View Full Version : Teen Pregnancy
bubbabelly
25-03-2005, 22:28
Hey there,
I am 16 years old and 28 weeks pregnant. I was wondering if anyone else was around my age or has has a baby at or around 16?
I went into all the young parents threads but all of them seemed to be around 19/20.
I was really hoping to talk to someone to see if they were going through the same things i am with my pregnancy.
Its not made any easier when you have a dad that is constantly telling you "you have ruined your life!"
I just wanted to hear about any obstacles other teen mothers/pregnancies had to over come when making their decision to bring a baby into this world.
Its not easy. People are so judgmental. You only have to say two words, 'pregnant' and '16' and people think they no exactly what type of of person you are.
I believe you can be a good mum at 16 and a bad mum at 30.
Thank you
Xandersmum
26-03-2005, 17:24
Hi there...I was 11 days shy of my 20th birthday when I had Xander, so I have no idea how it must feel for you to be bringing a child into the world at your age. I just want to say good luck with everything...I hope you have a trouble-free pregnancy and birth. If you want to chat, feel free to message me. I'm in Brisbane also.
hey bubbabelly. I'm 19 and have an almost 5 month old. i went through all the same crap of being told that i had ruined my life by mum everyday and had no support from anyone.
So hey, if you ever want to chat/write my e-mail/msn is aziza_13@hotmail.com.
Another good site for young mums is www.youngaussiemums.8m.com...there is probably more mums your age that go to that site ... also some of the msn groups for australian teen mums have members closer to your age.
hi bubbabelly, i had my son 9 days after my 17th bday and i went thru all the same stuff. My dad kept tellin me how much i had ruined my life and all the rest of it, but when i was 34 weeks pregnant he asked me to move back home so that he could help me with bubs :) . People can b judgemental but it doesnt matter what they think about u, as long as u r happy. i am now 24 and 39 weeks pregnant with my 4th child and i wouldnt change it for the world. I love my kids and they never go without so screw what ppl think :). If u want to chat just get back to me and ill b happy to talk , good luck
I was 17 (just) I had little support until I found a wonderful life changeing support group called YYP or Young Parents Program. They have a pregnancy group and two mothers groups (depending on the age of your child). I found it fun supportive and educational. They would tell me I was beautiful and brave and never suggested anything but how much of a good mum I would be. I know it's nerve racking to go to these sort of things but it sounds like you could do with the support and love these ladys will no doubt give you! YYP is based at stafford on the northside but there are other programs running around brisbane and all over aust. Look into it cause apart from their support you'll meet others in the same boat. As a personal note, you are forfulling your bodys natural function it is todays society that tells you it's wrong and makes it difficult. Just remember you know what sort of mum you want to be, so be it and you will be rewarded! (my daughter is nearly 8 and completly amazing, she one of my best friends!) :)
I had my son when i was 22, so i can't really say i know what you are going thru. But my sister fell pregnant at 16, her boyfriend was also 16, she turned 17 three weeks before her son was born. They considered putting him up for addoption, and he was placed in foster care for the first three months of his life, while they made their decision. They decided to keep him. He is now 5yrs old, she is still with the father and they are about to move to Darwin.
A friend of my other sister fell pregnant at 15 and her daughter was born just after she turned 16. She turns 5 this year. She does not see her father, he wants nothing to do with her, but she is a happy little girl. Her mum finished high school and then worked for a couple of years and has just started a TAFE course. After her baby was born her family gave her heaps of support, even tho they weren't too happy when they found out she was pregnant.
If you really want this baby, then go for it :) Don't worry about what anyone else thinks, just prove to them that they were wrong about it all after the baby is born by being a really great mum :)
Good luck
hi my name is sue i'm 21 years old and pregnant with my seconad baby :)
like to chat to anyone :)
GoneBatty
31-03-2005, 17:08
Hi bubbabelly
Im 16 and 29 weeks pregnant, it would be good to chat with you about what we are going through as im guessing we would be feeling alot of the same things.
Anyways let me know if you wanna talk ok :)
mumof2girls
01-04-2005, 17:46
Hiya!
My sister had her first child at 16 and she did a great job! (she now has 6!!& her second grandchild due in may)
My parents never told her that she had ruined her life though and the only way to get around that is to prove them wrong. Show your dad that you can raise a child, finish school and get a job. Life is what WE want it to be not what people tell us it should be. Remember raising children is hard at any age not just at your age but once you look at them they are so worth all the effort. There is a lot of support in each state that supports young mothers so use them, that's what they are there for.
02-04-2005, 12:20
Hello Bubbabelly and congratulations!
I had my first child at age 15 :)
Feel free to add me to your msn if you want to chat sometime! I am now 21 and have two daughters aged 6 and 2!
We live in Brissie aswell! :p
My msn is
chocoluva_83@hotmail.com
Izzys'mum
02-04-2005, 14:31
Congratulations,
Im 21 and have a 7mth baby girl. I hope everything turns out fantastic for you and you have a good birth. Stressing about what others think of you stresses out your baby as well. You sound like a very strong independent woman and im sure you'll make a great mum. Try not to worrie about what other people think, you know who you are and thats all that matters. Relax and enjoy your pregnancy.
Id love to hear how every thing turns out for and im sure so would a lot of other mums on this site would as well!
Take care and Good Luck!
bubbabelly
07-04-2005, 17:56
Hey there,
Thanks everyone for replying.
Its good to know that there other young mums out there going through the same thing.
BubbaBelly
blacktulips
08-04-2005, 09:15
I was 18 when I had my first 22 years ago. I am now 40 with number 5 on the way.
Back then I wasn't married, It was still considered a shameful thing to be unwed and pregnant. My dad was real happy but my Mum was not, it was an embrassment to her social standing . My self esteem went rock bottom.
My mum wanted me married there and then but I waited until I was six months pregnant I was showing. I guess it was my way of getting revenge on her for the way she treated me.
Funny thing is now that Iam 40 I am getting treated like I did when I was 18 instead of being to young Iam now to old. I can't win at either end.
Think 200 years ago it was quite common for a girl to be pregnant at 14 + . by the time you where 18 you are getting old.
Socity has a lot to answer for.
I don't care how old someone is when they get pregnant, they don't need to be judge. They just want support.
I have seen really good mums and lousy ones all ages. So age dosn't make a difference.
There are lots of services out there now that are on offer please try them all and use what you feel is best for you. TRy your local community centre they may ahve a young mums club their or next time you are at the docotrs ask to speak to the Social worker the can often put you in contact with mums the same age as yourself.
I wish you all the best and have fun,
Colleen
youngmum
10-04-2005, 22:37
hey there,
i'm new to all this, just found out im pregnant, im 18, 19 in June and pretty scared atm, if anyone has any advice or anything it'd be great!
michelesexymamma
13-04-2005, 03:53
:p hey im 16 too any just wanted someone to talk to ttyl
michelesexymamma
13-04-2005, 03:54
just wanted someone my age to talk too this can be scary sometimes
kai'smummy
26-04-2005, 17:40
hi i was 171/2 when i had my son. it is hard having kids so young but it is all worth it i will tell you that now once you have your little one and hold him for the 1st time it is the most wonderfull and presious thing in the world.
i have a lot of support ffom my mum and dad as i am a single working mum and still living at home.
but just remember who ur parents are i know your dad isn't real happy bout it neither was my dad but once you have the little one everything will change and hopefully he will come around and love your baby as much as he loves you.
do you know what you are having girl or boy?
natasha
bubbabelly
28-04-2005, 14:11
Hey there,
Im having a boy......yay!!!
I will be just over 17 by the time he comes and my dad has warmed to the idea a little more now!!!
I think its already hard just being young and pregnant so i cant imagine what its going to be like when he is actually here!!!
But thank you for that
From BubbaBelly
:p hi there mum to be
i think its great that your going to be a mum at 16 ,i was 20 when i had my first but even thats young these days ,in sydney everyone has babies in there mid to late 30's .
i think no matter what age you are if you can provied a safe loving home for your child then thats all that matters.
being a mum is a 24 hour job and it is hard work but your 16 not 5 and im sure you have thought long and hard about what is best for you and your baby as loving as family and friends can mean to be they sometimes just go a few steps to far ,just listen to your heart and im sure you'll be a great mum .
enjoy your pregnancy and good luck .
where all just learning together . :D
bubbabelly
28-04-2005, 15:38
Hey there,
Im having a boy......yay!!!
I will be just over 17 by the time he comes and my dad has warmed to the idea a little more now!!!
I think its already hard just being young and pregnant so i cant imagine what its going to be like when he is actually here!!!
But thank you for that
From BubbaBelly
Desertress
29-04-2005, 12:48
I had my son 5 days before my 20th b'day so i know how hard it can be, especially getting used to all the looks and comments you get for being so young and pregnant. While is dosnt get any better when the baby comes you do get used to it and learn to ignore people.My best advice for all the young mums is not to let ANYONE make you feel like you dont know what is best for your child or make you feel like you parenting is inferior. you still know your child better then anyone else and should trust your own instincts. Parenting is all about learning and although it may seem hard at first you will soon get used to it and learn to love all the joys and challenges of parenting.
my sister is 16 n shes 16 wks 4 days pregnant. she told me last week. she balled her eyes out .from that moment i knew she wanted this baby.im a 22 yr old mum, i fell prenant at 19. ive also had an abortion at 17 n at the time of that decision i was certain i did not want it, 6mnths came n i was guilty.i was not emotionally attached at the time of my decision, this made it a whole lot easier. but with my son i could not let him go . i just knew.
my sista cried to me because she was scared at the fact that she knew she wanted this kid, the consequences with dealing with the family was the problem.i felt her pain.
last night my aunty n i went ova to let my mum n step dad know the news.........s*** hit the roof.......as expected. my mum was almost havn another nervous breakdown.she said things to my sista that will scar her for life, i know because i still remember those words she spoke to me as a teenager. she threatened to kick my sista out if she chose to keep it."ure only 16, u dont even know how to wipe ure ***" she said.
there was no option for my sista from my aunty's ,step dads n mums point of view. my sista had her head down the whole time..........they had cornered her emotionally n she felt she had no choice......
wen i'd ask her "wat do u want to do" shed reply "I want to keep it".
she has seen the ultra sound so if she decides to abort she will neva eva forget those images........this will not make her a stronger person............
i hate my mum soooooooooooooooooooo much 4 doin this 2 my sista . she went 2 day 2 have the abortion but refused. 2 nite shes at her boyfriends place with his control freaked mum .his mum told her if she doesnt finish school my sista cant see him.........they r threatening my sista ......n i hate them for that.his mums boyfriend is a doctor n hes taking care of it all which makes it harder for my sista because wat they r restricting important information from her .like the complications that may occur from havn a late abortion.
they have taken her phone n r brain washing her by forcing her to think she will have no help........i own my unit we r buyn a house soon n i would do everything i can to help her out....
2morow they have booked another appointment..........im scarfed...............hurt by people whom have there own interests at heart & not respecting my sistas decision..........im ****ed off with control freak parents..........they need to wake up n realise we came through them not from them..............they do not own us we belong to our own selves or to god..........they under estimaye the experience of teens these days.
please pray 4 my sista.....................
Baby Girl
04-05-2005, 22:56
If you are scared for her safety and emotional wellbeing get in your car, on a bus, train or walk over there and bring her back to your place!!
Her bf's parents can't take her phone - that is theft and they CAN NOT make her have a termination if she doesn't want to. She needs to tell the staff at the clinic that she wants to keep the baby and they are not legally allowed to go any further until she has received counselling - without your parents or his present to co-erce her into anything.
Do you know where her appointment is tomorrow? Maybe you could show up and lend your support to her, maybe just be being there for her and letting her know not everyone is against her, no matter what decision she makes, might make her feel the slightest bit better, no matter what decision she makes.
Have you tried to explain to your parents how they made you feel with the things they said to you? Have you also tried to tell them that you have a closer experience to what your sister is going through and are pretty sure that their words have made her feel as lousy as you felt when they said those things to you.
At 16 she is legally allowed to have sex and if that leads to her falling pregnant and becoming a mother - that is her choice and NO-ONE else's - parents or not!!
Good Luck.
mummyof2angels
05-05-2005, 08:31
I am thinking of your sister... It must be soo hard for you to see your sister go through that kind of pain.
Congratulations Bubbabelly!!!!
You will be a great mummy :D I had my first child at 16.5yrs old. It was hard to tell my parents at first cause i was scared cause at the time i told them i was only 15. Of course they were angry but they got use to the idea by the end of the pregnancy and it was time to give birth cause i asked them to be my support partners as i wasn't with Tylers dad at the time. Anyway since then i have had my second child and she was planned and i was engaged but on the 3rd of September last yr i cam eout of hospital to a completely empty house ... Talisha's dad had left and left me with nothing 3 weeks prior to her being born. So i was out rushing around like crazy trying to get me and my son a bed to sleep on and a fridge so we could put food in the house and replace everything for my unborn child at the time. Talisha is now 7mths old and Tyler will be 3 in July. So take care and i hope you have a good pregnancy and birth and everything gets better for you. Bub bye
BTW i live in brissie too
bubbabelly
05-05-2005, 14:21
Hey mum22,
please check ur personal mail through bubhub!!
Thanx for ure replies, I was very upset last night.I still am but it is too late.
I tried contacting my sista but all my efforts were useless. I stayed on the net last night till I was almost falling off to sleep on the keyboard because i was thinking 2 much.I still havent heard from my sita but i have called her at least 10 times . i jus called n someone hung up. i feel like i've been carstrated for supporting my sita.today i picked up her ultra sound scans so that she wouldnt have 2 c them after her abortion.my mum msged me n wrote that shes well n needs "luv n Care"..........real easy wen i cant even get in touch with her...............i feel as though she has made a huge mistake...........Im upset that she wasnt strong enough 2 go ahead i truly respect young mums 4 this reason.They have followed there hearts...........
people make it out like you will b missing out on sooooooooo much by having children young.........for me this was the total opposite they r a blessing.I neva new love could be this strong.it is a huge responsibility,yes,but it all pays off- No Regrets.................
i miss my sista..................
chloe010988
10-05-2005, 15:11
im 16 and found out 2 days ago that am 11 weeks pregnant. i have a great boyfriend but im scared of what both our friends will say. he is 19 and his best friend was tricked into getting a girl pregnant and when he said to his friend that i might be pregnant his friend was disgusted and acted like i did it on purpose and said really horrible things. im really scared of what everyone is going to say and think about me. i know im not a **** or anything like that ive only been with one guy but others dont and the rumours that go around about people are so terrible. im still at school and will be till i start showing. Any advice from people who have been through pregnancy while at school??
Thanx CHLOE
Natalie of 3
10-05-2005, 15:50
I agree get a job, education etc, that's what i did. I was 16 when i had my 1st child (she's now 10). My Dad also said the same, that i was ruining my life. I now have 3 kids, the youngest almost 3. I am getting married in October this year and I have a certificate in Aged care, am studying cert. 4 in child protection, and next year will do a diploma in social work. I finished my years 11 and 12 with good grades and my kids too love education. All I can say is to show him wrong. Goodluck and don't hesitate to contact me. :)
babyjode
10-05-2005, 20:06
Im 17years old, i have a 5weeks old boy. I was 16 when i feel pregnant, turned 17 when i was about 13weeks. I would realy like to talk to you. dimond_j@hotmail.com, add me to msn or send me an email.
chloe010988
11-05-2005, 21:34
Thanx so much for all the replies. I officially told my boyfriend that im pregnant he was shocked to say the least he freaked out a bit. he said hell support me but his eyes were telling a different story. I think ive cried so many tears int he past 4days i will run out soon. Its hard enough trying to fight the morning sickness at school during classes but having to figure out whether to tell friends or not and hat im going to do about school is killing me! Has anyone got any advice in regards to school, the education and social aspects of it.
Thanx again CHLOE
babyjode
12-05-2005, 00:46
I suggest you dont tell too many people until your in the 12weeks.
I did that because in the first 12week's is the highest chance of miscarrage, i knwo that sounds horrible, but the way i looked at it, was that if people took it bad and made me upset at stressed it wouldn't be good for my baby, and i think it would be hard to go through telling everyone then having to handle with a miscarrage with everyone knowing, ect. PLease dont think im horrible just the way i did it.
I also suggest that you STOP, take deep breath, SMILE, Gurl your PREGNANT be happy, your going to have the best thing in the world in your arms in just a few months. I was scared but after giving birth i think its the best experience a lady can have no matter her age. Plus i dont think its the age its the matturity. Your ages doesnt deside wether your a good parent of not.
JUST SMILE GIRL, its not good for you too be crying. What anyone else think's its there problem.
I suggest you dont tell too many people until your in the 12weeks.
I did that because in the first 12week's is the highest chance of miscarrage, .
This doesn't sound horrible at all. I told nearly everyone I knew that I was pregnant when I found out. I live in a small town and in 6 weeks I had told a lot of people and the word had gotten around. I miscarried at 12 weeks. I hated the way people felt sorry for me and the postion I put them in by them not knowing what to say.
Also I agree. Smile and take it all in. Your making a miracle happen - LIFE :)
chloe010988
12-05-2005, 20:17
Thanx for the great advice. I decided to not tell anyone for now. My boyfriend & our parents now know & thats quite enough lectures & interagations for my liking Theres no cure for morning sickness is there? Cos if there is i will give up everything i own for it today i couldnt go to school cos it was so bad. Why do they even call it morning sickness its morning to night sickness for me,
Im trying to smile and be happy & think about the little life but damn its hard wit my boyfriend deciding to freak out hes been walking around like hes in a daze & he wont touch me not a kiss not a hug its pretty painful and i got NO idea what to do about him. With this reaction im guessing he wont be around for long once our baby is born. what do you do about a guy who looks like hes gonna do a runner? Well hope you and all ur kids are good
CHLOE
hey all of you im 15 and near brisbane :) im 18weeks on sunday maybe we could meet i'd really enjoy having some one to share this with because the father has left me and our baby :( my e-mail is terri_lynn_darker@hotmail.com thank you please im sick of only meeting people that just hear 15 and single mum to be im not scum i stood up for what i felt was right and i love my baby already god i really need a friend :( :confused:
CHLOE
hey im 15 and im 18 weeks pregnant the father is telling his parents and friends he never touched me when we lived to gether for 2 and a half 3 months he is in mackay while im in brissy trying to do this with only me to rely on! oh and i hear ginger is good for morning sickness you can get it in those vitamin tablet things my doc sed
LOL...I can think of lots (mostly unprintable) things to do. But my ultimate advice is 'let him go'. Who wants someone who's with you only out of guilt and obligation? And who knows what you might be missing out on while you're stuck with second best? :D
Bec
hey everyone im just 17, and totaly lost on what to do, im an in a competitive sport, which rules my life, n only just found out i am pregnant. thank god i have a lovin boyfriend, but i have the problem of how to tell my mum, we r kinda close but if she found out she would be devistated expcially since she puts er heart n soul into my sporting life. Also is it possible that due to my increased training this may have caused the test to come out positive???
thank u all ...
Hey guys I am doing an assignment on Teen Pregnancies at the moment, and you guys have helped me heaps! I see jsut how you all feel and how you support each other its great. I have to do an oral on it this monday and it's been so much help and you have all had really great points.
My sister was 18 when she was forced to adopt her baby boy michael out. My parents forced her... they also treated her really badly, by verbal and physical abuse. I was only about 2 when this was happening I am now nearly 16. My brothers girlfriend is 16 and is now pregnant, my brother is 19. My parents want.. but are basically FORCING them to give up the baby, but my brothers girlfriend won't have it, and my sister is telling my brother not to do it because she regrets it so much. She now has 2 other children and is happily married. The thing is that I don't understand is that my mother was only 17 when she had her baby, and gave it up herself apparently by her own will, and yet she didn't understand what her own daughter was going through... My parents are very nieve to the whole teen pregnancy thing.
I think in the end all it comes down to is how much you love the baby.. what your insticts are.. and what YOU youself, no body else, but what you yourself thinks is the best. I may not be an expert but I have basically been through it all.. Find out only last year i had a 12 year old nephew, and also finding out I had a half sister when i was 12 years old... My mum is living in the olden days, where it is "Too embarassing and a shame on the family" which i think is juts complete CRAP!
anyway there is my life story lol and thanks again guys for helping me out! ;)
Maree xo
tamara1988
09-08-2005, 13:16
hey i read ur thing and i just wanted to say hi. . im 16 and i would be 13 weeks pregnant now, but i was just wondering if you're in the local blacktown or penrith area if you would be interested in a social day i am organising with a few of my tafe friends for young parents aged between 14 and 20?? please email me at fishey_luvzu@hotmail.com and let me know. . i would really love for you to be able to come. . thanks tamara :p
missy1986
01-09-2005, 20:59
hi
i was 15 (almost 16) when i had my son.
my mum was supportive but my boyfriends mum wanted me to have an abortion (my bf was 17). i told her no way! i could never end my own childs life! she was p*ssed and accused us of ruining our lives but come around soon enough!
i lived in a small town and had my share of naive people with there bullsh*t comments! i told them all where to go, and as far as i am concerned i am a better mother than most of them and they are twice my age!
both our families were sying we wouldn't last more than 2 years and we wouldn't be able to cope with a baby blah blah blah, so we were very proud when we proved them wrong! we have been together for 5 years and just had our second baby (a girl) last october!
it is best (well i think) to not tell anyone until you are at least 12 weeks because the chances of miscarriage are much higher in the first 3 months!
so don't worry about all the haters out there! hold your head up and be strong! your going to be a mummy!
i hope that your boyfriend comes around, he is probably just freaking out and very scared!
don't cry! just think in a few months (it goes faster than you think) you are gonna have the most precious thing in the world!!!!!!
good luck with it all, anytime you want a yarn my email is amarmi@optusnet.com.au
christianna
maddiesmom
28-09-2005, 04:53
Hi bubbabelly. I am currently 16 years old, and 18 weeks pregnant. I will be willing to talk with you about anything you want. You can email me at ande5651@metnet.edu. I am available for anything you need. Anyone can e-mail me, just make sure to introduce yourself in the first e-mail. That way, I won't delete it right away.
just before i turned 17 was pregnant with my son... my mother FLIPED as soon and she found out... and dad just brushed it off ... saying it is to late now no point crying over it !
Everywhere i went everyone was all ok with it untill they found out i was 17... then they were like.... ohhh ummmm errrrrrrr your sure young to have a baby.
no body ever gave negative comments till they found out my age...
and for the hopsital staff i dont think they could have been any ruder ! specially the day i was leaving they had a talk about contraception. and demanded i went on the pill again to prevent any more MISSTAKES !!! i piped up and said " sorry miss my son is NOT a misstake he just wasnt planed to come this early"... boy she was lucky i was in a good mood to be leaving that hospital.
After having him i joined a playgroup / mothers metting thing.... everyone there was so friendly and nice.... and one day they were chatting about how old they all are.... once they knew i was 17 everything changed like it all of a sudden everyones attitude changed towards me... so i left. i learnt to keep my mouth shut for the first few years... now 20 years old i look back and think it was all so stupid... i was MADE to feel ashamed i was young.
these days i think it was the best thing i have ever done ! my son is a healthy soon to be 3 yr old...and i woudnt changed having him so early... as it is were planing to make another by the end of this year.
it's great having a young family... we get to have the greatest ammounts of time together...
maddys_mum
25-10-2005, 12:04
Hi I fell pregnant at 17 and had my dd at 18. Yes it is hard to be a teen mum but a think it is hard to be a mum no matter what age you are. Dont worry about what anyone else thinks of you. Im sure u will be a fanntastic mum!! People seem to always look down on young mums for some stupid reason. Just enjo the rest of your pregnancy!!
Shannon.
jennifer707
25-10-2005, 22:45
Hi, i just turned 19 and am expecting my first baby in 5 weeks.
I found out im having a girl, but i have a funny feeling im having a boy lol.
If any one wants to chat please feel free to email me jennifertabone@hotmail.com i LOVE chatting to other young mums :o
mixi_mama
26-10-2005, 05:37
Hi Im Moewai -
I had my son when i was 16 and he's now almost 4 - Im currently pregnant with my second (a lil girl) due in january.
Would love to chat to any fellow young mama's - especially those from brisbane..
My msn is hemimoewai@hotmail.com
MissSparkle
27-10-2005, 11:56
Hey girls! Its such a relief to no im not alone!
I had my son in Feb this year, just after my 18th birthday! My partner was great! We bought a house and moved out togther and r hopefully getting engaged soon!
When i found out we'd only been together for a couple of months, i was 17 amd doing my hsc and our parents are both very religeous! His mum wouldnt allow me in her house till i was 7months pregnant and thta really hurt me! My mum was an emotion wreck now she is the best support i have!
My son is now nearly 9months and i love him sooooo much!
I would love to hear from anyone else in nsw (i live in Western Sydney) who is a young mum because sometimes i feel so alone! All my friends are at uni or out partying and although i love my life, i wish i had more friends who understand what im going thru!!!
Goodluck to all u pregnant ones!! Enjoy ur sleep now! hehe!!
Steph
27-10-2005, 17:19
I was a teen when i was pg with my DS. I got pg 4 weeks after my 19th birthday. It was a bit of a shock at first but then it became a pleasure! :p I had to change my ways which was a bit hard. I was a real party animal at that time. I used to go out 3 nights a week and easily spend $300+ a weekend on booze!! :eek: I still sometimes wish that i could go out but ive accepted my responsibilty. Thats one of the good things about having a baby young, you grow up real fast! When i look back i wouldnt of changed my decision for anything! I love my little boy and ive been so blessed by him!
Worm'sMum
27-10-2005, 20:11
Hi Bubbabelly!
Firstly Congratulations!!!
My mum had me when she was 16 and I know she went through some tough times,(esp living in a small town and my dad leaving her) but her family really helped her through. She has given me and my sisters the best life - we may not have had a lot of money but we had a lot of love. I admire her so much and now we are the best of friends and I'm always going to her for advice - sometimes even clothes :D
This is a wonderful time and I bet as soon as your dad holds that beautiful bundle in his arms, his heart will melt and it may even bring you both closer together!
Good Luck! And Although I'm an oldy at 27 I'm always ready for a chat! :)
Mum2Lucas
06-11-2005, 20:01
I was 19 when I found out I was pregnant. I turned 20 in june and now I have a beautiful baby boy. He's 8 weeks old and he's the best thing that's hapened to me. I'd like to met more young mums around my age. If anyone wants to chat at all I have msn. My email address is originalcindy_101@hotmail.com. looking forward to meeting more people. :) I'm from brisbane too.
Hey girls! Its such a relief to no im not alone!
I had my son in Feb this year, just after my 18th birthday! My partner was great! We bought a house and moved out togther and r hopefully getting engaged soon!
When i found out we'd only been together for a couple of months, i was 17 amd doing my hsc and our parents are both very religeous! His mum wouldnt allow me in her house till i was 7months pregnant and thta really hurt me! My mum was an emotion wreck now she is the best support i have!
My son is now nearly 9months and i love him sooooo much!
I would love to hear from anyone else in nsw (i live in Western Sydney) who is a young mum because sometimes i feel so alone! All my friends are at uni or out partying and although i love my life, i wish i had more friends who understand what im going thru!!!
Goodluck to all u pregnant ones!! Enjoy ur sleep now! hehe!!
Steph
hey how ya goin, im only 16 17 in march n i have just found out that me n my bf are guna have a baby can you please tell me some info that maybe i could use coz we both kinda new to this lol his 20 n we just need some advice or help maybe i dont no but if you could would be great. jess_carter_2@hotmail.com
penelope
15-11-2005, 16:31
:p hey im 16 to i turn 17 in december and im 28 weeks my baby boy is due on feb 2 id love to chat also to any young to be mums or mums around my age and area i live in tugan on the gold coast it would be great to have someone going thru a similiar thing to talk to
my msn is holden__4__life@hotmail.com
ChristineM
15-11-2005, 16:41
Hey bubbabelly,
Congratulations, you are beginning the most rewarding path your life will probably bring you. I don't know you but feel proud of you. For someone so young to have the guts and iniative to come on here and seek others for companionship and advice is wisdom way beyond your years.
I have no doubt that you will be a wonderful mum.
I am happy that in 'Young One' you have found someone your age to talk to it will help you both alot. Just remember that you have a large group of friends in motherhood here with you.
good luck
CinderElla
16-11-2005, 11:02
Hi im 17 (18 in April) and my boyfriend is 19 (20 in March) and we are TTC our first Bubba, alot of my friends think it is really stupid, but i think that im am ready, I ahve been getting ready for it my whole life! I would like it if anyone has any advice on anything please add me to your MSN scollop_lives@hotmail.com. thanks and good on everyone else, you have made me realise how much i want a baby so thank you!!!
hey everyone, my name is corie and i am 14 weeks pregnant with my 1st baby. i am 18 years old and i live in western sydney (mt druitt). me and my boyfriend chris have been together for almost 2 years now. if anyone would like to chat please feel free to add me to msn or yahoo... widdlebabyboo@hotmail.com or mounty_county_chick
take care, Corie!
23-11-2005, 01:57
hi i would just like to say dont worry about wat people think or say you know in your heart that you will be a good mum and thats what matters.I cant say that i was 16 wen i had my baby i was 17 wen i fell pregnant and 18 wen i had her she is now 7 months and now i am 7 weeks pregnant so i will be 19 years old with 2 under 2 im crazy aye but you get that i know im a great mum and im proud of myself and just remember your kids will love you forever no matter what.
londongyal
29-11-2005, 01:40
Hello, my name is carly and im 19 years old. I am currently 15 weeks pregnant with my first baby...when i told my mum she was not very happy at all. she said i had ruined my life etc.
I am worried about the future and that with the money situation because mine and my bfs income is very low.
29-11-2005, 18:08
Hey Bubbabelly!
I think you will do a great job of raising this baby! You already sound quite mature for your age and the fact that you are keeping him or her is wonderful!
Its no use sugar coating and as telling you it will be easy, I'm sure there are alot of support for you out there. I really hope you dad will be able to give you some help soon. It must be a huge shock for him too, but you havent ruined your life!
XXOO Good luck! I really hope everything will work out well for you! Keep us posted and you always will have our support!
kellbell20
05-12-2005, 19:02
Hey girls! :)
Im 20 years old and 22 weeks pregnant with my first. Even though I am the oldest of 4 girls, this will be my mums 3rd grandchild! And being 38, shes happy to be a "young Nan"... :P
My 18 year old sister was 15 when she fell pregnant with my nephew, and was 2months past 16 when she had him. It was difficult for her at the time. But she had decided to keep the baby as she thought that she needed to face the consequences of her actions. She thought that abortion was the easy way out. My nephew is 2 now and a very cheeky, but healthy and very very happy little boy! My sister is glad she made the decision to keep him...Kyron is her life....She is now at DALE( A young mothers school in Newcastle, NSW) completing years 10-12 so she can get a great career to support my nephew. She wouldnt give him up for the world! :D
And my other sister is 15 and due to have her baby 1 week before her 16th birthday. She only has 4.5 weeks left. and is feeling the strain of it...she decided to finish year 10 exams before leaving school, and has only just finished them. She lost ALOT of friends because of her pregnancy, but the friends she still has are sticking by her no matter what!
So to all the other young mums out there...you soon know who your real friends are and its YOUR decision what you do...dont let ANYONE EVER tell you that your too young. My sisters are alot more mature now, because they realise that they have to grow up to be able to take care of a baby! Let people judge you...dont be afraid to hit back...let them have your opinions....in the end, its YOUR baby, YOUR decision...just remember that...
we will ALL be here to help if you need to talk... you can ALL add me if you want... starr1985_2@hotmail.com feel free to contact me ANYTIME!!! ;)
Take care huns...
Kelly & Jellydaughter! :D
06-12-2005, 07:04
Hey girls! :)
So to all the other young mums out there...you soon know who your real friends are and its YOUR decision what you do...dont let ANYONE EVER tell you that your too young. :D
I totally agree with this comment!! :D I was 19 when i had Jayden and was the youngest in the hospital having a baby. It didnt worry me too much but i think it worried a couple of the older midwives. Im now 20 and due to have my 2nd next July. I dont care what other people say about me having my babies too young. My DH and i have decided to get all the kids out of the way so we can enjoy our lives growing up with them. Like Kellbell20 said never let anyone tell you you're too young or not mature enough. Only you can decide if its right for you and whether you can handle it or not. Im so proud of all the young mums who decide to give it a go and take the hugest leap in their lives. It takes a lot of courage to make that decision. In my eyes making that decision alone says that you're mature.
Cutie_cole79
06-12-2005, 15:59
hey my name is nicole and im doing an assignment on teenage pregnancy and how it affected their social life so if anyone could email me and tell me about their pregnancy and their social life during and after the pregnancy it would be greatly appreciated my email is Nickynee89@hotmail.com
Mummy2Amelia
12-12-2005, 09:15
I was 5 days shy of my 18th birthday when I gave birth to my daughter. No one ever told me I was ruining my life or anything so I don't know what to really say to you but I guess everyone else has pretty much said what you need to hear. Good luck with your pregnancy/birth if you ever want to chat to anyone I would be more than happy to give you my email address so you can add me to msn... mummy2be_nov2005@hotmail.com
hi I was 16 when i got pregnant with my first
when i told my mum she said i was crazy and she kept hoping it was a phantom pregnancy until it was confirmed
i didnt tell my dad until i was three months along the first thing he asked was if i was going to keep my baby and after that all he kept repeating was that he didnt think i was so stupid do i know how expensive it is i am so stupid
he ignored my pregnancy and refused to hold my baby
I am now 20 and had my second in august last year
during that pregnancy he kept ringing to make sure we were okay said oh well congratulations when i told him i was pregnant and all the best when i went into labour
loves my baby proud as punch talks and pays attention to him all the time
so maybe ur dad will change in time too good luck
and if u want to chat to someone who knows what ur going through my nine msn is BSNiblock@hotmail.com
Hi im tegan a 20year old with an 8 month old boy named Seth. I was pregnant at 18 i know that it is not as young as you are but i made friends that also have babies and toddlers that were pregnant with them in their teens eg 15-18. If you need to talk or would like to be put in contact with young mums groups in melb i can try and help:)
yackysmum
06-05-2006, 13:27
i had my little man when i was 20, or maybe i was 19, i cant even remember, but my mum had me when she had only just turned 17.
She has always been more like my sis and because she has always been so young at heart she was so much fun.
But any mum will tell you that you change so much once you have a bubs. Every breath you take is for them and you want to make yourself a better person because of them.
I used to be so care free and would do stuipid crazy stuff before i was a mum now if someone does something irresponsible or stuipid or dangerous i get all serious about it when beforehand i used to just laugh it off or even join in.
Its so hard to ignore such cruelness and coments by others but you'll see once you have your bubs that you will be so wraped up in your own little world that no one else will matter.:D
I really hope your new arrival will bring you all the love and happiness that you deserve.
PS: congratulations:smiliedance: Your life will never be the same but trust me you wont regret a thing, and you wont even care if you cant do things that the other teenagers are doing because you have something that they dont and thats the unconditional love you and your child will share.
youngmummy-of-2
06-05-2006, 21:15
hi, i would just like to let you know i really feel for you i was 13 when i fell pregnet and 14 when i had my son jayden who will be 6 on friday:smiliedance: i now also have a 6 month old son. My father felt the same way and even kicked me out when i refused to give my baby up. With no support i had a tough first few years so i can defenitly understad were your coming from, if you want to chat my email is catchme626@msn.com. Goodluck my thoughts are with you xxxx
08-05-2006, 17:14
Well done to what you have achieved!
keenansmummy
08-05-2006, 17:53
Hey bubbabelly
I am 23 and pregnant but my DH's best friend and his fiance are expecting their 2nd she was 16 when she had her first... and she is the best mother I have met in a very long time - everyone said all the negative things, she is too young, ruined her life, :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:
but from day one she has been fantastic and her little girl has never wanted for anything - she was a stay at home mum until about 18 and then she started to work at night when her partner was home so she didnt miss her girl during the day
so dont worry about being young if you are ready you are ready
i was 13when i became pregnant. im now 19 and have a beautiful 5 yr old son. just wanted to say hi to you all
SecretKeeperMiza
26-06-2006, 19:56
Hey im 17 & 6months pregnant.. i know exactly what you are going through. I only just told my father im pregnant and as much as he says he supports me he doesnt really speak to me, Alot of people have said im ruining my life by choosing to keep my child but i see it as me getting stronger. Im going through many problems atm especially with the father of my soon to be child, He doesnt want anything to do with it and is trying to force me to put it up for adoption which I will not do as im adopted myself.
YUMMY-MUMMY17
12-02-2007, 04:16
hey i was pregnant all through my 16th... i had nasty looks from every where and it does hurt your feelings but thats a miricle in there and its yours so be proud, im now 17 with a 6month son and im as proud and as happy as can be!!!
sandy_1902
12-02-2007, 11:51
Hey there,
I am 16 years old and 28 weeks pregnant. I was wondering if anyone else was around my age or has has a baby at or around 16?
I went into all the young parents threads but all of them seemed to be around 19/20.
I was really hoping to talk to someone to see if they were going through the same things i am with my pregnancy.
Its not made any easier when you have a dad that is constantly telling you "you have ruined your life!"
I just wanted to hear about any obstacles other teen mothers/pregnancies had to over come when making their decision to bring a baby into this world.
Its not easy. People are so judgmental. You only have to say two words, 'pregnant' and '16' and people think they no exactly what type of of person you are.
I believe you can be a good mum at 16 and a bad mum at 30.
Thank you
Hey honey im 16 :) wel 17 in like 7 days to be eact and i am 29 weeks 30 weeks on thursday. well i no wat you mean by judgemental i was pushing my friends pram with a three year old in it up in brissy and got so many dirty looks for being preggers and "having a 3 yr old" GRR
well neways im your age lol and we are around the same time in pregnacy so if you want
add me to msn it is
sandrapanda19@gmail.com
hope to talk soon
xox Sandra
YUMMY-MUMMY17
13-02-2007, 01:24
you know what i had a pregnancy and birth just like every one else i think...lol i think its just the same just that u miss the nurm teen stuff but a mothers love is a mothers love if you know what i mean.xxxx have you got msn at all???
YUMMY-MUMMY17
13-02-2007, 01:26
hey sandra... my messenger would let me add you but heres mine... yummy-mummy4.8.06@hotmail.co.uk (the 4.8.06 is date off my lil 1...lol...just thought u should know lol)
YUMMY-MUMMY17
13-02-2007, 01:32
i here you...telling my dad was the most scarrest thing ever... i mean hes the roughens of back in the day so they say so i never told him...lol...i wrote him a letter. he texted me and sed...(i knew u was i herd u be sick a month ago every morning,so wat u havin..)and i really thought hed blank me out completley because we dont usually talk as we didnt really get on but but soons i had my lil boy the first few days hed stay away but now i cant get him off Lewis when we come down to visit!! being a young mum is only hard wen u let people get to you. concentrate on ur lil one and ull have more fun than you know.lol luv u's
woven_wings
13-02-2007, 08:17
Hey Girls! :wave:
Ive just read this thread! Just thought Id say hi and congratulations on all your pregnancies and babies!
I too believe that you can be a bad mum at 30 and a great mum in your teens. :thumbsup:
Just wanted to make sure you all feel welcome to post and join in in the young mums thread! Everyone is welcome there and we would LOVE to meet you! :D
I fell pregnant in year 10 to a guy who was 3 years older than me. Luckily for me we are still together (7 years this year) we then had another baby when I was 17 . Im 22 my now husband is 25 and we are expecting our 3rd child in 10 weeks and I still feel reluctant to tell people my age as I had so many people judge me for having not only one child but 2 children so young. I think its up to you to show people how they should treat u. My husband and I went back to school got our qualifications and now we run our own very succesful personal training business. Because of that alot of people respected us for it plus we proved alot of people wrong.
Once you have the baby you will feel alot better with yourself, Your not only trying to find yourself as a teenager but also as an adult. it will be difficult however seeing all your friends expirence the things that you cant just yet. You may feel like a social outcast amoung your friends however I found that most of my friends were having children when mine were already old enough to be babysat so I could expirence that freedom every once and a while, Without feeling guilty. Nothing can prepare you for becoming a parent infact pregnancy and labour are the easy parts. You will be a great mother I have no doubt, just remember u teach people how to treat u if you act selfish and inmature you'll only prove everyone right. also remember that It may take a while for people to accept that your a mother. My dad didnt accept my child for along time but thats because he still wanted to protect me.which is something u will learn as your baby starts to get older. You will be fine keep us posted on your progress Im rooting for ya.
14-02-2007, 19:29
Congrats on the pregnancys girls :) Hope all is going well! This threads a bit old now but its been kickstarted again!
I fell pregnant with my first at 16 and gave birth just after I turned 17. The same year I gained a 14 month old stepson (who is 5 now and we have residency of). At 19 I gave birth to my second and at 20 I gave birth to my third. This year just before my 22nd we will begin to TTC our 5th bub... when we get married that is!
If anyone wants to chat my msn is coyote_ugly1885@hotmail.com
hey girls :wave:
I was 17 when i fell pregnant and 18 when i had my DD. I love the fact that i had my DD in my early years as it now gives me a chance to grow with her.
My mum had 5 kids by the time she was 21 and she had her first at 14, & she is the best mum anyone could ever ask for, my whole family is as close as can be and i love it, my mum and dad have been together 28 yrs i think it is, had 5 kids and now got 7 grandkids with one on the way and coz they are still young they are still able to get out and run round heaps with all the little ones.
I would never change a thing about having a baby young, DD is my life :yes: sometimes things get tough but you always get through them to make things the best for you child. a child is the best gift you could ever have, and they can always make you smile :angel:
anyone feel free to PM me if you want to chat!!!
YUMMY-MUMMY17
15-02-2007, 00:18
:laughing: :o :p how come every one calls there little ones BUBS??? lol i do aswell i thought i was the only one lol. even from wen he was in my belly ive always called him bubs...how weird...must be a young mum thing lol
YUMMY-MUMMY17
15-02-2007, 00:24
:confused: HEY YOUNG MUMS I NEED ADVICE...ME-17YRS. MY BOO - 22YRS I WAS PREGNANT AT 15 I HAD MY LIL BOY AT 16 I GAVE BIRTH ON 4.8.06 AT 9AM HE PROPED TO ME SOONS I HAD COME ROUND FROM MY SLEEP AND WE ARE GETTIN MARRIED WHEN I TURN 18... DO U THINK THATS THE RITE THING TO DO BECAUSE EVERY 1 I KNOW HAS MARRIED EARLY BUT STILL BROKE UP... I DONT WANT TO RUSH OR RUIN OUR FAMILY:confused: ... LET ME KNOW WHAT U THINK.... yummy-mummy4.8.06@hotmail.co.uk THATS MY MSN.XXX
Mum2Lucas
15-02-2007, 13:57
:confused: HEY YOUNG MUMS I NEED ADVICE...ME-17YRS. MY BOO - 22YRS I WAS PREGNANT AT 15 I HAD MY LIL BOY AT 16 I GAVE BIRTH ON 4.8.06 AT 9AM HE PROPED TO ME SOONS I HAD COME ROUND FROM MY SLEEP AND WE ARE GETTIN MARRIED WHEN I TURN 18... DO U THINK THATS THE RITE THING TO DO BECAUSE EVERY 1 I KNOW HAS MARRIED EARLY BUT STILL BROKE UP... I DONT WANT TO RUSH OR RUIN OUR FAMILY:confused: ... LET ME KNOW WHAT U THINK.... yummy-mummy4.8.06@hotmail.co.uk THATS MY MSN.XXX
Hi don't feel you need to marry because you had his baby. you are still young and there's plenty of time for those things. My mum married my dad when she was 17 because she was pregnant with me and they divorced when i was 11. But then again it may work out for you in the end. but yeah just don't feel that you have to do it. Do what you feel is right. good luck
As this thread was started almost 2 years ago, I'll close it. Please feel free to start your own thread.