View Full Version : Large families chat thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

PunkyDiva
19-03-2008, 18:07
Thankyou for warm welcome back. I was due the 15th, so 4 days over but have gone two weeks with three other bubs before having a sweep and by my dates think it's about a week later anyway so really we are on track still.
Will go see my GP at 42 weeks if still around but chemical induction etc or any trips to hospital are worse case scenarios.

Having an unassisted home birth this time so much anticipation, excitement and some scary thoughts and emotions going all at once in our house at the moment.
Thought this arvo might be it but all calmed down again although pains were entirely different to other falsies I had been having. Cervix had dropped but was not open couple of nights ago but def spongy and ready to go so "patience is a virtue" must become our mantra for now. xxxPD

forbetoel
19-03-2008, 22:36
Goodluck Punky...waht are the sexes and ages of your other children?

PunkyDiva
19-03-2008, 22:40
Thankyou
DD 17, DS 15, DS 14, DD 8, DD 5 and no. 6 is a DS so even stevens.

forbetoel
19-03-2008, 22:43
Wow, ya know I was thinking for sure you are having a boy. :D

I have a friend with 3 of each, hers goes B,B,G,B,G,G.

Maybe I should have 4 more, just to even it up..:laughing:

MyFab4
19-03-2008, 23:15
How exciting Punky. Hopefully you'll have your bubba soon. Goodluck with your freebirth. Can I ask a couple of silly questions regarding freebirth?:o How would you know if you needed stitches or anything? And how do you register the birth, when the midwife usually fills out the part on the birth registration? Just curious hope you don't think I'm nosey. I had never heard of it before bub hub.

PunkyDiva
20-03-2008, 09:03
No, I'm quite happy to answer any questions. :thumbsup:

A tear that won't hold together by itself or that is obviously bleeding badly needs stitches.

We have to get a form for registration of birth ourselves and we will take this along to my GP, who I have seen a couple of times during pregnancy and will go to after birth for checkups of both of us, to sign saying yes we were pregnant and have now birthed.

It is not an ideal birthing situation I would recommend for others, but for me it just felt right to do this. I do have a friend who is a Middie and not far away should we require assistance and it has been 9 months of reading and asking questions but we are very excited now although anxious too.

vikki a
20-03-2008, 09:49
Good luck Punkydiva, hope all goes well for you..:goodvibes::goodvibes:

MyFab4
20-03-2008, 11:43
Thanks for answering my questions Punky Diva. Hope all goes well with the birth of your little one.

mellyg
20-03-2008, 15:11
Punky diva ggod luck hun adn I hope it all happens for you soon so that you get the birth you are after.. I can certainly imagine the nerves and excitement at your house ATM.. Hope to hear some good new soon.

4boys :laughing: I wanna see you pop out four little princesses now to even up yoru numbers LOL..

mellyg
25-03-2008, 08:37
:flowerz: Morning ladies.. I just wanted to say hello and I hope you all had a wonderful easter weekend with your families.. Hope the kiddies all enjoyed themselves..

PD is there any news yet??:baby:

MyFab4
25-03-2008, 10:43
:wave:mellyg, we had a good easter. Didn't do much just hung around home, the kids had fun. We had an easter hunt. You don't have long to go now until bubba arrives.
I found out yesterday I'm gonna be an Aunty again. One sister is due the 24th July, I'm a support person for her. I'm so excited, done it twice before but just as excited this time. My other sister is due 20th November, I know its gonna make me clucky again, especially with both my sisters having bubs.

mellyg
25-03-2008, 12:24
Congratulations Lee.. You guys are going to have a great chrissy then arent you.. Mmmm we will be waiting for your :bfp: news then :laughing::p Glad the kids had fun on there easter egg hunt.. Yes not long now and I can tell you I am feeling very impatient with this one so reckon I will prob go over again just to make me suffer LOL.. I want to meet this little baby already LOL

lilBoofD
25-03-2008, 12:40
Hi Ladies :wave:

Just wanted to say I have really enjoyed reading this thread, well most of it, not quite all 70 odd pages, lol.

I have 3 children atm, DD1 is 7, DS is 2 and DD2 will be 1 next week. We are thinking about number 4 now, then 5, then 6, hopefully! So, I don't really have a large family yet, but certainly hope to!!!

I got a lot of those negative comments when pregnant with no 3, the worst being "oh you have one of each, why would you want another one?" that really, really annoyed me, what, so if I have a boy and a girl that means I'm not allowed anymore, argh!! Anyway.......I'm not telling many people that we are going to start trying for number 4, and will probably delay telling people I am pregnant, I just don't want to deal with negative comments when we are so excited about having a large family.

The one thing delaying me is ms, I know its not for long, but not sure how I will cope with 2 little ones, and the school runs if I get as sick as I did last time. We have no family support close by which makes it hard.

Ok, enough rambling from me, just wanted to say Hi and thanks for the inspiration! Hearing your stories has reinforced in my mind that I would love lots more kids!

MyFab4
25-03-2008, 12:49
:wave:LilBoofD. I didn't tell anyone we were trying for no4 either. Just told them once I was pregnant. You can share your news in here tho, we love big families in here.
Thanks mellyg. Would have to convince hubby for no5 first. You never know tho.;)

mellyg
25-03-2008, 14:48
:wave: Hello and welcome lilBoofD.. I forgot to even tell myself we were trying for No.4 :laughing: I am lucky to not suffer from M/S but can certainly understand you apprehension about juggling littlies, m/s and school runs.. Maybe just hang a bucket from your chin as you drive the older ones to school ;) LOL.. Hope to see you around here more often..

Lee isnt it funny that we always have to convince our hubby's for the next one LOL.. Well I am sure you will have fun playing with all the new bubs around you this year, and you wont have to do the night shifts:yes:

lilBoofD
25-03-2008, 14:55
Thanks for the welcome!

Thanks for the bucket suggestion melly, lol. I have found ms has gotten worse with each bubs so who knows what I might be in for next time :laughing: I probably would be preggers by now if not for that, I can handle labour and a newborn just fine! And my youngest is very clingy, she was the hardest baby by far, so be very hard to be sick with her.

But, it will all be worth it! Whats 4 months of vommitting when the result is so wonderful ;)

chuckles
25-03-2008, 15:29

Just like lilBoofD i tried to read the thread but sooo many pages!

I have 5 kiddies - stepson 12, son 9, daughter 8, daughter 4 and son 15mths. I would love to have another but DH wants to get some :sleeping:........even though we have 5 kids it doesnt 'seem' like we have 5 kids! :flowerz:

My partner and i both work full time but would both love to have more time at home.

Love the positive feel of the thread - large families are fun!! Hard work but fun!

vikki a
25-03-2008, 15:34
Weclome to the two new mummys, the more the merrier!! lol Like our large Familys...Just more children to love and the more chance of staying out of a nursing home..lol:laughing: (just joking)

CJJHRA
25-03-2008, 16:51
My partner and i both work full time but would both love to have more time at home.

oh cool, how do you do it though with both working full time, is childcare expensive? (are they even in CC)

whatt about teenagers that are too old for childcare..

the only job I think I could get is teachers aide/assistant (even then I dont know, what happens when kids are sick) or nighttime shelve stacker

mellyg
26-03-2008, 09:09
Thanks for the welcome!

Thanks for the bucket suggestion melly, lol. I have found ms has gotten worse with each bubs so who knows what I might be in for next time I probably would be preggers by now if not for that, I can handle labour and a newborn just fine! And my youngest is very clingy, she was the hardest baby by far, so be very hard to be sick with her.

But, it will all be worth it! Whats 4 months of vommitting when the result is so wonderful

Yes I am such a sook when it comes to :barf:so I dont think I would have this many if I ever suffered from m/s.. I envy all of you ladies who can do it so often.. But that last comment is so true isnt it..

Just like lilBoofD i tried to read the thread but sooo many pages!

I have 5 kiddies - stepson 12, son 9, daughter 8, daughter 4 and son 15mths. I would love to have another but DH wants to get some ........even though we have 5 kids it doesnt 'seem' like we have 5 kids!

Love the positive feel of the thread - large families are fun!! Hard work but fun!

:wave: Hello and welcome to the thread.. It is a great positive and happy thread this one.. It helps having the older kiddies doesnt it.. I have a DS 12, DD 9, DD 18 months and am due for no. 4 in just over a week, although would be quite happy to have :baby: now LOL.. I am sooo impatient LOL.. I find it soo easy now having the older two to help out with the younger ones (where were they the first time around LOL)..

Like our large Familys...Just more children to love and the more chance of staying out of a nursing home..lol (just joking)

:iagree: Out of all of our kiddies someone is going to want to take care of us surely :laughing:

chuckles
26-03-2008, 10:26
oh cool, how do you do it though with both working full time, is childcare expensive? (are they even in CC)

whatt about teenagers that are too old for childcare..

i have early starts and finish at 3.45pm and DH does arvo/nite shift finish at 12am

C/Care is getting expensive but the older ones only go to afterschool care, while we have the little ones in daycare. During the holidays we have he older kiddies at home and i usually start work earlier and finish earlier as DH is at home with them in the mornings.

DH and i dont see each other as much as we used to but the time we do have together now we try to make it quality time.

The kiddies are not in high school yet but that will be something we will have to sort out next year.......... would love some ideas if anyone has any...........

lilBoofD
26-03-2008, 14:29
dh has now said he wants to start trying right now!! (well, not right this minute, lol)

Am i ready? lol

Its just the sickness bit, but I'm tough :laughing:

vikki a
26-03-2008, 14:50
dh has now said he wants to start trying right now!! (well, not right this minute, lol)

Am i ready? lol

Go for it!! maybe this time you wont get MS this time... I did'nt get MS until the 3rd bub, and a liitle with the 4th!! Come on you know you want to....lol:laughing:

vikki a
26-03-2008, 14:52
:iagree: Out of all of our kiddies someone is going to want to take care of us surely :laughing:
Thats what im hoping for !!lol:laughing: No nuring home for me...:laughing:

lilBoofD
26-03-2008, 15:20
I'm secretly hoping for twins this time, so I can get 2 more with only one pregnancy :yes: , hmmm, wonder how I will cope then, lol.

forbetoel
26-03-2008, 15:40

Am i ready? lol

I was extremely sick for the first 3 months with all of my babies, but i never let it get in the way of having more babies. Go for it, make your family bigger and better...how exciting for you:)

mellyg
26-03-2008, 16:04
I'm secretly hoping for twins this time, so I can get 2 more with only one pregnancy :yes: , hmmm, wonder how I will cope then, lol.

:yelclap: Yay how exciting for you.. I am glad you clarified the not right now :laughing:.. Yes I wanted that with my last one, two for the price of one LOL.. But no such luck here.. :babydust2: coming your way then hun.. Let us know when you start TTC..

Hi 4boys long time no see. How have you and your lovely family been? Did you have a good easter?

lilBoofD
26-03-2008, 16:05
Can I just say how much I love this thread?!!

So nice to hear the positive comments, so thanks ladies!

forbetoel
26-03-2008, 16:22
Mel, my boys are great thanks. We went to Beechworth over the Easter break, and it was fantastic, the kids had a ball, and I just fell in love with the town.
Tonight DS1 is staying at my sisters, DS2 is at my other sisters for the night, and DS3 has just left for my mums for the night. It is nice just being at home with DS4, but it reminds me why I love having a bigger family so much...I am a bit bored!

lilBoofD...Your welcome, you will only find support here from like minded mums who for one reasonn or another want a life blessed with lots of kiddies.

Oh and Mel, your DD is just so gorgeous, her face really shows her soul if you know what I mean, she is just beautiful. Does she look like you?

mellyg
26-03-2008, 16:36
:hugs: Thank you sooo much 4 boys.. Of course I think she is absolutely gorgeous, as are all of my kids, but I am a little biased LOL.. She does not look like me now iykwim but she does look a lot the same as me when I was a little tyke.. But I was not fortunate to get the red hair that she has.. Just boring old brown here. Thats a throw back from my brother LOL..

I am glad you had fun with your boys.. It certainly is quiet when there is only one child in the house isnt it.. Your kidies must be on hols then are they. So early.. Ours only get their in a couple of weeks still..

forbetoel
26-03-2008, 16:41
Yep, holidays started on Easter Thursday.

vikki a
26-03-2008, 20:16
4BS2L i love your new av!! Are you getting the rain as well there? I hope it keeps it up here, so nice to see some rain again...
DS1 brought home on the last day of school, info on picking what high school to send him to next year!!:eek: I so don't want to think about that yet!! But it has to be done..( he will hopefully be going to the same high school as DD1...)

forbetoel
26-03-2008, 20:22
Thanks Vikki...I love it too. Thanks for noticing mate. *kiss*

mellyg
27-03-2008, 08:57
:flowerz: Morning ladies.. Wow I sure am loving this cool weather we are all having atm.. I dont even mind hanging my washing inside LOL..

4boys your new av is absolutely gorgeous.. I said so already in the other thread this morn but thought you might miss it there LOL.. I hope your kiddies all enjoy their holidays then.. I have Jazzy sitting here in deep conversation with me and I have no idea what she is saying :laughing: I can catch an um every now and then LOL.. Think she may be a chatterbox once she gets going..

Vikki thats one thing about the country.. We only have two choices here unless he goes to the city which I dont see the need for.. And then its really easy as we got the info for the private one and I can be certain that unless we win the lottery we will definately not be able to afford that one :thumbsdown: Which is a bummer as I would love to send him there but it is completely out of our reach I am afraid.. It is sooooo scary though isnt it.. I want all of my kiddies to stay babies.. I feel like the time has gone way too fast and I have missed something somewhere :(

What is everyone up to today..We are just going grocery shopping today.. Not much else exciting on.. Has anyone heard how PD went.. She must have had her bubs by now..

forbetoel
27-03-2008, 09:00
Hi everyone....thanks Mel, I love my avatar too.

Today I still only have one at home, so I am just being lazy and a bit bored. One child is really no work at all. I fed him breakfast, and now he is just playing.....I will eventually dress him, and put him down for a sleep when I am ready for a coffee......yep, one kid is only good for a couple of hours..lol

forbetoel
27-03-2008, 09:02
Oh yeah and the school thing..don't even go there. My DS3 is going to kinder next year, and I get teary about that. I want him at home with me for just a bit longer. I really enjoy his company and he will leave me with such a massive void, even though I will still have another at home. :(

mellyg
27-03-2008, 09:05
Hi everyone....thanks Mel, I love my avatar too.

Today I still only have one at home, so I am just being lazy and a bit bored. One child is really no work at all. I fed him breakfast, and now he is just playing.....I will eventually dress him, and put him down for a sleep when I am ready for a coffee......yep, one kid is only good for a couple of hours..lol

:laughing: It certainly makes a difference doesnt it. I actually am loving only having one at home during the week atm, we will see how relaxed I am in a couple of weeks hey.. Or probably more like in a year ;) No I am sure it will all be fine.. I have just never had any this close before so I am a bit worried although knowing children it always just seems to work out doesnt it.. Well I hope you find something to do with yourself.. Enjoy being lazy for a change:thumbsup:

forbetoel
27-03-2008, 09:08
You will be fine Mel. Honestly, it is actually easier in lots of ways if they are close.

You are nearly due now......what do you feel like you are having, do you have a feeling at all?

mellyg
27-03-2008, 09:08
Oh yeah and the school thing..don't even go there. My DS3 is going to kinder next year, and I get teary about that. I want him at home with me for just a bit longer. I really enjoy his company and he will leave me with such a massive void, even though I will still have another at home.

:( Oh thats so sad 4 boys.. How long are they in kinder for.. We only have half days of kinder here.. Its to wean the kiddies in but I reckon its more to wean the mummies in LOL.

ziggie
28-03-2008, 08:47

I've made a new thread for you all HERE (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=166787)... This one's a bit big now :ecomcity::D.