View Full Version : Routine and order

Frazzled
23-01-2006, 21:37
I'm just wondering how you all do it. My DH is at home at the moment till next week when school returns, which makes everything a little crazy. But when he goes back to work I want to get myself into a bit of a routine with the house and everything. I just feel so cluttered and disorganised at the moment, which in turn adds to stress levels when you are an anal retentive clean freak like me with a ten week old newborn!

Any suggestions :o :confused: :rolleyes: :eek:

tyler's mum
23-01-2006, 21:59
i dont have a hubby,, [im a single mum] but i try to have a routine,, doesnt always work with a baby:rolleyes: ,,, tyler is 4.5months,,, and we still dont really have a daily routine,,, once she is up and had her morning bottle,, i make her cot, my bed, put a load of washing on,,, then i bath her and i shower,,, then we have play time,,,, tyler does not sleep much though the day anymore maybe 30mins if im lucky 1hr,,, i try to do every thing once she is asleep,,, of a nite i wash up, boil her water,,, get her bottles ready,,, dust,,, vacuum i try to get it done of a nite while she is asleep,,, so we can spend most of the day playing:D

23-01-2006, 22:26
Dont even get me started on having my other half at home !!!!
Everything & i mean everything is a disaster zone !!!!
I had a fly screen on my lounge room floor as of yesterday arvo & it sat there till this morning in my vain attempt & hope he would move it :rolleyes: Guess what ? i moved it !!!! We are already in a mess as the place is only half renovated without him trying to be helpful like that ggrrrr !
My best advice i can give you is to have some order to your early mornings & nite times.
Mornings for us involve bubs waking anywhere as of 6am sometimes earlier then he has a bottle once he has that i organise his brekky & put a load of washing on while he has a little play in his cot or play pen then we have brekky together ( which atm involves daddy too heh ) then he stays in his highchair while i hang the washing out & possibly organise another load this will be especially handy for when we start cloth nappies !
We then have some game time together with little things ive made up & i then put him back to bed by then which is around 10am as he is usually tired though lately even though he has been tired he refuses to sleep. I then start vacuuming upstairs as i taught him to fall asleep to this heh best thing i ever did ! :p Then i either finish downstairs & read a book or i take a nap too if im tired heh !
Then he is up around 12pm for lunch & then we just go with whatever he wants to do then he is usually ready for another nap again depending on his mood LOL around 3pm give or take to which i usually bubhub LOL then he is back awake at 5pm for dinner.
6pm is daddy time when he gets home from work then at 7pm he gets a bath & has his last bottle & is in bed by 8pm. Doesnt mean he sleeps tho LOL !
Then we have dinner as my partner does that while i bath bubs & we eat then i wash up & organise bottles sterilising & making up the next days requirements & if i need to cook him more food i do so then also.
Then i shower & i can relax for the rest of the nite again if its a good nite LOL ;)
Sometimes you just need a rough routine to work around & the rest all sorts itself out :D

Frazzled
24-01-2006, 07:25
Thanks Ally and Tylers mum. I think it will just be a lot easier when DH is back at work... He is sooooo messy! How is it even possible to make so much mess??? Ally - I hear you about the half reno house! I have been waiting for 2 years for my kitchen to be finished!!!

Tyler's mum - you sound like an absolute champ! :p

BlessedWithBlue
24-01-2006, 14:35
Lol my house is an absolute war zone when df is home from work.
He works afternoon shift so my day goes like this.
8am Both boys wake up
8:30am brekkie
9am Kids play by themselves while i clean up the kitchen
10am yds goes down for a nap
during this time i usually tidy up the toys while ods is doing his own thing.
11am wake up daddy
11.30am yds wakes up
12pm both boys have lunch
1pm both boys go down for their afternoon naps
i usually clean the kitchen AGAIN 'cause df is usually making his own lunch and food for work, put in a load of washing or do anything else that needs to be done.
2:30pm df leaves for work
4pm kids wake up
5pm dinner time
7:30pm yds bedtime
8pm ods bedtime
do anything that didn't get done during the day

I'm usually in bed by about 11pm and df gets home at 12am

This is the usual day at our house unless it shopping day or we go out then i gotta clean after the kids are in bed.:rolleyes:

Pixie
24-01-2006, 14:41
I understand!!!!
I always do my housework on Monday's after he has destroyed he place over the weekend and again on Friday so it's spick and span for the weekend...I am very anal as well.

I was in Tears on sunday worrying about the week after I have the baby and the state of the place...and DB came out into the lounge and tidyed up and said look babe I can do it...you don't need to worry, I will be here the week after the baby is born...This is my worry I said...lol he just doesn't get it.:rolleyes:

ah we need a maid lol

the_queen
24-01-2006, 16:41
Hi Kate! :)
This may not be an option for everybody, but I have a cleaner who comes in once a fortnight. She comes in for 2.5 - 3 hours, she dusts, vaccuums all the carpets, mops all the hard floors, cleans my toilet, bathroom and handbasin areas, and if she has time left she'll do any other jobs I ask her. 3 hours costs me $58. My hubby got a pay rise late last year, and I decided that $30 a week is not too bad. Before I got pregnant, we used to rent DVD's every week ($10/wk) and we used to have pizza night every week ($25/wk), and we don't do these things anymore. So having a cleaning lady is not "another expense", it's just a better use of our money. It makes more sense to me to spend our "leftover money" on that, than personal indulgences.

It just leaves the "little jobs" for me to do. Dishes, washing, sweep the floor, tidy up a bit. I wash 1 or 2 loads of clothes every day, mainly because we only have a small clothes line. I wash dishes two or three times a day, takes me less than 10 minutes a time. I sweep up the kitchen/family area after Vally is in bed. Because we don't have a toddler, the house stays pretty much tidy. We have a rule of no toys in the lounge room. Vallerie's bedroom - now that's another story :rolleyes: !!! I try to encourage her to tidy that herself, but I do give her a hand to quickly put everything away before she has a shower at night.

lil button
24-01-2006, 16:53
Hi ally, i would really like to know if poss how you got bubs to go to sleep with the vacuum cleaner please.

I have always believed that you should still be able to vaccum, wash dishes, washing. ie making noise while bubs sleeps, but always wondered how i was going to do it. Now lil pumpkin on the way i would love to know.

Thank You

Linda

I Meant to pm that what a moron!!

24-01-2006, 17:10
DM !!!!!!!!!!! - Here i was thinking i was the only one that compulsive !!!!!!
Hahahaah i also clean on Mondays & Fridays heheheheh ! :D
Be prepared for the house being a mess when you get from hospital ! Well mine was but thats a different story ! :rolleyes:

Frazzled
24-01-2006, 21:15
Thanks guys, some great suggestions that i'll take on board. I wish i could have a cleaning lady! A live in one would be nice! Linda, they say that babies like the sound of the vac or washing machine because it is like the sound of being in the womb. My bub mostly stays asleep while we vac and when there is noise. My suggestion is make noise from the start so they get used to it - don't tip toe around. At my sisters house you weren;t even allowed to flush the toilet and her girls are the lightest of sleepers!

tyler's mum
24-01-2006, 21:30
i dont understand people like that,,, tyler will pretty much sleep through anything,,, and will sleep anywhere,,, she was like a week old when she when to her frist party...lol loud music every one laughting and drunk [not me:( ] and she just sleep in her pram,, but then again she is a angel:D :p

Frazzled
24-01-2006, 21:40
Yeah, shes a bit of a nut bag! Elliot has loved noise from the start - im a teacher and apparently they also say that teachers babies love noise because they are so used to it from the classroom environment when they are inside???

tyler's mum
24-01-2006, 21:44
yeah i guess that would have helped,, he would have heard screaming kids 5 days a week,,, poor boy...lol;)

24-01-2006, 21:45
Yep the more noise they have while you preggers the better i say lol not meaning go to a heavy metal concert but YKWIM ! heheheh
I hate the idea of having to tip toe around babies need to learn to sleep wherever IMO thats why bubs learnt to sleep in his pram or rocker when we were downstairs or baby carrier makes life easier for us obviously but much better for him to get some sleep !
My cousin had it so her kids only slept with dark curtains & quiet so one time when they visited for a family celebration they had to drive around the place for an hour so the babies could get their nap WTH !?!?!?!?!
All th other babies & kids slept wherever they could !

ETsMum
25-01-2006, 11:21
Hi ally, i would really like to know if poss how you got bubs to go to sleep with the vacuum cleaner please.

The vacuum cleaner is the best thing for getting an over tired baby to sleep. I put DS in his swing in the lounge room and start vac that room first. He is usually asleep before I finish the house - which can be a good excuse to stop ;)

AND if it doesn't work at least you can't hear him for a while (I check on him after each room) and you have done something for the day!

lil button
25-01-2006, 11:45
Ta guys,

my friend is the same that she never vacuums or cleans around her girls and you have to be so quiet till they get to sleep and not do washing etc.

That would drive me bonkers and i am glad to know that bubs loves soothing noises like that.
Whats funny is watching the kittens run from the vacuum cleaner!:p

25-01-2006, 23:30
Whats funny is watching the kittens run from the vacuum cleaner!:p

HAHAHAHAHAH !
My male cat just "hears" me pick up the vacuum to bring downstairs & freaks out gees its like im going to vacuum him its hilarious ! He hides out behind the toilets LOL !

Tea Lady
26-01-2006, 15:28
Unfortunately this is one teacher whose baby can't sleep thru noise!! She was ok at the beginning, but I can hardly do anything now - she's been known to wake up because the floor creaks - arghhhh!! I was sooooo going to have one of those babies that sleeps thru everything, but it just didn't happen unfortunately :( I think it depends on the bubs themselves.

27-01-2006, 00:04
Unfortunately this is one teacher whose baby can't sleep thru noise!! She was ok at the beginning, but I can hardly do anything now - she's been known to wake up because the floor creaks - arghhhh!! I was sooooo going to have one of those babies that sleeps thru everything, but it just didn't happen unfortunately :( I think it depends on the bubs themselves.

Yeah ive had moments with bubs ( like now :mad: :confused: ) where any noise when he is trying to fall asleep & he just wont go off !
I guess it does depend on their moods but at least you were going to try i guess what we wonder about is why would you want to make it hard for not just yourself but them also with going to sleep IYKWIM.
She is gorgeous though Tea Lady so she can get away with it im sure ;)

lil button
27-01-2006, 11:49
HAHAHAHAHAH !
My male cat just "hears" me pick up the vacuum to bring downstairs & freaks out gees its like im going to vacuum him its hilarious ! He hides out behind the toilets LOL !

Jet to a T!!!!!!! :D :) :p

sonlou73
28-01-2006, 14:51
Allyoo, my DH is going back to work next week after 6 odd weeks off (teacher), and I'm looking forward to it. Don't get me wrong, he is a great help but my routine goes all out of whack when he is around! I want my routine back with DS1 and I want to get some type of one happening with DS2, which i know is impossible for an 11 week old!

28-01-2006, 16:29
Auugh !
I have another month of my partner being off work :eek:
Thing is im now getting a routine going with having him here !
So im no sooner going to get that in line & he will either be off having an operation or something else *sigh* :rolleyes: