View Full Version : R u haivng a Baby shower?

michblb
20-06-2007, 05:24 PM
OK since we love to chat - here's a new one, the babyshower!!!

My family have started calling me about the baby shower. Not asking if I'm having one but when and what will we be doing.:ecomcity:

I know it's probably a bit early cause it's in the 30 something weeks most people have them, but what are you thinking of doing (if anything?), plans for food, entertainment? What about gifts - anyone doing a registry or saying none please.

I got some great ideas from the celebrations bubhub thread and would love to do them all but am thinking of getting dressed up and going to high tea (champers and cakes!) at the Observatory Hotel in Sydney. Prob ask for no gifts but everyone pays for their afternoon tea instead. Entertainment will be :ecomcity: and more :ecomcity: ohhh good reason to go and buy a new dress!:laughing:

Sorry for long post!!!

erinp
20-06-2007, 05:59 PM
My sister (who's only 19 and will be an aunty for the first time) wants to organise one for me. It will be mostly family though (there's lots) and they have all been giving me stuff anyway so it seems a bit silly to then get pressies as well!

I love the idea of high tea, Mich - sounds lovely! Plus a good excuse for a nice dress (if the weather is warm enough by then!) And the entertainment sounds right up my alley too ;)

Whereabouts in Sydney are you? I'm out west (Quakers Hill)

kitty1kat
20-06-2007, 07:45 PM
My best friend is kindly throwing me one - its going to be a 'ladies morning tea' - pearls, cupcakes and champagne. I have said no presents, but all my friends usually give little gifts - books, little decorations, muslins etc. Nothing extravagant.

I can't wait - I love a party!

Gizzy
20-06-2007, 07:52 PM
i'm not sure if i'm having one

I never had one with DS2 either, and to tell ya the truth i've never been to one lol

SpaghettiMummy
20-06-2007, 07:58 PM
For my first my bestie (who is a member here on BH) organised it and had some of the girls to come over and we did a few games and had a good chat and nibbles.

I might have a girly afternoon tea catch up like I did with my last pregnancy but not sure yet have to move back near my friends first, lol. I also have two of my friends due before me (one in August, the other in Sept) so I might just do something after bub is born. Or I might organise a girls coffee and trip to the movies as I have no idea when I did that last.

Mich- that sounds like a great idea! And any excuse to go shopping! ;)

I have friends who didn't take no presents seriously last time on the invites (I didn't organise it) so I got a few things but I really wasn't expecting anything, so dont be surprised if you get something too.

nicoleE
20-06-2007, 08:53 PM
I will probably organise my own as I like things to be in control and organise things (did this with my hens day I had for my wedding to). Probaby have a finger food get together with all the girls in my life and plan a few tacky baby related games for a bit of fun.

As we have a heap of stuff Im not sure about presents, I mean people are going to buy you stuff, I wouldnt go to a shower without buying something even if they said no gifts. There are certain things Im trying not to buy so family and close friends can get them for us but I dont really feel very comfortable with a registry...

SJE
21-06-2007, 01:44 PM
Mich - High Tea - that sound like a great idea. Having games and nibbles is good but doing something different may be refreshing for those expecting the usual type of baby shower.

Personally I doubt very much whether there will be a party with this one seeing its no. 2. Perhaps it might be nice to at least go out for dinner and have a chat with friends before bubs arrives.:idea:

A registry would be good in the sense that ppl would know exactly what to get. With DD we had a sort of informal one. The organisers had a list and crossed things off as ppl said what they were definately going to bring. In the end, if there was two of anything then the duplicates were sent up to mums to use when she's babysitting.

21-06-2007, 02:03 PM
I had one with DS so I dont' think that I will have one this time. I just wanted a small little lunch with my friends. Grilfriends and Gay males ONLY! We just had lunch and they gave me well DS some small gifts. I didn't want to have a baby shower where you play those games, it's not my thing. Plus we were living in a very small house and there is no way everyone would have fit in there.

zenifa
21-06-2007, 08:50 PM
I didn't have a baby shower with my first pregnancy. As it was we got lots of lovely gifts from friends and family once DD was born. Thinking of maybe having a 'blessingway' with this one or maybe go out for a high tea, as you can tell I'm quite undecided.
I went to a baby shower a few months ago (my 1st in many many years) and it was fun, but a bit cheesy with the games, but its nice to catch up and spoil the mum-to-be. I just feel a bit uncomfortable being the centre of attention in that way. Probably won't do much, as its my 2nd, so most people will assume i have everything for baby anyway.

Grizabella
21-06-2007, 09:26 PM
If this one had of beena girl I would have had a shower - as I would have needed clothes. But becuase it is another boy I am not having one.

Didn't have one for Brion as I don't have a huge amount of female friends - and I couldn't really imagine my male metalhead mates sitting down talking babies - and I would cringe to have seen what they would have bought!! :D

If I had one this yr I was going to have a late arvo BBQ with mocktails and cocktails. Nevermind :)

Gizzy
22-06-2007, 07:31 AM
the mocktail and cocktail idea sounds good Jude :thumbsup:

robinson
22-06-2007, 12:17 PM
I had one with DD, a friend organised it, it was such a fun day... but with this one dont think I will... Might have an afternoon tea instead.. I feel bad having one for a second baby for some reason?? Also I have moved interstate since having DD and all my girlfriends are interstate.. I only have a small group of friends here.. so who knows...

michblb
22-06-2007, 08:04 PM
I love the idea of high tea, Mich - sounds lovely! Plus a good excuse for a nice dress (if the weather is warm enough by then!) And the entertainment sounds right up my alley too ;)

Whereabouts in Sydney are you? I'm out west (Quakers Hill)

Hi Erin, great another Sydney-sider, I'm in Stanmore (next to Newtown) :thumbsup: How do we do the private chat/messsaging thing? Sorry I'm a techno-dinosaur!

Hey Giz, I've never been to one either!!

Sounds like fun KittyKat

Nicole - I like the idea of a few games too. Will probably have just a family get together at home (when my Mum comes down from Queensland) before the birth so maybe we'll play a few then. Do you have any games you like?

Gizzy
25-06-2007, 08:05 PM
Hey Giz, I've never been to one either!!

glad i'm not the only one, heaps of people seam to have had one with their first or have been to one

I feel left out lol

michblb
26-06-2007, 09:42 PM
Mich, in my experience, it is up to someone else to organise your baby shower for you (bit like a hens night ifkwim). So, if no one has told you they are already doing it for you, I would ask your best friend or whomever you want t organise it for you, give them your suggestions, then let them go wild :thumbsup:

Thanks Mrs Green, I've got my sister and two best friends and mother-in-law all wanting to organise it so I have to pick someone! Luckily I don't think anyone will be offended:D

Mammy
27-06-2007, 02:01 PM
Ive never been to one either.

All my family and friends are in Ireland so i dont think ill be having one here as i dont know many people, apart from workmates.

:( <--- Me feeling sorry for myself

zenifa
27-06-2007, 08:38 PM
Thanks Mrs Green, I've got my sister and two best friends and mother-in-law all wanting to organise it so I have to pick someone! Luckily I don't think anyone will be offended:D

Lucky you having so many offers to organise it!! I agree with Mrs G and delegate different jobs for each of them - sorting out invites; food/catering; organising party games and have them take turns to host it, that way they can all be included, and none should be offended.

MooMoo - you should drop some *not so subtle* hints to your workmates they may throw you a 'leaving work for maternity leave baby shower'.......although I didn't have a baby shower with my DD, I did have a one at work as part of my going on mat leave........its not quite the same, but still fun and got lots of nice pressies, which I still use today and DD is nearly 2yrs!!