peterpan
21-01-2006, 12:48
Hello I'm Angela and I guess I"m feeling old today
I am a first time mum at the age of 35.Is there many mum's
here over thirty?:)
willsmum
21-01-2006, 14:44
Hi Angela,
There are quite a few of us. William was born 9 days before I hit 35 and Charli was born 5 weeks before I turned 38.
As you can see I will be 40 this year. My DH will be 48.
So don't be depressed, think of all the years of experience and life-knowledge you bring to your role as mum.
Vick
peterpan
21-01-2006, 14:46
Hi Willsmum,
You have just made my day.
Thank you:)
Funkychicken
21-01-2006, 14:47
Hi Angela,
Yes there are many of us "over thirties". Although I had my firstborn at 28, I have just had no.3 at 35.5.
watermelon
21-01-2006, 15:18
Another 30+ mum here!:)
DD was born last year and I was 34 at the time. I'm also the first among all my girlfriends to have a baby so we all seem to be late bloomers. I think we all thought we'd have career success first, but that didn't happen either!
My husband has debating with some of his friends whether its easier or harder to have your first child in your 30s. He says harder because you've gotten used to doing what you want to when you want to (ie. a bit selfish and set in your ways) even though financially it may be easier to have kids later.
I'm still on the fence - as much I love DD, I'm still finding it a bit of a struggle adjusting from my pre-baby life. But then, I think if I'm finding it hard now would I have found it much, much harder if I was younger and less emotionally mature? Also, I'm used to having a decent income, which has now vanished. Would it have been better to have started earlier and not have gotten so used to having money to spend.
Don't get me wrong we love our life, wouldn't change it for the world These are just some philosophical questions we have been mulling over!
What do you all think?
Samantha
Mum to Sophie (20/7/05)
I gave birth just before my 34th birthday. There is no way I could have done this job in my 20's. I was having far too much of a selfish time. Now all I want to do is devote my life to the baby.. and I have no regrets about leaving a life I 'didn't get time to live'.
This is just right *for me* (so please don't any 20somethings misinterpret and yell at me)
Peaceangels
21-01-2006, 20:31
Yup, I'm an older mum too! (35), but it wasn't by choice mind you!
We took almost 6yrs to fall pg with DS1 whom I had when I was 32, then DS2 was born two days after I turned 34.
Cause it wasn't by choice we looked at the positive side, we were more financially stable, our relationship became stronger and closer through the ttc emotional rollercoaster and we were able to do alot of travelling and partying prior to having kids, so now we just want to spend all our time with them.
So there are a few of us "older" mums around! :D
rynosmum
21-01-2006, 20:34
Yep, I'm another one ! 32 when bubs was born. 34 now and no idea of when we will TTC the next one.....tick tock......:o
I am ancient:D - 34 when I had DD1, turned 36 two days before I had DD2, and am now 37 and trying to convince DH to TTC#3 (although days like today when I am tired I do wonder whether I really want another few years of little sleep!)
I don't think too much about my age - just get on with it all. I am a big believer in everything happening for a reason - I was busy partying in my 20's and didn't start seeing DH until I was 29, so I was never going to be a young mum....but most of the time I don't feel "old" either!
Nickster
21-01-2006, 20:50
I am another one lining up for a walking frame.
I had my DD at 34, and just turned 36 (yesterday - yay for me!). DH is 45, and has 2 boys (late teens now) with his first wife. He is finding the sleep deprivation more difficult this time 'round, but is enjoying this child (and a real partnership - say no more!) much, much more.
I didn't have a choice in the matter - I didn't even meet my DH until I was 29, and sometimes wonder if I would've had more energy if I had my daughter in my 20's. But we'll never know.
What I do know is that -
a) I am with absolutely the right person for me to have children with
b) I did plenty of partying in my 20's, so don't feel like I'm missing out on anything
c) I am qualified for a job/career I can return to fulltime at anytime if I wish - I only want to work one day a week at the moment.
OOPS, I've raved enough, I think!!!
My motorised scooter is on the back porch waiting to whiz me off to bingo!
Eloise was born a week before my 35th birthday. I'm almost 37 now (holy crap! :eek: ) so my clock is ticking too.
Welcome aboard Angela!
30+ for me too!
I had DS at 30, so I will be at least 32+ for #2 and dare I say #3!
I think that I was far too selfish in my 20s to be the kind of mother I want to be. No offence to young mums intended! I think it is up to the individual.
I met DH when I was 19 and we were at uni together. We spent our 20s studying, then working/travelling and lived overseas for nearly 5 years. We had a great time partying and making the most of being responsibilty free and care free. I did not want children and could not have imagined having a child in my 20s - looking back I was so naive about the world, but, that is just me.
I was 31 when my DD was born last year. I feel more secure in myself, my 12 year relationship with DH and we have more financial stability now, but also more debt too (mortgage). I have no regrets as during my 20s I did lots of things I wanted to do and I'm not interested in clubbing/partying in that same way anymore. I enjoy and want to be spending time with my little family!!
I think mums in their thirties are not 'old', they can be happier and more fulfilled in their relationships, career, hobbies/interests and still have a lot to offer their children. Z :)
SixtiesChild
22-01-2006, 10:42
Hi Angela,
Definately don't worry about age, You're still a spring chicken compared to me.
This year, i'll be a mum at 40. I'm expecting dd #2 in March. I had my first dd at age 34.
Enjoy the gift of life at every stage, no matter what the age, because every age has it's beauty, if you look for it.
So, regardless of how the world tells us we must perceive our age, if we see it as more than just what appears on the outside, we can rise above all the untruths about age and the aging process.
My mum was 74 this year and her attitute to everyday life makes her seem much more youthful than her years. She is healthy, and mows the lawn with dad's gumboots on (what a sight) and keeps herself very active. I think that keeping the body active is the key to prolonging ones youth. Also, her social life is better than mine and so is her sense of humor. I hope I can be like her one day.
There used to be a saying but I haven't heard it for years because I think it's unfashionable to say it now, but:
"Life begins at 40" and the modern version of this is: "Being 40 is the new 20's"
Really, we are as old as we feel and if we change our beliefs about aging, we can feel better about the natural process of aging.
Goodluck spring chicken!!!:D
I was 31 when I had DD and 33 when I had DS ... I am aiming to have at least 2 more and am now 36!
DH is the spring chicken ... he is only 27, so he can run around after the kids while I supervise from my scooter - lol!
Funkychicken
24-01-2006, 08:17
Just wanted to add-I have found the best way to not be concerned about the aging thingy is to not spend too much time looking in the mirror for lines, wrinkles etc... What I don't know can't hurt me!
Oh yeah-and don't keep scales in the house.
When do we get our bus passes?
I had DD when I was 34 (just!). I swore I was never going to be an older parent, (my own parents were older, my dad turns 80 in a few days) but its just the way things turned out for me.
I think that keeping the body active is the key to prolonging ones youth. - Couldnt agree more - my dad has seemed old forever and has been ill for a longtime. In contrast my mum who is 75 is up ladders painting, walks, cares for my dad etc, etc.
I agree with lots of the other comments, I certainly wasnt ready for motherhood in my 20's and besides I hadnt met DH then!
Anyone else got an older DH? My fella is doing all this for the first time at 46. All his siblings kids are now in their 20's. I do sometimes stress about this, I suppose I worry that history may repeat itself and I really dont want my DD to grow up with the worry of a sick parent hanging over her. Also DH is adamant that DD will be the only one:( due to his age (someone pass him the zimmer!) I am feeling a bit down about this as we just had the conversation about it this weekend. He is a fantastic dad but I do sometimes feel guilty that he has got all this responsbility while his siblings are just rediscovering their freedom.
lukaelmo
24-01-2006, 08:29
OOoooo this is wonderful - I feel like a right spring chicken!
I am 31 and my little dude is 6 months old...
I have been stressing about having another baby (or another 3!) for a little while now, thinking that if I want 3 (or 4!) I should get back down to it, but to tell you the truth, my body just doesn't feel ready to carry another little one just now.
Now with all your wonderful stories, I am wondering what the hurry is... you are all doing fantastically well!
Thank you for this thread :D
tee hee, maybe I could even fit in 5!!
ThomasMum
24-01-2006, 11:23
I like and proud to be an older mum! The search has ended. I’ve a good job and degree, satisfied with my career so to speak. We are financially comfortable and I have a very beautiful & forever-in-love relationship with the man I want to spend the rest of my life with, my husband – all good foundations for starting a family! And to make it perfect we had a beautiful happy and healthy boy!
Bliss!
Now all I have to do is paying someone to design a much better looking-walking frame! So we will grow old funkily together He he he he :D
Splendid innit? :D
TM
Foxymoron
24-01-2006, 12:47
I'm 34 and expecting my fourth bub, though I started a bit younger with my ohter children.. Can I still be in the older Mamas club? I'm definately not some hip young thang anymore!
I was 40 when I had EJ so I gather I can join the walking frame brigade here ;) (some times I feel i really need it :eek: LOL)
peterpan
25-01-2006, 17:59
Nice to see so many older Mummy's I feel so much better now.
Thank you to you all:)
DH and I were talking last night and think we sould TTC for #2
now as it took awhile to get DS:)
Thanks once again girls
Fantastic to see that there are mums on this site that are a little older. I've logged in a few times and was always disheartened as everyone seemed to be in their 20's.
I had my DD when I was 37 and she was a very big but beautiful surprise. I love her with all my heart but it has been a struggle giving up my previous life and creating this new one with her. It's all worth it though :)
moonblossom
27-01-2006, 07:33
Yup i recon fit right in here, maybe a little old even for this forum LOL,
peterpan
27-01-2006, 10:37
G'day All (had to write G"day I become an aussie yesterday)
Nice to see there is a few of us on here.
Moonblossom you are a supermum with 7 kids good on you... go girl
Jep88 how old is your DD?
We are going to ttc early this year so i am back on my eating well again and no more soft drinks:( I love sugar but I want to loss the weight )
Are any of you girl's from Brisbane?
moonblossom
27-01-2006, 10:42
CONGRATS on becoming an aussie Peterpan :) I really should do it too, i've lived here 37 years and feel aussie thru and thru, cept for this dasterdly english accent i still havent managed to get rid off LOL.
I may have 7 beautiful, wonderful absolutely fab kids, BUT i'm still such a worry wart over the one i'm carrying, I've never been so edgy and worried as I have before. I so cant wait to feel more secure, hopefully after my 20 weeks ultrasound on Valentines Day :)
lukaelmo
27-01-2006, 15:40
Hey Peter Pan, I am in Brisbane... in New Farm, where are you?
Are you going to the Brisbane get together in Feb?
Congrats for choosing to beome an aussie.. My DD is 10 months old.
I'm stunned by 7 kids - OMG I can't decide on whether to have another or not. I take my hat off to you moonblossom :)
Hi, another early 30's mum.
I had DS when I was 31, he will be 2 at the end of this month.
Leaving it till then was not by choice, I was told I would never have kids.
Hey Miracles do happen. :D
lukaelmo
04-02-2006, 15:37
That is great Loopi1, what a special little person you have :D
Hi Ali,
He certainly is, but aren't they all.
Your little one has the biggest smile, so cute.
Hi there yep another 30 something. I had my son when I was 26 and my daughter six years later at 31. I actually found it easier the second time around, I think I'm a bit more relaxed in my ways and not trying to take on the world. Would love to have more just need to talk hubby around took me five years for baby number two so not holding my breath. :D
CrazyBeautiful
08-02-2006, 22:31
I had my DS in my 30's and my DD in my early 20's. Definately easier being older dealing with children. Though I don't consider myself an 'older parent' my DD does. She's 14 now and in 'hormonal hell'. My DS is definately easier to deal with.
Nice to see so many older mums out there. I had my little man at 41. He is such a joy and I really can't imagine my life without him. I will be 42 this year and hope to have another at the end of this year. Did I leave it too late? Not really, circumstances influenced my late start to motherhood. For one thing, it isn't easy finding a man who wants children. Anyhoo, that's my contribution :)
my babyemmy
17-02-2006, 07:14
hi i had my 4th baby at 34 she is nearly 8 months old now & so with such an age difference from older 3 they are 17,16 & 14. I feel like a1st time mum all over again, (its really funny as so much seems to have changed even since 14 years ago) My last bubba was IVF and im gonna go back and try again in april so if it works i will be even older!
Hi all I had my first daughter at 30, second at 33, then third one month short of 39, I just turned 40 last month:eek: , but I am enjoying this bubs so much now the others are at school, i think I have done very well considering at 25 I was never and I mean NEVER having kids, but now they are the centre of our lives, they bring so much joy:smiliedance: , but I think thats it for me, nice to see lots of other older mums
ButterflyKisses
01-03-2006, 10:17
add me to your "oldie club". I'm a first time mum - had DS when I was 41 & DH was 45. DS is now 2yrs 8mths old and was worth all the worry and pain.
do any of you live in Sydney???
Hello every1:)
Over 30 ? - Yep Me too...36 young!!
But I dont mind it sooo much, because I guess I just dont really think about it all that often other than how young I feel,lol.
Angela & Marthe - I'm with you both, we are also ttc starting april hopefully and #2 will be the last bub for us.
Really looking forward to April without question!
Hopefully catch up in Mums Group soon:-)
Carol
Mya's mummy
11-03-2006, 15:19
Hi to all the over 30's,
Well I turned 37 today, and nothing special yet. Had ac ouple of presents and cards to open this (all my family are in the UK, so can't talk to them until this evening). Hubby at work but home shortly. But the most prescious things is cuddling my DD Mya, who is a wonderful 3 months old.
Great idea to have an over 30's thread.
:bday:
happy birthday mya,s mummy:smiliedance:
Im 33 today and im feeling old too but hey its a sunny day and everyone is healthy so i cant complain, oh i got some chocys and a card nothing better than chocys and coffee yum:thumbsup:
have a great b,day mate!
cheers.
Happy Birthday to the old bags, :laughing:
Another one for bingo here, 36 now and will be 37 when my son is born.
Really in a good place in life now and have absolutely no regrets, done my studying, done my travelling, all the raging and drinking and met the most wonderful man a couple of years ago when I was ready to calm down a bit. Have been wanting to become a mum my whole life but only after doing a lot of other things first.
I haven't really felt old throughout this process, its quite the thang these days don't you know?
peterpan
14-03-2006, 22:06
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL THE MARCH MUMMY"S:bday:
I will be 36 on the 31st and DH is 34 tomorrow:smiliedance:
Hope everyone is well
Denise+1
23-03-2006, 14:12
I'm 37 and 10 weeks pregnant. It wasn't planned, but I'm delighted as I really thought it wasn't going to happen for me. It's daunting, but honestly I do feel more prepared to cope with because I am older but I'm already getting fed up with being ticked into the "elderly" box and have to admit that I'm very nervous until after the nuchal scan scheduled for a fortnight:fingerscrossed: . We haven't told many people yet, including my partner's two daughters (16/12) from a previous relationship.
Hi denise,
sounds like its all happening for you, congrats!!! im 33 and had my first at 17 my second at 22 and my third at 33 so im thinking ill go 4 one in my 40,s how cool is that!!!! no we are planning to have another bub in a couple of years. I agree there is alot of young mums on the forum but hey where all in the same boat and bub hub can really help! I have a sister that has had her three kids in the last 5 years and she is 40 it took her a while to get used to being at home, as she had worked in admin all that time but now she loves it, so do i, i did not have to go back to work this time!!!! but i am doing partime study.
catch ya soon cheers....jo
TTannyaa
25-03-2006, 09:09
Yayyyyy!!!!!!! It's really nice to have an over 30's thread :smiliedance: I had my first beautiful DD at 29 and number 2 beautiful DD at 31, I just wanted to say hi to everyone. Chloe would like to say hi too.............chloe dog cat :smiliedance: 1234567890 :ecomcity: :yelclap: I'm so proud of my clever girl. Bye for now.
moonblossom
25-03-2006, 09:21
Good morning everyone, did we manage to get out of bed without the bones creaking LOL. Too funny. Your posts really give me a good laugh.
Went op shopping with my 21 year old yesterday and two "real oldeis" asked me how long I have to go, and my daughter (who's 21) answered, "My brothers due early July" LOL their faces were shocked LOL. Its great to see people pick their jaws off the ground and try to resume the conversation LOL
I will be 43 when Alexander is born. My hospital has not put me in high risk ...THANK GOODNESS. The other hospital did for my last three births, so I couldn't birth in the birthing unit, and that really upset me. But this time, no complaints, don't see why i should be high risk and have given me the green light to attend the birthing unit.
I'm looking forward to attending the ante natal classes and seeing the youngies look at me like WHAT THE....LOL. Oh I may be old, but there's still life in the old chook yet LOL
Cheers to all of us "oldies" we rock :)
TTannyaa
27-03-2006, 15:51
Hi all, I just wanted to say Moonblossom, I can't believe that you are almost 43, you look pretty darn good, congratulations on the your upcoming arrival the kids obviously keep you young.
Hello All
Reading this thread really is an inspiration. My hubby and I are TTC #1 at 35 and I have been stressing about my age just recently. I must say I feel a lot better about it all now after reading this thread. I too don't think I was ready in my 20s, too busy travelling and partying. And the travelling has done me the world of good and has made me the person I am today (if that makes sense). Hubby and I didn't meet until we were 30 anyway, and then we had a couple of years with sorting out my husband's residency so we hadn't even thought of settling down until all that was sorted out. Anyway. enough of my :ecomcity: . I'd love to join the thread! Have a great day everyone.
sonlou73
03-04-2006, 14:26
i had my DS1 at 31, DS2 at 32 and who knows when i'll have 3 and 4. i'm happy that i waited until my 30's, i was able to do some travelling and financially i was better off to wait (but then again when are we ever financially ready for children!).
This is the first time I have been pregnant, and I have just turned 33.
Just before we started trying, I had convinced myself that it was going to take me forever to get pregnant, but in fact it happened quickly... so quickly that we are not even married yet!!
I am really happy.. but I know this will be a big lifestyle change since for my whole life it has been all about me. I haven't done a lot of travelling yet except for a few overseas holidays, but for the last 8 years or so I have been working on a career that I love.
It's hard not being able to tell anyone because I have a big mouth, but I'm just going to have to keep quiet for the next 7 weeks!
Most people who know me would know that I am interested in having a kid though, as in the past few months I have been seriously 'interviewing' my friends and colleagues about the whole process. Being a computer geek I call it the analysis phase. Currently I am in the implementation phase!
Anyway, that's me. Look forward to chatting to you soon!
hi pamster!!
congrates mate, bub on the way and what a great chrissie present.
welcome to bubhub enjoy the ride!!!
cheers....jo:)
katesmum
15-04-2006, 19:38
Had DD at 33. She is now 1 year old and am thinking that I need to get this bus back on the road if I want to have a couple more.
There are some things I miss about my pre-baby life:
1. Eating out at great restaurants
2. A more active social life
3. Free time
But really these dont count for much. I would never have believed pre-baby this is how my life would change and I would LOVE IT! My baby doll is the most precious little thing who lights up my world - even at 3am!!
The only thing I haven't fully reconciled is the career thing. I am back working 4 days a week in a pretty demanding job and worry that more children will further hinder my ability/desire to make the commitment I need for my job. Now I know 'family is more important' etc but I have worked tirelessly for the last 12 or so years to get this far and it pains me to give it up!!!!
I am starting to babble so will move on :)
moonblossom
15-04-2006, 19:47
hey everyone...I'll post here cos there isn't any over 40 forum, and if there was I don't think there would be many there LOL
I really did think I would have my last at 36, BUT ummm my body thought otherwise LOL
Nice to say gooday to you all :)
I finally found somewhere I might fit in:D I am 38, been around bubhub a long time.
I have three gorgeous children, a boy 7, a girl 3 nearly 4 and another girl 2. Am thinking of going back to work next year. I love being a mum but miss the money. Will be stopping at 3 am sad about that in one way but I love the ages of my children now.
We might brave a restaurant with the kids soon, think we might start with Sizzler:thumbsup:
Denise+1
19-04-2006, 14:34
Ended up having a CVS after nuchal scan showed 1:10 risk and just got preliminary test results back showing baby is normal, so happy to find that out :yelclap: :smiliedance:
So am now just over 13 weeks and am also not feeling as sick any more, which is also good news.
Hope you're all well,
Denise
I was 35 when I had my first bub last Oct. She is now 6months and I am 36.
My DH has a 17 year old and is finding it a lot easier this time around.
I am loving it. I am glad we waited.