View Full Version : Nappy Suggestions??

Pantalaimon
27-06-2007, 10:14
My Mum has asked me to find some of "those fancy new fan tangled nappys" that my son wears so that she can buy some more for his birthday. As you would all remember from my washing experience I have no idea on any of the whole nappy thing :confused: Can someone suggest which brand would be the best to buy for home use.

Know what I do know so far is that she uses all in ones and that my son weighs about 9 or 10kg.... So fill me in on what brands are best bang for your buck :D

And cross my fingers she doesn't find out as its meant to be a suprise for her too

FunkyMonkey
27-06-2007, 10:27
I find GKs (green kids) to be great, and they fit most babies up to potty training. They just require an inset in them and your away. My DS is 9.5kg and still has heaps of room left. I also find cute tooshies great but they need a cover, so maybe not so easy to use right away. I haven't tried any AIO except my own pattern, and they take a while to dry. Good luck with your search!

Jaime

QTB
27-06-2007, 10:37
Yep Green kids are good - my bub is 11kg!

BabyBeehinds Bamboo are great for night use...

Peapods are a good cheap nappy, but definatly not the best.

I also like Haute nappys....

SassyMummy
27-06-2007, 11:21
I like Swaddlebees, but I save them for going out. They're very very trim. So is an itti bitti.

PeaPods are fairly trim too, and cheap. They don't look too nice, but I find they work well.

I use Baby Behinds Bamboo (BBB) overnight with a booster and a fleece cover. A lot of people use wool covers (but I'm too lazy to lanolise).

I also like my HoneyBoy nappy, but they can sometimes be hard to find.

My Happy Heiny is fairly good too...

becstar
27-06-2007, 12:01
Bumgenius pocket is my workhorse nappy. absorbant and trim

But my favourite nappy atm is the bubbelbubs....in minky, but fleece is good too and easier to get.

enjoy your shopping

Bec

Laksa
27-06-2007, 13:15
if you are only looking for AIOs, i like the bumgenius a lot. we have only tried the small size but the large says for 10-13.5kg so your bub would be just about in them.
another AIO i like (but havent tried in large sizes) is the monkeydoodlez micro.
here's the sizing for them:
Medium 6.4-12.7kg, Rise 41cm
Medium Long Rise 9-15.9kg, Rise 46cm
Large 11.3-17.3kg, Rise 49cm
NOTE: Don't size up!!!!

if you want to try pockets, i also like the bumgenius ones, haute and greenkids. these are pretty much one-size-fits-all

hope that helps.
and great pressie idea by the way!! :D

Pantalaimon
27-06-2007, 16:06
what is the difference between a all in one and a pocket nappy? My wife and son are both allergic to lanolin it burns the skin off them Can you use pocket nappies without lanolising?

27-06-2007, 16:13
what is the difference between a all in one and a pocket nappy? My wife and son are both allergic to lanolin it burns the skin off them Can you use pocket nappies without lanolising?

You lanolise wool - no nappies are made from wool only some nappy covers.

An AIO means it does not need a cover or stuffing etc it is all in one - nothing else needed.

A pocket nappy most of the time has a waterproof outer (you can get fitted pockets which are not waterproof but majority are). A pocket nappy has a 'pocket' where you insert the absorbant material.

27-06-2007, 16:15
Yep !

Pocket nappies are similar to an AIO its just that being they have a pocket you can use what inserts you prefer & need to last. Makes them quicker to dry etc.

GK's are probably one of the best pockets going. :thumbsup:

shed
27-06-2007, 16:18
If she uses an AIO then I wouldn't buy a pocket nappy. She would use them if she liked them.

I would go for a Honeyboy.

You would need a 'medium' sized one

mumofKieran
28-06-2007, 16:08
LOVE my Haute pockets and bumGenius pockets. Once stuffed, a pocket is the same as an AIO but more absorbant and dries faster etc. However, some ppl just don't like pockets.

Pantalaimon
28-06-2007, 16:17
Just when I think I'm getting somewhere I am confused again.

How different are pocket nappies to all in ones?

How and with what do you stuff them?

And do they need a plastic bit on the outside?

I've been trying to find out why she uses all in ones without her knowing why I'm snooping and basically I think she uses them because they are easy and less involved to use.:detective:

HoopDeeDoo
28-06-2007, 16:20
Berry Plush are very nice, they are an All in Two, they bascally are the nappy cover which the insert snaps onto to become a total nappy.

A pocket nappy has a pocket at the back where you put the absorbent part.

If you go to the wee wuns site they have detailed pictures of most of thier nappies so you can see how they work

mumofKieran
28-06-2007, 20:35
Just when I think I'm getting somewhere I am confused again.

How different are pocket nappies to all in ones?

How and with what do you stuff them?

And do they need a plastic bit on the outside?

I've been trying to find out why she uses all in ones without her knowing why I'm snooping and basically I think she uses them because they are easy and less involved to use.:detective:

An all in one has the absorbancy sewn into the lining, has a waterproof outer, and is basically as its name suggests as in you don't need to do anything to it, it's ready to use and can't be separated into its separate components (except for Berry Plush and itti bitti which are both technically all in ones also but the lining snaps in instead of being sewn in as such). Pocket nappies, on the other hand, are made of the same materials as all in ones BUT the major difference is that the absorbancy is slotted/stuffed into the nappy between the inner lining (usually microfleece) and the outer waterproof layer. So once stuffed, they are a complete nappy ie you don't need a cover as they are made of the same materials as the all in ones but are designed so that the absorbancy can be pulled out to wash for faster drying, and so that you can stuff EXTRA absorbancy on top of the one that comes with the nappy (not all pockets come with an insert but many do eg bumGenius). I find pockets to be more absorbant, and the extra hassle of stuffing the aborbancy in after each wash is way overcome by their increased absorbancy and versatility of being able to stuff extra in ie 2 inserts for double absorbancy. For example, if you buy a bumGenius pocket, it will come with its own micofibre insert that you use with the nappy but you can also buy extra inserts so you can use 2 at once. Sorry about the lengthy reply!!:o

shed
28-06-2007, 20:53
AIO's are like a disposable, they just get put on and they do the job, no cover, no stuffing, just put it on and away you go.

Pockets get stuffed with hemp or microfibre and this is what the wee soaks into. The stuffing comes out for washing and drying and gets put back in through a slit at the back. So you have the nappy and you have the stuffing, two separate things. Pockets don't usually need covers either because there is waterproof stuff on the outside part of them (its called PUL).

Snap-in inserts go in the inside of the nappy and do the same job as the stuff that goes in the pocket of a pocket nappy (just not in a pocket), so these aren't really AIO's because you don't just chuck them on, you have to snap in the absorbent stuff.

the nappies that need covers are "fitteds" so don't worry about that for now.

You need to find out the brand name of her favourite one. Or the WAHM name. Then we can help you track some down.

If you don't want to ask her then maybe you could post a pic. We love guessing, lol