View Full Version : xmas presents when do you buy

17-06-2007, 15:25
i always buy at the last minute... not organised at all:laughing:
i was thinking this year i should take advantage of the toy sales and get in early... so what do you do
poll coming

Zada
17-06-2007, 15:27
toy sales for sure:D

Areca
17-06-2007, 15:40
For the kids toy sale for sure....although I don't get them out of lay-by until late!!
Everyone else is generally last minute.
I just can't go past a bargain so the toy sale works for me!

Noah_and_Elijah
17-06-2007, 15:42
chrisco or at the last minute!!

punkbaby
last minute for me i know that the kids would find them if i bought them earlier have no where to stash them :(
i always do things at the last minute anyhow haha

katherine
normally buy mid year sales (including DS's birthday present) but this year i am doing xmas hampers... but its actually paying off a gift voucher.. so get to go on shopping spree at last minute!!!!!! i'm excited abotu that!

Samaras Mummy
17-06-2007, 15:50
Mostly toy sales :yes:

the_original_duchess
17-06-2007, 15:54
ive already started lol
i got justin and jessica taken care of, now all i have to buy for is ahyden, and the stocking stuff.
im very organised this year

AquaDevil78
17-06-2007, 16:11
Last Min.. Xmas always seems to appear right before my eyes.

Now that i have a son, im going to have to get my bum into gear and practise lay by for toys etc. Or i will be one broke mum at xmas LOL.

ETA: 6mths 8 days to go!

Beany
17-06-2007, 16:22
Last minute.

There's no way I would have the will power to keep cool new toys away from him for 5 months ... I find it hard enough doing so for a few weeks!

Percy
17-06-2007, 16:34
Last year we got everything at the toy sales.

This year all my presents are done already. Things are a bit uncertain at the moment and i want to be prepared. Its a good feeling!:thumbsup:

Mahjong
17-06-2007, 16:48
Already done for DS :) Usually buy other pressies in October.

my_lot
17-06-2007, 19:07
my christmas shopping is almost done.

in the last few years i have got a few things at the toy sales but my kids like science things, puzzles, lego, mechano and any gadget or anything like that so not really kmart/bigw/target shopping.

i do get the cousins and other special kids things in the toy sales.

this year the whole family are having a "small" Christmas just for the fun of it. we are all giving gifts the size of a hand! we've decided we will give a donation to a charity that the family member has an interest in and give them that as their gift and maybe some scratchies or something- its been fun for the kids to think about because they always start about now to make something for each family memeber.

elissas
18-06-2007, 07:52
I buy small presents throughout the year when I see a great bargain and put them all together at Christmas time.

Major pressies - DS, DH and family - I start in July and finish by the end of October.

18-06-2007, 08:29
I do a bit of everything. Usually layby heaps at the sales & end up cancelling them & getting stuff closer to christmas :p

This year though we're getting MJ a trampoline & a few smaller things, so probably just get things as I see them.

zenifa
18-06-2007, 08:38
Since having my DD, I am now getting her b'day (Aug) and Xmas presents in the sales, this goes for clothes/shoes and especially toys!! I occasionally layby.

For my parents and DH I just get things as I see/think of them, but try to have it done before December if possible, as I hate the crowds. Mum's bday is in Nov, and Dad's is in Feb, so I usually try to get stuff for them both by mid November. Its easy this year, as we are giving our parents and inlaws holiday vouchers, so its taken care of, just b'day presents we have to get (BIL, FIL and mum this year).

tyler's mum
18-06-2007, 08:41
I started mine 2 weeks after xmas. I just buy bits and pieces when on sale. I make laybyes when i can. I leave the main things to the end of the year.

Bewitched
18-06-2007, 08:48
I now buy at the last minute.....

I used to buy at mid year June sales but in my opinion it's not worth it now!! If i am going to stand in line for two hours at the lay-by for xmas sale, i expect a bargain come xmas day for my efforts... but a few years back i had to cancel a layby at the last minute so i bought a few things off that layby i still wanted. They all scanned in cheaper!! Every single one! So had i paid for the layby like i had originally planned, i would've been out of packet by $24! :mad:

~mia&ryan~
18-06-2007, 10:10
If I spot something that I think is a fantastic gift for someone I grab it then and there, that can be anytime throughout the year... Any other pressies we buy in the beginning of november that what they are all wrapped and ready to go when the tree goes up on December 1...:thumbsup:

TeamAwesome
18-06-2007, 12:09
The last couple of years have had GRAND plans of being prepared and it's not really happened.
THis year I want to be prepared as #3 is due in October and don't fancy wandering the shops with 3 littlies to do pressie shopping and may resort to online shopping if I get desperate but will wait and see.

clgcsmum
18-06-2007, 12:15
I always put on a huge layby and most of the time return a lot of it, but this year DS1 and DS2 are getting a Wii to share and a couple of stocking fillers DD is getting a tv and DS3 is getting one of those plastic playgym things so all I have to do is have 3 Layby's yeah.

SweetSerenity
18-06-2007, 12:19
When I have the money too lol.

Every years different really for me.

This year it will be a month before hand as I have a HUGE make up job which will give me a decent amount to do ALL of my christmas shopping :D

Threadkiller
18-06-2007, 12:26
:smiliedance: i go to target toy sale every year without fail. i get them out about 1-2wks before xmas. i get everyone elses about 4wks prior to xmas i get 1-2 a wk:yes:

Gumby
18-06-2007, 12:27
Threw castle hampers. I pay 80 a fortnight for xmas present only threw them. I cant wait til xmas :D

SamanthaJane
18-06-2007, 12:37
Anywhere from July onwards. Some things lay-by, others bought straight out. Just depends on what catches my eye, and when really

jasminesmum
18-06-2007, 14:15
I sometimes buy things at the Toy sales. Last year I got my dd a play gym.
I find it hard though cause if the kids like something in July they might have changed their minds by December.

I think this year I will leave most of it until the last minute.
Its just not Christmas if you're not rushing around getting things.:D

OJandMe
18-06-2007, 14:16
Whenever I see something that's a good deal and I think I know someone who'd like it. Doesn't have to be a specific time. :thumbsup:

QTB
18-06-2007, 14:18
i buy his birthday stuff in the toy sales, but xmas stuff at the last minute, if i dont he ends up with it all on his birthday :rolleyes: as he did last year

TyBean
19-06-2007, 10:05
As soon as Christmas and birthdays are over for the year, I am already on the look out for the next years lot!!.... I get all mine from December 26th until the next Christmas!!.... We have pretty much got all over Tylers done and we even have some stuff for his second and third Christmas!!.... now thats prepared!! lol

madreader
19-06-2007, 10:51
:laughing: I always use the Toy Sales to get everything that i want and layby until Chrissy. This really pi##es my Dh off as just when we get in front with bills and things i start up with the laybys til Chrissy. :laughing: to him.

Lirael
19-06-2007, 10:52
im not getting toys this year so it does not matter to me about the sales etc. this year Im saving to move so they will get clothes and that about it. im a mean mummy :p