View Full Version : August 2006 mums & bubs #10

Mokar
21-06-2007, 19:25
I remember going through the same thing with Scarlett at this age,.. we were up all night,and I was lying in bed sobbing cause I was so goddamn tired

But Elsha has been doing this since she was born pretty much! We have had maybe 3 nights of decent sleep in 10 months. I CANT see the light at the end of the tunnel... perhaps because I am SO delirious?!

She might be sick... but even when she is healthy, she still wakes 10 times a night.

I am not a fan of controlled crying either. 1. I feel horrible. 2. She gets so distraught that she makes herself vomit. 3. I've been told that this approach can cause mental health problems when older (from the CHN).

I had her at the Doc on Friday last week. He checked her ears and said they were fine. He checked her breathing and said it was fine.
I dont like him. He says everything is fine and gives me these answers that just dont seem right to me.

Perhaps a visit to a DIFFERENT Doc tomorrow is in order...

And am definatly considering going to Riverton... as much as it scares the bejeebies out of me.

mum_I'm_hungry
21-06-2007, 19:35
The funny this is, Jessi, everyone I've ever spoken to about it is scared of going in to Riverton, but I've yet to speak to someone who's come out who's said a bad thing about it. Sure, they've said the decor is pretty blah and the nurses are like mini-Stalins, but their problems have always been sorted before they left. I'd definitely go. If you hate it, or feel it's wrong for you, there's nothing at all to stop you picking up Elsha and walking out the door. What you're saying reminds me about a girlfriend of mine who went in with her tot. She'd started to think the sleeping problems they were having were normal and when she finally took a step back, she realised they were completely abnormal and that getting someone who knew nothing about her and her baby to look at the situation afresh might really work. It did, too!

shed
21-06-2007, 20:33
Hi chicks,

Re: the sleep, yeah not much of the ole REM here. He only wakes once or twice or three times or four or something, or maybe more, to be honest its a blur.

I feel like my shoulders are permanently dislocated though because I have to put my arm out of the way to stick the boob in his gob. Then I fall asleep like that. I have to sleep on my least favourite side because that's the only side I can feed on and if I roll over he wakes up and whinges (tyrant!).

I'm pretty knackered most of the time, to be honest. We do have nights where he only wakes once though (rare, but they do exist). I go through phases of getting really sick of the situation and then just sort of accepting it. I waver between those two (depending on how much sleep I have had I suppose!). Especially when I know that other people have babies the same age who have been sleeping through for ages.

Good luck with it Jessi. By the sounds of it your situation is worse than ours. Baden just literally wakes, feeds for a minute then nods off again. He sleeps in our bed so its easy enough, but I am looking forward to the 'sleeping through the night' milestone :yes:

I read somewhere that you need extra vitamin B if you aren't getting a lot of sleep and you are breastfeeding, because apparently the baby takes it first and the sleep deprivation lowers your levels of it, or something. And low levels make you even more lethargic. Something like that anyway.

We went shopping today and got Baden's photo taken (again). She showed me one of the shots and its just gorgeous so I am looking forward to seeing them in two weeks.

He is such a sweet natured baby. I drag him around from pillar to post, we have no routine and no structure and today he hardly had a nap at all and during the photo session he was smiling and laughing. He's just a really nice calm little person. I can't wait to see more of his personality as he gets older.

*munchkin*
22-06-2007, 07:57
SJ - so sorry to hear Scarlett is sick again. I'll wave my magic wand and hope you all have some well days :wizard:

Mokar - You've got some good advice from the second time mums. Maybe just ask yourself - could Riverton be any worse than what you're going through now?? I don't think so. You poor thing - that's really rough, and I would be in a straight-jacket if that were me. 10 times a night does make me think that something else might be happening e.g. Em was doing that when she had a UTI. Maybe going to a different Dr is a good idea just to be sure.

Anyways...hope you get it all sorted soon for your sanity (and poo to Nat if he doesn't like the idea...he's not the one getting up all night).

Well, here we have lots of Thudwahs and Bangwahs going on. Em's exploring the whole house, but gets stuck under chairs cause she's a bit high off the ground! So Bang-waaaah Bang-waaaah. She even tried to get in the shower yesterday when I was in there. Pretty funny - like being attacked by a small fluffy blond animal, banging on the door again and again and again. She even got a little arm and hand in that patted around and around trying to find a way in.

MZmama
22-06-2007, 09:16
Wowee - where do i start, u girls have been busy! so we here go - there have been so many, but i'll do my best..

Alli - LOVE ur new avatar.. best of luck with the video, i'm sure u'll get it in, sounds very funny. oh, and the bit about ivy not sleeping through to well over one has given me hope!

missie - she is loaded in personality, she just never stops...

SJ - i really hope the sniffles leave ur household soon, its stuck around WAAAYYY to long

Jess - what can i say, stick in there hun, and i think u should try everything possible, and do a process of elimation thing.. even things, like maybe she wants noise in her room, a light, she's cold, sick, uncomfortable mattress, i dont know.. its so hard because they cant tell u.. but something needs to be done cos u cant keep doing this, u'll run urself completely into the ground.. will nat take over a few nights so u can have some sleep? :hugs: to you

well we had a big shopping day yesterday, we didnt buy much but it was good to get out for whole day... Mya got a photo shoot with 'gotcha', or something like that, for $7 u get a free photo.. and man - mya is such a show pony.. she hadnt had a nap all day, wouldnt sit in her pram... once she got behind that camera, she was ALL smiles, giggles, dancing and carrying on.. they loved her!

hi to the rest of the mob! :wave:

mumstar
22-06-2007, 09:26
if you don't want to control cry her that is absolutely cool... there are a few things we learnt too we went went to the sleep clinic here in Perth that i think you could apply to a normal no cry sleep approach to...

with aiden every time he was not sleeping we would go in and pick him up and cuddle him... he started to associate getting hugs and cuddles with not going to sleep, so we switched it... no cuddles to get to sleep and no sympathetic words just pop the dummy in and say good night... then when he woke up we would praise and cuddle him and give him lots of loving words so he would associate going to sleep with those things..

we also had to set up a permanent routine... at 9 months old when we took aiden we were told to give them 2 sleeps a day for no longer than 1.5- 2 hours... that way they are not getting there night day routine mixed up...

we established a feed play sleep routine... we stuck to this expect at night time we had a feed play bath sleep routine. this helps them to realise what's happened and getting ready for sleep..

is she still being breastfed? as well as solids... maybe its time to up her solids and just top her up before bed... as the others have said she may be sick or maybe just hungry...

also we had to keep a diary of how many hours sleep, how long feeds were, how long he played for etc so we could have a good look at our day on paper not trying to remember it with a blurry non sleep brain...

you also have top watch her after they feed and play for her tired signs.. jerky movements, rubbing eyes, yawning and get her to bed at that time other wise she will become overtired and then find it hard to get into a deep sleep

we were also told to put them into there own cot to fall asleep so that when they wake up they are not startled by being some where they didn't fall asleep

i know a lot of you don't like the controlled crying but with aiden we were at our wits end and it worked... at 9 months old we were told to let him cry for an hour only going in to lay him down and put the dummy in and let him resettle. after and hour if he wasn't asleep get him up do the feed play sleep routine and try again. it was amazing to watch how at first it went from and hour to 30 mins to 10 mins to no crying.

we did this first time around with aiden and it really helped us... 2nd time around with Noah we already knew what to do and it came naturally and we have never had to control cry him...

i hope this helps you sort out your own routine jessi and that ou get some sleep soon!

I cant remember who was talking about the swing step on the pram but aiden never stayed on it so we opted for the toddler seat instead that way when i had both kids i could wheel them both around without aiden running off and when i only had Noah i used the same pram just didn't put the seat back on... saved me from swapping from a side by side when i had them both to a stroller when i only had one.

Us well we are still all sick here so i think another day at home... i actually got most of the house clean yesterday even though i felt like **** and now all that's left is the kids playroom... i think i will be chucking out all the toys they don't use to good Sammy's... it will save me picking it all up off the floor everyday!

hope you are all well
sorry bout the long post!
xoxoxox

Mokar
22-06-2007, 09:27
will nat take over a few nights so u can have some sleep?

:laughing: Was that a joke? No I know you were serious. But I had to laugh. Nat take over? HELL NO. Ive asked him for help but he wont. Its not 'his job' to look after her at night.

He wonders why I am so flippin' cranky at him all the time? I get no sleep, no help... no breaks. :rolleyes: No matter how many times I tell him I need help, he continues on... not listening... not caring. Bleh.

Anyways, I think it might be time for me to 'go for eggs' (This phrase is used commonly throughout my family... funny story behind it. Will share if I havent already??)...

Anyways... am supposed to be having a couple over for dinner tonight- we met them through Bubhub... I must go clean the house because it is in need of a good vacume and washing to be done!! Shall be a good night!

Ciao

Beany
22-06-2007, 09:38
We've got freezy little hands happening here during the night. The sleeping bag doesn't cover them and the blanket gets thrown off in utter disgust. So he wakes up, cries, wants to be resettled, all the while with freezy little hands on me! Brrrrr!!

Might have to look into mittens.

It wasn't this cold last year, was it? Or was it just pregnancy that made me not feel cold?

Asher doesn't have free reign of the apartment - it's giving me jitters just considering that! He is only allowed to prowl around in the living room. With the bedroom, he needs supervision. Too much mess on top of the bedside drawers. High plans of clearing it all up and giving him free reign in there too. Hasn't happened yet.

The kitchen and bathroom are off limits unless carried in. He can open the kitchen cabinets. All sorts of lovely poisons under the kitchen sink ...

I think I must be the only one that hasn't had professional pictures taken of their baby. Perhaps I'd be more tempted if they had the booths. All they seem to have here is American Express credit card pushers. And the World Vision sponsorship things. Perhaps we should try introducing them to each other ... ?

Mokar
22-06-2007, 09:42
no cuddles to get to sleep and no sympathetic words just pop the dummy in and say good night... then when he woke up we would praise and cuddle him and give him lots of loving words so he would associate going to sleep with those things..

we also had to set up a permanent routine... at 9 months old when we took aiden we were told to give them 2 sleeps a day for no longer than 1.5- 2 hours... that way they are not getting there night day routine mixed up...

we established a feed play sleep routine... we stuck to this expect at night time we had a feed play bath sleep routine. this helps them to realise what's happened and getting ready for sleep..

is she still being breastfed? as well as solids... maybe its time to up her solids and just top her up before bed... as the others have said she may be sick or maybe just hungry...

we were also told to put them into there own cot to fall asleep so that when they wake up they are not startled by being some where they didn't fall asleep

Hey tegs,
Thanks hun...
Elsha doesnt take a dummy... and doesnt suck her thumb... and doesnt take a bottle? LOL SO, sticking something like that in her mouth to help settle her isnt an option.
We have a good routine, I think?
'Wake up, breakfast, play... boob - nap, wake, play... Lunch... play... boob - nap... wake, play... play... play... bath... dinner... boob - Sleep.' (Notice NO time for me in there??)
Her nap times are roughly half an hour to an hour... DEFINATLY doesnt go over an hour.
For her sleeps during the day, I put her down and most of the time she is awake, so she puts herself to sleep. Doesnt cry during the day?? But at nights if I put her down awake she screams bloody murder? Its not like she cant see anything- there are so many street lights around, the house is fairly light.
Umm... what else? She has fairly big meals... and if we try to give her more she vomits... Doesnt make a difference if she keeps the food down- still wakes ALOT!!
We cant bring her back into our room- I cant sleep with her in there-every noise she makes, every move... I hear it. I am a super light sleeper- so ANY sounds- I hear and am awake instantly. Probably doesnt help that it takes me roughly half an hour to get back to sleep after waking- I swear I have insomnia or something!

Anyways... Some GOOD news- I forgot in the last post. Elsha only woke 7 times last night :smiliedance:

Mrs Potts
22-06-2007, 10:04

I had plans for a big post but there's something stinky sitting in front of me. Better deal with that - will be back later! :wave:

MountainGirl
22-06-2007, 10:41
Scarletts vomits are gone:smiliedance: and,.............................................. .(sorry for this one Jess), Jasper slept through from 6pm till 5am,.and then till 7:30!:thumbsup: We turn off the central heating at night, and I think the little blighter may have been cold,.as we put a heater on a timer (5mins on then 15mins off) in his room and he slept,...well,...like a baby!

:wave: everyone..hope you are all having a great day..

Noos - how you feeling? Any bump pics for us yet?

mumstar
22-06-2007, 11:15
jess have you got her a night light and some soothing music maybe? if she sleeps ok during the day maybe it is something about the night... maybe your house and streets are quieter???

mrsbutterflygirl
22-06-2007, 12:06
Hey hey guys!! long time no chat! sorry i havent been able to pop my head in lately... i have been struggling to keep up with my uni assignments... actually have one due today which i wont get done cause my brain is fried!

How is everyones little ones going???

mum_I'm_hungry
22-06-2007, 12:15
:smiliedance: Goooooooooo Jasper. Go, son, go! :smiliedance:

Love to hear about sleeping babies!

Better run. Huge edit job to do on my January release. Disgustingly huge, actually. Have found only one page so far that doesn't have a mark on it and there are over 400 pages. :eek:

mumstar
22-06-2007, 14:03
good luck with the editing alli!!!

MountainGirl
22-06-2007, 14:11
that little recruit of yours is too cute Ali,...any more pics? and where did you get the commando gear from?

mum_I'm_hungry
22-06-2007, 14:43
Thanks! I like to think he's cute, but then I'm kinda biased... he he.

The camo. outfit is just a pair of pjs from Cotton On and the facepaint came in a little pack from a party store for $2.50. We borrowed the video camera from a friend as we don't have one (can take video on our digital camera, but were worried it wouldn't be good enough quality). He was actually really good about it all and we only did a couple of takes. Good thing, too, because it was a bit cold on the tiles.

Yikes! Must go pick said little man up. It's 4pm already...

Have a good weekend, kids! :yes: :wave: :D

shed
22-06-2007, 15:21
we are just off to Brissy. One very sick baby unfortunately. I ummed and ahhed about going but we are going, so that's that.

You know those screaming babies on aeroplanes, well that will be us. I hope not but he is awfully congested.

Went to the doc and got Dimetapp or something and will dose him up on Panadol before boarding then stick the boob in the whole way.

Behave!

:wizard:

mumstar
22-06-2007, 15:45
best of luck with your flight shed! hope you have a good holiday!
xoxoxo

mum_I'm_hungry
22-06-2007, 16:16
Yikes! Heaps of good luck, Shed.

Jessi, meant to say I want to know about the eggs!

Right. Having people over for dinner, so better run. Yummy lemon thyme lamb casserole with mash and gree beans and cherry clafouti for dessert. Mmmm. Planned the whole menu so I could keep the oven on and the house warm! :laughing:

amandaw
22-06-2007, 16:18
So Bang-waaaah Bang-waaaah. She even tried to get in the shower yesterday when I was in there. Pretty funny - like being attacked by a small fluffy blond animal, banging on the door again and again and again. She even got a little arm and hand in that patted around and around trying to find a way in.

Had to :laughing: at this - I make sure that I have a supply of rubber ducks in the shower with me. If Charlotte decides to come in, our shower door opens outwards and we have to toss a rubber duck over the top to try and tempt her away so that we can get out without bowling her over :laughing:

mumstar
22-06-2007, 16:33
Right. Having people over for dinner, so better run. Yummy lemon thyme lamb casserole with mash and gree beans and cherry clafouti for dessert. Mmmm. Planned the whole menu so I could keep the oven on and the house warm! :laughing:

sounds good alli... im to tired and sick to cook so my mummy has made some potato and leek soup for me and the family to have tonight! yours sounds much nicer... care to fly me over some :laughing:

Beany
22-06-2007, 17:22
Have a great flight and a great time Shed! At least it'll be warmer up there .... 15'C here today though the wind drops it into the single digits, I'm sure.

I've had a migraine all week and it's gone to a new level today - I just couldn't cope anymore this afternoon, head throbbing, neck stiff and ouchy and nausea. So Asher chooses this time to discover a new trick: pulling the smartcard out of the foxtel receiver ...

Oh he was so close to being turned into a little puddle!

And he knew what he was doing! He was looking directly at me as he pulled it out each time! He even pulled it out as I yelled and walked over to me with the sodding thing in his mouth once! I didn't know whether to laugh or yell. So I did both. It hurt.

He can be cute though, so he makes up for it. Today he kept running from the aircon unit to me, stopped for a proper hug (arms around neck, head on shoulder .... awwwww :kiss: ) and then runs back to the aircon, turn around, runs back, stops for a hug, runs back.

Very cute! :D

Right, more pills for me. Back later! (after Neighbours and Eastenders)

MountainGirl
22-06-2007, 17:34
Hope you have a great time Shed,.. if you are stuck for 'dose-you-up-stuff' the Amcal infant decongestant is brilliant for bubba colds! Great stuff!!!!

Beany:hugs: get rid of that migrane soon,.. I used to get them all the time,..the ones where the only thing you could do was to be driven to the Dr (with a wet towel plastered over your eyes to block the light) and get a shot of pethadine,....... nasty,nasty things,....

Alli - Love Cotton On,.. Jas has the Skull and Crossbones PJ's,.. I will have to look out for the commando ones,.....

mumstar
22-06-2007, 19:34
So Asher chooses this time to discover a new trick: pulling the smartcard out of the foxtel receiver ...

haha im so used to that aiden takes ours out of foxtel card but he hides it inside the sub woofer box... it is really annoying

MZmama
22-06-2007, 20:37
jess - i was hoping you had one of those super dooper DF's that helps out - i dont have one on my end either!

Alli - what size do those PJ's start? i love them and think they are SOOOOO cute.. but always thought they were bigger..

our plumbing is fixed!! wooohhooooo $150 later, and a big goddamm tree root - but we can flush the toilet..! what a luxury! i have spent all night doing about 8 loads of washing so far - more to go unfortunately!

mumstar
23-06-2007, 09:16
emandmya i hope the weather holds out for you while you get your washing done or are you one of those lucky people that have a dryer!!!

we dont and i have been working on troy to get me one... and a dishwasher.... and a new fridge... oh and so many more things but i cant get them till we are in the new house... there is no point in buying them then storing them here till the move and then having something else to move with us...

i did have a dishwasher but it was set up in the laundry here coz there is no room in the kitchen and that has now crapped itself so i just have to wait... bring on november... and i can just see it now... "tegan you dont NEED a dryer NOW its summer" yeah but he has to remember we dont even have a washing line in the new place!!!

MZmama
23-06-2007, 09:19
emandmya i hope the weather holds out for you while you get your washing done or are you one of those lucky people that have a dryer!!!

whats a clothesline!?!? yep, i have a dryer.. the only things that go on the line outside are sheets, and sometimes towels if the weather is nice of enough.. and i put DD's stuff on the airdryer...

i wish i had a dishwasher too..!!

Mrs Potts
23-06-2007, 11:46

Hope Shed's having a wunnerful time in the Sunshine State.

I'm a dryer girl too Em. Sheets go on the line, and sometimes towels like you. I do use the line more in summer only cos I get the guilts for using the dryer then.

Beany - hope the migraine has left you. There's nothing worse, especially when you're trying to look after a little person.

So has anyone thought about what they might get bub for their birthday? Miss K already has so many toys. I have no idea!

*munchkin*
23-06-2007, 12:49
So has anyone thought about what they might get bub for their birthday? Miss K already has so many toys. I have no idea!
I just came back from the Myer toy sale, and I bought so much stuff, even the shop assistant said "Oh my GOD". Have b'day presents and Xmas presents for Em and all nieces and nephews. Done.

I got Em the Fisher Price laugh and learn home. Alli had one and all the babies went nuts over it, so I figured it would be a goody. 1/2 price too. And some Fisher Price Little People cause I know she likes to chew them :laughing:

I've decided I WILL have a big do for Em's first birthday. I realised that all my friends have done so much to help us out over the last year, that I want to throw a party to say "Thank you, we couldn't have got here without you". We've been taken on holidays, lent cars, bought presents, had the lawn mowed, had so much emotional support that it's a good opportunity to say thank you.

So it will be a big BBQ for fam and friends, and no presents required (except from fam of course!). The more I think about it, the more I like the idea. It will be mostly adults, so I might do up party bags with hats and streamers and they can all explore their inner child. Would love a fairy floss machine... Thought about theming it a dress as your "Inner child" party, but that's way too scary! (mental image of grown men in nappies :eek: )

Em's father will most likely be over here then, but he won't be invited...:o *shrug* :p

mumstar
23-06-2007, 14:54
im waiting till the kmart toy sale and gonna do 2 separate lay buys one for xmas stuff and one for Noah bday pressies... they have no deposit and lay buy till xmas eve but if i want Noah's pressies they will have to be separate so i don't end up having to hide xmas pressie from aiden!

troy has taken my dishwasher out the back and pulled it apart to find the bit that not working... now he just has to find a replacement part and put it back together again! (sounds like a humpty dumpty song gone bad)

mum_I'm_hungry
23-06-2007, 16:53
Your party sounds great, Munchkin, I say go for it! That's fantastic that all your friends and fam have rallied round. :yes:

Hmmm. Cotton On. Just checked the pjs and they are an XS. They fit Teddy just right and he's 50th percentile, so not big or small etc.. I looked at the next size up and they were way too big.

Well, doing arsenic hour on my own tonight, so better run. Mmmm. Yummy. Lean Cuisine. Bleh. :barf:

MountainGirl
23-06-2007, 17:11
Scarletts temp 40 again tonight,.... I just dont know what is going on,..and I am trying hard not to go to childrens hospi.....but I think it is on the cards,..:(

*munchkin*
23-06-2007, 17:32
Oh no...poor Scarlett..and poor you SJ. I really hope her temp drops and she gets some well times soon.

Beany
23-06-2007, 18:03
Poor Jane and Scarlett :(

I really do think a trip to the hospital would be the best course of action - much as you don't want to.

I hope she's better soon.

You poor things :hugs:

MountainGirl
23-06-2007, 18:16
thanks guys,... sometimes I really think this Mum thing is a bit beyond me,.. I had to call MY mum to get her opinion on what to do.... what mummy needs to call her Mum in tears to get help for her bubba.....??:no:

*munchkin*
23-06-2007, 18:25
Aaaw...SJ :hugs: . You're a great mum! Hey - I call my mum ALL the time! That's what they're there for. I hope Em calls me to ask for help when she has a bubba!

You've had such a rough trot with Scarlett being sick, and Jasja not sleeping, that I'm not surprised you feel like poo. Hang in there, call in the troops (i.e. mum), and hopefully you'll get to the light at the end of the tunnel soon :hugs:

MountainGirl
23-06-2007, 18:30
thanks Munchy,..you are very sweet,.

littlepickle
23-06-2007, 18:52
SJ, *hug* I am the same, I ring my mum all the time too! You are a fab mum!
I hope Scarlett feels better soon. Let us know how you go at the hospital:hugs:

missie_mack
23-06-2007, 19:19
Hey S_J If you don't wanna go up the childrens hospital maybe a radio Dr (if they exist in Sydney). At home they come to your home at all hours and charge the whole lot to medicare.

Not to worry about the Mummy ringing. I'm sure we all have done it (although I am often left wondering why I bothered at times lol) A second or third opinion is often reassuring......

cheekypossum
23-06-2007, 19:49

Jane - hope you get everything sorted with poor Scarlett.....you have sure been having a rough time with the sick bubba's...hope it gets better for you real soon

Hello Mrs Butterflygirl...nice to hear from you after so long :wave:

Look I did have a little list from where I have read all the posts, but feeling a little blah tonight.

I honestly think it is this bad weather...rain rain rain. Can't really go anywhere cause it is too wet....makes me feel blah, then I lose patience with Chloe and feel even worse......I have just eaten 4 Tim Tams and still don't feel better :o

Being home alone dosent help...last night DH had soccer and tonight he is at a poker game.....and I don't mean to whinge about him, he is generaly pretty good but when I feel like this everything he does wrong just seems 10 times worse....blah blah blah, just ignore me.

Hope all the sick mummies and bubbies feel better soon..

:ecomcity:

cheekypossum
23-06-2007, 19:51
oh I forgot to add

Have loved all the pictures.....we sure do make a cute bunch of bubba's...

mum_I'm_hungry
23-06-2007, 20:51
Oh, Jane, poor Scarlett is having a rough trot. 40 is pretty high -- is she still getting the Hydrolite in? Poor sausage. Definitely don't feel bad about calling your mum. Like Munchkin said, that's what they're for!

Was just popping in to tell you you can have a look at our funniest home video attempt here. We had a bit of a problem getting the video to play using photobucket, but it worked after we stuffed around with the play and pause buttons a bit, for some reason...

http://s162.photobucket.com/albums/t267/allijb/

Hope you like it! :laughing: :o :rolleyes: ;)

Beany
23-06-2007, 22:25

Alli that's hilarious! I love the contemplative pause in the middle :D

MZmama
24-06-2007, 07:56
Morning all, hope ur weekends have been good so far!

SJ - i'm really sorry to hear about scarlett, any update? oh and dont ever say ur a bad mum!! our mums r there to answer questions.. and i dont know one mum that hasnt called their mum!!

mrs potts - i really have NO idea what to get her, everything i kinda mention friends and family are like oh, i was gonna get her that!?!?! i cant win.. unless i get her a cubby house?? she just is too spoilt already!

munchkin - i agree with u on needing to thank those that have got us here so far, so big bash for DD too.

alli - thats clip is hilarious!!!! :laughing: :laughing: well done!

noos - how are you????

btw - i'm thinking of number 2 soonish :eek:

MountainGirl
24-06-2007, 08:16
I took Squidgy to Childrens Hospital last night,...where we waited for 4 hours,..they could find no cause of infection,...said it was viral, to give her panadol and wait it out,..and we were sent home:( her temp is 39.6 this morning,..... we will go back to our gp first up tomorrow and hopefully find a solution,....

mum_I'm_hungry
24-06-2007, 08:21
Four hours -- what a pain. I never know whether to go to the private emergency centres or not with the kids. You don't have to wait, but they may not have a lot of experience with kids, either. Poor Scarlett. :fingerscrossed: she's over the worst bit. If it is a virus, Panadol and Hydrolyte is about all you can do, unfortunately. How is Jasper going? Sounds like he is faring better than Ms S.

Mokar
24-06-2007, 10:59
Hi everyone...

we are all VERY warn out here. Elsh has gotten worse and worse... we went down the Gold Coast to see Nats brother off as he is moving away and Elsh was just coughing and coughing and vomiting everywhere...
We nearly took her to the emergency room as she was writhing in pain with every cough- but thought Gold Coast Hospital Emergency room on a Saturday night?? We would be waiting for HOURS!
So, SIL called one of those Doctors who do after hours visits and he was there within 20mins. Turns out my baby has a THROAT INFECTION!! :eek:
How the hell the other Doctor I went to last week didnt pick up on that, I dont know!
Anyways, so it was 11pm, and we all hopped into the car and drove into Surfers Paradise to get some anti-biotics for my poor little chicken as they are the ONLY chemist who are open late!
Not much better today but at least I know WHY she has been so ill lately.
Far out, I am so peeved at that other Doctor.
Still not much sleep last night- she only woke 1 time but I am sick now also, and my nose was so blocked I was having trouble breathing SO... no sleep still! :rolleyes:
Anyways... we are home now and eager to start trying to get Elsh better.
Hope you are all happy and healthy!

P.S. SJ- Sorry to hear about all your health troubles... I hope that both S & J are healthy soon.

Beany
24-06-2007, 11:43
Oh poor babies :( I hope they are better soon. I'll make up a big batch of chicken soup for you all - Jewish penicillin and all that!

Asher woke about 5 times last night. Not impressed.

Brought him into our bed after the last one and he slept there for a little bit (an hour or so) and demonstrated what a poor bedfellow he is. Every time I moved, he would take up the space I vacated - even if it was just a tiny bit of a movement in order to adjust my t-shirt. And of course I was too afraid to move the extended foot lest it wake him up. Makes me wonder why I bother bringing him into bed with me - it's not like I ever manage to get any sleep with him in there.

Oh and we've discovered that since he's started walking, he can sneak past the cube we had put in the hallway to prevent him getting into the kitchen. He just wiggles and slides through sideways! Clever little sod! So we might need to buy a gate. Which is just ridiculous considering how small this place is!

missie_mack
24-06-2007, 15:36
Great video Alli. Hope all is on the improve with Elsha and Scarlett :fingerscrossed:

Anyone heard from Noosa?? She seems to have gone MIA :confused: Hope everything is ok and she is just lurking.... or maybe her house finally sold!

MountainGirl
24-06-2007, 17:41
Hi Y'all,.... the heat haze in our house seems to be clearing,...for the moment,.. Scarlett peaked again at 16:00 with a temp of 41 and I gave in and did the cool cloth and lukewarm bath thing, and got it back down to 36.7:smiliedance: She has eaten for the first time in 3 days (proscuitto, brie and icecream:rolleyes: ),..and is happily going to bed! Lets hope that is the end of it!!!!! Phew! (She did say that she had a sore ear though, so I will take her to the Dr tomorrow to confirm that as the source of infection),...

Now,..to Jasper,... my light,..my angel!!! He has slept through for the past 3 nights,....AND has had a massive 3 hour sleep for the last 2 afternoons!! Woo Hoo!!!! Maybe a pattern is emerging!??!?!?!?!?!?!??!

Jess - glad to hear that you are finally coming to a conclusion re: elsh,...maybe she isn't sleeping due to discomfort? Good to get a result!!

Umm,....cant remember much else,...a little 'fever-lagged' here tonight!

have a lovely night everyone,...... STAY WELL!!!

(and thank you for all your kind thoughts yesterday,..I was feeling crappy,and so useless,.. there is nothing worse than having a sick kid and not being able to help them out,.......thank you, thank you, thank you!,..you are all very special people:hugs: - Oh,.and Munch - this small writing thing is cool! Very expressive!)

Mrs Potts
24-06-2007, 18:04
SJ - so pleased that S is on the mend. The hospy did pretty much what I thought they would do if you took her there (did you see my post in your other thread?). BTDT. :no:

Alli - that video is priceless! Dough cracked up too. Let us know if you get on so we can all vote for you!

Miss K has been out of sorts here too. No idea why though. She has had some really putrid nappies over the last week so maybe she's had a bit of a bug. It's just frustrating though, cos she's just really whingey which is so unlike her.

Oh and since we've been a bit lacking in poo stories lately I have one for you all. Have you ever had a poo looking back at you when you open the nappy? It appears that Miss K had consumed one of those stick on bobbly eyes and there it was staring back at me! I'm sure she thought I'd lost my mind I was laughing so hard :laughing:

MountainGirl
24-06-2007, 18:28
Mrs Potts! ! That cracked me up! I haven;t laughed so hard in ages! Thanks for that,... and yeah,..I did read your post in my other thread,..stoopid Drs,.... but what does TDBD or whatever you wrote, mean?

MountainGirl
24-06-2007, 18:29
Btdt?

Mrs Potts
24-06-2007, 18:42
Sorry SJ - been there done that.

Glad my poopy eye gave you a giggle :D

Beany
24-06-2007, 18:57
Been There Done That?

Beany
24-06-2007, 18:58
Hah! Love the poo with character!

Bet that won't be one of the new Sesame Street characters!

Beany
24-06-2007, 19:37
I'm so glad Scarlett is feeling better - and my what a refined palate she has!

The editor of the motorbike magazine I worked for a lifetime ago had a daughter that would refuse sweets, crisps and ice cream and needed to be bribed with green olives, Camembert cheese and sun-dried tomatoes!

Asher is searching for greener pastures already. He made a beeline at the shops today for a gorgeous leggy blonde, let go of my hand and lunged for her, arms outstretched! :eek: The little boy-tart! I thought I'd have a while before that!

*munchkin*
24-06-2007, 20:26
Mrs P...the poo with eyes cracked me up! :laughing: That's priceless. Come to think of it, there is a South Park character "Mr Hanky" who is a poo with eyes...

SJ - so glad Scarlett is getting well and JAsja is sleeping. Yay jasja :yelclap:

Alli - your video is classic! Loved it! He's so fast!

Beany..I'd say your Asher will be quite lucky with the L-adies as he grows up.

Not much to report here...just lots of paper munching and exploring. Yesterday I was in the lingerie department in Myer, wheeling Em around. After a while I looked down to see her happily munching on a flouro orange bra she had managed to snag off one of the racks! Gave me a good chuckle.

Glad you like the small writing SJ...it's kind of like leaning in and having a close conversation withsomeone.

While I'm at it...I mentioned awhile ago a girl at my mum's group who really irks me. Today we had a bbq and she said to me "I don't think we'll have another baby. My DH isn't happy with how much DD has disturbed and ruined our lives":rolleyes: I feel sorry for that little baby.

missie_mack
24-06-2007, 21:05
:laughing: @ Mrs Potts. Seems very South Park. My DH would be chuffed if that happened to us lol.

Munchkin.... on that couple umm err are you meant to tell other people things like that?? Not that I would hope people in general feel like this. Kinda reminds me of a lady I met on one of my playgroup attempts. I had only been talking to her for 10 minutes before she told me she had her tubes tied when her DS was 6 months old because she couldn't risk having another one like her!! :eek:

Beany- How you going to handle being the evil boyfriends mother when Asher starts bringing these girls home?? lol

Beany
24-06-2007, 21:51
Ellen: I'm going to invest in a heavy Le Creuset frying pan and perfect the steely glare.

* O_o *

(Did that work? Were any of you afeared?)

mumstar
25-06-2007, 09:04
hi all

well we had crappy weather here in Perth all weekend so we made a trip the the video shop and spent most of it at home...

today we are having a mini hairdressers running from my house my sister is coming up here to do my mil and my mates hair.. and coz i have the kids and my mate has kids it is easier to do it here than anywhere else coz i have a giant playroom to keep them amused and the weather is still crappy outside!

sorry to hear about all the sick bubbas over the weekend... i hope the all get much better soon xoxoxox

alli your video cracked me up... i will have top try and get my video of Noah crawling off my phone and on here, its really funny coz before he could crawl properly he caterpillar crawled!!! literally he looked like a caterpillar bum up slide to front bum up slide to front...

big news guys Noah is standing up on his own now and even took a couple of steps on Sunday... not long now till he is off and walking all the time!

hope you all have a great day

lottiesmum
25-06-2007, 12:44
Mrs Potts :laughing:

we are just back from a week in the big smoke. such fun :yelclap: lots of shopping sans bebes and went to see the paris opera ballet which was gorgeous. i bought DS this fantastic growsuit made of thick fleece from Katmandu and he looks so cute! i'll have to take a pic and change my avatar...soon...

...hope all the sickies are on the mend...

Beany
25-06-2007, 13:30
Talking of more funny poo ... spare a thought for poor old shed!

Baden isn't allowed to fly due to ear infection so she has to get the train home from the Gold coast. Meanwhile, the antibiotics that the doctor prescribed are known to cause violent diarrhoea ...

Well, I suppose that's one way to guarantee a carriage all to yourself :laughing:

missie_mack
25-06-2007, 13:55
:eek: That's one looooong train trip! I would hate the thought of carrying cloth nappies home with diarrhoea on a long train trip... ewwww. Let's cross our fingers she took the disposables :fingerscrossed: and that the rocking of the train will mean he will sleep lots!

Poor Shed will need a drink or two when she gets home I think :yes:

Beany
25-06-2007, 15:03
Hiya Bec :wave: throw yourself in!

Got any poo stories? :D

Beany
25-06-2007, 15:05
:eek: That's one looooong train trip! I would hate the thought of carrying cloth nappies home with diarrhoea on a long train trip... ewwww. Let's cross our fingers she took the disposables :fingerscrossed: and that the rocking of the train will mean he will sleep lots!

Poor Shed will need a drink or two when she gets home I think :yes:

:laughing: oh the only reason I know all this is because of a call I got this morning asking me what size Huggies Asher is wearing at the moment.

No, there will not be any cloth. Yes there will be sposies. And hopefully she remembered my suggestion of scented nappy sacks!

missie_mack
25-06-2007, 15:24
Welcome Bec :wave: I'm Mummy to little James born 4 September. Yes this means I am a ring in from the Due in August 06 thread..... it seems males are never on time no matter what their age is :laughing:

MountainGirl
25-06-2007, 17:23
Welcome Bec,... we are a little mental,.but we mean well!

So,.... I thought I would give you a conclusion to the Scarlett illness series,.... Temp hit 42 this morning,....and at midday we saw my fabbo usual GP,..(she was away last week),...her diagnosis "Thumping great ear infection",... so,...SOLUTION! She is on antibiotics and hopefully is on the mend,..

No time for anything else tonight,..cept,..Poor Shed!!!!! Hope Badey is feeling better soon,.....

And,.....Noos...where are you???? Are you ok????

And,...Wattle,...:hugs: hope you are doing ok,.....

And,..Beany - did you get rid of your migraine yet?

Hi everyone else,..:wave: have a good night!

mumstar
25-06-2007, 17:46
it has been a complete madhouse here today... hairdressing going on every every where... and 3 little kiddies destroying my playroom!! literally that bad the tv and dvd player was on the floor! playroom is now off limits for a while! and im taking a little break!

poor shed that would be my worst nightmare... i hope she has some help!

hi bec welcome to the thread dont be scared just jump right in!

i was wondering bout noosa the other day too i hope everything is ok!

sj hopefully now she has some antibiotics she will be right as rain in no time...

didnt jess find out it was an throat infection as for elsh? well how can these drs miss these things? ears, throat isnt that like the first thing they check with kids jeez louise!

hopefully all the sickies will be feeling better soon!

Mrs Potts
25-06-2007, 18:02
SJ - so glad that Scarlett has an ear infection! Well, you know what I mean I hope :eek: At least now she can take some a/b's and get rid of the nastiness quick smart :fingerscrossed:

Bec - welcome! Yes, we're all nuts, but we're not dangerous I promise :wave:

Mr Hanky!! I can't believe I didn't think of Mr Hanky when that poo was eyeballing me! Hiiidey-hoooo! :laughing:

Hoping Shed has an uneventful train trip home. Can't say I envy her one bit there.

Beany
25-06-2007, 18:49
Thanks Jane - the migraine is finally on its way out. It takes a week without drugs. Stupid lack of drugs :gloomy:

I'm glad Scarlett's woes have finally got a diagnosis - how on earth did the folks at the children's hospital not pick that up? I hope the antibiotics kick in soon!

cheekypossum
25-06-2007, 19:34

I have a little groover on my hands. Chloe does not bob, she basically sways from side to side really really fast and while she does it, head bangs. It is the most funniest thing.....all i have to do is sing a little tune and off she goes.

And a strange thing, Chloe has a fetish with socks. She will crawl around all day and hang onto a sock....I have had to pull some of her newborns out to stop her pulling the socks I put on her feet.

Alli - that video made me laugh, I love it

Jane - Great news about Jasper sleeping through. What a relief for you to find out Scarlett has an infection so you can get it all cleared up.....you deserve something really nice after she is all better.

Erica - the poo story :laughing:

Bec - Welcome :wave: ....we chatter on but please just jump in.

munchkin - :eek: I can't believe the comment that lady gave you, I would not have been able to hide my shock if she said that to me.

Mokar - Hope Elsha is doing better now.

Noos, hope you are ok. We are all worrying about you, and all our other MIA's

Oh and Beany how are the boobs going? Get rid of the lumps?

Hi to everyone that I have not mentioned

mum_I'm_hungry
25-06-2007, 19:44
Hey kids! And Bec! Good to see a new face (or at least type-face... he he) around here.

That's great news that Scarlett will soon be on the mend. Unfortunately Teddy's ear infection didn't clear up with the antibiotics he was on -- got better for a bit and is now pulling at his ear again. So, off to the GP again for us tomorrow. Seriously, it's getting ridiculous how often we're there. If only they worked like gyms where you can get your 11th visit free or something!

Bleh on the migraine, Beany. I get them and I think Jane does too? Anyone else? Mine are hormonal and are all over the place with the IUD. Digesic works a treat for me and Imigrain works for my mum. How about you guys?

Have finished our funniest home vid and will post it off tomorrow. Wish us luck! :fingerscrossed: :laughing: :o

MZmama
25-06-2007, 20:47
I really should post when i come to check the posts - so i dont forget - but its too late, ive forgotten - sorry!

thank golly miss scarlett and miss elsh have been diagnosed!!! seriously, how can they have missed.. i had a friend who KNEW her bub at a ear infection, not one doctor would agree, 3 weeks went by and a billion doctors before they beleived her and prescribed medicine - surely we know our bubs, and surely they would know better than us? :fingerscrossed: they are on the mend..

poor teddy - hopefully the next batch gets rid of it quick smart.

mumstar - congrats on noah standing. mya can 'kinda' stand.. she stands, wobble wobble and then falls on her booty!

poor shed - fingers crossed baden sleeps the WHOLE time and she can have a relaxing trip - somehow i dont know that it'll go to planned - but i hope for her sake it does!

hi Bec - welcome! :wave: my DD was born a day after urs, and same with Mokar's lil girl elsh.

tash - Mya has been grooving for a couple of months.. any music, she just dances and dances and dances.. all i have to say is 'dance' and she wobbles, bobs her head and shakes and giggles. she LOVES music. it seriously is the cutest thing ever

DF has a few days off, so we just have been relaxing.. AND letting the housework slide :rolleyes: i can do much more when i am here on my own, but its good to have company! and mya loves it plus, she sleeps in longer! :smiliedance:

Beany
25-06-2007, 23:13
Bleh on the migraine, Beany. I get them and I think Jane does too? Anyone else? Mine are hormonal and are all over the place with the IUD. Digesic works a treat for me and Imigrain works for my mum. How about you guys?

Cafegot (caffeine and ergotamine) works wonders for me. Makes me incredibly ditzy, though - I sit there smiling vacantly at everything and become unable to understand even the simplest instructions. So, you know, Paris Hilton in a pill. But the pain goes away the next day! Great stuff!

Can't have any while lactating, though, so I'm down to pretty much Nurofen or Panadeine. I did pick up a pack of Nurofen for migraine today. Will try those on my way to bed tonight.

What a drug connoisseur I am!

Asher is still awake and back to his frequent night wakes. There is drool. There are rosy cheeks. There is poo that smells like burnt plastic. And there is feeding owies, like he's forgotten how to attach.

More teeth.

*sigh*

MountainGirl
26-06-2007, 06:21
ok,...ok,...ok,... I admit defeat,.....

Jasper has been up all night,......with a fever! Is it me????? maybe I have Munchousens (sp) by Proxy or something??? these kids are always sick!

I have my receipt,....I am taking them back and demanding new ones!

(think Jas is just teething though......sigh,....9 teeth and counting!:D )

Mumstar - love the mirrorball,...! I bought Scarlett a mirrorball chandelier for her room,...a vintage chandelier covered in 30 or so tiny mirrorballs! So cool,......:yes:

amandaw
26-06-2007, 06:37
Holidays......Celebrate..... ah, maybe we don't start the sing along!

Yep on holidays - can relax now - marking done, report cards done, can pretend school doesn't exist ...now if only I could train DD to sleep past 6 (or to get her own breakfast - wouldn't that be nice), I might feel that we are getting a break!

Beany - I hear you with the teeth - Charlotte has just finished cutting her 2nd molar (:smiliedance:) so hopefully things will settle - probably not for long since the one above it is already red and lumpy...

Ali - loved the clip - wish we could have seen that crawl in real life while we were there. Question for you - do/did Ivy and Teddy get a lot of use from the laugh and learn playhouse thingy...I know all our lot loved it on teh day we were at your place (like Munchkin said) and am tossing up whether or not to suggest that my brothers could get it as a joint present....is it somethig you loved, or a big sit in the corner toy.

Poor bubs (and mums) of the ear infections - hope it they are all clearing up now diagnosed.

Welcome Bec :wave:

Tash - your sock solution is so simple, but am going to steal it for this end too - not sure if she doesn't like socks on her feet, or just wants to hold them, but C does the same thing! We also have a fairly serious groover at this end - Charlotte gets air as she bounces - literally you can see air under the balls of her feet!! Trying not to turn her into a Tv addict, but it's so cute to sit and watch her go off

Us - well on holidays, but no real plans thank goodness - just feel like I need to sit and veg (and clean my house!!!) Already got stitched up on the first day of my break and got talked into looking after my brothers stepdaughter (12 going on 20 - only child (at the moment) who is starting to realise the power she can weild by playing off her natural parents....not all that fun to be around)....but hopefully looking up from there. C's so cute - I'm really loving now (though has taken a while for me) because the personality is all there. She's still not sleeping fantatsically but we're getting there. Just wonedring (those who are walking) - how long did it take to go from the standing independetly to actually walking? C first stood alone when Beany posted that photo of Asher standing, but has made absolutely no attempt since more than happy just to cruise around furniture then lower down and take off - I'm not in any hurry, but was just interested as was talking about it to a mate yesterday

Anyway, rambling now - hope all are well (or on the mend) and will be around more often - YEAH!

amandaw
26-06-2007, 06:40
Hi Jane :wave

Is Munchousens the one where it's actually teh parent that wants the attention (and you always see the horror stories about what some do for it)????

And you seriously don't want to return them....will be no room for that number 3 that's under plans!!

MountainGirl
26-06-2007, 07:33
Hi Amanda,.. yeah! That;s it! Look at moi, look at moi:smiliedance: :laughing:

Well,.... there would be more room on the outside for #3,.... I will just negotiate the terms and conditions a little better for this one!

(talking about #3,... we are ready to get into action,... I have the days marked in the diary.and we both look at them and giggle! It has been such a long time inbetween deeds, that neither of us are sure where to start! :laughing: :o I am suggesting a bottle of champagne and oysters!)

mumstar
26-06-2007, 08:48
(talking about #3,... we are ready to get into action,... I have the days marked in the diary.and we both look at them and giggle! It has been such a long time inbetween deeds, that neither of us are sure where to start! :laughing: :o I am suggesting a bottle of champagne and oysters!)

yeah and a babysitter for the other 2 that always helps !!:D:D

us well after the madhouse yesterday im not doing anything today! expect for maybe some washing and tidying but i am actually planning to sit on my bed most of the day and watch some movies with the kids! the weather is still poo here and i have to play netball tonight so i dont want to overwork myself today!

Mokar
26-06-2007, 11:13

Not doing much better here. Elsh still sick... Nat still sick... me still sick...

I was supposed to have the councillor here today to talk... and GOD do I need to talk to her right now!! BUT, she hasnt turned up! :confused: Im abit dissapointed- I have a LONG list of things I need to get off my chest.

SJ - I cant believe.... Number 3? Gosh, you are going to be busy!

Em - Sorry I havent written back yet - will do so soon!

Bec - Welcome!

ETA: Just had the CHN here... She is pregnant with her 7th!!
Anyways.... :eek::eek: Must add a few of those in there.
I asked her to put a referral into Riverton for me so... :fingerscrossed: they call me soon and I can get out there to get some help FINALLY!

Must be off... the child is awake and being a terror!

missie_mack
26-06-2007, 12:02

Maybe your wine weekend in the Clare Valley will be at the right time?? :D
Your definately a braver woman than me. I still don't think I'm ready to be pregnant again. We were thinking of trying maybe March next year but now I'm thinking maybe the year after...

I get migraines too. Don't think they are quiet as bad as Beany's though. I get a bit light sensitive. They were worse before I had my wisdom teeth removed. My dentist believes that a lot have to do with teeth issues. Don't know if that helps anyone [insert shrugging icon]. I find getting my lymphatic massages help as they get rid of a lot of toxins (as well as my other water issues)....

Anyhow we have snotty noses back again today. Blergh snotty bubbles is probably a better term.....

Anyhoo have a great day everyone

Beany
26-06-2007, 12:19
... projectile poo?!

They can still do that?!

*wibbles in fear a little*

To think that my only worries in the last few weeks have been trying to keep his hands away from his willy during the change (little boys and their willy obsessions ... they never will grow out of it, will they?).

Tash: Sorry I missed your post yesterday :( The lumpy boobs have indeed resolved themselves, thank you for asking :) It took 24 hours of feeding, massaging and expressing and finally, a very hungry little boy (who had been refused solids all day by me so that he'd drink more milk) took it all away!

It hurt for a day afterwards, though. The duct was so enlarged that it felt like someone had taken a baseball bat to me.

More boob pain here, though. Lazy attachment from him due to teething. I think there's a fang coming through and the two flanking ones of the bottom middle teeth are looking distinctly lumpy, too.

amandaw
26-06-2007, 12:21
*shivers with the mere thought of it*

mum_I'm_hungry
26-06-2007, 13:13
Just popping in -- Amanda, about the door toy thing (I hate Fisher Price and how it's turned my house into a shrine to plastic, so refuse to learn their stupid names!)... Ivy and Teddy have both used it A LOT. A friend of mine also has one and her little girl has used it to bits as well. I think it was worth having its ugliness around as both kids have had a bash at it. Like any toy, it gets a lot more use if you play with them. Am yet to find the magical toy that gives you half an hour of peace, unfortunately! :D

missie_mack
26-06-2007, 13:15
Am yet to find the magical toy that gives you half an hour of peace, unfortunately! :D

Earplugs??? :confused: :laughing:

missie_mack
26-06-2007, 13:16
To be serious. You should get them an eliptical trainer. DS is just fascinated by the thing so much that I cannot use it when I am home alone and he is playing as he wants to play with it while I am on it.....

Beany
26-06-2007, 13:30
Or a Dyson. Asher climbs all over it and, when it's on, he is so excited by the whole thing that he runs around and around in little circles of glee.

What is this little house thingy you all speak of? Asher hasn't played with any of his toys in a while - if this thing will entertain him, I might get him on for his birthday!

His new favourite toys are spiky rubber balls. He can hold onto them properly (unlike the smooth ones) and we've been throwing playing catch (without any actual catching) for the last few days.

missie_mack
26-06-2007, 13:45
Oh James has this train thingy my Mum bought him for christmas. He is always playing with the damn thing (:rolleyes: dum-dah dah dum goes my head from the music I know the tune so well) I think its a F&P too. James likes the vacuum too pushes it around behind me while I am cleaning

On the first birthday present front. What has everyone been thinking. I'm not sure I have been thinking of a pop up tent type of thing with a tunnel but now I'm not sure (and I'm not really finding anything I like either) maybe a ball pit would be better. But then I will have to duck and dive away from the balls as he pegs them at me..... :confused:

OH my little darling did the most astounding thing last night. He bit my thumb that hard I have a bruise and he drew blood :eek: I know now I am the least favourite parent :o

amandaw
26-06-2007, 16:47
Or
What is this little house thingy you all speak of? Asher hasn't played with any of his toys in a while - if this thing will entertain him, I might get him on for his birthday!

His new favourite toys are spiky rubber balls. He can hold onto them properly (unlike the smooth ones) and we've been throwing playing catch (without any actual catching) for the last few days.

I just found a little squishy wahoo ball in my bottom drawer...obviously deposited by a little someone...nice and soggy too, so obviously mouth transportation :laughing:

The house thing (FP Laugh and Learn Learning Home) is on the front page of the Myer Toy Sale catalogue - down to 79 0r 75 or something. It's only the front of the house....has door and windows that open and close, door bells, lights that come on and off, mail box, a day/night spinner, sings random tuens (and more abc and 123) - when we arrived at Alli's, LP's Elise was motoring all around it and then there were mutiple babies attached to it (probably in the back of one of Alli's photos from the day) - Anyway we went and got it, plus a swing, so C's set.

Our half an hour of freedom is High 5 or Fairies (off Tv now :( :rolleyes: I don't even get a look in when I get home from school!

MountainGirl
26-06-2007, 17:44
that house thing sounds great! We have the animal train thingie,......neither kid likes it terribly much,....we also have the FP gumball machine which elicits a 'Meh' response,... BUT we do have 4 urine sample containers filled with brown rice, ong grain rice, macaroni and popcorn kernels respectively,....and they have provided hours of entertainment!:laughing:

Ok.....update (hopefully last one) one the sickie front,.. Jas has been a miseryguts all day,..and this afternoon had a temp of 40,..and was crying,...(not his usual self),..so I threw him in the car and took him to see our magnificent Dr Kate,..and his eardrum burst in the car:eek: ,.. and the other is infected too,...so,..he is on the same antibiotics as Squidg,.....:( things can only get better!

missie_mack
26-06-2007, 17:47
that house thing sounds great! We have the animal train thingie,......neither kid likes it terribly much,....we also have the FP gumball machine which elicits a 'Meh' response,... BUT we do have 4 urine sample containers filled with brown rice, ong grain rice, macaroni and popcorn kernels respectively,....and they have provided hours of entertainment!:laughing:

Damn I had placed my Myer order in for the gumball machine thingo.. back to the drawing board :detective:

MountainGirl
26-06-2007, 18:14
Ellen,..I get all my toys from ebay now,....if they get a 'meh' then I am not too bothered about it!

mumstar
26-06-2007, 19:02
[/size]
we got Aiden a ball pit boat for a first bday pressie and YES he loved it but word of warning it's not the getting them ditched at you you should be worried about its the cleaning up all the balls that fall out of the damn thing like a hundred times a day... they turn up everywhere, right under your feet when you cant see em and end up on your bum not so great! :o

i usually get my kids clothes or dvds these day they last a bit longer and don't take up too much room... i have just purged 3 boxes full of broken and unused toys and now im back to 3 boxes and a few ride ons and a wagon full of blocks!
One of the best things we ever got for Aiden though it was a bday or xmas pressie was a paddle and pool toys (blow up wings, a floatie vest etc) we got him used to the water at a really early age and now he is a really good swimmer and not scared at all. it might go unused for a couple of months til it heats up again but always an idea :idea:

The house thing (FP Laugh and Learn Learning Home) is on the front page of the Myer Toy Sale catalogue - down to 79 0r 75 or something. It's only the front of the house....has door and windows that open and close, door bells, lights that come on and off, mail box, a day/night spinner, sings random tuens (and more abc and 123)

My mate had a door thingy when Aiden was born and he absolutely loved it... her girl never really played with it that much... now i have Noah he absolutely loves it too and i still haven't brought one!! :o

well im off to netball shortly talk to you all tomorrow!:wizard:i will be so much thinner soon if i keep this up!

Mokar
26-06-2007, 20:52
I baught Elsha a Blow up fairy castle Ball pit for her 1st birthday aswell as a Pink motorbike that has a trailor full of kiddie gardening tools.

Dunno how we will go with the bike, but she has raided the extra bag of balls I baught for the ball pit. They are her new favourite toy. A couple of coloured balls? Bizzarre. I guess that means the Ball Pit will be the favourite B-day pressie?!

Anyways, must tell you all this...

Elsha has learnt how to climb up onto the couch!:eek: We were just sitting here tonight and all of a sudden, we look over and she is sitting next to Nat, eating his ice cream LOL... Since then she has gone Up & down... Up & down...

I guess that means its time to put some cushions next to the couch incase she falls off?? :detective: (She is in the wars so bad these days!)

MZmama
26-06-2007, 21:02
oh man - i am in denial, i dont even want to think about first birthdays.. but seeings as we are on topic - i may aswell ask a few quessies..

the ball pit, like the one in the myer catalogue, how big are they? how big is the laugh and learn house thingamajig? i want something like this, but we are only in a small three bedroom house, and the lounge is hardly big.. so dont know if it would fit.. any ideas for a small space?!

maybe i have to get her heaps of small toys, walk along toys and clothes - she woke up this morning and her 00 top is tight!?!?! they grow all of a sudden dont they

jess - u certainly have ur hands fall.. she's such a quick learner!

hi to everyone! :wave:

MZmama
26-06-2007, 21:05
btw jess - where did u get the blow up fairy castle ball pit? or even the pink bike for that matter, sounds so cute!

shed
26-06-2007, 21:51
Well, we are home.

What a fricken nightmare, although the rocking motion of the train kept us asleep most of the time so I actually feel quite refreshed.

I am not going to work tomorrow, I have to take Baden back to the doctor - the one we went to on Friday. (The one I went to to try and get some antibiotics to pre-empt an infection which might result in spending fourteen farkin hours on a farkin train :mad: but he said bubby didn't need them :mad:) , so the doctor in Brisbane gave him some but they are doing nothing. So I am going back to get some Amoxil this time.

Sick babies everywhere.

Beany
26-06-2007, 21:59
You're a brave lady, Shed. I would have been tempted to just hole myself up in Brisbane until the infection was gone and I didn't need to spend 14 hours on a train ...

You know, in that time you could have flown to Europe! :eek:

mum_I'm_hungry
27-06-2007, 01:42
OMG. Hands up whose baby ISN'T on Amoxil here. Lol!

Good to see you back in one (rocking) piece, Shed... ;)

MountainGirl
27-06-2007, 06:01
Poor shed:hugs:

Both my babies are on Amoxil! We got the "family' size bottle:laughing: thank god it tastes good,.....

Mokar
27-06-2007, 07:12
Poor shed:hugs:

Both my babies are on Amoxil! We got the "family' size bottle:laughing: thank god it tastes good,.....

I hear that! Amoxil is the ONLY medication that Elsha keeps down!

Em - I got the ball pit and bike from... Toys'r'us I think?? One of the 'Toy' world type places... and they were CHEAP!! I think for both, I ended up paying $95- and that was with an extra bag of balls for the ball pit too!

lottiesmum
27-06-2007, 07:43
:yelclap: :smiliedance: :D

DS slept from 7pm until 5am!

Had a big feed then back to sleep until 8am!

:yes: very happy.

icky sicky...hope the babies are on the mend soon.

shed
27-06-2007, 08:39
Turns out the nightmare continues....

I just lost my job.

Faaaaaaaaaaaaaark.

Oh well, at least the juggling act is over.

missie_mack
27-06-2007, 08:45
:eek: Did they say why??

Mokar
27-06-2007, 08:50
I just lost my job.

what the hell?! Why?

mumstar
27-06-2007, 09:40
oh shed... u are having a rough time of it at the moment... maybe congratulations are in order for surviving the train/sick bubba fiasco! you are stronger than i would be! any news on why you lost your job?

my hand is up but i don't want to jinx it alli so only half up on the babies not on amoxil..

hey jess its funny Noah cant walk properly yet he has been getting up and down on the couches for ages, def time for you to put some cushions down!

well both my boys are in daycare today so i have to get a bit of cleaning and shopping done around here!

shed
27-06-2007, 09:52
Well, in regards to my ex-job, apparently you are actually supposed to turn up.

So there's the problem right there, LOL.

Its all that baby's fault.

I am finding hard to care. It actually feels like a bit of a relief. There is a reason that women with young babies don't go out to work. Because its too bloody hard that's why, especially with no other support than daycare where you can't take them if they are sick.

I tried to rejoin the workforce. Twice.

Two down, none to go.

I'm done.:p

I rang them and they were lovely about it, said that the role was going full time and the probation period was when they discovered these things, etc etc, whatever.

I get a week's pay in lieu of notice, plus my sick pay, plus my annual leave I accrued which will be about six hours or something.

And DP said he's not worried about it and he said we will get a joint account, because the main reason I went back to work is because I hate asking him for money. Shoulda done it ages ago.

mumstar
27-06-2007, 09:54
i say you shouldn't need to work as well shed you already have a full time job! being a mummy! the joint account definitely sounds like a good idea! i hope it all works out for you

missie_mack
27-06-2007, 10:28
Maybe getting your doggy school back up and running will give you that away from home feel. You could probably also do some of your fancy nappy covers to sell or wash/clip dogs (assuming you can) from home????

littlepickle
27-06-2007, 12:15
Sorry to har of all the sick bubbas, and stressed mums. I hope everyne is feeling better soon. E is on the tail end of her cold now, the combination of Dimetapp, vicks in the vapouriser and karvol seem to have done the trick, but the nappy side of things are still a bit of an "issue" She seems to be going from Solid poos one minute, to the "eye of a needle type" the next. I have been told that it is just to do with teething and that it isnt diorhea (sp) as the consistency is not consistently "wet" iykwim:laughing: so at the moment, nappy changing is a bit like playing russian roulette - ou just dont know what you are going to get:D Fun hey! One minute I am discussing the consistency and colour of snot to the pharmacist, the next I am discussing the finer points of poo! aiaiaia........
Shed, sorry to hear about your job, but the fact that you are nt bothered means that it must be a good thing really. I know what you mean about the lack of support. All of my family is either up north or OS so I dont have a fall back plan either if E gets sick. I think you should sell some of your fabbo nappy covers! And the joint account sounds like a great idea!

lottiesmum
27-06-2007, 13:20
You could probably also do some of your fancy nappy covers to sell or wash/clip dogs (assuming you can) from home????
:yes:

and made to order jumpers too! :yes:

i'll buy 'em!

lottiesmum
27-06-2007, 13:24
ummmm....not the dogs though :o

Beany
27-06-2007, 13:31
... or sit back with a block of chocolate and watch Buffy all day :p

We've had a joint bank account since about a fortnight after I moved in with him and both our wages went in there. When I went back to uni full time and only had sporadic work (holidays and contracts), it was mostly his wages in there. I felt really bad about not bringing any money in and being the one to spend most of it but you know what? You get over it :D

Most of the money will doubtless go on Baden anyway - you know HIS offspring. And, as a stay at home mum, you are entitled to FTB B - it's not means tested or anything so you are definitely going to get it. Can't remember how much it is ... around $120 a fortnight or something. So you can still have your (shed's) money and your (shed and family's) money.

Salve your guilt changing another pooey nappy.

Asher's, preferably.

( :barf: :wave: )

shed
27-06-2007, 13:54
Yeah, I am actually as happy as a clam. Dunno if I will have a delayed reaction or what, but so far so good. I think the fact that I have had two attempts at going back to work is really helping because its not a case of wondering 'what if' because we both know 'what if'.

I just feel relieved more than anything else. The guilt of leaving Baden was awful, and the guilt of not going in to work because I wanted to stay home with my sick baby was also awful. ugh. I felt like I was being pulled in each direction and nobody was happy with me.

And at least I got a car out of it! tee hee

Beany, you will never guess what - I have just sent DP down to the shops for chocolate biscuits because I am coming down with Baden's germs (chocolate cures everything of course). And when he gets back we are going to put a Buffy on. True story. And that was before I read your post! You are truly wise!!

mumstar
27-06-2007, 13:58
here here on the joint account thingy... troy and i have always had a joint account, its is our money not mine or his... it makes things easier, still we have discussion's about what is getting spent and on whom but i don't feel guilty about spending "his money"!

maybe a work from home thing might be best for you, you seem multi talented shed so im sure you could work something out!

mum_I'm_hungry
27-06-2007, 14:56
Bummer, Shed. Sounds like you are okay with it, though, which is good. Seriously, I don't know how people have two 'proper' (as in, full-time career-type) jobs and juggle kids and a house. I just don't know how they do it. Something has to give -- the kids, the house, appointments. Something. I am flat out with a part-time-ish job and two kids and the house (and have a cleaner!).

Have been meaning to ask -- how is the Zapp going? I'm still tossing up getting one, but am a bit worried about a) it doesn't lie down (so no bottles in pram) and b) you can't hang the baby bag on it.

Have had a joint account for um, er... twelve years or so now (scary!). Since we moved out together after we got engaged. I've never felt guilty about the money thing, really, as I earned more than he did when he was a student and even though he earns more now, if you work out what a nanny/cleaner/housekeeper would cost him, I'm ultra cheap! I saw it in the paper a while back -- I think it was about $160,000 a year or something when they worked out what we're worth! :laughing:

But, seriously, where's my $160, 000? :confused: :D

Beany
27-06-2007, 15:19
I haven't ever been asked where the money is going ... He earns it, I spend it, he dares not breathe a word :laughing:

He is actually utterly clueless about the state of our finances and just chugs along merrily until I yell at him to stop spending any more money this month.

And I'm actually rather stingy. I know, my extravagance with the baby stuff seems to say otherwise but I really don't like spending money on myself so more often than not, Noodle will be telling me off for NOT buying things.

Strange old sod.

missie_mack
27-06-2007, 15:29
Yeah we have the joint bank account. Got it just before we got engaged. I rule the account with a iron fist lol. DH has no idea I shudder to think what would happen to all the bills if something happened to me. The only thing he is responsible for is a credit card he had before we met. He overdrew this one the other week and boy was I mad as they charged him a $50 fee for doing it. He doesn't know where to draw the line on wanting and needing... I think its from the joys of living the good life when we were both working. I have my extravagences like everyone but these days I go without other things to get them. Either that or I do the old bargain hunt which I love!

MountainGirl
27-06-2007, 17:18
we dont have a joint account,.... DHs money pays the bills and expenses, and my weekly 'allowance',... and my money (shares divies, and managed funds payouts) is mine to do with what I will!:thumbsup: Haircuts, extra stuff for the kids etc,... works well,..

talking about money,..how funny was that other thread,..about wealthy people!:laughing:

Mokar
27-06-2007, 18:10
I didnt read it... where abouts was it??

RE: Joint accounts. No thanks!! I like to have my own account and him have his. I have complete access to his account, I pay all the bills, transfer what needs to be transferred.
The savings are under my name... as is Elsha's savings and my own account...

Here, its His money is MINE... and my money is MINE. :laughing:

Nah, not really... But whatever goes into my account stays there unless I spend it! I am definatly going to keep our accounts seperate. Incase we split, at least then I'll have some money!

Beany
27-06-2007, 18:20
Jess: Good idea! Until there is a marriage, legally you are entitled to nothing should you split.

amandaw
28-06-2007, 06:04
We've had a joint account since we got married, but I' definitely the minister of finance in this house....otherwise we'd have the world's best Hi Fi, TV, Computer etc systems and a huge amount of debt!!! :laughing: (His words not mine). We used to both go hell for leather on it (what an odd term...) but now we both get an allowance and the rest is budgetted out ...looking foward to tax return time though, because that's not bugetted in - yippee!

amandaw
28-06-2007, 06:11
Oh and one for you Alli (slightly off track to your original thread!)

I got accussed of feeding Charlotte like a dog yesterday!:eek: She'd had her dinner and desert course, then was cadging for food while we ate, so I was lining up little bits on the couch for her to pick up and eat, and it was likened to dropping scraps under the table to a dog by the MIL...I just told her that the only diference is that I want Charlotte growing up and eating all of this food (and anything that fills her enough so that she sleeps is fantastic)...silly woman....but then she doesn't realise that her partner does feed the 2 dogs under the table when she's not around :laughing: Maybe I'll just put Charlotte into the huddle next time

biscotti
28-06-2007, 07:28

HI everyone, I have been MIA for the last two weeks or so (although you probably didn't even notice :laughing: ) .
Both LCD screens in this house decided to toss it in two weeks ago and so we have basically been without a computer while we argued with Harvey Norman about warranties and such. They are now lending us ONE screen while our two are repaired so here I am *wave*.

Felt like my throat had been cut ha ha.

Anyway, I haven't read any posts or caught up on anyone's news as DH needs to get on here for work but I just wanted to stop in and say hi :D

Oh and my 20 wk scan is at 8am tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love to all,
Noosamum XX

Will try to get on later to catch up :fingerscrossed:

MountainGirl
28-06-2007, 07:42
thank god you are ok Noos,..i was worried about you,..... cant wait to hear all about the scan! How exciting!

I have decided to trade in my car,..I feel like a change and think that a red car would be the way to go,..! So,..have found a red alfa wagon that I like,....just have to do the deal! (and convince Mike that it is a good idea!:D )

lottiesmum
28-06-2007, 09:00
ha ha amanda I'm the CFO around here but think perhaps i'l change it to minister of finance...has the gravitas that i think i deserve :laughing: i'm firmly of the view that money is just part of a partnership. if you've got a family there are children to care for, a house to run, and income needed...who does what role is not that important. butg bi think though it also helps to hold the purse strings :D

hey SJ make sure you check your new car has space for 3 carseats...i read in the SMH a while back that its likely little ones need to be restrained for 7 years. i figured our subaru would accommodate 3 carseats but looking in the back i dont think so. tell you what, needing a new car, a new extension (extra bedroom) and an extra lot of school fees makes me slightly frightened of that extra child. maybe i need me an extra husband to go out to work too! :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
28-06-2007, 09:18
Yay! We get to find out about Noosabub today! I can't believe we're having a baby! :D :laughing:

Good to see you back... :yes:

Beany
28-06-2007, 09:29
Good to see you and Hugo back, Noos! I thought you'd decided to go off on a spontaneous holiday - all that envy over Paris (the city, not the creature) and all :D

mumstar
28-06-2007, 09:29
hey noosa!
its good to have you back! we did all notice you were MIA and we were all worried about you! yeah for your scan! 20 weeks already i cant believe it it has gone so fast! are you finding out the sex? let us know all about it!

well we are off to playgroup! the last one for the next 5 weeks... noah is still asleep at the moment so i will having to be waking him up soon as we have to leave in like 20 mins :(

talk later

shed
28-06-2007, 09:56
noosa! cant wait to hear if we are going to aunties or uncles!!

Well, here I am, NOT at work :D . I didn't work Thursdays anyway but I would have had to go in today to make up for whichever missed day/s I have had this week.

So I am quite happy NOT to be there! It still hasn't really sunk in, I said to DP about five times yesterday "oh my god, I got fired!". I still can't quite believe it, but I am feeling pretty good about it, just a bit stunned still.

Amandaw: do you want some of my notes from Puppy School for Charlotte? teach her some tricks to work for her food :laughing: That'll impress the MIL next time!!

Alli: re the Zapp. Yeah, its good, but it really is just a fancy schmancy shopping stroller, like a really expensive version of those little plasticky ones you buy at K Mart. It doesn't lay back so he can't sleep in it (although he does nod off). It really is just for nipping up to the shops. I love it though, I feel so posh (its the little things in life!). A few people have commented on it, (how nice it looks) so that makes it worth it, ha ha. It steers so beautifully, its lovely. Being a three-wheeler means it tends to roll so you have to be vigilant with the brake, but the brake is really easy, just taps on and off with your foot. Its so nice after my yucky old pram (Steelcraft)

Oh I just remembered something from Brisbane. We were at the Logan Hyperdome and had called a cab. I was with my mother and the paper had run out on the little ticket machine, so I said to mum that it had worked but the ticket hadnt come out.

Of course she pushed past me to check (because I am obviously some kind of idiot ...) and then we heard a man yelling "wooooah, your stroller!!" and I turned around to see my baby rolling down the hill, down the kerb and onto the road...

Far out!!

Thank goodness it turned out allright, but I had the shakes for quite a while afterwards, (we all know why).

I was SO mad. She had NO reason to check that the machine wasn't working anyway, and she shouldn't have let go of the stroller.

Anyway, that's one horror story. The other one is that she left a hot cup of tea on the floor. Baden was on my lap and she walked away and then I put him down on the floor to crawl around. He headed straight for the cup and I heard her yelling from the kitchen because he had tipped the cup over. I ran over to rescue the cup, I had no idea there was hot tea in it (because nobody would leave hot tea on the ground when there is a baby in the room, right?), I was just rescuing the cup from being broken or so I thought.

Anyway, when I asked her why she had left it there she said "well I didn't know you were going to put him on the ground".

Not good enough!! Its hard enough looking after a baby without taking responsibility for other people's cups of hot tea!! :mad:

Vent over. Honestly, she's as bad as my MIL. I can't win.

mum_I'm_hungry
28-06-2007, 10:05
Oh, I hear ya, Shed. My parents adore the kiddies, but they have simply forgotten about having little kids around. They rest cups of coffee on armchairs, have tablecloths etc.. The other thing that weirds me out is that they freak out if the kids cry. As in, we'll put a cranky Teddy in his room for a five minute wail before he falls asleep and they'll be hovering, going, 'But he's crying!'. Yes. Crying. Babies do that! :laughing:

Mumstar, I'm sorry to tell you your signature isn't quite true. There is another kind of person in the this world. Me. The kind of person who is... 'wondering what to eat next'. :o :D

P.S. Thanks for the Zapp info!

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 10:12
:eek: (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=76398)

The gestational Amazement of EcstaticallyAnxiousEm & Beany

:eek:

I just choked on my apple when this came up as a new thread..... luckily the penny dropped after a while. I was really starting to think the pregnant list was again increasing

shed
28-06-2007, 10:25
missie_mack that is old news!! We have all already choked on our milo over it, ages ago, lol!!

Hey, your book swap thread just gave me an idea.

Shall we do a Secret Birthday Santa for our babies? Like, whoever wants to take part put our names in and we each buy for one baby and send it off in time for their birthday on behalf of all of us August mums? There would be a price limit or whatever so we don't get too carried away, and keep it just for fun.

What do you guys think?

And if you like the idea, any volunteers for organising it? (please note, I work in the Ideas Department, not Logistics, lol)

mum_I'm_hungry
28-06-2007, 10:29
That is such a great idea, Shed! Let's do it! I have no idea how to, though, as am a lazy good for nothing who has never been out there in the workplace where they do fun things like this (my Chrissie party = me photocopying my butt at Officeworks!). Anyone done one at work who knows how to do it? :confused:

shed
28-06-2007, 10:33
as am a lazy good for nothing who has never been out there in the workplace where they do fun things like this

I'll raise you your "never been out there" and give you one "I quit one and got fired from the next"!!! :laughing: :laughing:

So I definitely can't organise it :D

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 10:33
missie_mack that is old news!! We have all already choked on our milo over it, ages ago, lol!!

I knew there was one in Noosa birth thread but hadn't seen the actual thread about it :o

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 10:35
Oh the santa thing sounds like a good idea....
I don't mind being 'last resort' choice for co-ordinator because I'm sure there will be someone really really keen to do it :)

Beany
28-06-2007, 10:42
Yeah you know what was more scary? Her user title read "Now, where's Beany?" ... with a close up picture of two very big rottweilers :eek:

Okay lady, I take it back! Whatever it was I said, I take it back!! Call the bloodhounds off!

On the secret mummy (Santa's over rated :p ) thing - I'm in! Having never had a full time office job, I'm not the organiser type, though! Shed, weren't you the personal assistant to some hobnob? If you can smack someone's hands away from muffins, surely you can do this! :D

MountainGirl
28-06-2007, 11:41
I'm in on the secret yummy mummy thingo,..but I bags not organise it either! Ellen,..I reckon you or Lottiesmum would be the most organised!!!!

lottiesmum,....the alfa wont fit 3 seats,...sigh,.... god knows what will,..and will still be stylish,...and not too expensive,.......sigh,......but I want it!:D

Mrs Potts
28-06-2007, 12:25
Hi everyone! :wave:

Have just caught up (after working 3 days so far this week, with one more to go!).

No Amoxil here, but hope it kicks in quickly for all the bubs on it. Horrid that they're all sick.

The little house thingy - we spotted the half price ad in the Myer catalogue too and grabbed one for Miss K. It looks awesome. That will be the only thing she gets from us though.
Other 1st birthday ideas - Mega Blocks: Cam got these at that age and he still plays with them. They're now out in the loungeroom as Miss K loves them too. Little People stuff is great. Ride-ons (the old FP Stride to Ride Walker is a goody - lots on eBay).

Noosa - hope the scan went well! Good to see you back too.

Shed - sorry about the (lack of) job. It does sound like it was meant to be though.

Money - we have a joint account (got it when we got married), and I have my own account. For some reason though the mortgage comes out of my account. Not sure how that happened. My wages and FTB's go into my account, Dough's wages go into the joint account and pay for everything but the mortgage. Bills would never get paid if it was left up to Dough. At least, not on time.
I'm the Minister for War and Finance in our house.

Hmmm, need food. Back later. :wave:

Mrs Potts
28-06-2007, 12:27
Oh! and the Secret Mummy thing - I'm in too.

I'll organise it if no one else has put their hand up for it. :thumbsup:

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 12:48
lottiesmum,....the alfa wont fit 3 seats,...sigh,.... god knows what will,..and will still be stylish,...and not too expensive,.......sigh,......but I want it!:D

I don't know what you think is stylish Jane but the PT Cruisers have come down to really good prices and I still like the Odyssey..... sigh... a new car ..... Oh how I would adore a new car. Not for me until I go back to work. I'm still trying to work out how to twist DH's arm and the finances to come home for school holidays.

BTW For our Pink Ladies (AKA Mods) Now that they have removed the sarcastic icon I really really think I could get good use of a icon that pulls out its hair while it jumps about. :D

MountainGirl
28-06-2007, 12:50
I like the PT cruisers,...but would they fit 3 baby seats?

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 12:58
Whats a good guide for baby seats. 3 men shoulder to shoulder in the back seat??

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 13:07
I'm having a guess at saying a odyssey would fit three babyseats across back (for comparison purposes). It is 1800mm wide and the cruiser is 1748 mm wide

The cruiser has shoulder room of 1360mm in back. They don't specifiy shoulder room on the Odyssey brochures.

HTH

mumstar
28-06-2007, 13:20
Mumstar, I'm sorry to tell you your signature isn't quite true. There is another kind of person in the this world. Me. The kind of person who is... 'wondering what to eat next'.

Ok ok i will give you that but it might be those who want to eat, those who have to eat and those who wonder what the hell to eat! :D

Shall we do a Secret Birthday Santa for our babies? Like, whoever wants to take part put our names in and we each buy for one baby and send it off in time for their birthday on behalf of all of us August mums? There would be a price limit or whatever so we don't get too carried away, and keep it just for fun.

What do you guys think?

And if you like the idea, any volunteers for organising it? (please note, I work in the Ideas Department, not Logistics, lol)
i love this idea, i dont mind organising it... if you pm me if you want to do it i will pm you back when everyone is in of who you have to buy for! if we put like a $10 limit on it and is we all take care of our own postage for what we are sending it should work out pretty even... everyone will get a gift and everyone will have sent one... is that anygood:idea:

Yeah you know what was more scary? Her user title read "Now, where's Beany?" ... with a close up picture of two very big rottweilers :eek:

Okay lady, I take it back! Whatever it was I said, I take it back!! Call the bloodhounds off!

:laughing: does she actually know you are around with the name beany and that she keeps confusing us Augustian's!

well we just got back from the last playgroup of the semester... it was heaps of fun. we made pizzas for the kids and the parents put on a little play for the kids! they loved it i got some photos but i will put em on later...

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 14:42
i love this idea, i dont mind organising it... if you pm me if you want to do it i will pm you back when everyone is in of who you have to buy for! if we put like a $10 limit on it and is we all take care of our own postage for what we are sending it should work out pretty even... everyone will get a gift and everyone will have sent one... is that anygood:idea:

Brilliant we have Tegan as the Christmas/ End of Year CEO :D
I had a look to check out what happened last year as I remembered the July Mummys did the same type of thing. They had a $20 limit. I'm happy either way as I don't know everyones financial situation......

Mrs Potts
28-06-2007, 15:06
Good on you Mumstar!
I think a $10 limit is enough. Add another 5ish for postage.

mumstar
28-06-2007, 16:31
that's what i was thinking... if we keep it to $10 chances are they are not going to be overly heavy pressies and not too expensive on the postage!

ooohhh im so excited.... and its still ages away!

Beany
28-06-2007, 16:37
Not really ... we have to get them in soon - Baden and Elise are July babies!

biscotti
28-06-2007, 16:44
(http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=76398)

The gestational Amazement of EcstaticallyAnxiousEm & Beany

:eek:

I just choked on my apple when this came up as a new thread..... luckily the penny dropped after a while. I was really starting to think the pregnant list was again increasing

It was the :yelclap: yay Beany posts in the November 2007 thread that had me :eek:

biscotti
28-06-2007, 16:58
I like the idea of the birthday thingo....DH has a thing though about privacy, (Noosa is a small town really) and he doesn't want us identified...hmmm....I will work something out address wise :)

And in other news....we sold the house last week :yelclap:

So now we have to enter the rental market which is just diabolical here. Our new house starts
July/August but it will be 9-12 mth build. It was fun initially choosing fittings etc (wait until you see my bath!!) but now I am over it and just want it started.

Scan tomorrow morning - Dh says girl but I am leaning towards boy....will let you know if it's Hugo or ???

BBS,
Noosamum XX
Still haven't caught up on posts though!!!!

shed
28-06-2007, 17:10
Noosa, only your secret santa will have your address. That's allright isn't it? We will put our names here if we want to take part, then we PM mumstar our address and she will pass it along to whoever gets us.

Okay, I will start the list:

Baden (Shed) - 31st July

Beany
28-06-2007, 17:12
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Asher (Beany) - 22nd August

MountainGirl
28-06-2007, 17:15
Noos,...what sort of car do you drive? Will you have to upgrade for hugie's arrival? Also,.... if DH is worried, can you give a friends address or something?

Okay, I will start the list:

Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Jasper (Jane) - 11th August

MountainGirl
28-06-2007, 17:16
Arrgghhh beany,...you got in before me!

Baden (Shed) - 31st July

Beany
28-06-2007, 17:18
Hah sorry :D

*munchkin*
28-06-2007, 17:30
Hi all. Just caught up on days and days of posts. Sorry to hear about all the ear infections, but at least they are identified now, and every baby in the world is on Amoxyl!!! Except Em...she's on Clamoxyl..for a year...beat that :p . She's the Drug Lord of the August babies.

Won't do personals as it's just too much for my fried brain...

Em is teething again...think it's the eye teeth...and pretty miserable. Not sleeping, etc etc. And she has just grown up on me overnight. I'm not coping!!!! She had her first temper tantrum 3 nights ago when I took her out of the bath. Apparently she hadn't finished her game of Splashies. Rigid body, outraged ROAR and crying crying crying. And every single night since then after the bath. Great.

She's suddenly decided that she wants to make ALL the decisions now, and gets quite assertive about it - whacking me if I don't get it right. Great! Where's my little sweetie dissapeared to?????

Other news is that I finally have a childcare place 3 days a week. Em will start in a fortnight. I was like :yelclap: :barf: :crying:
I'm worried about her. She's so timid of groups at the moment, and very clingy. But...must tell myself it's just another hurdle to overcome. And it's good for mum as she doesn't have to mind her anymore. Though mum said it will be as hard for her as for me to put her in childcare.

Hope the 20 week scan all goes well Noosa!! V. Excited to hear what 'OUR' baby is!!

*munchkin*
28-06-2007, 17:31
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Emily (Munchkin) - 12th August

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 17:59
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
James (Missie_mack)- 4 September

littlepickle
28-06-2007, 18:05
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Elise (littlepickle) 30th July

What a cool idea! Count me in :-) Lookig forward to it:smiliedance:

biscotti
28-06-2007, 18:20
Noosa, only your secret santa will have your address. That's allright isn't it?

Yes, yes, it's fine!!
Sorry, probably sound like I'm assuming you are all mad stalkers :laughing: But the truth is that DH had a stalker, a real life one, not an internet one (two actually but one was a bit madder than the other) and so we have a bit of a phobia about our home address etc It is also why I don't post the chn's names when I am talking about them, or DH's name or mine really (but some of you know anyway!) I'm just always aware of how googleable (??) anyone is these days.

Noos,...what sort of car do you drive? Will you have to upgrade for hugie's arrival? Also,.... if DH is worried, can you give a friends address or something?

I'm driving a late model Pajero Exceed, so not funky, not really stylish either (not in your Alfa 4X4 category!!) but I do love the leather seats, they just wipe down - so while I am not driving a very stylish 4wd, it is a functional one. Long gone are my days of driving funky and stylish cars :laughing: And yes, it is a 7 seater so I don't sadly get to upgrade to a new car :no: DH is getting a new one next year, don't know what though. It will be a 4wd of some sort though.

ETA - Jane have you looked at the Volvo 4wd?? My best friend has a black Volvo XC90 and it fits the 3 bubba seats across the back. I love her car, I mean I lurve it :laughing:

Now I am going back to try to catch up on posts while everyone here is more or less occupied. All I know so far is that Shed was in Brisbane (was there a meet??) and that all the babies are on Amoxil!

Noosamum XX

biscotti
28-06-2007, 18:22
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Clio (Noosamum) 15 August

mum_I'm_hungry
28-06-2007, 18:55
Just passing through, so a quick...

Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August

Mrs Potts
28-06-2007, 18:58
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Keeley (Mrs Potts) 3 August

:D:smiliedance:

MZmama
28-06-2007, 19:09
Cant do personals, sorry, too much has gone on... i really should post EVERYTIME i come to check whats been going on, i usually am chasing DD around the house whilst trying to come back and read!

and i cant give a reply on the birthday present thingo, great idea, and i REALLY wanna be a part of it, but money is TIGHT with us on the one wage, on DD's maternity payment runs out this month :( ... so can i get back to you? whats the cut-off date... dont think less of me :no:

noos - glad to see you back, whatever happened about C not drinking milk etc.. i hope it all sorted itself out..

nothing is new with me, had pixie photo's done today, there is the CUTEST shot of DD in a fairy skirt.. man she is just eatable, couldnt justify how much they were asking for it, so i might think about it, i have three months before its wiped off their systems - maybe i should con granny!! :D

before i go - for those bubs in 0's or more, if u remember, what weight did they go into 0's and what weight did they leave if they have? i put a long sleeve 00 on DD yesterday, and its getting tight - i dont know whether to rush out and buy 0's just yet, cos everyone keeps telling me she wont need them just yet.. she has just gone 8kg...

Beany
28-06-2007, 19:16
Oh em - we don't think any less of you :hugs: Money ebbs and flows here, too.

MZmama
28-06-2007, 19:28
thanks beany - :hugs: right back atchya!

there are some beautiful people on this thread!

Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August

*munchkin*
28-06-2007, 19:37
No way Em! Lots of mummies (including moi) are tight for cash, specially SAHMs.

And it sounds like your humungous chumba-wumba baby needs some size 0's (erm...Emily - the true Chumbawumba has been in 1's for a month or 2 :o ).

And sorry...serious need for small type again. Mr CP rang tonight and said he was thinking of selling his place in 6 months time and coming back to Brisbane. So then he can pay off my mortgage, and I won't have to work anymore...and we can live happily ever after. I was just in shock. That man has a brick for a head. It's just upsetting having to tell him again and again that when HE chose to ABANDON his 3 month old daughter, that was it. One chance only and he blew it. I was so in love with him and he ripped my heart out piece by tiny bloody piece, and there's no way I could ever trust him again. He HATED it here, and gave up everything to live in a hole in the ground, and now he wants to sell up and move back here???? What a frigging idiot. I can't believe it still upsets me, but it's that whole fleeting thought of "oh...Em could have a dad in her life". She deserves that, that beautiful little girl. :gloomy:

littlepickle
28-06-2007, 19:49
Aww munchkin, thought you could do with a :hugs: . What is it with men! They really do seem to be wired differently. It must be so hard for you havng to go through all this emotional mind wrangling again and again. Good luck with whatever you decide, you always sound so "together" and seeing you and Em together, it is clear to see that you are doing such a wonderful job, with or without xdp. I came from a broken home, well thats what people tend to say isnt it! The truth is, my parentls split almost before I was born. I have a close relationship with both parents but have never felt bad about them not being together because I never knew them "being together" if that makes sense. I guess all I am trying to say is that whatever makes you happy wil ultimately make Em happy:hugs:

MZmama
28-06-2007, 19:49
And sorry...serious need for small type again. Mr CP rang tonight and said he was thinking of selling his place in 6 months time and coming back to Brisbane. So then he can pay off my mortgage, and I won't have to work anymore...and we can live happily ever after. I was just in shock. That man has a brick for a head. It's just upsetting having to tell him again and again that when HE chose to ABANDON his 3 month old daughter, that was it. One chance only and he blew it. I was so in love with him and he ripped my heart out piece by tiny bloody piece, and there's no way I could ever trust him again. He HATED it here, and gave up everything to live in a hole in the ground, and now he wants to sell up and move back here???? What a frigging idiot. I can't believe it still upsets me, but it's that whole fleeting thought of "oh...Em could have a dad in her life". She deserves that, that beautiful little girl. :gloomy:

i'm sorry to hear he his making life difficult, but the thing is, does he deserve 'that beautiful girl'.. ur daughter in his life? i know he may be her daddy, and she deserves a daddy in her life, but a daddy who will be there ALL the time, he cant pick and choose when he wants to do the right thing! my DF's brother, is in the same boat, except the mumma left to become a stripper in vic (whole other story), anyways she picks and chooses whenever she feels like it and never spends a cent on her daughter - and i say she doesnt deserve that beautiful girl in her life, and that beautiful girl is better off without her because her daddy loves her more than anything in the world, more than two loves put together.

atleast she is at an age where she doesnt notice..

i hope i have made sense, it did in my head, if not disregard :o

Beany
28-06-2007, 19:56
Asher's in big 0s (Sprout range) and 1s (Cotton On type stuff). I think the 0s were probably the longest lasting size so far. I've succumbed to old-ladyness and have started buying bigger for him to "grow into". He has a lovely tracksuit from Sprout (which was on sale!) in a size 1. Very much too big but tough :p And it looks cute bigger, anyway - rap star wannabe :laughing:

Munchkin: Tell Mr Hole-in-the-Ground that he can sell whatever he likes, eyelashes included, and if he wants to pay off your mortgage - great! But however will he afford a rental once he's done that? :confused: :p

If he wants to move back to Brissy, that's his lookout (maybe the scorpions got to him!) and having him on hand would be nice for Em - but that doesn't mean you need to get back together. You can live in a nice house with zombie possums and he can live in Brisbane's version of Redfern - a real hole!

*munchkin*
28-06-2007, 19:59
Aww munchkin, thought you could do with a :hugs: . What is it with men! They really do seem to be wired differently. It must be so hard for you havng to go through all this emotional mind wrangling again and again. Good luck with whatever you decide, you always sound so "together" and seeing you and Em together, it is clear to see that you are doing such a wonderful job, with or without xdp. I came from a broken home, well thats what people tend to say isnt it! The truth is, my parentls split almost before I was born. I have a close relationship with both parents but have never felt bad about them not being together because I never knew them "being together" if that makes sense. I guess all I am trying to say is that whatever makes you happy wil ultimately make Em happy:hugs:
Thank you so much LP :hugs: . That means alot to me. It also made me cry and cry...again...darn it!! I'm glad you said that about not minding that your parents weren't together, because people on here keep posting about how they never got over the fact they didn't know their father etc.

The thing is, we are doing really well. REALLY well. We're a team, Em and I. And I'm strong, and tough, and determined. But I still get upset when he does this. Damn him.

except the mumma left to become a stripper in vic
Thanks Em, you're a sweetie. And also thanks for a good hearty laugh at the comment above!!!!! That is one story I'd love to hear!!! Good for your DH's brother. I so SO admire men who take on the carer's role.

Anyway...sorry to hijack the thread :o

*munchkin*
28-06-2007, 20:03
Good stuff Beany! I did crack myself up by saying that we would never ever be back together. But that he is welcome to pay off my mortgage :devil6:

Mokar
28-06-2007, 20:16
I dont know what this is for... LOL What's going on??

Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August
Elsha (Mokar aka Jessi) 25 August

MZmama
28-06-2007, 20:22
Thanks Em, you're a sweetie. And also thanks for a good hearty laugh at the comment above!!!!! That is one story I'd love to hear!!! Good for your DH's brother. I so SO admire men who take on the carer's role.

hehe, its a LONG story, but she is one crazy biatch - and like u said i admire men who take on the carer's role - especially considering he is only 22.. 20 when they had their DD.. he is such a good parent..

i also came from a broken home, my parents split when i was 8... and i remember it, but they did it so nicely that i only have a positive memories - and i am close to both of them!

Beany
28-06-2007, 20:27
I dont know what this is for... LOL What's going on??

Birthday presents for the little ones secret Santa style :)

littlepickle
28-06-2007, 20:28
I'm glad you said that about not minding that your parents weren't together, because people on here keep posting about how they never got over the fact they didn't know their father etc.
I think a lot of the trouble comes from "the break up" , the age of the child when the parents split, and the way the parents interact after the breakup.
For me, like I said, I never knew my parents as "a couple" so never missed what I didnt know. When my parents both remarried, I had the bonus of an extra set of parents which has been great. I never had to go through the trauma of seeing my parents fight as it was pretty much over and done with before I was old enough to notice. The other thing that jas been good for me is the fact that parents get on well and neither have tried to turn me against the other, so there is not "negativity iykwim.

You can realy see that you and Em are a real "team" its a lovely relationship. I remember when I was young, I was all my mother had, she would take me shopping and out for lunch (just like a little grown up) I loved it! We would go off and have adventures and stuff. It was great fun. Hope I am not rambling here, I just wanted to reassure you that you dont need xdp in order to give Em everything she needs, you are already giving her everything she needs:hugs: I agree that theres no harm in dp paying off your mortgage for you though:D
Oh, and dont worry about hijacking the thread thats what we are here for:yes:

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 20:30
my DF's brother, is in the same boat, except the mumma left to become a stripper in vic (whole other story),

:eek: :eek: How did you all find out thats why I moved to Victoria??? Only kidding..... I would be below dirt poor if thats how we were earning our $$$$ (hope its not in poor taste Emandmya...)

Munchkin- Wow you really must be one hell of a Mrs cause he just can't seem to let you go.... sex on legs?? :detective:

shed
28-06-2007, 20:41
I completely agree that is usually 'the break up' that causes the deep scars rather than the fact that mummy and daddy don't live in the same house. Its only when you change the status quo that there is adjustment and its all sorted out already.

I always presumed I would be a single mother. I have no idea why I thought that, it was just a presumption in my head that I never questioned. Maybe it was because my own parent's divorce when I was ten was unbelievably traumatic for me and I still wonder what happened in my parallel universe (the one where they didn't put me through that). My childhood has a big crack right down the middle of it, pre-divorce and post-divorce. So I think I just decided to cut to the chase and bypass the traumatic break up and go for the end result. I've always liked cutting corners, lol.

I don't know what happened to my plan. Things often don't work out the way you think, just as I am sure that many single parents never dreamed they would end up where they are.

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 20:43
:D I've talked DH into going back to the coast for some of school holidays. We just have a funeral for that train crash on Monday and we can leave anytime.... yippppeeee happpppppy dayyyyyys :smiliedance: .

Sydney People- I know its drizzly and yuk but is it still really cold and wet wet wet. I rang my little brother and asked him and never got a straight answer :confused:

MZmama
28-06-2007, 20:50
:eek: :eek: How did you all find out thats why I moved to Victoria??? Only kidding..... I would be below dirt poor if thats how we were earning our $$$$ (hope its not in poor taste Emandmya...)

haha, no bad taste, cos she is bad taste! i despise her for what she has done, and i always say to DF's bro, when u ever think about letting her back in (he always contemplates cos it may be easier etc), think about what type of person could actually do what she has to her own blood, her very own daughter.. and that helps his decision quick smart!

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 20:58
To be honest Em- I would be more concerned on what message she would be sending her daughter as to what is the right and wrong things to do...... sadly

MZmama
28-06-2007, 21:05
To be honest Em- I would be more concerned on what message she would be sending her daughter as to what is the right and wrong things to do...... sadly

ur exactly right - and she doesnt care, if anything she thinks she is good in earning the whole piddly amount she gets for embarassing and disgracing herself.. luckily she's in vic, and where in sa!!

Beany
28-06-2007, 21:13
Ellen: yeah it is pretty cold and grey here. Tops of around 16 during the day, single digits at night. The rain comes and goes. And when it doesn't come, it looks terribly threatening anyway.

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 21:20
Beany :D cute little Beany :D Can I ask a favour?

I have a lovely lovely friend who is moving to Kalgoolie (Dunno why :confused: well actually its to teach) Anyhoo they are big on literary type things and I am looking for a quote to pop in their card with their gift. Any ideas?? Anything I can find that involves goodbye seems to be death related and that just might make things a little daunting for my friend...

missie_mack
28-06-2007, 21:50
If you read the above message Beany please ignore I found what I was looking for thanks :)

Beany
28-06-2007, 22:25
Sorry Ellen - was off doing the bath-bed thing :o What quote did you find?

mama anne
28-06-2007, 22:30
evening all

well, i just caught up on a million pages of thread and all i can remember is .......... all the babies are on some medication starting with a (not bella though!), jane FINALLY got a reason for all the high temps in her house (and she's also giggling about the way to make #3), coober peedy man wants to pay off munchkin's mortgage and should live in brisbane's redfern and noosa's finding out tomorrow whether her bubba is hugo or henrietta!

VERY excited about that, by the way noos :smiliedance:

oh, and poor shed with the diarrhoea train ride :hugs: make sure to write down that lovely memory to remind baden about when he's big and trying to act cool in front of his friends.

well ..... the reason i havent been posting is that nothing exciting has been happening ..... at all ..... really ....... nothing.

although bella did stand up by herself the other day ..... in the bath :eek: a little scary for mummy! but she hasnt done it since then.

clothes sizing we're in some 00's (definately not bonds though), but mostly 0's. And bella's only ....... just over 8 kilos i think. I cant believe the next size is 1 though!

well ...... its late ..... and i've got not posting mojo cause its been so long ................. so a big hello to everyone :wave:

MountainGirl
29-06-2007, 06:02
Hi All,.... skimmed through the posts but decided that they needed more attention,..so will go back,.......

Em/Mya......pop yourself on the list and we will all work something out when the time comes,....I think most/all of us know what it is like living on a single income!

Munchy:hugs: Country men just aint that smart,.. cute and rugged, sure,..just not that clever!:o

Goood luck for today Noos,..... Oh and cars,..I love the Volvo 4x4 but dont think that I can justify spending $80,000 on a car atm,... infact,..

biscotti
29-06-2007, 06:06
Goood luck for today Noos,..... Oh and cars,..I love the Volvo 4x4 but dont think that I can justify spending $80,000 on a car atm,... infact,..

Thanks Jane - I am sitting here trying to drink all that water - blerk, keep throwing it back up.

And it that how much those Volvo XC90's are ??!!!
God, no wonder I like it :o :D

MountainGirl
29-06-2007, 07:13
Bleugh Noos,......

since my last post,Mike and I have had a chat, and have decided to put off bubba #3 for a couple of years,....it just may stretch us a little too much atm,...and if Scarlett is out of a carseat by the time #3 comes, then I can stick with my sporty little car! lol! I also think I need to go back to work for a while and get me smarts back! ha! I feel good about our decision,......

shed
29-06-2007, 07:28
Noosa, what time is your appointment????

gawd, I am so excited. What time will you be back to tell us????

I hope its not one of those scans where they can't tell :mad:

Well, today I am giving my aunty my old car. My uncle is a car-fixer-upper so he is going to fix it up for her.

I swear, that car will never die. I couldn't kill it and now my aunty will thrash it and it probably still won't die. It makes me laugh.

Does anyone's baby clap hands? The little girl round the corner has been doing it for ages. Baden is so funny, I only just realised this morning that his drunken wavings are actually his version of clapping hands. Mummy is a bit slow sometimes.

Mokar
29-06-2007, 07:47
Birthday presents for the little ones secret Santa style :)

Oh, awesome! I'll be in on that! I really have no idea what I will buy though :confused:

MZmama
29-06-2007, 07:58
Does anyone's baby clap hands? The little girl round the corner has been doing it for ages. Baden is so funny, I only just realised this morning that his drunken wavings are actually his version of clapping hands. Mummy is a bit slow sometimes.

lots of clapping of hands here.. LOTS.. all u have to say is 'ur clever' and there goes the hands, and waving, and dancing, and twinkle twinkle and pointing - so animated!

hurry up noos - i wanna know, i wanna know, i wanna know!!! i had two 20 week scans, and couldnt find out the sex at either one, so good luck.. hope its not the same, i really hope i have jinxed u know either!

amandaw
29-06-2007, 08:02
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August
Charlotte (Amandaw) 12 August

Oh and good luck Noosa!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-06-2007, 08:03
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

I'm so excited... Noosa's having a baby... we're finding out the sex... it's not going to hurt as much giving birth this time...

he he.

Hmmm. I think it's a... boy.

Which means it's a girl because I'm ALWAYS wrong!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-06-2007, 08:07
Lol Emandmya. That must have been frustrating -- two scans! Both of my kids were absolute flashers. You must have a very ladylike little girl there!

Actually, I had a scan when I was 37 weeks with Ivy because I wanted to see how big she was (ie whether I should push her out or go the zipper route). The sonographer was like... 'WHOAH! That is a GIRL!'. She really flashed for us that day and continued to flash after she popped out. Already have her 21st photo. We were doing a quick nappy change in Central Park when we were on holidays and I took a photo of the event. With perfect timing, she flipped over and I caught her mid flip. Quite the leg extension and the perfect 21st piccie! :laughing: Most definitely a girl!

biscotti
29-06-2007, 09:04

I'm back, that was the quickest 20 wk scan I have ever had, Hugo was in the right spot for all the different measurements, very compliant bub, so I was out in 45 mins, 8am was a great time to go in too - first off the bench so to speak!

The placenta looked good this time around too (those who were around back when we were the due in August 2006 thread might remember that pesky low lying placenta I had) and while it wasn't really high, it was away from the cervix :yelclap:

Everything looked good, two legs, two arms, everything was in the right place and all that...well not quite everything actually, Hugo was missing one vital piece of equipment...because Hugo is actually...

A GIRL!!! :eek: :D

mum_I'm_hungry
29-06-2007, 09:29
Woohoo! Go Hugette! Go Noosamum! Go placenta!

:smiliedance: :D :smiliedance: :D

So happy for you!

Well, guess you don't have to worry about Theo/Clio now!

mumstar
29-06-2007, 09:31
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August
Noah (Mumstar) 21st August

U are right beany is isn't that far away! hehe i forgot we had some early arrivers here!

ok well if you guys want to start pming me your addys i can start to organise who is gonna have who and pm back you the details of your secret bday baby... i was thinking em if you do want to be involved maybe i can rig it so you have one of the later bdays that way you can have a bit more time to make a desicion if you still want to do it or not...`

congratulations noosamum i am so excited we are all going to be aunties!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

Beany
29-06-2007, 09:39
Yay Noos! Good little Hugoette for not keeping us all in suspense - we'd have gone completely mad ... On the same note, I'm so glad you decided to find out what you were having and weren't waiting for it to be a surprise :D

No clapping here. Although he does a strange arms flailing thing that might be the same as Baden's version of clapping. He has mastered the squat, though. He'll walk up to a toy (or, more likely, to something he's not allowed), squat down, pick it up and walk off again. Very cute. The cuteness almost makes up for him breaking the TV reception wire thingy at the wall. Boy he's lucky we have Foxtel!

Mokar
29-06-2007, 09:46
Yay! A girl! :smiliedance:

How exciting!!

No clapping of hands here. But when we clap, she grins so hard that her little teeth grind together ... eek!
She says 'Taa' though... did I mention that? Gosh Im so forgetful lately. :o

mumstar
29-06-2007, 09:51
yeah Noah is a hand clapper and a waver! he can say Dad, Aiden and Noah but has only said Mum once! Cheeky boy when i say to him "say mum?" he just grunts back at me!

shed
29-06-2007, 09:53
a girl!! A little girl!

I KNEW it!!! :yes:

Tilly? :D

Oh how exciting. I had a feeling it was going to be a girl, yes I know its easy to say now, but honestly, I did.

That is just wonderful. Two sisters to grow up together, how cute is that?

For the Secret Santa, we need a cut off date to give some of the MIA's a chance to see it and take part. We have lost a few of our August mummies lately. Its a bit sad :( I think we should give them another week or so to find us.

Where is Parisa? I love her outlook on things. And of course dear Raffee who I miss so much.

missie_mack
29-06-2007, 09:53
Yippppppeeeee I guess it has to be Tilly now Noosa!! :smiliedance:

No hand clapping here either. He high fives and does the patti cake thing but no putting his two hands together. Doesn't really seem interested either :confused:

mum_I'm_hungry
29-06-2007, 10:51
LOVE Tilly. What a gorgeous name! Love all the Tilly, Millie, Maisie type names. Am a Milly Molly Mandy girl from way back. Am dying to read Ivy the books and have already bought them and stashed them away!

No hand clapping here. Plenty of food hitting, though. You can tell when the boy has had enough to eat, because he slaps it away. So annoying! Also being very, very naughty about clothes/nappy changing. He's just the worst squirmer. Can't wait to get him back into Summer clothes! :yes:

Beany
29-06-2007, 11:03
Isn't it funny the childhood books we have in common even though we grew up on opposite ends of the world? I LOVED Milly Molly Mandy ... I loved her booby prize bunny! I had (still have!) a little snoopy looking dog that I bought when I was at Chalkwell seaside (we don't have beaches there :laughing: ) and the sole reason I bought him instead of the brightly coloured fun toys they had was the Milly Molly Mandy books - I felt sorry for the poor glum dull looking thing that was being passed over in favour of those brightly coloured garish things.

Noodle and I are constantly surprised by the books each other have read. Not the classics which travel but things like Fattipuffs and Thinnifers and How to Eat Fried Worms.

Well wasn't that apropos? :laughing:

Yes, erm ... Tilly! I also liked Maisie until my sister-in-law named her Jack Russell that. Now I associate the name with absolute insanity with teeth.

What's on the list, Noos?

shed
29-06-2007, 11:30
Oh Maisie, oh I know you're not supposed to say things like this but I went to school with a girl called Maisie and she was overweight and had terrible personal hygiene and acne.

Her brother Mervyn was just as bad except he was possibly even worse, he couldn't say his s's properly so his sister's name was Maizggggchie when he said it.

Sorry.

Milly Molly Mandy!! yes of course. And I used to read books about two sisters, Beatrice (the older) and Ramona (the little sister). I have no idea who wrote them but I read alot of them. In one of them Ramona told her mother she was going to say a bad word, and then she did, and the word was "guts". GUTS GUTS GUTS she said.

I am still in my pyjamas, how good's that? :D

mumstar
29-06-2007, 11:48
milly moly mandy? im sorry i have never heard of them... i grew up with the enid blyton folk of the faraway tree and the wishing chair and i remember mum reading me the maygibbs gumnut people books... i think i also had about 500 of the little golden books... Aiden has a whole cupboard of these at my mums house as she kept them all!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-06-2007, 11:50
Ooohhh! LOVE good old Beezus and Ramona too. So funny! They're by Beverly Cleary. I really can't wait to read Ivy the older stuff. Picture books are fun, but they're just not the same (plus, you have to read the same one 500 nights in a row).

Beany, my father is English, so I got all the English classics. So probably not so weird after all that we read the same books!

mumstar
29-06-2007, 11:52
oh i have progressed from pjs to trackies but only just shed!

missie_mack
29-06-2007, 12:32
I remember Ramona. Wasn't one of the books called "Oh honestly Ramona!!"??

Wow Mumstar I really would've thought you to be a die hard Babysitters Club Fan.

I don't know any of those books you listed Beany or the Milly Molly whatsies :o

I read Nancy Drew, Pick a Paths, books by RL Stein and a series of books called Pen Pals. I think one of my favourite pre teen/ early teen books was 'Came Back to Show You I could Fly' oh and Judy Blume.....
Do kids still read these books?? I think I kept most of my favourites in one of the trillion book boxes in my roof cavity :o Please please let me have a daughter who likes to read... Well I would like all my children to like reading but all those books waiting waiting

MountainGirl
29-06-2007, 12:35
Yay,...Noos....glad everything is ok with bubba,...... Do you like the name Holly?

Beany
29-06-2007, 12:49
I only read one Judy Blume book ... should have been handed to me in a brown paper bag from what I remember :eek: Can't remember the name of the book but do remember that he called his penis "Ralph". Have often wondered if that mens magazine is named after that.

There was a lot of Enid Blyton in my childhood. Particularly the Malory Towers lot. Loved those!

missie_mack
29-06-2007, 12:52
I only read one Judy Blume book ... should have been handed to me in a brown paper bag from what I remember :eek: Can't remember the name of the book but do remember that he called his penis "Ralph". Have often wondered if that mens magazine is named after that.

:laughing: I read heaps of Judy Blume books that were nothing like that book but it is the only book title I can remember.... ironic eh?
"Are you there God it is me Margaret" I picked up by accident when I was in third grade (so 7 years old) most of it went over my head but I never forgot it

mumstar
29-06-2007, 12:59
babysitters club eeewww sorry im not that kind of a girl! my dad actually got me on to the secret seven and famous five when i was a bit older... now i think my fav kids books are the harry potter ones though (im a big fan) i also remember reading a lot of the choose you own adventure books!

For the Secret Santa, we need a cut off date to give some of the MIA's a chance to see it and take part. We have lost a few of our August mummies lately. Its a bit sad :( I think we should give them another week or so to find us.

i think this is a really good idea for a cut off date and seens as our first baby is a july one i think maybe say 7/7/07 might be a good cut off date!

Beany
29-06-2007, 13:06
Never read babysitters club or anything like that. After my stint with Enid Blyton, I moved onto teen comic horror (Vinnie the Vampire? Something like that, anyway) and then onto fantasy with the Tamora Pierce books. I pretty much stayed with fantasy after that (with the odd excursion into horror).

biscotti
29-06-2007, 13:20
ooooh books. I have two original first edition Milly Molly Mandy books in original condition. They were given to my mother when she was a small child (she is now nearly 70). They were read to me as a small child and now I read them to my children...and they will read them to their children.

I loved Mallory Towers but I was really into the The Chalet School...haven't seen them around for years and years now.

Thanks for the congrats - still a bit unreal, not just the "having a girl" part but the whole "having a baby" part :laughing: How did this happen!!

I am liking Tilly...Tilly Charlotte...sound familiar anyone :D I love Millie too.

Ok, this was a hit and run post, Dh needs the computer, back later :)

Beany
29-06-2007, 13:26
still a bit unreal, not just the "having a girl" part but the whole "having a baby" part :laughing: How did this happen!!

Read that Judy Blume book :laughing:

biscotti
29-06-2007, 13:33
:laughing: :laughing:

biscotti
29-06-2007, 13:37
Yay,...Noos....glad everything is ok with bubba,...... Do you like the name Holly?

Once I would have said yes, but I now have a SIL named Holly...so errrr....no!!

Oh and I bought a Living Textiles sleeping bag (found locally in Holy Sheet) so thanks for the info S_J :)

MountainGirl
29-06-2007, 14:04
:thumbsup: Noos,... LTextiles also do a really good plain white cotton cot sheet set,.......

Mokar
29-06-2007, 14:04
Ohhh I was such the bookworm when I was younger!

I loved that Pen Pals series Missie_Mack! I baught them when I was... 10 I think? LOL
I did read Babysitters club when I was around 8... BUT my all time favourite was Goosebumps! :D

Pity my love of books kind of waned off once I got to High School! I missed out on so many years of reading.... I have a lovely collection of books now... I just havent really read many of them. One by one... I will get through them- but I buy a new book almost every week so it will take me a long time I think!

If only I had the spare time! Reading... painting... sewing.... Ohh the things I could do!

Mrs Potts
29-06-2007, 15:56
Congratulations Noosa! Another gorgeous princess!

Ooooh books! My books are my friends - I just love them!

Sadly though, I was never into Enid Blyton or Milly Molly Mandy (or any of the others mentioned here :o). I loved Trixie Belden, and like Mumstar the Choose your own adventure ones.

Then of course I graduated to the Sweet Dreams and Sweet Valley High books.

cheekypossum
29-06-2007, 16:01

have not read posts, have been trying to stay off the computer a little bit and try and get some things done around here

All good, took Chloe to the clinic and she is 7.8kgs, her weight gain has dropped but she is a healthy striving little girl who is keeping me so busy

Anyway, just reading the last few I see Noos, you are having a nother girl CONGRATS

Hope all the sick bubbas and mummas have recovered....

Bye

missie_mack

Ooh I remember those ones now. I read em too. Those twins in the sweet valley high books had the life as far asI was concerned

Mokar
Oh yes! I read Sweet Valley High aswell!

shed
29-06-2007, 16:07
"Are you there God it is me Margaret" I picked up by accident when I was in third grade (so 7 years old) most of it went over my head but I never forgot it

I remember this book, I don't know if I have read it or not though, ha ha.

Baden's birth story on here was called "World? hi its me, Baden" which was sort of copied off that!

Mrs Potts: I also read every Trixie Belden book, my friend had the whole series and I read them and then read a couple of Nancy Drew but much preferred Trixie.

SJ: I love the name Holly, and another H name I really love is Heidi. We have an H surname so its never going to happen here. It would sound odd.

MZmama
29-06-2007, 16:09
Ohhh I was such the bookworm when I was younger!

I loved that Pen Pals series Missie_Mack! I baught them when I was... 10 I think? LOL
I did read Babysitters club when I was around 8... BUT my all time favourite was Goosebumps! :D

Pity my love of books kind of waned off once I got to High School! I missed out on so many years of reading.... I have a lovely collection of books now... I just havent really read many of them. One by one... I will get through them- but I buy a new book almost every week so it will take me a long time I think!

same here jess... but now i am into autobiographies, and anything written by paullina simons...

CONGRATS noos.... the unidentified bubba in ur belly is a beautiful widdle gal! i love tilly as a name, i'm so glad u found out.. i hated every second when i couldnt!

will read back through the posts and post again later if i can - ssshhh i am meant to be cooking dinner :D

mumstar
29-06-2007, 16:21
well i cant believe it Aiden and Noah had a lunch time sleep at the same time! This is amazing as
Aiden NEVER sleeps during the day! I actually got a nanna nap in too! feeling very refreshed now!

Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August

This is the Secret Bday list so far! Only one person has sent me there addy in a pm but you all have till 7/7/07 to add your name to the list and pm your details!

having a little looksie here im talking about
tash, raffee, parisa, mama anne, lottiesmum, unquiey, wattle!!!!

if i have forgotten anyone i am extremely sorry but make your self known again !!!

mumstar
29-06-2007, 16:34
hi guys i just made a slide show of my photos from playgroup and i wanted to share with ya all... if you have a look you will see one of Noah standing up on his own!

http://www.slide.com/r/9lJ8Zm586z-gGkWq0ioS8OEKwI1ukx-d?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url&view=original

*munchkin*
29-06-2007, 17:28
YAY HUGOETTE!!!!

How excitement!!! You'd think I was having the baby or something, I'm so excited!

Yipadeedooda, yippadeeaaaaaaay!
Little Hugoette is on he-er waaaaaaaaay!

Oooh books...loved loved LOVED Enid Blighton - Magic Faraway Tree was my childhood fantasy. Famous Five etc etc. Roald Dahl (speaking of naughty books...My Uncle Oswald is v. naughty if you're a teenager!), Judy Blume, Choose your own adventure...I was totally hooked on those! And the Belgariad by David Eddings, Lord of the Rings, Anne McCaffrey.

But my favourite favourite as a child was Gordon Korman. I kept his books for my child :o

Lucky Em already loves her books, so I can look forward to years of getting to read all the old classics again.

'Are you there god, it's me Margaret' was banned from the library at my school!

*munchkin*
29-06-2007, 17:30
Oh...and Wind in the Willows and Watership Down. And the Secret Garden.

amandaw
29-06-2007, 19:15
Congratulations Noosa! Another gorgeous princess!

Ooooh books! My books are my friends - I just love them!

Sadly though, I was never into Enid Blyton or Milly Molly Mandy (or any of the others mentioned here :o). I loved Trixie Belden, and like Mumstar the Choose your own adventure ones.

This is soooooo me!! Then moved into the Stephen King/Dean Koonzt etc etc - bit of a change!

missie_mack
29-06-2007, 21:01
Sorry Ellen - was off doing the bath-bed thing :o What quote did you find?

Oh a Mark Twain one about overcoming adversity and daring to try something new. Wasnt exactly what I was looking for but it did the job..... thanks anyhow :wave:

MZmama
29-06-2007, 21:39
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August
Mya (emandmya) 25th August

count me in!!

littlepickle
29-06-2007, 21:43
Congratulations Noosa!!!! yay a little girl! So happy for you!:smiliedance:

Cant say I have ever read any of the Sweet Valley high books. I did like Mallory towers and that sort of thing though. I remmber reading a book called "z for zachariah" in high school, really enjoyed it, but besides the Austen type stuff I used to read my parents cast offs. A lot of romance stuff from mum, and James Herbert and Stepher King type stuff from my stepdad.

mumstar
30-06-2007, 11:07
hi guys!

well today troy is off to the football so i am going around to a mates house... im going to attempt to make a lasagne to take to my mums tonight... i thought about it the other day and i have never made my own i have always brought them pre made (kath n kim style) iykwim...

i am actually going to have a sleep over at my mums tonight... i think she has been quite upset lately, she only had about 3 really close friends in her life and aunty chris recently passed away, her friend ann moved to bussleton and her sister tammy is preparing for a big trip away. She needs to get out and make some new friends as my dad is not the best company these days... he is turning in a grumpy old man who is set in his ways and hates change... so i am going down there to make her dinner and have a few drinks and we are even going to get the chimenia going tonight and watch dr who... its funny how a couple of years ago this would have seemed like a awful night to me and now im am really excited about spending quality time with my mum!

hope you all have a good day
xoxoxox

littlepickle
30-06-2007, 12:11
Mumstar - sounds lovely! Hope you have a great "girly day"

I am still in my PJs! I am loving it too! Just havent bothered to go outside or anything today as it is cold and windy, so E and I have cocooned ourselves in the lounge and have been watching bbc preiod dramas yay!

Hope everyone else is having a lovely day

littlepickle
30-06-2007, 12:13
Me again, I remember someone was looking for baby sleepsuits which cover the hands so they dont get cold. Well Target has fleecy sleepsuits with the fold over cuffs. I bought on e for E and it keeps her little hands toasty warm. Just thought I would share, as I wasnt sure who was looking for them or if they had managed to find them

Mrs Potts
30-06-2007, 13:10

Just passing through quickly. Started off sunny here today (but cold). Now is grey and cold. Might get some more rain. Oh well.

I just took the cutest video of Cam and Miss K "dancing" to KISS. Way cute!

I also downloaded some new photos from the camera so I should post some. When I get organised to put some on Photobucket, of course...

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!:wave:

Uniquey
30-06-2007, 19:46
Hi Chickadees:wave:

I haven't had a chance to read what you've all been up too/catch up on your news, so hope you're all happy and well.

We are still in Brisvegas. We were meant to fly home a few weeks ago, but Miss A has been sick and I didn't want her flying with heaps of muscus etc and risking her ears. So..... after two flight changes, we're off home on Thursday, but unfortunately she is still coldy and snotty. Poor Dh thinks it's my cunning plan to stay Brisvegas! Needless to say, jusging by the weather reports I think it's going to be quite a shock when we do get home, BRRRRRRR, BRRRRRR!!!!!!

LP kindly told me about the Yummy Mummy present idea which I think is great, so count us in:thumbsup: What do I do to participate??

Uniquey
30-06-2007, 19:50
Baden (Shed) - 31st July
Teddy (AlliJB) 13 August
Mya (emandmya) 25 August
Avalon (Uniquey) 10 August

Mumstar I shall Pm you my addy

Beany
30-06-2007, 19:54
Uniquey! :wave: I was wondering where you had got to! I thought your first winter in Canberra might have left you catatonic or something :laughing:

Uniquey
30-06-2007, 20:39
Uniquey! :wave: I was wondering where you had got to! I thought your first winter in Canberra might have left you catatonic or something :laughing:

Yes, I dare say by the time I do get there I will be catatonic! My Mum saw me the other day and said 'why don't you get your hair cut, I like your hair short'. I quickly told her I 'need' my hair for the freezing winter weather I will be returning to. My hair's not even long!!!

shed
30-06-2007, 21:31
Is getting stuck in Brisbane with an ear-y baby the new mesh feeder?, LOL

Well today I went to a birthday party for a four year old (the plate breaker if you remember him, and yes I did get him a sh!t present ha ha ha ha).

It turned out quite well because his mum and I used to be really close but since having bubby I have felt that we haven't been as close and its because I don't have time to put all the effort in, which made me realise how LITTLE effort she must have been putting in before and a few other things, blah blah blah.

Anyway, it came to a head today and started off with one little innocuous comment (is that the right word? Beany? I am just copying it from somewhere without really know what it means, heh heh), anyway it ended up with us both in tears and hugs and "sorry's" and "I love you's" all round, so all's well that ends well.

I don't tend to bottle things up for long. I am the anti-bottler, I can't stew on things for very long before it comes out. I'll never get an ulcer that's for sure.

littlepickle
30-06-2007, 22:35
Shed, glad to hear that you patched things up with your friend, its a lovely feeling when that happens hey!
Yep I definitely think that being trapped in Brissy id the new Mesh feeder:yes: I think you win for the most gruelling trip back south though!

Uniquey: Hope gorgeous miss A is on the mend, as much as it is lovely having you here in Brissy, Its awful when the ickle bubas are not well isnt it. :hugs: for you both!

Well, where is everyone today?? hmmm?? You mean you have an exciting lif outside bh? bleh.. the highlight of my day was brekky at mcdonalds this morning. Admitedly it was nice, as much as poor quality food can be (I love it) but apart from that, nothing, nada, zilch...
Pity me:crying: :D I do
Looking forward to finding out who I am secret santa/y/m for! I love shopping!