View Full Version : Any Brisi Bubs Due in August????
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 12:29 PM
Hello everyone,
let me start by introducing myself.... My name is Adele and I live in bris vagaz with my DP Tim and we are expecting bub #1 on 17th August.
I decided to start this thread to chat with other brisi mums to be because i have been having a hard time finding other mums in my area to chat with, and it would be nice to have some mums in the area to talk to!!:)
So if your in the brisi area or you just feel like saying hello then drop on in
Hoping to talk to you all soon, Adele:cool:
ETsMum
23-01-2006, 01:16 PM
Hi Adele,
Welcome to bubhub. I'm not expecting, but I did have my DS on the 17 Aug last year. :D
cwsmum
23-01-2006, 01:20 PM
I'm not due in August either...I have an almost 3yr old DS and a 2mth old DD :)
I do live in Brisbane tho, on the southside. Where in Bris are you?
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 01:40 PM
Hi gals, Thanks for replying.........
I am at Stafford on the northside.
Just wondering what were your fav/couldnt live without nursery/baby care items? I have
cot
change table
chest of drawers
bassinet and mozzi net
car seat/capsual
bouncer
b/pump
rocking chair
wool cot blankets x2
lambs wool floor mats
Sorry for cr@#ing on but i dont wana waste to much money and everyone on here is so helpful so if you can give me ANY advice it would be much appreciated:)
cwsmum
23-01-2006, 01:56 PM
Pawpaw ointment! Great for nappy rash, any other rash, insect bites on bub or you, cracked nipples - safe for bub, no need to clean it off before you feed...heaps of other things too :D www.lucaspapaw.com.au See for yourself :) Oh, and they are a local company too, located at Acacia Ridge.
Umm, other than that...a stereo in bubs room or some kind of musical thing to help bub settle.
Some kind of sling or cary pouch for when you go shopping, I hate putting bub is those dirty trolleys when I'm doing the groceries, and they are hard to see over if you are short like me.
littlepickle
23-01-2006, 02:17 PM
Hi Adele
My little bub is due on the 4th August this year! yay! I live at South Bank Brisvegas!
I am having bub a the MMPH, I have an ultrasound tomorrow! Cant wait!!! So excited!
Its nice to see that the weather has cooled down a little bit here!
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 02:22 PM
Thanks,
I have a spare stereo wihich is really cool cause the face changes colours- so it will be good and i can get it out of my laundry :D
Unfortunatly i dont have an issue with height I am 18 next month and I'm almost 6 foot!!!!! It sucks cause all you do is bang your head on things!!! I have just been researching the baby sling- there are soooo many to choose from
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 02:29 PM
Hi littlepickle,
Yeah it is alot cooler. Im going public so il b at the RBWH still waiting for the date of my scan to arrive in the post....its taking such a long time for them to give me an appointment. I am going to the Dr on friday though to hear the heartbeat for the 1st time though...Im realy excited but terrified at the same time- Im sooooo worried that something is going to be wrong or go wrong. It still dosnt seem real- being pregnant I mean. I never had the blood test done to confirm the pregnancy and I keep thinking ohhh the dr is going to say your not pregnant lol I mean COME ON!!!! I did like 8 HPT and I have missed like 3 or 4 periods im realy sick...hmmmmm it all fits so I dont know why I keep thinking of all this silly cr@p:rolleyes:
Good luck with your scan tomorow let us know how it goes-are you finding out the sex?
littlepickle
23-01-2006, 02:58 PM
Hi Adele,
I think it is pretty natural to be worried, I feel the same, when I had my first scan at the obs room, I was expecting him to say - sorry theres nothing there - you were imagining it, now I am 12 and a half weeks and I am a bit nervous about the scan tomorrow too! I think this is just the beginning, we will be worrying about our bubs from now and it will be the same for the rest of our lives!
I will definitely try to find out the sex of bub, but I think I will have to wait until my 18-19 week scan to find out as it is prbably still a bit early to tell now. DH is coming with me to the scan tomorrow and it will be the forst time that he has seen bub as he missed the first scan, I cant wait for him to see bub too!
Hey, you are pretty lucky being tall - I read somewhere that your bump may not be so big if you are tall as it has more room or something like that. I dont know how true that is though. I am 172cm and I always wanted to be taller than that:p I have 4 brothers that are all over 6ft 2ins, My mum is only 5ft though
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 03:11 PM
Hi littlepickle,
Durrrrr what was i thinking..... i know you cant tell until 18weeks what the sex is- put it down to the ummmmm m/s yeah thats it lol:D
I know i have to stop worrying but its hard. You said that DH missed the 1st sacn-how many weeks were you when you had ur first scan...i havnt had one yet:( I realy want to but for some reason my Dr dosnt seem to agree...... I would be so much happier after seeing my lil one safe and well.
Well good luck again for tomoro We will be thinking of you (me and bub i mean)
*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2006, 04:11 PM
Well good afternoon everyone.....
So how was everyones day?? Mine was booring and lazy :rolleyes: I did absolutly nothing-but I can get away with it :D
I did however do something that I know i am going to regret soon- I went to the kitchen to make some vegimite toast (ummmmm) and i opened the cupboard and I noticed a packet of chocolate cake mix with ready to eat frosting- well I think we all know what happened next the look on DP's face when I tell him will be priceless i can do it though i lost 8kg and im pregnant i always thought you were supposed to things like that during pregancy:D
When i went for my first scan I thought she would say "Why are you here, there's nothing in there" but she didn't get a chance coz I could see the little peanut as soon as she put the thingy on my stomach.
littlepickle
23-01-2006, 07:58 PM
Hi Adele,
I had my first scan at 10 weeks. I wasnt expecting it though. I had my first appointment with the obs and he asked me if I wanted to see the bub and I was like - yeah!!! so he used the ultrasound in his room, it was sooo cool! Unfortunately, as DH didnt think there would be anything interesting to see at the first appointment, he missed out on seeing the scan - so he is really looking forward to tomorrows scan... I on the other hand am really nervous about the whole thing.
Uniquey
23-01-2006, 11:23 PM
Hi Adele,
I too am a Brisvegas gal and am due (first baby) the same time as you, 17th August:D . I am going to have bubs at the Mater Mothers, and so far have had one scan at 10 weeks and my first Obs appointment won't be until the 22nd February.
Although I have been sick:eek: as a:eek: dog, with headaches to boot, it still seems surreal that I am pregnant! I can't wait until next week, the 12 week mark so I can relax a little.
Not sure what folate etc you are taking, but I went to E-Pharmacy at Windsor last week and picked up two boxes of ELEVIT for only $37.00. They also sell the Blackmores ante-natal vitamins for $10 or something. Just thought I'd let you know, as you can never have enough bargains:D !
I look forward to talking to you, take care
Uniquey
Bee and boys
24-01-2006, 08:53 AM
Hi there Adele, I also live in Brisbane I am a 24 year old mum of 2 boys 3 and 14 months and I am due on the 18th of August am booked in to redcliffe hospital congrats to you on your pregnancy all the best. Chat soon Bianca:)
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 11:45 AM
Hi Uniquey,
Nice to meet you!!!!! How cool is that-both of us due on the same day!!!! It will be interesting to see who goes first. Il put $10 down that I'm late....... I will definitly have to go to e-pharmacy and get some elevit. I was taking Blackmores Pregnancy and Brestfeeding formula but it gave me the runs:confused: So i will have to switch cause at the moment im not taking anything and I keep forgetting my folate too, i have a bad memory :rolleyes:
Well nice to meet you talk soon:p xo
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 11:48 AM
Hi Bianca,
Thanks for your message!!! Congrats on your babys- wow ur so young but are onto # 3 already:eek: I couldnt do it. Im convinced now i am having twins lol
Well nice to meet you dont forget to keep us all posted on how your going and remeber were all here to listen when you feel like a good winge lol (i do it all the time):rolleyes:
ETsMum
24-01-2006, 12:20 PM
Hi gals,
Just wondering what were your fav/couldnt live without nursery/baby care items? I have
cot change table chest of drawers bassinet and mozzi net car seat/capsual bouncer b/pump rocking chair wool cot blankets x2 lambs wool floor mats
Sorry for cr@#ing on but i dont wana waste to much money and everyone on here is so helpful so if you can give me ANY advice it would be much appreciated:)
WOW!! You have soooo much already! Very organised. :) My best buys and what I can't do without are my steriliser and baby carrier. I got both on Ebay - VGC for half price. Get a baby carrier - it will save your arms. I've got a Baby Bjorn. They are expensive but worth it. I had a Snuggly carrier and it would take 2 people to get bub in it. With the Baby Bjorn I can load DS in by myself and in no time at all.
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 12:38 PM
hi Len,
Thanks for the advice.I had already decided to buy a microwave steriliser i know how useful they are as for the baby carrier I have been researching and theres just to many!!!!! Im looking at maybe getting a sling- i always think that lil babys in front carriers look a lil uncomfertable especially when their dads dont put their arms around them.
I do have alot already- you should see the house:eek: I was very fortunate to get it all. I brought it off a lady at narangba for $200 4 everything i listed!!! Great buy and its all white just what I wanted the only other things i have brought was the car seat(i got a newborn capsual with all the stuff i brought) and a couple of lil beanies and a blanket. Waiting to find out the sex so i can do everything in pink and purple (im convinced its a girl)
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 01:22 PM
Hi littlepickle!!!!!
How did your scan go????? Cant wait to hear let me know as soon as you can ok Im really excited for you. I hope bub is ok and doing well
xo Adele
littlepickle
24-01-2006, 03:27 PM
Hi Adele,
Well the scan went really well, and bub is really healthy. In fact had great results and the dr was really happy. It turns out that I am apparently 13 weeks today which is a few days further along than I thought that I was, giving me an EDD of 01/08/05. Got loads of oictures of bub too, it was really good! I am just relieved that everything is ok. I was a little nervous last night, thinking "what if"... but all turned out well Yay!! I will try to post a picture of the scan when I get home!
gawd littlepickle I have been waiting for you ALL DAY.
Well, that's great news!!
You got my old due date!!
amandaw
24-01-2006, 03:37 PM
What have your obs said about elevit? My doctor suggested it after the 12 weeks was up, but when I saw my Ob yesterday, and he actually said not to bother...he said they are fairly expensive for what they are, and providing that I am eating well I'll be getting everything I and the bub need.....I'm still tempted to do it for maybe the next two months or so (beacause I tend to eat less while it's hot) but after that I'm not sure if it's worth it. Any other opinions?
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 03:56 PM
CONGRATS LITTLEPICKLE!!!!!!
That is fantastic news!!! I am so happy and relieved for you. It has given me a lil more hope that I will b ok.
Cant wait to see the pics!!!!
Congrats again xo:)
__________________________________________________ _____________
Hi amandaw
I personally would take the elevit but then again if your dr is happy that bub is well then its probably an expense you dont need.... and think of all the cute lil baby clothes you could buy....:D
__________________________________________________ ______________
IMPORTANT INFO
I have stumbled across some information that states that you should not lie on your RIGHT side while pregnant as it cuts off vital blood supply to ur baby!!!! Dont know how true it is but it did come from a reliable source
Uniquey
24-01-2006, 04:19 PM
Hi Adele,
Don't let me go first:eek: , haha, I'd rather pay YOU $10 to be first and tell me how it really is, hahha. I too stopped taking Blackmores for the same reason as you, and then someone on Bubhub recommended Elevit to me, and I haven't looked back. Yes, it is expensive from a Chemist, but you can't go wrong at E-Pharmacy, although, I am a shocker, i cannot go to E-Pharmacy without buying heaps of stuff. The last time I was there I bought 6 bars of Pears Soap and various other bits and pieces, which I really didn't need!
I felt so slack when I read your list of baby gear that you already have, I have nothing yet. I have been too worried to buy anything in case I 'jinx' the pregnancy, weird how we become totally irrational once pregnant huh. Don't worry about feeling worried, it's completely NORMAL. You wouldn't be human if you didn't, and it shows you care. I am a worry wort at the best of times, and being a first timer, i am shocking. I worry about eating, drinking, sleeping, working, everything. I too, keep thinking 'what if there's something wrong developmentally with the baby' and have guilt that I had to take Maxolon for my severe all day sickness, but alas, I am trying to be philisophical now, and think what will be, will be. I can't control everything.
Anyway, loving 'meeting' you and keep up the good work mummy-to-be!
Uniquey (Monique)
Uniquey
24-01-2006, 04:28 PM
Hi Amandaw,
In regards to your ELEVIT question, I think you need to listen to your instincts. If you don't feel it necessary to take multi-vitamins due to your diet, then I wouldn't. I personally like Elevit because, it is only one tablet per day, as opposed to the Blackmores ones which are 2 and are huge to take when you're sick. Elevit has the full gamet of recommended daily intake of vitamins etc and a good dose of Vitamin B6 (good for M/S) and of course Folate.
YES, Elevit is expensive, I was paying $25+ from the Chemist, until I went to E-Pharmacy and got 2 boxes for $37. I have been quite sick the whole time, and not eating a full balanced diet, so taking them makes me feel much more at ease that the baby is getting the right amount of nutrients etc. It has also helped my All day sickness settle somewhat. But as I said earlier, it's up to you. If you feel Elevit's too expensive, you could buy just a bottle of folate tablets from the Supermarket or the Blackmores ones form E-pharmacy for around $10 I think?
Hope that helps, good luck,
Uniquey
Uniquey
24-01-2006, 04:30 PM
Hi Littlepickle,
Congrats on a good scan and a healthy littleicklepickle:D
Keep up the good work, and let's hope that all us other August Mum's follow suit with good scans like yours!
Uniquey
*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2006, 04:44 PM
Hi Monique
Dont feel slack!!!!! The only reason I have all this stuff is because I was in the right place at the right time..... I couldnt resist buying all the stuff at only $200
I forgot I also have
Portacot
High chair
Swing
lol im loosing track of it all:rolleyes:
I am ALWAYS being told by a family friend"DONT buy anything until you get past 3 months" shes superstitious but im not -heck il walk under a lader if its the quicker way to go I dont care!!!!:D (hehe im a dare devil lol)
littlepickle
24-01-2006, 04:50 PM
Hi! thanks everyone for your congratulations on the scan. It is such a relief. The odds were 1:3680 for D/s and 1:8412 for trisomy 13/18 which they explained is a very good result, particularly as I didnt have the blood tests. They have not recommended any further diagnostics and the Dr said that the fetus is very good looking (I think she was talking about shape rather than looks):p So that will be it until 18 weeks I guess!
Hey I was pleasantly surprised because I was told by a few people that you couldnt claim anything back from medicare for the NT scan but I got $92 back so the scan ended up costing me $128 which wasnt quite as bad as I had been expecting.
Anyway, better get back to work for the last 1/2 hour, like I said, I will post a pic when I get home :-D
Thanks again Shed, Uniquey and Adele for thinking of me today :D
salt water
24-01-2006, 06:09 PM
That is great news littlepickle :)
Mine is tomorrow and I have to admit I am apprehensive about it, mainly because of my age (ancient thing that I am) and by total co-incidence, I have met two "older" Mums this week who both have chn with DS - silly me, wondered if it was a "sign". Lost some sleep last night.
littlepickle
24-01-2006, 06:38 PM
Hi! Does anyone know how to paste a photo into here? I hae added a little face photo to my avatar - hopefully it looks like a face to other people too, not just myself:p
Portiasmum. I know how you feel, it is nervewracking going for the scan. I got myself so worked up at one point that I almost didnt want to go, but it is such a relief when you know everything is alright! I am sure you will be fine! They look at absolutely everything including the babies stomach, bladder, heart, spine, feet, legs, arms, hands, head, nose, mouth - it really is amazing to see, I didnt think it would be so detailed. They base the risk on all of the above plus your blood test (if you hav one - I didnt) and your age etc. You and bub will be fine. I will be thinking of you tomorrow, and looking forward to hearing how it all went!
I have met two "older" Mums this week who both have chn with DS - silly me, wondered if it was a "sign"
I was the same about a little kid I saw at the supermarket!!!!! Wondering if it was a sign to get me used to the idea.
I hate all this worrying.
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 08:04 AM
Hi Littlepickle,
Your lil buby is sooooo cute!!!! I cant wait to go and have my scan! When I go to my OB on Friday (who is also my GP who bulk bills :D ) Il TELL him to send me for a scan cause I cant wait any longer! Pushy I know but hey -Im gunna be a mum may as well start practicing now lol :cool:
Portiasmum- I know how you feel!! I havnt had any appointments and my 1st is on Friday...Arghhhhhh Im soooo nervous- I keep thinking something is going to be wrong or the babys heart will have stopped beating. Im being silly I know but its hard. Im not having a scan just yet Im only going in to hear the heart beat so ui have to wait a lil longer. Try not to worry Im sure you will be fine:) let us all know how you go Ok
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 08:13 AM
Hello everyone....
I have decided I cant wait any longer for the appointment so im going today. DP will have to come home early from work but I think something is worng and I cant wait any longer so im going WISH ME LUCK- Im gunna need it:confused:
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 08:26 AM
Hello again everyone,
Scrap what I just said my stupid Dr is fully booked out!!!!!!! so appointment isnt till tomoro at 8.45am Looks like its going to be one of "those" days:(
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 08:38 AM
Shed...... I was bored so I checked out the link for apples web site....arghhhh she is sooooo cute!!!!!! Can I have her? :p I dont know how you could leave her alone! I also checked out ur friends web site and saw pics of pepper how adorable.
Chickadee
25-01-2006, 09:11 AM
Hi! Does anyone know how to paste a photo into here? I hae added a little face photo to my avatar - hopefully it looks like a face to other people too, not just myself:p
Hi Littlepickle. Congrats on the scan. Unfortunately you won't be able to post a photo directly into the forum. It's not allowed because it slows down the page loading. But you can put a hyperlink to another website if you have the photo posted there. Just use the icon up above that looks like a globe with a paperclip.
Wishing you all a happy easy pregnancy :)
Martha (moderator)
salt water
25-01-2006, 09:16 AM
Morning girls, I have made myself sick over this NT scan this morning, I am wondering why I am doing it :( But DH thinks it is a good idea as I will be 39 this year and so I do fit into the risk category :(
He would prefer to know well in advance if there is something not 100%. He is meeting me there at 10.45, now I'm off to drink the required 1 litre of water!!
Adele - don't stress (I know,..... I'm a fine one to talk!!), I'm sure it is not healthy for Bub! Worrying is all part of being a Mum, but gee it starts early!
Cheers all, back later.
Adele, yeah, my little Apple is cute. I love her to bits, she's my baby. She just turned 2 on Saturday. She goes to "playgroup" on Tuesdays and Thursdays with my old neighbours dog Roly because I don't like leaving her home alone every day! The other days she just sleeps all day.
Portiasmum, I could have written that myself. I hate the NT scan because they are actually looking for something to be wrong, which puts a cloud over it. I am 36 and we have gone through that whole process of thought too. We decided to do it and booked and went in for it and I was only 10 weeks 2 days, I thought I was 12 weeks. So I have to go back again. I am still undecided about doing the blood tests.
littlepickle
25-01-2006, 10:36 AM
Potiasmum and Shed, I know what you mean when you say that you are worried about the NT scan, I was really looking forward to it until the night before when I just got really scared, I was the same on the morning of the scan! The main thing for me when I saw bub was that there was still a heart beat and movement - everything else was a bonus! I know that might sound wierd, of course, I wanted everything else to be ok too, but I was more worried about the heartbeat than anything else. Bubs heart beat is 165bpm which the dr said is perfect yay! But the actual scan isnt as scary as it at first sounds, when you are in there and looking at bub on the screen, you kind of forget that it is a scan looking for anything wrong, you are more interested in looking at bub, and it really is lovely to get such a detailed view of bub, right down to the bloodflow, and bladder etc. I am sure that you will both be absolutely fine, try not to worry too much but try to enjoy having a good look at bub!
Shed, I asked the dr at the scan place about the fact that my ob didnt want me to have a blood test. she said that My particular ob never does along with quite a few others, she said that you are more likely to have a false high risk result with the blood test, and even she would only recommend the blood test to people who really are high risk or who will probably go on to have an amnio. I hope that this helps. personally, I am glad I didnt have the blood tests, as I thought the scan was very detailed, they look at absolutely everything. The sonographer said that the scan alone is known to be 85% accurate but she said it has been around for so long and if there is an experienced dr operating it, the results are closer to 95% which is almost the same as with the blood tests. I guess everyone has a different opinion on that though!
Adele - how are you hun? You sound really down on your recent posts.. I am sure you are fine - we all have days where we think something might be wrong. Why do you think that? If you are really worried, you could go to the hospital and speak to them.
Yep, good enough for me. No blood test.
Hate needles anyway.
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 11:00 AM
Hi littlepickle,
I guess im just stressing because i havnt had a scan or anything yet and my gp/ob hasnt realy done anything to check on the baby and its making me worry. I read a post on hear the other day and this lady and her dh had gone for their date scan and the babys heart had stopped beating...i keep thinking something like that has happened to me:(
I know its natural to worry but im just not happy not knowing and its driving me mad. I need to hear that my baby has a heart beat and i need to see it moving then Il be ok. I just know to much about what can go wrong and im thinking to much about it all...heck everything is probably ok or i would have had some type of indication by now bleeding etc.... and i have had none of that. i have had a little bit of pain in my right side when i wake up but that is posibly cause i sleep on my right side and my belly is pretty big already. Se when i write it all down and read it, it all sounds so silly but my head just cant stop worrying.
Im sorry for winging :( Il try taking some deep breaths and relax
littlepickle
25-01-2006, 11:17 AM
Hi Adele
yes, it is very sad when you read other peoples stories where things go wrong, and you c ant help but worry that the same thing will happen to you! I was the same, there were about 3 people in one week that thi happened too and I was feeling really sad about it, them my morning sickness dissapeared for a day, and I was panicking, thinking all sorts of things, but bub was fine!
I think that as long as you are still getting all the symptoms than that is a good sign, although these can fade around 11 weeks (mine did)
I think you should ask your Dr for a scan, it is only natural that you want to see bub. Dr should be able to refer you for an EDD scan or something or even an NT one if you want it. But to me, it doesnt sound as though you are 100% satisfied with your Dr's care, I would talk to her about this, explain how you feel, she should be able to understand and if she doesnt then maybe you may need to think of getting a different Dr. Ultimately, you are trusting your baby to this person (bit dramatic I know) you want to be able to feel 100% confident in the Dr yourself!
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 11:25 AM
Hi littlepickle
The morning sickness is gone!!!! I know that its supposed to stop about now but im still worried. i dont feel like im getting the right care from my dr- he is a lil blaze about everything. he is a realy good dr but like you said im trusting my bub with him and i need to feel secure
Thanks for being so helpful Im starting to feel a lil better:o
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 01:46 PM
Good afternoon all,
well like i said this morning I couldnt get into the dr however I am now going this arvi. I managed to get in so im of at 3.30pm. Poor DP got screamed and cryed at down the phone cause im so stressed :( I have appologised like 6 times lol
Anyway DP is confident everything will b ok so i guess wel know soon.
Il let you all know how it goes tonight
littlepickle
25-01-2006, 02:30 PM
Good news Adele, I am sure everything will be just fine! :D
Good luck Adele. I remember the lady who's baby's heartbeat had stopped. That was the day before my scan and there were tears in the middle of the night for me too. Just from the worry. Sometimes too much information is a bad thing, I would love to be blissfully ignorant.
When I got to the scan I was actually so gobsmacked that I forgot that I had worried about the heartbeat. DP pointed out the heartbeat and I was like "oh yeah".
My morning sickness is actually afternoon sickness, just kicking in now at 3.52pm right on time. Every morning I give my boobs a little push at the side to make sure they're still sore. Its actually a relief feeling like sh*t because I know that means bubby is hanging on in there. My morning sickness went away quite a lot, I thought I had got rid of it, but then it came back.
Just think, when bubby is born you will have a whole lot more things to worry about!! Then when he or she starts school, even more! And don't even start me on the teenage years...
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 03:05 PM
Lol thanks shed and littlepickle!
Im sure that its all in my imagination- well i hope it is anyway i have 25mins to go until my appointment and i just feel like crying!:( It will be ok i know it will but I just need to see for myself.
As for the morning sickness- well all day sickness actaully, its gone.....:confused: i know that is normal and happens around 11-12 weeks so im not getting to worried about that. Im not teling DP though- it gets me out of doing the washing up:D lol
well i have to go but il let you know what happens thanks your all so great dont know whst id do without ya
*Country Bumpkin*
25-01-2006, 04:41 PM
Well everyone, Its GOOD news!!! Dr put the thingy on my tummy and i was lying there with my fingers crossed and sure enough I heard a boom boom, boom boom:D It was the best sound I have EVER heard in my life!!!! I have never felt so relieved.
I would like to appologise to everyone for being a nurotic FREAK over the last few days and thank you all for understanding and being so kind and helpful :) Couldnt have done it without ya!!!! I mean that too.
Ok well hope everyone else is as happy as i am love ya all verrrrrrrrry much!!!!!:p
ETsMum
25-01-2006, 04:56 PM
That's great news Adele!!! :)
littlepickle
25-01-2006, 06:23 PM
Yay!! Thats great news Adele! Really happy for you!
*Country Bumpkin*
26-01-2006, 11:20 AM
Happy Aus Day Everyone!!!!!
Well this morning I went shoping-for maternity clothes....... I am HUUUUUUGGGGGE:eek: My Dr did tell me yesterday that I am "SLIM" i was most suprised I was like :confused: No im not im ginormous!!
Anyway thanks to everyone for being so supportive.
littlepickle
26-01-2006, 11:45 AM
Happy Australia Day!!!
Well we are heading off to DFO today to buy a few bits I might have a look for some maternity wear in Pumpkin Patch, but we want to get a few unisex clothes for bub o celebrate the 13 week mark. I think we are heading off to the Sausage sizzle in Southbank this evening though which will be nice (even if I am off sausages)!!
I dont really know what size to go for in maternity wear. I hae a few things from Egg Maternity but I am not wearing any of it yet. I have put on 1 kilo so far, but am quite tall so I the baby probably has a bit of room to spread out before my stomach pops out. I am 172cm and quite a slim build (55kg normally) so my dr said that I will maybe end up putting on over 10 - 15 kg :eek: although I would have to say, that if my bb's keep growing at this rate, all of the extra kilos will be there and I am ging to hae to buy an industrial bra!!! I was reading this book that was showing the different body types and where you are most likely to put on baby weight. I think my body type is a celery!! Heheheh... seriously though, it said that apples put the baby weight mainly around their chest, stomach and bottom, pears put their weight on as a neat bump and extra weight on the bottom and thighs, celery's put the weight on as a nea bump and even;y distributed everywhere else, and cauliflowers put the weight on all over, I guess pregnancy weight will just show up where you normally would put on weight but I know that towards the end you put weight on a bit on your thighs to support the weight of tha baby bump.
I wonder when we will all start to really show - its normally around 4 months isnt it before your stomach really pops out, we will have to post our "bump" photos when that happens - that would be fun, Inoticed some of the other threads are doing that..
Anyway, I'd better stop rambling now and head to the shops! Have a nice day!!!
salt water
27-01-2006, 08:31 AM
Morning all - well the NT scan was great!!
I was so engrossed in looking at the the baby, I forgot what I was there for.
Most of the time the baby was lying stretched out and had one leg crossed over the other and one arm behind it's head (much the same position that DH adopts on the sofa while watching the tennis lol).
I had to wait until late that afternoon to get the results back - 1:1957 which I was really happy about and so have decided not to go ahead with a CVS or amnio which had been playing around inthe back of my mind, just because of my age.
So Shed, it will be fine, just fine!!
And Adele - I am pleased that you went to your Dr, don't you feel better now!!
Cheers everyone, back later :)
littlepickle
27-01-2006, 08:46 AM
Portiasmum!
Congratulations on the Scan!! I was thinking about you! Its amazing looking at the scans and seeing a real little person there - we think that our bub has DH's nose and my chin so far (from the piccy) I am going to have the 3d scan done for 18 weeks, I am really looking forward to that.
Anyway, just wanted to say congratulations! I am sooo happy for you!!
Rach
salt water
27-01-2006, 08:57 AM
Thanks Rach - it is reassuring isn't it!!!! I feel sooooo good today :)
And, oh, my EDD has changed - now 3 Aug :)
Have a GREAT day :)
Most of the time the baby was lying stretched out and had one leg crossed over the other and one arm behind it's head (much the same position that DH adopts on the sofa while watching the tennis lol).
LOL. Has to be a boy!!
Littlepickle, I am definitely a cauliflower. My m/s is here in the morning today for some reason. Queasy queasy queasy. I can only eat certain foods, particularly KFC. In the weekend I drove to KFC (its walking distance by the way) and ordered a chilli twister and large fries and gravy. Then I drove out the driveway and into the next driveway to McDonalds and got a large chocolate sundae.
And I did the same thing the next day. Its either that or eat nothing, but hopefully this won't last too much longer or I will be as big as a house. I never used to eat like this, I used to be a bit of a health nut and would have junk food about once a month (just before AF), so its obviously hormonal (yeah yeah, blame it on the hormones!!).
littlepickle
27-01-2006, 09:51 AM
I have to have a sausage mcmuffin in the mornings on my way to work and then at lunchtime I usually get a large chips and gravy from KFC. DH is on a diet at the moment so luckily we have no junk food in the house otherwise I think I would be polishing that off as well!! I have gone off chocolate since being pg and have been craving savoury things but at the moment have a thing for lime and cracked pepper red rock chips....I will really have to sort out me eating I think otherwise bubs is going to be born a junk food addict!! But yeah - its obviously the hormones - :D
*Country Bumpkin*
27-01-2006, 11:40 AM
Portiasmum- Congrats on the scan and yeah I feel heaps better now that I know that everything is ok.
Shed- Wohhhhh I cant eat fatty stuff like that-but i can eat sweet stuff mmmmmmm. Be careful eating the sundaes from macas- they are soft serve ice cream and they have a high risk of listeria, im sure you know what that is but incase you dont it is a bug that eats the placenta!!:eek: Its the same with ham and processed meat-salami, kabana etc.... and certain Dairy etc.... Everyone reconmends not eating this during pregnancy. bummer
It sucks cause i LOVE the sundaes but I cant have em anymore:(
oooh thanks for telling me that. It will probably be just enough to stop me eating them. Not in a paranoid way, in a "now I've been told I can't pretend I didn't know" kind of way!!
I've heard that about the processed meats etc. I can't stand meat at the moment anyway, and soft cheeses are off the menu too because I heard that as well. Thats not something I had alot of before anyway so I can't say I miss it really.
*Country Bumpkin*
27-01-2006, 03:12 PM
Hi Shed,
Lol it sucks dosnt it. I didnt tell you to worry you just a bit of friendly advice:)
I really miss camembert cheese (probably spelt wrong i know) and kabana....just talking about it is making me hungry. I have just been grocery shopping and I brought 50 candi canes for 60c..... I have a thing about mint and peppermint right now :D
When I was 6weeks I had a craving for fruit salad so I went to the eatery to get it and you could have ice cream for like $1 more so I did- i nearly died cause it was soft serve....i didnt enjoy the fruit salad after that lol
Anyway hope everones day is going well and that all the bubis are doin great!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
27-01-2006, 03:16 PM
I have a ? for all of you........ Has anyone else gone off sex? Or is it just me? Poor DP is very confused. I dont know why its happened but its been like this for a few weeks now. Im just not interested!!! When we were TTC it was great but now i dunno whats happened to me! :confused:
Sorry if this offeneds or makes anyone reading this uncoumfertable but im just wondering if anyone out there has any idea of whats going on lol
It doesn't offend me.
I can tell you, I am a rampant sex goddess at the moment. If I wasn't already pregnant I soon would be, lol.
I don't know how much longer it will last.
Its all in the hormones.
*Country Bumpkin*
27-01-2006, 03:52 PM
lol you crazy thing :D I wish i felt the same as you DP wouldnt know what struck him!! Were both so young and its not like me...i think il put it down to the "all day sickness"
Uniquey
05-02-2006, 04:10 PM
You guys had me in stitches reading this! LOL
Adele, how are you? Long time no hear, hope you're keeping well?
Monique
*Country Bumpkin*
06-02-2006, 11:24 AM
Hi Monique,
Yeah sorry- I think weve all gone off bub hub or sumthin...... not sure whats going on...?
Im great- 13weeks this week!!!! Yippeeee Im over the first "dangerous period"
Morning sickness is gone and Im starting to feel "normal" again.
How are you going???
Hey, how come I still have my afternoon sickness?
Its nowhere near as bad as it was though, I must admit.
I can't wait for it to LEEEEEAVE.
I'm still playing on it though, haven't cooked dinner for about eight weeks now. :D
*Country Bumpkin*
06-02-2006, 12:57 PM
hehe
I still dont cook dinner! havnt done 4 3months:D I have hardly done any cleaning either!!! I cleanied the bathroom. Sometimes morning sickness lasts alkl through the pregnancy but it normaly stops between 11-15 weeks. So dont worry it will go soon:)
I went maternity clothes shopping on saturday- spent $300 got jeans and 3 georgous tops ohhhh soooooo much nice stuff!! Im HUGE! You should all see me im going to take a pic of my belly later and il put it on here- then you will all see what im talking about i lok like a giant elephant. The interesting thing is that when i went shopping everything i brought was a small-extra small!!!! I have never been able to fit in an xs before- im getting bigger and im going DOWN in sizes- i feel great "im pregi AND wearing an extra small:cool:
I just found out like 20mins ago that I have my 1st hospital appointment!!! the 24th Feb- the day after tims MRI at the same hospital. Why couldnt it be the same day :mad: Oh well i dont care just soooo excited that Im going to see our bub!!!!
Uniquey
06-02-2006, 04:25 PM
Hi Adele,
Gald to hear you're doing well.:D I am pretty much over the whole ALL day sickness, I just get bouts of vomiting sporatically now. Lot's of headaches though:mad: .
I can't believe we're in our 13th week this week, it seems to be going much faster these days, then earlier on when we all felt so sick! I've got my NT scan tomorrow, and first Hospital visit on the 22nd Feb. You wait Adele, it'll go so fast between now and our Hospital visits. I hope Tim wil be alright with his MRI scan.
I hardly look pregant, I just look (in the nude) as though I am slightly bloated, so still wearing my clothes. Can't wait to see your belly!!!!!!
Uniquey,
we have the same due date. I also look bloated, although I have a bit of a preggy top on today and I feel more preggy because of it.
I have told my boss but he hasn't told anyone and neither have I so no one at work knows yet. I thought I might just wait until someone notices my fat tummy and has the guts to ask me, lol. An experiment on how far along you can get without being noticed.
*Country Bumpkin*
07-02-2006, 10:49 AM
Hi Uniquey!!!
Dont worry the vommiting will go- I have only thrown up once. Fortunatly I hadnt eaten anything but potato chips that night as i was feeling quite sick. I decided i felt so sick that maybe a shower would help...lucky i got in the shower when i did lol. Poor tim came in and saw me chuckin i though he was going to be sick for a second lol sorry if TMI! As for the headaches...well i never really get them so hmmmmm i dont know!
I cant believe were all in our second trimester already!!!! It is going sooooo quickly before you know it we will all have our babys!!!
I put my belly pic on if you can see it- im a lil misshappen right now but as you can see i am huuuuuuuge. Told you i look like an elephant, considering i never had any fat on me before!!!!
Ok well good luck with the scan- and to everyone else whose has appointments etc.... this week
I haven't actually thrown up at all. I just get the queasiness but not enough to actually hurl.
My morning sickness is afternoon sickness. Around 3pm I start to feel it and by 4pm its all on. Driving home from work is the pits.
The mornings are great. I feel fine in the mornings which is such a blessing because its hard enough to get out of bed as it is.
My friend's husband has to bring her tea and toast before she can even move out of bed because of the nausea. I would try that but DP goes to work at 6am so its a bit early...
I think I am torturing him enough anyway. The poor boy. He's definitely not one of those doormat types so its lovely to have him running around for the moment. He really wants this baby and he wants another one after this one so he's doing everything he is asked to do and making it snappy, heh heh heh...(that's an evil laugh btw!).
Uniquey
07-02-2006, 05:40 PM
Shed, I had to laugh, I was sitting in my car the other day talking to a friend's elderly Dad, (doesn't know I'm pregnant) and he says, 'geez, you've got a bit of a pot belly there'! LOL, Lucky I am pregnant, otherwise I would have freaked that 'i'm fat', hahha.:p
Isn't it funny how you think differently by the way you dress now. I had on a preggy top the other day, and like you said, felt 'preggy' hahha! Needless to say, it just looked like an ordinary summer top, but i knew. I wonder, how many people think, 'geez, Monique's put on weight', but haven't been game to say as they don't know I'm pregnant. Hmmm, we'll have to wait and see!
Uniquey
07-02-2006, 05:45 PM
Adele, I'd be proud of that belly! My sister's belly was mishapen looking like yours, but it eventually roundens. I can't believe what a BIG baby Tim was, Oh my God, I can't even imagine carrying around a baby that big, his poor Mum!!!!! Hopefully, your's will be more fluid, not baby weight.
Thank you for the advice and well wishes!
littlepickle
07-02-2006, 07:57 PM
Hi Adele - your bump looks cool! I wish i had a bump too ..mwaaaaah:( Sounds like you got some lovely clothes, I will have to check out the shop - if I can talk dh into coming with me on the weekend that is :-)
Monique, excellent news on your nt scan!! it is wonderfull to see bub on screen isnt it! I a so looking forward to having the 3d scan done in4 weeks time yay!!! I will be 19 weeks by then so I am really hoping that bub decides to coorporate and show us whether he/sh is a boy or girl :-)
I have noticed that I do get a little bump lae in the evening, there isnt really anything there during the day, bu when I get home, have my dinner and relax it seems to pop out then. Does anyone else get this? I will take a photo once it becomes a bit more noticeable! I have got my next obs appointment on valentines day:rolleyes: I am really looking forward to that, it will have been 5 weeks since my last appointment but I am hoping they wont be so far apart in the future :-)
redbaby
08-02-2006, 07:02 AM
HI Guys! Can I join you over here?? I am not from Brisvegas,..but I can pretend?!!!!! Or I can just lurk and be very very quiet?!?!? Yeah right!!!!
Hi Adele.... my tum is just like yours,... only I had a bit more around the sides to start with,. I am nearly 6foot and 72kg,.... a couple of those were post Scarlett (or that's what I tell myself anyway! hehe!),.... Infact, my tum made a girlfriend who is due at the same time, feel quite worried yesterday, as she is still totally flat,.... Everyone is different!
I have an obbies appointment next Wed,..and hopefully he will be able to tell me what we are having,.! Otherwise I will be waiting till the 18week scan too,.....
We are selling our house (why do we do things like this when pregnant) so as of tomorrow I have a house full of painters and carpenters,..arrrghhh!!!! Just what Squidg needs when she is sleeping,....!
BTW - I bought some maternity jeans last week - they are called YIM jeans and are a vintage distressed denim and are really comfy!!! Worth the money!!!!
Hope you all have a lovely day.!
Jane - from errrrrrrrr Southport?!?!?!??!
expectingtwins
08-02-2006, 08:42 AM
I'm joining in a bit late but am new to this chat room thing. I also haven't read all of the messages up to now so sorry if I'm a bit repetitive. :confused:
I'm expecting twins on Ekka Wednesday, 16 August :D but given they're twins they'll probably come a bit early. I had my 12 week scan and all good although I found the DS ratios a bit confusing. The obstetrician who did my scan wouldn't tell me if it was a 'good' result or not because that is subjective :rolleyes: I think the odds were somthing like 1:2500 for trisomy 21 and 1:7500 for trisomy 13 and 18. I'm happy enough with that and not bothering with any other tests.
Has everyone bonded with their babies? Most of the time I don't feel pregnant. I had a bit of morning sickness and fatigue but can't really see into the future and me and my DH bringing 2 babies home from the hospital. It's a bizarre feeling when I've been waiting for this for 3 years. Don't get me wrong - I'm really happy about having twins, I just thought I'd be ecstatic and rushing out buying things. I just wondered whether anyone else felt like this. It could be because I've had 2 miscarriages but I don't feel anxious anymore either now that I'm in the 2nd trimester. :confused: I'm hoping that when I feel that first movement or when we find out the sex at the next scan that I will bond more with the idea.
I certainly have a belly and have had to go and buy maternity clothes. I went to Gayle Petrie - they have an excellent sale on at the moment - up to 50% off. The maternity shop at Windsor (next to cafe Mamas) also has some good bargains on last season's winter stock but there's not a lot left.
The next job for me is to stock the nursery. As I have to get 2 of most things, I'll be looking out for bargains. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Well enjoy your pregnancies and I look forward to keeping in touch leading up to the births.
Steph
Jane from "Southport", I gatecrashed this thread too!
Littlepickle - my first OB appointment is on Valentines Day too, I am not really looking forward to it, I feel quite nonchalant about it actually. I don't really like doctors or hospitals so I guess that's why. I am looking forward to meeting my doula more, which won't be for another couple of months.
expectingtwins - firstly, congratulations! how exciting. I must admit, when I had my scan I felt bonded to bubby for a couple of hours afterwards, but most of the time its sort of "hypothetical" really, like its not really true. Sometimes when I see an ad on TV with a cute baby or whatever I get really excited just knowing that I am going to have one of those little people. Then it sort of fades back into not being real. I don't talk to him/her yet or anything.
I am looking forward to finding out what it is so I can bond with it more.
littlepickle
08-02-2006, 09:53 AM
Hello honorary queenslanders :D Nice to see a few more faces in this thread :-)
Steph - wow! Twins, my mum is an identical twin, her and her sister are so close it is unbelieveable :-) Have you tried DFS for baby clothes, the prices are good!
Jane, I bought a pair of vintage flair Yim jeans last week, it was really cool, as they didnt have my size on display so I asked if they had any smaller sizes out the back. The girl came out with the right size and it fitted perfectly but I noticed a little bit of fraying, it was nothing noticeable at all, and doesnt even need fixing, but I managed to get the jeans for just $110 down from $199. So I am really happy with that. I have tightened them up as far as they will go but I am not wearing them get as they keep sliding down and make me look like I have a builders bum :-) I am hoping that they will hold up better when I have more of a belly :-) They are a lovely cut though, and really comfortable too!
Shed, cool, you have an ob appt the same day as me! What a thing to be doing on valentines day eh!
I kind of feel the same way in regards to bonding with bub, it doesnt really feel very real yet, I guess it will be a lot more real when bub starts kicking and I can feel him/her, I have bought a few bits and pieces though which makes me feel a little more "bonded"
jane, I didnt think of asking my ob if he can tell me the sex of bub, I just assumed that I would have to wait until my 19 week ultrasound. Obby has an ultrasound in his rooms so, I am sure I can ask. I will be 16 weeks at my next appointment, so hopefully that will be late enough to tell, if of course bub coorporates!! having said that, bub spent most of his/her time "mooning" at us during the NT scan!
Speaking of which, the sonographer kept referring to bub as him, and he and his - I never questioned her on this and I dont know why looking back I said nothing, but I do wonder if she was trying to tell me something???
redbaby
08-02-2006, 11:07 AM
Well,...this thread looked more interesting than the other one,..so if I have to become a virtual Queenslander, then so be it!!! Will just have to work on my virtual bad driving!!!! Kidding!!!!
LP - I know what you mean about the YIM jeans doing the builders crack thingo,....but I just belt mine in! I love them,...especially the flare at the bottom,... and the YIM tops are pretty groovy too!
Yeah,...Stephen has an ultrasound in his studio (he doesn't call it his office, or rooms........pretty cool!),.and we always have a quick look at bubba,....I love it! can't wait till next week!
Hey,...I bought the new baby a flatbear today,....so cute!!!! Oh,..and got Squidg a pair of pink converse!!! They rock! God,..I love shopping for my kids!
Have a great day everyone!
Nice and sunny in good old QLD eh?!?!??!Bewwwwwwdiful!
*Country Bumpkin*
08-02-2006, 11:44 AM
WOW NEW PEOPLE :D
Welcome!!!! Its ok you can pretend to be Queenslanders- After all we are the "SMART STATE" so its only natural youd wanna join us lol I HATE those number plates!!!! (Ohhhh and no offence was meant by that :) )
Ok- expecting twins- I can understand what your saying about the whole bonding thing- I havnt had a scan yet and I have to wait till either next week or 18 weeks, im not sure yet. I have a whole nursery of furniture and bubi stuff already sooooo I suppose that makes it feel more real. I dont stress anymore- I havnt done since i rushed off to the dr cause i thought something was wrong with bub- and then i head her heart beat for the first time, thats when I stopped stressing!!! If you go back and read alot of the pages in here you will see that I really went nuts and I think I might have annoyed everyone on here in the process lol!!!! But everyone is sooooo nice that they didnt tell me to shut up!!
As for all of you that have gone out and brought the Yim Jeans GRRRRRRRRR STOP RUBBING IT IN MY FACE :D I really wanted them when I went shopping the other day but I didnt get them- stupid me :mad:
Ok well good luck tooooo everyone who has dr appoints and scans etc... this week let us know how they gooo.
Mwahhhhhh KISSES TO ALL
expectingtwins
08-02-2006, 12:05 PM
Where do I get these YIM jeans that everyone is talking about??
Steph
Hey,...I bought the new baby a flatbear today,....so cute!!!!
What is this flatbear business?
*Country Bumpkin*
08-02-2006, 12:15 PM
Expecting twins- You can buy the Yim Jeans at all good maternity shops they are $199 but sooooo worth it! They are georgous!!!! You can get them at maternity revolution at brendale- they are great and have some awesome stuff i went there on saturday and blew $300 check them out at
www.maternityrevolution.com.au
Shed- i was wondering the same thing with the flat bear......
redbaby
08-02-2006, 03:00 PM
Sorry Adele about the YIM jeans,..they are just so comfy,... and I love the fact that they are designed by 2 aussie mums in Melbourne,..... Good on them,.
Ok,..about the Flatout bear,..... again an aussie design,...that Sarah Jessica Parker loves!!! Checkout
babysgotstyle.com.au
then,..search by brands, and go to flatout bear,....
they are the softest most snuggly things ever!!!! Scarlett really wanted one too,..but she already has too much stuff,... Let me know what you all think! I even had it wrapped especially,..so Scarlett can give it to the baby,... now I just have to think about what the baby can give Scarlett!!!!!
littlepickle
08-02-2006, 03:56 PM
I agree Jane, the flatout bears are really cute! didnt little prince Christian get one for his christening too!!
Adele, I am sure you will be getting a lovely pair of Yim jeans soon!:) I am so going to try to get DH to come with me to Brendale this weekend...... seems like ages away!!
Last weekend I bought some lovely floaty tops from sportsgirl, perfect for a flegeling bump! And on SALE too!! even better!!
Our primo baby capsule arrived yesterday (DH bought it online) I is so exciting to look at it and think that we will be bringing bub home in it in August!
Speaking of EDD's, does anyone have any guesses as to when their bubs will be born? I am thinking mine will come along on the 31st Juy, dont know why I think that though. Its my birthday on the 30th July so maybe bub will gatecrash my birthday party???
Uniquey
08-02-2006, 05:33 PM
Adele, I have to agree, those number plates are sooo embarassing! I think the ol 'Sunshine State' is much more appropriate.
Maternity Revolution's not going to know what hit them when all these pregnant fashionistas come in wanting Yim jeans, hahha! My DH, said to me, 'I'm so glad you're pregnant now, because you won't be able to buy all that expensive Alannah Hill and Review gear you like'. Typical male, if we dressed like dags, they'd have something to say!
Littlepickle, I must have been at the same Sportsgirl sale, i got soem great tops and also some floaty ones at Portmans and Tempt. I'm actually thinking of going to Trade Secret on the weekend too, they have some good baby gear etc.
I followed Jane's advice and decided to book an apartment up the Coast for 3 days next week and can't wait. It'll be good to have some R&R and not feel bleugh in the process. Hopefully will take in some retail therapy at Caloundra too!
I wonder how many of us walk around in shopping centres ect, and pass one another without obviously knowing each other??
littlepickle
08-02-2006, 08:14 PM
Monique, i was thinking the same thing last weekend when I was in Myers, there were loads of people in the baby department and I was thinking, there could be bubhubbers there and we wouldnt know it!!
I havent been to Trade Secret yet, let me know if it is any good;)
redbaby
09-02-2006, 07:40 AM
Yay!!! Good on you Monique!! have a brill time,..
I thought you would like the flatout bear, LP,... seemed like a 'you' thing!
I think that this baby will be early,. Squidg was 2.5weeks early,....... and if this one is,..then he (I alternate between he and she cause I hate 'it') may get there for my B'day on the 27th of July!!! Anyway,..another Leo in the house!!! We are all Leo's apart from my poor husband!!!!!
Are we all Leos having leos? My birthday is on the 25th July.
I think bubby will arrive on the 8th August.
expectingtwins
09-02-2006, 08:16 AM
That's weird. I'm not a Leo but my brithday is 11 July.
Expecting (and hoping :D ) babies will come at end of July. I can't believe how organised you all sound. I haven't even thought about nursery items etc. You are motivating me to get moving.
littlepickle
09-02-2006, 08:53 AM
Wow, there are a ot of Leos expecting leos on this thread. Mine will be a leo unless it is quite early, and unless it is over 3 weeks late it will still be a leo!! Kinda makes me nervous, I was such a extroverted child (not that thats a bad thing!!) Hey I guess i will know what to expect, most leos are like that, and confident! Having said that I have a leo friend who is shy! Most people in DH's family are capricorns and most people in my family seem to be virgos so I think it will be great to have another leo like me!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 09:16 AM
Ohhhh God noooooo,
Im an Aquarius and we CLASH with Leos!!!!!! No wonder my father and i always argue!!!!! Tim's b/day is the 27th august but hes not a leo.......:confused:
Expecting Twins- The only reason we all have stuff is cause we cant walk past anything without buying!!!(well thats how it is with me) I had ALLL the nursery furniture by the time I was 6 weeks!!!!! You should see the nursery now!!! Eeeeek there is stufff everywhere! Dont know how im going to fit it all in the
Uniquey- I was thinking the same thing the other day too- I wonder how many of us have smilled at each other and not even relised. I know we should all swap pics and then if we bump into each other we can ditch our DP/DH'S and go shopping together :D lol As for Maternity revouloution- welllll yeah I think they are going to have an influx of bubhubers- hey they should give us a discount!!!!! The clothes are by no means cheap though- i brought a pea in a pod top there the other day and it was $80 just by itself!!! As for all of you going to sportsgirl etc....:( wel as you all know I cant do that... Im too HUGE
As for all of you who are going away.... CAN I COME TOO????:confused:
Tim works 2 jobs soooo I have NOOOOO chance of going anywhere ohh and on his nights off he plays squash! I never see him
redbaby
09-02-2006, 10:25 AM
Having a Leo baby is great!!! Scarlett is such a little extrovert,.... she runs into shops and says 'Hiya' to everyone,..then does a little dance, complete with clapping and spinning, then says "bye',.waves, and runs out! Too funny!!! She is very confident and as soon as we get to playgroup, she leaves me at the door with a 'bye Mama'! i just sit and watch her play! And she is only 17months!
littlepickle
09-02-2006, 10:39 AM
I think the dates for a Leo is something like 24th July to 24 August but some books say it is the 25th July - 25th August:confused:
jane, Scarlett sounds sooo cute!! Well she is cute, her photo is gorgeous!
Adele, maybe we shoud have a brissy mums shopping trip or something further down the rack when we know what flavour we are all having!!
It changes every year because it depends on when the sun enters the house of Leo. some years its 22nd etc.
I would have loved to have a Leo mother. I am not just saying that because I'm going to be one, but I have only ever met one leo woman who wasn't a fantastic mother, and she had the kid before she was ready. All the others are heaps of fun and very protective. I would like to have been brought up in that environment.
I was a shy leo kid and I am still a little bit shy at times. There is a shy element to many leos. Its more of a sussing out thing than a hesitancy though.
My DP is a capricorn and he's pretty quiet as well, so we're not exactly the life of the party when we're out together!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 11:13 AM
Jane- How cute!!!! What a sight that must be!!!!! You should upload a video of that for all of us!:D
Littlepickle- What a good idea!!! Hey i know- we could all go to the parents kids and baby expo together!!!!! That would be fun!!!! Then out to the city for coffee after!!! Yeah a whole bunch of big preggi women pushing everyone out of the way can you imagine it!!!!:rolleyes:
Shed- You sure know alot about astrologi (i spelt it wrong i know)
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 11:25 AM
Shed and Uniquey,
Ok so i need to VENT!!! This morning i was in the "To find out or not to find out" thread that we had been chatting in a bit- and well parisakamali who must have started it said this- and I quote:
"with a risk of offending people, I would like to take this tread back where it started, sorry girls had to cut the chat, I really want to know what people are thinkig about the find or not finding out thing."
I just think that is SOOOOOO rude:mad: . I AM offended!!!!!! I dont know why she had to be a b#$ch......:eek: Ok you all probably think Im being silly but my god if someone came in here and was talking about something other than the set topic do you think any of us would care???? Ummmm NOOOOO!!!
Wow this has really gotten under my skin
She has been rude in other threads before though.... hmmmm some people
Im glad none of you are like that lol
Oh and parisakamali if your reading this im sorry but im really annoyed!!!!
redbaby
09-02-2006, 12:20 PM
Adele Darl,....don't let it bother you,.! Some people just take things a little too seriously,..it's all mean't to be fun! have a giggle,.and continue your chat!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 12:34 PM
Hey Jane,
Im OK now- she just really pi#@ed me off ya no.....
I can laugh now.. We really should stay there and have a chat lol you wanna join me??? Imagine how annoyed shed b??? I really shouldnt do it but its sooooooo tempting!:cool:
littlepickle
09-02-2006, 12:50 PM
I guess some people arent in it for the chatting so much, they just ant information, which is fair enough - I love to chat tho, anything and everything!! Honestly, I really could talk underwater with a mouthful of marbles, I never stop!!! Hehehe, Seriously tho, dont let it worry you too much Adele, the problem with chatting online is that sometimes people can be sort of taken the wrong way when they post something, they may not have meant to offend anyone, maybe it came accross all wrong in the post iykwim. I have posted things before and thought oh gawd, that looks baad, and then have to write another thread saying what I mean - I get myself in all sorts of knots sometimes :-)
Anyway - let the chatting continue I say!!!:D
I was going to say the same thing. Sometimes things come out different when they're written down.
Now, where were we?
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 01:20 PM
lol allll is A OK now!!
I wanna pack my hospital bag.....lol i dunno why :rolleyes: im crazy. Not ready for the birth or anything just as a practice run!!!! Im soooo dying to get some stuff done.
I cant do anything in the nursery until we know what were having i suppose i just wanna do some stuff for bub.
I have drs appoint tomoro- so ill get to hear bubs heart beat hehe:D
littlepickle
09-02-2006, 02:02 PM
Heheh, Adele, yu are as bad as me - woud you believe tha I have bubs hospital bag already packed!! Well almost! And as for my hospital bag, I dont have t packed as such but I do have a few bits and pieces like oiletries, breast pads, maternity pads and a dressing gown (which was a freebie from Egg Maternity) I like writing myself lists - I am the queen of lists - I have a list of everything I need!! Bubhub has some good lists too - heheh. Whats the bet that I wil still not be organised properly in August though!!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 02:26 PM
Lol we are as bad as eah other- its true. I dont have any toiletries for bub yet. Actually thinking about it now- i could buy some stuuf each fortnight when we go shopping!! Yeah i wish id though of that earlier! Tim is working heaps more now likelonger hrs etc...so the money situation is going to improve 100% we will actaully be able to start enjoying ourselves agin.
When we moved into this stupid house(i hate it at the moment casue there is NO organisation) we went through $7000 in like 1-2months just with moving etc....
Did you know that when you have a bub NEXT year you get $5000 from centerlink.... this year you get $4000 apparently it goes up by$1000 each year!! Its no bloody wonder people have kids just for the money- which by the way i think is disgusting!! Whe we moved into our house- you will never believe this I still cant, there were 7 kids in a 3 b/r house!!!! Then there was the 2 parents and baby # 8 YES thats right 8 was due 3 weeks after we moved in!!!!! (House next door is housing commision) They have moved out I really dont know how or why you would want to have that many kids- but hey to each their own!
clucky
09-02-2006, 02:30 PM
a good idea of saving money (well sort of) is buy disposible nappies whilst you are preg. Coles have Huggies on special a box of 108 newborn( could be less) for only $29 saving $10 that will have them outta the way
Geez you guys, you make me feel completely unorganised.
I haven't even moved in with the baby's FATHER yet!!!
LOL
Let alone packing hospital bags etcetera etcetera.
We were going to look at houses this weekend but we've decided to go to the beach instead :D
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 02:45 PM
Shed you slacko lol:)
Trust me im not that organised- if you saw our house you would understand!!!! like i have said before i have boxes litteraly pilled to the seeling and DP went in there the other day looking for something- and well you can imagine what has happened cant you.
The nicely stacked boxes are now upside down with the contents strewn(i love the work strewn) accross the room in no form of organised manner!!!!! I cant even get into the room now!! It made me soooo mad :mad: cause im the one who has to clean it all up and try and make sense of it!!!!!
I think i worked out why I got annoyed about what parisakimali said this morning- its DP and my aniversary and i sent him a text to tell him i love him and happy aniversay and that were getting the pram i wanted etc.... and he replyed and i quote "Thats good about the pram. I love you too. Can you wash my squash clothes please?" Lovely!!!! Yep Im now sure thats why what happened this morning got under my skin- its ok though Males lol hes normally sooo good with all that stuff ohhh well i suppose were all allowed to slip up now and then :)
Ohhhh god how bi#@chy do i sound lol SORRY ALL
littlepickle
09-02-2006, 05:11 PM
I have been buying baby toiletries and nappies etc each time we do our grocery shopping, I kind of figured that by the time bubs arrives we will have loads of stuff. The only thing is I dont know how many newborn nappies to get as I dont know how long babies stay in newborn nappies, also on my booklet from the Mater Mothers it says that I should take 2 x packs of newborn napies, but it doesnt say what sized packs to buy??? I have a box of 100 and 2 x boxes of 30 something nappies, anyone know how many I would need to take as they are available in packs of 30 something and packs of 50 something and packs of 100!!! Would you listen o me! Obsessing over nappies and I am only 15 1/2 weeks pg lol!!! imagine what I am going to be like at 30 weeks!!
DH is really sweet, he keeps buying things online for bub, and when they arrive there is a little note attached that reads "love daddy xxx" isnt that cute!! He has bought quite a few little outfits as well (of his own accord I might add) he loves shopping and NO he is not Gay!!! Hehehe:D
Uniquey
09-02-2006, 07:27 PM
Adele, you vent honey, threads have a habit of going off on a tangent, like we've done. We're women, we love to start a chat and end up talking about love, life and the universe! I can FULLY understand why you're mad, but just know that you have Shed, Jane, Littlepickle, me and so many others that care about you and what you have to say.
Vent anytime, that's what we're here for, BUT make sure you do it in the 'right' thread!!!!!:p hahhahhha!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 07:57 PM
Littlepickle- Ummmmm well newborn babies use around 12-15 anppies a day so i would go with 2x30 packs for the hospital. As for the other im not too sure hmmmmmm let me do some research and ill get back to u- I am the QUEEN of internet searches!!!! I can find anything lol.
Uniquey- Your funny:p very amusing. Lol Thanks for understanding though- i just couldnt understand why she had to be sooo rude- realy there was noooo need for it. But atleast there is a group of us who can talk about nothing and enjoy doing it!!!!!:)
Well I think my "all day sickness" has made a come back!!!! Ive beeen sick all day and have only eaten 1 english muffin!!!
I wanted subway- so DP went and got it for me and wellll i nearly vomited as soon as i looked at it. I eventually took a bite and well that was it straight to the bucket lol nothing happened mind u now DP has gone to squash and im stuck herre by myself again!! Oh well my choice- i didnt think i could handle going then as soon as he drove out the drive way i was like hey i feel better and i want that subway!!!!
Ohhhhh im sooo sick of being pregnant- i just want this baby out!!!!! Unfortunatly i know that if it happened it wouldnt be good- very very bad infact so i guesss ill have to cope- is anyone else feeling like they just want it to be over already???
Uniquey
09-02-2006, 08:32 PM
Adele, Isn't weird how yuo can go through a period of time, not sick, then whammo! I had a day like yours today, the other day.
I was actually thinking of you the other day, I was at Brookside and Stafford City and saw a few pregnant women and wondered if they were you! We will all most definately have to get together at soem stage, it would be nice to put faces to names. Let's win the lotto so we can shout our Southern gals up here too:D
Uniquey
09-02-2006, 08:45 PM
Surprise, surprise I went shopping today at Myers and they have baby clothes on sale for 30% off. Anyway, i ended up buying the most intriguing outifts. The brand name is 'Inno Sense' and they are Aloe Vera enhanced fabric. The tag says,
' The fabric used to create this innosential garment contains special capsules of aloe vera which are released upon contact with the skin. This revolutionary technique developed by Woolmark and guarantted by IFF enables baby to enjoy magical time release protection, soothing, healing, repairing and moisturising of their skin.'
Also says it's good for general rashes, insect bites, chicken pox blisters, some allergic reactions, dryness, nappy rash, eczema and itching'.
The clothes are gorgeous and feel normal, they are 100% cotton nice and soft. I wish they made them for adults! Isn't that a spin, I've enever heard of aloe vera enhanced clothing. We definately live in the right era for technology and medical advances etc:D
*Country Bumpkin*
09-02-2006, 08:55 PM
Hi uniquey,
Lol you would know me if you saw me- just look for the biggest preggi woman uve ever seen lol
im ok now- i ate half the 12" sub i got- i relised why it tasted foul- it had pickles on it!!!!! It didnt taste right and then i relised
DP Is at squash soooooo ummmmm yeah im bored!!!
Wow where do people come up with this stuff????? i think i might have to go invest some money in myer tomoro lol seeing as its on sale and all..... yeah thats a good excuse- ill just keep telling myself that lol
Uniquey
09-02-2006, 09:10 PM
Know what you mean about being bored. My DH has been away in Sydney with work for the last 2 weeks and when I'm not at work, Bubhub has been my company! LOL
I have just read back on some of the newer threads, and CAN'T BELIEVE how many of us, bar you, are LEOS having little LEOS! My birthday is the 9th August. They're are 3 Leos in my family, my sister, my Dad and I. My sister and I are extroverts, but my Dad isn't. I used to be with an Aquarian male, and according to all my Astrology books, Leos and Aquarians are a good match (romantically -wise) so I guess that rules out you and your Dad, LOL! Leos are a 'Fire' sign and Aquarians are 'Air' which is why they say they're a good match generally.
Leos must all get frisky at the same time huh, hence all the Leo to be babies!:D
littlepickle
10-02-2006, 12:05 AM
Hey Monique, I love your posts! You always make me laugh - in a good way of course!! Well I guess all leo minds think alike!! And yes, it does appear that we all got "frisky" at the same time hehehe, must have been something to do with the sun in uranus - heheh, sorry couldnt help myself! I have no idea when it comes to astrology. Astronomy I am good with but astrology - I just know the starsigns of family and friends etc!
Thanks for the tip on the Myer sale, I might have to pop in tomorrow evening after work :-)
Adele, sorry to hear you are bored darl, I am in the same posi, dh went to the Jube in the Valley after work for a "few" drinks .... hmmmm just rang to say he will be home shortly, stayed till the cleaners kicked them out I think! Aaaw well, I got to watch some pf my pride and predjudice DVD again which cant be a bad thng...mmmmmm mr darcy drooool ......... ahem right um move along , nothing to see here ......:o
redbaby
10-02-2006, 07:28 AM
Hi Guys!!!
Woah,...last night was busy in 'Brissy'!!?!?!?!? Ha! I have read all the posts, but have such severe preggy brain, that I can't remember what was in any of them,...... Scarlett was up from Midnight last night till 4:00 this morning!!!! Arrgghhhh,..and today, I feel like I have a terrible hangover without the drink! Oh,..and I have vom-vomed 9 times!!!!! Arrrggghhhhh! Yucko! And today is just set to get worse...we have a carpenter fixing Scarletts floorboards,..so have had to move all her stuff out of her room - Do you know how heavy Boori furniture is!:!?!!?!!!!! And then have painters in next week....so I have to move out with Squidg for a week!!! So very tired just thinking about it!
LP - Re: Nappies,.... Mike and I went mental buying boxes every time we went shopping, and Scarlett grew out of the newborns in like 2 weeks,....so I was giving friends gifts of boxes of nappies when their kids were born!!!! Oh,...same goes for 0000 and 000 clothes,.... I know it is hard,..but just wait!!!!!! Re: Birthing bag,....I never took anything out of the bag,.my labour was that short,...I did however have a bunch of squeezee Ribena packs and some lucozade which were brilliant!!!! I didn;t have to take nappies to the hospy,....they provided them there,..but I think when Squidg was young, she went through about 8 or 9 per day?! Cant really remember,....
Anyway,..must fly,......carpenter coming in 10minutes and no one is dressed!!!!! Have a lovely day everyone!
A good friend of mine who has a baby said not to buy anything in 0000 because everybody buys you so much stuff the baby can't wear all of it.
I only want to buy the outfit to come home from the hospital in, and the rest I don't mind if its given to me or handed down or whatever.
I haven't bought anything. I feel like it would jinx it. Am I being weird?
I want to know what it is first as well.
redbaby
10-02-2006, 10:59 AM
Hey Shed,.. that is so true,.... I hope in some way this bubs is a girl, cause then we won't have to buy any clothes! Ever!!!!!
"Aw, never mind Ruby. Surely someday you'll get something that's not a hand me down"
mwaha ha ha ha ha
littlepickle
10-02-2006, 12:37 PM
Yay!! I got my first little kick!! Well it was really more like a couple of little popping feelings kinda, wierd, but it was definitely not something have experienced before, I was like WOW!! A KICK!!! Yaaaay!! I am so excited!! Is it normal to feel something at just over 15 weeks though? I was resting a cup of tea on my tum at the time, I guess bub didnt like that!
I am also all booked in for my ante natal classes at the Mater Mothers! I am not doint the weekly sessions though, I decided to go with the one weekend workshop which runs from 12.30 till 6pm or something on the Saturday and Sunday. Should be good - I noticed when I put it in my diary that I will be 32 weeks then!! Wow! Apparenly I also have another class to attend in mid march (another weekend workshop) this one is called "your changing body" and is run by a physiotherapist, so I dont really know what that will involve, probably ecercises or something :-)
Hasnt time stared to go really quickly! I remember when I was waiting to hit the magic 12 week mark time just dragged on, but since the 12 week mark, time has just flown! I have my next on appointment on Tuesday and I will be 16 weeks!! I sooooo hope obby will be able to tell me if I have a bub or a bubette!! if not then I only have 3 weks to go until the 3D scan soooooo.... eeeeeeeeeee!! Exciting!!!!
I will be 15 weeks on tuesday so I am only one week behind you LP. I thought I was two? this is getting more and more confusing.
The ultrasound lady said my placenta is at the front so I won't feel kicks for aaaages.
littlepickle
10-02-2006, 01:09 PM
Hi Shed,
I am just over 15 weeks now and will be 16 weeks on Tuesday 14th. I found out I was exactly 13 weeks on my NT scan which is when they gave me the new EDD of 1st August. WOw, I cant believe on Tuesday, it will be three weeks since my NT scan!
littlepickle
10-02-2006, 01:13 PM
I just noticed that your due date is 2 weeks behind me ...its all very confusing, hmmm.. right, I have my NT results in front of me, 24th February I was exactly 13 weeks with an EDD of 01/08/06 .. I recounted the dates but I am still 16 weeks on the 14th February .. how wierd
*Country Bumpkin*
10-02-2006, 01:33 PM
Hey Littlepickle!!!
Wow how cool you can feel ur bub ohhhhhhhhh :p
I have felt some small movements its called "quickening" this early it kinda feelks like cubbles and popping!!!!
Um ok with the dates thing remember that everyone has a different cycle length for example my menstral cycle went for 23days most peoples goes for 28 days but everyone is differnet
so ok i went to i site and calculated my last period so it was 15/011/05 and my cycle goes for 13 days = EDD 17/08/06 which makes me 13 weeks now!! Sorry if TMI!!!!:)
Well anyway I just came from the dr- i heard the little heart beat again!!!! Its soo fast! I got realy worried though- my dr couldnt fnid it for ages and he had a funny look on hi face then i was like whats wrong and he goes ohhh bubs just tucked away thats all- but he still couldnt find the heart beat:confused: it took him ages but eventualy there it was- i was so relieved!!!
*Country Bumpkin*
10-02-2006, 01:33 PM
Hey Littlepickle!!!
Wow how cool you can feel ur bub ohhhhhhhhh :p
I have felt some small movements its called "quickening" this early it kinda feelks like cubbles and popping!!!!
Um ok with the dates thing remember that everyone has a different cycle length for example my menstral cycle went for 23days most peoples goes for 28 days but everyone is differnet
so ok i went to i site and calculated my last period so it was 15/011/05 and my cycle goes for 23 days = EDD 17/08/06 which makes me 13 weeks now!! Sorry if TMI!!!!:)
Well anyway I just came from the dr- i heard the little heart beat again!!!! Its soo fast! I got realy worried though- my dr couldnt fnid it for ages and he had a funny look on hi face then i was like whats wrong and he goes ohhh bubs just tucked away thats all- but he still couldnt find the heart beat:confused: it took him ages but eventualy there it was- i was so relieved!!!
That might be the reason then, because mine is 29 day cycle.
Or...I dunno.
At my NT she changed the amount of weeks but she didn't change the EDD. I asked her if it changed and she said no.
So...I dunno.
I don't mind because if they think its the 15th then I can go over without them pestering me with their induction gel and scalpel etc.
"They" is the obstetricians and hospital types...aka The Enemy. I can't help thinking that way!
redbaby
10-02-2006, 02:31 PM
yay LP!! That is vvv exciting! I feel it most at night when I am just about to go to sleep,.......... It is the best thing!
Glad about the HB Adele,.... must have been a scary coupld of moments,....... cheeky little bubba ,.hiding!
littlepickle
10-02-2006, 03:33 PM
I have a very boring and average cycle of 26/27 days, and I always O between day 10 and day 13. I knw that I o'd on day 10 the month I concieved, hence the fact I was 4 days further along than the dr originally thought... all very averge and boring there i'm afraid..
I was a bit disapointed that my EDD was adjusted from 4th Aug to 1st August as like you said Shed, thats less time that i have to go ast my edd before they chase me aound with the gel and syntocin or whatever eeek!!!
expectingtwins
10-02-2006, 04:55 PM
LP - I can't believe you felt your first kick!! How exciting. I thought I felt something last night but not really sure. I'm only just over 13 weeks but not sure if the kicking starts earlier with twins because there's less room in there :) I could also be imagining it because I'm looking forward to it so much.
I'm booked into the a/n classes at mmh too. Which weekend are you going - I'm on 3 and 4 June but I guess you'll probably be before then because you're a couple of weeks ahead of me.
Steph
Uniquey
10-02-2006, 05:01 PM
Littlepickle, glad I make you laugh, you can never do enough of that can you:D
WOWEE, feeling the baby must be so awesome, I guess then that it makes it 'all real' as opposed to just seeing an image on the U/S screen. Not that I have a clue, but I have been told that anywhere from 15 weeks onwards you maybe able to feel flutters etc, so you definately would have. You seem to be paving the way, doing all the 'firsts' to let us others know what it's like!
Myers, hmmm, I went to Indooroopilly Myer's today and picked up some gear, but I think that will do for now, ho hum.
Adele, you are so lucky getting to hear the heartbeat at the Docs, I asked mine and she gave me the weirdest look and said, 'it's way too early for that, you have to be at least 16 weeks to hear a heartbeat'. I wanted to say, 'well Adele has!!!!!! hahha
Jane, Sorry to hear you've been sick, I guess the baby is reminding you that they're there! I don't envy you with the house move, we are still looking to buy, but the last one we looked at had the title, 'think outside the square', so I knew it would be dodgy:eek: Mind you, the price wasn't dodgy, they certainly wern't selling a bargain!
I have been meaning to tell you soemthing funny, my DH's nickname at work is 'Squidgy', goodness knows how it came to be, as his name is Scott.
We've got a nice liitle storm brewing outside, finally, but hopefully with some rain to wash away all the dust and germs.
littlepickle
11-02-2006, 06:43 PM
Well I finally got around to putting the Boori Sleigh cot on Lay-By in DJ's. Originally I was going to et it from Babies galore, but there was a 3 month wait on the order with them so I decided to go to DJ's instead where it will be ready for me to pick up as soon as I have finished paying it off Yay!! I know that 3 months wouldnt be a problem as I have more time than that, but I kind of thought 8 weeks would be better as I want to be able to start sorting out the nursery when I am about 6 -7 months, just impatient I guess. I also paid off the layby I had with all of the cot bedding, 3 sheet sets, towels, bunny rugs etc... so I am getting there. I have the bugaboo now as well so pretty happy about that. Now thats most of the major stuff out of the way, is anyone else getting a change table? I was looking at the prices for the boori change able and it is over $350 for the trolley type and $699 for the change table with drawers underneath. I just dont know if it is worth it as most people that I know eiher change their babies on a bed or on a change mat on the floor. What to you guys think? I have built in wardrobes with drawers etc built in so I dont think I need any extra storage .. I would prefer to spen that money on something else for bub...
Soooo, thats my shopping done for a while, I am yet to get a highchair as I figured there was no rush for that....
Uniquey
12-02-2006, 01:03 AM
This is freaky Littlepickle, Dh and I went to the Valley Homebase today to Bubs Baby Shop, so we could price the Boori cots there, as we're getting a Paddington Boori Cot. We went over to the change tables, and then thought, do we really need a separate change table. Anyway, we decided it would make more sense to buy a chest of drawers and put a change mat on top. We then spent the afternoon looking at suitable chest of drawers! Great minds think alike huh!
We are actually buying our Boori gear from the 'Pram Warehouse' in Sumner Park. It sells eveything for babies, but much cheaper as it's a warehouse. We've picked out a Poly Mattress, as it's a bigger size, is hypoallergenic, washable etc. I haven't got the linen yet, as I know with Boori cots you need 1310x750 size sheets ect. It's all very exciting isn't it. I also picked up a 'mother's checklist' which is very handy, so slowly but surely we're getting there!
redbaby
12-02-2006, 06:44 AM
GET THE CHANGE TABLE!!!! I think it was one of the best things I got,...I couldn't imagine having to take Scarlett into our room, or changing her on the floor all the time,..your back would die!!!! and they start to wriggle and squirm very early on,....makes doing anything on the floor very difficult,..and you would have to take your wipes, cream, nappy bags etc everywhere with you!!! GET THE TABLE!!!
The other things I couldn't live without are,......
1) Tommee Tippee Nappy Wrapper,... a contraption that wraps nappies into 'smell free' sausages,..so that you only have to empty once every couple of days,...brilliant!
2) Comfy feeding chair in Scarletts room,.. make sure it is deep and comfy,...you will spend heaps of time there!
3) Heavy dark blinds on her windows,.... without them day sleep is hard,...
4) Sleeping bags for when they are a little older,.... totally brilliant!
5) Oioi nappy bag,.. very stylish and holds HEAPS of stuff!!! Mine is orange and pink peacock feather design,..I love it!!!
6) DUMMIES! I never thought my baby would have a dummy,..but she is a comfort sucker, and when she was tiny, it was the only way to get her to settle herself,. the Tommee Tippee ones are the best!
As I think of more stuff, I'll write it down,.. hopefully it helps!!!!!
littlepickle
12-02-2006, 10:43 AM
Thanks jane, maybe I should rethink the whole change atble idea - do you have the trolley type or the change table with the drawers underneath? I guess the one with the drawers underneath would be a little more usefull for when bub is older and doesnt need the change mat any more, I guess it would also be good for putting the baby bath on top of as well??
Monique, I havent looked much at baby furniture in the valley - which shop do you go to? Is it in the homemaker centre? I will possibly look around for the other pieces of furniture as DJ's isnt exactly the cheapest place to buy from! I think its funny that we were both having a change table dilemma at the same time!!
Thanks for the list of stuff you couldnt live without too - I am still to get a nappy bag, I am waiting until march for the tommee tippee nappy wrapper as there ia a new model of it coming out then. I will have to look at getting a comfy feeding chair though, I saw a nice chair in Freedom called the "bob" it also has a foot rest and reclines, and better still it will match our lounge so later on we can move it back downstairs. As for the blinds, do I need to get blackout blinds? Do you know where I can look for these?
I also have quite a few dummies, I keep gettign trial packs with dunnies in, I have loads of avent and a few tommee tippee newborns as well, I thought I might wait to see which ones bub prefers before stock up on any more of them though.
I have decided that I am going to stay indoors in the airconditioning today - it is soooo sticky today after the rain last night! I tried to wake DH up early this morning so that we could go out for brekky but he was too tired, so he has agreed to take me to Seagrass in West End for fish and chips - they have the best fish and chips in Brissy!! I reckon anyway.. oooh, I hope it is ok to eat fish!!!
amandaw
12-02-2006, 12:21 PM
I agree with you Shed - reading this post makes me feel so unorganised! Other than the some really good quality hand me downs from my aunty (that my mum has been passing on for three years - do you think that's any kind of hint!) and a few maternity pieces for me, we have nothing yet. Mind you in some ways that is good, because we get to see evryone elses discussion about what's good and what's not! I sort of figure that it will be fun to do at some stage..but still feel like I could jinx the whole thing...in saying that though, I 've definitely been doing some looking and price comparison - great to get the hint about the Pram Warehouse at Sumner Park! (sorry...forgotten who that was from, but thanks anyway)
I can also sympathise Adele...I was just telling one of my best mates last night that I already feel sick of being pregnant and I'm only 13 1/2 weeks! I really can't complain about anything considering that there has been so little nausea/pains/groans etc, and bump yet (well other than a food bump at night!) ... I think it's just because being a dance teacher, I'm so used to taking my body granted, and now there are just some days that it just won't do what I want it to because I'm so tired! I'm sure that as soon as I start 'feeling' pregnant (ie bumb, and maybe intensive shopping) that I may start really enjoying it.
redbaby
12-02-2006, 02:46 PM
Hiya LP,.... I just got the change table without the drawers,...... As for putting the baby bath on top,..sorry,..but what a pain,.. those baths are heavy and cumbersome once full of water,..I wouldn't want to move it anywhere,..especially in the bedroom!!! Hahaha! Get an IXLtastic light/fan installed in your bathroom,...just to keep the room warm in winter,....they are great!!!!
littlepickle
12-02-2006, 06:01 PM
Jane, good point, didnt think of that, I dont think I would want to be carrying a bath full of ater to the bedroom each day either!! Luckily we have 2 of those cieling heaters or "light' things in the bathroom tha get pretty hot pretty fast, so the bathroom should be nice and toasty! I had a look at the change tables today, there is a kingparrot one n eactly the same colour and style as the boori and it is quite a lot cheaper, I might go for that... or I may just bite the bullet and stick to the Boori! We went for the sleigh cot in english oak stain, compred to all of the other cots, it seemed so much more solid and sturdy! looks nice too :-) Thats the range you have too isnt it? I know we have had this conversation somewhere before :)
12-02-2006, 06:09 PM
I only just saw this thread, mind if I butt in?
I'm due in July but I'm a Brissie Mum-to-be :D
I love the name Adele too, one of my faves on the list. :)
Just wondering - is anyone doing Pregnastics at the Royal Women's? I start on March 1 doing the Wednesday Night sessions, I'd love to have someone "I know" be there too LOL
Uniquey
12-02-2006, 06:32 PM
Littlepickle, in answer to your question, the name of the store is ''Brisbane Bubs' and is in Homemaker City North, Whickam Street, the Valley. They have a website, www.bubs.com.au
The pram warehouse is at 64 Jijaws Street, Sumner Park, www.pramwarehouse.com.au it's in the industrial estate
Jane, I LOVE the Oioi nappy bags,but my Dh doesn't. We were standing in the baby shop arguing over the Oioi bags and the Kapoochi, his choice. He likes the Milan Kapoochi. I don't know, these snag husbands!
redbaby
13-02-2006, 05:43 AM
Hi there LP,.... yeah,..we have the boori sleigh in English oak,...it is very lovely!!!! Oh,...and I found out last week that Holy Sheet do great cot sheet sets,.. just plain white,....lovely,.and only about $30 for the flat, fitted and pillowcase (squidg has a pillow)! I like my Boori stuff, (we also have the 'princess' wardrobe,..but it is a bit expensive,..... if you can get a cheaper one to match, then go for it! I just like the boori cause they are really sturdy,....... Oh,.and there is a company called Branberry that does the most divine pram rugs,.. what colour is your Bugaboo???
Hey Monique! Who is going to do most of the nappybag carrying?!?!?!? I would just go and buy it and say it was on sale!!!! Cheeky,..!
Hey,..is anyone doing anything exciting for Valentines Day??? I have bought Mike tickets to James Brown for Friday night,...so we are going to take Squidg to my parents house for the night,.then go out for dinner and take in the show,.. can't wait!! Then the new turf arrives for our garden on Saturday morning!!! So no more muddy dogs feet through my house!!! Hurrah,..... and then the painters start,.and we are on the home straight! Woo Hoo!!!! It's funny,..my obbie noted the other day that every 2 years, Mike and I have a new baby, and also buy anohter house,..at the same time! I am always 6-7 mnths preg when we move,... well this is the last time!!! Too stressful!!!!!!
littlepickle
13-02-2006, 09:06 AM
OOoh Nappy Bags - I dont know which one to go for! I think the oioi ones are nice too :-)
Jane, thanks for your tip on the sheet sets, I wil have to have a look! My bugaboo has a dark grey base and we have two sets of covers, one in black and one in red. We couldnt agree on the colour so got them both, I am sure we will get to use both sets of covers though (well thats my excuse)
Hi Seekrit! Sorry I dont know much about the pregnanstics class but I am enrolled for the yoga baby active birth classes which I am really looking forward to :-) They hold the classes at Toowong, West End and I cant remember the other places but there are more :-)
Monique, I cant believe that I didnt know there was a baby shop in the homemaker centre! I have been working in the valley lately on Ann Street, and I found a few cute little shops, but they dont sell baby furniture. There is one called little kisses on James street, they have some nice maternity clothes including Ripe, Yim and Earl Jeans, also there is a little shop at the Emporium that sell some reallly cute baby clothes.. I will have to check out Brisbane Bubs though :-)
Rach
Well, we've pretty much decided that I will be moving into DP's place.
I am a bit halfhearted about it, I don't really like his house, but its much easier I suppose. I wanted to get a place that's new for both of us. That might still happen.
We have decided to wait to get anything until after 20 weeks, or after I move in. Otherwise its just lugging stuff around, and then we will go on a big spree when we know what we're looking for.
I was looking at those Boori cots. I am undecided at this stage. Do they need special sheets etc?
littlepickle
13-02-2006, 09:54 AM
Hi Shed,
I think that the sheets need to be 1310 X 750 or something like that for the Boori cots as they are bigger than a normal cot, I think it is because you can use them as a childs bed when they grow out of the cot. There are a few brands that make larger sheets. I know that living textiles does, also Jane mentioned a company that sells tham at a very good price.
I have put the larger furniture items on layby partly so I can pay bit by bit which isnt soo scary - boori furniture is not cheap!! But also by putting it on layby, It wont be delivered for a while. You could do that, and then in a few months when you have moved, you can get it delivered to your new place?
redbaby
13-02-2006, 10:14 AM
Hiya,.. the living textiles ones are the ones I was talking about from Holy Sheet,.. they also do really lovely sleeping bags - waffle weave for summer and quilted for winter,..and nappy stackers to match,.... not expensive either,..about $40 for a sleeping bag which is great compared to some which are over $100,.!
Hmmm,....Oioi did a lovely red/grey peacock feather bag that would be perfect with your bugaboo LP!!!
littlepickle
13-02-2006, 10:28 AM
Thanks Jane, I will go and have a look! Is it the messenger type bag?
*Country Bumpkin*
13-02-2006, 12:01 PM
WOAHHHHHH everyone!!!!!! I go away for 2 days and yove all got ur bub furniture!!!! My god LP when you move you do it in a big way!!!! Lol:p
Now all of you have got me wanting the Boori cot etc.....:( but im not allowed, cause i already have my buby furniture.......... Its ok though cause its reallly cute....:D Im going to go and check out Holy Sheet cause that is one of the things i dont have-sheets!!! Think ill be needing them....lol
Welll its official- I am now (in the eyes of the law) an Adult .....18 at last!!!!! NOW I can do everything LEGALLY!!!!! He he I can walk into a pub and not go ohhhh god im gunna get caught out- the only prob is that I dont go toi pubs now!!!!!! I was supposed to be jumping out if a plane yesterday- well that didnt happen. I ended up in tears instead!!!!!
Our "friend" paints and she painted me something for my b/day then she tried to make me choose if i wanted it or not!!!!!! I had to pick between that and something else because she is soooo insicure that she cant decide herself- I told her noooo im not going to choose (it just felt wrong ya no) then she gets my mum on the phone and tries to make her do it!!!!!
mUm ended up frustrated and yelling at me I got upset and was asking her why she was getting mad at me, then my grandmother (who has a heart condition- just diagnosed) threw her hands up in the air and said im going out- well you can imagine what happened- I got up (DP had been sitting there rubbing my arm cause he knew i was about to blow up) and I stormed out of the room swaring then the tears started well i couldnt get past myt mum and nan fast enough (pushed nan out of the way NOT INTENTIONAL:confused: i still feel really bad) went into the bed room and stayed there!!!!!!
Mum eventually came in and tried to explain- nan went downstais and fumed for a bit and DP went and had a smoke to try and work out what happened!!!!
So all in all the day turned out ok- the friend came over and actually managed to pick the picture that she did for me that she said i wouldnt like!!!!! All that for nothing!!!! She always causes family probs!
Anyway how was everyone elses weekend????
Gawd.
I can't actually even remember being 18. I remember turning 19 but 18 is a complete mystery to me now.
I had a good weekend, went up to Terrigal and saw the in-laws. They are all very excited about bubby because there's 12 years since the last baby so this is the first baby in their family for a while.
I felt a bit of afternoon sickness yesterday, mainly due to not eating enough during the day. And today I have an excruciatingly sore back.
littlepickle
13-02-2006, 12:38 PM
Hi Adele!!
Sounds like you had a very eventfull birthday!! You poor thing :-) Well dont worry, I am sure you will be able to go skydiving for your 19th birthday?? Actually, I think I had more of a big bash for my 21st rather than my 18th. I had been going into clubs for quite a while when I turned 18 and didnt want to draw attention to the fact that I had just turned 18 iykwim :-) Anyway, my 21st was brilliant, what I can remember of it anyway!! I couldnt wait to turn 18, then I couldnt wait to turn 21, now I try to forget that I have a birthday!!!! Hehehe
I have found that there are also quite a few sheets (new ones) on ebay. I quite like the treasure theme from living textiles, but I just dont know what sort of theme to go for for the nursery .. having said that, I guess I am going to have to wait till I find out what flavour this bub is, as that will probably answer the question for me!
Sorry to hear you were not feeling so good shed, hope the back gets better soon. I havent had much in the way of a bad back yet, but I read on another thread that a warm bath can help - or better still, a massage from DH or both!!!:p
I just want to et some energy back, I am sooooo tired all of the time, I get little bursts of energy, then I am floored again...and by lunchtime I need a ranny nap! (I wish) I told my boss that I am going to work from home for a few days as there is no real reason for me to be in the office at the moment as I can do most of my work here, and its soooo much more comfortable!!
gasp...I tell you one thing...gasp,
This is the LAST day I will be wearing...gasp...this...gasp...
shirt!!
Gaw-blimey. I can't breathe.
Its not my belly, its these bl**dy boobs. They must have grown some more.
Get me out of this thing.
*Country Bumpkin*
13-02-2006, 03:34 PM
Shed- STOP rubbing it in!!!!!! My boobs havnt grown at all:confused: I want them to!!!!!! I would love to have huge boobs lol!!!! Atleast then they would mach the rest of me lol
Argghhhhh there is nothing on TV- Ohhhh well Hi 5 it is i guess!!!
LP- Yeah i dont think ill want to go skydiving for my b/day now- ill have a 6month old bub and i think the risk of something going wrong is too high- so i think ill keep my feet firmly on the ground lol. Im looking foward to my 21st now- bub will be soo grown up by then i will be able to get a baby sitter and go out and get blotto!!!! :D I didnt miss out on anything i had a big family and friends get together on saturday and we all gorged ourselves on seafood!!!! It was great ummmmmmm. Ive been clubbing and drinking since i was 15 sooo i didnt miss anything- i look alot older than waht i am I meet DP at the local pub- i had to show him my licence cause he wouldnt believ me that i was only 17!!!!!!
Arghhhh im sooo sick of this back ache!!! Im going to get a massage ive decided! A full body an hour and a half yep thats what im going to do ahhhhhh bliss
littlepickle
13-02-2006, 03:35 PM
Hi Shed
I kow what you mean about the shirts! I ha a lovely collection of fitted Cue shirts but not one of them fits over my boobs anymore!! No Fair!! I now have a few shirts from Egg maternity that I wear, but i miss my other shirts!
The biggest prob I have is with findig a bra that I am comforable with. I have a few sports type bras from DJ's which are comfortable but dont giv me the same "shape" as my underwire bras, so I went out and bought some larger underwire bras! I know that some people say you shouldnt wear underwire when you are pg, but I was also told that as long as they are correctly fitted and dont pinch I should be able to wear them for quite a while yet - and considerig I wore underwire when I was a B cup, I am certainly going to wear them now that am a D cup