View Full Version : Playgroup
Hi there ....
I'd like to know what a good age is to take bubs to playgroup ?
My DS is only 8 months but cant sit unattended yet and obviously cant crawl either.
Is there a point in going now or wait ?
Please advise ?
Playgroup is great for babies, they love watching and interacting with the other children!! They'll have baby toys there too and music time is lovely for bubs too. I've seen bubs as young as 4 months try to join in with clapping and singing!
Its a great opportunity for you to get to know the other Mums too while your bub is at an age that you can stay near them and chat to other Mums as well, chasing an active toddler makes conversation more tricky!!
If there are a few playgroups in your area, maybe you could try them all out and see which one suits you both best.:)
Good luck:thumbsup:
I started taking my bub when she was 6 months old, she could crawl but the first couple of times she wouldn't leave my side- now there is nothing stopping her. It is great for them to interact with kids of all ages! We love it! Its a social thing for me aswell!! Its definitely worth going.
Pobblebonk
23-06-2007, 09:57
I reckon there's heaps of value for you guys going. The sooner you get your bubba socialised with kids of all ages, the more adjusted they will be.
Why don't you try one of the babies books and rhymes sessions they hold at public libraries. I don't know if they have them everywhere, but they have them where I am...
and they have 2 sessions... under 12 months and over 12 months... so you get to interact with other Mums and bubd around your bubs age...
It was great with the boys!
I have been taken DD for the last two months (since she was 8mths) and she LOVES it... she dances and claps and just watches all the kids..
i am glad i have been taking her, i say give it a go for a couple of weeks, and see if he likes it!
loveshack
23-06-2007, 10:41
Hello
This might help----
http://bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=90469
SassyMummy
23-06-2007, 14:41
It's really a personal thing... it's worth a shot though.
I started going to 2 different playgroups when DD was 8 months. She was crawling at that stage.
It wasn't worth it for us... she wasn't interested in any structured play they had, wasn't interested in any free play, wasn't interested at all TBH.
A lot of the other mothers had older kids at one playgroup... so DD wasn't old enough to get too involved with their activities... and at the other, she was one of hte eldest, and a lot of the mothers would lay their babies on the floor... I found it really restrictive for DD that they did that... meant she wanted to crawl, but I couldn't let her or else she'd likely hurt one of hte babies by crawling over them/pulling their hair (she had a hair-pulling thing back then).
It definately wasn't worth it for US... but it might be worth it for you...
For me, I socialised with DD up until the age of 12mths via a mum's group where all of our babies were of similar age. From around 14mths onwards, when DD could walk then we started in our playgroup, as most of the kids are 2-4yrs old, and only a couple DD's age.
There are playgroups for the younger group less than 1yo and up to 2yo, you just need to search through the playgroup website for ones in your area.
We go to babies, books and rhymes at the local library, which DD loves!!
Also meeting up with other BH mums is great for you to socialise and for your child to meet other kids, my experiences have been positive so far!!
abibelsmum
23-06-2007, 16:27
I take my 2 month old. Playgroup isn't just for the child, it is also for the mother.
I started taking my DD1 when she was 2, she's now in preschool on the day she used to go to playgroup but I still go as I have friends there and it is a good place to talk and discuss parenting issues, have a break etc. Another friend has a baby the same age so when they are a bit older they can play together. Even the 4 month olds interact.
23-06-2007, 18:13
Hayley's been going to playgroup since she was 8 months old and Skye is at playgroup now and shes just under 2 months. I think its good to get out of the house to make friends.
23-06-2007, 21:03
It could really be worth your while :yes:
I started taking Ronan at 6 months and Ariene was 4 weeks old when she came along too (couldn't keep Ronan away from his beloved playgroup another week!).
I see so many postitive things coming about as a result of the kids' time at playgroup.
It's about their emotional development as much as their motor skills/physical development. Getting used to concepts such as sharing/taking turns/sitting down to eat with other kids and of course, learning through different toys/textures ie sand and water play, paint ect. And all the messy stuff that is sometimes a bit too tricky to tackle at home! I don't know about you, but I'm not too keen on Ronan playing about in a pile of shaving cream and food dye on my kitchen floor! Not everyday, anyway :D