctor????
Anyway the gift fair was good, but didn't get to spend as much time there that I had intended cause I got a bladder infection and was off to the doctor on the Saturday and Lachlan got the temp on the Friday and we had such a terrible night, he was all out of sorts on the Saturday. So had to cram it all into 2 days, not 3, but I guess that is better then nothing, but it was real rushed.
No conception this month, I left for Brissy on cd11 and returned on cd18, and it is highly unlikely I ovulated that early. So off to another month for us, I am guessing.
Night for now, me still has to catch up on some much needed sleep!
20-07-2007, 21:46
Last night was the first time Ryan has slept all night without having a feed.
:yelclap: :smiliedance: That is fantastic Carolyn!!
I read about everything else that you've been up to, with much interest, but I saw this bit and felt so happy for you!
You can have all my baby dust as I really don't want it. Babies turn into toddlers
My babydust is up for the taking too. I am pretty much freak out at the thought of 3 kids under the age of 4. Well, three kids full stop. Get that babydust away from me!!
21-07-2007, 21:14
Um, it's quite in here... *whistles*.. Hello?
Well, glad all you have had an exciting weekend away from the pc! :p
Night!
Yup, dead as a door nail in here.
Pooks - I got your PM, will get back to you soon.
I'm up at this disgusting time of night because of Le Tour although I think that tiredness is going to get the better of me so the HDD will have to take over for me.
I bought Sax a little Thunderbirds back-pack today. It's so cute and I got it for a great price ($12.95) because the shop couldn't find a price for it. I hate take a nappy bag for him to day care so he now has his own little back pack!
We looked after our friends little girl this evening. It's so weird to have a girl around - they do different things, babble differently, so tiny and compact!
Oh god, I'm so tired.......:wave:
22-07-2007, 08:04
Scout, I'm with you on the girl thing! Ariene just seems so delicate compared to Ronan at that age! She's just a normal size but it's still different. DH still hasn't got used to changing a little boy's nappy and then a girls- it still strikes him as peculiar! :laughing:
I can relate re: Le Tour... Mace has me up with him watching the World Cup every 4 years (ok so that's only been twice so far, lol).
I love the idea of Thunderbirds better then subscribing to the whole Spiderman/wiggles thing. Oh, wiggles is cute, but what is it with adult movies marketing stuff to toddlers? What parts of the last Spiderman movie (not that I watched it, but apparently it is very disturbing and creepy to children) are even slightly appropriate for children?? It was rated M or something! Rant over, lol.
Ariene walks everywhere now, yay! :smiliedance: Stiff legs, arms up... had forgotton how sweet it is. Her fav place to be at the moment is sitting on the couch. She drags her activity table over to the couch to help her climb up onto it, then plops down and chills out.
But she has a yucky cold at the moment, really gross. Her first one, I think. Vaporiser is helping at night but I'm so sick of green snot!! :barf:
shereejoy
22-07-2007, 10:21
Can relate to green snot, we have it every where atm. Yucko...... The last 2 nites you could see Lachlan was getting sick.
Mmm Dessert
22-07-2007, 10:37
For the first time in months, Will doesn't have a cold:fingerscrossed: . Sorry, seems like he's sent his germs to you girls instead.
I went to Priscilla last night and Scout, I was sufficiently warmed. It was fantastic and a lovely escape from my usual Saturday night at home in front of the telly.
Of course, that was shattered when I got to the front door and could hear Will having his usual midnight yell. :banghead:
Pleeeeeeease tell me I'm not the only one with a night-waker?
Oh and Scout, yep it has been Will with the ear probs. Has been to the doctor's every week for six weeks running. This last week was just to make sure the infection has finally gone. Stopped antibiotics yesterday, so :fingerscrossed: it's gone for good. If it comes back again I'm going to hold the doctor down until he signs a damned specialist referral.
My girlfriend has just rung me and her daughter that we looked after last night has conjunctivitis and probably a virus. The poor thing is so mortified that Zoe might have given Saxon something. I had to tell her that it wasn't Sax we should worry about but me - I can barely move I'm in so much agony with aches, pains and fatigue. I can't even pick Sax up. :gloomy: My damned immune system is just so compromised. I'm absolutely sh*t scared that I'm going to pick up this flu that is being talked about in WA.
I've now been constantly sick since the beginning of April. My mental health is good though - it's just physically that I'm a write off. Now I've made myself cry....
Mmm Dessert
22-07-2007, 10:48
Oh honey, please don't cry. I wish there was something I could say to you to make you feel better, but I can't think of anything.:hugs:
Oh thank you - I generally allow myself 10-15 minutes of feeling miserable a day. I can jump up and down, stamp my feet and generally just get angry at the medical issues I seem to have been afflicted with. Then I get over it and be thankful for all the things that I do have.
Hey I love your avatar - even as Kel, Glenn Robbins is so hot. I see him around the place a little bit and he is a very good looking man and he looks after himself too. I know that he's no Brad Pitt but I think he's hot because he is funny.
How are things at your end, KDK?
Mmm Dessert
22-07-2007, 11:06
That is so funny. I've never thought of Glenn Robbins as being 'hot'. Hilarious, yes.
I'm really tired and bored today. DP is at work and Will is asleep. He's been in bed since before 10, so I'm just waiting for him to wake up. I could be washing/cleaning/ironing/cooking, but of course I'm lazing here in front of the computer.
shereejoy
22-07-2007, 11:23
Yes kDK we have a regular night waker too! Sux hey! Poor Will with his ears, Lachlan just having that viral ear infection for us last week was enuf for me.
Ohhh Scout, sorry you are sick honey, it sux hey, I am sure this small town we live in is germ ridden too! Lachlan has been sick about 6 times now and this is all since Feb 07 and I have been sick atleast 4 times! I was so healthy for 19months prior and now I am just over being sick. We all need to just appreciate when we are well hey! Sux being sick and looking after your little one thou. Hope you feel better soon.
shereejoy
22-07-2007, 17:45
Why is it everytime I come in here, everyone goes quiet!
Anyway I have some news: this afternoon I completed a change of name application for the change of names register. I am still going by my married name and we have been split for geez.... ummm.... 6 years now. Doesn't make sense for me to go by that name and don't want to go back to my maiden name, so decided for Lachlan's sake and to save the confusion I would take Wade's surname! So I will now go from Ms Sheree Sharp to Ms Sheree Mcleod. Wade always said that good things come to those who wait re: him asking me to marry him, but geez it has been 6-7 years and I am sick of waiting. I said to him today, is it ok if I take your name and he is like - if you want. IF YOU WANT I SAY, what about what you want, do u have an opinion! Appears not, he just goes with the flow all the time, drives me nuts!
Anyway I am so please that I am finally doing this.
I hope people aren't hanging out over at that "other" place! :(
:laughing: Good on you Sheree for taking Wade's surname even though he hasn't popped the question. I have a DP that is complacent about everything too, it drives me nuts.
We are watching the Worst Jobs in the History - :barf: He is rat-catching with his hands and picking up dog poo.
No work for me tomorrow - I had to go to the Dr. She said it is the worst year she has known for colds/flus/virus' and that for someone like me has no hope of getting rid of it atm. She has put me on a steroidal medication so we'll see how we go. If I'm still sick Tues, I'm going to send the rug-rat to my friends to give me another day of rest - the poor little thing.
22-07-2007, 21:12
Oh Scout, you poor thing! :hugs: You must be hanging out sooo bad for the weather to warm up and this year's viruses to rack off.. that's what happens in theory, anyway! Bring on spring and summer, I say. Are you one of these people who feel as though they have some Seasonal Adjustment Disorder stuff going on? Sometimes I think that I do!
And I certainly don't spend any time hanging out at 'another place'.. Except for the odd post at a popular forum I use for knitting/dying/cloth nappy stuff. But I don't have time for these other forums! I don't understand how people manage to juggle them all. But I feel a little sentimental towards BubHub now I guess :p I'm shocked when I see how fast some ppl grow a post count- I'm talking 60+ posts a day. Um, how? And I understand the need to overcome some social isolation... but WHY?
I saw that show too Scout... tanning leather.. scraping off the hair and fat and soaking in warmed-up dog poo soup :barf: Sorry guys! Just had to share. Dinner, anyone??
Ariene just loves dancing so much these days, tonight DH and I noticed that she was grooving along to both the beat and rhythm... I swear!! Just in a very basic way, but I still thought it was cool!
Anyway, I'm going to ride a few k's on the exercise bike and get a few rows knitted at the same time, lol.
I saw that show too Scout... tanning leather.. scraping off the hair and fat and soaking in warmed-up dog poo soup :barf: Sorry guys! Just had to share. Dinner, anyone??
We hadn't got to the tanning part when I posted :barf:. I'm not watching that again.
Ariene just loves dancing so much these days, tonight DH and I noticed that she was grooving along to both the beat and rhythm... I swear!! Just in a very basic way, but I still thought it was cool!
Our friend's little girl was dancing last night too. Is it a girl thing? Sax can do Twinkle, Twinkle and Open, Shut Them but there is not a dance going on in sight. We do have a serious car obsession though!
Africamum
23-07-2007, 00:20
even as Kel, Glenn Robbins is so hot. ?
Gross :barf:
Our friend's little girl was dancing last night too. Is it a girl thing? Sax can do Twinkle, Twinkle and Open, Shut Them but there is not a dance going on in sight. We do have a serious car obsession though!
When I get settled at Buly I will post some photos of Ryan dancing with the dancing girls last night - These girls know how to wiggle their bits!
Car obsession - I can related to that. Everything is car - truck, bike, quadbike, fire engine, plane and train
shereejoy
23-07-2007, 07:22
I must be invisible, starting to think that!:confused:
We are off to the doctor today, we are both sick and lachlan has this deep barking cough.
Oh sorry Sheree - no, your not invisible. It's my fault I posted lots yesterday and don't think I acknowledged you. It wasn't on purpose, just me being sick and selfish!
I hope that the Dr gives you something to make you both better.
Hey girls I have been MIA (again! :o haha) but hubby is home for holidays so I am trying to show him how much time I don't spend on the net... :D So I will pop in and read but won't be posting much.
Scout so sorry you are feeling unwell :hugs: I hope you feel better soon. And Glen Robbins... hmmm not sure on that one hehe!!
Emma- Yay Ariene!!! And Rhianna does the dancing thing too, gosh it's cute!!
Sheree babe you are not invisible :hugs: Good on you for taking Wade's name (some fella's just need a little push in the right direction LOL) that will make things easier yeah? Yay for you!! And sorry you and Lachie are sick again- that sucks!! I hope you get some answers today.
We went to Airlie for the night on the weekend just the 3 of us- and it was so lovely! First time away (just us) and first time the 3 of us have gone out to dinner since R was 10 days old! LOL She also had her first chicken nuggets hahaha she loved them!
We haven't gone out to dinner before because Rhianna goes to bed by 6.30 every night without fail, but as she is getting older she seems to be handling it better going out at night. Hooray we can have some sort of life at night!!!
Ok off to wash about 1000 nappies and tonnes of clothes (yet I have nothing to wear! teehee!).
Mwah! xoxoxox
23-07-2007, 07:49
Sheree, I'm sorry too, I don't think that I responded to you in my earlier posts :hugs:
Poor Lachlan, I hope he and you feel better asap!!
Ariene has a REALLY flemmy, chesty cough.. do you think I should go to the doctor's too? She's had it for a few days, but I just don't know what they can do anyway..
Ok off to wash about 1000 nappies and tonnes of clothes (yet I have nothing to wear! teehee!).
Don't you have enough bikini's to get you through the month? :laughing:
I love the quote in your signature too - I relate to that.
Sheree - with taking Wade's name will that make him less likely to ask the question?? I think I've said that I'm not particularly interested in marrying again, but I've said to DP that I would like to wear a wedding ring as a commitment band (but perhaps one that has come wrapped in a blue box and white ribbon) - that way we don't have to get married but I can fulfil some of the more needy, conservative little girl within me who would like to be married.
Some of you girls need to get a little close up with Mr Robbins as I get to sometimes do. As I said, he's not Brad Pit or even Daniel Craig but there is something there (and he keeps himself very fit too!). I swear this is the truth. Then again, my first ever crush was on Andrew Peacock (yes, the politician) when I was about 7 years old. C'mon confess, there has to be someone you like that perhaps other wouldn't (since I've opened myself up for ridicule and to take the focus of babies for a bit!!)
23-07-2007, 08:11
Hey Billy!! Missed ya babe!! :D :smiliedance: I can so relate to the 'staying away from bubhub when DH is around' thing :-) You sound so bubbly and refreshed, good on you for getting away as a family and having fun! Ariene is in bed at 6.30pm every night too- but no way would she let us take her out! On one hand it would be nice if she were more flexible, on the other... I like my evenings to myself too much :laughing: Ronan goes to bed at the same time, he's like "I'm off to my car bed, daddy can I have my milk?" so bed time is a happy time around here!
Ok Scout, I'm trying REALLY hard, but I can't think of anything that tops Glen and Andrew! But I'll get back to you...
No shame factor here, I don't think, but I've always thought that Merrick (what's his last name?) is an absolute hottie. But I saw him the other night on Thank God You're Here and he's had his hair cut... not as good :no:
Still gorgeous though!
2girls&1boy
23-07-2007, 08:38
I have been lurking for ages so thought it must be time to post.
We have been very busy here lately - mainly because we seem to live in a germ infested house and we are constantly sick also.(i can relate scout about the sick all the time thing). Hannah has now been diagnosed with Asthma as she has had at least 6 chest infections since she was 5 months old:banghead: The hospital did chest x-rays and confirmed this on Friday so I was feeling pretty low on that day.
Pooks - yes if it is a chesty cough I would take her to the doctors, that is how every one of Hannah's infections has started. Not to say Ariene will have anything severe but it is always worth checking with little one's, especially this winter for some reason.
We had Grace's 3rd birthday party yesterday afternoon. I made the butterfly from the Women's Weekly cake book, it came out really well we were really pleased with it. DH iced the left side and me the right - so it turned into a little competition as to who was the best icer(everything is competition with my husband I swear:rolleyes: )
Scout I am not sure about Glen Robbins but DANIEL CRAIG yes sirrreeeeee he is ON THE LIST!!!!! Valentine
I hope everyone is well and SHeree don't worry I am invisible on most posts, but I am sure i have overlooked others at some point accidentally..
Take care all
P
Hannah has now been diagnosed with Asthma as she has had at least 6 chest infections since she was 5 months old:banghead: The hospital did chest x-rays and confirmed this on Friday so I was feeling pretty low on that day.
Oh that's terrible. I hope that it will be controllable (is that the right word?) for you. You will have to get her swimming as soon as you can so she can build her little lungs up! Some of the best swimmers in the world started because they were asthmatics!
Can you tell I'm laying in bed surfing BH today??
23-07-2007, 10:21
Thanks Paula :hugs: There's no temperature so I assume no infection- but I think I'll take her to get checked out because it has been around for a while now and she really struggles to breathe- her breathing sounds 'wet'- despite the vaporiser overnight, warm house etc.
I hope that your lot see the end to all those illnesses soon! :hugs:
And..
happybirthday HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRACE happybirthday
For yesterday!!
Take any pics of the cake?
shereejoy
23-07-2007, 10:30
I can't help but feel ignored, anyone that went back and read the posts would see and I could see a couple of you girls online when I posted too, which upsets me more. Anyway if I have done something, I would rather know then not know. I feel like a spoilt brat atm, but I too am sick.... and tired...... Always makes a situation much worse. I always try my best to reply to people but when people reply to others and completly skip my thread and it happened twice over the weekend...... well need i say anymore. Maybe I need a break from bubhub. Maybe that is where everyone else is having a break. Can't say I blame them atm. I am hurt cause I love you gals, and you have always been so nice and supportive of me, anyway enuf rambling, feeling like an idiot atm for saying how I feel, but at the same time I am beyond caring too.
Well went to the doc as with the history of things happending lately with Lachlan, had to get him checked out. Lachlan's viral ear infection has cleared up thank god! We could kinda tell as the last couple of nights are only a one or two times wake up, whereas b4 that he was sometimes up to the sixth time in a night! So his cold atm is viral too apparently, so again we have come away with nothing, but i would prefer that, as long as he doesn't get any worse! Just that his cough was so barky last night it concerned me about Croup!
Lachlan's poos for the last week have been extremely loose, I wouldn't say dirreha but very pasty and very loose (considering this kid was always stuffed up with hard poos - these are very unusual for him). Do you think they could just be loose because of his illnesses?????
I am also ok, again a viral infection. But I got some more antibiotics for my bladder infection. Today it seems to be ok, but yesterday it flared up a bit again and I do feel that because my bowels have been playing up (irritable bowel), that this keep flaring up my bladder infection all the time.
WE JUST WANT TO BE WELL AGAIN....... Sick 6 times since we arrive here in Feb, I am so over it! I am such a sook!
I am taking myself too bed, I feel miserable.
HoopDeeDoo
23-07-2007, 10:33
I'm taking Noah to the Dr on wed, where will hopefully finally diagnose him with asthma instead, of giving me this 'we prefer to wait until at least age 4, but keep giving him ventalin':rolleyes: rubbish.
shereejoy
23-07-2007, 10:34
Oh and 4got to say Happy Birthday Grace and sorry about Hannah being diagnosed with Asthma mwah xoxo
23-07-2007, 10:56
I'm taking Noah to the Dr on wed, where will hopefully finally diagnose him with asthma instead, of giving me this 'we prefer to wait until at least age 4, but keep giving him ventalin':rolleyes: rubbish.
I'm starting to feel the same, Em. Ronan has a tendency to get croup and a couple of times while at outpatients in the middle of the night they have said he looks like he has Asthma.. the Doctor has said that he doesn't... but prescribes him Seritide anyway?
????
Lachlan's poos for the last week have been extremely loose, I wouldn't say dirreha but very pasty and very loose (considering this kid was always stuffed up with hard poos - these are very unusual for him). Do you think they could just be loose because of his illnesses?????
I am also ok, again a viral infection. But I got some more antibiotics for my bladder infection. Today it seems to be ok, but yesterday it flared up a bit again and I do feel that because my bowels have been playing up (irritable bowel), that this keep flaring up my bladder infection all the time.
WE JUST WANT TO BE WELL AGAIN....... Sick 6 times since we arrive here in Feb, I am so over it! I am such a sook!
I am taking myself too bed, I feel miserable.
Yep, Ariene's bowel movements are like that now, loose but not loose, like you were describing. I just put it down to the virus in her system. It's not even midday and I have changed 4 poopy nappies- 2 of Ronan's, 2 of Ariene's :hair: But on a positive note, Ronan did one in the toilet yesterday!
You have Irritable Bowel Syndrome? :hugs: My MIL has that and finds it so hard to manage, and the symptoms are many and frustrating.. how long have you had it for?
Hopefully you get some meds to sort that bladder infection out once and for all :yes:
2girls&1boy
23-07-2007, 11:11
Thanks everyone - she is on ventolin every 4 hours + redipred plus Cefaclor,. She has really picked up since Friday though.
Em & Pooks - I think as a parent you just know what is normal and what isn't. My DH has been saying for ages he would not be surprised if Hannah had asthma.
Sheree - I am sorry you feel so low at the moment. Being sick really does bite. We are a bit like we can't seem to see the end of being sick also. We counted it last night and we have had 2 weeks where noone was on some sort of medication in our house since about March. Is Lachlan on any medication that might be making his poos runny?? Just a thought as that is what happens to Hannah a bit.
I did take piccies of the cake but our digital has died so it is on the SLR.
Stay warm everyone.
P
stilldreaming
23-07-2007, 14:03
I can't help but feel ignored, anyone that went back and read the posts would see and I could see a couple of you girls online when I posted too, which upsets me more. Anyway if I have done something, I would rather know then not know. I feel like a spoilt brat atm, but I too am sick.... and tired...... Always makes a situation much worse. I always try my best to reply to people but when people reply to others and completly skip my thread and it happened twice over the weekend...... well need i say anymore. Maybe I need a break from bubhub. Maybe that is where everyone else is having a break. Can't say I blame them atm. I am hurt cause I love you gals, and you have always been so nice and supportive of me, anyway enuf rambling, feeling like an idiot atm for saying how I feel, but at the same time I am beyond caring too.
Hey Sheree babe I know how you feel but don't stop coming on!!:hugs: Thats exactly why I only pop on every now and then as I feel the same sometimes. But I will always get on to read how everyone is going. I think its just a case of everyone not having enough time so they just get on....post and then are off!! Well thats me anyhow :laughing: See now I gotta go...but I will be back later.:wave:
stilldreaming
23-07-2007, 14:06
Thanks everyone - she is on ventolin every 4 hours + redipred plus Cefaclor,. She has really picked up since Friday though.
I'm glad Grace has picked up and I'm sorry for the diagnosis. Hopefully its nice and manageable for you all.......can they outgrow asthma???
Ok I really have to go...I'm very bad! lol
I have been feeling really clucky lately.....I must be bloody crazy!:eek:
:babydust2: :babydust2: *throws baby dust over your way so it doesn't touch me* :laughing:
Africamum
23-07-2007, 21:49
I can't help but feel ignored, anyone that went back and read the posts would see and I could see a couple of you girls online when I posted too, which upsets me more. Anyway if I have done something, I would rather know then not know.
Sheree - you are a very wanted member of this group. I did not reply to any of your posts on the weekend as I was packing and always in a rush - for this I do apologise.
I hope you realise that you are wanted. I also hope you are feeling better soon, there is nothing worse than not feeling 100%.
I did want to say that I think it is wonderful that you are taking Wades name - does he have a phobia with weddings?
Trish your funny,
:*throws baby dust over your way so it doesn't touch me*
Scout - its baby dust, not a hand grenade!
We have moved this morning, well we got on the plane to the new mine anyway. We are in a temporary house for 4-6 weeks. I am planning to spend at least three of these in Oz.
Hello to everyone in hub land :wave:
hey all:wave: I'm around, well sort of. I don't come on BH much these days, i am trying to stay away from the puter as much as possible. I'm not over at that 'other site' BTW. I am also in a wedding in 2 weeks and the dress still doesn't fit! OMG.
We don't get any sickness:fingerscrossed: round here for some reason, so I can't relate to any of that. We do have a head lice epidemic though, constantly.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IWV-FJ5pik
Video of Saxon taken this morning - my girlfriend is looking after him today.
Look at him lean in for the kiss just before she slaps him all over the face! :laughing: :laughing:
Carolyn - babydust is definitely a hand-grenade now, my friend has told me this morning that she is pregnant! All of my friends are getting pregnant.
HoopDeeDoo
24-07-2007, 13:22
:laughing: awww thats so cute poor saxon :p
Oh dear Scout :fingerscrossed: you don't get caught in the cross fire.
Well I am probably one of the offenders of not posting properly, it's just that I read it all, then forget except a few things that jump out, chances are I'm only online when the boys are awake and on my lap (like right now), or just before I have to do something before they wake up.
So I'm not on the ball, and post and run, and a lot of times I post at the same time so I miss peoples posts.
Also sometimes I feel like I'm saying things people don't want to hear, so it's better not saying anything.
For example Sheree if getting married is something you really want to do then just do it. i found the ring I wanted, said "Can we buy it today?" He bought it, and then proposed after it had been resized etc. It was still a surprise but knew it was going to happen eventually YKWIM. I planned the wedding myself, made all the invites etc, as much as I could do I did.
Sometimes you gotta make things happen you know. If the wedding is important to you just do it, if he is totally against the idea then figure out whats more important, the wedding and being married, or being unhappy because he doesn't want to get married. Or is it just that he can't be bothered everything that comes along with getting engaged, the ring, the planning, the cost, the wedding etc.
Anyway good on you for changing your name.
Is that enough? :laughing:
Damn, I just wrote a big long post and lost it.
I'll try and recall what I said.
I hope people aren't hanging out over at that "other" place! :(
I would really like to apologise for my above comment that I made on Sunday - I in no way meant to imply that we (as a collective May Mummies group) shouldn't "hang out" elsewhere.
After asking one of our group what all the hoo ha about Hilary's post was, I was pointed in the direction of the site that was the issue. I was extremely shocked and disappointed about some of the things that had been said about BH and particular individuals in some of the threads. No one, but particularly individuals, should be talked about like that. (I'm a Taurean and we are intensely, sometimes stupidly, loyal).
I know wholly, utterly and completely that none of us (we as a collective May Mummies group :D) were involved in saying such things. But if you have a particular interest, I fully understand that you would want to be where there are others with that similar interest.
Once again, I really apologise.
I'm so f***ing sick and this has really been occupying my thoughts for a couple of days.
HoopDeeDoo
24-07-2007, 15:36
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: Scouty
Were things said about us? I don't go to that other place enough to be up on what goes on. Everytime I go there I'm reminded why I don't like it :thumbsdown:
Mmm Dessert
24-07-2007, 18:16
I'm sooooo in touch that I don't even know what this mythical 'other place' is.
And Sheree honey, I was one of those weekend posters. I promise I wasn't ignoring you - little man just woke up :hugs: . Good on you for taking Wade's name!!! I'll be waiting forever to get married, but think I'll keep my own name anyway. Is that being difficult???
HoopDeeDoo
24-07-2007, 18:43
it's just a forum started about cloth nappies, and has turned into an us versus them situation
Thanks Scouty ;) I don't come here as much as i find there is only so far you can take online friendships IYKWIM. I'm working on the fact that I know alot of ppl but I don't have many good friends. Ppl you can call if you need a hand, or come over unannounced etc. I dunno but obviously that would involve catching up with people in real life. I have no idea what i'm talking about but just typing as i think.
Sheree, i hope this doesn't offend but sometimes I don't reply because you posts are often about things going wrong or something bad happened or whatever (obviously not your fault) but I guess I'm just being selfish to say that it brings me down too. I'm only saying this because you were asking why ppl don't reply. I lub you though.
i haven't been there yet, I'm gonna go see what the fuss is about:yes:
LOL Em you are in the dark there is another 'other' place :D
I am a member of all the 'other' places and I am still loyal to my girls here awww :kiss:
I think the nasty stuff is just immature to be honest. I luff ewes. :hugs:
Hey Mel! Mwah :kiss: :hugs: xoxox
All my friends seem to be on the net at times too...
HoopDeeDoo
24-07-2007, 18:52
really Billy? Oh fill me in then :laughing:
I will sooo be banned if I do that LOL ;)
shereejoy
24-07-2007, 19:48
I know I asked to know and I appreciate it but I just wanted to say that I am sorry if I complain too much. I'd like to see you all the situation I have been in at times and how you would have coped, I guess you are all lucky! I feel so much lack of support from such comments and just maybe I never really had it like I thought. I respect and love so many of you girls, that is why it really hurts me. And I wasn't saying I wanted to get married, I have only ever said I would like a ring, the marriage thing is not important to me and would rather walk down the isle with my children at a later date. The different names for us is confusing to people at times, so that is why I am changing my name at the names registry office! I didn't think I always posted things that would bring people down, I tried to talk to and encourage others and I thought I did have some happy moments to share. So sorry if this was not the case. I will be saying goodbye for now and going to reaccess myself as I do not at all now feel good about myself. Nice knowing you all!
HoopDeeDoo
25-07-2007, 08:04
Sheree I don't know why you have to be so dramatic about it? This is a fun friendly place where we come to vent and cheer ourselves up. You are always so serious, maybe thats what Mel means.
I said my bit in a light hearted manner, and you have taken offense. There have been many occasoins that I have joked with you, and you have come back with a negative spin.
I would never want to be in the situation you have been in, and I respect you for your strength in coping. You always focus on the downside though, and I think thats something else that comes out in your posts, and when people post a helpful comment, you come back with why thats not helpful.
Thats just how I feel.
And for the record all this talk about being quiet when you came back. Well it's been quiet in here for a long time, you weren't here so you didn't know that. People are getting busier and busier. A lot of the group have gone back to work, or just plain busy. So again there is no need to take offense at the fact that there isn't as many people around as there used to be
:hugs: and I hope you feel better soon
HoopDeeDoo
25-07-2007, 08:06
Ok so I'll get back to whats happening with Lachlan. He is finally starting to talk a bit :yes:
He tries to say 'bottle' comes out as 'bot bot, or dottle' and he tries to say wiggles, and few other things when we say them. Nothing totally clear though, and still refuses to say mumma
Sheree :hugs: Don't leave, it's ok we all feel out of it every now and again honey :hugs:
Emma- Yay for Lachlan talking!! :yelclap: Maybe you should send him here to teach my daughter LOL...
We went to playgroup yesterday and I finally saw Rhianna start to get involved with the other kids. So cute. I was starting to worry she would be an antisocial child hehe (I think too much I know!) because she always just watches the other kids? But I think it is because she isn't around them enough. So we will have to make an effort to go (and eat lots of cake... teehee...).
Is anyone else noticing how they are becoming real little people now (iykwim)? She chases us and tries to sneak up behind me to scare me LOL. Full of laughs and giggles now. *sigh* What a good age!! :D
Ok mwah girlies! xoxox
2girls&1boy
25-07-2007, 09:08
Is anyone else's little one STILL NOT WALKING????
Hannah seems so darn close but nothing still.
waiting waiting:rolleyes:
She does say pooh bear, ta, bear, rion(lion) and grrrr(grace) and of course mumma, daddddddd, dog.
Sheree - I am sorry you feel the need to go offline for a bit. I post very rarely and as someone said our lives get really busy and hectic so sometimes posting a response is not high on the priority list. I do however read this forum very regularly so even though I don't post I do think of you all and keep updated with what is going on. I do not think anyone needs to take offence if they are not responded to as we should all know that all the ladies in the May06 are extremely supportive and sympathetic to our troubles(there just may not be a million replies).
I hope I said that without confusing anyone...
Is anyone else reading the Harry Potter book??? I am up to chapter 10 and loving it...
Hi to all
Speak soon
P
HoopDeeDoo
25-07-2007, 11:02
Hi Paula! :wave:
I think Luca isn't walking yet, is that right Mel?
Billy - I know what you mean about becoming little people. Lachlan is finally knowing when to push Noah, and when to run away :laughing:
When he want s something he arches his back and starts screaming until he gets it, he climbs up on the couch whenever he wants to. And there are certain things he goes after as soon as he sees them like the TV remote, or a banana
Yup, Lazy Luca doesn't walk yet either Paula! He isn't even trying, although he walks along furniture etc but he has been doing that for months.
It is cute to see them with other kids isn't it Billy, except they fight too now! And what is it about the TV remote Em? Luca's favourite toy by far.
How are all of you with more than one finding them getting along?
Sheree, hun, I'm sorry you feel that way but I was jsut stating the way I felt as well. Friends don't always get along 100% of the time so I'm sure we can all get past this ok. We have all been through so much together .
stilldreaming
25-07-2007, 14:21
Paula- Abbey is walking now, but has only been walking all of the time for the last couple of weeks.
I haven't read ANY Harry Potter but I am going to buy myself the whole set and get busy! Easier said than done though since I think I have read a total of 1 book since Abbey was born!
Billy you are right this is a great age. They are really developing fast and thir personalities are very well known!:eek: for us on that one...lol...lets just say Abbey is pushy, bossy and demanding just like *ahem* me! Don't be concerned about Rhianna not playing with other children-they love to watch and learn at this age. You will find that its well into their 2's before they will actually "play" with others....even though Coop is nearly 3 he has just only started to play with others well. Like make up little games etc and he is out with other kids 5 mornings a week-just so you can gauge it!!
Em-Abbey is the same with the remote, its her favourite toy. Maybe we should design some for kids and make millions :D
Sheree I'm sorry you feel that way and I hope you come back.
Hi to everyone I have missed-little miss has decided to cut her sleep short for today!
stilldreaming
25-07-2007, 14:23
Hi Mel!!:wave:
2girls&1boy
25-07-2007, 15:01
Ah yes the remote is a favourite here too!!
Mel I am glad Hannah is not the only lazy bones around here:laughing:
Mel - for the most part my two get on quite well and have really started to play with toys at the same time (I won't say share as there are some serious bust ups still)
Having said that though Grace is so gentle with any other baby/toddlers and would never dream of giving them a quick smack across the head but Hannah is constantly copping it. I am really waiting for the moment when Hannah can walk and give it back to Grace!!!
Billy - I know what you mean about developing their own little personalities. Hannah beats to her own drum completely and really seems to know the value of a joke. She will be silly just to get a laugh and I think it is the cutest thing I have ever seen(biased mum here)
stilldreaming - not read Harry Potter:eek: Definately get the set and read like the wind my friend, read dammit........
I am off to visit my parents next week at Rainbow Beach with the girls, looking forward to it. I am nearly as spoilt as the girls are when we go there. NO cooking or cleaning and childcare on tap. AAAHHHH bliss...
bye for now.
P
bekkyboo
25-07-2007, 20:24
Lambie has asked to pop my head in and say hello for her and Em! She hopes you havent forgotten about her!
She has been flat out with work, and Em is a very very active little one!! Still little too - and still no teeth! But 6 are coming through at once it appears!
Ill pass on any messages, and give you all a more in depth update later if you like :D
Lambie has asked to pop my head in and say hello for her and Em! She hopes you havent forgotten about her!
She has been flat out with work, and Em is a very very active little one!! Still little too - and still no teeth! But 6 are coming through at once it appears!
Ill pass on any messages, and give you all a more in depth update later if you like :D
Thanks bekky - of course we haven't forgotten about Sonia. If you could give us an update that would be good. I'm sure that she is veeerrry thrilled about six teeth at once :rolleyes: :laughing:
Please say hi to her.
HoopDeeDoo
25-07-2007, 21:07
Ooooh ouchy! Poor Em 6 teeth at once :thumbsdown:
Of course we haven't forgotten about Sonia, just say hello for us :wave:
Paula I so here you about the older sibling pounding the younger one.
So this is for you too Mel :wave:
Noah gets really frustrated with Lachlan interupting his little games, like he'll build his car track the way he wants it or set up all the animals along his pirate ship, and it will all be neat and stuff. Lachlan will come along and get one or two, sometimes three bits of Noah's game and put them straight into his mouth, or lick them. :p Anything that has been in Lachlan's mouth is automatically "yuck" and gets thrown by Noah. So anyway if Lachlan bugs Noah too much Noah will chase him down and lye on top of him. Which doesn't sound so bad, except Noah is sooo huge compared to Lachlan that Lachlan can't even usually make any noise to try and get him off.
But it works both ways. There are times of the day when Lachlan is a bit precious. Well Noah will follow him around and all he has to do is touch Lachlan, and Lachlan screams and walks off, then Noah follows him and does it again. It's so funny. I know I shouldn't laugh, but they are as bad as each other. And apparently it doesn't stop, well I know it doesn't because I have two brothers and I know we would do the same sorts of things just to get a reaction for entertainments sake
Billy - Noah is always like this in a new situation, it will probably take a couple of weeks, but she will eventually get involved. Like Em said it does take a while before they really 'play' with other kids. It's funny, Noah has 5 cousins all boys, aged 12 - 3. Well up until the last few weeks he has wanted to hang out with the older boys, and watch them more than play with the one who is only 6 months older. Kids are funny aren't they. Lachlan is happy to stay in a room by himself then follow the other kids at all.
Bubble*Crazy
25-07-2007, 22:33
Ok, it's been AGES once again since I popped in ... so thought I better ... in case you were worried about me :laughing:.
It's pretty full on here atm - gotta love the first week back at school :D. Bl00dy wedding planning is sending me crazy and did I tell you that Ethan is at daycare once a week (ok, so maybe my life's not THAT full on!).
Well, that's meant to be my catch up around the house day ... and today I failed. Miserably!
Oh, well. Ethan cut 2 molars at once - so I found out when I FINALLY got in his mouth. And well, yes - they're definitely there. Looks like he's had them for a week or 2!
Hi :wave: to everyone - I miss you all dearly and wonder how things are going with your families ... I usually get a change to read, but just don't have a chance to reply. Remember when I was on here constantly????!!! Anyone heard from Carmen at all? Hope things are going well for her with #2 on the way.
Anyway, should try for an early night tonight (considering it's after 9.30pm already!).
Tam xx
HoopDeeDoo
26-07-2007, 06:37
:wave: Hi Tam I was wondering what you were up to, but I guessed you were busy wedding planning :D
So did the molars worry Ethan at all?
Bubble*Crazy
26-07-2007, 10:28
So did the molars worry Ethan at all?
Hmmmm - my perfect sleeper was waking up to 4 times per night screaming, had conjunctivitis, a cold and just generally grumpy in the past 2.5 weeks :hair: .... no, not at all!!!!!!!!! :laughing:
hey all. Hi Tam, I'm so glad you have a ticker to let me know how long until my birthday :) How are the plans going?
Em, you boys look so similar. Do you see it?
I'm so glad Luca isn't the only one not walking Paula! He is getting so heavy to lug around though, but at least I don't have to chase after him. Enjoy your week off, sounds great.
Hey Trish how are you hun?
HoopDeeDoo
26-07-2007, 12:26
Em, you boys look so similar. Do you see it?
I think they are starting to look a bit simlilar, because Lachlan's starting to fill out a bit, but it's hard to see because Noah is such a bigger build.
:hugs: :hugs: For you and Ethan Tam, poor things. Babies should be born with teeth, although then BF would be a lot harder :p Poor thing, I'm waiting for that to start again in this house, Lachlan has still only got 8 teeth, no molars or eye teeth :no:
26-07-2007, 21:24
Hi Paula! Ariene is better now, she actually started really improving the afternoon of your post so I didn't bother with the doctors in the end! And no-one else seems to have caught it next.
Great to see you around again Mel! I missed ya :hugs:
Billy, was it you stating how beautiful this age is? I think it was... I was just so happy today, watching Ariene chasing Ronan up the hallway... and then waiting in the kitchen for Ronan to 'pretend' to chase Ariene back again :) They did that for a while, then squealed at each other and ran around and around the kitchen bench. They were puffed when they finally stopped!
Ariene also loves to play 'Bah!' (peekaboo) and is only saying words such as yelling 'Mummaaa!', 'Daddaaa!' and 'Bubbaaa!' and showing much more enthusiasm for the word 'Dadda' then the others :rolleyes: Her fav game is to get daddy to lie on the floor and then climb all over him, falling off and getting back on, she thinks it's hilarious.
Oooo and another reason why today was great- Ronan and I were cuddling on the floor together after a bit of a rolling-type-game and he looked at me with his arms around my neck and said 'I love mummy'. Oooo I nearly cried! Then he just smiled at me for ages... One VERY happy mummy here!!
He was so thrilled with my happiness that he's being saying 'I love my sister Ariene' and 'I love my red pillow' :laughing: and so on.
26-07-2007, 21:25
Couldn't decide which four smilies to scrap so here's the rest of my post, lol.
Hey Tam! Yeah, how are the plans going? I am still in awe of your dress, you are going to look so stunning! I'm so sorry you and Ethan had such a rough time with those 4 teeth :hugs:
Which brings Sonia to mind... 6 at once... :eek:
Thanks for letting us know how she's going Bekkyboo :thumbsup:
How heavy's Luca these days Mel? How heavy are all our babies?
Ariene is between 10 and 11 kilos and wearing mostly size 1 (some size 1 pants are still a bit big).
Billy, Ronan has just turned 3 and still prefers to play alongside others, yet independently iykwim. That's just starting to change though, he introduced me to a boy at playgroup the other day, saying "I'm Ronan. This is friend Mummy' :laughing: and they played in the sandpit together, actually building stuff together. But I wouldn't worry about all that for a while. We go to 2 playgroups and they are just awesome fun for Ariene though!
HoopDeeDoo
26-07-2007, 21:28
Oh thats so beautiful Em!! I can't wait til Nah says that on his own. He'll say yes if I ask him if he loves me or whoever, or I'll ask him who he loved and he'll list "daddy, mummy, locky tocky......" But he's never spontaniously said he loves anyone/or thing. I bet you were glowing Em :yes:
Bubble*Crazy
26-07-2007, 21:38
Awww... how gorgeous Em! (PS)
Love the "Locky Tocky" name Em (HDD).
The only time I get "I love you mum" is when Miss Tayla wants something, and it's usually accomponied with her stroking my arm :rolleyes:.
Now, I'm thinking, maybe I've got these 2 teeth that have appeared completely mixed up .. maybe they're eye teeth? Will check with the MIL as she knows everything :rolleyes: and let you know which ones they are!!!
For every step forward with my plans we have another step back (but what else could be expected!). BUT, the main thing is my dress is now ordered! Should arrive :fingerscrossed: in 3 weeks ... just needing to reorganise a photographer (other one has bailed - friends mum) and confirm important stuff like the food! Apart from that, I just need to rob a bank to fund it and we'll be right!!!
mum2charli
28-07-2007, 13:49
Hey all!! Hope you and your babes are all doing well!!
Just thought I would drop in quickly to let you know how we are going!
Charli has had the Chicken Pox AND measles now but we are finally back to normal thank god! About time too!! Still no walking being done here ! We have 12 teeth including 4 molars!
I have had tonsillitis and an URTI and have been sick for about four weeks now. OVER IT
The pregnancy is going well I am now 18 weeks along and everything is basically the same as it was with Charli so I am enjoying it! Showing a LOT sooner than last time but I think that is because I still had my pouch left over from Miss C :laughing:
How exciting for you Tam with your wedding plans! Can't wait until I get to do all that *hopes DF reads this* :laughing:
Sorry for lack of personals and lack of posting by me I won't say I will be back later because no doubt I won't be but when I have time I will have a better read through and catch up on everyone! :wave:
HoopDeeDoo
31-07-2007, 10:48
So it's been very quiet around here. Just wanted to post some pics of Lachlan in his new soakers from the secret swap
happy boy (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/fluffymail-008.jpg)
Noah has been driving me absolutely crazy lately!!! :hair:
Anyone one a slightly dented 2 year old?
HoopDeeDoo
31-07-2007, 10:50
Oh and a big :wave: hello to you carmen and all the may mummies :D
Glad to hear Charli is over the chicken pox and measles, poor little mite. WOW 18 weeks already, you are nearly due for a scan then? So you going to find out what bub is?
Mum-of-Preston
31-07-2007, 16:59
Great photo Emma, gosh hasn't Lachlan's hair grown, he gets cuter everyday. I read your post the other day about Noah and Lachlan having 5 boy cousins gosh what fun they must have together. I guess you knew you would have boys before you even fell preggers hey.
Haven't had time to post but just wanted to add to other posts about dancing bubs:
Preston dances the second he hears music it is just fantastic it amuses me for hours. He stands there rocking back and forth from one leg to the other and now speeds up when the tempo changes and even moves his head from side to side fast, it is sooooo funny. I have a hundred video clips of him doing the same thing, like I said it keeps me amused. :laughing:
His new thing is tapping his leg with his hand to the beat, I think he may just be a muscian of some kind or maybe a singer like his mummy. :smiliedance:
He also has three molars now and the forth has almost cut :hair:
The romote is also a favourite in our house too, but he also loves light switches and when he wants to dance he turns the cd player on. He turns the tv off when we're watching it (very annoying). Oh and the oven timer is a winner it is forever beeping!
well not sure anyone will read this but hope your all well.
Hi Carmen glad to hear everything is going well with the pregnancy. Are you still breastfeeding?
Donna
Remotes are a big favourite here. We try to give him ones that don't work anymore but he's too smart.
Emma, I'll swap you the 2 yo for a 15mth old. I've had a day where Sax has driven me almost mad. At the moment, he is trying to climb the bass speaker to get up behind the tv.
I just saw on Sheree's msn label today that she has had a :bfp:. Yay!!!
Donna and Carmel :wave:. Nice to hear from you!
Hi everyone else - we are quiet in here lately, aren't we. I don't know about you girls, but our babies are at a very labour intensive (but oh-so damned cute) phase.
Bubble*Crazy
31-07-2007, 20:35
Just popping in to see how we all are ... obviously really busy LOL
Not a great deal happening here - just more wedding plans, then changes to wedding plans, then back to the original plans ... the joys of it all! Wouldn't be so bad if I just had $20000 sitting in the bank ready to be used :rolleyes: :p
Bubble*Crazy
31-07-2007, 21:01
HUGE CONGRATS to Sheree!!!!
:babydust2: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :babydust2:
She's due 7th April.
Hey all.
Cute pics Em!
Preston sounds so cute Donna with the dancing. awwwww
They are all so grown up now, not babies! Ariene is so cute in your av too PS EM. Luca is about 12kgs and a size 1, he is not so fat these days. He STILL doesn't walk!!
Luca has been in hospital today, he had a temp with some kind of fever and whilst at the dr. had a febrile convultion (sp?). My bubba is soo hot and sad and they can't do anything except give him panadol.
The wedding im bridesmaid in is next week and the dress still isn't fitting OMG. Bring out the big guns, how am I gunna lose about 3 kgs in a week and a bit? Scouty?
Bubble*Crazy
31-07-2007, 21:48
Oh, poor poor Luca. Lucky you were at the Dr's when he had the convulsion. Hope he's ok real soon, Mel. :hugs: :hugs:
Mel ... you'll be fine ... I'm sure ... how about some of those "drop a dress size" bits of 'underwear'. Apparently you can lose a dress size by just putting it on ... I've got one I'm watching on ebay, as I'm probably gonna need it for my wedding dress!
Just uploaded some pics that the M&B magazine sent me that were taken in Sydney for the coverstar comp
Think this is the one they used in the mag ... it's out now!!! (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/EMAPcoverstar07-113977edit.jpg)
My Cheeky Monkey!!! (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/EMAPcoverstar07-113968edited.jpg)
Mock cover of mag (http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/BubbleCrazy/CroppedMBcoverstarpicture.jpg)
Forgot to say before ...
Cute pic Em - I can't believe how big Lachlan is now! He look so grown up!
Carmen - glad things are going well. Hope the u/s goes well!
Donna, Preston sounds like Ethan! It's so cute watching them dance .. Ethan will dance anywhere, anytime he hears any sort of music/tune. He even does these cute little turns/spins.
And the remotes are a definite favourite here, but I'm a meany and try and hide them :devil6:
Mum-of-Preston
01-08-2007, 00:31
Wow it got busy in here quickily, it must have been because I posted of course hehe
I don't know if your still reading Sheree but Congratulations I hope to be joining you real soon, wouldn't that be funny if we were due in the same month again and the fact that our boys were born on the same day what are the chances the next two are. :laughing: Well if we are this month I'd be due about April 19th.
I guess that explains why you have been a little sensitive and taken lack of replies personally, those darn hormones! Come back girl! But I guess you will be joing the April group now, hope to see you there.
It's 1:30am and I'm up with Preston because he has bad wind, poor mite.
Great pic's of Ethan and Mum
Hi to everyone.
Can you believe I have been a member for two years and still haven't broken 300 posts :rolleyes:
HoopDeeDoo
01-08-2007, 13:53
gosh hasn't Lachlan's hair grown
I know, Scott keps saying we need to get it cut, but I'm scared all his curls will dissapear :crying: Plus it's a bit thin, I wouldn't be able to shave it myself, it will have to be a hairdresser job. So funny since Noah's hair is totally opposite, thick, and straight as, and so easy to cut. I just shave the bottom then with a bigger attachment shave the top, or use scissors on the top.
Preston dances the second he hears music it is just fantastic it amuses me for hours.
Thats so cute!! Lachlan doesn't really focus long enough on anything to dance
He also has three molars now and the forth has almost cut
Poor Preston, that can't be very nice for him or you. I wish Lachlan would get some molars, so he can chew properly and get that horrible peroid over and done with. He's been waking up screaming, but there is no sign of any teeth yet
Luca has been in hospital today, he had a temp with some kind of fever and whilst at the dr. had a febrile convultion (sp?). My bubba is soo hot and sad and they can't do anything except give him panadol.
Poor Luca!!! and poor you, I hope he is doing better soon Mel :hugs:
Tam those photos are gorgeous, I like the ones of you and Ethan much better than the fake mummy!!
:babydust2: Congratulations Sheree!:babydust2:
Mum-of-Preston
01-08-2007, 14:13
Well I was up with Preston from 12am to 2:30am then an hour after that he woke with gas again but it only took me 10 mins to shift it then he went back to sleep but woke again an hour later for a feed, so yeah I'm shattered:sleeping:
I was just wondering those of you no longer bf, how do or what do you pack for food when you take your toddlers out for a long day, say a road trip etc... I am just so use to having milk on tap that it's so easy if we dont' have any food etc. But I'm seriously thinking it's time to wean him as I'm not getting enough sleep and well if/when I do fall pregnant, it will be a killer to feel more tired.
My DH goes away for 16 days at the end of the month so I thought I'd try and do it then, so that if Preston cries at night then he won't be disturbing his daddy.
Is this the end of the May thread I wonder?????
:no: :crying: I don't think it's ever been this quiet?
HoopDeeDoo
01-08-2007, 16:24
Well Lachlan only has a bottle of cows milk in the morning, and after dinner. Sometimes through the day, but only if he seems like he really wants it. Otherwise he just drinks water from a sippy cup. He seems to drink better from a straw cup. Tommee Tippee have really great ones that are thermal aswell, and super cute. A bit exy, but worth it if you are going to be out for a while.
I'd pack some cheesy sticks (Heinz make them, they are like little breadsticks). Grated carrot, or carrot sticks since Preston has a few molars now. Some slices of cheese. Apple slices. Sultanas, only if they don't give him the runs, I've banned them in this house :p
Cuskits, or sandwiches with vegemite.
All depends whats in the cuboard or fridge, and where I'm going. I'm naughty and give the boys nuggets and chippies if we are going near a macdonalds, but we don't go out much, so they don't get it very often.
Africamum
02-08-2007, 00:54
Just sticking my head in to say hello. The internet was down for 5 days so I have been MIA.
Just a couple of quick PM's
Sheree - congratulations
Mel - I hope Luca is getting better.
I will be in to chat with everyone tomorrow
Bubble*Crazy
02-08-2007, 10:19
Hey Carolyn! When were you coming back to WA?
Donna, I have my fingers crossed you'll get that :bfp: soon. How was Preston last night? Hope he was better for you.
As for the food when travelling situation, I'm a bit slack, but usually I take some ritz crackers, cheesy/vegemite breadsticks, fruits like mandarins (and grapes when they were around), occasionally sultanas (but Ethan's not really keen on them) or he just has a bit of whatever I am/we are having. He's not THAT fussy and eats hots chips quite happily :o. He does however still have 4 milk bottles per day (:shame: for me!) but also drinks HEAPS of water. I have the Tommee Tippee sipper cup things with the straws that Em is talking out - love them!
Mel, how's Luca now? Hope things have settled down for him, and he's all better.
I had a call from daycare yesterday as Ethan just wouldn't settle, I went and picked him up and I honestly thought they were joking!!! He was a completely different child in the 20 minutes it took me to get there from when they rang apparently. His bottom teeth must be worrying him now.
Mum-of-Preston
02-08-2007, 12:27
Thanks Tam - Preston had a good night last night he woke up for a feed at 11:45-12 and then slept through till 5 am for another feed then slept till 7am so I feel a little refreshed today.
And thanks for the bfp vibes, me hopes so too as I have always wanted an April baby and he is due on (I just realised what I just wrote - guess I'm being optimistic sp? that it will be a boy and that I am pregnant DOH OH well it's good to be positive!) anyway it would be due on my favourite uncles b-day he is 80 aaaww it will (there I go again) it would be nice to call him and tell him that.
Thanks Emma & Tam for the snack tips. I pretty much take the same stuff so that's good. Luckily Preston likes peanut butter so that is an easy sandwich to take.
Tam those breadsticks are they cheese and vegemite flavour or do you add the vegemite :banghead: Sorry Preston just eats the plain bread sticks and loves them but I'm keen to let him try others. Although he isn't too interested in vegemite.
Preston loves hot chips also and the crust of our pizza hehe haven't tried McD's yet though, because we don't really eat there. My dh and I had a bet to not eat mackers for a year and it ended up being two years and a few months but it ended when we moved down here to the ACT due to travelling and living in appartments.
Preston also loves his tomee tipee straw sippy cup for his water. He only has b-milk, cows milk or water I don't give him juice either. How much milk do your boys drink in one sitting, I find it so hard to get Preston to drink more than 3 ounces of cows milk weaning is going to be sooooo much fun.
Em - I tried Preston on carrot sticks again last night after reading your post but he just threw it down and like wise with the grated carrot oh well will keep trying as it would be good for his molars.
Where is everyone are they all doing the nappy hunt? I just tried it and geeez it is too dificult for my little brain and would just take too long. If I knew about it when I was pregnant with Preston then I would have had time but not now. Good luck Emma I'm sure you will be doing it.
Mel I hope Luca is better - gosh how scary!
Typical about Ethan at daycare, well at least they called and didn't just leave him unsettled that would have been sad.
To those of you who's toddlers are talking more now guess what Preston has gone backwards. He spoke about 8-9 words when we moved down here and now he says 3. Yum yum is now his favourte no longer book. It's since he learned how to point at things he wants that he no longer thinks it's neccesary to speak :rolleyes:
Donna
Bubble*Crazy
02-08-2007, 14:12
It's since he learned how to point at things he wants that he no longer thinks it's neccesary to speak :rolleyes:
Know all about that here too :rolleyes:, but he is progressing with a few new words ... truck (but it doesn't sound like that!) and something I'm not of, but sounds like s**t (have no idea where he gets that from :p).
Glad it was a good night for you too. I started the nappy hunt yesterday (even though I've had to resort back to sposies :() and got 4 in 5 minutes ... they must be the easy ones!
Mum-of-Preston
02-08-2007, 14:53
I started the nappy hunt yesterday (even though I've had to resort back to sposies :() and got 4 in 5 minutes ... they must be the easy ones!
Gosh your good, I can't even figure out what to do, how thick am I ! :rolleyes: Oh well I don't have the time anyway all though it sounds like fun. hehe
Africamum
02-08-2007, 15:57
I am a bit down today, I have a fairly ordinary tummy bug and have spent at least 1 hour of the 90 minutes I have been awake on the toilet:eek:
Doona, I would also like an April baby - buit it is not going to happen! then leaving for Australia next week for three weeks, I think the best i can hope for is June!
Tam and Trish, I will be in Perth from the 22nd of August until the 4th of September, I have uni on the 23rd, 24th 30th, 31st and 3rd. All other days I am free. Tam, last time Trish and I had a great morning up at Kings Park maybe would could do that again and have lunch or I could hire a car pick trish and the kids up on the way past and drive down your way! let me know what you both think.
Melbourne girls - Sorry I will only be passing through Melb! I will not have a chance to catch up!
HDD I reckon we are at least a year off needing a hair cut here!
Need to go, toddler wanting me to go and help him play in the dirt!
Mum-of-Preston
03-08-2007, 07:10
Doona, I would also like an April baby - buit it is not going to happen! then leaving for Australia next week for three weeks, I think the best i can hope for is June!
I know what you mean, my dh may be away during my next ovulation this month which is another reason were hoping this one sticks.
I don't know how you manage moving around and being seperated so much. And yet you still find time for Uni wow.
Hope your feeling better!
:wave: to everyone
Bubble*Crazy
03-08-2007, 09:17
Had a thought in the shower Donna ... you asked about the cheese/vegemite sticks. They are from Heinz and they have the vegemite in it already. Ethan's a huge fan of vegemite, so will eat it till the cows come home (as does Tayla ... all she wants is a vegemite sandwich every day in her school lunch box ... I personally think :barf: to it EVERY day!).
Quick post from me - will try and get back on later.
Hope everyone is well and for those trying, lots of happy baby-dancing for you.
Africamum
04-08-2007, 14:04
hi everyone,
I bent over to pick up Ryan yesterday and did a bit of a lift and twist manouver which is not uncommon with a moving toddler and have pulled a muscle in my lower back and it hurts lots.
I am supposed to be having 2 days complete bedrest (with a 15 month old toddler and no help becuase our house girl didn't want to move).
I just want to remind every to be careful when going to lift up your children, they are not getting any lighter. Try and use you knees rather than your back. I can tell you that right now I hurt very much!!
Have a good weekend everyone
Oh dear Carolyn - I can sympathise. I have a shocking back and it has become fairly noticeable having a toddler to pick up.
Be a little wary of bedrest for a couple of days. Definitely take things easy and if you can avoid, don't pick up Ryan but don't just lay in bed. The muscle will sieze and then you will have a whole new problem.
Lots of heat, gentle movements and stretching if you can.
I hope you feel better - there is nothing like a back ache to make you feel totally rotten!
mum2charli
04-08-2007, 19:36
:babydust2:Congratulations Sheree, Wade and Lachlan :babydust2:
Thats great news! All the best for a healthy amazing pregnancy!!!
Well.....where to start?
Charli has broken her Tibia and Fibia and is in a cast up to her thigh for four weeks. Honestly when are things going to end for my poor child? If any of you know what a Total Gym is (think Chuck Norris on late night infomercials) one fell on her. It was folded up and DF moved it to try and fix the back door, didn't put it back properly and well...you can imagine what follows.
The worst part is we didn't think she had really hurt herself. She was her normal self unless you touched her foot. Looking back that should have been enough of a sign, but being new at this parenting thing we thought it might just be a sprain. Anyway 3 days later (she is such a brave girl) we took her to the hospital and they told us the bad news. Luckily it is not near her growth plate or joint so there will be no problems with arthritis etc. It could have been much much worse. DF keeps saying "Daddy is sorry he broke your leg" :mad: It was not his fault...accidents happen. I hope he can forgive himself, she already has.
Okay, time to try and catch up a bit.
Scout - we try to give Charli remotes that don't work either. She just chucks them and goes straight for the one that does! Smart kids eh!
Donna - Charli self weaned a little while ago. I still had milk so it wasn't that. Just her time I suppose. I was happy to give it up that way, led by her and not by me and I am so grateful to have had that long feeding her! Fingers crossed I am as lucky this time around! Fingers crossed you get your BFP soon too! Baby dust coming your way!
Carolyn - Hope you are feeling better now and that your back doesn't worry you for too long.
Emma- Lachlan has changed so much since I last saw a pic of him! Love those curls! he is a cutie.
Our scan is next Friday :yelclap: We are finding out what we are having! Have our boys name all sorted, but we are SO stuck for girls its not funny!
Mel - I hope Luca is ok after his trip to the hospital!
Tam - Gorgeous pic of you and Ethan! What a special photo to be able to keep!
Bubble*Crazy
04-08-2007, 21:54
Lots of :hugs: and :kiss: being sent Charli's way (and yours too of course). Poor little thing. Hope she's feeling better soon.
Tayla broke her collarbone twice within a year, and that was bad enough (still don't know how).
Oh, and good luck with the scan!!! How exciting for you guys!!!
Carolyn, :hugs: for you too. Hope your back gets better soon, and make sure you TRY and take it easy!
Nothing much to report here, apart from I'm expecting a wakeful night as this afternoon Ethan's cheeks turned bright red, were really warm as was his mouth ... teething ... gotta love it :cool:. The lumps have been there for a while, but not doing much. Hopefully they break through much easier than the top set.
stilldreaming
04-08-2007, 22:02
:wave: Just popping in to say hi.
M2C sorry to hear the news about Charli. Try not to beat yourself up about it!!:hugs: How is she getting around with her cast...Ok?
Wow scan time.....that seems to have gone really fast! How exciting!
Carolyn I hope your back is a bit better. Mine has been awful as well, I turned and tweaked it when I was getting Abbey out of the car last week so I can sympathise too. I have been having dorn therapy and acupuncture......love it!
Definately have to catch up again when you are over.:thumbsup:
Mel how is everything going with Luca? I hope all is ok.
Tam gorgeous photos!
Donna lots of baby dust coming your way! Abbey is still breast fed and really won't have a bar of any other milk. Is happy to drink water and the occasional juice with her brother.
Both my kids are great at the moment-we have an interview on Monday morning at the montessori school for Cooper. Wish me luck.....I don't really know what to expect so feel free to give me some pointers everyone!
Sorry to all those I have missed!
And Sheree if you are reading-CONGRATULATIONS-Thats great news!
mum2charli
04-08-2007, 22:11
Thanks girls :hugs:
She is getting around fine. There was no walking being done before anyway and she has always crawled like a frog (not up on her knees). We had been doing the walking while holding our hands before this, that can't happen now so she will be a bit set back in her walking but that is a small price to pay compared with what COULD have happened :yes:
Carmen :eek: - big, big, big hugs for you!! Ok, a couple :hugs: :hugs: for Charli. When I had to take Sax to the hospital after he fell off a table and they gave him the all clear - I should have had myself checked over and then been prescribed a kick @rse dose of valium.
Back later - toddler running rampant. :o I have days where I say stop the round about I want to get off! (Actually so do our cats, they are being well and truly tortured these days).
mum2charli
05-08-2007, 11:25
A kick @rse dose of Valium would have gone down well Scout. It was a horrible few days I tell you that.
Africamum
05-08-2007, 21:00
Charli - hugs to you,
M2C hugs to you too.
My back is feeling better, thankyou for everyones concern. I did as little as possible however bed rest is ridiculous, although I did spend time on the couch watching series 1 of Greys Anatomy!
Trish good luck with the montessori - I wish I had pointers to give you but I have none. However I would be asking to see CV's, qualifications levels of staff, generic or individual educational programs offered, Is the cook qualified, do the staff have to do any cleaning, what their policy is on combining rooms (consolidating age groups and sending staff home :eek: ). Let us know how it goes.
BC - I hope the teething doesn't result in too many sleepless nights!
HoopDeeDoo
06-08-2007, 08:06
:hugs: Carmen! There have been so many times when I've wondered how the boy's didn't seriously hurt themselves. Hope her leg heals quickly, it must has been really hard for you guys
Caroline I have a dodgy back too, and feel your pain, hope it calms down quickly for you. Yes bedrest with a 15 month old is impossable :yes:
Poor Ethan :hugs: for him too. I am going through the same thing with Lachlan at the moment, there are lumps but not much else. He was in our bed from 3am this morning and he didn't go back to sleep until 6am :banghead:
Scout I know what you mean about the roundabout.
I'm trying to stay away from the computer more, so I can get things done around here, and keep the boys a bit happier. I am doing the nappy hunt, but it's annoying me because it's really hard this time, and I don't want to sit on the computer all day. But I've found enough for the sencond prize draw, and found one extreeme icon so I'm fine with that.
And I'm just trying to avoid this flu that is going around Canberra at the moment, I really don't want Noah to get it because things like that seem to hit him harder then anyone else.
Hope all is well today *waving*
OMG Carmen!!! :hugs: :hugs: And darling Charli!! :hugs: :hugs: How very scary for you guys... I hope C feels better asap and you guys can get past this bad luck streak you have been going through. Thinking of you. xoxoxox
Sorry everyone I have been MIA again, I have the flu in a bad way and feel sick looking at the computer. So I am here for a quick second and back to resting. So much for the nappy hunt- I didn't even know it had started. hehe. Oh well. I really hope Rhianna doesn't get it worse than the runny nose she has now.
Carolyn I am glad your back is starting to feel better now- it is not fun is it. I did this trying to put Rhianna into DH's 4WD about 2 weeks ago- god it hurt. Rhianna is almost 13 kgs- and I keep forgetting that.
Scout- hehe our cat gets tortured too- R has just figured out she can pick her up by her fur! Poor thing...
Tam I hope Ethan's teeth come through soon without too much more fuss. I don't think we have anymore here as yet.
Ok I feel like I have been run over by a truck and I had 10hrs sleep last night so yay. Off to do some washing then relax and hopefully get better.
Love you guys. Mwah xoxox
Mum-of-Preston
06-08-2007, 10:56
Gosh Carmen, I think you guys have been through enough to last you a long while!!! :hugs: to you both. Well at least it's happened well before the baby arrives!
That is so nice that Charli weaned herself, I really would like Preston to do the same, it breaks my heart the thought of having to push him away when he wants the boobie. Did she just gradually not want a feed anymore or did the milk taste change from being pregnant that turned her off. I have a great fear that if I am pregnant that my milk will change and I'll have a screaming baby at the breast. How long into the pregnancy did she stop? Sorry so many questions it's just I was considering weaning him at the end of the month but if I'm pregnant then I may see if he weans himself?
It sounds like we all have a back problem, but I guess that comes from pregnancy, child birth and lugging toddlers around. :hugs: to us all, as it can be so painful.
Emma - well done with the hunt, I spent an hour or two on it and that was enough for me. I know what you mean about it taking so long, I don't know how people can spend so much time on the computer and still get anything done, let alone watch there kiddies. Those super Mum's don't you just h@te them! hehe
Oh PReston's just woken be back soon!
06-08-2007, 11:58
Hi guys!
Carmen... :hugs: to you and to Charli, what an awful few days you had there :( Is she going ok with the cast?? That's nice how Charli weaned herself when she was ready.
Hey Billy!! Hope you get better ASAP, poor thing!
Carolyn, so glad your back is getting better... WOW you have a busy schedule coming up!
Hi Trish! How did the interview go?
CONGRATULATIONS SHEREE AND WADE!!!
Donna, it's great seeing you around hun! I'm not doing the hunt... I'm pretty busy at the moment and need no new reasons to sit on the PC! As if I'd win anything anyway! That's my thinking when it comes to these things, so of course, I never give myself a chance, lol.
Tam, those photos are just beautiful!! Like Em, I too prefer the ones with you over the fake mummy picture, by a mile!!
I have a sick little boy :( For two days now he's been barking and wheezing and really struggling to breathe. It's like a combination of his asthma and the croup he's occasionally had. No hospital this time though, yet. We're off to the doctors to get more Seritide though, as he's just having my ventolin at the moment, with a spacer. Gosh it just breaks my heart. I wish I knew more about it.. is it really asthma, how does he always get the croup, when should take him to the hospital, all that stuff..
Ariene is still just so easy and lovely and fun... I love this age!! She just wants to play on her own and with her brother, wander around, look at things, and dance to The Wiggles.
As for me... I haven't really been talking about this since I had that mini-breakdown a few months ago, if you remember (not going to care if you don't!! lol!) but I've been on Anti-D's for 2.5 weeks now and FAR OUT I can't believe how depressed I was before. I am FEELING SO GOOD for the first time in a long time. It is awesome! Remember me talking about dealing with DH, his diabetes, all my teariness, never getting time alone.. Well, he's been working on his issues and gosh, he is just so wonderful, back to the man I married nearly 5 years ago. Part of it is that his body is now used to all the injections and he suffers less from the mood swings etc caused by the synthetic insulin.
For example, yesterday between 5 and 6.30, he came home from work, cooked tea for all of us, bathed the kids, dressed them, played with them, made their milk drinks up and put them each to bed. He's always done a lot of that stuff, but until now I never noticed it and really got angry and annoyed with dishes and rubbish left out and not putting clothes in the laundry etc. He still forgets a lot of that stuff, but we've talked about it and I'm happy doing some of those little things now, because I can trust that he'll always do so much other stuff and help out in other ways... get what I mean??
It just doesn't get on my nerves anymore! The 'little things' have gone back to just being 'little' and don't mean so much to me anymore. YAY!! :smiliedance:
Ahh.... sorry for the novel!!!
Mum-of-Preston
06-08-2007, 14:46
Poor Ronan I hope he feels better real soon, it must be such a worry. I'm starting to worry a bit at the fact that Preston is 14 mths old and he has never been sick other than a runny nose once that wasn't bad at all. I hope that it's because he is still breast fed and that he has no siblings to bring home germs and that he also doesn't go out too much since we live in a new city and that it's bl@@dy cold here. Even when my DH had a viral throat infection Preston and myself were fine. I hope it doesn't mean he is going to be a sick kid :no: but both myself and dh don't get sick very often, the last time I was sick was when I had mastitis when Preston was 6 wks old.
Oh Em - Gosh that is soooo great you are feeling so much better what a difference that must be. My sister who lives in the USA is very depressed or even reaching some kind of mental breakdown by the sounds of things but she wont get help, she doesn't think it will help and so were left wondering if she will make it through another day iykwim. Not much we can do about it if she refuses help.
Wow your dh does so much, do you lone him out??? My dh does less and less these days, it is so hard to get him to even change a nappy, he always has some excuse and then when he does finally do one he acts as if he always does them :rolleyes: Preston is so difficult to change at the moment (toddler) so I'm not surprised he doesn't want to change him because neither do I :laughing: when can I start potty training!!!!
Scout - we have two cats but only one gets totured as the other one doesn't let Preston near him. Preston has a few war wounds on his hands from our female cat. But they love eachother Valentine
Can't remember what else I had to say byeeeeee
Hi guys...Sorry I was MIA for a few weeks. I had the orphan camp. Was amazing and heartbreaking all at once. Now we are frantically trying to pack up all our stuff and move out of our apartment. Then tonight we head to Finland for a bit of a much needed break. So I will probably MIA for a few more weeks before things settle down to normal again. But anyway I thought I'd poke my head in and say hi.
Eli is doing well. He is so sweet...But his bottom molars are not! They have been causing a lot of pain lately...
PS - so good to hear that you are starting to feel better. Your hubby sounds like a great help. Men can't get it all right I reckon...We are the geniuses!!!
Carmen - poor little Charli! Sweet little thing. Can you draw on her cast?? She might like that.
Anyway I better run...Love to everyone else...x
Also, Donna - Elijah weaned himself. He just didn't want it anymore. He would keep dropping feeds...He was ready sooner than I was. I wanted to keep going. It was sad for me.
Also I don't think you should have any worries with Preston being a sick kid. He's probably just healthy and getting everything he needs to stay that way. Just keep doing what you're doing and I'm sure he'll be fine!!
Mum-of-Preston
06-08-2007, 16:08
Thanks for that Jo. I hope you enjoy your break in Finland, sounds great. :hugs: to Eli. were just waiting for the fourth to cut threw, our poor bubs. Although he must be feeling some relief as he has only been waking up twice for a feed the last couple of nights rather than 3-5 times.
Preston has refused his second nap today and now he is tired at 5pm :rolleyes: he has had too many late nights lately because of late naps!!!!!! I don't even get a break in the evening :banghead: I'm not very good with a strict routine so it's my fault! I'd have to get that sorted before I have another bub, otherwise.....
Preston's new thing is, he stands on books etc... to give him height so that he can reach things LOL
Anyway I better go tidy up before dh gets home and thinks I've been on here all day.
ps Sheree's doing really well with her pregnancy. We meet up in the April thread, not that I'm officially a member yet but :fingerscrossed: I hope to find out in a few days.
06-08-2007, 20:54
Have fun Jo! I bet you'll have an amazing time, can't wait to hear about it when you get back! :yes:
Thanks for your nice words too, girls :) Yes, Mace does do a lot, but because he's messy etc, I've been really stressed/angry/overwhelmed etc. Like, he'd cook breakfast on a Sat morning in a pan and the pan would still be there, greasy and grotty, the next Wednesday (I left it to see if he cleaned it... nope!). Yeah, that's annoying- but I read into it to say "He doesn't respect me, he doesn't love me enough because he gets me to do stuff I shouldn't have to do". I still think that he could pull his socks up a bit with that sort of stuff, but I don't read into it so much anymore... he does love and respect me, but he just doesn't see tidying as all that important... that's it. But he's improved a little- he needed to, but I also needed to get help, which I've done now.. And again, tonight, he came home with some ingredients we needed and cooked dinner, and bathed/dressed the kids etc.
Ok enough :ecomcity: from me about all that boring stuff!!! Have to bore someone about it all though, sorry guys!
I'm going to get a few more rows done on these longies then head off to bed a bit early methinks :sleeping:
HoopDeeDoo
07-08-2007, 08:39
:ecomcity: away Em, so glad you are feeling better!!!
Hope Ronan gets better soon too. Sounds a lot like what happens with Noah. The GP told me that you take him to the hospital when you can see holes just under the ribs when he's breathing - when he is relaxed, and still breathing that hard it means he struggling to breath. I've had to take him to the hospital twice before because of this, they measured his oxygen levels, and they were OK. But if they are low they give them some oxygen. Lucky for him though the ventalin works really well and quickly to help him breath. He doesn't like the preventatives he got perscribed the other week though, so he might get sick again before the end of winter since he refuses to take them. As soon as he tastes it coming out of the spacer he runs or squirms so I can't give him more
Donna fingers crossed for that :bfp:
mummyJ your life sounds way too exciting for me LOL I'm worried about taking Lachlan to QLD for a few days let alone travelling as much as you are
Billy I hope you are feeling better soon sweets!! *hugs*
I've booked my flights to QLD to visit my friend in Brisbane :smiliedance: So exciting! I've never been to QLD before, it's only for 5 days so a quick trip, but should be fun. I'm taking Lachlan, because he's free and leaving Noah with Scott, because he's not free HAHAHA. And I don't think Scott would like it much if I didn't take one of them, especially since he has enough trouble keeping his cool when I'm gone saturdays :p
Anyway catcha later everyone
Well you know how we were supposed to go to Finland yesterday...Didn't happen...Our landlords decided to rob us off our bond...They wanted to give us only a quarter of the bond for general wear and tear! We were so insulted. The place looked amazing...Unbelievable! So we missed our overnight bus last night and will go tonight...It was such a crazy experience involving bribed police (they bribed them I'm sure)...Only in Russia!!
So anyway we will be off again tonight...
Did I tell you that hubby and I are heading to Sweden for 3 nights - just US!!! YAY can't wait...Much needed considering we have basically had 5 hours to oursleves since we left in January!!!! Eli is staying with his grandma who is also in Finland...Can't wait...
Can't wait to catch up on everyone's bubs when I finally get internet again.
2girls&1boy
07-08-2007, 19:20
Hi Everyone:wave:
We are back from our week at Rainbow Beach.. It was great for the first 3 days and then yet again my kids came down with the flu:gloomy: First Grace who I have to say has bounced back amazingly. Then me and Hannah(who seems to be getting worse by the day). She is still on ventolin twice a day plus all the other antibiotics. Our doc says if she isn't better by next week we are off to a Thoracic(sp??) paediatrician and perhaps a little stay in hospital to find out why she is so sick all the time....
DH has now come down with this flu as well and apparently I had it easy compared to him(dying of course:rolleyes: .
Donna - Grace was b/f for the 1st 12months and never got one illness until she was 14mths old(she stopped feeding at 12mths). I do think the lack of exposure to other kids and germy enviroments has a lot to do with it. Now she brings it all home for Hannah to suffer with. ALso I hope you get your BFP very soon. I am still swinging between going again and not.
mummyj - have a great trip and live it up being childless for a few days!!!
Hoopdedoo - I am in brisbane, it is a shame you are only having a short stay otherwise we could have caught up with each other.
pooks - you do have a good hubby!!!!! lucky girl. And you are sounding really well. I guess some people especially men I think don't seem to hold some things as important like we do eg.cleaning up etc. It just isn't a big thing to them whether it gets done straight away or in a few days. I have trouble with it also as I get on DH's back about things sometimes. THen I have to step back and think "don't sweat the small things Paula".
Okay enough for now hope you are all well May 06 mums.:wave:
07-08-2007, 20:18
Ok Jo, that's one story I'd love to hear... bribed police, wow, you sure live an exciting life!! Drama! Sounds like you are going to some beautiful places, that's for sure :yes:
Paula, you really understand me, you're so right about not sweating the small stuff... I've had to face facts (I needed to see my GP about the way I was feeling), do some serious communicating with DH and really look at doing what needs to be done to be happy. Oh, poor, poor Hannah :( It doesn't seem fair, does it! I really hope she's better ASAP, but at the same time I hope this gets followed up with the paed because she really is sick a lot of the time it seems, the little darling.. *hugs* And of course, it's hard on us mums too....
I know because Ronan's croup and asthma is now more then that. ALL DAY he's been crying, saying his head, arms, legs, tummy hurt... he's had the runs and a temp of 39.5 :eek: It breaks my heart, he is so miserable! That's influenza, would you say?
I want him to start getting better in the next 24-36 hours or off to the doctor we go. At least his temp is lowering well with paracetamol.
I'm going to go and get him out of his bed and put him in with me when he next wakes- Mace is away for work tonight. Plus he needs the comfort.
Em, how exciting, you are going to have so much fun! Lucky for Lachy he is free LOL!
Thanks for the tips regarding asthma, ok, I think I know what I'm looking out for now... It awful, isn't it? Ronan hates taking his ventolin too, it really sucks when you know they need it to get better. He even turned down my bribe with a jelly bean tonight, he's that sick!
Ariene's never been sick... :fingerscrossed: please everyone, I don't want Ariene to get this!! OR Mace seeing as he now has a compromised immune system and although he's vaxed he could still get seriously ill blah blah blah (and it's the same as with you Paula... I don't want to hear for a f/n about how he's dying, etc!).
Bubble*Crazy
09-08-2007, 22:27
Very quiet in here again :detective: .. I've been jumping on to check for any action, but don't have anything to say myself!
Could have done some personals, but I'm too slack atm .. feel cr@ppy with a sore throat/aches/headaches again ... hope it disappears in a day or so like last time. It's Tayla's birthday Saturday and party on Sunday, so I don't want to feel like this then.
Ethan's getting his bottom molars (god, they take so long to come thru), so once again we've not had a decent sleep in weeks. Does anyone elses LO's cough (more like a bark as Jamie says!) when they teeth? This is the 3rd time he's had a cough and runny nose when getting teeth ... hmmmm!
Anyone heard from Donna? I wonder if it is a :bfp: .. really hope so!!!!!!
Hope Ronan's feeling better Em. It's sooo hard when they're sick but you can't do much about it. And definitely I have my fingers crossed for Ariene. She must have great immunity levels if she's got this far! Tayla was the same, and still hardly ever gets sick. Can't recall the last time.
Paula, hope the household is over the flu ... nothing worse when you're all feeling ordinary. Hope they can get to the bottom of Hannah's illnesses.
MummyJ - have a great time!!!! Yet another jetsetter of the group!
Well, should try and get an early night for a change!
:hugs: for you all!!!
I'm going to do some personals today!!!
Tam - hope you feel a bit better. I've been feeling the same for most of the week. I hope the party goes well on Sunday. Gosh, weddings, birthday parties - you do it all, don't you!
Pooks - I'm so happy that you are feeling better. I find the meds just give me some space and those little things don't become big things at all. You are lucky that Mason does help out, for my DP it just means that I don't nag him as much :rolleyes:. Keep up the good work! And once again, I'm so, so happy for you. Oh and I hope that Ronan is better, poor bub!
Donna - Sax doesn't have kitty cat war wounds yet. We are waiting for the day though. No pressure, but any news???? Sax is also a prolific climber and knows that there are "tools" which can increase his leverage.
HDD - when are you going to Qld or when are you going. I've never been to Qld either. We need a holiday, so maybe we should go there?
Paula - I hope everyone is better :hugs:.
Trish - how did the Montessori interview go???
I'm watching some twaddle on Dr Phil - this guy reckons he has exposed himself to 50,000 women and that 70% (that's 35,000) have been ok with it or have then participated in some "action" with him. Bulldust!!! DELUSIONAL!!!!
Have I told you that I will be going to a 4th day of work at the end of the month? I actually can't wait (particularly because Sax is so happy at daycare). I've managed to diversify what I do for a little while too which for me is exciting.
We are off to an indoor play centre this afternoon - we haven't done that before. But it's miserable outside so that will prevent Sax and his little girlfriends from all getting cabin fever at home. There just also happens to be a Fiona Scanlon Big sale on too. I love kiddie clothing bargains.
I've been giving myself a bit of a makeover lately. I'm trying to actively put together a decent wardrobe, wear things that suit my (odd) bodyshape, invest in certain items and just generally look better when I leave the house. God, I'm even clearing out my stock of trainers that I wear down to one pair! I've been trawling fashion magazines and next week I'm going on a big shopping day out with a girlfriend who is a bonafide fashion expert (she has a fashion degree and is high up at Sussan). I barely know myself!!
Ok, have cr@pped on enough. xxxx
Africamum
10-08-2007, 14:14
Scout - what day are you shopping next week? I will be shopping in Melb on Tuesday.
I would love to be wearing funky clothes but some things just dont cut it in the middle of the African Jungle! Knee length shorts and T shirts during the day and jeans and long sleeves at night. Then I have to buy clothes a size bigger to compensate for laundry shrinkage.
(I have just been sneezed on by a small person with a mouth full of muffin - My shorts now look like a work of Pro hart!, he is being cute and trying to wipe it off)
Now I have just been distracted by a family group of about small mongoose or meerkats crossing the rod into our back yard, Ryan was watching intently and then said cat! If it is fluffy with 4 legs its a cat.
BC, i hope your feeling better soon, nothing worse than feeling off. Good luck with Ethan teeth, Ryan has got his too top canine teeth in the last fortnight to take his tooth count to 14. Ryan doesn't get flu symptoms when he teeths although he does want to feed all night and I feel like a human dummy.
Pookie :fingerscrossed: for Ariene not getting sick and we all hope our DH's dont get sick!!
I will be back later, need to go walking and put my shopping list in.
Mum-of-Preston
10-08-2007, 15:49
Donna - Sax doesn't have kitty cat war wounds yet. We are waiting for the day though. No pressure, but any news???? Sax is also a prolific climber and knows that there are "tools" which can increase his leverage.
Even though I keep Madisons (cat) nails trimmed she still manages to scratch him the little Bugger! She even got him on his head once but he was laying on top of her etc.... He really does give it too her, so I guess it's only fair she gives it back.
Looks like my AF may be here as I've just had some light pink on the paper and I feel pre-ms, so no pregnancy this month but I'm ok with it.
We are trying to buy land and have a house built which will take 9 months, so this way we will have a better chance of getting into our own house before the baby arrives. Who knows maybe we will have another May baby just not on our anniversary and Preston's birthday please :rolleyes: It would be like having two Christmas's a year. Kevin and I could both transfer our b-days to that month/day too how fun! NOT
I'm not confident any baby is going to stick with the sleep deprevation my body is under. This past week Preston has had me up 5-6 times per night for a feed and then he's up early because he wets through his nappy due to all the bl@@dy feeds he's having, so it may just not happen??? Well not until I wean him and hopefully get a better sleeper if that will even make a difference? He can't even sleep through his afternoon nap without needed 1-2 feeds in between. When does it end :hair:
Anyway on that note, he has just gone to sleep so I am going to join him even though the house is in a mess since I've had a headache for 3 days, thought it was from being Preggers but obviously just from lack of sleep.
By all, sorry it's a me post, speak soon have a good weekend.
Africamum
10-08-2007, 16:37
Donna - housework is so over-rated. Everyday I thank myself that my husband is more concerned about my mental sanity than the need for a clean house!
Good luck on securing land and house building!
This afternoon I am going to help another mum make a poodle birthday cake for her 4 year old. It is going to at least take 1 bottle of champange I feel.
mum2charli
11-08-2007, 10:22
Thanks to everyone for your well wishes for Charli, it really does mean a lot! She is doing fine, in fact if you didn't know she had a broken leg you wouldn't realise the way she is getting around and how happy she is! It is a relief to say the least.
Billy - Hope you are feeling better sweet!
Donna - With Charli weaning she fully stopped about a month ago now. She just slowly dropped feeds, only fed for 5 minutes then 3 then 2 and finally was just like looking at me going nah, no thanks Mum :laughing:. I am not sure if the milk changed tatse because of being pregnant, thats an interesting thought though, never crossed my mind. Anyway so that would have put me at about 15/16 weeks pregnant when she did stop. She is doing well now on cow's milk, she took to it straight away. I had been expressing and giving her a bottle on average once a week anyhow so she was used to it in that regard.
Pooks - Hope Ronan is better, doesn't sound like too much fun being had there.
mummyJ - We can't draw on her cast because it is a purple fibreglass one. We are thinking maybe if we get to keep it when it comes off I will get to work on it with glitter glue etc. No way will she sit still enough for it to dry at the moment though haha.
Hope everyone else is well!!
Ok onto my news.....
I had my scan yesterday, everything was perfect, healthy and beautiful! It was so exciting, very different from seeing Charli on the scan because we know know what is to come Valentine anyway we are having a
GIRL
I got my wish!! Charli is going to have a little sister! We are over the moon and can not wait to meet her! We have Mackenzie picked out and are about 95 percent set on it (yesterday it was only 90 percent lol) but nothing is set in concrete yet. I still have the same due date so that means today is my halfway mark! I now get to go through all of Charli's little tiny clothes and pick out all the ones I can save and then buy more! Oh and don't forget PINK nappies! Now...where to find some newborn sizes.
Just to finish thought I might show a pic of Charli, not that you can really see her but it is so cute! Then when I get my scanner up and running I will show the new bubba!
My mate Ash (http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m315/mum2charli_2006/IMG_3525.jpg)
Hope you are all well!
Hi girls:wave:
Quick post...Em's asleep and as a good wife, I really should be doing some housework of some sort.
Haven't read much, only the last few pages...so sorry if I only address a few of you.
Carmen, poor Charli. Lets hope she heals quickly. Also good to hear that your pregnancy is travelling along nicley.
Sheree, congrats on the :bfp: . Still waiting to catch you on the phone's!
Emma, hope it's nothing to serious. God knows we are playing it so safe here in light of the current influenza epidemic.
Gracesmum, poor Hannah hope she pulls through okay.
...in fact in writing this, I think I need to give a great big :hugs: to everyone in the May Mummies group. Our poor bubs are all in some way or the other in the wars/sick at the mo.
Which brings me onto little Miss Emily. She is currently getting over a middle ear and chest infection. Which also triggered conjunctivitis and sinusitis (sp? 4 both). But on the whole she's still pretty happy and extremely active, which generally means we need to sign an incident report at least once a week at Kindy. Because of this she is being prepped for the Toddler room, 3 months earlier than they usually do. Just means she'll be with kids who are a tad more robust than the babies.
And it finally happened...my now known as "Lil Bunnie" has 2 teeth (top ones) which decided to come through Tuesday night. What a fun night that was...NOT!!! and I thought all you guys were just making it up when you said that teething's horrible:laughing: And it appears that any day now we will also be getting the 2 bottom ones as well. She may have been late...but boy she's making up for lost time now.
As for me, works going really well and I loving the time back, not to mention the extra money coming into the house. Now, we can start thinking about finishing off our renovations this summer.
Take care ladies...will try and pop in when I can.
Son
XXX
Hi All, :wave:
I am brand new to this site. I have 2 girls, one of which (Charli) was born 24/05/06. I was directed here by mum2Charli so I look forward to chatting soon.
mum2charli
11-08-2007, 18:04
Welcome PJCD!!! Great group of girls here, look forward to getting to know you better!
Great choice in name btw ;)
Bubble*Crazy
11-08-2007, 23:22
Hope everyone's having a great weekend??!!
Welcome Mel (pjcd) :wave: - I'm sure you'll have fun here! I'm Tam and have a daughter Tayla (7) and son Ethan (13th May 06).
Mel (stella) ... had a major thought last night as I was going to bed (as you do!) - was the wedding this weekend? If so, hope you had a great time and I'm sure the dress looked fab! If it's next weekend, I'm sure you'll have a great time and you'll look FAB!
Son - Missed ya, hun! Yay on the arrival of the toofy-pegs! They're a bugger hey! What a very determined little girl you must have (Tayla was also 'promoted' early in daycare ... they thought she was after the Directors job LOL).
Carmen - CONGRATULATIONS of your new little GIRL to be! Glad you got what you wanted!!! Can't wait to see the pics! Glad things are going well for Charli and just LOVE that pic!
Carolyn - how did the poodle cake go? Get as many drinks down as you hoped???!!! :laughing:
Donna - I really hope you're not out for this month ... maybe it's implantation??? Anyway, :fingerscrossed: for you! And I hope you get some decent nights sleep soon.
Scout - soooooooo envious of you with the new makeover and wardrobe deckout! Really need it here! Have a heap of fun, chicky!!! Oh, and congrats on the work. You have sounded so positive and really are inspirational :hugs:.
Anyway, it was Tayla's 7th birthday today .. nothing too big. She has a party tomorrow at the fun centre in the morning so we can relax again after lunch sometime. She was totally spoilt (with clothes which is great for my wallet!) and had a good time, especially because we had pavlova and cheesecake from The Cheesecake Shop for desert after roast lamb for dinner ... yuuuuum!
One of Ethan's molars have JUST cut today, so hopefully the next won't be too far off. He's been sleeping heaps better and not coughing or becoming unsettled during the night, so surely it's more than coincidence there, ya reckon?????
I'm feeling heaps better too. I get weird flu symptoms for a day or so and then they disappear, but leave a snotty nose (sorry TMI!). Anyway, must go to bed ... promised myself an early one and it's still 10.30pm ... arrrrgh!
Nite xxx
2girls&1boy
13-08-2007, 10:20
Hi Everyone :wave:
It has been really quiet here hasn't it.
Donna - :fingerscrossed: for you next month. I am sorry to hear that you don't think it has happened this month.
Along the same lines I am not sure if any of you remember me saying we were thinking about another, well I am feeling really guilty now. I have been on the pill but I am the worst when it comes to remembering it. Anyhoo my period is now 2 days late, I have sore breasts and I have that feeling that my period is coming but it isn't here. No other symptoms but now I feel really scared and a bit well not too happy about it. I know we would accept it if I were pregnant but I am so scared to test in case it comes back positive.
I am sorry for the long post and I know a lot of you are trying for another so I sound kind of selfish but it is just how I feel.
Shall keep you all posted.
P
Bubble*Crazy
13-08-2007, 14:20
:fingerscrossed: Paula you get the result you both want atm :hugs:.
Mum-of-Preston
13-08-2007, 17:31
I know a lot of you are trying for another so I sound kind of selfish but it is just how I feel.
Gosh Paula, don't at all feel selfish, if your not ready for another one yet, your not ready.
Well my period has been somewhat strange i had very light pink all afternoon friday then got normal heavy by the evening, then normal heavy all day saturday but then by 3pm Sunday it just stopped. I had no period pains which I always get as soon as I see the blood but I have had no pain at all, and I normally bleed for 5 days. Anyway it started back up at 8am, but has been light. So not sure whats up with it, it's never stopped before and I always have pains. Maybe I'm starting early menopause :eek: I haven't had any hot flushes but had dizzy spells and cold feet of all things!
I guess I should take a hpt just to make sure but I think it would just be a waste of money. I felt a bit guilty as I had taken 2 ibruprophen once my period started because I had, had a headache for 4 days straight. Then when my af stopped I started to panic.
Sorry I don't have time to do any personals but will try and get on here tomorrow. I just wanted to let you know what had happened with the af over the wkend.
Speak soon
Bubble*Crazy
13-08-2007, 17:36
Donna, how confusing it must be for you. If it was me, I'd do a HPT - it will set your mind at ease. Based on my experience with Ethan I thought I had my period for the first 2 months (it wasn't a normal bleed though - similar to what you're describing) and it wasn't until I was still feeling quesy that my friend made me test, and hey presto it was a :bfp:.
If not, I hope your cycles sort themselves out so you can get this show on the road ...
stilldreaming
15-08-2007, 13:51
Hi ladies :wave: I haven't been around for ages again so thought I would pop in and say hi.
Things have been really hectic here for the last couple of weeks. Coop turned 3 on Sunday and as well as my mum coming over for it I also had my mother in law and brother in law fly over for the weekend.:eek: Bil thinks its ok to surprise us with his company, fantastic when you already have a house full! They have both gone now though and my mum is staying for another week. Its so nice to have help! Brenton and I are meeting friends for tea tonight OMG I can't believe it...........I wonder if I'm still able to hold a normal conversation lol.
We had his birthday party at a fun park...same as Abbey's and all went well.
AND my little man has had his first 2 trial mornings at montessori and besides the crying this morning when I dropped him off all is well. They will let me know tomorrow after his last session if they think he is ready to start. I'm happy and sad if you know what I mean!
Abbey is great! No problems with her except when I try to go shopping...lol what a pain in the a. Her talking is full on at the moment she is starting to say 2 word sentences and copies words we say all the time. Its funny how they develop though as she still wobbles when she walks :laughing: tries to run as well, so is starting to fall over all the time.
I hope all you gals are ok and :fingerscrossed: I should manage to get back on here a bit more often now things are getting back to normal.
mwah
HoopDeeDoo
15-08-2007, 18:24
Oh Donna, that sound kinda promising?
Paula - don't feel guilty, but I kinda know how you feel. I feel bad about saying how much I don't want another one, when there are a few of the may mummies trying for one. But if I were in thier shoes, and only had one, obviously I would be trying for another because I had another :p Anyway :fingerscrossed: things work out for the best, I'm sure they will no matter what happens. :hugs:
Trish, nice to hear from you. Sounds like you had a great time with your family! Glad good things are happening in your world ATM
Not much to report here, Lachlan is starting to talk really well. He is finally saying MUMMY!!!! :smiliedance:
It's been a long time coming I tell you, but that's all he saying at the moment "mum mum mum" that and he's like the little brother on peppa pig who only says "dinosaur" he loves dinosaurs at the moment, and thats one of the words he's starting saying, and "NOAH" as clear as day.
Tam how's the wedding planning going?
FREE TO GOOD HOME
One male child
Slightly used, occasionally cute and always challenging. Comes with a well-stocked and fashionable wardrobe.
Very not at all reluctant parting, mother is frazzled, at the end of her wits and suffers from a serious case of cabin fever.
Ohhh Scout... :hugs: Have a glass (bottle... LOL) of wine. I'm about to. :D
If I had one drink then I would have the whole bottle and then I'd have to face the monster with a hangover :eek:.
Why has my angel turned into a monster - he pokes my eyes, destroys everything, hits me, climbs everywhere......he's not even two yet and he's terrible :(.
How are you Billy? You haven't been around for ages!!
I know! Hubby was on holidays, and I am working nights- (I have tonight off woot! :smiliedance:) by the time I get here I am buggered and don't feel like posting... But I am always reading! :D
And R is doing all that cr@p too... Bloody kids- who'd have 'em. LOL
Bubble*Crazy
16-08-2007, 17:34
Oh, Scout :hugs: .. no solutions I'm afraid as I have a very similar model AND a 7 y/o female model with ATTITUDE.
Yeah, Billy! Where ya been????? :detective:
Trish - any news on Cooper with the montessori school?
Yay Em on the mummy words. Ethan actually comes looking for me now (it's very cute) calling muuuuum, muuuuum ... and he's started saying A, B, C!!!!!! Thinking daycare or Tayla's having a very big influence there. We're very proud though!
:wave: Jo - thanks for the PM you thread stalker!!!!!! No probs at all!
Things are ok here ... wedding plans going well. Meeting celebrant and photographer next week and my dress should :fingerscrossed: arrive then too (hope it fits & hope it looks ok .. have been having second thoughts, but I'm sure that's normal. Maybe.)
Tam - what is the actual wedding date? And a 7yo girl with 'tude scares me more than the 15 month old monster :laughing:. If she's like the girls I know, she's 7 going on 15! And then she'll be 15 going on 25 :eek:.
Bubble*Crazy
16-08-2007, 18:29
Tell me about it Scout ... I'm actually having nightmares now about what she's going to be like! (seriously!)
The wedding is 17th November.
HoopDeeDoo
16-08-2007, 20:59
Oh :hugs: Scout. Lachlan does all that too, as well as his brother who tells me to "go away". And is at this very minute telling me why he he doesn't want to go to bed :banghead:
I fogot to say :smiliedance: to M2C about having a girl. So nice to have 2 of a kind :p
Billy nice to hear from you too!
erm, hi, remember me? :wave:
Drunk yet Scouty? Wait til he is 2 then you'll know about monsters...
We have all had the flu, I think I posted last that Luca was in hospital well, it went through everyone. I don't think I've ever felt so rotten. On the good side the bridesmaid dress fitted with room to spare because I hadnt eaten for so long. Next time you have an event coming up just get the flu!
Luca STILL doesn't walk!!! Now that is lazy, he doesn't even stand on his own :eek: .
Bubble*Crazy
16-08-2007, 21:34
Glad the dress fitted Mel - hope you had a great time?!
Em - hope that boy of yours is in bed now :D. Buggers aren't they - with excuses as long as your arm ... Tayla's doing the same now with Jamie whilst I'm in here. She's game - he's watching his "current fav" tv show so can't be interrupted!
2girls&1boy
17-08-2007, 07:17
Mel - No walking from Hannah yet either. She is a speed demon with the crawl though. I even spoke to a paed friend of ours and she said not to worry she is just cautious:confused: Trust me this kid is far from cautious. I also hope you are feeling better, we too have had the flu which has been foul...
I too have a 3 year old going on 13. At the moment "why" is the favoured word whenever she is asked to do anything at all. She also will no wear anything that isn't a skirt or dress this week:banghead: and only with a pair of volleys..
Oh yeah, and after being about 5 days late AF arrived this morning and I have to say I am pretty happy to see her... I am pretty sure this little scare has confirmed to me that my 2 darling girls is enough for me....
Hi to everyone else :wave:
P
Well I'm glad AF arrived for you Paula, sounds like it helped you make a decision anyway. I'm also glad Luca isn't the only one not walking, he just isn;t interested i think and he too, is ultra fast at crawling.
Bubble*Crazy
17-08-2007, 15:00
She also will no wear anything that isn't a skirt or dress this week:banghead: and only with a pair of volleys..
Firstly glad that AF reared her head for you! You do sound relieved!
I have a funny story (well to us it's funny!) related to Grace's fashion ... my youngest sister when she was betwee 3 & 6 absolutely REFUSED to wear knickers - she hated them. She never wore them at home and mum had to make some that she'd wear when we went out - it was the seam in them that annoyed her. AND she always wore skirts and dresses, never shorts, pants or jeans. When we did go out though she'd also refuse to wear shoes - she'd only wear thongs .... wonder if it's a girl thing as we have so much choice :confused:.
I'm sure Luca & Hannah will walk in their own time. Wish Ethan didn't sometimes ... chasing him everywhere now as he is very independant :rolleyes:.