View Full Version : K-Mart toy sale
I'm desperately hanging out for news about the K-mart toy sale:smiliedance: , as we aren't getting catalogues at the moment. Anyone got a catalogue or know when we should be able to pick one up:yes: ??????
mummajuice
28-06-2007, 11:54
:mad: I just checked the website and it says the sale starts next Thursday July 5 but they don't have the catalogue on there :banghead:
I'll just keep checking over the next week until it comes
I work at big w .. ive had a sneak peek at the catolugue (book) lol .. its 124 pages.. not all toys .. alot of dvds etc .. & i think ours are being delivered early next week ....
Oh Dea,
I'm so envious of you:p . With my toddler, and twins on the way I have tripled my home Christmas list so am desperate to get a look and work out what I can buy to put a dent in it!
Did it look like a good catalogue with decent savings???
heymamma
28-06-2007, 12:38
I went to Robina kmart today (Gold coast) you should see how much room has been cleared out for the toy sale... ive never seen anything like it. :eek:
Although i seen these cute lightning mcqueen plush toys. $29.99 so im waiting till the sale hope they go down. Phoenix was like... aww mum can i get it... here i am thinking but it could be half price next week..lol I dont know where they put all the womens & mens clothes cause it was all cleared for the sale... so many toys.
I went to target aswell.... You should see these cool things they have... They are kinda like a magna doodle.. but you have a light that shines on the paper of lightning mcqueen or the princess's.. & then the kids draw it. There $49.99 so i hope they go down...i would love to get phoenix & Alyssa one of those.
Ok im like a kid in a candy store...settle kel settle!
SuperWoman
28-06-2007, 13:38
I was at Kmart yesterday and one of the workers said the catologue should be out by Tuesday or Wed. I can't wait, I WANT IT NOW!! LOL!!:D :D :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
I went to Eastland kmart today and never seen so many toys in my life. They were staked everywhere, even in the garden section.:eek:
I dont know if the sale has started or they are just getting them out, staked and ready?
Oh Dea,
I'm so envious of you:p . With my toddler, and twins on the way I have tripled my home Christmas list so am desperate to get a look and work out what I can buy to put a dent in it!
Did it look like a good catalogue with decent savings???
yes it looked good .. alot of toddler toys .. i cant wait .. im gonan hope & get a catolugue when im at work next but now with sick kids wont be till monday
I went to Eastland kmart today and never seen so many toys in my life. They were staked everywhere, even in the garden section.:eek:
I dont know if the sale has started or they are just getting them out, staked and ready?
It is actually sneaky doing that way coz they want people to put it on layby BUT the thing is u cannot layby something before the Toy Sale and go back on the day to get prices reduced to Toy Sale price it won't work like that! and also some people can't be bothered getting it on the day so they get it then!
Guess what I have??? :D ;) ;) ;)
Guess what I have???
Are you holding out on us????
:shame: Tell me!!!!
hayleylea
28-06-2007, 17:38
Guess what I have??? :D ;) ;) ;)
Tell us Tell us! Pretty please with sugar on top!
Jax Tellers Old Lady
28-06-2007, 17:46
Oh please Billy if you have the catalouge please share with us:yes:
beetlgrl
28-06-2007, 20:02
OH u have to share it with us now!!!!
PLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEASE!!!!!
Big W has also already stocked a few toys.
I'm hoping for some Thomas stuff and some Tools.
I have a Toddler who's crazy about tools..
But the coolcrew from playskool isn't "good" enough for him. he wants some proper looking ones *eyeroll*
For my lil one, I actually don't really know, what I could get him.
maybe some stacking toys or some ride on/walking helpers. As he's only 7 mths old.
I also hope to get some V Smile Catridges cheaper or that leapfrog frog with lots of buttons..
Can't wait, til the Sale starts :D
Hahaha I had to go to work (at Kmart :D) so I left you all in suspense :p
Yes I have a Kmart Toy catalogue in my hot little hands ;)
our little treasures
28-06-2007, 22:01
It is actually sneaky doing that way coz they want people to put it on layby BUT the thing is u cannot layby something before the Toy Sale and go back on the day to get prices reduced to Toy Sale price it won't work like that! and also some people can't be bothered getting it on the day so they get it then!
Billy correct me if I am wrong but Kmart price matches if you keep the catalogue and produce it when you have paid for the item? I have done this in the past and when I pick it up I take it to the front counter and they match all the prices. Also Target has a sign that says they will match any price that is in a catalogue for all layby items!!
The only thing is you need deposit!
In normal circumstances they do that yes :yes: BUT for the Toy Sale they usually don't. I am pretty sure there are signs instore specifically for the Toy Sale regarding this. It is only because of the massive amount of items some people have and it takes forever to do. Last year the layby line was already 4 hours long. :eek:
I really need to find it all out again because I have been asked to work in layby for the first 2 days of the sale and I haven't worked in layby for 4 years! :eek: LOL... :D
Gawd Billy,spill the beans already!!!!
Whens the catalouge out?OMG I'm sooo excited-I SIMPLY CANT WAIT!!:smiliedance:
our little treasures
28-06-2007, 22:13
4 hours what centre were you at? I was at Fountain Gate in Vic and I was standing in line from 1 am - 7 am well sitting as I was that exhausted. This year I am hoping to get a trolley with trampoline and that in and get hubby to watch it as I go and find other things. We ended up doing it last year through boredom as we were stuck there so we just kept filling the trolleys everyone was watching everyones trolleys.:thumbsup:
Hopefully it puts me into labour if it is that long again but seriously if it is I will be surprised after the problems last year.. The staff were nice but they were not organised at all. I had to leave my stuff after I bagged it wrote my own list and theirs and left it in their hands only to have half my stuff lost!!:banghead:
LMAO Chels I can't tell everyone over the internet I will get FIRED! Hahaha just PM me if you want to know about specific type stuff... But seriously they should be getting delivered on Tuesday to everyone :fingerscrossed:
OLT- I am in Mackay so only a small town hehe. But same thing with laybys happened... at Christmas time there were approx 250 parcels missing per week! (Which is incredible) but unfortunately they are yet to come up with a good way to store the massive amounts of laybys we get.
I don't know about other stores, but we had 300 pallets of laybys at an offsite, just big boxes with thousands of laybys in them. And if one person didn't scan it in, or if someone moved a parcel without changing the location it's lost.
It happens SO easily. That is why I won't use layby for this sale. It's just too crazy. We have customers that will steal out of other peoples trolleys, and we even had some come out the back in the stockroom taking them out of OTHER PEOPLES LAYBYS before they were wrapped!! :eek: :shame:
It is crazy, just crazy. :D
SassyMummy
28-06-2007, 22:35
Are there any sort of toy kitchens in there Billy? I want a decent toy kitchen for DD's birthday...
I don't need specifics... but just toy kitchens in general?
Are there any sort of toy kitchens in there Billy? I want a decent toy kitchen for DD's birthday...
I don't need specifics... but just toy kitchens in general?
I hope, you don't mind answering you as well :)
I saw one at Big W today and i'm pretty sure, it was stocked up for the Toy Sale. It was surrounded by other Toys but no Price tag on it..
And it was in a aisle, where all the seasonal stuff normally is being put.
Like at easter the chocolate eggs and x Mas the Decorations..
So, just in case, you won't find one at K Mart, might be worthwhile to try out Big W.
I never used layby and I don't think I ever will. The Queue is just so horrible long and I just don't have time and passion to stand/sit there and just wait..
Hey Stacey yep there is a toy kitchen :yes: :thumbsup: Looks so cute- can't wait until Rhianna is a little older! :D
28-06-2007, 22:43
LMAO Chels I can't tell everyone over the internet I will get FIRED! Hahaha just PM me if you want to know about specific type stuff... But seriously they should be getting delivered on Tuesday to everyone :fingerscrossed:
OLT- I am in Mackay so only a small town hehe. But same thing with laybys happened... at Christmas time there were approx 250 parcels missing per week! (Which is incredible) but unfortunately they are yet to come up with a good way to store the massive amounts of laybys we get.
I don't know about other stores, but we had 300 pallets of laybys at an offsite, just big boxes with thousands of laybys in them. And if one person didn't scan it in, or if someone moved a parcel without changing the location it's lost.
It happens SO easily. That is why I won't use layby for this sale. It's just too crazy. We have customers that will steal out of other peoples trolleys, and we even had some come out the back in the stockroom taking them out of OTHER PEOPLES LAYBYS before they were wrapped!! :eek: :shame:
It is crazy, just crazy. :D
I remember you telling us about the Christmas laybuys last year Billy!!
Yep, crazy, crazy stuff.
I feel like the crazy one though- I've never gone to one of these toy sales!! I end up just getting something small for the presents closer to Christmas, lol.
I hope, you don't mind answering you as well :)
I saw one at Big W today and i'm pretty sure, it was stocked up for the Toy Sale. It was surrounded by other Toys but no Price tag on it..
And it was in a aisle, where all the seasonal stuff normally is being put.
Like at easter the chocolate eggs and x Mas the Decorations..
So, just in case, you won't find one at K Mart, might be worthwhile to try out Big W.
I never used layby and I don't think I ever will. The Queue is just so horrible long and I just don't have time and passion to stand/sit there and just wait..
Yep I saw this at Big W today too and thought they may be on special there. :yes: It is different to the Kmart one though.
I remember you telling us about the Christmas laybuys last year Billy!!
Yep, crazy, crazy stuff.
I feel like the crazy one though- I've never gone to one of these toy sales!! I end up just getting something small for the presents closer to Christmas, lol.
OMG Em I am so excited about it!!! LOL The stuff I am buying R (some for now some for Christmas) would normally come to $250 and I will be getting it for $130. :eek: It is a HUGE saving! :yes: :smiliedance::D
Jax Tellers Old Lady
29-06-2007, 13:46
Billy are there any electric ride on jeeps and what are the deals for the thomas stuff??
Oh my gosh there is a page and a half of Thomas stuff... :o LOL
There are quite a few different ride on Jeep things and all of them are around half the normal price! :thumbsup:
Jax Tellers Old Lady
29-06-2007, 16:23
can you tell me the prices of the large thomas train sets pretty please
big w couldn't find a item from my layby last yr so they took it from somenoe elses :eek:
Billy I PM'd you about the FP laugh and learn house, and those mini trampolines they had last year I think?
Oh I'm so excited, except I have to send DH as I've been on bed rest since 25 weeks, and I don't think the OB would see the urgency of the K-mart toy sale as a reason to break that :shame:
29-06-2007, 16:42
Woohoo sales. :smiliedance:
HoopDeeDoo
29-06-2007, 16:45
This is the only way to get all the toys for xmas for us - we have 6 nephews, now 2 of our own boys and my SIL's bub is due in a few weeks. I LOVE the toy sales and th 6 month layby is fantasic. I have waited up to 5 hours in line, but it was still worth it to get everything I wanted and most at 1/2 price :yes: When you only have a budget of $30 per nephew it means you can get way cooler toys for your $$
I too want a kitchen set for the boys for xmas, can't wait to see whats on offer :smiliedance:
I must say though that Target in Canberra is much better than Kmart :yes:
We found last year, we went right at dinner time on the Thursday night and only had to line up for 1 hour to lay-by. We are doing the same this year...seemed like a good time and we got everything we wanted.
Also, are you guys aware it isn't no deposit this year. Last year it was a no deposit lay-by but this year you have to leave 10%. It's not a lot and I know why they are doing it for, but don't go lining up for hours and then not be able to put it on lay-by!
If you do miss out on something first go, they do re-order the stuff they've sold out of so just ask when it should come back in!
1 1/2 pages full of Thomas Stuff? :eek:
I bet, what I'm after they won't have.. We'll see.
He's got already so many Tracks and engines, I can't believe, that there are so many more to buy..
I'll also get all the BD and X Mas presents for my nephews and my niece, saves us a lot of money.
Eventhough, my nephews are so spoilt, the chances, that we get them something they won't have or they like are very slim..
(Last year, the excitement over a TTE Engine lastet about 5 min and then it was laying in the grass on the backyard..)
hey billy, just wondering if the new FP kids camera is out? is it on sale at all?
Thanks so much Billy. However knowing the prices of these two just makes me desperate to see what other cool stuff is in there!!!!
Well Considering my DD gets up at 5am and our shops don't open until 8.30am I have a little bit of Thrusday morning to peruse the on-line catalogue!
Woo Hooo, so excited, but it is making me feel like a bit of a loser being this excited about toys being on sale:cool: I'm sure my friends without kids would just:no: .
Good luck everyone with your bargains
heymamma
30-06-2007, 09:12
billy will come back to her pc..& it will say "Inbox is chockers!! please empty...lol
heymamma
30-06-2007, 09:14
Being saturday morning all the ad's are on tv for different toys.. So Alyssa & phoenix have been putting more order's into santa..lol
They want a gloE bear..with story book & wand, & phoenix wants a fast talkin lightning mcqueen!
LOL Its all good PM's are answered (almost) :D
Although it is over 50 pages long so I keep missing things :o :laughing:
heymamma
30-06-2007, 13:42
I just went to Myer cause cars was up to 30%off.. so i got phoenix a Fast talkin lightning mcqueen.. & they all got a cars plush toy...which were $19.95 normally $29.95 Alyssa got Sally Phoenix got lightning & Ethan got Mater... Also Alyssa got a GloE bear... So these are presents for when at xmas time ... people say oh what can i get the kids... they give me the money & i give them the presents to give to the kids.. because every year they ask me what the kids want...I tell them & they stil just get what they want. I know its a bit rude...but some of them dont mind as they then dont have to go shopping at xmas time..lol
jess_live_die
30-06-2007, 13:44
i cnt wait to go im counting down the days :thumbsup:
Please tell me this is Australia wide and hasn't actually started yet...
How do I get my hands on a catalogue??
DD's 1 in 3 weeks and I've done Jack about pressies and I really need developmental stuff as per her physio...
Target, BigW and Myer don't have what I'm looking for...
robinson
30-06-2007, 15:09
I want the catalogue!!! Aaarrggg... Do you have prices if we PM you billy??
I went into my local Kmart today and there were toys everywhere...
I also noticed my opens at midnight... (thursday morning) not sure when the best time to go would be?? Hmmmm any suggestions anyone.. I'm 25weeks pregnant so standing in line for many hours probably isnt a good idea for me!!
ElizaDee
30-06-2007, 15:33
Is it true that the no deposit layby isn't on this year?
I want the catalogue too, gimme gimme :yes:
jenniferweez
30-06-2007, 15:38
Call me crazy , but I'm hoping that bubs either arrives this weekend sometime so that I am home in time to go to the sale - or he comes AFTER I've been to Kmart and had my shopping spree!! :o
YES, I am a shopping freak!! HAHA I love it. :laughing: :D
My idea is to go into the store (hopefully) with my sisters before Thursday and check out where they have everything that I want, then as soon as I get there for the sale (or if someone has to go on my behalf) they know where everything is and hopefully it won't take too long to fill the trolley!!!
HAPPY "TOY SALE" SHOPPING LADIES :thumbsup: Hehehe.
beetlgrl
30-06-2007, 19:05
Billy,
Not sure if this is true or not but i thought i would ask! I was told today by a friend that if you go into kmart b4 the sale starts layby the items u want then go back when the sale is on, Take your receipt down to layby they will change the prices on your docket to match the sale prices.... Is this true? i didn't think it was cause wouldn't everybody do it?
Indooroopilly (Bris) had toy sale catalogues out today. It might be worth ringing your local store to see when they are putting them out.
Enjoy
Janna - i think you might be right with the laybuy and sale price thing.. there are signs all over at my kamrt ( helensvale - QLD) saying lay buy on these items not available until 5th July!
I want the catalogue!!! Aaarrggg... Do you have prices if we PM you billy??
Yep no problem! :D
Is it true that the no deposit layby isn't on this year?
:yes: This is true. It is 10% deposit like normal layby conditions, however still until Christmas Eve.
Billy,
Not sure if this is true or not but i thought i would ask! I was told today by a friend that if you go into kmart b4 the sale starts layby the items u want then go back when the sale is on, Take your receipt down to layby they will change the prices on your docket to match the sale prices.... Is this true? i didn't think it was cause wouldn't everybody do it?
In years gone by you COULD NOT do this for the toy catalogue (only). I believe it is the same this year. :thumbsup:
wa mum of 4
01-07-2007, 16:47
It is the most shocking weather here today, if I was a delivery person I wouln't be out in it.
I guess I wont be getting mine till tomorrow:gloomy:
wa mum of 4
01-07-2007, 16:49
Billy,
Our KMART had signs all over the toy sale products stating NO layby on this item.
heymamma
01-07-2007, 18:42
Every year ive gone to the toy sales its always no deposit layby.. Just $2 service fee.
Yup and every year they have had thousands of people abusing it unfortunately :thumbsdown: which is why they are doing it differently this year. I am not looking forward to it as I will be in the firing line at layby. :(
robinson
01-07-2007, 21:11
ok so does the catalogue have any
Jumping castles
Dora play tunnels / anything dora
Swing Sets
umm if you could pm me yes or no and prices if you can..
i may have a few more too if that is ok
qldmummy
01-07-2007, 21:23
am waiting with baited breath for my toy sale catalogue. had a sneak peak at Kmart today and there are a couple of things that I want, just need to check out prices at toy sale time.
I saw on the Homepage that the stores here in QLD open at 8 am on Thursday.
Not sure though about the one at Wetsfields, normally, the Center doesn't open before 9 am or even later.
But I guess, it has to be open earlier, otherwise it wouldn't make sense..
Just got the Catalogue :D
It looks good, I saw some great stuff, eventhough they don't have exactly what I was looking for.
One thing I saw, which is perfect for my older one. I'm def. going to buy it..
I hope, it's not already gone by the time I get there..
robinson
02-07-2007, 11:24
ok found out that my local kmart at Werribee for the toy sale opens at 12:01am... also 10% deposit is required and $3.00 admin fee..
our little treasures
02-07-2007, 11:38
10% Is alright if you spend about $600 which is what I spent last year it is only $60 plus the fee! Still alright but really will annoy people because of the lack of notice as everyone will be thinking no deposit and not have budgeted for it. DH is off so looks like we may go in either at midnight just to see the customers fly off the handle or first thing in the morning take it in turns to distract the kids. Might get them a new book to read while we do the shopping!!
our little treasures
02-07-2007, 11:46
I just rang and the lady here at fountain gate vic said 10% but it might change. Will be opening at midnight and the catalogues are in distribution at the moment so I should get one today or tomorrow. Apparently the online catalogue they are putting up soon. She told me to keep looking a few times a day..
I hope if it stays at 10% the crowd may be lower:fingerscrossed:
I actually never wanted to layby toys but by the looks of it, this year we gonna have to do it.
My hubby just called me and told me, that the company he worked for, the last 6 month, still haven't paid him for the last month..
Normally, he's getting paid a forthnight but they apparently have some problems with paying their employees..
Therefore, we live basically from our savings but as you can imagine, there's not much left..
Anyway, since I have never used layby, can someone quickly explain me, how that works?
So you pick the toys you want and then go to the layby queue.
Then you have to hand them all the Toys you wanna put on layby and can't take them home until you paid them completely off?
Did I get that right?
robinson
02-07-2007, 14:13
yep... thats right... you'll need to pay a deposit and usually for this sale you dont have to pay anything else until early October and you dont have to pick up until xmas eve... which saves having the presents lying around the house for the kids to find..
Also if you are thinking of doing it.. go into your local kmart store (where your going to the sale) and either today or tomorrow or wednesday go to layby and get a layby card... it will save you time on Thursday...
Thank so much for the tip with the layby card. I wouldn't have known that.
We'll look through the catalogue tonight and make up our Budget.
It's just going to be an expensive 2 month, this and the next one, with the toy sale, the local fair, DS 1 BD and the Ekka :eek:
That with leaving the toys there til X Mas eve is great. My Mum brought some presents for the boys, when she was here in February.
DS2 doesn't care but DS1 he sees them all the time, he knows, where i hide them and asks all the time, if he can have his Presents..
I just saw so many great things, I'd love to buy, feels like I become a child again after all :o :laughing:
robinson
02-07-2007, 16:44
do you have the catalogue???
here is link: http://www.kmart.com.au/catalogue/20070705/default.asp
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
http://www.kmart.com.au/catalogue/20070705/default.asp
robinson
02-07-2007, 16:48
i have the link...
can i post it here??
Sorry, I'm so late with the answer.
Yes, I got the K Mart catalogue this morning in the mail.
I'm still waiting like crazy for the Big W one.
I got the BigW one today and still not Kmart one... :crying:
HoopDeeDoo
02-07-2007, 18:57
I want to see the big W one, I think the kitchen set they had was better for boys, the Kmart one is way girly
I got the BigW one today and still not Kmart one... :crying:
Wanna swap? :D
~Emmylou~
02-07-2007, 20:25
OK so after hanging out for weeks and checking my mail box obsessively for days my Kmart catalogue finally arrives today.
And I have to say....MEH. :sleeping:
I don't know, is it just me or is it not as good as last year?
I really struggled to find stuff for my kids that was reduced enough to warrant sitting in a layby queue for hours....the discounts just didn't seem as much as they were last year :(
Now I'm going to be hanging out for Target and BigW I think.
robinson
03-07-2007, 11:23
OK so after hanging out for weeks and checking my mail box obsessively for days my Kmart catalogue finally arrives today.
And I have to say....MEH. :sleeping:
I don't know, is it just me or is it not as good as last year?
I really struggled to find stuff for my kids that was reduced enough to warrant sitting in a layby queue for hours....the discounts just didn't seem as much as they were last year :(
Now I'm going to be hanging out for Target and BigW I think.
I was thinking the same thing...!! Big W has a few things cheaper.. they are usually not as busy so may go there instead... have two days to decide!
Wanna swap? :D
If I hadn't looked at the online Kmart catalogue - yeah - but honestly, the BigW one does look heaps better!!
My Kmart one STILL hasn't arrived yet...
I went to my nearest Big W today and got the catalogue and when I came back home, I had it in the mail as well :D
I have to agree, the Big W one looks so much better and it's cheaper as well.
I got my attention on 2 things and one is 10! Dollars cheaper at Big W than the one at K Mart :eek:
That's a massive price difference for the same item, crazy.
And the other one is "only" 4 Dollars cheaper but I don't say no to that one either :D
none of the catalogues have arrived here yet :mad: atleast ive seen the ones online. but have no idea about bigW
That sucks.
Do you have a Big W nearby? Maybe then, tomorrow, you could go and ask for the catalogue.
I don't know, if that's a hassle for you, or if it would be ok. Just an idea.
I think, the big W one is to large to put online, it's 124 pages..
That's why there's no link.
I was really disappointed in the catalogues! I thought there would be heaps better discounts! and is it just me or does the target catalogue have no prices in it????:confused:
I went to 2 big w's and both told me they arent allowed to give them out until thursday! :banghead: So peeved off. Its literally a 5 min walk around the corner to one and I dont have a catalogue!! :banghead:
how's this , i went to kmart on saturday to ask when they will have a catalouge out the chick said tuesday, so off i went today to be told no sorry we arn't putting them out till thursday i then said, could u please tell me if its online or not ?( fully nowing it was already) and she says i just spoke with the manager and she said not until tomoro night :mad: they all don't knw what the hell they're doing no wonder last years sale was so chaotic ( eg sections numbered with specific toys but no maps to tell u where those numbers were in the store and even the staff couldn't tell you where a number was, what the????)
I got the Kmart and Big W in the mail today (Tuesday). It is a bit annoying how the Target online one has no prices so comparing is difficult
roxanne22
03-07-2007, 21:05
hey just wondering if its no deposit layby for the toy sale at kmart
10% deposit for Kmart this year :)
robinson
03-07-2007, 22:15
I got the Kmart and Big W in the mail today (Tuesday). It is a bit annoying how the Target online one has no prices so comparing is difficult
the target one will have prices on the 13th of July... it sucks but good marketing i spose from their point of view