View Full Version : To keep or to toss???
21-01-2006, 21:01
Dh & I are going to Movie world for our 5th wedding anniversary YAY!! And my In laws are taking the kiddies for the day!! YAY!!
So I'll need to express throughout the day, of course!! I 'm wondering if I keep the milk in an esky (in a locker) will it be ok to take home & freeze, or should I just toss it out? It seems such a shame to throw away... breast milk is like GOLD!!! :o
rynosmum
21-01-2006, 21:06
Hi Becky,
EBM is so volatile, I'd be tempted to ditch it. But I know what you mean - it IS like gold !
I used to keep mine in the fridge for up to 48 hours but even once then, the fridge mustn't have been cold enough and it curdled. I didn't realise and tried to feed it to bubs - he freaked out and then I realised why. Yucky....:eek:
21-01-2006, 21:08
Hmmmm..... What if I put HEAPS of Ice bricks in there??? Dh reckons toss it...:o The thought makes me sad though!!:(
rynosmum
21-01-2006, 21:10
What about some ice cubes and a bit of water as well to chill it. May make it even colder. Then it should be okay !
21-01-2006, 21:12
Good thinking!! That should keep it cool enough eh... hmm:rolleyes:
im following you around eveywhere tonight huh!! haha
anyways, i just wanted to say that i know how you feel!
it is sooooo hard to throw away that liquad gold... all that hard work!!
im no expert, but i would take along plenty of cold stuff and keep it.. maybe worth looking into more, but it would be so hard to throw away..
have fun at movie world!!
Hi BR
My LC told me that EBM would be fine in a cooler bag with an ice brick all day, then you can freeze it. This is how I kept the milk I expressed while I was working - never a risk of leaving the milk in the fridge at work and no-one using it in their coffee either (I have heard of it happening :D ).
So it should be fine, but take a few icebricks, as you'll be out in the heat, rather than in an office.
She also told me of a study they did in Africe where they left EBM on a counter in 40+ degC heat and then compared it with a refrigerated sample taken at the same time. The EBM sitting at room temp had not "gone off" at all, whatever it was in there that fights infection was still doing its job. Isn't BM amazing! :D
23-01-2006, 13:37
Thanks xkwizit!! My mind is at ease!! I'll leave the esky in a locker while i "play"!! :D But I'll put HEAPS of ice bricks in there!!
I hope Movie World dont mind me taking an esky in....:confused: Should ask about that I guess eh!! :rolleyes:
Hi BR
Well, you'll be able to show them the esky is empty when you arrive and tell them why you've got it. I can't imagine they'd discriminate against a BF woman. They should not even think of depriving your baby of the opportunity to drink that milk :D . To tip it down the sink is soo wasteful (and disheartening too).
Cheers (and enjoy yourself)
23-01-2006, 20:20
Yeah I figured that when they see there is no "food" in there they should be fine with it!