View Full Version : Going back to work on monday
Im going back to work on monday, its 26hrs a week (part time). im in tears right now stressing about it. DS is 5months on 29th Jan. he will be in childcare on mon and fri, with my mum on tues and wed and MIL on thur. I spoke to a lady at the childcare today, told her how DS is teething and likes to be rocked to sleep atm and she said they wont do it :( they put them in the cot but wont let them cry histerically. they dont have a monitor in the nursary, she said its close enough to hear the babies cry. DS likes to sleep on his tummy so his cry isnt as loud as a baby on its back.
im so upset about the whole thing. i got off the phone and cried and cried.
im stressing about expressing and the feeds. I dont know how much hes suppose to have.
the childcare is actually where i work, their childcare. its only 1min away - but ive been with my bub every day and now to be without him is tearing me apart.
I need to go back to work thou, i fought my hardest to have them say they would take me back. they wouldnt let me have maternity leave because i was 22days off being there for 1yr (can i add that they are a family orientated organisation...bull). Also DP and i have bought a block of land and want to build our home and i also want to go to scotland next year so my old grandmother can meet her great grandson.
I had a trial run at my mums on Wednesday and he only slept for 30mins. I keep telling her he needs sleep (i went through breast refusal 3times becuase of DS being over stimulated and not enough sleep).
I feel like im doing the wrong thing and feel awful :(
thanks for taking the time to listen
Tamz
Cheekychops
20-01-2006, 13:33
Tamz it's hard isn't it? Maybe go in to the daycare today and have a look, make sure you feel comfortable with it - they should be doing most of what you want them to, although sometimes they would be too busy to actually do the rocking to sleep. He will get used to it and so will you - it's a big change, just like bringing him into your life would have been for you, so it will take an adjustment period for both of you! You need to relax, take one day at a time and make the time you do spend together really count. Kids/babies are amazing, they can learn that when they are with different people - mil, mother, daycare, the routine is different and it won't take him long to settle in. He will probably be a bit overstimulated for the first while, but honestly he will get used to it - and so will you. If you are stress, you aren't going to be able to express the milk you need so really try to relax and know that you are doing this for him too. you need the money and you are building him a house, and he will still love you no matter who he spends part of the day with. And you know what....he will probably end up loving daycare!!!! Hope this helps. Hugs to you as you deal with this next week......keep us updated.
rynosmum
20-01-2006, 13:49
I completely agree. I went back to work just before my DS was 5 months old. I cried my eyes out because who else would be able to look after him like I did ?
Well, the answer is no-one...but that isn't a bad thing. He goes to Daycare 3 days per week and they look after him differently and his routine is slightly different, but the girls are great and he loves it there with them. My MIL also does things differently - but not wrong - and he adores her too !
My darling little boy loves his Mummy, but also loves his Nanna and his girls at Daycare. The interaction with other kids has been great for him.
You will both get used to it but will have to adjust to things being different. Within about 4 weeks, you should be well settled. The hardest part for me was 'letting go' a little - the ability to not have to control everything and to allow trust in others and their methods.
All the best - you can do it !:D
thanks heaps :)
i would go down there today but its not open until monday. they also have a new manager thats going to be down there.
i can imagine that they will be busy, but i hope they are not too busy where some children get neglected.
will have to see how it goes. i would love to work from home but that could never happen
Tamz
whatwasithinking
20-01-2006, 18:55
Tamz
Don't stress. I went bank to work Wednesday week ago - FULLTIME!. Put both girls in childcare. Whilst Hannah is fine as she is used to going to c/care , Rebecca has had her days - some days she is good and some days she is not so good (btw she is born same day as your bub!).
It will be hard for awhile - even though I have been through the c/care before with Hannah - I bawled all Wednesday after leaving Rebecca - I even went down to see her in my lunch hour as they are only 5minute walk.
Just take it easy and don't let anyone be negative towards you and what you are trying to do for your family!
Poppy'smum
03-02-2006, 22:12
Tamzz
I was glad to read your post because I am going back to work and my bub is the same age, and I am also scared and stressed! We are the only ones who know what each little noise means, right?
I am trying to take inspiration from you and all the sensible replies you have had, so let us know how you go!
ThomasMum
04-02-2006, 20:51
I spoke to a lady at the childcare today, told her how DS is teething and likes to be rocked to sleep atm and she said they wont do it :( they put them in the cot but wont let them cry histerically. they dont have a monitor in the nursary, she said its close enough to hear the babies cry. DS likes to sleep on his tummy so his cry isnt as loud as a baby on its back.
im so upset about the whole thing. i got off the phone and cried and cried.
im stressing about expressing and the feeds. I dont know how much hes suppose to have.
the childcare is actually where i work, their childcare. its only 1min away - but ive been with my bub every day and now to be without him is tearing me apart.
Hiya Tamz, hmmm sorry to say, but you know, it sounds like you have a not very good childcare there! Can you find a different childcare?
My son goes to CC 2 days/week since he was 5 months old, (soon will be 3 days/week) and he LOVES it being there. He still gets plenty of loves and cuddles just like when he's with mum and dad! We are so lucky to have found this place, but we did lots of search and million phone calls and investigations before putting Thomas's name there. And we spent half day trial at the care, and we ab loved it...
So is it possible to find a different childcare?
Like Donna said, dont stress too much. I know it is not easy, but Ive been there done that so I know what I'm talking about. I too was like that at first. I even didn't turn up at work on my first day back at work lol. But now knowing that my son is having fab time, and that he knows that we love him to bits, and that the childcare he is in is a good one...and that i get to have me time, life's just so good...interesting and challenging, but in good and positive way! :D
Give your self time. Think about a much bright future for your kid. Not only money wise, but you are setting a good sample for your kid/s.
Good luck and wish you all the best! Feel free to PM me anytime if you need to chat
TM :)
Aimee'smum
23-02-2006, 12:08
Hi, not sure if you are still checking in this thread - but like everyone has said, you would be amazed how well they adjust. Let us know how you are coping - I just went back to work when Aimee was 4.5 months and while I thought she would be upset - she loved it! The other children seem to stimulate them and two days after being there she decided to start rolling over by herself! Grandma has her 1 day, childcare 2 days and I get some time to be myself, while she gets to play with new people and a new environment! I think the secret is that you need to be happy with the people running the nursery room - go and observe the way the run the room like I did. I hope it all goes well for you.
hi girls
Update, DS is in childcare mon, thur and fri. he is in a routine. he doenst have as much sleep as i would like him to have, they are always busy but hes happy. he started crawling at 5.5months, i think having the other children there got him motivated to do it.
only sad i have is paying childcare and centrelink always f****** around. i alot of my pay on it! i will only get 16% off too which is $5.
thanks for all the support :)
Tamz