View Full Version : Bridgeman Downs/Albany Creek
Hi, my eldest baby started prep this week, I am now home alone with a lively 20 month old..
Is anyone interested in a get together on a Tuesday or Thursday morning. Or can anyone recommmend a fun play group.
Many thanks
Julie
Laura&Emilys'Mum
24-01-2006, 13:09
Hi Julie
I live in Albany Creek. I have a 2 yr old. My other one starts preschool next week. You can pm me if you want to get together. Melissa
Just wondering if there is anyone else in this area... Still looking for playgroups, willing to travel...!!
Christian City Church - Bridgeman Downs has a playgroup that meets on a Thursday morning. See website for more info:
http://www.cccbris.com.au/web/people/playgroup.asp
I was going to start going with my 5mnth old this week, but I've come down with the 'flu :(
Kassiasmum
30-01-2006, 12:26
Do you need to be a member of the church to join or attend?
Tracey
No, you don't need to be a church member. It's affiliated with the Playgroups Association of Australia, and for insurance purposes if you decided to stay after three visits you need to get a Playgroups Association membership ($28 for the year) which entitles you to other benefits like using the association's toy libraries.
With the venue being a church with a great established kids program anyway, they have a cool playground and lovely facilities.
I'm probably going next week for the first time if anyone else is keen to join me - we can sit and be new together!
Kassiasmum
31-01-2006, 14:37
i will probably be going Thursday next week as well. i will be taking my 23month old dd. Maybe we could meet up there. Hopefully Julie will be coming as well.
Tracey
darkangel_23
01-02-2006, 11:36
i was just wondering about payment for the playgroup. i'm not a member of the playgroups association. do i join there on the day?
Typical... the church is a stones throw from my but I have just put little one into day care on a Monday and Thursday...
I could come on my own for the company but would slightly defeat the object of finding play pals for baby...
Are there any playgroups Tue, Wed or Fri...
Many thanks
Julie
darkangel_23
01-02-2006, 18:59
hey julie! would u or any other mums like to meet up at the maccas at albany creek on a tuesday for a coffee or lunch. the kids can have a play in the playground.
cara
Sounds a good idea, coffee would be good, Harry has a sleep lunchtime... if I'm lucky!!
Shall we say 10.30...
Julie
The playgroup australia membership is only required if you decided to stay on past your third visit, so you can go along 3 times first and see if you like it.
darkangel_23
04-02-2006, 15:50
hey julie! would u be interested in going to chipmunks at nth lakes this tuesday?? there are a few other mums going as well. they are meeting at 9:30 in front of donut king.
cara
Hello again, Tuesday might be a problem, something has cropped up I can't get out of, next time I'll be there.
We are off to Chipmunks today my eldest is going to a birthday party there... twice in a week might be more than I can handle anyhow.....lol
Julie
Just found out today that the Bridgeman Downs Baptist church also run a play group on a Tuesday morning from 9.30am.
Julie:)
Kassiasmum
05-02-2006, 22:03
Is anyone else going to go on Tuesday to the playgroup. I will be waiting for a delivery so hopefully it will come early and I can wander on down. Hope to see some of you there on Tuesday.
Tracey
I am the mum of 2 boys also. (Just like you Julie). My boys are 3.5 (Patrick) and 19months (Lincoln).
I'd love to meet other mums with children of similiar ages as well. (My eldest is at Kindy though on Wednesday and Friday)
We are living at Murrumba Downs at the moment but moved from Eatons Hill.
I'm going to a new Playgroup in Murrumba Downs tmro but would also like to know more about the Baptist Church Playgroup on a Tuesday.
Where in Bridgeman Downs is it?
Otherwise, maybe we can catch up somewhere else.......
Leisa:)
Little Miss Ashley and I will be at the Christian City Church playgroup tomorrow (Thurs 9 Feb) for the first time. Starts at 9:30am and it's just opposite Bunnings at Carseldine.
I'll be wearing a black t-shirt and khaki-green cargo pants, and I have a black Beema Q 3wheeler pram with orange piping, so come up and say Hi if you can make it too. If you can't make it, I'll post an update on what it was like.
Kassiasmum
08-02-2006, 20:07
I can't make it tomorrow but hoping to make it next Thursday so would love to hear how you get on tomorrow.
Tracey
Cara, Hi, I'd b interested in meeting up at maccas in Albany Creek. I live nearby and am a mum of one girl 18 mths.
Other mums, am also interested in anything going on in the Aspley/Bridgeman Downs/Albany Creek area.
I do go to a playgroup in Chermside on a wednesday also, which is on on a monday,wed,and thursday, and is quite good.
Susie
octobermum
13-03-2006, 15:56
I've just found this thread where a couple of you mentioned going to the Christian City Church or Bridgeman Downs Baptist Church playgroups on either a Tuesday or Thursday. Has anyone gone to these yet and if so, what did you think of them? I live in the area and am keen to take my daughter along this week because she needs some more outside stimulation! I just wanted to see what you thought of it - did you and the kids enjoy it?
Also, can you just turn up to these or do you need to book in?
Thanks,
Octobermum
DD - 17 months