View Full Version : DP drinking & watching rugby - i'm overdue
I'm feeling angry at DP tonight because I am overdue at the moment (almost 41wks).
I dropped off dp at the rugby today at lunchtime and in the last week i have told him twice not to drink just in case anything happens and he has to drive me to the hospital.
Well 7pm tonight i call him and he is at the pub with his rugby mates getting ready to watch the nz vs aussie game and he has been drinking since this afternoon........:thumbsdown:
I asked him to come home and watch the game and to stop drinking - he said he will be home after the game and no doubt will continue to drink.
I am so angry right now and can't stand him......because it is stressing me out the "what if's"
what if i go into labour
what if i have to drive myself
what if i have to go into labour smelling alcohol and cigarettes on his breath
and i'm really angry at him that i'm stressing out over this right now - i don't need it
I said to him that i have been preparing for this birth for the last two months (getting ready) and i'm afraid something may happen and he is not prepared .....i'm afraid i will never forgive him :mad:
You have every right to be angry. I would be too, that's very irresponsible, do you have anyone else to call that could take you to the hospital?? I would be such a cow and not let him into the hospital after having bubs just to be a b*tch. But yeah, he needs a smach upside the back of his head!
Ange&Seth
30-06-2007, 20:41
You have every right to be angry :mad: My DP told me he was going to drink with the boys from work a week before my due date. I said, what if I go into labour that night? He just laughed.
You guessed it, I went into labour!!! I still get angry about it!
Tear him a new one!!
Hi. He was apologizing but when you've been drinking you don't really care do you. He will care today when he has to deal with the shame of looking at my mother and I.
I was very close last night in pains so I had him up running around the house for me getting the hot water bottle.
I just can't help thinking what a selfish pig and I hate to think that about dp....i'm so grateful that i didn't need to go to hospital.
Thanks guys for your words - they were encouraging last night right when i needed them. Thanks.
hey joy2me
eat something spicy that you can handle or ask your mother to take you shopping and just walk or go down a very bumppy road like a dirt track that should help you labour start, i went 4x4 the day before i went into labour with master4 and the drs reckon iwas all those bumps that kicked start my labour
Thanks Icypole. I've been doing that for the last few days - walking as much as I can and I'm not going to stop until this baby comes out lol.
Apparently if you have your little toes massaged it will triger labour.
If my DP did that and I went into labour I would have found another way to the hospital and left him at home.
whatwasithinking
02-07-2007, 09:49
I can't believe he would leave you for the night considering how overdue you are!
My husband would do something like this -OVER MY DEAD BODY!!!!!!
You have every right to be angry/mad/cranky/upset.
its actuallly your heals if you have your heals massage you can kick start labour, i see a massage therypthist once a month and she told me to tell hubby to advoid the heals unless i want to go into early labour, it sitmulates the natural hormone that triggers labour
GraceUnhearing
02-07-2007, 17:19
my DF was like this to
he doesnt ever want to grow up and has stupid friends that are all idiots.
he went out one night the week before i was due and said he' be home.
he never came home!
i was sooo p!ssed off!
i rang him at about 3am and it rang out, so i tired again and then my phone call was rejected and the phone was turned off!
i was going to kill him!
the next day he rang about 1pm and said his stupid idiot friend had turned his phone off cause i kept waking im up!
i mean what if i had gone into labour?
men just dont think!
and we they drink with other friend who dont think theres just no point even trying to talk to them.
He knew I was angry with him the next day but I ignored him and kept busy trying not to get into a conversation - i didnt want to crack a **** with mum staying here.
I was quite surprised when i shared with mum that night how upset i was that i got no response from her, she wasnt as supportive as what i would've liked, she had no voice on the matter and my mum is quite often like that doesnt want to say anything or rock the boat at all probably not while she's staying with us.
That **** me off to be honest. :gloomy: Thank God i was able to get on bubhub and just vent and to get such a quick positive response was all i needed to know i had every right to feel like that - showed support.
But i know if that was dp's mother and i had done something like that she would have stuck by her son and supported him. What's up with my friggin mother man??:confused:
I mention this because the next day i noticed instead of voicing my opinion on how upset i was with him I just couldnt and felt pent up anger instead.
I kept quite until he came apologizing and even then i couldnt hold it in for long and gave in.
I think i would rather give in and have peace in the house
I get scared of voicing my opinion that I would get angry and not control it but then what i find is i can have occasional outbursts of anger anyway from probably the pent up frustration of not speaking up and having a say in the first place and feeling like i'm not taken seriously and getting walked over.
I think i need to improve my communication skills. I wasn't exactly raised with the best role models but i know my life is different to my mothers and i just dont want dp to think he can get away with this in future.
The fact he did that and with my mum here i found completely embarrassing:ecomcity: I had big ideas about the paybacks but no follow through :D
shorty_851
03-07-2007, 07:45
Hello
I know how you feel I have to drive my self to the hosptail as DP lost his licence for drink driving. I know how you feel as he goes to the pub for one or 2 beers and then rings me at 4 in the morning absolutley smashed off his face for me to go and pick him up.
I only have a few weeks left but like i keep telling him that this baby could come anytime
Thanks mate :hugs: hugs to you too.
I probably would have left him behind and caught a taxi if I did go into labour because of the contractions being too much.
Get him to pay for the cab if you can or have you got any family that can take you?
dancingchipmunk
04-07-2007, 12:32
How are you going now? Any bubba yet??? Just hearing about another woman pregnant makes me clucky now :p .
As for your DP :shame: and :mad: . How dare he just assume everything will be ok untill he finishes drinking. Your overdue and could go at anytime and he thinks its fine to go drinking???!!!
Like you said maybe you do have to work on your communication skills but at the same time he needs to work on using his brain a bit more.