View Full Version : Cost of using Cloth...

LucyE
21-01-2006, 18:48
There was a question asked recently about the cost of using cloth nappies. I didn't have time to reply at the time and now can't remember where I read it, so here is a summary I did a while ago.

The cost in $ terms varies so much depending on what sort of nappies you use, age of baby, how you wash etc that it's hard to give a definite answer. Here's just a basic guide:

Assuming:
12 nappy changes per day for the first 3 months
8 nappy changes per day for the following 6 months
6 nappy changes per day for 22mths until 2.5yrs

Using Huggies:
Huggies newborn @ 38cents each for 4 weeks
Huggies infant @ 46 cents each for 2 months
Huggies crawler @ 45 cents each for 5 months
Huggies toddler @ 58cents each for 22 months
(these are bulk pricing from Coles Online)
Total of $3109.12

The cloth nappy stash is where it gets difficult for me - so much choice :) These prices are only approximate and they will last until toddlerhood.

On the cheap:
24 Canningvale flat terries @ $40 each
4 small covers @ $20 each
4 medium covers @ 20 each
4 large covers @ $20 each
1m microfleece for liners $8
Total of $328

Or fulltime BabyBeehind's fitteds package (one size fits all)
consisting of 25 Hemp Honeys and 30 fleece liners
Total of $857.20

Or fulltime Tots Bots
15 size 1's @ $22 each
15 size 2's @ $23 each
1 meter microfleece (from Lincraft/Spotlight) $8
Total of $923

This is the pretty fancy stash I would get if I had to buy one now:
12 size 1 Bamboozle Tots Bots @ 26.50 each
6 small/medium Erica Hemp Blends @ 25.00 each
6 medium side snap Sandra's Stuffables @ approx 20.00 each
6 medium Green Nappies @ 22.00 each
6 medium HoneyBoy AIO @ 27.95
6 large Sandra's Stuffables @ approx 20.00
3 large HoneyBoy AIO @ 27.95
4 SwaddleBees 29.95
4 SwaddleBees hemp insert @ 7.00 each
4 SwaddleBees microfibre insert @ 5.50 each
18 Mother of Eden microfibre inserts @ 6.00 each
8 WeeWuns hemp inserts @ 7.70 each
1 meter fleece for liners 8.00
4 MotherEase covers 79.95
2 Tots Bots PUL size 0 @ 18.00 each
2 Tots Bots PUL size 1 @ 18.00 each
1 Tots Bots PUL size 2 @ 19.00 each
Total of $1137.90

There are heaps of other modern cloth nappy combos, I've just used these as an example. I think my 'break even' point compared to using disposables was around 14months. I justified it to DH by saying that we'll be able to nappy our next child for free ;) LOL

You then have to factor in the costs of wipes and washing. As an example using 1 wipe per change you will need 6048 wipes. Huggies Unscented 160pk costs $11.43 (from Coles Online) so that would be $432.05 spent on disposable wipes. I have noticed that disposable wipes users atually need more than 1 wipe per dirty change because they are so small and flimsy so the actual cost would be higher. I have 12 thin face washers at $1 each, so $12 for cloth wipes and will be reusing them as often as I need.

An example of washing costs: Biozet powder @ $12.88/pack which will do approx 100 washes (using 1/2 recommended dose) = $0.13/wash (I use OMO by the way but couldn't find a price online). For my frontloader, it costs approx $35 in electricity to wash 1 full load on warm everyday of the week, 52 weeks per year = $0.096 per wash. It uses 47L of water per full load but we don't go over our 'allowance' so don't get charged an excess. So, assuming 7 loads are washed, washing costs = $1.58/wk, plus extra for water and vinegar if you use it. Total washing costs for 12 months = $82.26. In reality for me, I do a load every second day (sometimes longer if the weather is wet or I don't feel like it) so washing costs would be lower again.

Hope that helps.

Edited to add that for the 'deluxe cloth stash' I would include some wool covers too and always allow room for some special one off nappies :) So that will bump up the total a bit.

H&B'sMum
21-01-2006, 19:23
Thanks Lucy. I have a similar cost factor sheet.

That's always good for people new to cloth to really look at the total cost overall of cloth vs sposies.

21-01-2006, 22:25
Wooohooooo !
Cant wait to receive mine now :D :D
Will be getting my partner to read this so he can see i wasnt lying about it all hehe.
He seems to think it will be much of a muchness but boy is he wrong ! :p
Thanks Lucy :)

jarrahsmumma
06-02-2006, 17:18
Great post :)

i remember reading somewhere the cost for disposables would be $3000 from birth to toilet training (approx 3 yrs) and $1000 for cloth (including washing etc). And then when you factor in subsequent children it comes to around ($200) for washing and powder. Think of saving $3000...and people think cloth nappy mums are crazy!

natalie

the_queen
06-02-2006, 17:21
And if you get good clothies, they'll last for the next baby!!

(won't they??:confused: I have been converted to cloth for this new baby, and the "we can use them again for baby number 3" argument is what convinced my DH to agree with me.... I hope I'm right!!)

jarrahsmumma
06-02-2006, 17:28
sure can!

they just get better with age, (more absorbent)

I am using terry flats that have been through two older children that are now 8 and 5 (Jarrahs cousins)

I think dry pailing would probably help with keeping them 'alive'

cosmic
06-02-2006, 17:33
Queenie, yes you can. I think the only thing you need to be concerned about is the elastic going but if you do as Lucy suggests and buy the appropriate size per age; e.g., Size 1 for little ones, Size 2 as they grow, rather than getting the Size 2 to fit them from birth, they will obviously last longer. Makes sense really.. but worth thinking about since many people try to economise now but getting a larger size to fold over and fit a small bum (great if you only plan to use it on one kid) but have to remember you are then getting twice as much wear from that nappy and it might not go the distance for bub #2. :rolleyes:

jarrahsmumma
07-02-2006, 16:55
There are quite a few fitted nappies that do a birth to toddler size like BabyBeehinds Hemp 5-15kgs and the Fuzzi Bunz Pockets petite which go from 8-16kgs

and i'm sure theres heaps more, just cant think ATM

LucyE
07-02-2006, 21:30
If you want to nappy more than one child with the one nappy 'stash', I would definitely invest in sized nappies from the start and have a decent rotation. I haven't experienced it first hand yet (DS is only 22mths and we're only thinking about trying ttc #2) but from what I have heard, Tots Bots (the originals) will last approx the nappying life of 1.5 children (that's using size 2's from the start and not washing or drying in hot). Most of the Aussie WAHM nappies haven't been around long enough to have a good guide how they compare lifespan wise but you can assume that the good ones will be comparable to Tots.

Therefore, I would (and have) got more nappies in the smaller sizes (than what is normally recommended to save money) because I knew I would want to reuse them later on so, each nappy hasn't had too much wear yet. My medium sized ones have probably had the most use so far because DS has been in this size for about a year but they are still looking good and I expect them to last for a while yet.

Edited to add, that the reason why fitted nappies don't last as long as terry flats is because the elastic in them deteriorates over time. Hot washes, using bicarb of soda, certain 'hanging' styles will all make it wear faster. In some of the nappies, it wouldn't be too difficult to replace (or so I'm told) but it won't look as good as new.

timdri
18-01-2009, 23:36
Hi, it's great to meet all of you, this really is a great resource and a friendly community! :thumbsup:

I'm 38 weeks pregnant with our first baby. We've got most of our purchases done so far, except the pram and we're thinking the Love n Care Europa.

That leaves the nappy question. This thread is great (thanks so much LucyE:yelclap:), we see the logic of cloth nappies like the Green Kids etc but the idea of shelling out $1000 upfront whilst apparently sensible is a big commitment.

Has anyone started off trying the cloth nappies then decided it was too hard/messy etc?

Also, will they last for our 2nd and even third around 2 years apart?

What easily available around australia brands have you got opinions on?

Should we really just go purchase everything on LucyE's dream list and never have to worry about it again? Would love your thoughts.

Timdri.

peanutbutter&jelly
19-01-2009, 09:12
Yes, some people do start using cloth and then stop because its all too much - but that would be using terry flats. And because really, it is a pain in the a$$ if you use flats (IMO, and I do lol).
But I personally don't think you can get much easier than modern cloth - even disposies you have to go out and buy, throw away, buy nappy sacks or liners for the nappy bin. PITA.
In your situation I would get online now, go to the bbay beehinds site and get their new mother deluxe trial pack, the itti bitti site and get their trial pack in a small, and get the green kids one too. Then I'd get some bamboo prefolds from Booroi (google is your friend) and some small or newborn covers.

Thanks for the info Lucy! I think that if I were allowed to spend as much as I wanted on cloth then my financially responsible decision to use cloth would be useless :laughing:

Nex
19-01-2009, 09:27
Don't forget if you make your cloth nappies you can do it for much cheaper again.

I made 30 PUL/bamboo pockets for under $400!

kezzaskids
25-01-2009, 17:47
I use ittis, greenkids, bumgenius, and magicalls by babybeehinds.... from newborn

jimmysmummy
25-01-2009, 19:58
Wow, what a gread thread! Thanks for starting it, LucyE. Hopefully it might convince a few ladies to make the switch!

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
15-02-2009, 19:49
That leaves the nappy question. This thread is great (thanks so much LucyE:yelclap:), we see the logic of cloth nappies like the Green Kids etc but the idea of shelling out $1000 upfront whilst apparently sensible is a big commitment.

Has anyone started off trying the cloth nappies then decided it was too hard/messy etc?

I wonder the same thing? I tried using flats with DS1 and he just wet right through them constantly, was hopeless! Also agree would really love to use MCNs this time so have been looking into it a bit.
What would you need for the first few months? How many nappies should I have?
Also since I'll be going back to work when bub is about 6 months old, if he/she is in daycare or family daycare (haven't decided yet) 1-2 days a week are they usually pretty accepting of the cloth or do they like you to send disposables?

kezzaskids
15-02-2009, 20:48
Family daycare shouldnt be a problem with cloth ( im a FDC mum and use cloth myself) and as for long daycare it is up to individual directors.......
I have heaps of MCN of about 3 main brands and have no way spent $1000 and have enough to wash every 3-4 days not that i do. I used sposies for the first few weeks until DD's chicken legs chubbed up and then still used sposies at night for a few more weeks as DD was doing a poo at every feed and I couldnt be stuffed with cloth at 3am etc or at least so I thought! Then I realised the cloth was just as easy at night to and now DD is cloth F/T.

Also I am the laziest person in the world and thought I would give up the cloth with all the washing etc but now 4 months down the track and it is so easy and I m surprised but I really love cloth!!

I started buying mine when I was pregnant with DD and ended up buying 6 packs as they are cheaper when you buy in bulk or trial packs.

LovelyWeeOnes
17-02-2009, 20:39
Well done for all of this calculation!
I've used the same Tots Bots nappies for 2 children and they could easily do a 3rd child... they've been great... washed well and still no stains. I have dry pailed them.

Some of the nappies (size 1) I bought second hand to see if I could manage using cloth and I would reccommend this if someone is worried about the initial outlay to buy them all. Just give them a good hot wash to ensure that they are clean again.

Twins Kelly
12-02-2010, 18:00
Hi Guys!
I realise this post is over a year old now, however, i thought it'd be great to find out from the mums who posted what they ended up using and what was most practical. we are having twins, and while I always wanted to go cloth, now I'm not sure about the double amount I will need and the extra washing. I still want to try cloth...but these 2 babies will prob be our only 2, so no point keeping the nappies for next babies!
Let me know how you went and if you ended up changing to disposable,
Thanks,
Kelly

OJandMe
12-02-2010, 18:12
Hi Kelly :wave:

I have 4 boys (atm) and my first 2 are twins. I used cloth.

If you're only having the 2 I seriously reccomend getting a stash of One Size Fits All nappies. You can use them on both babies, right through from birth to toilet training. Then if you have more, well and good, if you don't, you've still saved about $5000 in nappies.

As it is I've gradually added a few sized nappies to my stash, and a few extra OSFA... and they've lasted me for almost 3.5yrs in full use on 1, 2 or 3 bums at a time... and they'll be used for #5 too.

You'll be right.

Personally I'd use disposables until they are big enough to fit the OSFA's.. then I'd use those.

You'll need about 32 day time nappies, and 8 night time nappies to wash every 2nd day, and have some left over.

Hope that helps. :D

Oh... in terms of nappies. I love my bum genius nappies ( I found they were the first ones to fit the twins) and I love my Green Kids, and Haute Pockets. I prefer pocket nappies to anything else because of drying time.

I'm about to order some Issy Bears, and they have really good feedback... so I'll let you know :thumbsup:

1st for Jess
13-07-2010, 15:17
I'm not sure how to subscribe without replying but wanted to keep this price comparison handy.

Have also read a couple of posts where people have said they haven't paid over $25 for their mcn's. Interested to know if this was by buying second hand or waiting for sales.

TripleTime
13-07-2010, 15:26
Kelly - I have my 3 in cloth, i honestly dont find it any harder than sposies. Its an extra load of washing every 2 days & than half hour to sit & line/snap/stuff each nappy. You dont need to line them, i do to keep DF on the cloth band wagon & its easier with DD1 shonky insides.

I really wish id done it earlier instead of at 12 months.

Boobycino
13-07-2010, 15:29
Kelly - I have my 3 in cloth, i honestly dont find it any harder than sposies. Its an extra load of washing every 2 days & than half hour to sit & line/snap/stuff each nappy. You dont need to line them, i do to keep DF on the cloth band wagon & its easier with DD1 shonky insides.

I really wish id done it earlier instead of at 12 months.

thats awesome.

i go off and on nappies, weve been cloth bumming since 8 weeks, but sometimes i allow myself a nappy holiday where i buy a packet of sposies and use it till theyre finished.

but generally thats when im behind on all my washing, not just nappies.